Nophoto-130

Sweet Lady Jane Bakery

Los Angeles , CA

LOCATION

8360 Melrose Ave
Los Angeles, CA US 90069 (map)

PHONE

323-653-7145

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joseph
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We wanted a cake that was unique and delicious. Jeffrey loves Dragons and I love Jeffrey so I asked Sweet lady Jane Bakery to do something truly spectacular and they exceeded our expectations. The guests are all talking about the beautiful cake and it tasted wonderful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
9/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We're really old school. We wanted a wedding cake like our parents had...white with all the icing flowers and little people standing on the top. While SLJ does do really cool modern cakes, they were the only vendor we could find that had beautiful traditional wedding cakes. We had coconut on the top two layers and the italian wedding cake on the bottom. EVERYONE loved it---the way it looked and tasted. Best part is that, since they're also a regular bakery, my new husband and I can stop by and buy a piece of cake in the flavors of our wedding cake when we feel like it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.9/5.0
We ordered the Italian Rum Wedding Cake, although it wasn't what my husband was expecting being from Boston it was a delicious and beautiful cake, not overly sweet which we appreciated.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ghazal
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.9/5.0
From the moment we tasted Sweet Lady Jane's Triple Berry Shortcake, we knew it had to be our wedding cake. We worked with Bonnie at SLJ to come up with a simple design that matched our rustic vineyard wedding at an affordable price (we had a budget of $500 for 140 people). It wasn't difficult as Bonnie suggested going with a smaller two-tier wedding cake for display that served up to 40 and a large sheet cake at a much cheaper price to feed the rest of our guests. It worked out great and the cake design of simple flowers and vines looked gorgeous! We're still receiving compliments about how delicious our wedding cake was and many have called it the best tasting wedding cake ever! Lucky for us we only have to drive a few minutes to their Melrose location to pick up a slice and remember our delicious wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Bonnie was so wonderful with our wedding cake. It was perfect. I wanted my mother's double happiness character on the cake and Bonnie was so helpful in executing my vision. Of course, Sweet Lady Jane cakes are top notch and as I was saying my vows, I couldn't wait for my prime rib dinner (Lawry's) and the Sweet Lady Jane seven-layer chocolate cake!! I barely remember the day as it flies by but I do remember not having one bite during the cake cutting, but quite a few. I love cake, especially Sweet Lady Jane's and Bonnie was patient and accommodating. I highly recommend this bakery--guests will remember the food, not your dress. I always remember the cake at weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding cake was BEAUTIFUL and these people know how to make delicious cakes. I really expected to have a lot of cake leftover from our huge master piece, but the only thing left was the top tier (which we saved, of course). The best flavor was the lemon with alcohol. If you have an extra amount of money for your cake, splurge on an exquisite cake from Sweet Lady Jane.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shandon
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Amazing wedding cake! Spoke with Bonnie who was no nonsense with an opinion. We were able to choose a cake quickly. The guests loved the look of the cake and of course... it tasted delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CarlaB
Wedding:
2/12/2012
0.0/5.0
Absolutely atrocious service!!! My family and I were enjoying the cake and beverages when a waitress came over and RUDELY told us to leave while including obnoxious hand movements because we "were there too long", when in reality we were there for about an hour and a half. When I went over to confront her about her offensive service, another waiter, who was unpleasant from the beginning, started yelling at the top of his lungs in front of the whole restaurant and tried to start a fight with me. I would never expect any restaurant to treat costumers in such a nasty fashion. We were absolutely appalled and are definitely never going back. I would not recommend having anything to do with this trashy, low-class establishment. The cake is decent but not worth dealing with the abhorrent service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
denial
Wedding:
11/5/2011
4.2/5.0
best cake i ever had corroborated to our wedding colors perfectly
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mer177
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.9/5.0
We ordered the most delicious cake from Sweet Lady Jane for our wedding.

I wasn't planning on having a cake but at the last minute (about two weeks before the big day) we decided to go for it and chose Sweet Lady Jane because we both love their red velvet cake.

We went in for our tasting (they were very accomodating even when we called to set up an appointment - that let us come in the same day!) and were surprised that they could do something with such short notice.

We (much to our surprise) didn't choose our favorite red velvet as our cake flavor because they had available to taste a delicious yellow cake with apricot jam and passionfruit custard. Bonnie told us they don't usually have that flavor available at tastings unless it's a special request but another couple the day before had requested it and there happened to be some left for us to taste! We are calling ourselves lucky because it was AMAZING!

We ended up picking up the cake the day of our wedding to save on the delivery charge but it was not problem especially because our cake was so small (40 serviings). They had it packed perfectly and it transported really easily.

We didn't have it decorated because we had our florist just add flowers to it - perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JIM
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Very elegant art work and delicious favor. I would recommend this bakery for any occasion.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Layton
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
This was hands down the best cake we had during our tasting, so we knew our lady was Sweet Lady Jane. It was simple and beautiful. I may eat the top in a year, not ten. We loved it, and so did our guests. Really great quality.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dawn
Wedding:
7/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Sweet Lady Jane is simply the best. Delicious, breathtakingly beautiful, very professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DawnFilmProf
Wedding:
7/4/2010
5.0/5.0
You've probably heard of Sweet Lady Jane - bakery to the stars. It's not hype. Our cake was sooo delicious and beautiful, AND they kept it within our budget including holiday delivery (4th of July). We had a funky cake-topper and wanted real flowers - and on top of that, Bonnie managed to decorate a gorgeous cake that matched the design of our seating cards and other printed materials. I could not believe how lovely it was when I saw it. Perfection. But it was also moist and scrumptuous, best wedding cake I've ever eaten. Yes, I actually ate it, me the bride! Love you, Sweet Lady Jane.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelley
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
How do you find a vegan wedding cake for a wedding in Orange County when you live in Alaska and the bride/groom are in Salt Lake City? You find wonderful Bonnie of Sweet Lady Jane's!!! We had, hands down, the most delicious, beautiful, perfect wedding cake ever! Bonnie handled every detail. We had tofuty cream cheese frosting. She matched the tropical flowers with the florist to decorate the cake. She had these amazing spun sugar seashells to give the cake a special appeal. She was exactly right on how much to order-every piece was served. Vegan Red Velvet Cake!!! Perfection. Beautiful. Delivered at exactly the right time on the day of the wedding to our reception site. Set up. Lovely. By Heidi who I never met but shout out to Heidi.
Bonnie- Sister of Sweet Lady Jane-next time I come to the states-I am going to take you to lunch when I am not a big ball of crazy so we can talk about what a perfect, perfect cake you supplied. And I'll show you wedding pictures and the dress I wore that zipped up (yay!).
Hugs and Kisses to Sweet Lady Jane's.
So all you Vegans out there-here is the deal-this is the only place you need to call. I have saved you. And FYI-this is the same cake the Portia and Ellen ordered for their wedding. Six degrees of separation-the bride worked as a Production Assistant for Ellen's Really, Really Big Show in Las Vegas at Caesar's Palace November 2008. My birthday is January 26th-same as Ellen. My mother watches Ellen! every day. So Shout Out to Ellen and Portia on their marriage as well!
Sweet Lady Jane's is the bomb-diggity per this Alaska Mother of the Bride! (And no, I don't know Sarah Palin but I have seen her a few times and I don't miss her as Governor either. And I can't see Russia from my window but I can drive 20 minutes and be in Wasilla-where I can't see Russia any better.)

Kisses to Sweet Lady Jane and the vegan masterpiece you created on 11/21/2009 for Caity and Joe Chandler!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joy
Wedding:
10/16/2009
4.2/5.0
Sweet Lady Jane consistently has the most delicious selection of cakes and our wedding was no exception. We were most pleased and it was a pleasure to work with Bonnie. The cake was beautiful and delicious-- most of our guests went back for seconds! My only complaint is that there were no leftovers!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cyan20
Wedding:
9/12/2009
3.8/5.0
Beautiful cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cleverbella
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
There aren't words really.... people are still talking about how wonderful the cake was. I knew the moment I tasted cake there (before I met my husband) that I wanted my wedding cake to come from SLJ. Jane is amazing - and so is her staff. Her sister, Bonnie, is the wedding cake guru. Bonnie is super helpful. She helped make this a cost-effective choice for us by suggesting we do a sheet cake of our wedding cake (smaller layers = less expensive). SLJ will always be one of our favorite places. It will be my first source for all special-occasion sweets forevermore.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
slhicklin
Wedding:
7/12/2008
4.2/5.0
Sweet Lady Jane has the best wedding cake in all of Los Angeles (we tasted many)! The cake was just as I planned, arrived on time and was absolutely delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
4/5/2008
4.7/5.0
Everyone said that this cake was the best wedding cake they had seen and tasted. They were extremely helpful, working extensively with me on a complicated design, and of course, the cake tasted amazing! A little pricier than others, but worth the money.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1212513467087-us20
Jann
Wedding:
9/22/2007
4.2/5.0
Everything at this bakery is TO DIE FOR! We ordered a white chocolate raspberry 4-tier wedding cake from here, and it was delicious! My mom also surprised us with their 6 inch apple pie, which is equally amazing! My only complaint is the person in charge of tasting & taking ordered wasn't very professional. Granted we had no issues at all with them, the whole ordering process was a little "loosey goosey." In the end, no serious complaints.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg20
ctoledo
Wedding:
4/28/2007
4.5/5.0
We had the wedding cake of our dreams! We custom designed it with the vendor. Amazing looks and taste! Absolutely no problems. They were on time, personally delivered by one of the owners!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hazel
Wedding:
3/4/2006
1.0/5.0
Out of all the wedding vendors, this takes the "cake" in the worst vendor ever category. The manager responsible for weddings was absolutely crazy with bad attitude and hot temper. She literally screamed at me when I called her about a head count change a month prior to the wedding, which is a typical phenomena.

The real disappointment came on the wedding day itself. At least I believed that their cake would be delicious based on our tasting prior to booking them. But that wasn't the case! The Italian wedding cake we had was mediocre at best - it was stale - and the flower decoration which they insisted they had to do (instead of using the florist's help) was unimpressive.

The cost was on the high side and it was very disappointing overall.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1326599008744-javisandosa2011
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
Sweet Lady Jane did my wedding cake. It was very beautiful and of course very delicious. My only issue was the icing, which started to melt before we could cut the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Delicious, tasty and so beautiful but very pricey. It was my wedding day so it was worth the splurge,
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Wedding Cake Perfection!

One of our good friends recommended that we squeeze in a wedding cake tasting at Sweet Lady Jane Bakery... Thank you, Margie! That was the best wedding cake advice received!

Before our tasting at Sweet Lady Jane, we thought we were pretty set on where to get our wedding cake from. That is until we started the tasting at Sweet Lady Jane's!!! The cakes were so good! Bonnie helped us throughout the process and ensured that we could get an amazing cake that would fit within our budget. We decided on a two tier Triple Berry Shortcake and a 1/2 sheet to ensure enough cake for all the guests and remain slightly under our budget. Sweet Lady Jane is very big on ensuring cake perfection so we had to drop off the fresh flowers the day before the wedding (most bakeries are OK with the florist placing the flowers on the cake).

When we entered the reception, the most amazing cake was there!!! It was decorated to perfection with fresh flowers and although it was only 2 tiers it was a taller than we expected.

We received many many compliments not only on the food but on the CAKE!
As our guests put it... "Best wedding cake ever!!!"

Thank you, Sweet Lady Jane Bakery and Bonnie!
~The Kim's
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
What can I say? The best tasting cake of all time. We wanted our favorite Triple Berry cake made into our wedding cake and Bonnie came through for us! There was some concern since the design was more suited to be covered in fondant, but fondant tastes, well let's just say it, gross! Bonnie assured me that she could make her delicious buttercream as smooth and as fondant. She did! Beautifully done and was as delicious as ever!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
stoobee
Wedding:
9/15/1995
5.0/5.0
Outstandingly decorated and super-delicious. Even my friends who have no sweet tooth had seconds. The cake decorater, Trent, worked with us to create a one-of-a-kind wedding cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
8360 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90069 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sweet Lady Jane Bakery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo