130x130_sq_1357138814675-img1294

Susie Forrester Photography

Stroudsburg , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

720 Avenue B
Stroudsburg , PA US 18360 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

My first camera was a Polaroid OneStep I got when I was 12. I toted it everywhere, pretending I was a “serious artist,” saving my allowance to buy film. I didn’t just see pictures in the... Read more
My first camera was a Polaroid OneStep I got when I was 12. I toted it everywhere, pretending I was a “serious artist,” saving my allowance to buy film. I didn’t just see pictures in the objects and life around me; I felt them. And being able to capture those feelings on film was (and is) thrilling. But years went by before I really learned anything about photography. At Archbishop Wood Catholic high school, the art program was only for the talented sketchers, and I wasn’t one of them.



It wasn’t until I was a senior in college, studying sociology, that I took an intro to photography class. It changed my life. This was my medium, and I wanted to learn as much about photography as I could. I talked to photographers, read photo books, took workshops, and made trips to museums. Photography began to shape how I looked at the world.



After college, I studied with some of the great photographers of our time: Larry Fink, Debbie Fleming-Caffrey and photo critic John Szarkowski. As Larry Fink’s printer and studio manager, I become a master printer. It took years, and many muddy prints, to reach that place. I miss the darkroom (even the smell of the chemicals). I spent hours there. The darkroom was my sanctuary—a place to print, listen to music or think.



Now instead of standing in a darkroom, I sit at a computer. My commercial work has required me to add digital cameras and Photoshop to my resume. It’s not as exciting as the darkroom but I love the versatility of digital photography. And it has opened up my work to include more color. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1394462039531-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462067988-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462105336-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462136283-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462161079-sfl02
130x130_sq_1394462200906-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462232452-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462267891-sfl02
130x130_sq_1394462284924-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462298857-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462325337-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462363966-sfl02
130x130_sq_1394462397281-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462436061-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462462306-sfl02
130x130_sq_1394462493428-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462530739-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462563071-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462594849-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462634367-sfl02
130x130_sq_1394462673408-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462702872-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394462736290-sfl00
130x130_sq_1394462768064-sfl01
130x130_sq_1394460176850-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460218747-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460255386-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460294834-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460332850-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460369728-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460396167-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460412949-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460449562-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460489429-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460519237-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460535430-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460568550-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460605715-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460634470-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460663673-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460696853-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460737219-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460762880-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460803848-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460835048-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460861515-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394460900171-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394460934931-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394460966309-sfw00
130x130_sq_1394461000658-sfw01
130x130_sq_1394461040955-sfw02
130x130_sq_1394479612212-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394479650345-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394479685003-sfr03
130x130_sq_1394479715169-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394479758408-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394479797171-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394479832609-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394479874485-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394479911282-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394479955638-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394479997427-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480038804-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480081508-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480123196-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480165247-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480200948-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394480243554-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480286794-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394480329232-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480364750-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394480406613-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480448724-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480489477-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480531508-sfr03
130x130_sq_1394480555953-sfr01
130x130_sq_1394480592476-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480632930-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394480666428-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480708154-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394480741233-sfr02
130x130_sq_1394480784581-sfr00
130x130_sq_1394481024081-sf002
130x130_sq_1394481048987-0769-
130x130_sq_1394481083031-sf018
130x130_sq_1394481122831-0963-
130x130_sq_1394481155175-sf020
130x130_sq_1394481194581-0654-
130x130_sq_1394481228360-sf025
130x130_sq_1394481261219-sf019
130x130_sq_1394481302309-0683-
130x130_sq_1394481334870-0970-
130x130_sq_1394481368118-sf023
130x130_sq_1394481395867-sf019
130x130_sq_1394481437931-sf019
130x130_sq_1394481477978-sf025
130x130_sq_1394481518671-sf018
130x130_sq_1394481561241-sf019
130x130_sq_1394481596253-sf028
130x130_sq_1394481637537-sf018
130x130_sq_1394481674645-sf016
130x130_sq_1394481711746-sf024
130x130_sq_1394481739113-0657-
130x130_sq_1394481772898-0859-
130x130_sq_1394481806855-sf025
130x130_sq_1394481841247-0602-
130x130_sq_1394481871257-sf019
130x130_sq_1394481907991-0319-
130x130_sq_1394481939257-sf019

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
6/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Susie photographed my wedding on June 29, 2014. She came highly recommended to us and we had a wonderful experience with her from the beginning. She showed us several albums of her work in our first meeting and I knew we had to have her. Her photos do more than depict an event...she manages to capture the emotion of the people behind the lens. This was important to me as I wanted the majority of our photos to be candid and in the moment.

The day of the wedding she arrived on time and got right to work. Things were crazy in our room as we were getting ready because we had four flower girls between ages 1 1/2 and 4! Susie was not phased by the chaos, and was able to get some beautiful photos anyway. During the ceremony, I honestly did not even know she was there because she blended in so well. After the ceremony we did our formal portraits which were quick yet thorough. I had a few posed shots I wanted and Susie made sure we got those. Other than that, I let her do her thing!

We got our photos exactly three weeks after our wedding. We were thrilled by the quick turn around and they are just amazing! She captured both the events and the emotion of our day perfectly. The photos bring me back to the moment...for example, when I first saw the pictures of me with my parents about to walk down the aisle, my heart began to race just like it did the day of!

I am so happy that we had the opportunity to work with Susie. I would recommend her to anyone in a heartbeat. If you have the chance to work with her...take it! I hope that in the future we can work with her again for family or anniversary photos. Thank you again Susie!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin & Valerie
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I always admired Susie Forrester's work and was over the moon when I had the opportunity to have her as our photographer at our wedding. Susie and her assistant was so much fun to work with and their extensive experience and professionalism shows through. Her unique photographs are breath taking, she makes the simplest things that no one notices spectacular. Her photographs are truly beautiful and will brings tears to your eyes every time you look through them. She actually captures the emotions of her subjects through her lens. If you have the opportunity to have her at your special event, you will not be disappointed, she is truly gifted.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Susie was a wonderful photographer to work with. She was incredibly accommodating, working with us on our budget and photography needs. Her work is stunning - her ability to capture emotion in an artistic and cinematic way surprises me every time I see our pictures. She and her second photographer were true professionals, arriving on time, taking care of our specific requests, and remaining unobtrusive - just an occasional "Hey look here and smile," and quickly getting the shot. We received our photos within a few weeks as promised, and couldn't be happier with them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
12/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie and her assistant were amazing! She captured the moments of my day in a unique way with the emotion flowing through in each photo. Honestly every photo is beautiful and I am so happy I chose Susie to photograph my wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie is absolutely wonderful. Her personality is equally as beautiful as her pictures. We truly enjoyed having her as a part of our special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyn
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie was a great vendor to work with and a very talented photographer! She was very fun to work with and captured many special moments of our wedding day. She was able to capture the entire day and we didn't notice she was there many times! She adds a beautiful artistic touch to many photos and also makes sure to take classic pictures. She is very thorough throughout the day and made sure to take all of the pictures we requested. We have so many great pictures and definitely will cherish these pictures for years to come. We have received many compliments from our family and friends on our pictures too! We are so glad we chose Susie as our wedding photographer and would highly recommend her services.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie and her team didn't miss a beat!!! They were flexible on time and travel and captured every moment of my amazing day and I have photos that will last forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie was so wonderful! She was so pleasant to be around my entire wedding day. She captured amazing shots and they are all so beautiful! She made my wedding look like a "pinterest wedding"! She gets some amazingly artistic photos but still gets all of the traditional wedding shots. The only problem I have is that I don't know how I will be able to choose which ones to print because they're all so good!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianne
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie Forrester and Dan were fabulous!!! Fabulous to work with! Fabulous to have around! Fabulous photographers!!! My husband and I are both artists so we were looking for a photographer that would have a creative approach to documenting our day. Susie and Dan did just that and so much more! We booked her over a year out because she is so popular so plan ahead! You will be thankful! Susie is so easy to work with, very calm and easygoing. Both her and Dan managed to document every little detail and happening at our wedding! They are extremely efficient and professional, managed to be everywhere at every second of the day but are not in your face. They blended right in with everyone and yet still managed to get a shot of everything minute of our day. They were great at organizing and working with the whole wedding party and getting all of the group shots done. They are extremely knowledgeable and are geniuses when it came to working in difficult lighting situations like group shots under the trees (sunlight on some people, others in the shade). I knew we were lucky to be able to book and work with Susie but I had no idea just how special it would be working with her and seeing the work she and Dan produced. We felt right at home with them. I honestly wished I could have booked her for our whole wedding weekend just to have her and Dan around. The images came in with in just a few short weeks on an easy to navigate and share password protected website as well as DVD's containing all of our images. I can't say enough great things about Susie and Dan and do not have a single complaint or anything bad to say. She is truly a creative, original, and professional gem! Thank you Susie... we get to relive our awesome day through your images now!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Susie did a fantastic job photographing our wedding! The pictures came out great and you hardly even noticed she was there a lot of the time! We were very happy with her work!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
I hired Susie to photograph my wedding. We immediately hit it off. She is such a sweetheart and someone that I felt very comfortable with. She provided me with a disc with 900 pictures!! Each photo was amazing. She is very talented and artistic but was able to still take plenty of classic pictures, along with the more artistic, unique ones. I highly recommend Susie for your wedding or event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Susie was wonderful! She was everywhere and no where all at the same time. She got the shots we requested and also took so many candid shots that when we look at our pictures we see something new every time. She was available whenever we needed her during the planning phase,and was so easy to work with it that our meetings felt as if we were chatting with an old friend. She gave us advice and her ideas and everything was so successful (we even used her recommendation for our rehearsal dinner!). Susie brought Sue to our wedding as our second photographer and she was amazing as well. We had many compliments from our family and friends about how the team was so polite and friendly they really enjoyed them during the event. We highly recommend her to anyone for any event. We most definitely plan to use her again in the future!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Susie Forrester was very punctual, professional and worked very dilligently taking photographs before our wedding, after the ceremony and during our reception. Susie takes a very journalistic approach, she takes the pictures that we wanted and then she was just moving around the reception taking pictures. Susie didn't keep us long to get our family shots. The pictures came out beautiful. We are so happy we chose Susie to take care of all of our photography needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't express how grateful my wife and I are for the quality of professionalism and work we received from Susie as our photographer. We met Susie at a vendor event at the Stroudsmoor Country Inn and loved her portfolio, but more importantly, Susie as well. We immediately trusted that she would give our wedding her full attention and care and we were not mistaken, as is evidenced in our pictures.

During our wedding we barely noticed Susie or her assistant (who is also awesome!) buzzing around us, capturing every moment. True to their word, they did an excellent job in capturing the moments as they occurred and not forcing us into those, routine pictures you seem from other people's weddings (although you get those shots as well). They did a great job making us feel relaxed and not pressured into looking our best, which my wife and her part raved about. The result of all this is that we have an incredible photographic journal of the fun and joy shared by all at our wedding.

Due to personal reasons, we weren't able to do many of our post wedding tasks (sending out Thank You cards, selecting pictures for our album, etc.) However, when we did start to look at our pictures, we were happy to be reminded of the many memories we had already forgotten. The day sped by so fast, it all seemed like a blur, yet looking at our pictures brought everything back to life in stunning color and artistic form. The web site Susie sets up to order pictures from (for you and for your family to use) is extremely easy and service from them is exceptional as well.

And I know this may sound cheesy and over the top, but it's my real opinion and I am a real person who was just completely thrilled with the service we received. If you want great pictures from somebody who is great to work with, choose Susie Forrester! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joellen
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Susie Forrester is by far the most amazing photographer we could of ever asked for for our wedding day. She was given the nickname "the ninja photographer" by all of our guests and family. Why? Because you never saw her or her assistant but the end result was the most beautiful, precious, and spectacular photos we could of ever imagined. In addition to her exceptional talent as a photographer she is a true professional and artist and by far the sweetest person to work with. She takes her clients wants and goes with it and you are left with the most amazing captured memories. If ever given the opportunity to need a photographer in the future Susie Forrester will definitely be the one.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Susie was pleasant and wonderful to work with and really captured the feel of the whole day. She has a great eye for interesting subjects and compositions, but is also able to deliver on the formal photos. I feel very lucky to have had her as a part of my wedding.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1315246313208-download1
Melody
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were extremely happy with the photography at our wedding. First of all, Susie is very accommodating and flexible in working with the needs of her client. She worked within our budget, which was very important to us. Susie and her colleague captured our very special day in a way that we didn't think was possible...even though we didn't purchase an album package, the binder of photographs she created was done in such a way that as we look through it, it's as if we're reliving that magical day!
We cannot say enough good things about Susie...she's friendly, professional, thoughtful and creative. Thank you!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Susie and her assistant were wonderful. They took great shots and listened to everything that I asked for. The price we paid for everything we got was great. I was so impressed with all of the shots that they took that I wasn't even aware of them standing there! It was a great experience. I will certainly book with Susie again when I have a family for a portrait session. All of our family and friends have been so complimentary of our pictures and it's been hard to pick which ones to order!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
12/31/2011
5.0/5.0
Susie Forrester was the photographer for our wedding on New Year's Eve of 2011. I cannot say enough positive things about our experience with Susie. She was fabulous. We got married in Pennsylvania, I live in Connecticut, and my husband lives in Iowa; so, to say the least, planning the wedding was not perfect and we did not follow a precise timeline. However, Susie worked with us through the entire process. She was understanding and did not pressure us for payments or decisions. In fact, we did not decide on the package until a week before the wedding.
The pictures for the wedding were outstanding! She had two photographers (including herself) and every moment of our special day was captured and will always be remembered. She takes a lot of "action" and "in the moment" photos, which I absolutely love. Every person who looked through my wedding photos raved about them, stating that they felt like they were at the wedding by simply looking through the photos.
For a minor extra fee, we got the digital rights to our photos. It is so great that Susie offers this, because we can give our family and friends the photos to order prints, calendars, etc. This also allows us to order prints of various sizes.
We would recommend Susie Forrester as photographer for any event without reservation. She is extremely easy to work with, flexible, and so kind. Her photos and work are absolutely beautiful; she somehow captures every special moment. We are glad we had her as our photographer!!
Amanda & Norm
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Was so glad that I chose Susie (and her assistant) to photograph my wedding! Her photos are truly unique and one of a kind. She has the eye to capture those moments that are truly felt instead of just being seen. On our wedding day, her and her assistant were so great at capturing every moment, yet they were not "in your face", we couldn't even tell they were there half the time! Susie had some great ideas for shots to take with bride/groom and family, and she was also incredibly flexible with us coming up with our own photo ideas right on the spot. Her prices are great too, and she was so much fun to work with. I am recommending her to all of my friends who are getting married now!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Susie was the photographer for my daughters wedding and I only have praise for the quality of her work. The artistic touch she puts into each photo is amazing. She caught so many candid shots that are truly my favorites. She was wonderful to work with and I would jump to work with her again. I would highly recommend Susie for any event but especially a wedding !!! Thanks so much Susie!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathy
Wedding:
6/23/2013
4.8/5.0
Note to susie...
We can't thank you enough for your flexibility, understanding, patience, and professionalism- both on the day of our wedding as well as now. Our florist had car trouble and didnt arrive until at least an hour after the time the outdoor wedding ceremony was supposed to start. Susie calmly kept herself and our guests occupied by taking other pictures, adapting herself to capturing images we planned on taking after the ceremony. This actually gave us some remarkable candids. True, we couldn't help the florist problem, but I have dealt with vendors who just didn't care. Susie worked so hard to get all of the pictures we requested in, even though it meant a lot of standing around initially, then a lot of rushing later on. Her composure kept me composed. She was amazing. :) We just can't thank you enough!!!! :) People like you deserve to be recognized. Many just dont "go the extra mile" anymore. We would recommend Susie in a heartbeat. :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
10/28/2012
4.4/5.0
Susie was very willing to work with our budget and got some great shots :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/20/2012
3.8/5.0
Let me first say that there is no doubt in my mind that my pictures will be perfect and breathtaking. I really enjoyed working with Susie Forrester, but I was extremely disappointed in her responsiveness. We met with her the first time, and spoke a few times until I sent her the deposit. Despite my efforts, I was unable to get a hold of her for more than a year after she received the deposit. For our final meeting, she called me at 7:30 pm (the first I'd spoken to her in a year) 4 days before my wedding and I was at the mall without any of my notes, but I was afraid to call her back for fear I would be unable to reach her. I talked her through my chaotic family dynamic as well as my fiancee's, but I'm not sure she took any notes. She did not bring any with her to the ceremony. In fact, we never got any formal pictures with my brother. That was extremely disappointing because we can't go back and do it again. We had also discussed the fact that we wanted more fun pictures and fewer structured/posed pictures, but all of the formals she took were posed. I pretty much stood there with a smile while people were cycled in and out around me. At the end she asked me if we missed anyone, but things were so chaotic and disorganized, I had no clue! Much of that is not her fault. It's not easy to control a group of people you don't know. I know my pictures are going to be amazing. She has amazing talent and her work is stunning. The photos will be well worth the price we paid. However, the actual wedding photo experience was lacking for me. Susie would have done exactly what I asked of her- she is accommodating and easy to interact with. But I do think it is fair to say that she is not well-organized and tends to get caught up in the chaos of the day. So, if you want beautiful, stunning pictures well worth the cost and are less concerned with the experience of it all, Susie is your girl!
Services Used: Photography
Susie Forrester Photography responded with the following comments:

I am a woman of my word. When I commit to photographing a couple's wedding, I consider it an honor and I don't take this lightly.

I usually contact my brides the week of their wedding. I want to make sure the details are fresh in my mind, and the weather forecast is usually more accurate closer to the wedding date. I strive to be prepared, no matter what. I would not describe this as being unresponsive, just a method of my work flow. I do understand that some brides need more preparation time. I will surely keep this in mind for the future!

I am an artist by nature, it shows in the quality of my work. If I appear scattered or unorganized, I am not. This is me, at work, striving to photograph those moments between moments that have warranted the reputation I have in the business.

I find that brides who feel I have spent too much time with formals, which I really do not, are those brides that have many requests for posed shots. Believe me, the formals are my least favorite part of a wedding to photograph. Most formal shots do not exceed 30 minutes. My forte is in capturing real moments...moments of love, caring and fun. Posing groups to look unposed and natural, as if they were just hanging out in close proximity, is still a posed shot.

I love what I do and I am so fortunate to be a part of a couple's entry to a lifetime of partnership and love.

I appreciate all constructive criticism. It is one element of growth that I don't often welcome, but find one of the best pathways to success! :)

MAP

 
720 Avenue B, Stroudsburg , PA 18360 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Susie Forrester Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1357138814675-img1294