130x130_sq_1374518495858-sweet-confections-logo-with-catering-tray

Sweet Confections

Barboursville , WV

LOCATION

6007 Rt 60 East Suite 314
Barboursville, WV US 25504 (map)

PHONE

304-733-6622

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a family owned business located in Barboursville WV. Sweet Confections is here to help you with one of your most important days of your life, your wedding.

We offer a... Read more
We are a family owned business located in Barboursville WV. Sweet Confections is here to help you with one of your most important days of your life, your wedding.

We offer a full service that includes wedding cake, grooms cake, catering, wedding planning, table linens, decorating, tear down photography and floral arrangments. We custom design every wedding to your specifications. We believe every wedding should be as special as every couple. It should show your own personality.

We are a award winning bakery and cater. We have won international awards from the Wedding Industry for our cake design and wedding planning. We have been featured on TLC for our Circus themed cake.

Sweet Confections is also a full service cater. We cater finger food, buttet, and sit down dinners. Sweet Confections is a one stop place for all your dining needs for your special event. We also work with your special needs guests that need gluten free, sugar free, egg free, peanut free and so forth.

Please consider us for your special day. We look forward to hearing from you. Read less
Catering , Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1377643401896-cake109
130x130_sq_1404168976509-luggagecake
130x130_sq_1389046929328-cameocak
130x130_sq_1401652329848-tim12
130x130_sq_1377642419518-cake2
130x130_sq_1366367862970-flowercake
130x130_sq_1319453981921-20111069
130x130_sq_1377642864376-cake710
130x130_sq_1354547863580-cakesww4
130x130_sq_1368048172908-winner-1
130x130_sq_1374754070384-cake1
130x130_sq_1347913682560-bweddingcake
130x130_sq_1377642493022-cake4
130x130_sq_1308436965754-picture3318
130x130_sq_1350344613834-swirlcake
130x130_sq_1350344302247-cake3
130x130_sq_1354547967289-cakeww1
130x130_sq_1334067138421-mycake
130x130_sq_1318864534404-blackandwhitecake
130x130_sq_1309206630810-picture3444
130x130_sq_1354547834369-cakesww2
130x130_sq_1354547879381-cakesww5
130x130_sq_1318866004036-picture4632
130x130_sq_1316436886165-picture4116
130x130_sq_1311526830587-picture3646
130x130_sq_1374754427604-003
130x130_sq_1317142115217-picture4237
130x130_sq_1377642659601-cake5
130x130_sq_1374754815740-cake5
130x130_sq_1318864955106-picture4444
130x130_sq_1316436114135-picture3893
130x130_sq_1308084004592-picture3120
130x130_sq_1339088279670-picture5699
130x130_sq_1339088860280-fowercake
130x130_sq_1339088871977-rufflecake
130x130_sq_1347913652349-rossettacupcakes
130x130_sq_1377642571942-cake1
130x130_sq_1354547889614-cakesww6
130x130_sq_1318866526590-picture4619
130x130_sq_1354547906915-cakesww7
130x130_sq_1354547938035-cakesww9
130x130_sq_1354547950333-cakesww11
130x130_sq_1354547978114-cakeww6
130x130_sq_1366367739890-020
130x130_sq_1366367806641-cake11
130x130_sq_1366367895090-johnswedding4
130x130_sq_1374754189278-cake3
130x130_sq_1374755204514-cake8
130x130_sq_1401654421683-tim6
130x130_sq_1402335184862-sueswedding
130x130_sq_1347913972381-catering4
130x130_sq_1401654613974-tim5
130x130_sq_1347913948938-catering1
130x130_sq_1354585821107-cake2
130x130_sq_1350344512592-cupacakes1
130x130_sq_1402335826312-sueswedding3
130x130_sq_1334066692688-john2
130x130_sq_1347913956679-catering2
130x130_sq_1347913962434-catering3
130x130_sq_1334066635390-garlicbreadspaghettiwithmarinarabasilparmeseanfreshfettucinitoppedwithmafalda
130x130_sq_1347913991384-catering6
130x130_sq_1334066546235-pasta
130x130_sq_1347913980893-catering5
130x130_sq_1334061838375-cateringbox
130x130_sq_1334062538500-pastacapresesalad
130x130_sq_1334062573444-sctl1
130x130_sq_1334064337817-champagneglasses600x600
130x130_sq_1334065163610-spag11024x768
130x130_sq_1334065299452-pastriesfruittart260x260
130x130_sq_1334065596938-picture5230
130x130_sq_1334066764934-tray
130x130_sq_1334066823042-tray2
130x130_sq_1334066937739-tray3
130x130_sq_1354585910283-cake3
130x130_sq_1354586055635-canooli
130x130_sq_1401652840469-tim8
130x130_sq_1401652937203-tim14
130x130_sq_1401653024319-tim2
130x130_sq_1334066884848-cateringjob
130x130_sq_1401653114104-tim13
130x130_sq_1401654205910-tim10
130x130_sq_1366368072215-johnswedding1
130x130_sq_1366368095798-johnswedding7
130x130_sq_1401720991695-blue22
130x130_sq_1401721440810-bluewedding1

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Cajun, Chinese, French, Italian, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tacy
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a better cake! Tina made our dream cake and it was really the focal point at the wedding. Our wedding theme was travel and the cake was made to look like suit cases stacked on top of each other. She went above and beyond to make sure the cake was perfect and all the details really added a nice personal touch. Tina was also near the wedding to make sure everything was okay with the cake. I can not say enough good words about Sweet Confections, we will use them for every event going forward. Thank you for making our wedding so special!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Sweet Confections is amazing. Tina planned, decorated, catered and did my cake. I did not worry about anything. She booked my photographer and dj. I could not be happier. If you need so done who cares about you and your groom she is the one to go to. She treats you like family and wants you to be happy. She was worth every dime we spent.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Everything was amazing. She was so helpful with every aspect of the wedding! She did our catering, linens, and cake. Everything was top notch! The linens that she picked out were gorgeous, the food and cake was obviously good. She did a wonderful job decorating the cake. One of the greatest aspects about her is that she is approachable. We both loved that we could talk to her about any problems or questions that we had and she would talk us through it. Tina was certainly the one who made our wedding as beautiful as it was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Not only was my wedding cake beautiful, it was also delicious! The guests keep telling me how much they loved everything. The food was phenomenal and the Apple Bar that we had in place for guests to visit while we took pictures was perfection.. very cute & unique! It was wonderful being able to walk in and have our food already on our table while the guests were getting theirs. The staff were very friendly. Tina was especially helpful in choosing our menu and designing our cake, while working with our budget as well. She went above & beyond & out of her way to help make sure we had everything we wanted. We are extremely satisfied & would highly recommend Sweet Confections to any couple that wants a stress free day! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandy
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
This was by far the best wedding I have ever been too. Sweet Confections did the decorating, planning, food and cake. The food was 5 star. The decor was beautiful. As a guest I was treated like royalty. The Bride and Groom were so happy. I will book this company for all my events. If you are smart you will book them for your special event. My sister (the bride) did not do anything except pick out colors. They did the rest. It was a beautiful event. One of the best things they did was have every guest a piece of cake and fork for them to take with them home. They thought of everything.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Tina and her staff at Sweet Confections couldn't be more wonderful. We had a very large wedding and with her running the show, providing decor, setting up and taking down, cleaning, catering and the most amazing wedding cake, we couldn't be more pleased. She literally would come and give me a bottles water throughout the wedding and had a plate of food made up for my husband and I to ensure the bride and groom actually ate. The food was delicious, I have had so many compliments regarding the catering and how outstanding it was, not to mention a 7 tier cake she did.
Keep in mind her and I discussed what I wanted and then she would just make it happen, it takes skill to be able to interpret someone's thoughts and wishes and she nailed it. I even wanted my wedding cake to be a surprise since she had been so amazing at knowing what I wanted, and when I saw it, I literally cried.

I would recommend her to EVERYONE! She's become family to us throughout this process and we love Tina and the Sweet Confections staff for making our day perfect. She made a real true fairy tale out of our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ally
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I was absolutely amazed by how quickly, efficiently and elegantly Sweet Confections pulled everything together especially with the decor the 2 days prior to the Posvar-Anderson wedding! It was held at such a huge venue and you could really tell how much time and effort was put into the event. Definitely use Sweet Confections for any special event! I'm thoroughly impressed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bria
Wedding:
3/23/2014
5.0/5.0
This was a long jouney getting the wedding off the ground. I did a destination wedding. I booked Sweet Confections over the internet based on reveiws. So I thought it best to leave a review. I live in North Carolina and travel a bit. I fell in love with the WV mountains. I asked Sweet Confection to do me a rustic wedding to match the mountins. I was very pleased. We did a brown, blue and ivory wedding for me. With a touch of yellow. It was perfect. She had wood slates on the tables with mason jars. Some burlap with brown table clothes. The wedding was perfect. My cake was rustic with messy ising and flowers. She was easy to work with. We did everything over the internet. I only met her two times. Once when we drove in and the day of the wedding. Everything was predone for me. She booked the DJ, Photogrpher and florist. I am very happy. Thank you for making my day specail
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I am very pleased with Tina and her staff. Sweet Confections planned, decorated, catered and did my cake. Everything was perfection. She took the time over the past 7 months to get to know me. She is ready to talk and work with me on my event. I could not be happier. If you need someone to do your event she will not disappoint. Easy to work with and informative.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bree
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Very Pleased. Tina and crew did the planning, decorating, catering and cake. I could not ask for a better person to work with. I have no complaints about service. She is worth every dime I spent. She helped me fine the photographer and DJ. It was one stop for everything. She payed all the vendors for me. I wrote one check and she did the rest. Perfect event. Thank YOU>
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joshua
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina Francis, owner of Sweet Confections, is a wonderful referral partner to BRAVO~Live DJ! We always enjoy working together. All of the staff members at Sweet Confections are so easy to communicate with. They are prompt and courteous. I don't know of another owner who tries harder to bring it all together and make it happen, no matter what, than Tina. Our team at BRAVO~Live DJ greatly appreciates the relationship we have with this local baker/caterer! Give them a call!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
8/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina was wonderful to work with and very friendly. She (and everyone at Sweet Confections) did an amazing job on our cake. It tasted great and looked good too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired Sweet Confections to do everything planning, decorating, linens, tear down, catering and cake. I could not be happier. Tina is easy to work with. Her staff is polite and courteous. All I gave Tina was my color scheme and theme. She did the rest. I read all the other reviews and thought that they could not be right no one could do such a good job but she does. One thing I like is that I am all hers the day the before and the day of my wedding. She is at my beckon call. I did not understand that when I booked her. She warned me that she is unreachable on Fri and Sat. Well now I understand why. She needs her own TV show with all they do. My cake was not only beautiful but tasted wonderful. I had a problem with my venue. I came to her one day crying because they were so hard to deal with. With in a day she had everything taken care of for me. It was not cheap but worth every dime for my 250 person wedding. Everyone left full and pleased. I had a slider buffet, and apple bar. Oh yell my cake flavors were snickers, red velvet, death by chocolate, Elvis and Pina Colado. Who else can you so many flavors. I am very happy to be leaving this feedback.
Book her early she is worth every dime.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Words can not express how thankful we are for Tina and her staff at Sweet Confections!!! She did my sons and new daughters wedding we were thrilled! She was there right when we needed her! From the chair ribbons to the cake everything was amazing! I would also like to send out a big thank you for the two people that delivered the cake. Thank you for handling things in a professional way! Very much appreciated! If at all possible you MUST go by Sweet Confections. I "heard" that everything in there is calorie free...lol...jk. The shop is beautiful and smells yummy! If you need a photographer I totally recommend ActionShots Photography. This man is AMAZING!!!!! He took some of the best candid shots....ever! All day long he was there.....through all of the girls getting dressed down to the lights being turned down.....thank you so much! And thanks again Tina! Your the best!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tolbert
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina and Sweet Confections did my daughters wedding reception this past weekend. All I can say is WOW. Tina and her staff are absolutley the best! The food and the decorations were perfect. They exceded my expectations in every way. If you want a caterer that will handle all the details and leave you no worries, these are the folks, thank you so much Tina
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Sweet Confections is absolutely amazing! I stopped in and talked with Tina about a cake for my wedding. Not only was she pleasant and willing to listen, but she also stopped everything she was doing to meet with me. (I did not have an appt, I just walked in) We talked and came up with some ideas. She was very helpful in helping me figure out what I wanted my cake to look like. She made several sketches and we met several times. The day of my wedding, I walked in and immediately the cake caught my eye! I could not believe how beautiful it was and how it met everything I wanted it to. They completely made the wedding day that much better for me! The taste was over the top! I would highly recommend them to everyone I know and then some. Great workers and extremely friendly. Thank you to Tina and the crew who helped make our wedding day perfect! Chris and I can't thank you enough for everything you guys did! Keep up the great work!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
The best way I can thank Tina at Sweet Confections is to leave this review. I am so pleased with my cake and catering. She went well beyond expectations. I went to her with idea of what I wanted. I told her that I wanted a elegant wedding with spring colors. She did the rest. I did not want to worry about every little detail. She did the linens, flowers, catering and cake. I could not be happier.
The food is wonderful. She needs a restaurant. Her pasta dishes are amazing.
My cake was perfect. She worked with on designing the perfect cake. And then went above what was expected.
I just want to thank Tina and the Staff at Sweet Confections for giving me the day of my dreams.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Superior service. We felt like part of the family tina listened to everything we wanted. She helped me plan the event. They did the catering to perfection my wedding cake was beautiful staff was extraordinary I am very pleased with Sweet confections
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
Wwnetwork-128
rose
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I am very happy with everything that Sweet Confections did for us. I could not have asked for a better experience. My pink rose wedding perfect. She designed a perfect cake. I have no complaints about the service or experience. She still treats us like family. Thanks You for making my day special.
If you want her book her early. They feel up fast. She is worth the money and piece of mind that your day will be special.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shenna
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
A lot of stress comes along with planning a wedding, and I'm not sure that I could've got through it without Tina's help. My husband and I decided on the Maylon house for our cerony and reception which were both on a time limit. Tina went out of her way to come to the wedding venue the day before the wedding to help set up tables, chairs, and decorate for us. She didn't charge us extra for anything she went out of her way to do. All she cared about at the end of the day was that the bride was given her fairy tale wedding , and the bride and groom were satisfied with her services. Our wedding cake was over the top extravagant, and the dinner we had was also very good. If you want a catering service that cares about your satisfaction rather than the money they're going to make I highly recommend sweet confections.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We were in the mood for a wedding that was not so traditional. We were aiming for a themed wedding. I was really impressed with the steampunk themed wedding they did some time back and also wanted a steampunk themed wedding. Tina, the owner, listened to our idea and even inspired some other additions to our wedding.

Sweet Confections also provided a lot more than just extravagant wedding cake. They also provided our table linens, chair covers and bows, decorations, AND catering. Tina also helped us schedule what was going on in our event. It was a complete one-stop-shop deal with this place. The service was well worth it.

The cake was a completely shock when I finally saw it on wedding day. It was fantastic! It stood over four feet tall and had a dirigible made of cake at the top. All the guests loved the look of the cake and the taste was even better. There were absolutely no complaints with the tastes. Everyone loved it and some even brought some of it home (it was THAT delicious). It definitely turned out to be a cake that no one will forget.

The catered food was also unforgettable. Sweet Confections' chef made our food to perfection. Every guest's plate was cleared and almost everyone went back for seconds and thirds. The real winner at our wedding dinner was the ham. It was perfect.

We would highly recommend Sweet Confections for your not just cakes and catering, but also décor, and linens. Very pleased with their work.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina and the crew at Sweet Confections have finally blew my mind. My wife and I wanted a steampunk cake and we had seen that they had experience with this style. When we walked in, we thought it was just a simple bakery, never would I have guessed that they made a meal that left plates empty. I can honestly say that they went above the call of duty with our 4' wedding cake made out of my wife's favourite flavour, hummingbird. Tina took care of everything for us, and made sure that we knew how much we would need to decorate the area, and gave us design tips on how to save some money on decorations...granted we had to put in some elbow gease...but it was a great idea none-the-less. My wife was happier and smiled brighter than any day I had seen, and I don't think it would've been that big without the help of Tina and the crew at Sweet Confections, thanks again guys!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
3/8/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding march,8th and sweet confections did an amazing job way better than I ever expected thank you to everyone that helped it made our wedding an amazing experience!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
2/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Tina and her staff are wonderful! The cake was just as the bride had wanted! Tina went above and beyond to find the perfect color ribbon and accents for us. The cake itself was delicious as well as beautiful! I recommend their services to everyone who needs a cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I met Sweet Confections at a Bridal Show in Charleston. We were very pleaed we did. Tina was so easy to work with on planning our wedding. She listend to everything we said and answered all of my emials. I walked into my reception with the table linens on the tables , chair covers done, and tables decorated. The cake was perfect. I chose pumpkin, strawberry, chocolate and Apple spice. I was very pleased. The food was just as good, We had a barbeque sliders and sides.
When planning your event I recommend just letting Sweet Confections do the event. She does book up early. So call early. Tina treats you like family. Well worth the money
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stella
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
WOW!!!!!! GREAT CAKE GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE They did it all to my satisfaction. They even had a photographer to take the wedding pictures. I did not do anything except pick out the colors for the table linens. Worth every penny we spent
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Fred
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
My bride and I were very happy with both the cake and the catering for our special event. I cannot say enough good things about our experience with Sweet Confections so I will just say Thank you by leaving this review.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
12/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I booked Sweet Confections over the internet through the reviews on this sight. All of our correspondence was made through email and phone. I did not meet Tina until my wedding day. I am so happy I listened to the reviews. She did deliver. I basically turned everything over to her to plan. I set a budget and guest list and could not have been happier. She did a wonderful pink wedding for me. She did a pasta buffet and candy buffet. My wedding cake was stunning. It tasted better than any wedding cake or other cake I had ever had. I am very pleased. Thank you Sweet Confections for makeing mydestination wedding a dream.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margret
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Ditto Ditto Ditto to all the comments below. Sweet Confections will deliver on everything they say. I could not be happier. Tina listens to everything and helps you plan a wonderful Wedding. My cake was wonderful. It tasted as good as it looked. The food was perfect. We had a pasta bar, candy bar and dessert bar. She set everything up and it looked very good. She decorated and had table linens and chair sashes to match our theme. I highly recommend her. I did not do anything at the reception except enjoy. High quality and honest.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MiIchelle
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My winter wonderland wedding was perfect thanks to Sweet Confections .Tina did everything I expected it went beyond the call of duty. The staff was wonderful . The food was fantastic. She decorated , catered, and did my wedding cake . My wedding cake was four original flavors white chocolate raspberry ,cinnamon apple ,cranberry nut,and red velvet I am very pleased. Tina listens to you and does what you ask She is wonderful I highly recommend her. She will have a customer for life
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jena
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I am so happy that Sweet Confections was recommended to me and my husband. They planned, decorated, catered and made my wedding cake . Everything was perfect. My cake was perfect. Tina is a great person to work with on a wedding. She gave me a one of kind experience. The decorations were lovely. Staff was very professional. All I had to do was give her theme and color. She did the rest. Very pleased. Book her fast because her dates go fast.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the second time I have tried to leave feedback. The last time I did it wrong. So here I go again. I am very, very, very , pleased with my service from Sweet Confections. They did a wonderful job on my wedding. They did my wedding cake, catered and decorated my wedding. It was a fall theme. I could not be happier with the service. I am so happy that they were recommend to us. Tina is easy to work with and worked with in my budget. My reception was like a turn key job. Even thought it was late reception they pulled it off and made it beautiful They did it all. You can not go wrong in booking Sweet Confections.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cassi
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
The best and most beautiful wedding cake I could have ever asked for! Tina and everyone at the bakery are amazing and will definitely be our choice of bakery going forward!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cari
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely more than I could have asked for. I will most definitely use this business in the future and would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Very happy with outcome. Tina and her staff decorated, did my wedding cake and catered my wedding I fall wedding . It was nice not to worry about the table lenins or decorations they had everything there, my cake tasted wonderful I had pumpkin, coconut , apple spice, and chocolate. Fod was roast beef, checked, green beens, mashed potatoes, glazed carrots and rolls. Food was very good . They book fast so you better get your date booked asap. One more thing they drove 2 1/2 hours for my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
You would not believe that a little down home bakery could be filled with such class until you step foot into Sweet Confections. Tina knows everything from color design to match cakes to dresses or even a table cloth(we brought ours in and the cake was the perfect shade). I also was sketchy about her catering...that is until we tasted it, and it was amazing!!! I could live on that pasta bar! Anyone that needs an all-in-one stop for your wedding date, just call up Tina and let her take care of it for you, trust me when I say, you'll thank me in the long run! Thanks again Sweet Confections...you made our day spectacular.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We are very pleased with this exceptional bakery. We went to Tina with a very vague idea of what we wanted for our cake, and she was able to use her creative ideas to make an elegant cake involving owls. My guests were amazed that she was able to pull off making a cake with cute little owls in it and it still be elegant. Upon the first consultation we felt right at home in the bakery and we were able to pop in at anytime just to talk about our cake. She treats you like you are the number one bride as well as a friend. My guests are still talking about how tart and moist the cake was. They were all impressed with her professionalism as well as her warmness. Sweet Confections worked around our budget and was still able to make a beautiful cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1347982123242-fbavatar2663017
Travis
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a seemingly outrageous idea. How we saw it, a basic wedding cake is forgettable. We wanted a cake that people would remember. We wanted an owl cake.

Who in their right mind would request an owl cake, especially when our wedding colors were purple and silver? We did, and we can't be happier.

When we did our first consultation, Tina (the woman that runs the show) knew that we wanted something personal. She utilized her time to get to know us. She didn't just find out what we like and what we don't, but instead going a step beyond to understand our personalities so that she could implement it into the cake.

We had told others our idea and they were hesitant at first. Many times we heard "Aren't you afraid that it will turn out looking like a birthday cake?" At any other bakery that would have been a fear of mine, but Tina had won our trust.

At our second consultation we were deciding upon the flavor of the cake. For free, Tina gave us an assortment of cupcakes to taste test and decide what we wanted. That made us very popular that day, as many of our friends met up to try the vast amount of flavors.

We settled on a cupcake that was new to them; they were just testing it out to see how it sold. Though it is not the cupcake's proper name, I like to call it sherbet medley. The icing tasted much like sherbet, complimenting the creamy fruitiness of the cake. Normally cake would not be considered creamy, however with the moist smoothness of the cake itself, no other adjective could be more appropriate.

Come the day of the wedding, when I saw the cake, it was not only fun but it was *elegant.* People were SHOCKED that something so jovial could turn out so classy.

I am sure for our attendees, it turned out to be one of the most memorable things of that day. As for the taste, I question if we can keep the piece in our freezer for a whole year. I am craving it while I type this...
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Tina was wonderful to meet with. She really ensured that the day was about me and she would do whatever I asked. The cake was absolutely delicious, and was set up perfectly when i got to my reception
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Sweet Confections was wonderful! They worked with us to figure out what we could get for our price range and were very understanding. Thry kept in contact with us through all of the planning and made sure that our cake was going to be designed exactly how we invisioned it. The weekend of our reception there was a wide spread power outage and although they had no power, they moved mountains and thankfully were still able to deliver our beautiful 3 tier cake. I cannot thank them enough for their dedication and hard work! Our wedding cake was beautiful, delicious, and super moist! I would recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg17
candyisrad
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Sweet Confections after another local bakery started giving me the run around two and half weeks before my wedding. Tina was awesome and told me the sky was the limit, so I ended up with my perfect cake. They were kind enough to wait for me on the big day because I was running late and then Tina did an amazing job decorating the cake with flowers. Hands down the most moist, flavorful, delicious cake I've ever tasted! Everyone raved about how beautiful and tasty it was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darrah
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Sweet Confections worked with my husband and I for our wedding at the Rose Garden last year. We are huge Marshall fans and also love to watch Cupcake Wars, so we came up with an idea to incorporate both for our wedding day. We had the bakery make a kelly green sheet cake to look like a football field, and a few dozen mini cupcakes that we arranged on spice racks to symbolize the "fans" on "bleachers". It was a huge hit! The hardest part for us was choosing which flavors... they are all so yummy! My husband also had a surprise leopard print purse cake made for me that weekend. It was so neat looking... and of course delicious. Thanks to Tina and the crew for helping make our day extra special :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LeighAnn0130
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Tina and the people at Sweet Confections Bakery did a fantastic job with my wedding cake! It was everything I imagined it to be and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marla2012
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Exceptional! Tina did a great job with my Cake and reception. I am very pleased. We had a ham dinner for 200 people. The fod was very good. What I liked was how the took care of the elderly family members. The helped carry their food and had no sugar added carrot cake for them. My cake was beautiful and tasted great. It was red velvet, orange pinnaple and peanut butter. Everyone raved about how god everything was and how well they were treated. Tina is easy to talk to and work with. I highly recommend Sweet Confections.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BarbraSmith32
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Recently had a wedding cake done by them. It was a great cake. Looked wonderful and tasted great. I have never wrote a review before so i am not sure what to put on here. They worked with me the whole way through it. Even with the last minute changes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KaityH
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
HAPPY! Tina was such a pleasure to work with on our wedding. She has such great ideas and listens to everything we wanted. Not only did she make our cake and cater the reception. She helped us pull it all together. She customized our menu to fit everyone. We were even able to have a no sugar cake for our family members that had health problems. Her staff was prompt and took very good care of our guests. I am very pleased. One great thing she offered was custom tshirts to match our wedding decorations. I had purple bride , bridesmaid , groom and so forth put on tshirts at a very good price. Sounds crazy but she actually had someone available to do it for us.
I can not imagine why anyone would not be happy with their service. Not only did my cake taste good it looked good. I chose hummingbird, dark night chocolate and chocolate chip. Talk about customizing. Everything was great.
Thank you for everything. Book her fast if you want top natch service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
baby381gurl
Wedding:
3/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was absolutely beautiful and very delicious, we still had people asking if there was cake left over days after the reception. Thank you so very much
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AngelaS
Wedding:
2/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Very Happy. We went to Sweet Confections with a very strict budget. Tina worked with us all the way. They did the catering , decorating, clean up and the cake for a price in our budget. My cake was a three tier with flavors of Strawberry, Orange and Lemon. The cake was wonderful and looked perfect. It was better than expected. The catering was barbeques, slaw, baked beens, and fruit. They decorated for a cost but it was one less thing I had to deal with. I am so happy with the service. She is very honest and upfront about everything. I could not imagine going anywhere else. Please take my adivice and book them for everything. It is money well spent. She made my day so special. Thank you Sweet Confections for making my day so special and treating me like I was the only bride you were dealing with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths,
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I am very happy with Sweet Confections. They had a wedding planner on staff to plan my wedding. They also did the cake and catering. I was extremely happy with the service. They were their for me ever step of the way. She acted like I was her only bride. Very pleased with the quality of food and my cake tasted wonderful. Very pleased
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This bakery is awesome! We had a very small wedding and ordered a 2-layer cake--one layer pumpkin and the other vanilla. Everyone thought it tasted wonderful. It was moist and fresh and beautifully decorated, just the way I wanted it, covered in yummy textured buttercream icing with white chocolate flowers and pearls. Tina was wonderful to work with. She aims to please and is very flexible. The prices are great compared to other bakeries, and I couldn't ask for a better cake or a better experience. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Tina delivered my cake to my reception hall, which was 2 hours away from her bakery. It tasted amazing and looked FABULOUS- exactly what I wanted! Tina was very personable, very professional; I had some concerns which she addressed immediately and was so open and honest about what she does. She was very easy to work with and I had no worries about my cake. I could not have had a better experience! THANK YOU Sweet Confections Bakery! You have a customer for life!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
LOVE this place! Tina is so amazing and very sweet! She's very personable! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katie_hrdn
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We just got married this month and I couldn't have asked for a better bakery/person to make our cake. We had a cute as a button themed wedding and the cake had to have buttons on it too, as did the dozen cupcakes we had for the kids. We didn't want fondant but wanted the buttons to look neat and unique! She did the buttons in chocolate and they were a hit with everyone! She gave us a sampler for flavors and we fell in love with everything we tasted! The cake was beyond what I expected and I loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Molly
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved my fall cake. Sweet Confections was easy to work with. Delivery was prompt. I could not have asked for anything better. The pumpkin flavored tier was wonderful. Very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Provided us with a cake that exceeded our expectations. Price was very reasonable, the flavor was amazing, and the presentation and time of arrival were perfect. Very VERY much recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Sweet Confections Bakery did an amazing job with our wedding cake! My husband and I just got married on 8/6/11 and we couldn't have been more pleased with the turn out of the cake! It was decorated perfectly down to the very last detail, just like we had asked and the flavor of the cake was to die for! We chose Italian cream and strawberry, and over half of our guests commented on how our cake was the most delicious and the most beautiful cake they'd ever tasted or seen! I would highly recommend the use of this bakery! Not only was their cake phenomenal, but their service was great too! The staff were all so very kind and made sure my husband and I were happy and got exactly what we wanted! Thank you for making our day that much more wonderful by providing us with such a wonderful cake and by giving us such wonderful service!! I will be using this bakery for all special occasions from here on out :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashely101
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
This was the best cake I had ever had in my life. Everyone at my wedding loved the look of the cake and the taste. Tina is wonderful to work with. She came up with great ideas and I let her run with it. I could not have been happier. They are wonderful to work with. She called me several times duing the week to make sure everything was exactly how I wanted it on my cake. Not only did they work with me on the cake they drove the cake a hour to deliver it. This bakery is wibderful. The staff wonderful. Tina is wonderful and the Cake is wonderfl.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
AWESOME. The cake was wonderful. Tina did a great job making me a one of a kind cake. It was white and purple fondant. She went way beyond what I expected. The work on the cake was very good. She taught me allot of about cakes and decorating just by going through the process with her. I took all of her advice about what would work and what would not work. The cake tasted as good as it looked. I am very pleased with everything about the cake. She takes the time to listen. I am very happy that I chose Sweet Confections to do my cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a hard time finding someone to do our cake. We wanted a real bakery to do a home made cake. And we found one at Sweet Confections. They offer a unique service of hand making all the roses out of chocolate. I had never seen it done before. Tina took the time to show me how she makes them. She made me a wonderful cake with chocolate roses going down the front. It was explained to me that I would be taking a chance on chocolate roses during these hot summer months But I assured her that the air would be down low so nothing would bother the cake. The cake was exactly what I wanted. It was very traditional elegant cake. I cant imagine anyone being disappointed with this bakery. She treats you like you are the one bride on the planet. If you listen to her and work with she will provide you with the best cake possible. She explains that no cake is perfect but they do the best to make the cake perfect for that special day. I highly recommend this bakery. They person who complained below must not have listened to Tina when she explained about the cake. The taste of the cakes are breathtaking. The work on cakes are awesome.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashton
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I just planned an Alice in Wonderland themed wedding. I knew I wanted my cake to be special and a statement piece, so I printed a few whimsical ideas and took them to tina one morning. she fed me cupcake after cupcake and we went over different ideas for how to include all the elements into this whacky cake while keeping it as elegant as any other wedding cake would be. I entrusted her to created my vision, and after a few consults and phone calls wedding day arrived.. as did my cake. it was by far the most amazing cake i've ever seen, and the reception hall smelled of delicious red velvet even into the next day. all our guests enjoyed it, including the peaches and cream and strawberry layers we added on to break it up. EVERYONE wanted a picture and a piece!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aarika_McCormick
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I had an idea on paper of the cake I wanted. Tina did exactly what I wanted for the budget I had. Not only did the cake look BEAUTIFUL, but it tasted delicious!! I suggest this bakery to everyone! They work with you for your budget. You can do different layers in whatever flavors please your taste buds. Tina is very helpful and makes sure what you put on your paper is exactly what you want. Two people in my bridal party are severely allergic to peanuts. Tina made sure to sanitize everything so there would be no cross-contamination with the ingredients. Everything is made from scratch and you can taste the difference in her cakes compared to others. Best cake, for the best price!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany J
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
My Cake was great and exactly what I wanted. The employees were all very nice and extreamly helpful. I had several complements on how beautiful the cake was and how tastey it was. People who didn't even like cake were wanting seconds. The only bad thing about it was, that I didn't order a cake big enough (haha).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SarahMo
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Tina and the gang at Sweet Confections are amazing! The prices were very reasonable: we got cupcakes on their cupcake tower (they had two colors to choose from, and let us use it for free), and a cake on top to cut and freeze for later, plus 25 extra cupcakes, and 50 bon-bons (which are delicious!!), and the total was less than $250. When we first met to see if we wanted to use them for our wedding, they gave us tons of free samples and basically encouraged us to come up with our own ideas (and they re-created those ideas exactly how we wanted for the big day). Their red velvet is amazing, the bons-bons are to die for, anything with strawberry is delicious, and they have so many other things to choose from, I could go on and on. Overall, we Highly Recommend Sweet Confections Bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
diana
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I took a wild chance on this bakery. I ordered my wedding cake over the internet. I lived out of town was getting married close to the bakery. Tina was so easy to work with. We sent pictures back and forth for a week before deciding on the cake. When I saw the cake for the first time I was amazed. It was exactly what I wanted. I did not want fondant but a rich butter cream. I could not have been happier with the experience. They are very understanding and easy to work with. She only requested that we keep the reception place cook so the cake would not slide or melt and that no one move the cake once it set up. We followed her instructions and were delighted. Thanks for a wonderful experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sdworkman
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
This business treated me as though I was the only bride they were dealing with! They also knew what would look right and what wouldn't! (I wanted the ribbon look and am so thankful Tina talked me out of it!) Also not only was the cake gorgeous it was delicious!!! 3 different layers all great ( white chocolate raspberry and snickers were to die for!!). I would definately recommend this shop to any bride that is looking for great service and a yummy beautiful cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marlene
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Sweet confections just did my wedding cake. It was wonderful. The gentlemen who delivered the cake were so courteous and helpful. My cake has pink roses going all the way down it. I also ordered two full size sheet cakes to match. I cant imagine any one being disappointed by using this bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Marleena
Wedding:
4/23/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved our cake. It was fabulous. It was a three tier cake with carnations going down the side. I could not have asked for anything more. This bakery was wonderful to work with. Everything was done just the way I liked it. Very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Fred
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful wedding cake. We were very pleased with the service and the cake. The owner greats you and works with you the whole time. She designed a beautiful three tear cake and grooms cake for us. We went several places before deciding on this bakery. We are so glad that we chose Sweet Confections to do our cake. It was a wonderful cake. She did not try to over price the items. She showed us ways to save money and still get the same look. I am very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sjacks02
Wedding:
2/5/2011
5.0/5.0
My grandmother just turned 92 on 02/05/2011 and i decided to order her a cake from this new bakery that i have heard so much about. My grandmother is a diabetic so i had to see if they could make a sugar free cake. The staff was wonderful in helping me make my grandmothers birthday one of the best she has had with the beautiful no sugar added cake. They made me a full sheet cake with wonderful decorations and at a great price. I would recommend this bakery to anyone and everyone!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sylvia
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
This bakery did my parents Silver Anniversary wedding cake. It was absolutely wonderful. It was exactly what we wanted and more. They made all the roses out of chocolate. They were delicious. They way beyond what we expected. Thank you for such a great job.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TraceyW
Wedding:
11/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was on 11/26/10. I chose to use Sweet Confections Bakery to do my wedding cupcakes. They were wonderful. The lady who I worked with the bakery was nice and helped me every step of the way. She came up with different ideas to decorate the cupcakes. We rented a beautiful cupcake tower off of her. We had ordered 175 cupcakes in chocolate, vanilla, strawberry and orange. They were baked fresh that morning. I could not have been happier with my experience. I will definitely use them for other events in my family.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
11/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Tina was very easy to work with and willing to do anything I asked for. I had a cupcake tower for my wedding that featured four different flavors of cupcake. She allowed me to use her cupcake tower also. The price was very reasonable and she stayed in my budget. The cupcakes were DELICIOUS!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
phil
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I found this bakery two months ago when searching for someone to do a Birthday cake They did a Italian Cream Cake. The cake was home made, no cake mix. The cake was wonderful. It was two tier cake. It was so good. I saw the other persons feedback. I do not know how it could have came from the same place. The place is spotless. It always makes you feel at home. It also smells so good when you walk in the door. You can smell the fresh baked desserts. I have been a regular customer of theirs ever since the first purchase. The day of the picked up the cake they had a sing out front that said Happy Birthday with my name. They make each customer feel at home. Very friendly and professional. They will be my bakery from now on.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Lacy
Wedding:
10/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I attended my best friends wedding on 10/03/10. The wedding was beautiful. One thing that caught my eye afterward was their wedding cake. It was absolutely astonishing. The cake was a 4 tier cake, was the most amazing cake I have ever seen. The colors were so vibrant. Not only was the cake striking to the eye. it was also the most moist cake I have ever tasted. I give Sweet Confections 5 stars on everything. They did a wonderful job and I would recommend their cakes to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.9/5.0
I want to send a BIG thank you to Tina and Sweet Confections for the amazing job they did at my sons and new daughters wedding!!! :) Words can not express how happy I am that Tina stepped up and did this wedding. From the table clothes to the cake everything was done from the kindness of her heart! A big thank you to the two ppl that delivered the cake and handled themselves in a very professional way and I personally want to thank you!! Stop by her shop if you can and try some of the yummy stuff.....I "heard" that everything in there is calorie free...lol...jk......but do stop by....the shop is beautiful! Also if you don't have a photographer you MUST use ActionShots Photography!! This guy and his wife are AMAZING!!!!!! They were there ALL day with the bride and groom and got some of the best shots I have ever seen. He was the nicest man ever! Thanks a again a GREAT BIG BUNCH Tina!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Vicky
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.8/5.0
Tina did a wonderful job on the cake for my daughter's wedding. She took the time to discuss with her exactly what she wanted and matched every detail It was as beautiful as it was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1297024186108-002
Teresa
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.4/5.0
The process of working with Tina was very good. If you want Sweet Confections to make your wedding cake, get a deposit in early, as they are in high demand. The cake was delicious (it's a shame I didn't even get a taste of the German chocolate groom's cake). My only concern was that the cake arrived later than expected and the fondant was so heavy that transporting the cake from Barboursville had made some one the cake begin to collapse under the weight of the fondant. But it tasted great! Thank you, Tina, for being a part of our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweet Confections responded with the following comments:

Teresa is a wonderful bride. I enjoyed working with her. The cake was a little late. The 1 1/2 drive took me 2 1//2 due to the bad roads. We had to drive 35 miles a hour. We did get it set up before the guests arrived. Teresa thank you for letting us be a part of your special day. It was joy to work with you.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
The cake was delicious but it really didn't look like what I had asked for, I wanted ruffles around the first two layers then pearls only around the top. I sent pictures and even talked to her the day of the wedding, they only lined the layers edges with pearls. Not to mention the fact it melted before the wedding even started, it was an air conditioned building so it wasn't the hear. There was just way too much icing, it all slid down the cake. Sort of ruined the looks of our table because the cake was right beside us. It was really tasty though. Would've been completely satisfied if it hadn't melted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweet Confections responded with the following comments:

The cake was exactly like her picture. She wanted ruffles all the way to the top with the cake straight up the back. We did that. The room may have been air conditioned but it was very old, large cabin. The air conditioner could not keep up with the 100 degree temperature outside. It was 87 in the building. It was way to hot for butter cream cake. Carol Ann is a real sweet girl. I thought we did exactly how she wanted . Especially after sketching it out and meeting over 6 times. We could not control the temperature and they were warned about the heat on the cake. I only wish her the best. The cake was signed off on before we left. No changes was requested by bride, mother or sister.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.0/5.0
The cake flavors were very delcious, but the design of our cake was not up to the standards of a wedding. I was really embarrassed to have that wedding cake at my wedding. The fondont had fingerprints on it.. It was not smooth at all.. I would not have purchased my wedding cake from her if I would have known she was not as talented as she led us to believe. I would rather have a beautiful cake show up than it taste good. Preferably both, but if I had to pick one it would be too look good. I thought the cake was going to make our reception, but I was so disappointed and wanted to just hide as soon as i saw it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweet Confections responded with the following comments:

They were a nice couple that did not understand cakes. We covered the cake in modeling chocolate. It was a 84 degrees in the building when we dropped off the cake. We did turn the air conditioner down. They were told that the building would need to be under 72 degrees for the cake. The cake had no finger prints or problems when we left. Everything on the 4 tier cake was made of modeling chocolate. They did not want to use any other substance on the cake. The cake did sit a couple of hours before the wedding. When we dropped it off it was in perfect condition. We did take pictures of the cake It is on our facebook page. It is four tier with pink and brown ribbons plus pink roses. It was a huge cake and they received a good deal on the cake due to being college students and paying for everything their selves. I am just sorry they were disappointed. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to ask.
Wwnetwork-128
rebecca
Wedding:
8/27/2011
2.0/5.0
Agree with post written on aug,2, 2011. We had high expectations from Tina, felt like it was an amazing choice to have her bake our cake. Our cake was poorly baked. Looked nothing like our photograph. Pearls were not edible but were art/craft type product that was pinned to our fondant cake which were falling off. Multiple people brought us metal clips to us after eating our cake and said "I found this in my cake"-coming from a toddler. color did not match. Multiple cracks, pearls falling off, fondant too thin. Staff at our reception site said that it was the worst cake they ever tried to cut, they said it just fell apart, they couldn't slice it. Guests at my reception noticed it was not professionally done well. My husband and I were so embarassed to have this cake, I wanted to hide it and not let anybody see it. We are currently trying to get our money back-especially for the metal pins in cake, somebody could have gotten hurt or choked. We are willing to take them to Better Business Bureau to get our refund. Get your cake elsewhere.

Addition to vendor response: My husband and I did not see the cake being delivered. They delivered the cake at 2 and my wedding started at 6, so there no wedding guests on site. We saw it after they left from dropping it off, so therefore were unable to say we loved the cake to her. We asked for an ivory white cake with gold champagne ribbons and gave her photo and said we want this exactly the same.We do have photos of the gold color scheme to prove it did not match. we also have photographs of the multiple pins that came out of the cake that guests found as they were eating the cake. We compared what we asked for and what we received side by side and they looked nothing alike. We did not decide we paid to much, we would have paid more for what we thought we were getting.

Log in to facebook and then click this: http://www.facebook.com/beckyfrye827
Go here for pictures

OR

go to my biography on this website (projectwedding) and look at what we uploaded.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweet Confections responded with the following comments:

We arrived with the cake and they loved the cake. Everyone loved the cake. The cake was a four tier with fondant covering. It had ribbons coming down the side. I matched the cake exactly with color provided. It was explained to them that no one can exactly copy a cake. We made it as close as possible.They later decided they spent to much money on their wedding and wanted a refund. They had no metal shaving in their cake. It had 4 pins to hold on the pearls. Wilton pearls were used on this cake. Fondant pearls were not used due to not being able to match the color exactly how they wanted it done. Everything used on the cake was explained. I meet with people several times before doing a cake. When we left the cake it was done to specification and approved. A picture of the cake is posted. It is four tier. Fondant ribbons. Small Roses on top. With a figurine. If you have any questions please email and ask. I would be happy to answer all questions.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
2/22/2014
0.0/5.0
I really do not understand all the good reviews even though they are old. I wish I could post pics of my daughters wedding cake mess! The only thing right about the cake was the color of the icing! I purchased a cupcake to taste the peaches and cream and it was good the cake was NOT! The decorating job was very unprofessial. Very simple two tier cake and she was not capable to accommodate. I was in shock when I saw the cake and a guy took it to my car in a nasty box that was falling apart. I sat in my car and cried not knowing what to do. I took pics sent to my daughter and spoke with my husband for some help. She had no apologies or offer of a discount after the horrible mess of a cake. $175 down the drain! Should have went to walmart! If you could see the pics it would tell all.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweet Confections responded with the following comments:

I tried to have this review removed with no luck. We did not do this persons cake. I have no idea where this review is even coming from. What we did for her was a small 2 tier birthday cake. Not a wedding cake and she did not pay $175 for the cake. The birthday cake we did she loved when she left the store. She was driving the cake 4 hours over the WV turnpike. We requested that she put the cake in the back of her vehicle not in the front seat. She transported the cake over curvy roads. I do not know why she is leaving this feedback all over the internet. But if you would like to speak to me about this cake please call us to discuss this before you judge us on this review. Please consider all the other views.

DEALS

Free Bride Tshirt
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $20 Value
For every bride that books a wedding cake you will receive a free Sweet Confections Brides 2012 tshirt for free. These are customized designed just for our brides.
Deal #WWe6916faa8c2754bd
220x220_1374518495858-sweet-confections-logo-with-catering-tray

MAP

 
6007 Rt 60 East Suite 314, Barboursville, WV 25504 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sweet Confections
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo