130x130_sq_1362672247431-1362669609589image6

Sugar Flower Cake Shop

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

336 West 37th Street, Suite 950
New York, NY US 10018 (map)

PHONE

212-993-6441

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Sugar Flower Cake Shop creates unique special occasion and wedding cakes made from the freshest and finest ingredients, locally sourced whenever possible, featuring lifelike flowers and... Read more
Sugar Flower Cake Shop creates unique special occasion and wedding cakes made from the freshest and finest ingredients, locally sourced whenever possible, featuring lifelike flowers and foliage handmade from sugar.

Amy DeGiulio, owner of Sugar Flower Cake Shop who has been featured on TV Land, the STYLE Network and in Martha Stewart Weddings Magazine, works with couples to discover exactly what they are looking for. She provides sketches to aid in the design process, taking into account the specific feeling a couple is looking to evoke from their cake. Using her artistic expertise, Ms. DeGiulio creates customized sugar flowers that look like they came fresh from the garden.

In addition to creating show-stopping cakes for New York metro area clients, Sugar Flower Cake Shop is willing to ship delicate sugar flowers and small bouquets anywhere in the world. They have successfully traveled as far as Dubai.

As an added benefit, Sugar Flower Cake Shop flowers last forever, providing a memorable keepsake from her big day.

Call 212/993-6441, e-mail orders@sugarflowercakeshop.com or visit http://sugarflowercakeshop.com to set up a consultation or receive an invitation to one of our cake tasting parties. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1362669296758-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop1
130x130_sq_1362669488901-mwd105823fall10ruysch06xl2
130x130_sq_1279639906827-ryph077
130x130_sq_1362669434160-cake24lk364
130x130_sq_1362669235066-bluebirthday
130x130_sq_1362669455267-kesselman20
130x130_sq_1362669456359-kesselman202
130x130_sq_1282667028918-9img4526sugarflowers
130x130_sq_1362669640266-183529101502434566299712114236704n
130x130_sq_1362669641893-41944210150243458224971918553272n
130x130_sq_1362669257361-sugarflowercakeshopredanemonechocolatecake
130x130_sq_1362669268111-sugarflowercakeshoptexturedweddingcake
130x130_sq_1362669297396-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop2
130x130_sq_1362669298097-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop3
130x130_sq_1362669299353-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop4
130x130_sq_1362669301123-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop6
130x130_sq_1362669302001-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop7
130x130_sq_1362669303986-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop9
130x130_sq_1362669304726-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop10
130x130_sq_1362669306025-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop11
130x130_sq_1362669307237-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop12
130x130_sq_1362669308584-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop13
130x130_sq_1362669309877-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop14
130x130_sq_1362669310696-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop15
130x130_sq_1362669312958-theplazaweddingcakebysugarflowercakeshop17
130x130_sq_1362669413681-trump14
130x130_sq_1362669417595-img7597
130x130_sq_1362669282295-sugarflowercakeshopwhiteweddingcakefull
130x130_sq_1362669424548-1105213943
130x130_sq_1249853531281-img1931
130x130_sq_1221673733402-img_4556
130x130_sq_1362669426311-httpwww.chellisemichaelphotography.com1001
130x130_sq_1362669465707-untitled1062
130x130_sq_1362669482412-untitled1068
130x130_sq_1362669501504-cake3
130x130_sq_1362669525434-img8067
130x130_sq_1362669566624-img7940
130x130_sq_1362669582125-img4007
130x130_sq_1362669590641-katieanddaniel295
130x130_sq_1362669591636-jenhuangphotography55of234
130x130_sq_1362669596989-img7311
130x130_sq_1221673604559-img_4326
130x130_sq_1362669609589-image6
130x130_sq_1362669639332-emilynickrw0712397vert
130x130_sq_1362669644630-389430101502459835599711560170893n1
130x130_sq_1362669651074-theuppercrust1000
130x130_sq_1362669669080-theuppercrust1002

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Organic
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Tastings are conducted on a by appointment basis, ensuring that there is ample time, without distractions, for each couple so that I can best understand and be inspired by all of the intricate details of their wedding.
What are your tasting hours?
Arranged by appointment and available on certain weekends, evenings and during the weekday. 
 
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Pricing is offered by the slice, though small non-tiered cakes are priced individually. Exact pricing depends on the design and can best be discussed at a tasting.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
The price does include the top tier, though since I do not feel that anyone should eat frozen cake, the top tier is to be served and we will create a complimentary fresh cake for your anniversary!
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
As each couple's style and details vary, most of our work is custom. We also offer The Chic Cake Collection, a chance to personalize a cake design without the couture costs.
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
Sugar Flower Cake Shop uses local and sustainable ingredients as much as possible. We have relationships with high-quality farmers that can be found at the NYC Greenmarkets. Items, such as sugar that are not obtainable locally are sourced from organic, fair-trade certified suppliers.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
No earlier than the day before, ensuring the freshest possible cake!
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
The number of cakes accepted is based on availability and the intricacy of each design. Certain weekends will be occupied by a single cake.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
We love working with florists in order to create sugar flowers that are as realistic as possible. Some florists will provide us samples so that we can match the exact color and variety. Most fresh flowers, which can be sprayed with pesticides and often have allergy inducing pollen, should not be placed on cakes.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We will lend cake stands and source or build custom stands, including cupcake stands.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
Yes, typically $75-$100.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake from Sugar Flower Cake Shop! We had a thorough tasting and design consultation meeting with Amy, and the cake the team created was beautiful and exactly what we had envisioned! Perhaps more importantly than being beautiful, the cake was delicious! The cake was the perfect cake texture (light and moist), and the NYC Rooftop Honey Buttercream icing was perfect - not too sweet but certainly sweet enough for my sweet tooth. I'm excited to receive our 1st-year anniversary mini-cake - they don't let you eat cake that's been frozen for a year! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Amy and her team at Sugar Flower Cake Shop are amazing! I love the wedding cake she designed for me, and the cake was so delicious! I had an antique cake topper (used by my grandmother when she got married in 1950) and Amy designed a beautiful cake, drawing inspiration from the details of the topper. My grandmother was so happy and proud when she saw it! We went with the champagne cake (champagne used in the cake mix instead of milk) and it was so great! The price for cake was very fair as well. Definitely hire Amy and Sugar Flower Cake Shop for a unique and delicious wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience working with Amy at Sugar Flower Cake Shop. She really blew away mine and my husband's expectations. When she asked if she could basically surprise us with the cake design we did not hesitate to say yes. And let me tell you, we LOVED it. Not only did the cake smell delicious from a far, it also tasted amazing!

Sugar Flower Cake Shop also created a "Tough Mudder" grooms cake for my husband which light up his eyes and tasted just as great as the wedding cake.

You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maribel
Wedding:
8/5/2012
5.0/5.0
A loving note can barely express how Sugar Flower Cake Shop added to our happiness. We like to send our sincerest thanks for the amazing job Amy and her staff did on our cupcakes and grooms cake. Both were amazing, not only they looked just as we imagined but they taste great as well. Amy was flexible and very professional. She is also very creative and helped us make our vision a reality! We recommend her services without hesitation.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joia Z
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Sugar Flower Cake Shop is wonderful! Amy is an absolute pleasure to work with!! This was one of the best experiences of planning our entire wedding. From our initial consultation with Amy, to the cake tasting, to the final review of our design - it was so much fun! She knew exactly what we wanted - and the cake was perfect!!! We created a three-tier cupcake tower with cutting cake on top. The orchid sugar flowers were gorgeous! And the cake was absolutely delicious!! Our guests are still talking about our beautiful wedding cake. It was exactly what we dreamed it would be. Thank you, Amy!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Beautiful and DELICIOUS cake! When we met with Amy for our tasting, she was so fun, passionate and enthusiastic about what she was doing and figuring out what we wanted. And boy did she deliver! She had great ideas which were incorporated perfectly to fit our Luau theme and modern vibrant colors! Our tropical cupcakes were adorable and everyone has been raving about how delicious they were! The only complaint I have is that the purple orchids turned out pink, but the cake is still adorable and utterly delicious! thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CHRISTINA
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Amy created the most beautiful and delicious bridal shower cake I HAVE EVER TASTED, MY DAUGHTER AND GUESTS WERE IN AWE OF THE BEAUTY OF THE SUGAR FLOWER DONE BY AMY AND THE ARTISTIC TOUCH TO THE WHOLE CAKE INCORPORATING THE SAGE GREEN OF THE MATRON OF HONOR AND BRIDESMAIDS DRESS, A SPECIAL MEMORABLE TOUCHAND THE BUTTERCREAM AND CAKE IS NOT SWEET, IT IS RICH IN FLAVOR LIKE EUROPEAN CAKES, THANK YOU SOO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL AND MEMORABLY DELICIOUS BRIDAL SHOWER CHRISTINA AND PAT CUBBAGE
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alina & Joey
Wedding:
10/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Amazing amazing amazing! Thank you Amy, we had so many compliments from our guests that this was one of the best cakes they've ever had. So, thank you very very much. Alina and Joey
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Padrailda
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Everything was fantastic from the tasting and design consultation through the cake's appearance on my plate. Everyone asked where we got the cake. The only thing i regret is that someone took half of my cake when i went to talk to another guest! i'll never invite that SOB to my home if i ever find out who took it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sugar Flower Cake Shop responded with the following comments:

So glad you both enjoyed your cake and the process. I guess the cake was popular if someone needed to steal half a slice. Remember that I will make you a fresh cake in a year, just for the two of you - no sharing allowed!!!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with Amy's beautiful cakes. On my first consultation with Amy, I knew immediately that I wanted to work with her. She is professional, talented, congenial, and also a very kind person. She was a breath of fresh air to work with compared to many other wedding vendors. All of my guests thought the cakes tasted absolutely delicious. She uses the freshest ingredients in NYC which also supports local farmers. Her sugar flowers are just gorgeous.

After the wedding, my husband and I took some cake back to the hotel with us on Saturday night and ate some before we went to bed. My family had some leftovers too and we were just so happy. We just love cake !!!

Everything went smoothly with the delivery process. I have passed along Amy's name and the sugar flower shop to all the New Yorkers in attendance at the wedding so that she may have some new customers. You should definitely hire Amy on your special day. She will exceed your expectations, and I will be calling her to make cakes for other special events in our lives. It would be too sad to only have her cakes once ! I was soo proud of her work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sugar Flower Cake Shop responded with the following comments:

Gina, thank you so much for the kind words!

This wedding was fun to work on because we created a cake for each table to be used as centerpieces (clever multi-purposing!). It was a record 27 cakes in one day for Sugar Flower Cake Shop.

Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your day and for coming to me with this idea. Don't forget to come back to me in a year for your complimentary anniversary cake!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kamiyaetara
Wedding:
6/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Amy delivered a delicious cake expertly decorated on my wedding day. Everything was done timely, and she maintained an open line of communication. There was never a time when I felt nervous or was left wondering if she would deliver what she had promised. She conducted her self professionally throughout the entire process and treated me with respect. Her work space is clean, creative and she gives you a lovely consultation with class. Amy is high end yet not stuffy. I highly recommend her as a cake designer and highly suggest her to be part of your happily ever after.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kel
Wedding:
6/13/2010
5.0/5.0
What an AMAZING cake! Mine was a moist white cake with this delicious honey buttercream. It was explained to us that the honey came from bees kept on Manhattan rooftops - too cool! I think most of the ingredients they use are local. The cake looked incredible as well. It was exactly what I asked for - simple and elegant, yet nicely detailed. Thank you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ok
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Amy created a beautiful to look at cake for my wedding which my guest voluntarily told me were great tasting.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jakyt
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Amy was able to accommodate me in the short amount of time I had before my party. I was very impressed with her interpretation of the decorative motifs I requested for the design of my cake, and to top it off, the cake was just as delicious as it looked!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The overall experience was actually quite memorable. Amy took the ideas that my wife and I had, and transformed them into something more than we could have imagined. What was a simple idea, was more beautiful in reality, better than we could have ever imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K0woords
Wedding:
1/22/2009
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was decorative and it dazzled my guests. We all enjoyed the flavors and also the nice combination of frosting and cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele Platt
Wedding:
9/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Amy was absolutely on target for us, she brought great ideas to the table, had great follow up and follow through, and excellent execution, the sugar flowers were gorgeous, they made the cake!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cali Lily Cake
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Provided me with sugar cali lily cake decorations. Product was exceptional, well made, packed well with no damage during shipping, service was quick and she was very pleasant to work with. She helped me out basically at the last minute and was very willing to accomodate the short time frame. I highly recommend the services of the Sugar Flower Shop and hope to use her in the future for other special occasion cakes for my family.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Amy DeGiulio provided me with the most gorgeous flowers for my cake. Everyone ooohed and aaahed! My cake was very plain and I used her flowers to dress it up. It was absolutely gorgeous! The flowers looked so real and beautiful. She captured the look of my wedding perfectly and contributed to a very special day.

In terms of professionalism, she responded to my email immediately. She also made sure that the flowers reached me on time even though I was at a very rural mailbox. I was also on a tight budget and she listened to what I wanted and gave me way more for my money than dreamed was possible.

I could not possibly have been happier with the product, her service, her professionalism and most importantly her creativity. I would recommend her to absolutely everyone who wants a special touch for a special day.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Amy at Sugar Flower Shop was exceptional to work with. I was in a bind and needed work done quickly and something that was not the norm. She was accomodating and worked with me to ensure that I had want I needed quickly. The product was even more beautiful than I imagine and I would recommend her business to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
6/14/2014
4.9/5.0
Lea created the most beautiful grooms cake for my husband. I had a few ideas that I told her about and I ended up hiring her because I could tell she was excited about the project. The cake blew away all my wildest dreams and EVERY guest was talking about it. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sugar Flower Cake Shop responded with the following comments:

Sara, we are SO excited that you loved your groom's cake. We had a TON of fun making it! Sweet regards, Amy
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
I would absolutely recommend The Sugar Flower Cake Shop. Amy was very accommodating in our decision making process and met with me twice to discuss her business. Her tasting gave a faithful representation of the finished product and there were plenty of flavor combinations to choose from. She took my budget into account and designed a beautiful cake that fit perfectly with the décor and feel of my wedding, including sugar roses that matched my bridesmaids’ bouquets and the satin ribbon I had used in several areas to rim the bottom of each layer. Amy was able to add on an order of gluten-free cupcakes for several guests with allergies. Through out the process, Amy was professional and a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
WiseLifeWellness
Wedding:
5/5/2011
4.8/5.0
Amy created not a wedding cake for us, but a cake for my three-year-old's birthday. It was a carrot cake with a marscapone buttercream and it was just delicious. It was also gorgeous, with sugar foliage and bluebirds. It was the hit of the party. I have got to say that I am super fussy when it comes to what I feed my family. Not only do I have a pastry degree myself, I am a holistic health counselor at WiseLifeWellness. I insist on cakes made of real ingredients and that taste good. SugarFlowerCakeShop's cake was all that and more! You cannot go wrong!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystin
Wedding:
6/29/2012
4.7/5.0
Amy and the Sugar Flower Cake Shop Team did an amazing job on my wedding cake. I got married at a Vineyard on the Northfork of Long Island and really wanted to capture a sophisticated, country chic theme throughout all of my wedding details. Amy met with me 3 months before the wedding to flip through magazines for inspiration and she sketched out my vision right in front of me. She was in touch with me leading up to the wedding on final fower and color details. The result was a real work of art, it was beautiful and captured the spirit of wine country, garden party, and wedding all in one cake! Additionally, it was DELICIOUS! I got so many compliments about how yummy the cake was. Sugar Flower Cake Shop gave me so many options for flavors and sponsored a cake tasting night where I was able to test trial lots of sample cakes and fillings together to create the perfect combination. Thank you so much for your contribution to our wedding. You made it special, pretty, and scrumptious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
12/4/2009
4.6/5.0
I used Sugar Flower Cake Shop for my engagement party in NYC. The event took place at a Thai restaurant so I wanted the cake/cupcakes to have an Asian theme. Brainstorming with Amy was great and the concept of incorporating lotus flowers and leaves complimented the deco. My guests were delighted and I was happy with the process and end result.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1325109597503-fbavatar2133276
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.9/5.0
Amy was a pleasure to work with. She listened to our design ideas and was very attentive. The cake was beautiful and delicious. However, our $11/person cake was melting at our wedding. Once it arrived at the venue it was falling. She was kind enough to create a celebratory cake for each of our birthdays in recompense. But beware of buttercream, it does not withstand the elements.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Printup
Wedding:
9/10/2011
3.8/5.0
I saw in a Martha Stewart Magazine this amazing cake topper from Sugar Flower. It was literally the most inspiring thing for me. After contacting the shop and telling them my budget and my concept they were eager to work with me. It was a blind design and I only first saw it the day of my wedding and can I just say it came out perfect! So realistic and completely editable!
Services Used: Flowers, Unique Services
Bg22
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.4/5.0
This cake was the only thing that disappointed me at my wedding. I was appalled at the lack of professionalism in the appearance of the cake. It looked nothing like the cakes on the website or in person when we visited the vendor. It literally looked like homemade piping - less nice than a grocery store cake. The colors were completely wrong Green instead of Gold, not even close. The sugar flowers looked half finished, terrible. I was embarrassed and so disappointed. The vendor was so nice and responsive, drew beautiful sketches...I had no expectation that the final product would be so terrible. I'm so disappointed and I'll never have another wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sugar Flower Cake Shop responded with the following comments:

Amy Nicole,

I wanted to take a moment to respond to your review of Sugar Flower Cake Shop. It is only through listening to comments that we will continue to improve our products. I am grateful that you were able to take time out of your day to offer your feedback.

First of all, I pride myself on being highly responsive to my clients. I very much appreciate that you recognized this trait.

I would like to address a couple of the specific comments to offer further understanding:

I believe the biggest issue was with the coloring of the custom crest we produced for the cake. As you know, we took the image of the crest from your invitations and had it printed on sugar. After several attempts, we realized that the image needed to be darker in order for any of the glorious detail to be seen. The initial versions in a metallic gold were just too light - the image completely faded into the buttercream-colored background.

I realize now that I should have alerted you to this discrepancy, allowing you to see the two side-by-side to help in the decision-making process. My apologies.

The sugar flowers for your cake were designed and detailed to match an image provided. Based on the monochromatic look we were going after, there was little coloring added - just tiny spots of the palest buttercup, as in the photo.

Please remember that included in your contract is a 6" anniversary cake. I would be pleased to make this for you at any point, incorporating your detailed feedback. Kindly call or email me so we can schedule delivery.

As always, I value your feedback. Feel free to reach out to me at any point.

Sweet regards,
Amy

MAP

 
336 West 37th Street, Suite 950, New York, NY 10018 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sugar Flower Cake Shop
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1362672247431-1362669609589image6