130x130_sq_1291216291801-img4062

Sugar Hills Bakery

Algonquin , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

644 S. Main St.
Algonquin, IL US 60102 (map)

PHONE

847-658-8765

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jada
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
My cake was awesome! It was perfect and everything I asked for!! Everyone loved it and the pictures are perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
2/1/2014
4.0/5.0
I ordered my wedding cake and sweets table through Sugar Hills Bakery a month ago, I heard so many great things from locals so I was very excited to say the least. They are professional, clean and organized. For my wedding I ordered a 4 tier beautiful cake I absolutely loved the design stunning, I just didn't care for the actual cake itself, I feel like for the amount of money I dropped (almost two-thousand) on everything it did not live up to its standard. I will always remember how beautiful it was though. & for the sweets table, that was great deserts were so delicious it went so fast at the wedding, only downfall was I was expecting a little more of a WOW factor, the plates were just laying out, nothing over the top like i was expecting. Great sweets, but a extremely expensive

Amber
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
The bakery has a few different selection of cakes and frostings and can do almost any design. We had an issue where we paid extra for a design on the cake and never got the design on the cake. But it tasted amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1355056407341-mypicture
Megan
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.7/5.0
After a very bad experience with The Baking Institute, our caterer, Biagio, told us that we could use Sugar Hills as part of our included wedding cake, and I'm SO SO SO glad that we did. It is a far drive from the city (although a location on Addison will be opening soon), but very much worth it. The tasting was in their bakery, and they immediately explained what our contract included. She had several books of pictures of base-level contract cakes, and then explained they could do more, and the different up charges. After looking through all of the pictures, I decided I still wanted a cake with alternating blue and white tiers and a top layer covered in fondant dots (under $40 upcharge).

For the tasting, we didn't have to pick any flavors in advance. They brought us four pieces of cake, and then as many different types of filling as we wanted. We ended up doing a four tiered cake, two chocolate tiers and two vanilla tiers, both with chocolate and strawberry filling.

The cake was gorgeous at our wedding, and DELICIOUS! We had no issues with the delivery, and they will give us a new top layer on our one year anniversary for free. I'm so happy we went with Sugar Hills, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My reception venue used Sugar Hills Bakery for its cake package. While it's a little bit further out, it was definitely worth the drive. We went in for the tasting and was given a little bit of everything to try in little plastic cups. After tasting everything, we chose alternating layers of white and chocolate cake plus mango and chocolate buttercream. Their buttercream is fantastic - light and rich at the same time! The secret is that they use REAL butter, and not shortening or some other artificial binder. We also got to chose our cake design from a huge binder of different styles they were able to offer at no additional charge. You can also bring in a photo and they can replicate. So all those things make Sugar Hills Bakery wonderful, but the icing on the cake (pardon my pun) is that they made the top layer of the cake, per our request, gluten free. Very few bakeries are able to do this, but Sugar Hills Bakery executed this flawlessly. Also luckily for us, they have a non-wedding bakery in the northwest burbs which is much closer to us. We will be using them for our specialty baked goods from now on!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/1/2013
4.6/5.0
The cake was delicious and beautiful! We received many compliments throughout the night from our guests who liked the cake! Overall we were very pleased and would recommend this bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Agata
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was actually included in our venue and we are extremely happy it was because this bakery is awesome!! we also ordered sweet table from them and sweets were exceptional also. Cake was beautiful! We had people asking if it is real it was so nice!!! it was delish too! great choices, very professional and most importantly - yummy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
They worked with me & for me to make my wedding so beautiful! I couldnt have asked for a better team to have made the day more of a success! They still keep in touch to see how were doing, thanks again for making us feel so special!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amberz73189
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Not only did they do our wedding cake (which was delicious and beautiful) they did my grooms cake and that turned out exactly as I pictured it! My husband was so thrilled and surprised by it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Idatyna
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.8/5.0
I don't have words to describe how truly amazing my wedding cake was.
The taste was great and the design tied the theme of my wedding together .
We shop there weekly now...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1328045253704-277
Mark
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Mirage Banquets uses Sugar Hill Bakery for their wedding cakes so that is who we went with to make ours. We planned the wedding from Phoenix, AZ and were able to only visit the bakery once in May before the wedding. We actually went on a Friday when there is no cake tasting and did not have an appointment. Even though I did not have an appointment, they were very welcoming and let me look through several books to pick out the cake design. I then sat with someone from the bakery to pick out colors and flavors. I did this in about 15 minutes and had my fingers crossed that the finished product would be beautiful and it was! Our cake was 5 tiers and it was beautiful and tasted delicious. Plus the price was amazing! I would recommend this bakery to anyone looking!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Agnes
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.9/5.0
The cake was delicious. Not overly sweet and definitely not dry like some cakes. We chose from 4 cake flavors (vanilla, chocolate, red velvet or van/choc) and over 10 filling flavors (raspberry, strawberry, etc, mocha, caramel, etc). We were able to choose our design from a book of cakes and make simple changes to it among request (circle vs square, real flowers on the cake vs frosting flowers, etc.) The vendor was accommodating.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/8/2012
4.4/5.0
Sugar Hills Bakery made the cake for my wedding, they actually worked along with my caterer to provide me with the cake. The tasting was nice, we were given many options of cakes to choose from and the head baker/decorator really listened to what we liked. My fiancee, now husband, and I are pretty laid back people, but we know what we like and what we dont like. The Baker/chef gave us exactly what we wanted and on the wedding day the cake was amazing, it was incredibly delicious and everyone commented on how lovely and beautiful the cake was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1334599652369-fbavatar2386025
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
From the taste testing that we did at their shop to the final product (which even the mother-of-the-bride approved of) this vendor exceeded our every expectation. Highly recommend them! We will be going back on our one year anniversary to get cupcakes as a reminder!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.5/5.0
We tried their cake pops and they tasted terrible. I then bought some sugar cookies and neither my husband nor my son would finish theirs. I refused to use them as my bakery for my cake. I'm very surprised by the reviews on this site. It doesn't match what's on the others. Perhaps Randall Oaks events get better quality?
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ilona
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Sugar Hills bakery made our wedding cake and pastries for our sweet table on our wedding day! The cake turned out delicious and it looked beautiful. We received a lot of compliments on our wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marianna
Wedding:
5/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We had to go through them for our cake because of the hall we were at. Unfortunately I had forgotten this detail until the week of the wedding and they were totally booked for appointments. I knew exactly what I wanted and they TOTALLY worked with me to get the cake together! The cake was BEAUTIFUL and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.8/5.0
We did not choose Sugar Hills Bakery, as the cake was included in our package at Randall Oaks and Sugar Hills had a contract to do all their cakes. Sugar Hills allowed us to customized our tiers, filling, and decorations. Our cake was flavorful, moist, and delicious. The cake we picked was awesome and customized the colors to match our wedding colors. When they were done, the cake looked more beautiful than in the picture.

The only complaint was when we called to setup a tasting and appointment to pick out a cake they were unable to meet us when we were available even though we were coming in from six hours away. Once the coordinator at Randall Oaks called them and said we were holding our reception there, then they became very flexible and met with us when we were available. The cake was delicious and we were very glad that our cake came from here!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.8/5.0
Can not review as far as value b/c cake from this bakery was included with package from reception hall! Cake was good (my mom LOVED it, but I am not a huge cake person to begin with and I liked it) many choices to choose from as far as fillings goes. My favorite was the mocha!! The girl working their made this task that could of been overwhelming quite simple! Eventhough it was kind of far drive it was worth it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious! When we arrived to do our tasting, they were very clear to let us know which would be included in our package with our caterer, and which ones would be an upgraded charge. It made it easy to select a design we liked, and we were even able to combine the styles of two cakes to come up with our own perfect cake. The flavors were amazing (ours tasted like a caramel latte all together), and the cake arrived at our reception venue on time. Get the caramel buttercream filling - its like heaven on a cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1295917255646-067
Vanessa
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
We did not do a wedding cake for our reception. Instead we ordered mini pastries from Sugar Hills Bakery. They offer a wide variety of desserts and packages to choose from. We chose the "assortment" of mini pastries. Everyone loved the desserts. I would definitely recommend them for cake or pastries.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ela&martin
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Sugar Hills Bakery provided my wedding cake and sweet table for our wedding, and it was unforgettable. The cake was beautiful and the sweet table was delicious. They have a great vision and taste for what they do, and they are very flexible and accommodating. They are willing to work with you to accommodate the what you want for your wedding and what your guests will like. They truly are unique!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg20
Maria
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.5/5.0
The Sugar Hills Bakery was used for our wedding. Since we had an all-inclusive package, this was the bakery that was provided. We had a choice of wedding cakes to choose from including design, flavor, and tier number. Even though the main bakery site was far from where we lived, it was worth the distance. The cake was amazing! It was so moist and delicious and everyone loved it! The best part was we didn't have to pay any additional cost for the wonderful cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Randi2277
Wedding:
12/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Our cake was included in our package with Belvedere Banquets. I had iorginally had a cake picked out w/ Rolf's. Less then week before wedding I was told they were temp closed due to food poisoning (TG it didn't happened at MY wedding!!). I went to Sugar Hills. I thought the cakes actually tasted alot better then Rolf's. They did a beautiful job on my cake. I was very very happy with how it turned out... LOVED IT!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1307967746322-professionalweddingphotos620
Amanda
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Our cake was included in our reception site's (Belvedere Banquets) package, so I can't comment about cost. However, I can comment on how amazing our cake was. It was absolutely stunning! Very modern and classic looking at the same time. Beautifully simple. Our guests raved about the taste of the cake as well. Even family members who typically don't enjoy cake, like myself, loved the cake. We were completely satisfied with our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roberta
Wedding:
9/10/2010
3.4/5.0
The cake from here was really good. However they forgot to put our cake topper on and although we didn't mind we didn't like how they treated us afterwards. When I let them know that they forgot to put it on they stated, "Oh well, it happens sometimes". Not very good customer service. At least an apology would have been nice.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenny
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
We are so happy we went through sugar hills bakery for our wedding cake! We got alot of compliments about it at the reception and look forward to our one year anniversary to be able to eat the top tier that we froze! We definetly recommend this bakery!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved Sugar Hills bakery! We were able to sample many different types of flavors and cakes prior to making our final decision. It was such a friendly atmosphere, we were able to look through the books, and speak with the manager. We truly enjoyed our experience and the cake was divine!! So good, sweet, and looks beautiful at the reception too! We were able to match our cake with our theme of Tiffany boxes as center pieces. It all worked out! Great place and highly recommended!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellennea
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Love, love, love this bakery!! Our wedding cake was absolutley beautiful... exactly what we wanted and it was amazing in taste! We can't wait for our first year anniversary so we can eat it again! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ennabre
Wedding:
10/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Sugar Hills did cakes for the reception hall that we used but if I had to choose a bakery on my own - hand down it would be them! I don't think I've seen a more perfect wedding cake than what Sugar Hills made for us. They completely understood my vision and made adjustments to some examples that they had already made in their portfolio and our cake was unbelievable. It seriously looked like it should be shown in wedding magazines. It was one of our most favorite parts of our reception. If I could only post a picture on this website. The cake was not only a masterpiece but also tasted delicious- chocolate ganache with white and chocolate cake and raspberry buttercream layers! Can you tell, we were very pleased with this bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1232923595312-me
Blushing Bride-To-Be
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
I'd just like to say that the wedding cake was beautiful! Sugar Hills Bakery made it with our wedding colors (orange and yellow) without making it look like it belonged at a children's birthday party. It was elegant but fun at the same time.

Oh! And it tasted great as well! I definately recommend Sugar Hills - 100%!

I'm not sure how much the cake cost though... it was part of our wedding package at the reception hall (D'Andrea Banquets in Crystal Lake, Illinois).
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
644 S. Main St., Algonquin, IL 60102 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sugar Hills Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo