130x130_sq_1406327968008-laurakyle

Susan Shek Photography

Brooklyn , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1 Northside Piers
Brooklyn, NY US 11249 (map)

PHONE

347-635-5577

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Susan Shek loves to pick up her camera any chance she gets. Her unique sense of style and creativity drew her interest in photography, and 8 years later, she became a multi award winning... Read more
Susan Shek loves to pick up her camera any chance she gets. Her unique sense of style and creativity drew her interest in photography, and 8 years later, she became a multi award winning wedding photographer. Capturing love and witnessing two people celebrate their marriage is something Susan lives for. Inspired by love.

She handles everything in house, from photo taking, editing, and album design to ensure that you get the best work by the person who witnessed and documented your special day. For Susan, weddings are not just a job to her, she enjoys every aspect of it, and even helps keep a couple at ease with helping with some of the planning or organizing, and most of them have become her friends.





Call (347)635-5577 or email her at susan@susanshek.com to make an appointment.
www.susanshek.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1406328591868-cv-150
130x130_sq_1402719170698-sss5872
130x130_sq_1397323472191-ss2089
130x130_sq_1388120219258-ss12146
130x130_sq_1388120743099-01
130x130_sq_1388121389187-1
130x130_sq_1379658051682-ss51618
130x130_sq_1388121446607-2
130x130_sq_1379658076170-ss50439a
130x130_sq_1379006316323-at18970a
130x130_sq_1379006283671-at18931a
130x130_sq_1363984225803-whk1618
130x130_sq_1363983663012-whk3021
130x130_sq_1363983218197-whk2956
130x130_sq_1363983011405-whk2969
130x130_sq_1363984147220-whk1537
130x130_sq_1363984173582-whk1734
130x130_sq_1363984201537-whk1692
130x130_sq_1363984243618-whk2032
130x130_sq_1373235698397-65cocktailhour
130x130_sq_1373235757874-108portraitsdetails
130x130_sq_1373235815177-226ceremony
130x130_sq_1373235833946-340portraitsdetails
130x130_sq_1373235864017-439portraitsdetails
130x130_sq_1397748828697-
130x130_sq_1397748846806-
130x130_sq_1397748866133-1
130x130_sq_1397748888948-2
130x130_sq_1397748923305-2
130x130_sq_1397748959451-2

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
1-3 depending on the size of your wedding. I also have videographer friends as well.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day, unlimited coverage.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Custom hand crafted albums from Italy

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Trying to find a wedding photographer in NYC is ridiculously overwhelming. I pored through pages on The Knot & Wedding Wire until I finally found someone who was in our price range, had gorgeous work, and seemed like a down-to-earth person. When we contacted Susan for a meeting, her response was prompt and professional.

As soon as we met with Susan, we knew she was the right choice for us. She's extremely perceptive and immediately understood what we wanted in a photographer, without having a big ego or trying to push us into spending anything outside our budget. (Which is a rare find for NYC photogs!) She worked amazingly well with our restrictions and helped us come up with a package that was perfect for us. She even recommended a bunch of vendors, several of whom I ended up hiring and also loving!

We were in touch for the months and weeks leading up to the wedding, and on the wedding day, she was honestly just amazing. While I was getting ready and maybe slightly freaking out in my own head, she was organizing my bridesmaids and our dresses and generally just being a fairy godphotographer.

She worked well with our videographer. She even helped me take out my crazy-long and basically-super-glued-into-my-scalp cathedral veil. Within HOURS of the wedding, she already had a few preview shots up on her Facebook page, and all of our wedding photos were sent within two weeks. Magic.

Hire this woman. If you have any doubts, check out her Instagram feed @susanshekphotography. (Always check out photographer's Instagram feeds!)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
we were very pleased with the service and professionalism. We used Susan Shek Photography for our daughter's engagement party, save the date shoot and wedding. We would recommend her to our friends and family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan was our top photographer out of over a dozen interviewed. Susan and her Second shooter were prompt, professional, fun, easy to work with, and extremely organized. All our photos arrived in a timely matter! Susan's flexibility was great when it came to our overwhelming number of ideas for shoot locations. We have already highly recommended Susan to our friends who we know were just as pleased!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ivan
Wedding:
6/25/2013
5.0/5.0
really professional and really good taste, nice and good ideas
Services Used: Band, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alisa
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan was great and easy to work with. She has a very calm disposition, and she captured our day just the way it happened.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan is a joy to work with and has a great eye! She captured all the special moments of our big day. We will treasure our photos forever. I highly recommend her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerry
Wedding:
4/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan is an excellent wedding photographer. She was able to capture a story on the day of our wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. She didn't just pose people in convenient locations, although she was professional and tried to keep lighting, angle and composition in mind. She followed us throughout the day, and quietly captured many moments we now treasure in our wedding album. She is organized and capable. We were able to review our pictures online before arranging them in an album. She made sure all of our friends and family were included, and set up scenes we enjoy looking at.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1365084684765-avatar
Darlene
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I (or should I say "WE" , including my kids) love Susan! My Fiancé & I booked with her about year in advance because of the work we saw in our best friends' wedding. She did our engagement shoot, our kids shoot & our wedding which was an ALL day event. She is fantastic at what she does ( and that also goes for the Mike, the 2nd photographer we booked with/through her). I love that her photography tells a story, She is a such a nice person & is a pleasure to work with. We will definitely be using her services whenever we need any special photography. I recommend her to everyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Winkie
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Susan is an amazing wedding photographer! She has a very unique style that’s very fresh amongst many photographers. Very professional, efficient and super easy to work with! We had Susan to shoot both our pre-wedding and wedding day photos that took place in London and Hong Kong. She has travelled around the world and have many great ideas for locations. It was important for us to find a photographer who not only understands what we are looking for but someone who took the time to get to know us. Thank you Susan for capturing the best moments of our lives!

If you are looking for a truly intimate experience we would highly recommend Susan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Susan was a consummate professional. The photos were AMAZING and she somehow found a way to get great photos without disturbing the guests. I am not easy to please and Susan went above and beyond to make sure the pictures were what we wanted. I was very happy and would highly recommend her! https://plus.google.com/108865604847744536196/about?gl=us&hl=en
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ayana
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan was a WONDERFUL photographer. She photographed a friend's wedding as well so I already knew that the pictures would come out amazing but I was incredibly impressed with her professionalism as well as the photos. One thing that was really important to me was that the photographer didn't disrupt the celebration and given that we had a small intimate ceremony, that was an incredible feat! Susan really is the BEST.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rita
Wedding:
10/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan is an amazing photographer. She knew all the best spots in the city to take pictures. Her quality of work is outstanding.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1323724232920-dsc0190
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Wonderful photographer and very professional. My photographs were amazing and Susan really listened to what my husband and I wanted.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Odette
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan was AMAZING from the day we met her. She was accommodating and made sure we got just what we wanted. She was flexible and super helpful. She captured our day perfectly!
Her calm demeanor and easy going personality was also great the day of, she made me, as the bride, feel calmer and relaxed while getting ready. I have recommended Susan to friends and would do so over and over. Can't wait to use her again for any future photo-shoots.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colin
Wedding:
8/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan Shek was a wonderful, professional and truly great wedding photographer, whom I can recommend without reservation.
We organized our wedding from overseas, and Susan was very quick, efficient and wholly transparent in her communications with us.
We are difficult people, but Susan took the time to meet with us, understood instinctively what we were after - and provided valuable input that made the end result superlative.
Susan went out of her way to ensure that the processing was done quickly and efficiently, and we thank her profusely for her patience, good humour - and excellent eye through the lens!
I have no hesitation in recommending Susan, and would encourage any prospective couples to avail of her services.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Susan Shek is such a creative and talented photographer. She captured the emotion and love of our wedding day so beautifully that even when we saw the pictures ourselves we couldn't believe how purely romantic they were. I also recommend taking advantage of the engagement shoot- this gave us the opportunity to really get to know Susan (and vice versa). We wound up with a whole group of fun, happy, lovely pictures that captured us more in our day to day lives- some of these the best pictures we have together- thank you Susan!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1342565166287-52818910150918658481657806971268n
Emily
Wedding:
7/1/2012
5.0/5.0
One of the best decisions my fiance and I made when planning our wedding was booking Susan Shek to be our wedding photographer. Her photojournalistic style aligned perfectly with the aesthetic we were hoping to achieve in our photos: modern, candid, and spontaneous. Prior to our wedding, we had Susan take our engagement photos, which was a wonderful opportunity to get to know her. We are not the kind of people who are very comfortable in front of the camera, but Susan put us at ease. She is so kind and easy to work with. Our engagement photos came out beautifully and made us excited for our wedding photos.

While we love our engagement photos, we absolutely ADORE our wedding photos! We cannot stop looking at them! Since posting many of our wedding photos for our friends and families to see, the compliments have been pouring in. They are better than we ever could have imagined! Susan captured all of the most important moments and details of our wedding day, as well as others we had not even thought of! She provided direction and suggestions when it was needed, and was unobtrusive during the ceremony while still taking stunning photos. We cannot thank Susan enough for taking photos that we will treasure for the rest of our lives!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1298217142650-cedryksandra20102011
Sandra
Wedding:
6/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan is just PERFECT! She is very sweet and professional. She do an AMAZING work on our wedding. You need photographer? take Susan, she has the best price, communication is exceptional, you will not regret your choice. Totally AWESOME! The Best of the Best. Highly Recommended!

Thank you Susan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan did an amazing job shooting our wedding day from beginning to end. In looking for a photographer we wanted someone with not only talent at taking great shots but that is personable and is in tune with what we want as a client. She far exceeded our expectations, not only did she and Mike take amazing photos (both formal and candid) but they were also very friendly and down to earth, we felt so comfortable around them. The entire wedding party commented how comfortable they felt around them. I would highly recommend hiring Susan for your special day, she is an amazing photographer and a wonderful person to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
George
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Susan did the photography for our home wedding in Brooklyn. She was wonderful to work with, flexible and low key and during the ceremony she was unobtrusive and never made herself the focus of the ceremony.

I highly recommend Susan.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gonzac52
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Susan was an absolute pleasure to work with! We knew we made the right decision once we fell in love with our engagement photos and she continued to complete an amazing job on our wedding. Her professionalism was on point but she also made it a very personable relationship that put us at ease. Her flexibility came in very handy when choosing a package and working on the finer details. We couldn't have been happier with our choice!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emiyou
Wedding:
11/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Susan Shek is a photography Genius: an obvious statement for a woman who introduced me to my fiancé and took AMAZING engagement photos of us. When choosing a photographer for my engagement shoot, I didn't think twice about choosing her. She recommended a gorgeous place overlooking the manhattan skyline. The pictures were exactly what we needed and wanted. She was fun to work with and had so many great ideas for our shots. There was a fast turn around time on delivery of the photos and they were very inexpensive to purchase. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for engagement and wedding photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
d0nnatr0y
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't thank Susan enough for the wonderful job she did at our wedding! She was extremely flexible, as we had to move up our ceremony time by 2 hours at the last minute and was willing to come to my apartment that morning and walk with us (taking pics the whole time!) to the nearby park for the ceremony. She arrived promptly that morning and worked quietly amongst the chaos of family & friends helping me get ready, warming up food for the reception, all in my tiny apartment. She had a good sense of when to step in for photos and when to stay in the background taking picks of my bouquet, rings, etc. She even surprised me by with her hidden talent as a makeup artist- helping me to apply the last bits of my makeup in a way that would show up nicely in photos!

Throughout the ceremony and reception she maintained a perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. I never once had to worry about anything as she knew when and how to corral family for pics and then mixed amongst the crowd snapping photos at key moments.

I was excited to see a few pics posted on Facebook almost immediately, then got my DVD of the rest of the pictures within a week from my ceremony.

A very nice person and a great photographer- I'd recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Susan is truly an artist! She gave us the most beautiful memories of one of the best days of our lives. If you know what's good for you , have her photograph your wedding! She is the best! Kara Ornato-Quvus
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nwafo
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
If she can handle a Nigerian wedding.... posted 7/18/2011
she can do anything! My name is Ndidi and I am a current and future user of Susan Shek photography. I found Susan through a recommendation by a friend of a friend and using her is one of the easiest and best decisions I made for my ceremonies. Yes, I said ceremonIES, because I am Nigerian (Igbo) and my fiance is African-American so we are having not one but 2 weddings. We hired Susan for our American wedding in September and after taking our engagement pictures with her and seeing how great they looked, how easy she is to work with and how game she is for trying out all sorts of new ideas, I decided I had to have her at our Nigerian ceremony in California in July. Even though my mother already hired two other photographers to take pictures, my fiance and I agreed that having her unique perspective and fabulous pictures would be a wonderful addition. Susan was fantastic at our Nigerian ceremony! She was like water - she just went with the flow. She was open, and flexible and extremely patient, and if you know anything about my people these are all great qualities to have when interacting with us:) Susan, got so many wonderful candid shots of us and stolen moments that a less attentive photographer would have missed. She also satisfied our need as Nigerians to take lots of "personals" which is when we want the photographer to take a picture of us alone whether or not we have anything to do with the wedding ha! Susan also managed to make it through the gauntlet of group shots that one must travel through in every Nigerian wedding. Now with the women! Now with the men! Now with the chiefs! Now with the dancers! Now with the in-laws! Now with the friends! On and on it went into the night. She came early and stayed late. She worked tirelessly even through what can only be described as a raucous, fun, night of pandemonium! In the end, all of the personal virtues in the world will only get you so far - the proof is really in the pudding. The pictures we ended up with were just gorgeous. She got them to us quickly and we were able to share with our family and friends. EVERYONE absolutely loved them and several friends and family remarked on Susan's work and called her out specifically. In case you can't tell from this long review, I am a huge fan of Susan's and can't wait for her to photograph our American ceremony in Brooklyn in September.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
William Fang
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Susan Shek is a superb photographer who can work under different kinds of conditions and requirements. Quick to adapt to circumstance, Susan captures special moments and poignant images spontaneously, and allows for a variety of shots (different exposures, speeds and angles) so that they are succesfully executed. She is also methodical and tactful in her approach, so that all pre-programmed shots are comprehensively completed without causing discomfort or disorientation on the part of the subjects. I have witnessed her work on several occasions and retained her once, and I would recommend her to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Susan was amazing! Have already recomended her to friends! Very professional and the photos turned out beautiful. She did beyond our expectations.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mattharr
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better experience! Communication was great so we knew exactly what we were getting and what to expect. Photos turned out great and she was really great with bearing with us while we took our time trying to chose which photos to take to print. Friendly and professional and highly recommended.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MEEMS0711
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Susan Shek was absolutely amazing. We first got in touch with her for engagement photos. They were so stunning we had only one obvious choice for our wedding (we reviewed and contacted many). She was extremely professional, accommodating and patient with all of our requests.
Our photos were available for viewing within days and our editing requests were met in a timely manner. We were blown away at the moments she captured!
We were so lucky our special day was captured by Susan and she was really a delight to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Bride
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Susan did an amazing job of covering our wedding day. I wanted lots of photos to remind us of the day, but also wanted all the guests and Mark and I to be able to enjoy ourselves too, and Susan was very good at organising people for specific shots (especially family, bridesmaid/best man, newly weds together) without feeling like you were missing the actual party! The end result was fantastic, with many beautiful pictures to remember our perfect day! Thanks Susan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angeljoy
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Fabulous experience! Susan is a pro even when her subjects are not. Amazing photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessicamurdock
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Susan is an amazing photographer!n She really knows how to capture the moment and the feeling, as well as make you look gorgeous doing it! I would recommend her to anyone who is looking for engagement, wedding, pregnancy or newborn photos!!! Jessica Murdock
Services Used: Photography
Susan Shek Photography responded with the following comments:

I'm ecstatic that I've had the chance to capture every moment for you and your family. I am also very happy you have thought of me from your engagement, to wedding, to pregnancy. Can't wait to photograph baby Christian soon! xoxo

MAP

 
1 Northside Piers, Brooklyn, NY 11249 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Susan Shek Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1406327968008-laurakyle