130x130_sq_1383618938622-6x6-style-matters-logo-bwgre

Style Matters DJs, Inc.

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2023 North California, #A2
Chicago, IL US 60647 (map)

PHONE

773-278-3467

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Style Matters is a diverse team of creative and experienced urban DJs, who provide sophisticated soundtracks for events thrown by the music savvy.
Style Matters is a diverse team of creative and experienced urban DJs, who provide sophisticated soundtracks for events thrown by the music savvy. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
fresh, creative, unique, captivating, energetic, and different from 95% of "wedding djs".
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
nope.
What is your usual attire?
it depends on the event, but it's always appropriate. no tuxedos and corny vests though.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
we'll track it down, no sweat.
How many other DJs do you work with?
nine, soon to be twelve.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
five hours. no max.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
of course.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
no, but we've dj'd for lots of different ethnic groups: greek, lithuanian, polish, russian, jewish, german, swedish, indian, etc.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
yes, most definitely. our clients' do-not-play lists usually coincide with our permanent do-not-plays. ha!
Do you bring your own equipment?
yes, all of our equipment is company owned.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
none. if anything, we feel that mobile lighting rigs takes away from the vibe/ambiance. good music>lights any day.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
we need one table. we'll get there two hours prior to the start of the event, regardless of when our contract begins.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
no.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
ugh. (no.)
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
we'll make all the necessary announcements and introductions. beyond that, we'd prefer to let the music do the talking.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
if that were to ever happen, i suppose we would change up the musical format. but it hasn't ever happened.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
it's not required, but the offer is definitely appreciated. we'll eat our meal in our little area, but we never need a break to do it.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
no breaks.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
it's never happened, but in the case of an emergency, we'll take 25% off the total fee, inform the client about what's going on, and send another dj from our team.
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
yes, six. in 2010, most likely seven or eight in.
What is your overtime rate?
we don't have one. we'll play as long as you want us to play beyond the contracted time. we charge by the half hour.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
it depends on how far away the event is. we charge different fees for any event over 25 miles from our homebase in logan square.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
25% down, the remaining 75% is due a week prior to the event.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Style Matters was the best dj to work with! We loved working with Spencer and Max. They provided a really quality service and we felt like they really tried to get to know us and our music style before the wedding. They were great MCs for the night and played the best music. Max provided the dance party that we wanted for our night. I highly recommend their professional services.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Max! He is so friendly and goes with the flow. He was flexible with the music and did great announcing the wedding party. Thanks for making our party amazing!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
cannot overstate how amazing Noah from Style Matters is! he DJ'd our April 12, 2014 wedding at the Ivy Room and was fantastic. we gave him a few specific requests, some general songs we like and a few 'please don't plays' and he came up with a set list that was better than anything we could have thought of. he added in a lot of songs that perfectly fit our taste and were crowd pleasers. we've been to a ton of weddings and can't remember any other where so many people were dancing so consistently throughout. we got great feedback from our guests before and after. absolutely amazing, super friendly and easy to work with (and Spencer at Style Matters was a great initial contact as well). so so so so happy that we got to work with Noah and would recommend him to anyone looking for a very fun and very cool party!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing service, amazing sound, amazing music played... Spencer and Max were so helpful and easy to work with through out our entire Wedding Process!!! The presentation at the actual Wedding was so classy (none of that cheesy DJ stuff with them)... They are the way to go!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brighid
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Style Matters is incredible! Chris AKA DJ Mass Transit has incredible talent and insight.

Spencer was very accommodating and helpful during the process. We let him know we wanted a party with Motown and hip hop at the forefront, and he matched us with Chris. What a perfect fit.

We live out of town, so Chris facetimed with us to meet and learn about our vibe. He suggested lots of fresh music for our ceremony, cake cutting, bouquet toss, etc.

If you are looking for a refreshing, talented, cutting edge DJ that will not bring the usual cheesefest you see at weddings, go with Style Matters. We could not have been more happy.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
Very fun to work with spencer and our dj. They were great because we love music as they were able to make us and our guests happy.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend choosing Style Matters DJs for any event! After meeting with Spencer from Style Matters I knew that his DJ company was the perfect choice! He is friendly, very organized and we got a great vibe from him. There was no question that choosing Style Matters would mean our DJ would be cool and the opposite of cheesy. Spencer took time getting to know our music preferences and then chose Matt aka "Fancy Boy" to DJ our big day.

Matt was great. The crowd liked him, he made sure that everyone was having a good time and our dance floor was full for most of the night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier with our experience with Style Matters. Dustin was our DJ and took a lot of time and consideration with us to make our day special. He sat down with us to discuss what type of music we liked/didnt like and the placement of where the DJ should go etc. He helped us plan through our courses to fit in toasts at the appropriate times. He really thought of everything.

When the day of the wedding came and we had a few things to switch around, Dustin rolled with the punches and it was no big deal to him. The dance floor was filled the whole time, which was really important to us because we love to dance. Everyone was saying what a great time they had and asked how we found them. I would recommend Dustin to anyone looking for a DJ, or looking into Style Matters, he is so professional and fun, great knowledge of all types of music. He knew exactly the type of style we were trying to execute and pulled it off flawlessly!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Style Matters rocks my world! We got married on September 1, 2013 in Chicago and Margot (aka DiskoKitty) knew exactly how to get the party started and how to keep it going all night.

We first met with Spencer and he is so thoughtful in the questions he asks to get to know you and your style. He expertly paired us with Margot, who re-defines wedding DJ. I'm not sure I'll ever enjoy a wedding again without her!

We threw her a few curve balls before and during the wedding and she handled them like a champ.

First, a couple days before the big day, I told her my dad and I were no longer going to dance our first dance, we were going to sing-along to "Werewolves of London". She was not even phased.

The morning of, it started to threaten rain for our outdoor wedding, so we had to make the last minute decision to have dinner in the cramped coach house. Margot was very conscientious about the volume of the music so that people could talk, but still set the mood. It didn't end up raining, but it did sprinkle around 9:30. Just enough to cool everyone off without really getting wet. I wouldn't be surprised if Margot planned that too.

Then, during the dancing, I realized I'd forgotten to add a very critical song to our must-play list. It is tradition for my family to dance/sing to the Beatles "Rocky Raccoon". So, when I asked Margot if she had it on her laptop, she said no. But she immediately got to work and downloaded it for us. It was epic!

One must-play I did specify was a good mix of Justin and NSync. And oh man! Margot got it exactly right, not too much, not too little. When she play Bye Bye Bye, nearly everyone got up and danced the whole thing.

At one point every single guest was on the dance floor. You can't ask for more from a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.5/5.0
Worked with Spencer on selecting our DJ - Jason. He was phenomenal, worked the crowd and didn't need to play one slow song the entire evening because everyone was dancing SO much. We also hired a drummer through Style Matters to play with the DJ and the sound was unreal. Great experience and would definitely recommend to anyone searching for "not your typical wedding DJ set".
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Spencer was the DJ for our June 2013 wedding. He did an absolutely fantastic job. We were planning the wedding from out of town and were a bit worried about finding the right DJ. We didnt want anything cheesy and we wanted a night full of everyone dancing. Not an awkward night of "the chicken dance" and "brick house." Additionally, my husband and I have polar opposite tastes in music so pleasing both of us can be a challenge. I like Indy, Folk, Country and Oldies...my husband prefers Rap and Reggae...our friends prefer mostly pop music. Well Spencer did a great job and pleased everyone. Our friends and family are still raving about the music at our wedding. He was both classy and unique, and he always fit the mood well. He had people up and dancing the entire night. He also was just honestly a nice guy. Nothing but great things to say about Style matters.
Services Used: DJ
Nophoto-130
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Style Matters for our wedding this past weekend and had a great experience from beginning to end! We worked with Spencer (the owner) in the beginning for general info/booking. He was very responsive and put us at ease that he would pair us up with just the right DJ for our big day and he did just that.

Duke was our DJ and he was fantastic! Not only did he play an incredible array of music to keep the party going, but he was on top of the time line and kept things right on track in a very calm and easy going way. He also gave us a lot of great suggestions for timing on speeches and other things throughout the night. It was so nice to be able to fully enjoy our day and know that Duke would stay on top of things like speeches, first dance, etc.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Style Matters is the best DJ company in the city of Chicago. My husband and I met on the dance floor at my brother’s wedding in 2010 when Ryan from Style Matters was the DJ. Three years later, Spencer, the amazing owner and coordinator paired us up with Ryan again and he did an incredible job at our wedding! All of our guests loved the music that was played and the dance floor was full. We highly recommend Style Matters for your wedding reception.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1324322241982-vintagephotopzjp1
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Best. DJ company. In the world. Hands down. If you want a wedding full of real music and not crappy wedding music/line dances, call Style Matters. Right now. So many compliments on the music - from my 20yr old nephew to my 70yr old godmother. That's talent. And not a Macarena in to be found.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ario
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Margot Margot Margot!

I think you are secretively both an artist and DJ! Your music, playlist selection, and bringing down the house was both a work of art and a masterpiece at my wedding.

I have to admit that I am a music snob and wanted to be extremely picky with the type of music played at my wedding. I spoke and Margot listened. And then she gave me a sample of her playlist. I nodded OK and then she rocked our wedding venue. 2 rooms of music and everyone danced until we closed it out at 1 AM.

I had a specific request for an hour of ethnic (Persian) music and it did not even phase Margot. She got it done! And a 30 minute booty house set to end the night? DONE! She met me whenever I needed to make sure our wedding would be the way I wanted and boosted my ego.

Her service exceeded my expectations and her skills provided effective with EVERYONE dance at our wedding. Style does matter. Extremely great and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Style Matters and Margot - keep rockin Chicago and I cannot wait to have you at my next event. Thank you on a job well done and making my wedding one of the most memorable EVER!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Style Matters DJs are amazing!

When my fiance and I started the search for a DJ, we knew we would be asking for a lot. We both care a lot about music, and wanted our tastes reflected (i.e. no "chicken dance"). On top of that, our wedding was a mix of two cultures--Indian and American. So, it was even more important to us to find a DJ that could find a balance between the two traditions. It was our worst fear to have too much of one genre or the other, thinking that half of our guests could feel alienated.

Enter Spencer from Style Matters! When we sat down with him for an initial consult, we knew right away we were dealing with the right people. Spencer has all the right ideas--he believes that music can make or break a wedding, and that one of the best ways to reflect who a couple is is to showcase the kinds of music they love. He also assured us he had a DJ who could perfectly hit the right ratio of Indian and American music seamlessly.

Justin Dawson (DJ Itch13 aka Itchie Fingers) was our wedding DJ, and he was AMAZING!! He met with me the week of the wedding to go over our likes and dislikes music-wise (what must be played, and what absolutely should not be played), and we had a good time thinking of great, and not so great, music to play and different times during the reception. I gave him a list of Indian/Bollywood "hits" we had collected, and he said he would do more research and would be sure to have the Indian tracks we listed for him.

Come the night of the wedding, everything was incredible. Justin's mix during dinner was filled with songs and artists we love, and he also threw in songs we didn't know but loved anyway! The mood was perfect. Once it was time to start dancing, he kept the crowd on the floor all night. He knew exactly how much Indian music to play, and he read the crowd remarkably. (I mean, he played everything from AR Rahman to Hall and Oates!). To top it all off, Justin was just plain nice, and very professional. A++++!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josie
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
We learned about Style Matters through word of mouth. After checking out their website, and realizing that the amazing OL was responsible for starting up this company, my fiancé and I KNEW we had found our DJ! Spencer was great to work with and was very responsive to our requests leading up to our special day!

A few weeks before our wedding date, we were told that our main man would be DJ Duke. We were totally thrilled!!

Over a beer, Duke, Arthur and I talked through our day. Duke asked all the right questions and we knew we would not have to worry about a thing!

Our wedding was this past Saturday (6.30.2012). It was AMAZING. Cocktail hour and dinner music were sick! My dad and brother surprised me with a guitar/singing duo and Duke made sure they had everything they needed.

Once the dancing began, there was not a time when the dance floor was empty. Duke did a great job of combining the music our parents and their friends loved as well as slowly turning our reception into a party! Our guests were thrilled that he was receptive to some of their music requests as well. He mixed a bunch of stuff live with his turntables. So bomb!

All of our "music snob" friends ;) as well as my groom and I totally got down.

What a BLAST!!! Thank you Duke, Spencer and all the S.M. team for making our wedding a rager!!

-Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Arkush!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had a great time with Style Matters. From the very beginning, they were super easy to work with. Spencer was easy to get ahold of via email (my communcation method of choice). We didnt meet our final DJ, Margot, until the end, but she came to our house and got to know us and our musical tastes. She was able to appease my husband with the dinner music and then me with the dancing music. Our guests were diverse in pretty much every way, but Margot was able to appeal to them. She was also fine with us changing a lot of things at the last minute. We highly recommend Style Matters!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
We had John Simmons from Style Matters DJ at our wedding on June 23rd of this year. I cannot tell you how amazing the whole process was. The initial meeting with Spencer (the owner) was great.. he asked us a few questions about our likes/dislikes and got a great feel for which DJ he should pair us with. When we met John we knew he would do an am amazing job but we had no idea he would blow us away! We gave him a pretty comprehensive list of our must-plays, do not plays, and some general bands/songs we liked... and John did such a good job putting together the perfect playlist with his own little spin on it (literally, he spins, which is effing awesome). At one point during the night I threw a wrench in his plans by asking him to play a special song for the father daughter dance (which I actually told him before hand that we weren't going to do a father-daughter dance)... but at the last minute I pulled him aside and he worked his magic to get the song we wanted and it all went smoothly. My dad was one happy crying man.

Our guests are still talking about how great the music selection was and how "wow... you had like a REAL DJ there, he was spinning and everything!" Absolutely! Thank you Style Matters and John!!

OH and book these guys soon... they are in such high demand that they book up fast! you will be so happy you booked the best DJs in the WORLD!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We chose Noah as our DJ from Style Matters and he was AWESOME! Noah listened to what we wanted and truly delivered. we couldnt have asked for a better DJ. Thanks for rocking it out with us !!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
(this is Andrew, Allie's now husband writing this review)

Awesome. Just awesome.

Booking a wedding (for 6-16-12) in Chicago when you live in Boston isn't the easiest thing to do. I only had to do a few things (Allie took care of the rest), and one of my responsibilities was the music. I went to Yelp first to check out some of the reviews, and Style Matters was one of the few that sounded good to me. After speaking with a few other companies, I had a phone call with Spencer. I didn't need to speak with any more DJs afterwards. I was hooked immediately. I felt comfortable that I would be able to work with Spencer and Style Matters from half was across the country.

I had told Spencer that I was sort of a music snob. I didn't listen to the radio a whole lot, and was really into older hip-hop, ska, reggae, punk, etc. Not a problem - they could make it all work. On my next trip to Chicago I met with Spencer in-person. The meeting couldn't have gone better, and I knew we were in good hands.

A few months prior to the wedding Spencer assigned us Dustin to be our DJ based on musical tastes. Perfect match. Dustin and I emailed quite a bit back and forth about specifics, and his communication was always timely. A few nights prior to the actual wedding when I was in Chicago Dustin came to our hotel to finalize the playlist, order of events, etc. He was so knowledgeable and really knew his stuff!

I couldn't have asked more when it came to the music at the wedding. Our cocktail hour was a hit - Dustin worked in a lot of early ska and punk songs, and even a little chill hip-hop. Some of my guests pulled me aside and said that they have never heard music this good just in the cocktail hour! I think one of them even spoke to him about getting it copied on to a USB! Dustin kept the music going during dinner with a lot of the songs that Allie wanted to hear. In fact, he played every one of them.

The dance party was then off the hook for the rest of the night! The floor was packed from the start of the party right until the last song. He mixed/blended in songs very well, and transitioned easily from one genre into another. Lots of 90s hip-hop, popular dance songs, 80s rock, and some other crazy jams. And of course our Do Not Playlist was honored, and nothing odd/cheezy/not fitting was played.

If I ever had another event in Chicago, I would use Spencer/Dustin in a second.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tcubed
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
DJ MAX of StyleMatters was awesome! Plain and simple. I completely recommend without any hesitation StyleMatters and DJ MAX for any event and specifically weddings. Everyone at the wedding was on the dance floor the 'whole' time. Literally. We were blown away how well MAX read the crowd, mixed and transitioned songs and kept the party going and the people dancing til the end. It all started with Spencer, the main guru contact guy for StyleMatters. He was professional, easy to get a hold of, and a really easy and laid back guy. We contacted him via email, he responded right away, set up a meeting at his office and met him in person. The meeting was super friendly and comfortable. StyleMatters has a group of DJs and Spencer takes our preferences, type of music we listened to, etc and matches us to the best DJ for us. Spencer set us up with MAX. And that was a fantastic choice as he totally rocked the place. We met MAX a week before and just like Spencer, super easy to talk to, went over the plans and specifics. He completely 'got it' and understood what we wanted. I knew we had a great DJ when friends and family started to tell us and that the DJ was awesome while they were on the floor dancing, and more importantly for 3 weeks after the wedding they kept telling us how great he was!!! All we wanted was a fun, upbeat party where people danced and the floor was full for the whole wedding, and that is exactly what we got. Some friends and family have even said that was the most fun wedding they've been to. Overall, we are so happy with MAX and what he created for us. He made a CD of the music he mixed of the dance portion and listening to is great fun to remember the night and actually hear the great mixing job he does as a DJ. If you want a great party where people enjoy music and the dance floor is full, get MAX and StyleMatters. If you want someone to mix and read the crowd rather than play an iPod playlist, get MAX and StyleMatters. You will not be disappointed. If I have to throw another party/corporate/work event that requires a DJ, I know who I'm calling. Thanks MAX and Spencer for a great wedding party!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OKyouRA
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I was looking for a DJ company to use for my wedding, and after the performance I saw at my sisters wedding, I knew her DJ company, Style Matters was who I had to go with.

Spencer, the owner, is one of the nicest people you'll ever work with. He genuinely loves what he does, and cares about your big day. He was very accommodating and also very responsive and answered all my questions. Really refreshing to work with a vendor who didn't create any stress and really worked hard to make our day perfect.

His line up of DJ's is amazing, and we had to have "Major Taylor", aka Ralph Darden who was SPECTACULAR!!! He rocked both mine and my sisters weddings - we both received so many compliments on how great he was - some even said he was the best DJ they ever saw at a wedding. His energy and passion really hyped up the crowd, and his custom mixes and techniques are awesome. He truly has talent not only for his DJ skills, but also for the way he works with people. He met with us in advance to go over our thoughts, ideas, and vision for the wedding. He did a great job of incorporating our "must plays" as well as throwing some of his own recos in - he read the crowd perfectly and kept the dance floor packed all night.

Definitely will always recommend Style Matters to anyone looking for DJ for their event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nellie
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I knew I couldn't go wrong after reading all the raving reviews about this company! They are definitely worth every penny and more. Noah was an AMAZING DJ, every guest at the wedding was dancing at some point of the night if not the whole night. Noah really delivered on what our vision was for our wedding and we cannot thank him and Spencer enough!!! We absolutely LOVE Style matters and they are real professionals :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kar1119
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Spencer is the absolute best! Our dance floor was NEVER empty; I think that says so much about his music choices. He was really great to work with; very reliable, down to earth, and incredibly talented. We have told all of our friends about his company.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MikeyTags
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Style Matters - Spencer and Crew - are nothing short of amazing! Max was our DJ of choice for our 11-11-11 wedding, and he nailed down our vision of our ceremony to the T, making the party unforgettable. From our first meeting with Spencer I knew we made the right choice. We met with Max once in person and communicated multiple times by email and phone, bouncing ideas off each other. Max really listened to our suggestions when it came to our musical tastes and types of songs we wanted played. I was afraid no one would be dancing, but was pleasantly surprised to see a crowded dance floor all night, and I don't think we left once. Everyone complimented Max on the flow of the evening and the eclectic selection of music. Everything was done tastefully, nothing cheesy or predictable which was very important to us. I'm listening back to the recording of the event as I write this, and can't believe how well done everything was. It's hard to remember in the moment, and the full recording they offer is a great memento and worth the extra cost. I'd recommend Style Matters in a heartbeat and have faith in not only Spencer and Max, but the entire crew!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marin
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Max is AMAZING!!!! I cannot say enough about how awesome he made our night! Our wedding was better than we could have ever imagined thanks to Max. The dance floor was packed all night! Our guests of all ages had a great time and the dance floor was PACKED until the music stopped. Max was the topic of many conversations the next day, everyone was singing his praises!

From the very beginning we were impressed with Style Matters. We signed a contract immediately after our initial meeting with Spencer. Style Matters was exactly what we had in mind for our wedding. The pre-planning was so easy. We had several email conversations with both Spencer and Max. After meeting Max in person, we felt like he really “got” us and our vision for the night, which was pretty simple…the best dance party ever. Max did not disappoint! I highly recommend Max and Style Matters.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Armin
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
We are still talking about how amazing Spencer was for our wedding. We had a VERY mixed crowd of people, Pesians, Swedes, and Americans, as well as a wide range of ages. He nailed it. On top of it, he is just so nice, and professional and took the time to really listen to our needs, and kept the same professionalism and positive attitude with our needy parents. We were incredibly happy, and our guests had a blast!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hotelsaxweddingbliss
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
Our DJ from Style Matters was awesome. The dance floor was packed all night. Our DJ accomodated all of our must play songs and fit the rest of the music in perfectly with our style. The company was extremely easy to work with and responsive - always keeping me informed of next steps and meetings.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired Style Matters to DJ our wedding in August and they were amazing. My husband met with Spencer initially and knew we were in good hands. Spencer is very professional and responsive to emails. He assigned us Ryan as our DJ for the wedding and when we met with Ryan he took one look at our list of songs we liked and told us he could DJ our wedding tomorrow. We basically told him we wanted everyone on the dance floor the whole night and he definitely delivered. All night Ryan chose songs that everyone liked and couldn't resist dancing to. These guys are the best, I would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
halley.winer
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
noah = truly one of the best vendors we had for our wedding.

we met with spencer about a year and a half before our wedding (ridiculous, i know)... and immediately knew that we wanted to work with style matters.

as the wedding date approached, spencer paired us up with noah... who is AWESOME. my husband and i aren't what you would call "music people." when noah asked what kind of music we liked, i said britney and gaga... my husband said 80s pop. at the wedding, noah played exactly what we wanted... and other stuff we didn't know we wanted. he kept everyone on the dance floor all night... and i mean everyone... including my husband's 85 year old grandmother.

i don't think i've danced that much or for that long in my entire life... the music he played truly made our wedding so much fun... we couldn't have asked for a better dj!

one of my favorite things about noah: his official dj name is weaponry -- your wedding cannot be any cooler than having a dj named weaponry.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Justin was great. We met with Justin a mere 3 days before our wedding, but had communicated through email prior to that. I have to admit that I was a little nervous, only because we had hired a DJ and met with him so late in the game. He was awesome! He was the first vendor at the wedding! He even got there before we did! He did a fantastic job with all the music, dinner, post-ceremony, dancing, etc. Seriously. Our crowd is not a dancing crowd, but by the end of the night, we were all awkwardly trying to bust a move...and since he'd been waiting for it all night, he obliged by playing past our agreed upon last song. He was professional and created an awesome evening of music with minimal direction. He stuck with what we wanted, but was also attentive to what the guests wanted. Highly recommend Style Matters and Justin in particular. I wish he could come to my house every weekend and DJ parties. Guess I'll have to go visit him at his non-wedding gigs.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so late to getting to this - but couldn't live with myself if I didn't give Style Matters DJ a rave review! We used this vendor for our June 17th wedding, and it was one of the best decisions we made. Spencer was our DJ, and from the start he was super attentive and very personal about making sure we had the kind of party WE wanted. We also had to coordinate our Chicago 'burbs wedding from NYC where we live, and it could have been tough, but Spencer made it so easy. He always got back to us in record time and made us feel comfortable, relaxed and totally sure that we'd have the best party ever. And we absolutely did!

Cheers to you Spencer - thank you!
Mary & Will McDonough
June 17, 2011
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allie
Wedding:
6/5/2011
5.0/5.0
Style Matters was wonderful. From the first personal meeting with Spencer in his home to the end of the party that Spencer ROCKED out at, we were very impressed. He read the crowd perfectly and really made our reception amazing through music. I could tell you a really long review but basically, if you want a non-cheesy, professional, awesome, knowledgable and passionate dj at your wedding, hire Spencer and Style Matters. You and your guests will have a really, really good time.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leyla
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
We had Ryan as our DJ and he did a fantastic job to keep our guests on the dance floor. The biggest compliment we got from our guests was that they couldn't stay off the dance floor because the music was so good. Ryan played the songs we asked him to and included other songs we didn't even think of, which was a pleasant surprise. The professionalism of Style Matters is unmatched.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
4/2/2011
3.8/5.0
The staff was great to work with, however it took a long time to be paired with a DJ and meet with him. They have a diverse collection of music, which was played during dinner and dancing. There were a few inconsistencies in performance. The volume jolted up during dinner abruptly and there was a glitch during the mother-son dance. He got most everyone on the dancefloor.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1309302280661-wedding3
FrenchRomance
Wedding:
3/20/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Spencer! He made selecting our wedding music so simple - he asked for some general input and ideas and took it from there. He did an amazing job juggling and scheduling all the family and friends' toasts (as well as providing a microphone and soundtracks for the toasts, by request) and choosing music to keep our guests dancing and entertained. He was instantaneously responsive and planned phone meetings as needed to fit our hectic, long-distance wedding planning schedule. We loved his music selections, his organization, professionalism, and friendly demeanor throughout the process. His prices are very reasonable and we would enthusiastically recommend him to friends planning Chicago weddings.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/30/2010
1.8/5.0
The DJ provided for our wedding definitely knew about music, but did not live up to our expectations. The most disappointing part of the night is that the DJ obviously had not previewed his recording of the song for our first dance. It was "I want to grow old with you" from the Wedding Singer, and the version he played included the loud fight scene and dialogue directly from the movie a little over a minute into our dance. The volume was way too loud for the venue, several of our guests complained that conversation was difficult even during dinner. He didn't seem to read the room well and despite having a good number of 20-30 somethings at our reception, the dance floor was practically deserted the entire night. We coordinated our DJ through Spencer, who was difficult to get ahold of and slow to return phone calls or emails.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Spencer was responsive and professional. Duke was a great DJ
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
N
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
One of the best decisions we made for our wedding was to hire Style Matters. Style Matters will really listen to you and get to know your musical preferences and if you appreciate music slightly more than the average person, this is the DJ service for you. Style Matters is cool and unique: they are music aficionados. In particular, our DJ Margot went above and beyond our expectations. Margot is a lot of things: laid-back, organized, friendly, accommodating, but above all, she played the type of music our guests wanted to hear. The dance floor was packed during the entire reception and if we could have danced longer, we would have! We heard nothing but compliments from our guests and a great time was had by all. If you are the type of person who thinks that music plays a huge and important role in setting the stage for an event, then I would say that Style Matters is your best DJ option!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Di421
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Was a huge hit! Guests raved about how much fun the night was and how great the DJ was!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.8/5.0
From our initial meeting with Spencer through the execution of the event (our wedding) these guys were a class act.

