130x130_sq_1370957610258-john-zito-oct-2008-040

Swan Harbor Farm

Havre De Grace , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

401 Oakington Road
Havre de Grace, MD US 21078 (map)

PHONE

410-939-6767

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Swan Harbor Farm is a 531 acre historic waterfront estate specializing in weddings, special events and corporate affairs. Majestically situated on the upper Chesapeake Bay, it features a... Read more
Swan Harbor Farm is a 531 acre historic waterfront estate specializing in weddings, special events and corporate affairs. Majestically situated on the upper Chesapeake Bay, it features a beautifully restored circa 1700 stately home, lovely landscaped grounds and a pier and gazebo overlooking the Bay. The fully furnished, climate-controlled home features an upper floor with changing areas for wedding party, 3 bathrooms, a children’s playroom and a screened porch. The first floor features various rooms suitable for cocktails and mingling, 3 bathrooms, a large commercial kitchen, patio and porch. Ceremonies on the lawn are followed by celebrations with up to 250 guests in our tented reception area. The outdoor wedding season runs from mid-April until the end of October. Swan Harbor Farm is owned by Harford County Government and managed by the Department of Parks and Recreation. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1318603776389-billrettbergpix010
130x130_sq_1318604093522-billrettbergpix009
130x130_sq_1318604286556-brides4
130x130_sq_1318604581257-brides101
130x130_sq_1318606272409-perskiephotos2010006
130x130_sq_1318606711159-visualimagephotography013
130x130_sq_1318606824431-visualimagephotography006
130x130_sq_1318607060413-rettbergphotosjuly2010018
130x130_sq_1318607148709-rettbergphotosjuly2010009
130x130_sq_1318607356720-rettbergphotosjuly2010043
130x130_sq_1318607584402-patiofav
130x130_sq_1318607627677-frontporchfav
130x130_sq_1318607785487-bridesrmfav
130x130_sq_1318607848308-2ndflrporchfav
130x130_sq_1318608068299-johnzitooct2008039
130x130_sq_1318608178014-houseviewfav
130x130_sq_1318608436928-perskiephotos2010057

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1740
When was your venue last renovated?
1996
Describe your venue:
Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3740
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
My daughter got married on 7/5/2014 at swan Harbor.. What a venue. The grounds are beautiful. The house was perfect. The bridal party was able to use the home before the wedding to get ready. It was great. Karen was great to deal with. The day of the wedding Dale took great care of us. The guest were raving about Swan Harbor. I would recommend this place to anyone.i wish I could redo it again. I suggest Laurrapin Grill to cater. A match made in heaven!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor was a beautiful place for my son's wedding. To say it was picture perfect would be an understatement. The flowers in full bloom, the beautiful blue sky, and the sun setting over the water created a beautiful atmosphere for their wedding. Karen and the staff at Swan Harbor were courteous and attentive to all the guests. All the guests were raving. What a gem!!! I would highly recommend this venue for a wedding.
Susan and Allen Klaschus
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Karen and he team at swan harbor were incredible to work with and this venue is a great value the weather was never an issue and the site was clean, immaculate and prepared. The only Higgs to consider are signs for directions it is no easy to get to, the clean up and ending there is little flexibility to assist you unless you hire someone for day of. Their preferred vendors are amazing and know everything very well stick to them. The pictures views and area are gorgeous on the bay and you could not ask for better backdrop with the gazebo.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was a beautiful place for my daughter's wedding. It was so accommodating of all guests and the wedding party too. It was lovely!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely beautiful at Swan Harbor! We loved the house, the caterer, the DJ, the outdoor tent, everything! The view of the property at night is breathtaking! Definitely recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is an exquisite jewel located in Harford County, MD. The 530-acre estate that looks out onto the Chesapeake Bay is priceless. However, the cost for this venue is affordable and quite a bargain for what is there, in the view and services provided. The estate provides a suite for each the Bride and Groom, as well as beautiful rooms to wander through during the cocktail hour. Our outside ceremony was nestled next to a grand old (oak) tree. We were lucky to have had perfect weather (in July in Maryland?) However, the semi-permanent tent was ample enough for our 150 guests and a 10-piece band and would have served our ceremony for plan b, bad weather, if necessary The grounds were amazing! And a bald eagle flew over shortly before the wedding. All evening guests were able to wander the gorgeous landscape, all the way to the Bay, as well as go indoors for other comforts. The staff was wonderful from our first meeting, right through getting me immediate notice that my security deposit would be returned in its entirety (only days after the event). I describe our wedding as missing only 1 thing - unicorns!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Private User
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
venue was very beautiful. Be careful to budget your time wisely because the brooms will hit the floor 15 minutes before your reception ends. I suggest double booking on the weekend to get the full experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We knew from the moment we stepped on the property at Swan Harbor that we wanted to get married there! Karen was absolutely fabulous and helped us every step of the way.

Our wedding day ended up to be a hot summer day but having the ceremony under the trees provided shade and a breeze for all of us and the guests. The setting was breathtaking and we still have guests telling us that they loved walking around the house and down to the water.

The day of staff was so helpful and there to assist in every way! If you are considering Swan Harbor Farm I highly recommend it! You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kori
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Such a beautiful venue and very helpful through the planning process!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our Aug 3, 2013 wedding reception at Swan Harbor Farm and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect location. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The grounds are beautiful and makes for a beautiful backdrop for amazing pictures. The tented area is perfect for eating and dancing. We had a turn out of 120 people and there was plenty of room to move around and to dance. I highly recommend Swan Harbor Farm if you are looking for a beautiful outdoor venue with water views and amazing photo opportunities.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is absolutely gorgeous. Our wedding turned out amazingly and it wouldn't have been possible without the help of Karen (Event Coordinator) and her staff! The staff is welcoming, professional, and very knowledgable about weddings. I couldn't be happier with how our wedding turned out! We couldn't have picked a more beautiful July wedding venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Ashley
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for an outdoor wedding with beautiful water views, stop looking- you found it! Go book now!!! It books up fast (we booked over 1.5 years out and only one Saturday was left that month). Karen is great- she knows what she is doing and recommends great vendors to work with. The venue speaks for itself- my photographer said he was overwhelmed by the amount of beautiful shot possibilities! They have a rain plan too, so do not worry. One thing I will say is that they do have strict rules (such as no rose petals, no floating lanterns, etc) but it is clearly written in the contract. Honestly, you don't need that extra stuff- the venue is so gorgeous that it works by itself. I loved every minute of our wedding here! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1327147400642-1000538
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had a 150 person wedding at Swan Harbor Farm in September 2012. We absolutely loved it. The grounds are beautiful. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. They were extremely professional and knew what they were doing. It's a little pricey, but it's worth every penny. The rental includes use of the house (for getting ready, cocktail hour, etc), the tent (which was more than large enough for our 150 person wedding, has adequate lighting, has a brick floor so the dance floor is a large as you want it to be, and side flaps for the tent in case of rain and wind), and tables and chairs are provided as well. We "double-booked" our Saturday evening wedding, meaning we paid extra so there wasn't a Saturday morning wedding before ours. This allowed us to have use of the property from 1pm - 2am, so the girls were able to take their time getting ready in the house beforehand. It also gave us plenty of time to set up decorations. If your budget allows, I would recommend double-booking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1343167084968-548260101510971691761191833273787n
kmsorrells
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Couldn't have found a more perfect place to get married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L+M
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with Swan Harbor!! I searched for a venue for months as I was originally looking for a beach wedding. After many discouraging weeks of not having any luck, I happened to put waterfront wedding into google and Swan Harbor Farm popped up. From the first moment that I clicked on their website and went through their pictures I knew that this was the place! From the very first visit, Karen was amazing, she knew the answer to all my little questions and was very helpful in finding other vendors, as we are not from Maryland. Swan Harbor gave me all the little things I wanted when it came to their grounds, a beautiful old farm house, a bay in the background, weeping willow trees and a very cool old barn which was great for photos!! To this day, exactly 1 month after our wedding, I am still so in love with SHF and we can't wait to go back to Maryland to visit!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the most beautiful venue in Harford County! I wanted to get married outside and by the water and as soon as we visited Swan Harbor we stopped looking. Another one of my concerns was that I wanted to be the only bride and there during our wedding. I hate when you have a place that has two weddings going on at the same time or random people walking around your ceremony or reception. Swan Harbor's natural beauty and setting allow you not to go overboard with flowers and decorations because it is so pretty and already has so much character. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone who wants to chance the weather and get married outside! Our pictures were beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor staff was very helpful and were available to answer any questions that I had along the way. The staff that was there the night of our wedding was great and made sure that we were taken care of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystle
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
From the minute I walked on to Swan Harbor Farm, I knew that was where I was going to get married. Located through the woods on beautiful grounds overlooking the Chesapeake Bay with a stunning, well maintained home originating from the 1700's, SHF is picturesque and really did not require much decorating has it boasts luscious greenery and flowers, a gorgeous fountain, and a gazebo and pier to the Bay. Because it is owned by Harford County, there are rules and regulations we had to follow, however that did not deter any of our planning - it actually made things simpler. We were fortunate to have perfect weather on our day, but in the event that there was inclement weather, there is the option to have the ceremony under the tent where the reception is held which was also a selling point for us as mid-Atlantic weather tends to be bi-polar at times and we weren't sure what kind of weather we would have. Additionaly, working with Karen made it very easy to plan our wedding as she was very responsive, at our meetings she was clear and concise in helping me to organize things with the other vendors, and really was a pleasure to work with. SHF was the perfect location and Karen was pivotal in helping me plan a beautiful wedding there - thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338410404877-69
Shan112484
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is beautiful!!! I had my ceremony and reception at Swan Harbor and could not be happier with my selection. The setting is perfect for a wedding, the Chesapeake Bay is a gorgeous backdrop for photos. The large tent with the brick flooring for the reception is perfect for a wedding. The home itself is historical and no-one can deny its charm. Karen (the wedding coordinator) is sweet, receptive and professional. She was always willing to help with any details or questions. My guests were amazed at the beauty of Swan Harbor...and so was I.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311229352815-vows
PrincesaKim
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I honestly couldn't have found a better place to have my wedding! The staff was amazing, and I loved knowing that I could (try to) sit back and relax and know that everything would go smoothly. The house and the water make the perfect backdrop for an outdoor wedding, and you're able to have some shade by having the ceremony under the beautiful, large tree. You should definitely check out Swan Harbor if you want an outdoor wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bebe
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
If you want your wedding and/or reception to be held outdoors, then I highly recommend Swan Harbor Farms. It sits on the Chesapeake Bay in Havre de Grace, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. From the stately home built in the 1700s, to the floral gardens, to the Bay, there are amazing backgrounds for the perfect wedding pictures. Karen was extremely helpful and quick to answer any question we had. Mention Swan Harbor Farm to anyone who has been there, and you will always hear how beautiful the location is for a wedding/reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1314021684622-2919231900661961263138310173716007471625216n
JRuthie61011
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married on 6.10.11 at swan harbor farm. We worked with Karen Tegges during the planning process and she was wonderful to work with. The property is owned by Harford County so they definitely make strides to maintain the integrity of the property. The grounds were beautiful the staff was delightful and accomodating. They have done so many events and you can tell by the staffs experience and how they handle you and your guests. We worked with Atlantic Caterers who is also fabulous and they are preferred caterer of Swan Harbor farm. The venue has a full kitchen which also makes it great for whichever caterer you may use. It was a lovely event and Swan Harbor Farm was eveyrthing we hoped for and more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
5/15/2011
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved Swan Harbor Farms! My husband and I were looking for an outdoor venue that could provide us with an alternative in the case of inclement weather. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and replanted as the weather changes, so there are always flowers blooming! We had to do very little decorating because of the natural beauty of the grounds. Karen, the coordinator, was great to work with! The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1279397919079-dsc00226
Sarah
Wedding:
5/13/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not have been happier with Swan Harbor Farm! We had the best experience there. Everyone there is wonderful to work with and made the entire process so easy for us. The venue is absolutely beautiful and I highly recommend Swan Harbor to future brides! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisapping
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
This place is absolutely gorgeous! Also it is great for any size wedding! Karen and Craig were great to work with. They were extremely professional and had a great amount of knowledge and experience when it came to wedding coordinating/planning. I would highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1283745936423-fbavatar1228137961
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I was LUCKY enough to be able to book Swan Harbor after my original venue cancelled on us. Karen was so flexible and supportive throughout our entire planning process. My husband & I are both military and constantly deployed. I planned a large portion of our wedding from Afghanistan and then the last couple months I was in Arizona. She made this process seamless for us. Things work in mysterious ways & the cancellation of my first venue was a blessing in disguise, I would not have wanted to have my special day anywhere else!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fall2010Bride
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
When we visited Swan Harbor Farm nearly 2 years before the date of our planned wedding, we fell in love with it. Karen Tegges, the Event Coordinator, was very helpful and friendly which made the selection process that much easier.
We are very glad we found SHF as soon as we did because the venue books up as much as 2 years in advance. You have to act fast to get the date you want.
The value for the cost of SHF is excellent. Several people commented that our wedding felt like a movie or a dream based on the scenic outdoor view. It was everything we imagined.
I can't say enough positive things about this venue and how much we love it! :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOVE swan harbor! This was the third venue my husband and I looked at it. Within 5 minutes, we were sold. The house, grounds, and view are gorgeous!! Everything is kept up with really well and the staff are great. Karen was very helpful and answered all of my questions promptly and kindly! She was always there to listen, calm me, and answer everything I asked. Every guest said that the place was breath taking and one of the nicest weddings they had ever been to. I cant wait to have a reason to host something else here. The staff and grounds were amazing, and my day was perfect!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MS1216
Wedding:
8/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved Swan Harbor. This was the first and only venue we looked at and we were sold before we even got out of the car. The staff was great and highly organized. It is a great place for a quite outdoor wedding with great scenery and easy for out of towners to get to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danielle
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was the most beautiful place in the world. We had about 190 guests under the tent for an evening wedding in June. I have never heard so many compliments in my life. It was breath taking. I was a nervvvvvvous WRECK about the weather that day, and guess what...IT RAINED..and I am STILL saying i wouldn't have changed a single thing!!! I had umbrellas there just in case. It was an evening thundersorm that rolled by SECONDS after the ceremony and ended just in time for cocktail hour. It actually cooled everything off and made it even more pleasant! Karen is an Angel! She is such a sweetheart to work with! She is professional but yet has such a big heart for the bride and her big day! There are tons of rules, but nothing that you wouldn't expect and every one has logic behind them. Karen DOES work with you if you need to drop off decor early that day, etc. I reccomend the ceremony on the walkway, not under the tree. Every pic of our ceremony has the bay and gazebo in the backround and it is BEAUTIFUL! So, So, So GORGEOUS.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ccyeager
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing wedding at Swan Harbor! The staff was fantastic! It was everything we had always dreamed of! Thank you Karen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding day!
Swan Harbor was so beautiful and the perfect location for our outdoor ceremony and reception. Karen at Swan Harobor was extrememly helpful and clear when reviewing the contract.

I would high suggest buying all the extra hours you can get for your vendors to set up, this is the only negative about Swan Harbor is the time slot is a little short fro the vendors to set up and clean up before the next wedding comes in!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kelly1009
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Swan Harbor Farm! It is an awesome venue and the site's coordinator, Karen, was absolutely great to work with. All of our guests commented how gorgeous the site was and we were asked over and over how we found it. If you are looking for an outdoor/gardeny type wedding venue, this is a must see. Additionally, it is a great value-- we looked at similar locations in the Annapolis area that were not nearly as pretty or offered as much yet cost thousands of dollars more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BuggyBride
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
The most common thing people said to me was how beautiful the place was and where did I ever find out about such a lovely location. It was perfect. They take great pains to keep it looking manicured and fresh and we had no problems with anyone working there. There was even a sailboat in view during the ceremony--totally luck, but hey, I'll take it. The only little slip was that a family fishing on the pier (it's a park so people can on the pier but not on the grounds during a wedding) didn't know or ignored the direction to head back to their car behind the tree line and instead marched up through the field/lawn in front of our ceremony. SHF people chewed them out because they promise that won't happen. Eh, not many people noticed. I don't think we could have picked a better location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is a beautiful, welcoming location for a wedding ceremony and reception. I can't imagine a lovelier site! In addition, the staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Karen Tegges is a wealth of information and seemed personally interested in making our event as lovely as possible. Kathy, who often answered the phone, was always pleasant and helpful. And the staff on duty the day of my daughter's wedding were efficient and yet unobtrusive. Swan Harbor Farm is a first-class operation! We definitely made the right choice for our big day!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blondie81883
Wedding:
5/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Karen at Swan Harbor was incredible! She made sure all of our concerns were addressed and our thoughts were heard. The venue was incredibly gorgeous (everyone kept asking where I found it!) and I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to have our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
7/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor was amazing! We rented it for the entire day so we had a lot of time to get all the girls together for pictures before the ceremony and then bring in the guys. I loved the bridal suite where I got ready and watched the lawn turn into a magical outdoor setting. We got married at 5 which was perfect. Not too hot but perfect timing for dancing off into the sunset. I would do it all over again! Since it's a public park (which is closed for your day) we have been able to go back on our anniversary and enjoy a picnic on the same lawn we got married on. How sweet is that!!! I highly recommend Swan Harbor, the people are great and the facility is just breath taking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
7/28/2006
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor is a wonderful place. From beginning to end. the location proved to be perfect. It was a little hot but the breeze off the water made everything fine. Please go visit to truely get a feel for this wonderful venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drtyblnd0205
Wedding:
5/29/2006
5.0/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was not only extremely beautiful, but they were so friendly and helpful. Everything was taken care of and I didn't have to stress at all on my wedding day. The grounds and house were immaculate and the wedding went very smoothly. I have recommended Swan Harbor to SOOOO many of my friends and at least 5 of them have gotten married there since I did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
5/6/2005
5.0/5.0
I loved having my wedding at Swan Harbor Farm. I knew it was the place I wanted after 5 minutes. The staff is very helpful and nice. They are a little farm from Baltimore, but well worth the drive. The facilities were just perfect. We had about 100 people and it was very comfortable. A little on the pricey side, but you have to pay for the "perfect" location. Since my wedding I know of 2 other weddings that are being held there after I told them where I had mine and they saw it for themselves. It just has "the look" if you want an outdoor, romantic, cozy wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ekisswilson
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.9/5.0
Beautiful location! Would recommend to all!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachael
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.9/5.0
Everyone at Swan Harbor was amazing. I loved working with the staff and they were as excited about our wedding as we were!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
6/6/2008
4.9/5.0
Beautiful view, outside under covered tents. House was beautiful with cocktails being served outside on the patio. Guests were able to enjoy the airconditioning as well as tour the rooms while waiting for the photos of the wedding party to be completed. Appetizers were served in the house. Excellent set-up, would highly recommend!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/6/2014
4.8/5.0
Swan Harbor is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL venue. All the employees are very helpful and did a great job communicating what they needed from me.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Swan Harbor was an amazing venue and an easy choice to make for our wedding! Karen is amazing and really goes above and beyond her job to make sure that you have everything you need and want met for your wedding. There are very few negative things to say about swan harbor. The only thing would be because it is a public park and the fabulous people that work there work during regular/government business hours, sometimes it was difficult to make meeting times. However, with that being said, I was constantly out of town for school during the entire planning season of my wedding and Karen was well aware of this and was fabulous with responding to my emails quickly and once we were able to find a small chunk of time that would work for both of us, she made sure she did everything in her power to hold that time slot for me, which I so greatly appreciated!
Up until the day of the wedding, I felt that I knew everything that would happen. Our final meeting a month before the wedding was a long meeting but this was so we could walk through almost every detail of the day so there were no surprises the day of and there weren't. Everything ran so smoothly! I was very lucky and blessed that the actual day of my wedding I had nothing to stress about except what my next drink was going to be. It was a perfect day, perfect weather and a perfect venue especially for our very budget conscious planning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
t
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.8/5.0
Ms. Karen Tegges and the entire Swan Harbor staff were very kind, professional and helpful. They responded to all questions in a timely fashion and the venue was just as they described. The place made the day so very special
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jane
Wedding:
5/8/2012
4.8/5.0
a beautiful venue to hold your wedding or any special occasion...Just love the wedding coordinator Karen..we had our wedding on a weekday so we were able to save some money... the only down side is the time ...we need more time for the preparation...wish we can do the decor at least a day before the wedding so we dont have to rush doing the preparations on the wedding day itself.But overall the staff are just wonderful
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1339619012366-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding at Swan Harbor Farm was absolutely beautiful - the best day of my life. It was a gorgeous day in late April 2012 - the flowers and scenery are just so beautiful and we had so many friends and family that our wedding was one of the most beautiful they had ever attended. We did get married at a church and then arrived at Swan Harbor which worked great - I think it might be more work for the catering staff to do it all there. It is also a bit pricey for it being a county park - but I cannot imagine having my wedding anywhere else. The farm-garden-bay location is beautiful and our pictures turned out amazing. Would definitely recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.8/5.0
This is a beautiful location for an outdoor wedding. Our wedding was in the fall and it was amazing. I had so many comments from my guest on the venue. Getting ready inside the house was fun and had its effect. We had our ceremony outside by the big tree with the water in the background. All of our pictures turned out great. You do have to book in advance because this place books fast. We got engaged in July and had to pick our date and location within a month, there was only one full Saturday left in the month of October and it was more than a year in advance. The staff there are very professional and can recommend vendors that are familiar with their venue. That was very helpful. Tip: Choose a caterer that is very familiar with the venue, it makes things go so smoothly! Everything went perfect thanks to Swan Harbor. We had a beautiful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brianna
Wedding:
10/16/2010
4.8/5.0
This place is soooo pretty!!! It does cost a lot, but I think it is worth the money. The staff that works there kept the place clean and tidy for all the guests. The water backdrop is great!! I have always loved this place and knew this is where i wanted to get married. You have to book early because they do fill up!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kteg
Wedding:
7/23/2010
4.8/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is an absolutely beautiful place!!!! We were a little skeptical to book this venue initially because it was a little more than we wanted to spend on a venue, but it was WELL WORTH IT!!! The grounds are absolutely beautiful during the day and night, the dock, gazebo, tent, house and barn made for awesome pictures and memories. Our guests kept commenting on how beautiful our venue was. It was over 95 degrees on our wedding day and the heat was quickly forgotten about after seeing just how breathtaking the wedding was.

The set up of the tent is great, having the food and bar in one spot, and the dancing and tables in another. The house was a great place for people to cool off and look around. Our guests loved being able to walk around the house, on the inside and outside, as well as walk down to the water.

Karen Tegges was great to work with. She is very friendly and excited to help out any bride and her family. She was honestly the best event coordinator out of all of the reception venues we had visited. She had a lot of suggestions and recommendations and knew what she was talking about.

It was the greatest day, and the most beautiful wedding! The tent sides and ability for fans to be used in the tent make it accomodating for rain or extreme heat. I am so happy and thankful that we had our wedding at Swan Harbor. We had a great time, have beautiful memories and beautiful pictures from this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/13/2010
4.8/5.0
Swan Harbor is a BEAUTIFUL location (which anyone who sees it will attest to) and your guests will make WONDERFUL comments for a long time to come. Swan Harbor does have some pretty strict rules (as other brides have stated) but there are reasons for all of them that make sense and they are forthright in the very beginning about them. They are all written down in the contract that must be signed so you can refer to them later as you plan your wedding. I worked with Karen Tegges who was very responsive to any and all questions throughout the planning process and made great suggestions when I became stumped. The Swan Harbor workers on the day of the wedding were available when needed, super friendly, and incognito. I would highly recommend having a ceremony and/or reception at the beautiful Swan Harbor Farm.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1245874252531-img0176
LindsayJean
Wedding:
10/25/2009
4.8/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was the perfect location for our wedding! We wanted an outdoor wedding and I had to have a water view. Swan Harbor was a great site that had everything we wanted, and could accommodate all of our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JVoe
Wedding:
8/29/2009
4.8/5.0
We fell in love with this place as soon as we visited. We were in search of a reasonably priced venue that we could have both the ceremony and reception in an outdoor setting, SHF fit all of our criteria and more! It really is a beautiful setting with the Chesapeake Bay being the background for your ceremony and reception. And the grounds crew there keep it looking really beautiful. There are staff members present during the event, but they are only there to be sure no rules are broken, the coordination of your event really comes from your caterer. It really is a beautiful place to get married, the whole night we kept saying to each other how beautiful everything was and that we couldn't believe we actually were getting married here. The natural beautiful scenery provides so many great places for photos. Also, one of my favorite parts of the day was looking out the window of the bridal suite down at all the guests arriving and groomsman getting ready. It's sounds silly, but we really enjoyed being able to witness this.

Things that I didn't like were that they do two weddings there every weekend day; therefore, you cannot arrive earlier than your allotted time frame, unless you pay for a double booking. So, when the bridal party arrived 15 mins. early they would not unlock the doors until 5:30 exactly (even though there was no previous wedding that day). Also, it stormed during our reception and they had to put the tent sides down, so they took the $200 for the tent sides out of our security deposit return. I can't argue because this is explicity stated in the contract, I just think it is a little ridiculous to charge that much after we already paid to rent the tent (of which the sides are already attached), just for the caterer (whom we also already paid) to zip them up.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OHBride2008
Wedding:
5/31/2008
4.8/5.0
This is a gorgeous venue and worth the risk of an outdoor wedding! We had a beautiful day, and they always keep the landscape looking so nice. The workers were great and very pleasant. Our only issue was that they wouldn't let my fiance's grandmother ride in the golf cart to the water for pictures. She has issues walking and was unable to get pictures by the water with us. I think there should be certain exceptions for this case. Other than that, it was unbelievably wonderful! Karen was amazing to work with, very receptive and honest with ideas and concerns.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was a beautiful venue for our wedding reception and we and all our guests loved it. The staff were very professional and easy to work with. I would not hesitate to recommend Swan Harbor to anyone considering it, it's a jewel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
9/20/2013
4.7/5.0
Swan Harbor was the first place my husband and I came to when we were looking for a wedding venue and found ourselves always comparing later locations back to Swan Harbor. Nowhere was able to match the natural beauty and unique aspect of the old style home. We had to do very minimal to decorate for our ceremony considering the landscaping and floral arrangements on the grounds were immaculate. Karen was so great to work with and her experience in putting together weddings was evident as she had everything run without a hiccup. Swan Harbor will always be a special place for my husband and I!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The site is a great value and Karen in the office was fantastic getting us through with her expertise and background with all the other vendors that we had. The unfortunate part was their lack of flexibility with the time to show up and time to leave. We had very few helpers and needed some assistance and advice on site.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Swan Harbor was a wonderful venue. The staff was very accommodating and helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.6/5.0
Swan Harbor was great! The weather was great which made for a great night! It is a bit expensive for the use of the tent and house, but its definitely worth a trip up there even if youre mildly considering an outdoor wedding. As the groom, the only thing I wasnt happy about was the lack of outdoor lighting for the cocktail hour and we were told there would be someone from the house directing people, and I didnt see that happening. Very small negatives compared to the amzing time we had all night! SWAN HARBOR WAS GREAT
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
9/17/2009
4.6/5.0
Beautiful location and all the staff are very helpful. Like the other brides commented-there is no negotiating the rules. Also, make sure to book in advance-they fill up so quickly! I would definetly recommend this site!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackiea192000
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.6/5.0
I had my wedding at Swan Habor on June 14th, 2009. Leading up to that I was dealing with Karen Tegges who by the way is professional and helpful. I was so happy with the day of the wedding. Everything went perfectly. Swan Harbor is so beautiful and well kept. The grounds are breath taking and the view is to die for. I had heard in the past that the staff the day of events were hard to deal with but we didn't have any problems. They were very pleasant. I would highly recommend this venue to others and already have to a few friends. Thanks so much to everyone at Swan Habor for making our wedding such a beautiful time.

Jackie
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
6/4/2005
4.6/5.0
I absolutely loved getting married at Swan Harbor and if I redid my wedding I would do it exactly the same. I got married there in June and it was absolutely beautiful. The ceremony took place outside and the guests faced the beautiful water and landscaping in the background. The reception took place in the tent which was decorated beautifully. Guests could walk in and out of the gorgeous historic house, where they could sign my guest book and use the restrooms, or merely just relax in one of the cozy living rooms. It was very nice!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Ashley
Wedding:
4/26/2013
4.5/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm as the most picturesque venue for our April wedding! We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The price is perfect and you get access to the entire grounds and house. Karen was very easy to work with, although the venue is strict with certain things, as it is owned by the state. The only problems we had were 1) the landscaping on the day of. While the grass looked freshly mowed and everything was clean and near-perfect, the flowers were a bit scant in the landscaping. Also, 2) Craig (Karen's coworker) was a little cold at times when dealing with a few questions, but he means well and probably deals with a plethora of questions on the daily. Overall, you can't get any better than SHF. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liesh12
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.5/5.0
This site is so gorgeous. It is obvious how much time and care is put into the grounds at Swan Harbor. We had no major issues and would definetly go back to this location again. We love the old farm house and the view onto the bay. The only problems we had were: 1. the groom's suite was very hot, and we were unable to open the windows due to bees. This was solved by the guys going downstairs. 2. at the end of the day, it felt like we were being rushed out a little earlier than our contract stated because there was another wedding coming in. While we understood we were on a tight schedule, that part did kind of stink.

All in all it was a positive, fantastic experience. But make sure you book your date in advance, as it fills up quick. Also, be prepared for rules, since this is a County Owned property. Even with these quirks, the location is well worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1253479423921-snc003851
AlyM
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.5/5.0
My rating is not a 5, but it doesn't mean that I didn't love the place. We only had our reception here, but we did have to book for the whole day because they only allow certain times if you do a half-day booking, which didn't work with our church wedding. They were helpful and let us know the rules and all ahead of time. The rules are firm, but they are nice.

For the value, it costs a lot more to have your wedding here than other places. It is beautiful, and there aren't many places in the area like it, but we wish it was cheaper. The only other issues we had were with meeting with them. They are only available during regular business hours, which makes it hard if you yourself are also working. I had to take off from work to finalize the plans, with not much notice, and this was a little stressful.

Overall, we loved the place and wouldn't have gone elsewhere, but there were a few things we wish we could change.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1219075261009-a2
TrueSoulmates
Wedding:
5/28/2010
4.5/5.0
Swan Harbor is a very beautiful place, I love that you have the water, flowers, and lots of land. The only thing that bothered me was there was a lot of rules you had to follow by them. Karen was great to work with though. I would highly recommend it. It was little buggy so be prepared, but you couldnt beat the atomsphere!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Estelle
Wedding:
7/20/2007
4.5/5.0
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!! Swan Harbor is definitely one of the most gorgeous places for a wedding ceremony and reception in the Baltimore/Harford County area if you are looking to have an outdoor wedding. Every detail ran smoothly from start to finish and they were very helpful and friendly when answering all of the questions we had in a timely manner. We are so glad that we decided to have our wedding there since we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location or better service. Our wonderful wedding day ran smoothly from start to finish. The only thing that I didn't like it that they were very unflexible when it came to their set rules, ex. I wanted flower petals down the aisle, which they would not allow. However, making one small change to my vision was well worth it in the end.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.4/5.0
Karen and her team were amazing. It poured on our wedding day so having a plan B was essential. Even though the wedding weather was not what we had hoped the venue was still beautiful. Our guests could not believe that an outdoor rainy wedding could be so nice! I strongly recommend using Swan Harbor! :-)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1252927516877-weddingdayphoto
Laborday Bride 09
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.4/5.0
The Swan Harbor Farm location is beautiful. The staff is always helpful and they day of my wedding they couldn't have been more helpful. Their rules are strict and strictly adhered to, but that didn't affect the outcome of my wedding in any way. I would highly recommend SHF to any bride & groom looking for the perfect outdoor wedding location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tai
Wedding:
9/3/2009
4.4/5.0
I agree with many of the other comments. The place is absolutely beautiful. We could not have asked for a better location. There is no bending the rules so do not bother. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed getting ready in the house even my 80 year old grandmother.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg22
Tina
Wedding:
8/14/2009
4.4/5.0
This site speaks for itself! It is absolutely gorgeous! The ability to have the dressing rooms, ceremony location and reception location all in the same place is amazing! We got so many compliments about the venue! Plus the reasonable price is a huge bonus!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/15/2007
4.4/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm was a beautiful place and I was pleased at how clean and manicured the premises was for my wedding. The only complaint I have is that the staff was seen on the porch of the house smoking while the guests were enjoying the cocktail hour. This was unprofessional and not to mention against the no-smoking rules posted. However, all in all the quality of service and value of Swan Harbor Farm made it worth while. We booked the place for the whole day and I'm glad we did as it took away some of the pressure of setting up and breaking down in a small amount of time.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.3/5.0
Great Location, Amazing water views, house and tent. Very impressive. When first looking at sites I thought that the rental fee was fair, however to be able to have all vendors set up in 1.5 hours seemed tuff, and I didn't want things to be rushed So we went with a double booking. A bit more than we were looking to spend but it worked out. My only recommendation would be to tell brides that have over 200 guests that they might want to get some portable bathrooms. We had people waiting in line alot for the bathrooms. There are 5 or 6 in the house and one wasn't working that day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1331771034972-img951340
Wanda
Wedding:
6/21/2013
4.2/5.0
The price is high for a public facility and does not include chairs and table but, if beauty is what you want, you will definitely pay for it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is a beautiful venue and the staff is easy and enjoyable to work with. It is a county-owned facility and has a set of strict rules that have to be followed and requires a security deposit on top of a hefty event fee. The beauty and ease of working with the staff make up for the detailed rules and fees. One piece of advice - bring your bug spray.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanne
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.2/5.0
This is a beautiful location for a wedding - we got SO many compliments, and our pictures were gorgeous. They are very particular about what you can and cannot do, but they are helpful and responsive.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GotItOverWith24
Wedding:
8/15/2008
4.2/5.0
The wedding coordinator, Karen, is amazing. Swan Harbor really lets you create the wedding and reception that you want (with a few restrictions because the house is a landmark and because the site is outdoors). Karen is pretty much your wedding planner. You won't need one if you go with Swan Harbor because she takes care of everything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1215917181727-fpypc3-ijqulmstoyjf2ih9rfkzqtjm40300
natasha
Wedding:
6/22/2008
4.2/5.0
Very beautiful place on the water but if you like me have issues with time, get it together before the ladies at Swan Harbor do and they will and you will pay!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/23/2006
4.2/5.0
This place is truely a hidden treasure in Harford County!! My husband and I had booked another venue for our wedding until we decided to come and "check this place out". We immediately fell in love with it and cancelled our previous venue! Everything was beautiful and our guests had access to the gazebo, vineyards, and the house. We couldn't have asked for a better place to be married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dominique
Wedding:
5/16/2014
4.0/5.0
Swan Harbor was absolutely beautiful! We wouldn't change a thing! When my husband arrived and parked, he was scolded by the lady because she was trying to put cones out. She later realized he was the groom and apologized. Groom or guest, he should have been treated with respect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1344731319057-wedding1396
Samantha
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.0/5.0
Swan Harbor was exactly what we were looking for....an outdoor ceremony, tented reception, and beautiful view of the Chesapeake Bay. It was a gorgeous wedding! Also, the coordinator was accessible quickly by phone and E-mail for any questions and was helpful in giving us ideas. However, be aware they are very strict about EVERYTHING but they are up front about it. They are very strict about what they allow and don't allow (no rose petals allowed to be thrown by our flower girl or scattered on tables was almost a deal breaker!). They have two 4-hour time slots to choose from (you can buy an extra hour)....we wanted an evening wedding but their evening time slot didn't start until 7:00, which was pretty late for older guests and they were very clear that we would be charged for any extra minutes we were there past our time, so we ended up double-booking the entire day, which was pricey (but still less expensive than some venues!), but allowed us to have our ceremony at 5:00 and have another 5 hours for our reception and have the afternoon to get ready on location. In the fee, you only get use of the property and tent. You have to pay to rent each individual chair and table and then get a caterer separately. It was a lot of work on our own and everything definitely added up, but I couldn't imagine my wedding anywhere else!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
8/9/2010
4.0/5.0
When we looked at the webpage and it said weekdays started at $1700, I thought this would fit in perfect with our budget. We set up a meeting and after Karen showed us around, I fell in love with this venue. Turns out that $1700 does not include anything really, but we decided this was where we wanted to get married. All night everyone kept asking how we found it (because it is a bit off the beaten path) and everyone said how beautiful everything was. If you want an outdoor wedding and reception, this is definitely the choice.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beth
Wedding:
6/3/2012
3.9/5.0
We went with Swan Harbor for the beautiful view and location and have no regrets. Our wedding day was picture perfect and the weather was absolutely amazing. I had a great time working with Karen, but did find myself overwhelmed with all of the rules and expectations that come with using a county property for a wedding site. I was surprised at the limitations placed on the golf cart ride (but admittedly we had a blast on it). The price is a bit high given that all you get is a site and chairs/tables, but the beauty of the location is worth it if you can swing it and can manage with the weather anxiety!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Da
Wedding:
8/7/2005
3.9/5.0
The people at Swan Harbor Farm were very responsive and professional. They answered all my questions about venue and had a great idea about how I wanted my wedding to go. The grounds are beautiful and our wedding was just lovely due to the venue.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/23/2007
3.8/5.0
Swan Harbor is an absolutely beautiful location, all my guest loved it!!! My ceremony was under a huge tree facing the water. The cocktail was in the house and on the back patio andthe reception is under a tent with a brick patio. You have access to the whole and all the grounds and everything is beautiful. The people were for the most part very helpful though they do have some very strict rules and regulations which can be a little frustrating. But everything went smoothly on my wedding which is really all I could ask for. You bring in your own caterer (who really does a lot of the work) and you have to rent the tent, tables, and chairs from them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karin
Wedding:
6/20/2013
3.6/5.0
The venue was lovely and just what we wanted. it is a great space for an outdoor wedding, since it allows options for bad weather, and places for people to sit and mingle if it is too hot for them outside. also, having the grooms and bridal suites upstairs was super convenient. our only complaint was that because of "county regulations" (at least that is what we were told), we could not do certain things that we wanted. they were not able (or willing?) to work with us to help us get our elderly parents down to the water, or allow us to hang paper decorations in the tent. They also ended up charging us for an extra hour of usage because after we had gotten everything out of the house and locked up, we asked a staff person who was still there to go back in after something that had been accidentally left in the closet, so that we wouldn't have to go back the next day to get it. Yes, we were told that they were strict about the timing in the contract. You would just like to think that when you are spending thousands of dollars at a venue, that you wouldn't be charged $200 extra dollars because an employee had to take 5 min. more of their time to help you out. Other than that, we were very happy with the venue, and with Karen (our liaison).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1294690400949-3071
Nicole
Wedding:
9/1/2011
2.8/5.0
The grounds were well maintained, we were very pleased with the view of the water. This venue was more than I wanted to spend, but it is very unique to its competition.

One of the major issues we had was the SHF staff (2 maintenance keepers and 1 house keeper) helping themselves to our food and alcoholic beverages. They openly acted as if they were invited to his affair (they must do this often). They were eating the crab dip that we (me and my now husband) didn't even get a chance to enjoy, I was mortified. They were unprofessional and it was noticed by guests and bridal party.

The house keeper did not greet our guests at any point of the evening. She is simply there to maintain the house; hopefully your guests don't mind rude pigs. The bugs were really bad, I highly recommend providing your guest with some “Off” to make their time more enjoyable.

The SHF office is not flexiable for meetings. They are only avaliable during regular working hours which was difficult to make appointments.

I have spoken to both Karen and Craig and they were NOT apologetic and didn’t seem too concerned. We would not recommend this venue to a friend.

-Very disappointed
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
louboyce
Wedding:
10/10/2009
2.7/5.0
Swan Harbor Farm is beautiful and was a wonderful place to get married. My frustration was that the staff as the farm were very rigid and frustrating to work with. I had a wedding planner and the staff at the farm would not work with the planner, but wanted to only work with me. They were not flexible about anything. We were told we could put up lighting and then the day of the wedding, they told the vendor they couldnt put up the lanterns. The price I was originally told skyrocketed and the venue ended up costing much more than I exptected it to. Beautiful location though.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kassaundra
Wedding:
8/20/2010
2.1/5.0
I loved swan harbor it is a very beautiful place. I had a lot of complaints though about the bugs at night! One of my family members had 68 bug bites because swan harbor does not spray the grounds. Also during my ceremony one of my bridesmaid was bitten by horrible flys to the point where her ankles were bleeding walking up the isle. I was also not to happy about the professionalism that I had with Craig. A week before my wedding he was screaming and yelling at me for a mistake he had made and never admitted to it about adding an extra hour to our time. It would have been different if he admited the mistake and aplogized but that was not the case. Let alone to yell at a bride a week before her wedding, not a good idea! If they had new management or took a class or something about quality service Id recommend them. or if they sprayed for the bugs but all those things made a beautiful place not so beautiful. Especially when thats what people remember your wedding by.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
July Wedding
Wedding:
5/1/2010
2.0/5.0
Very inflexibile. We had to terminate our contract due to personal issues and lost half the deposit. When we retuned later when issues were resolved, they would not apply the previous portion of the deposit to a new booking and the prices increased significantly. We would have booked if they tried to work with us in good faith.

Poor business model and management practices with regard to customer service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K. Payne
Wedding:
10/29/2011
1.9/5.0
We loved the view, and the customer service we at first encountered. This all changed after we made our final payment. We had to fight to have the mold and mildew cleaned from the tent and thankfully after an email to the county it was taken care of. We also left multiple messages that were never returned. The day of the employees were missing in action most of the day. When they were present they were often rude and completely unhelpful. Every time we needed something from them, they were in the back watching movies. Thank goodness for my caterer, who really took care of issues Swan Harbor should have. It's beautiful and our pictures are great, just don't expect much from the staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
401 Oakington Road, Havre de Grace, MD 21078 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Swan Harbor Farm
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1370957610258-john-zito-oct-2008-040