130x130_sq_1351178592772-sparklerosette

Sugar Couture

Brooklyn , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Brooklyn, NY US 11211 (map)

PHONE

917-992-4955

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Sugar Couture sweetens the deal with custom cakes and confections that make lasting impressions and delicious memories. We can create whatever you're dreaming of, or take hints from you... Read more
Sugar Couture sweetens the deal with custom cakes and confections that make lasting impressions and delicious memories. We can create whatever you're dreaming of, or take hints from you about your special day to inspire the perfect sweet centerpiece for your wedding. No detail is missed and flavor is always top priority.

Sugar Couture specializes in elegant, bold wedding cakes, but never forgets the groom! Celebrate him with a sweet moment he'll never forget.



Contact us at 917 992 4955 or penny@sugar-couture.com Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1383086976618-img3012-edi
130x130_sq_1383086959477-christy-edi
130x130_sq_1351178307563-beckysweddingedit
130x130_sq_1351178337596-drapecakeedit
130x130_sq_1351178432294-jinaedit
130x130_sq_1355849854415-img7889edit
130x130_sq_1351178465284-ombreinspired
130x130_sq_1351178369819-img1615
130x130_sq_1355849786817-bridesblock
130x130_sq_1355850199773-mosaic
130x130_sq_1355850251745-silverburst
130x130_sq_1355849823998-iciclecakeedit
130x130_sq_1355849879109-jetaun
130x130_sq_1355849091752-3271905408925312531677441000o
130x130_sq_1355849108087-467226
130x130_sq_1355849184247-jinasbluebow
130x130_sq_1355849398189-mg77521098edit
130x130_sq_1355850276202-toolboxgroomscake
130x130_sq_1355850087206-bulldog
130x130_sq_1355850128290-img3248
130x130_sq_1355850145630-img4966

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Private tastings are available by appointment Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Wedding cakes are priced per serving. The minimum for any order is $400, and the minimum price per serving is $8 which increases with the detail on the cake. Grooms cakes are priced as a whole and based mostly on the complexity of the cake.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Everything we do is custom to the event.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
All cakes are made with the freshest, natural ingredients.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Delivery is required on all orders and starts at $65 for Manhattan locations. All other locations priced by distance.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mbarrett18@gmail.com
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Penny was superb. She not only custom-designed our cake, but she also created 5 signature desserts that reflected our personalities and interests. She even created paczkis (a Polish dessert) that honored my family's background and create desserts that made everyone go "YUM!" at the reception.

She was extremely responsive and helpful. She even helped us find the perfect cake stand by doing her own independent Google search. If you want excellent service and superb value for an amazing price - go with Penny. She even provided two separate tastings. All the desserts were gobbled up at the wedding - and we ordered extra!!

We keep getting texts from friends and family saying how much they miss eating those desserts...and it's two weeks after the wedding. Penny left an impression!

She is extremely LGBT-friendly, so she is your gal if you want an amazing wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
5/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Penny is the most amazingly talented artist. We so enjoyed collaborating with her and having her get creative with us. We really wanted a non-traditional wedding cake and the cake she made in the shape of our dog was absolutely perfect! Every detail was so well executed and we got so many compliments on the look of our cake. The best part was that not only did it look amazing, it was the best cake I have ever had. Seriously, unbelievably moist and delicious. We also have a lot of vegan friends/family so she made us a smaller vegan cake which also was incredibly tasty. She is so professional, so talented and so easy to work with. There is no question that she is the best in the business. I could not recommend her more highly!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mirella
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
If you want the best cake for your wedding day, look no more. Sugar Couture was the only thing I did not worried about. I was completely happy and very relieved watching my wedding cake on my reception site. Everybody took pics of it and we received many complements. Thanks Again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jinallen
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
I have been using Sugar Couture for years now and was blessed to have two wedding receptions and of course no one but Sugar Couture would make my cake. The designs were unique and stunning. The cake was delicious and loved by all the guests. Just to give you an idea of how wonderful the cake actually was.....there was a year difference between both my wedding receptions and the top tier from the first wedding was just as delicious one year later when I celebrated my 1st wedding anniversary. Penny is amazing to work with and is extremely creative. I trusted her completely, that as someone who is a control freak, I was able to allow her all the creativity for both wedding cakes and she did not disappoint!. I am looking forward to having many more wonderful memorable events with Sugar Couture.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
11/16/2011
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for creativity and amazing taste, which I am, you can find it all here in this company. The owner penny is a true professional in how she listens and creates her designs. She goes that extra mile on everything she brings to me. I have so many details in creating an event and Sugar Couture is the best and easiest part of my event.
You make me shine!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
VanessaAnders
Wedding:
6/25/2010
5.0/5.0
There are so many things that need to be taken care of for weddings that could turn a perfectly calm lady into a Bridezilla. Thankfully Penny at Sugar Couture was able to alleviate some stress when it came to making my wedding cake.

To say she was helpful would be an understatement. I was constantly calling and emailing with every little change or question that popped into my mind.

For the rehearsal dinner, we had Sugar Couture make white chocolate candies as a little something for our wedding party. They were DELICIOUS!

As for the wedding cake, we had a cake covered in different flowers. The detail was amazing and the flavors were to die for. (White chocolate ganache ... amazing!)

I would definitely recommend Penny for any custom made cake. She definitely helped make my special day even better!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1276189308755-dibeziwatermark
Kristen
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Perfect!!!! Penny was so fantastic, and she was excellent at keeping on top of communication (which was key because we were planning from out of state). We had an acoustic guitar cake with personalized sheet music, and it turned out even better than I imagined! Everyone loved it, it tasted fantastic, and they were very prompt with their delivery. We were so happy with Sugar Couture, and we absolutely recommend them for any of your cake needs. Thanks Penny!

Kristen and Rodrigo
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bodine
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Penny is outstanding. She made the most delicious cake I have ever had, and one of the most beautiful pieces of artwork I've ever seen. I had a pretty good idea of what it would look like based on her sketches and our conversations, but when it was rolled out at the wedding, my jaw dropped.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brad
Wedding:
2/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Penny did a completely amazing job across the board. She paid so much attention to detail, it was truly incredible. It had great flavor and the design, the decorations and presentation were outstanding.I recommend Sugar Couture to everyone i know who needs a wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ames
Wedding:
12/21/2008
5.0/5.0
They made a great stylish cake for my wedding, exactly as I requested them.Everyone kept raving about it and it tasted equally good!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nikkigee
Wedding:
11/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Penny made my bridal shower cake, wedding cake and two types of truffles for my favors! Penny is amazing at understanding who you are and translating that into your cake. She was extremely professional, responsive and super friendly! The cakes were beautiful and tasted like heaven! I still dream of her red velvet cake! Incredible work! I highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ACORTES
Wedding:
6/2/2007
5.0/5.0
PENNY IS AN AMAZING CAKE DESIGNER. SHE HAS DESIGNED CAKES FOR MY WEDDING, MY BABY SHOWER, MY BRIDAL SHOWER AND MY GOING AWAY PARTY. I BOOK WITH HER FOR EVERY EVENT IN MY LIFE.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
abuwende
Wedding:
1/15/2005
5.0/5.0
Working with Sugar Couture was a wonderful experience, and I would recommend them without hesitation. They provided excellent creative direction, taking into account the details of my wedding and coming up with unique ideas that I had not ever seen elsewhere. I felt I was given a lot of attention throughout the entire process.

When the cake arrived, it was exactly as I expected. And on top of that, the cake was delicious! I received many rave reviews from my guests about the look, taste, and uniqueness of the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jose
Wedding:
3/25/1978
5.0/5.0
The Sugar Couture is a good company.The cake was very beautiful and delicious.The staff is very friendly and flexibility.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1366847685970-avatar
Emily
Wedding:
9/8/2013
4.9/5.0
Penny was awesome! We got so many compliments on how the cake looked and also how it tasted. Her cakes are not overly sweet like some are, and her flavors are original (but not too crazy! just try them, they taste great!).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suela
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.4/5.0
After reading her glowing reviews all over the web and seeing the beautiful pictures of all the cakes Penny had designed over the years, I had really high expectations for my cake. I talked to Penny about creating a wedding cake with a peacock feather design that (in hindsight) was too complex to execute. Despite the fact that I met with Penny twice and communicated with her numerous times over email, she never mentioned that the design was simply to hard to emulate. When the cake was delivered on my wedding day, I have to say, it looked nothing like what I had envisioned. Despite the fact that my guests loved it (they had no idea what it was supposed to look like) and it tasted delicious, I was slightly disappointed in the end result. The one thing I would tell a prospective client is that Penny is a sculptor not a painter. The design has to be of an object and not of a painting. And then, I would hire Penny again (you cannot beat the taste of the cake) but ask for a different design.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sugar Couture responded with the following comments:

This is the cake made for Suela.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=5712487&fbid=426630630675&id=74550640675

While it is truly a shame that she did not love it just as much as we did, it was without a doubt a showstopper and embraced the inspiration provided.

MAP

 
Brooklyn, NY 11211 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sugar Couture
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1351178592772-sparklerosette