Nophoto-130

Sunset Bakery

San Francisco , CA

LOCATION

San Francisco, CA US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.6/5.0
Just get the Strawberry Cream Cake - don't bother with the other flavors, this one is head and shoulders above the best. The pricing is amazing, delivery is available but costs a bit more if outside San Francisco, and the cake was tasty, fresh, beautiful, and delivered and assembled on time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
betty
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Cake Cake Cake! A great cheap and delicious place to go for wedding cake! All you need is one month in advanced to order. Delivery fee is a bit steep, but you can def. save money if you have someone pick it up for you!

Total hole-in-the-wall, but looks are deceiving. They provided me a beautiful three tier cake and sheet cake on time, exactly as requested (butter cream with a simple design and strawberry filling), for about $450 including delivery fee for 220 people!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.9/5.0
How can you go wrong with a Chinese (sponge) cake at a Chinese wedding? For a 5 layer cake that has fresh strawberries inside and designed the way I wanted (white cake with twirly designs around so I can decorate it with flowers), with delivery--all for < $400!!! Gotta love it! I was afraid of the cake looking lopsided as some of the cakes in the pictures appeared to be, and with my cake being 5 layers, I was REALLY afraid. However, my fear was erased when the cake arrived at the restaurant. It was beautifully designed. My florist decorated it there, adding yellow roses and orchids to it. It was simplistic, but beautiful. And my guests commented about how fresh and tasty the cake was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg3
Rebecca
Wedding:
3/27/2010
4.9/5.0
The cake was great! We had a four-tier chocolate cake delivered to our reception site. It was delicious and a very good value. The bakery allows you to choose from designs in their photo album, or you can bring in your own photo for the bakery to work from.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jclee519
Wedding:
3/1/2009
4.6/5.0
We got our wedding cake at Sunset Bakery and we loved it. We tasted about 8 different bakeries before we settled on Sunset Bakery. Most of the places we went to were overly sweet or too dry. We got the sponge cake with fruit filling (strawberry on 2 layers, mixed fruit on 1 layer). The cake itself was moist and the filling was light and fruity. We also liked the overall look of the cake - we wanted to have something simple and classy. The best thing about it was the price. A wedding cake for 150 guests for less than $200. The only downside is the delivery. Our wedding was a bit out of range of the delivery radius, so we asked a wonderful friend to pick up the cake for us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenlynf
Wedding:
11/29/2008
4.4/5.0
Communication at this bakery was much easier than at other Chinese bakeries that we'd checked out. That was one of the main reasons why I'd chosen this bakery, along with their yummy sponge cake with strawberries. Their sponge cake is nice and light and the whole cake tasting experience (frosting+cake+strawberry filling) has that right balance of sweetness. Price was great and choice of designs were decent (you could also give your own example and they would try their best to match). The cake did arrive later than scheduled, but it worked out okay still and our cake was designed as we'd asked for and looked very nice.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
etong
Wedding:
8/31/2008
4.5/5.0
Overall, i am pretty pleased with this bakery. We didnt want to spend so much money on a cake so we decided that would be one of the areas that we could save some money. We had a reception with a full 10 course meal that already offered a dessert so cake would just go to waste. Most of the guests didnt even eat it because they were so full. We needed to have something in the room so that people would at least see that we had a cake. The cake tasted great! when we were doing the cake cutting, we wanted to finish the cake but didnt want to since everyone was watching us! we were pretty pleased considering after all that is said and done, we spent about $1 per person. We have a very large reception (360 people) so that was a absolute steal! the cake was very simple but i had our florists decorate it up with flowers. I also got a cake stand (silver) just to dress up the cake. We were very happy with our decision and would do it all again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Felicia
Wedding:
10/27/2007
3.7/5.0
My husband and I did not want to spend a lot on our wedding cake but still wanted a GOOD cake. We immediately thought of Sunset Bakery because we've eaten all their pastries and love them all!

So it cost us $250, including delivery! And that's for 1 three-tiered wedding cake AND 3 sheet cakes! How can you beat it?!

Easy to place an order at the bakery (no frills or red tape); simple design (which is what we wanted since we had our florist place flowers on the cake to spruce it up more); prompt delivery the day of the wedding; and super yummy (strawberry cake; whipped cream; not at all dry)! And many of our guests actually came up to us to say that this cake was the best that they've had at any wedding!

Would highly recommend... unless you want a fancy, shmancy wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
We ordered a 5 tier cake from Sunset Bakery and they delivered it to our reception site in Millbrae. The cake quality was pretty good and similar to higher end Chinese bakeries like Sheng Kee. We only need to place an order about two weeks in advance. The cake was very affordable even with the delivery cost.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
Absolutely love the cake here. They did a great job decorating. Only con is that they don't deliver so you have to get a friend to do it for you. Unbeatable price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1267687702336-photo37
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
These guys know what they are doing when it comes to the wedding cake! They can deliver it (almost) anywhere and have the very reasonable price of less than $1.50/slice (give or take depending on your size). I highly recommend them and found the reviews on yelp.com to be extremely helpful. =) Give them a test run, and you'll know what I mean. =)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sunset Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo