130x130 sq 1326140783695 ssfinallogomoreroundforw

Sugar Snap Events

Kill Devil Hills , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 7840
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 US (map)

PHONE

252-480-9990
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Meet Laura Sorensen & Shirley Cook of Sugar Snap Events

(1) Name of Business: Sugar Snap Events, LLC

(2) Service Provided: Wedding coordination and wedding... Read more
Meet Laura Sorensen & Shirley Cook of Sugar Snap Events

(1) Name of Business: Sugar Snap Events, LLC

(2) Service Provided: Wedding coordination and wedding florals/décor.

(3) What is your business philosophy? To work hard and thoroughly and to take our client's best interest to heart. Our goal is to make their wedding day as stress free as possible so they can focus on what is most important- their new lives together, their family, and their friends.

(4) What sets you apart? Our ability to recognize both our client's and vendors' needs in order to make each wedding day as seamless as possible. We will only coordinate one wedding per day and we stay until the end of the event. In addition, we offer personalized floral/decor services set in a collaborative environment that allows our clients to achieve the look and feel they desire for their special day- everything from bouquets, boutonnieres and corsages to ceremony arches and arrangements, tablescapes, ceiling installations, print materials and more.

(5) How long and where? Sugar Snap Events has been serving brides since 2003. We are both natives of the Outer Banks and our past experience in event planning, catering/restaurant management, and familiarity with Outer Banks locations and vendors provides our clients with the insight and knowledge they need to have a spectacular wedding day.

(6) Best advice you have? Laura’s advice: “Remember to flex… or you will snap :) It is important to have the wedding of your dreams and we strive to ensure that. But at the end of the day the most important thing is not the color of your linens but the fact that you are married to the one you truly love.” Shirley’s advice: “When planning all of the special touches for your wedding day be true to who you are- with music selections, readings, the overall look/feel of the event. And remember to be present and focus on each and every moment because it all happens so quickly! “

(7) What is your favorite part of the job? Shirley: “Watching the groom's face as he sees his bride for the first time. After that, getting hugs from the family at the end of a successful event. “ Laura: “Listening to the toasts from best friends and family- I always laugh or cry in the BEST way:) After toasting it is the surprised reaction at the end of the night when they realize ‘Wow! We couldn't have done this without you.’ And of course, the hugs!”

(8) What is your favorite place? Laura: “My front porch.” Shirley: “Wilmington, NC”.
(9) What are your favorite hobbies? Shirley: “Hanging out and drinking a glass of wine with my girlfriends, bowling, and going to concerts.” Laura: “ Ditto But NO bowling!! It breaks my nails :) Ha ha.”

(10) What is your favorite meal? Laura: “A pint of Ben & Jerry's in my fave PJ's on the couch at the end of a lonnnggg day.” Shirley: “I'm a carb girl so nothing makes me happier than a big bowl of mac n' cheese or a plate full of crinkle cut french fries. “


Sugar Snap Events- the perfect blend of “sugar” and “snap”.

Congratulations on your engagement and upcoming wedding. What an incredibly exciting time in your life! Whether you are planning a large extravagant affair or an intimate heartfelt gathering, allow Laura and Shirley to bring the perfect blend of “sugar” and “snap” to your big day. Together, they achieve an ideal blend of structure and organization (snap) and friendly professionalism (sugar) that will allow you to relax and focus on each precious moment of this amazing life celebration. From the initial stages of planning to the direction of the ceremony and reception to the final hugs at the end of the night, Shirley and Laura are there every step of the way.

Allow their experience to work for you…..

• Laura and Shirley are long time locals who are familiar with the Outer Banks’ best ceremony/reception locations, vendors, and unique characteristics. Laura will help you save valuable time and energy by providing a tailored vendor suggestion list based on your specific wants and needs. Shirley will help you pull the look of your event together by providing beautiful contemporary florals designs, tablescapes and more.
• Shirley and Laura are members of OBWA (Outer Banks Wedding Association).
• Great organizational skills and timely communication are just two more of Sugar Snap’s valuable assets. Shirley and Laura understand that planning a long distance wedding can be frustrating and strive to return phone calls and emails as quickly as possible so that you can continue planning your big day. They will provide you with structured “to do” lists and reminders to help ease the planning process.
• A seamless wedding day…What is most important to Laura and Shirley is that you get to enjoy your wedding day. Allow Laura to step in and make sure that vendors arrive and setup per your agreements, make sure your guests are taken care of, and take the reins and make sure that you and your wedding party are on time and don’t miss a single special moment. Shirley will execute the florals and decor so that you walk in to your dream wedding and reception.

The bottom line….Laura and Shirley love what they do and want to help you have an unforgettable day. Whether you are in need of coordination services, florals/décor, or both, please give them a call today or visit them online to bring a little “sugar” and “snap” to your wedding day!

Laura Sorensen- Owner/Event Coordinator

Shirley Cook- Owner/Floral Designer

Sugar Snap Events
252-480-9990
www.sugarsnapevents.com Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1420742515350 werrlein knecht wedding 2971 2014 09 25
130x130 sq 1351805910482 cmarybasnight04
130x130 sq 1385485438467 i001
130x130 sq 1385485724142 i058
130x130 sq 1351806028863 glasgowschwartzgenevievestewartphotography9181212

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What wedding events do you provide services for?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-Of Coordination, Event Design, Partial Planning, Timelines, To-Do Lists, Vendor Referrals
What types of weddings do you accomodate?
Civil, Cultural, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly, Military, Non-Religious, Religious
How many planners are on your team?
1

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Ellie
Wedding:
11/20/2016
5.0/5.0
I worked with Shirley at sugar snaps for the flowers and decorations on our wedding day. The whole day was more beautiful than imagined. Shirley worked closely with me to plan flowers for the whole day and was super flexible when I emailed her with changes even close to the wedding date. She has amazing ideas and I have never seen more beautiful flowers in my whole life.

I added succulents to my plan pretty late in the planning and Shirley gave me the idea to save and root the succulents when I got home so I could keep them long past our wedding day. Thank you so much!!!!
I worked with Shirley at sugar snaps for the flowers and decorations on our wedding day. The whole day was more beautiful Read more...
I worked with Shirley at sugar snaps for the flowers and decorations on our wedding day. The whole day was more beautiful than imagined. Shirley worked closely with me to plan flowers for the whole day and was super flexible when I emailed her with changes even close to the wedding date. She has amazing ideas and I have never seen more beautiful flowers in my whole life.

I added succulents to my plan pretty late in the planning and Shirley gave me the idea to save and root the succulents when I got home so I could keep them long past our wedding day. Thank you so much!!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Chrissie
Wedding:
10/8/2016
5.0/5.0
Shirley was a dream to work with and I am so happy and lucky she helped bring my non existent decor vision to life. Since meeting her last summer, she was always prompt to respond to emails, always answered all of my questions (even the dumb ones), and was always so kind and helpful. It's hard to plan a wedding from 6 hours away basically via email, but Shirley made it really, really, really easy. I was devastated when Hurricane Matthew was scheduled to hit the East Coast and we had to make the incredibly hard decision to move our wedding home to Charlotte. Shirley was so flexible and supportive of our decision and very, very last minute put together my bouquet and the boutonnieres and sent the rest of the flowers we had ordered from her home with us to Charlotte (and sent us home with some hobnail jars and candles too). Shirley is not only incredibly talented but she is incredibly kind, organized and easy to work with, and I highly, highly recommend her!
Shirley was a dream to work with and I am so happy and lucky she helped bring my non existent decor vision to life. Since Read more...
Shirley was a dream to work with and I am so happy and lucky she helped bring my non existent decor vision to life. Since meeting her last summer, she was always prompt to respond to emails, always answered all of my questions (even the dumb ones), and was always so kind and helpful. It's hard to plan a wedding from 6 hours away basically via email, but Shirley made it really, really, really easy. I was devastated when Hurricane Matthew was scheduled to hit the East Coast and we had to make the incredibly hard decision to move our wedding home to Charlotte. Shirley was so flexible and supportive of our decision and very, very last minute put together my bouquet and the boutonnieres and sent the rest of the flowers we had ordered from her home with us to Charlotte (and sent us home with some hobnail jars and candles too). Shirley is not only incredibly talented but she is incredibly kind, organized and easy to work with, and I highly, highly recommend her! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Kellie
Wedding:
10/8/2016
5.0/5.0
Shirley was a delight to work with from the moment we met her. My mom was ready to book her within a few minutes of our first conversation. We described our vision for our altar for our beach wedding, and she immediately drew a mock-up of the entire thing. We were incredibly impressed by her follow-through and dedication. We got married during Hurricane Matthew, and the Tuesday before our Saturday wedding we were unsure if we were even going through with it. People like Shirley ensured that not only would we get married, but it would also still be beautiful even if indoors. She was at our venue the morning of and brought all of her extra materials since our location had abruptly changed. Even though we were now indoors instead of on the beach, she made adjustments and created the altar and atmosphere we had envisioned. She has a stellar personality and you cannot go wrong with Shirley.
Shirley was a delight to work with from the moment we met her. My mom was ready to book her within a few minutes of our Read more...
Shirley was a delight to work with from the moment we met her. My mom was ready to book her within a few minutes of our first conversation. We described our vision for our altar for our beach wedding, and she immediately drew a mock-up of the entire thing. We were incredibly impressed by her follow-through and dedication. We got married during Hurricane Matthew, and the Tuesday before our Saturday wedding we were unsure if we were even going through with it. People like Shirley ensured that not only would we get married, but it would also still be beautiful even if indoors. She was at our venue the morning of and brought all of her extra materials since our location had abruptly changed. Even though we were now indoors instead of on the beach, she made adjustments and created the altar and atmosphere we had envisioned. She has a stellar personality and you cannot go wrong with Shirley. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Shelley
Wedding:
9/26/2016
5.0/5.0
The flowers and decor were just gorgeous! I am still in awe with Shirley's ability to take a couple of my examples and bring them to life. I couldn't have been happier! She was also very responsive and very easy to work with and making sure I stayed within my budget. Thank you so much!! I can't wait to see our pictures!
The flowers and decor were just gorgeous! I am still in awe with Shirley's ability to take a couple of my examples and Read more...
The flowers and decor were just gorgeous! I am still in awe with Shirley's ability to take a couple of my examples and bring them to life. I couldn't have been happier! She was also very responsive and very easy to work with and making sure I stayed within my budget. Thank you so much!! I can't wait to see our pictures! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
michelle
Wedding:
9/10/2016
5.0/5.0
Shirley was absolutely amazing to work with since day one! From the first phone call, I could tell she is very passionate about what she does. When I first met with her, I was totally confused and didn't know how to explain what I wanted. All I told her at first, was that I wanted sunflowers. She then took it from there and was extremely helpful in providing suggestions and helping me visualize some different options. Needless to say, when I first laid eyes on my bouquet, as well as my bridesmaids, I fell in love! She nailed it and everything was exactly how I wanted it to be and more!

Shirley also set up string lights at my event, which turned out beautiful!

I highly recommend Sugar Snap Events! Shirley was very responsive and would answer all of my questions throughout the year in a timely manner. She also worked with me to meet my budget and never tried to up sell me on any additional items. I couldn't be more happy with everything that Sugar Snap Events provided for my special day!
Shirley was absolutely amazing to work with since day one! From the first phone call, I could tell she is very passionate Read more...
Shirley was absolutely amazing to work with since day one! From the first phone call, I could tell she is very passionate about what she does. When I first met with her, I was totally confused and didn't know how to explain what I wanted. All I told her at first, was that I wanted sunflowers. She then took it from there and was extremely helpful in providing suggestions and helping me visualize some different options. Needless to say, when I first laid eyes on my bouquet, as well as my bridesmaids, I fell in love! She nailed it and everything was exactly how I wanted it to be and more!

Shirley also set up string lights at my event, which turned out beautiful!

I highly recommend Sugar Snap Events! Shirley was very responsive and would answer all of my questions throughout the year in a timely manner. She also worked with me to meet my budget and never tried to up sell me on any additional items. I couldn't be more happy with everything that Sugar Snap Events provided for my special day! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Nikki
Wedding:
7/23/2016
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved working with Shirley from Sugar Snap Events. I was an out of town bride, so planning my July wedding in Corolla felt extremely overwhelming. However, Shirley answered all my questions and assured me everything would look fabulous on the big day!

Shirley was able to communicate fast over email, keep an updated itemized breakdown, flexible on making last minute changes, and able to give me advice on floral options (flower colors, types and cost). And, I can’t say enough about her patience (especially with a bride that constantly changed her mind on the types of flowers).

Shirley worked her magic and transformed the Currituck pavilion into a dream reception with sparkling lights, gorgeous floral arrangements and lovely beachy decor! Additionally, she provided beautiful ceremony décor and a spectacular chalkboard seating chart (it was like she read my mind). Above all else, her floral arrangements are stunning; you can tell she places a ton of time, creativity and passion in every design. Everything was absolutely beautiful – surpassed all my expectations!

I’m so glad I got the chance to work with Shirley; she was absolutely fantastic! Shirley, thank you for making our wedding day absolutely perfect!

Wedding Date: 07/23/16
I absolutely loved working with Shirley from Sugar Snap Events. I was an out of town bride, so planning my July wedding in Read more...
I absolutely loved working with Shirley from Sugar Snap Events. I was an out of town bride, so planning my July wedding in Corolla felt extremely overwhelming. However, Shirley answered all my questions and assured me everything would look fabulous on the big day!

Shirley was able to communicate fast over email, keep an updated itemized breakdown, flexible on making last minute changes, and able to give me advice on floral options (flower colors, types and cost). And, I can’t say enough about her patience (especially with a bride that constantly changed her mind on the types of flowers).

Shirley worked her magic and transformed the Currituck pavilion into a dream reception with sparkling lights, gorgeous floral arrangements and lovely beachy decor! Additionally, she provided beautiful ceremony décor and a spectacular chalkboard seating chart (it was like she read my mind). Above all else, her floral arrangements are stunning; you can tell she places a ton of time, creativity and passion in every design. Everything was absolutely beautiful – surpassed all my expectations!

I’m so glad I got the chance to work with Shirley; she was absolutely fantastic! Shirley, thank you for making our wedding day absolutely perfect!

Wedding Date: 07/23/16 Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
130x130 sq 1442429605068 11402999102049844935119153748370814754236730n
Rachel
Wedding:
7/15/2016
4.9/5.0
Shirley is seriously a dream to work with! She's so sweet and accommodating. And it was really fun chatting with her on the phone in our initial convo, bouncing ideas off each other, and she even logged in and looked at my Pinterest! Flowers were an area that I didn't know much about, so I mainly just pinned bouquets that I liked and she helped me figure out how to achieve the look I wanted. And she will definitely work with you on pricing, she can help you pick different flowers to fit your budget but still achieve your vision.
She provided my bouquet, 8 bridesmaids bouquets, 1 groom boutonniere, 12 boutonnieres for groomsmen/ushers/my dad and grandpa, 2 mothers' wrist corsages, 3 grandmothers' pin on corsages, extra flowers for my hair, as well as a driftwood arch for my ceremony, ceiling installation of fabric and twinkle lights, and twinkle lights draped on the pier outside my reception space.
The flowers were all gorgeous and held up in the 100 degree unseasonably warm heat that day, and I was blown away by the ceiling at my reception venue and how pretty the arch looked for our ceremony. You will not be disappointed by Shirley, and like I said she can accommodate just about any budget in my opinion. She has tons of rental options for decor and there's definitely something for everyone!
Shirley is seriously a dream to work with! She's so sweet and accommodating. And it was really fun chatting with her on Read more...
Shirley is seriously a dream to work with! She's so sweet and accommodating. And it was really fun chatting with her on the phone in our initial convo, bouncing ideas off each other, and she even logged in and looked at my Pinterest! Flowers were an area that I didn't know much about, so I mainly just pinned bouquets that I liked and she helped me figure out how to achieve the look I wanted. And she will definitely work with you on pricing, she can help you pick different flowers to fit your budget but still achieve your vision.
She provided my bouquet, 8 bridesmaids bouquets, 1 groom boutonniere, 12 boutonnieres for groomsmen/ushers/my dad and grandpa, 2 mothers' wrist corsages, 3 grandmothers' pin on corsages, extra flowers for my hair, as well as a driftwood arch for my ceremony, ceiling installation of fabric and twinkle lights, and twinkle lights draped on the pier outside my reception space.
The flowers were all gorgeous and held up in the 100 degree unseasonably warm heat that day, and I was blown away by the ceiling at my reception venue and how pretty the arch looked for our ceremony. You will not be disappointed by Shirley, and like I said she can accommodate just about any budget in my opinion. She has tons of rental options for decor and there's definitely something for everyone! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
radeyah
Wedding:
6/25/2016
5.0/5.0
Shirley was beyond outstanding! My friends Lorna and David were married in June at the Outer Banks and she provided nothing short of exceptional floral design and services. Originally, Lorna and I intended to DIY the flowers. It seemed easy enough but the more we started considering the logistics, the more complicated and expensive it was becoming. During one of our many trips to OBX to prepare for the wedding, we had a meeting with Shirley at Sugar Snap Events. We loved her right from the beginning. Not only was she prepared (she had already studied Lorna's Pinterest board), she understood the vision, had great suggestions, and was super warm and friendly. Lorna and David only went slightly over budget but the pay-off was incredible! Lorna and David had GORGEOUS flowers and decor! Shirley provided the beachy accents that Lorna had wanted to incorporate in addition to silver mercury glass votive holders. The decor featured beautiful textures and colors that all seemed to fit together. Lorna and David also opted to have fairy lights wrapped around the columns at the Sea Ranch that Shirley also provided. The look was beyond beautiful and everything that my friends had hoped for. I'm so grateful that we sought a vendor to handle the flowers rather than trying to take on the task. Shirley's work made the look of the wedding come together so perfectly. Thank you, Sugar Snap Events!
Shirley was beyond outstanding! My friends Lorna and David were married in June at the Outer Banks and she provided Read more...
Shirley was beyond outstanding! My friends Lorna and David were married in June at the Outer Banks and she provided nothing short of exceptional floral design and services. Originally, Lorna and I intended to DIY the flowers. It seemed easy enough but the more we started considering the logistics, the more complicated and expensive it was becoming. During one of our many trips to OBX to prepare for the wedding, we had a meeting with Shirley at Sugar Snap Events. We loved her right from the beginning. Not only was she prepared (she had already studied Lorna's Pinterest board), she understood the vision, had great suggestions, and was super warm and friendly. Lorna and David only went slightly over budget but the pay-off was incredible! Lorna and David had GORGEOUS flowers and decor! Shirley provided the beachy accents that Lorna had wanted to incorporate in addition to silver mercury glass votive holders. The decor featured beautiful textures and colors that all seemed to fit together. Lorna and David also opted to have fairy lights wrapped around the columns at the Sea Ranch that Shirley also provided. The look was beyond beautiful and everything that my friends had hoped for. I'm so grateful that we sought a vendor to handle the flowers rather than trying to take on the task. Shirley's work made the look of the wedding come together so perfectly. Thank you, Sugar Snap Events! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Lorna
Wedding:
6/25/2016
5.0/5.0
I had Sugar Snap Events do my flowers for my June 2016 wedding. We met with Shirley a year before the wedding and when we met she already had looked through our Pinterest board for the flower ideas we had. She had wonderful ideas and knew what look we were going for. My wedding flowers were BEAUTIFUL!! Sugar Snaps is a great vendor! You definitely can't go wrong going with them!!
I had Sugar Snap Events do my flowers for my June 2016 wedding. We met with Shirley a year before the wedding and when we Read more...
I had Sugar Snap Events do my flowers for my June 2016 wedding. We met with Shirley a year before the wedding and when we met she already had looked through our Pinterest board for the flower ideas we had. She had wonderful ideas and knew what look we were going for. My wedding flowers were BEAUTIFUL!! Sugar Snaps is a great vendor! You definitely can't go wrong going with them!! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Shirley created beautiful flower arrangements, bouquets, boutonnieres, etc. for our wedding! Everyone kept telling me how gorgeous my bouquet was and how beautiful the ceremony and reception flowers were! I can never thank her enough for taking the time to make our ceremony location look beautiful after a last minute change of plans. It really was stunning!
Shirley created beautiful flower arrangements, bouquets, boutonnieres, etc. for our wedding! Everyone kept telling me how Read more...
Shirley created beautiful flower arrangements, bouquets, boutonnieres, etc. for our wedding! Everyone kept telling me how gorgeous my bouquet was and how beautiful the ceremony and reception flowers were! I can never thank her enough for taking the time to make our ceremony location look beautiful after a last minute change of plans. It really was stunning! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning

MAP

 
P.O. Box 7840, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sugar Snap Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1326140783695 ssfinallogomoreroundforw