When we initially met with Spencer, we knew that we were going to be in good hands. Musical tastes and dislikes were completely understood by Spencer and he told us that he knew exactly which DJ he was going to set us up with.

Communication with Spencer and Dustin was great and when we met with Dustin to go over the wedding day and what types of music we wanted and didn't want I could tell that we were going to have an amazing night.

We told Dustin that we wanted people on the dance floor from the moment the music started until the end of the evening. He did such a good job that we had to ask the venue to let us have the room for an extra hour because people were dancing and having so much fun. We just didn't want it to end and neither did our guests.

Dustin and Spencer and cool guys and easy to get along with. They really listen to what you want and are truly invested in making your event something special to remember.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanne
Wedding:
7/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Best DJ choice in Chicago! And if you get the chance to have Spencer DJ your wedding, an extra bonus (although Im sure all of the DJs are fantastic). Our guests raved about the awesome song selection (as did we), and not once during the night was the dance floor empty. Spencer took what we liked in music and created a night that was definitely tailored to our style. Style Matters is one of the best choices we made for our wedding day. Wish we had another reason for them to DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AARR
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
All I have to say is my guests were devastated when Spencer came on and announced the last dance. They were all having so much fun they didn't want the night to end! Spencer offered to stay later and keep playing but encouraged us to end the night on a high note- keep in mind it was almost 2am by the time we wrapped up our dancing. Everyone to this day our guests still talk about how much fun they had dancing the night away- some of these people said they hadn't danced in 15 years! My Grandpa was even tearing up the dance floor. Spencer did an awesome job playing a mix that everyone could enjoy. One of my favorite things is he actually mixes the songs like at a club- most djs don't do this we learned. He was great with the kids in our wedding party as well. They have some really great memories of spinning at the wedding and we got some cute pics. He is amazing and I am always recommending him to all my friends for their upcoming wedding so I can get my dance on again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melshaw78
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.7/5.0
Style Matters is amazing! We used their trio for our wedding ceremony, and Ryan was our DJ for the reception. He played amazing music all night long, and this bride only left the dance floor twice the whole night. I kept having to run back when the next awesome song came on that I just had to dance to.
The only negative I can think of is that there were a few "must play" songs that were left out, but other than that Ryan tailored the music to what kept the crowds moving, and it was a total blast. Spencer, the owner, is also super cool to work with throughout the process.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.6/5.0
We were very happy with Sryl Matters. The owner, Spencer, was very professional and listened to what we wanted. Our assigned DJ, Dustin, was very easy to work with. He played all the ongs we wanted, and didn't play our do-not-palys. He made all the appropriate annoucements and then just did his DJ thing. No cheesy over-the-top wedding DJs here! The only reason I am not giving them a full 5 stars is because they are darn near impossible to get them on the phone. They are very responsive to emails, but they do not return phone calls, which was a bit frustrating. Other than that, no problems at all. They were great!
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Diana
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
We LOVED Dustin! He did such a good job with the music, and was able to play even our eclectic "Must Play" list. Everyone was dancing the whole night, and we could not have been happier. At one point, my husbands younger cousins took over the dance floor and everyone was just watching them, and he recognized them on the mic, and got everyone dancing again to the next song. We know the guests loved his style since at the end of the night, they shouted "One more song" until he played another song, and then they shouted "Two more songs" over and over again. We cannot thank him enough for keeping our dance floor packed!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Style Matters is an awesome DJ company. Spencer was great throughout the planning process and Dustin our DJ was fantastic, fun, and professional. He was perfect for our wedding and played all the songs we requested and none of the songs on our "do not play list". The music throughout the cocktail hour, dinner, and reception was modern, sophisticated and fun - definitely not cheesy. We went to see the DJs perform in a bar prior to our wedding and all of DJs played great music that the crowd loved. We would not hesitate to hire Style Matters again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Can't say enough great things about Spencer and our DJ, Margot! From the first day we met with him, Spencer was incredibly cool while still being very professional, and we were so impressed by his enthusiasm! You can tell he truly loves his job. :0) We chose Margot after they did an open-house type of thing so new clients could check out all the DJs, and we're so glad we did! She was an absolute joy to work with throughout the planning process, and she made the whole reception run smoothly and without a hitch. She kept everybody on the dance floor all night long with her awesome mixes, and by the end of the evening, nobody wanted to leave! Overall...GREAT people to work with and couldn't recommend Style Matters more!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1215552031735-cubs
ejon9
Wedding:
12/31/2009
4.5/5.0
We had Dustin from Style Matters spin at our wedding (12.31.09) and he did a FABULOUS job. Extra pressure that it was NYE and that my taste in music is the polar opposite of my fiance's taste in music.

Dustin pulled it off with style, leveraging some CDs that we provided with samples of our "likes" - while he played some of those songs he had full DJ license to play anything. He was a great MC, making announcements when we asked him to, and a consummate professional yet totally laid back and cool!

He enforced our DNP list and had some cooler versions of songs - clubbed out version of Auld Lang Syne that rocked and a souped up version of Sweet Caroline that had everyone on the dance floor.

Our dance floor was packed with ppl moving and shaking to the beat! I cannot wait for the mp3 (yes, you can order the recording of what was played!).

The only negative thing was that some requests were made that Dustin said he didn't have, some of which were made by the groom. We had asked what would happen with requests and were assured that their music library had everything. Despite this, everyone still had a great time!

Kudos to Spencer for having such a great group of DJs and to Dustin who helped us ring in 2010 and make our day so special!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ETwedding
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Duke with Style Matters was the DJ for our wedding on Dec 12 at the Newberry Library. This company prides itself on no cheese. No cheesy songs, no crazy lights. Duke just played great music and everyone danced all night long. He was not an obnoxious on-the-mic-all night DJ. He was very chill. My biggest concern going into the wedding was that I wanted all of the guests to have a blast. I don�t even know why I worried. Duke had it under control. The dance floor was PACKED all night long. I would definitely recommend using Style Matters for your DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JSWN
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Style Matters to anyone who wants the dance floor packed all night!

We had been having a lot of issues with our previous DJ-so when we started researching for a new one, communication was a top priority.

Spencer, the owner and our main contact, was promp and professional in all communication. At our first meeting (the only time we had to go to them to meet), we told Spencer all of our "wants and needs" for the wedding. I knew right away that these were the DJs for us! Our biggest concern was keeping our dance floor full the whole night. Spencer was quick to reassure this was their top goal, too.

Spencer paired us with Ryan (and Tom assisted him). All three of them are extremely knowledgeable on all sorts of genre of music.

Ryan certainly upheld Spencer's promise to keep the dance floor full! He and Tom were both extremely professional and well dressed. We got a lot of compliments that our wedding had the "best wedding music ever".

Ryan was also very accommodating to my requests but also balanced my requests with keeping the atmosphere appropriate for a wedding and all the age groups in attendance.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Coreane
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Spencer is awesome!!

We used them for our wedding, and they were excellent. EVERYONE complimented us on the DJ, and he had EVERYONE on the dance floor, from my 16 year old sister to my grandmother.

In addition to being a fantastic DJ, Style Matters has a (cleverly named) chamber music option "String Theory" which we used for the cocktail hour.

They delivered all the songs I requested, had the exact version of "Some Enchanted Evening" from South Pacific for the first dance I wanted, and kept everyone dancing until they couldn't walk.

On top of that, their prices were VERY reasonable. Great for people on a budget. Professional, reliable, on time... I really cannot compliment them enough.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Champagne
Wedding:
10/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Spencer is a really great guy. He deejayed our wedding at the Narnia estate. He did a great job. The interviews about our styles of music were great because he is a laid-back nice guy. We knew the minute we walked out of the first meeting that he was the one. One slight hiccup at the wedding was that he started the Bouquet Dance before I knew he was going to or was ready so I didn’t have the toss bouquet or garter and had to frantically run around trying to get some one to get them from another part of the building and get the groom’s parents on the dance floor. Plus, everyone then went and sat down instead of having an incentive to come up and dance later on. However, Spencer is a really great deejay who plays great music and is just wonderful to work with, so I would definitely hire him again!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amynton
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Spencer did an awesome job! Everyone complimented us on the music and the dance floor was full all night. Spencer is very professional and takes music very seriously. He checked in with us often and was on top of things. Great bang for your buck.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Duckie205
Wedding:
10/9/2009
4.8/5.0
We had Spencer for our wedding. We loved the idea of the non traditional DJ. We enjoyed talking to him. The only issue I had was during my last week of planning, trying to get together to hash the rest of the details out, was difficult. He was great all throughout the wedding, but he didn't keep to our music style too much. We told him we were more modern day, contemporary and he played more oldie type. We did get a handful of people on the floor, but not as many as I would have liked. But don't be discouraged by my review, i really thought he was fantastic and would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bubbles11
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Style Matters was phenomenal! We were on quite a tight budget but the DJ was an area I didn't want to skimp on too much, and Style Matters fit our budget without too much trouble and provided the best night of music!

We had them do the music at our ceremony as well as the reception music. We met with Spencer who was already booked the evening of our wedding, which was fine because we got Nate who is the most adorable and talented guy! My husband and I met with both of them a week before the wedding to go over the details, get the bridal party names correct, and talk about music in general.

We did not provide a must play or do not play list, we really felt comfortable with their abilities to read the crowd and know most of us are beyond the cheezy music, unless you love that stuff! Our only directions were during the guest seating at the ceremony, play instrumentals from Vitamin String Quartet, and we had specific versions of the bridal party and bride procession and recession. I know it is difficult to play at an outdoor venue but think they did a great job.

At the reception Nate was wonderful at announcing things when needed and played awesome music all night long. Our only regret is that we were so busy saying hello and goodby to our guests we did not get much of a chance to dance and enjoy the music ourselves.

To talk more to Nate's talents is that one of our guests is a DJ for weddings and such himself and he even said he was great. As well as some of the waitstaff from the Zoo who are subjected to a lot of different weddings, they all told me how wonderful he was as well.

Extremely professional, warm, polite and unbelievably talented!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hellopanda
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We clicked with Spencer right away and booked him without meeting with any other DJs on our list. He was super quick on e-mail and phone leading up to the wedding and provided fantastic service during the reception. Spencer kept everything running smoothly and on time. His musical intuition was flawless. We had provided him with a list of songs we liked, but only one or two must-plays. He chose songs for dinner that perfectly fit our tastes. Also, we had requested a somewhat obscure Muppets song for our cake cutting. The album is out of print, but Spencer was able to rip the audio from a YouTube clip featuring the song, and the quality was crystal clear.

When the dancing started, he kept the floor busy all night. The only time the floor cleared was when he played New Order's "Age of Consent," a song my husband had requested - great tune, but I guess no one else was that enthused by it. Once people started leaving, Spencer immediately segued into Beyonce's "Single Ladies" and everyone came hurrying back to the floor. Very impressive.

Neither my husband nor I had ever seen his parents dance, but they were on the floor all night! That's one of our favorite memories from the evening and we really appreciate Spencer's hard work and talent.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.9/5.0
Style Matters totally SHUT IT DOWN at our wedding! Everyone loved the music and we couldn't have been happier with Nate, our mixmaster. They are super cool and fun to work with and made planning the music at our wedding a total breeze.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yeena
Wedding:
5/24/2009
4.6/5.0
Dustin was our DJ and he was fabulous! Our guests rarely left the dance floor and the transitions between music was so smooth, you barely noticed them. I was a little concerned because he wasn't originally the DJ we had requested or contracted for, but Spencer (owner) and Dustin personally met with us to apologize and reassure the quality of the DJ service we would be given. They did everything they could to make us happy, and indeed, the night of the wedding, I was super pleased with Dustin and the music he delivered. My now-husband(!) has been to more than 60 weddings, has heard all manner of DJs, and he thought Dustin did an absolutely amazing job as well.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pinkstar79
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Style Matters is a fantsastic DJ company! A friend reccommended them to me and we were not dissappointed. Spencer the owner has a great outlook for the company... no cheesy wedding music! We instantly clicked and new we had to book right away. Dustin was the DJ we used for our wedding and we received compliment after compliment on the music. People were dancing from the start of the reception to the finish... he definitely kept the party going!
We would highly reccommend Style Matters to all brides!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1238681458531-engagement
Maria
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
I wish Nate, our DJ, would have played some bad songs so that I could have sat down or grabbed a drink during the reception. Instead, he had to play amazing songs that had the dance floor packed all night. Nate completed respected our music tastes, managing to squeeze in Frank Sinatra and Warren G into his set. The goal of our wedding was to throw an awesome party for our friends and family, and Style Matters kept our guests rockin' out all night long.

On a side note, the company's owner, Spencer, was my favorite wedding vendor to work with. I would send him an email with a question on a playlist or song, and I would have a response in twenty minutes. Talk about service!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MychM
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Spencer rocked! Our dance floor was full until the end. He did a great job and was sooooo responsive. He even emailed us the day before the wedding b/c he was bored in the airport and wanted to know if he could do anything to help us out! He was so detailed in all his correspondence and very helpful. I would highly recommend getting the mp3 copy of your night. We just received ours and it was especially fun to re-listen to all the speeches. It was definitely worth the extra money. I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ladolcevida4409
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Spencer was awesome! He was fun to work with, played great music that my guests loved, and is just an all around great guy! I would definitely work with Spencer again, he loves what he does and it shows.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lee421
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Dustin Harris made our night a success! He kept things on schedule and played awesome tunes from a wide variety of genres. He really kept the dance floor packed the whole night.

Spencer Lokken was also a pleasure to work with. He was easy to get in touch with and really listened to our ideas and answered our questions in a timely fashion.
Services Used: DJ
Bg22
Julia C.
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Style Matters knows how to throw the perfect party! The Style Matters DJs are so talented and are really breaking the mold of what most people traditionally think of DJs. Their ideas are fresh, they provide amazing customer service and are a pleasure to work with. I had so much fun working with them through out the planning process. They have so much experience and really know how to read the crowd. The flow of my entire wedding reception was so smooth thanks to them. They somehow always knew how to play the right song at the right time! I had so many comments from my guests that they were the best DJ they had ever heard. I have been to a lot of weddings myself and I can't think of any other DJ wedding that came close to how awesome Style Matters delivered. They had people out on the dance floor and committed to having a good time. I think their website does a really good job of giving you a feel for the style matters flavor so if you haven't checked it out you should! If you decide to go with Style Matters I can guarantee you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
We mainly worked with Spencer (co owner) until right before the wedding when we started working with Nate, the DJ who worked our even. They are both fun guys easy to talk with and are DJs outside of the wedding circuit. We didn't give them much info - I just took a couple screen shots of my iTunes & they played great stuff. Got tons of compliments. They charged right around the same amount as your standard play-the-chicken-dance and hokey pokey DJ and probably could've gotten away with charging more.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kinipc
Wedding:
7/5/2008
5.0/5.0
My DH (and about 150 of our friends) didn't leave the dance floor all night! Spencer kept the tunes rolling, and people were CONSTANTLY complimenting us on our DJ. He had to bring two set-ups because we did cocktails and dinner in two different rooms. He did it, and he made sure the sound quality in both rooms was good enough for everyone to hear and enjoy. Best of all, he doesn't do anything cheesy and he plays REAL records. If you are looking for a REAL DJ (not a wedding DJ), I highly recommend Spencer.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
3/14/2008
5.0/5.0
It was great that we were able to find a great alternative to the middle aged cheesy d.j. that does the YMCA! Spencer was extremely on point when it came to incorporating our musical preferences (which varied from latin, soul, oldies, etc) into the set list. We wanted our wedding to simply just be a great time for everyone and all of the feedback we have received from our guests was extremely positive. He did a fantastic job at a reasonable price and we couldn't have had a better time ourselves!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/11/2007
5.0/5.0
We truly consider finding Style Matters a gift from the wedding gods above! Spencer Lokken was everything we wanted in a DJ and more: cool, fun, talented, normal, affordable, stylish, intuitive and professional. It was clear from our first interaction with Spencer that we could relax and hand him the reins- which is exactly what we did- and the result was brilliant. Thank you Spencer and Style Matters, you are a genuine class act!
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
2023 North California, #A2, Chicago, IL 60647 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Style Matters DJs, Inc.
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo