130x130_sq_1200088288220-s2ylogo

Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc

Wilmington , DE
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

913 brandywine blvd
Wilmington, DE US 19809 (map)

PHONE

302-762-3451
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc
913 Brandywine Blvd.
Bellefonte
Wilmington DE 19809

302-762-3451 302-762-0666

We are a full service bakery with many... Read more
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc
913 Brandywine Blvd.
Bellefonte
Wilmington DE 19809

302-762-3451 302-762-0666

We are a full service bakery with many skilled employees in the art of
Fondant, Gumpaste and Chocolate creations.
We suggest that you schedule a consultation with our wedding coordinator .
Where we can ease the choosing of your dream cake making it a memory to last a lifetime.
We can design your cake to be fun, fanciful, comtemporary, or traditional.


If you are just shopping around to find the bakery suited just for you feel free to stop in to veiw our wide variety of wedding cakes previously created or feel confidant that we can create a unique cake of your dreams with a photo you provide.
We look forward to helping you with any questions or suggestions you may have.

We wish you...Joy, Love and Happiness!
The Staff
Sweets to You...By Ginger,Inc. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1200088050173-10-15-2007-06
130x130_sq_1200088088579-10-15-2007-10
130x130_sq_1200088117954-10-15-2007-19
130x130_sq_1390061101362-2009-02-28-1449-02---cop
130x130_sq_1390061121463-2009-09-24-1249-4
130x130_sq_1390061123649-2011-05-01-13.59.0
130x130_sq_1390061128608-2011-05-01-13.59.1
130x130_sq_1390061133278-2011-05-01-13.59.2
130x130_sq_1390061181577-2011-05-012013.58.58
130x130_sq_1390061186560-421297288736544559667993873826
130x130_sq_1390061189039-5531632639090503757502041706813
130x130_sq_1390061191522-7485001
130x130_sq_1390061194948-79550010cro
130x130_sq_1390061197969-7955002
130x130_sq_1390061273099-8586001
130x130_sq_1390061277165-94770012---cop
130x130_sq_1390061281023-97860011---copy---cop
130x130_sq_1390061285069-03301214485
130x130_sq_1390061290850-cak
130x130_sq_1390061292195-crystal-cak
130x130_sq_1390061326663-img022
130x130_sq_1390061328767-img022
130x130_sq_1390061330323-img022
130x130_sq_1390061332002-img022
130x130_sq_1390061333800-img022
130x130_sq_1390061335407-img022
130x130_sq_1390061337052-img022
130x130_sq_1390061433447-img023
130x130_sq_1390061434978-img023
130x130_sq_1390061436807-img023
130x130_sq_1390061438571-img023
130x130_sq_1390061444310-img023
130x130_sq_1390061449627-img023
130x130_sq_1390061454722-img023
130x130_sq_1390061460184-img023
130x130_sq_1390061465643-img023
130x130_sq_1390061467779-img024
130x130_sq_1390061507342-img024
130x130_sq_1390061509081-img024
130x130_sq_1390061511374-img024
130x130_sq_1390061512160-img024
130x130_sq_1390061513010-img024
130x130_sq_1390061517201-img024
130x130_sq_1390061526024-img025
130x130_sq_1390061533769-img025

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
Altuought we ran into some bumps along the way, our cake was absolutely amazing. It looked almost exactly how we pictured it ! And our cake was not your typical cake. They did a great job and it tasted even better ! People were raving about it for weeks.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
We had a good experience working with Sweets to You by Ginger. We had an idea for our cake and they were able to recreate it to fit our needs. The staff is kind and helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Our wedding cake from Ginger was beautiful and delicious! We showed her pictures of the styles we liked and she created exactly what we envisioned! We received many compliments on both the taste and the appearance. The bakery seems very busy and was difficult to get a hold of them at times, but in the end everything came together nicely.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
I wish I could upload a photo of my cake because it was beyond gorgeous. I printed out a few photos as "inspiration" and the team decorated my cake even more perfectly than the photos. I dropped off flowers for the team to use on my cake, they arranged the sunflowers, pink gerber daisies and greens so artistically.
We opted for a few different layers, a chocolate cake with peanut butter filling, the strawberry shortcake and the Liz (white cake with raspberry filling).
The chocolate was gone immediately, then the strawberry shortcaek and then the Liz. Everyone was raving about how delicious the cake was!
The prices was also the best in the area for everything you get and how delicious the cake was!
The only negative thing I can say was how difficult it was to get ahold of someone to discuss my wedding cake questions and schedule our appointment. I eventually was given the cell number of one of the owners to text if I had questions. The response was immediate when we used this method.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful. And tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We booked a Sweets to You by Ginger Cake through our contract with the Rockwood Carriage House. We are so glad we went with them. The cake was DELICIOUS and beautiful...exactly how I envisioned it. We were able to get different flavors on the different layers. The pound cake and chocolate peanut butter were definitely the stars of the show. Plus we get a voucher for a cake on our anniversary. We can't wait to enjoy our full anniversary cake since we didn't get to eat much at the wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
The cake was delicious and exactly what I wanted. Wedding tip: There was some confusion on who was going to put on the flowers and they never got on so just make sure you know that!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful cake and so delicious! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
3/30/2014
4.3/5.0
This cake was PERFECT!! It was beautiful and incredibly delicious. Our only challenge was that our messages were often unreturned, and we were planning from the West Coast so we could not just stop by. I have heard if you go in person things happen quickly. I would definitely use them again....they made a cake exactly to our desires!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was FANTASTIC! Not only did it look absolutely amazing, but it tasted amazing. We couldn’t decide on a flavor, so we have 4 tiers with 4 different flavors – so EXCITING! I had found a picture online and had that in the back of our minds when we went for the tasting. They actually had a picture of a similar cake in their book so we made the arrangements to have that cake made. It looked better than I thought possible! And, we didn’t need to save the topper for our 1 year anniversary – they gave us a gift certificate to come back in and have a replica cake made! So cool!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased that our Reception Vendor, Waterfall, used Sweets to You By Ginger. We have enjoyed their cakes for years. My daughter, fiancé and I attended a tasting in September with Ginger and the cakes for the tiers were selected and also the design of the cake. The bridal couple chose four layers including a Yellow Cake with fresh strawberries, an Oreo Cookies with Oreo cream filling, Chocolate Cake with chocolate mousse filling and a lemon cake with raspberry sorbet cream. The wedding took place 2/22/14. Each layer was delicious!

The design was an alternating round and square cakes. It was decorated with rhinestones and purple ribbons and four different layers of designs on the icing. The cake with customized with brooch accents and a Police Officer/Bride figurine and a "G" on the top.

The cake was beautiful as well as delicious.

You can't go wrong with this vendor! So happy!

Diane & Amanda
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

We are so please that you had a wonderful wedding...we had a lot of fun placing your very special brooches .we wish you the very best.
susan
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cathy
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was AMAZING and looked absolutely beautiful. We met with Ginger and she was very responsive and flexible (we had a newborn baby with us). Delicious, memorable cake!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
12/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Sweets to You made our cake for our Christmas wedding on December 27, 2013. It was delicious and so amazingly beautiful. It looked so great I didn't want to cut it!! Highly recommend Ginger and her staff to any bride!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

Thank you!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
12/7/2013
4.6/5.0
I will always order my cakes from Ginger's! We had no doubt that the cake would be delicious, but we were amazed at what a beautiful job they did. They even offer a gift certificate to get a cake from them for your 1 year anniversary. No complaints!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your continued business!! congratulations!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Great tasting and great looking cake for our wedding! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Sweets to you by Ginger created our multi-tier wedding cake. I showed them a photo and they re-created it perfectly! Our guests raved about how delicious the cake was! THANK YOU!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I am lost for words. Very professional, beautiful arrangement and the cake was absolutely yummy! Everyone raved about the cake. 4 tier pound cake with European raspberry and white chocolate mousse. Yum yum!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cissy
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Sweets to you by Ginger created my daughters wedding cake. They did a fantastic job! Visually the cake was just beautiful and the taste was delicious. We could not have been happier and our guests were raving about it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Selena
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and everything would asked for. It was delicious and all of our guest loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Just delicious! Our guests loved our wedding cake and so did we!! Our tasting was a blast and we were thrilled to get a certificate to have the top layer of our wedding cake remade one year later. No freezer burned cake one year later for us! Sweets is a timeless Delaware classic and they were the perfect sweet ending for our big day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1378171364335-avatar
DEBride
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.6/5.0
Cake from Sweets to You was included in our catering package. We simply had to call and set up the tasting, and then everything else was taken care of. At the tasting, we tried about a dozen different flavors before settling on using carrot and red velvet for our three layer cake. The consultant worked with us on the design. We received lots of complaints on how tasty the cake was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1376416542347-qng-5
Nneka
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
My 3 wedding cakes were delicious and well made. Sweets to you took a photo that I supplied and duplicated the design perfectly. The grooms cake was a big hit and they even found a Indianapolic Metro Police Badge in honor of my late father-in-law.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nichola
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was delicious and absolutley beautiful. It was exactly what I had pictured. They did an awesome job at making my vision come alive.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pilar
Wedding:
5/24/2013
1.0/5.0
Terrible execution. Terrible customer service - downright rude and obnoxious. The only reason I stayed with them is because my now hubby liked the way the cakes tasted and they were recommended by the caterers that were doing the rest of the wedding. I should have listened to my instincts.
The execution of the cake was as unprofessional as the customer service. Colors were wrong, the cake was supposed to be an elegant tower cake which I was assured was no problem - it came looking like the middle tier was missing- very unsymmetrical. I ordered am offwhite pearl sheen - the cake was bright white with no pearl sheen. I ordered and paid extra for champagne colored white chocolate ribbons to match my bridesmaids dresses (swatch provided) and the color scheme of the wedding. They sent the cake with dark brown ribbons. The icing technique was sloppy and uneven. In fact a co-worker that came to my wedding asked which one of my friends made the cake. Several comments were that it was an "interesting choice considering how beautiful everything else was" I provided a picture, swatch and there were several discussions in detail - and they still got it wrong.

Once my husband and I noticed the cake at the wedding we decided to cut it immediately-because it looked so bad. Luckily both of us were able to move on and enjoy the rest of the evening - nothing much you can do at that point but it wasn't easy especially after the rude and obnoxious behavior I endured during the planning process.

It's been a month and I am still waiting for a return call to discuss the issue.
I will never buy anything from this company again - there are too many bakeries that care about the customer and can provide what is ordered. VERY DISAPPOINTING in many many ways.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Cake was tasty, looked great. But, they put a BLACK ribbon on my cake when my color was dark purple. I even gave them a swatch from my sash that I saw them staple to my information sheet in our meeting. That really disappointed me because it didn't match anything around it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diana
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.6/5.0
I met with Sweets to You in person and gave them a picture of the cake I wanted. When my wedding day came around it was exactly what I had asked for. The cake is so good too. We had the strawberry cream cake and chocolate with oreo mousse and it was delicious. Only complaint I have is you cannot directly talk to someone when you call but they do get back to you in a timely manner when you leave a message. Sweets also did my brothers wedding cake and did a great job. Definitely would recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
soon2bmrsdd
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I met with Sweets to You by Ginger several months before the wedding and did not have any contact with them after the initial consultation. I selected a seemingly intricate design for my wedding cake and was nervous how it would turn out. The cake was beautifully made and tasted even better than I could have imagined. Everything was perfect and I would highly recommend them to others!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susanna
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I LOVED my wedding cake! Not only was it everything I had envisioned, it was delicious! I'm not a huge cake person, but this cake may have made me change my mind. :) Overall, a great experience working with Sweets to You...will definitely be back for more cake in the near future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.0/5.0
Sweets to you by Ginger was on my vendor list for cakes. I went in knowing little to nothing about the bakery however I can say that they did a wonderful job. The tasting was GREAT and actually alot of fun. We got to eat lots of cake and we got to do so alone-which helped us make a decision. We were able to have 4 layers of cake each different and all very good! I liked the fact that they even let you decide if you wanted to keep your top layer or have it recreated the following year-we chose to get it remade next year!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Outstanding wedding cake. Nothing else needs to be said. Thank You!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/10/2012
1.4/5.0
For our wedding, it was part of our catering contract to get a cake from Sweets to You by Ginger. We did have the option to take the credit for the money and get our cake elsewhere but we decided to go to Ginger's first to see what they could offer. We knew we wanted cupcakes instead of a traditional cake. We were excited to go as we had heard that the cake was excellent. Well, the cake was excellent, but their service was not. Though we went on a weekend (we have to as we both work full time and don't have flexible schedules) and we met with someone who wasn't Ginger, the woman who helped us was unable to answer any of the questions we asked. She continually had to leave the tasting room to go ask Ginger. At that point, I don't understand why Ginger or someone who knew more didn't come in to help out. They were not flexible at all and couldn't give us much help in the way of cupcakes. They showed us a beautiful (large) cupcake and said that would be the cupcake but then later said, no it'd be a normal sized cupcake and the one they showed us would be extra. We would've been willing to pay more than what was in our catering contract but they didn't seem to care about our business or giving us the best of the product we wanted. We ended up going to a different bakery who provided us exactly with what we wanted (and were able to take the time to answer our questions!!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jay
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
This cake came included with our caterer, so we chose based on value, but design and taste were excellent.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Sweets to You By Ginger makes the most delicious cake I've ever had! The staff is very kind and helpful and really easy to work with. I was very pleased with the finished product!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1337347061305-aaar7
Aimee
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Getting my cake from Ginger's was included in my venue and I'm so glad it was! The cake was delicious and everyone keeps talking about it. Ginger was super understanding when I was a little neurotic about my custom cake topper and assured me that nothing would happen to it and it would be handled with the utmost care. They were very helpful in helping me figure out what to do when they realized that the cake topper was actually too big for the 4th tier, and we were able to come to a solution quickly with their input. I would definitely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was awesome! tasted and looked amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake planning stage was a breeze. We brought in a picture of a cake with some ideas for what we wanted. The finished product was a bit different than we discussed but the flavor was amazing. All the guests RAVED about the design AND the flavor. My husband still regrets not getting to eat more of it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1311885819966-scan0001
Brittney
Wedding:
5/4/2012
4.6/5.0
Ok first of all Sweets to You by Ginger my cake not only looked awesome but tasted sooooo delicious:) I got to pick the flavor of each layer and of course my guests are still raving about it. My cake looked just as fabulous as me:)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Best cake ever hands down. Ginger did a traditional wedding cake flavor and the a layer of raspberry filled cake. I also vher a picture of how I wanted the cake to look and she did it exactly the same way.

I couldn't be happier with how it turned out
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Sweets to you by Ginger was one of the vendors available to choose from in the package at the hotel where we had our ceremony and reception. I did my research and Sweets to You had the best reviews. Like others have commented, they are difficult to reach on the phone. After several calls I finally left a message and someone called me back the next day to schedule the tasting for our wedding cake. I have to say, the cake tasting was the best experience of the entire wedding planning process. They gave my fiance a large glass of milk, and I had a glass of water. They brought out a huge tray of at least 10 to 12 slices of different cake flavors for us to try. They left us alone to try each one and mark which ones were our favorites. They were all delicious, it was a hard choice! Then the lady had us look over pictures from cake albums to see what we had in mind for our cake. We took ideas from different photos and she drew a 3 layered cake for us that was exactly what i wanted. I was so excited to see the finished product. I brought the cake topper to the bakery a few days before the wedding, as requested. The day of the wedding the cake was perfect and exactly as we had envisioned.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with our cake it was beautiful. Gave them a picture of what we were looking for and they made it look exactly like it. The cake tasted great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1296169520104-handheartj
Jen
Wedding:
11/19/2011
4.9/5.0
We didn't choose Sweets to You, our caterer did, but we couldn't have found anything better. We were happy with our entire experience, from the selecting/designing of our cake, to the final product. Our cake was fresh, delicious, and beautiful. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kalee
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Our experience with Sweets to You in conjunction with the Greenery Caterers was great! Our cake tasting was amazing and they took our theme and incorporated it perfectly into our cake. I was super impressed with having 3 tiers - 3 flavors. And as a special treat, they provide a gift certificate for our 1 year anniversary cake. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Randy
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
THANK YOU for an absolutely gorgeous wedding cake for my daughter's wedding on October 29th. Not only was it a beautiful sight to look at, it was absolutely delicious. Our guest were so complimentary of the job you did and it was well justified. I can't thank you enough, it was perfection.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenLaskowski
Wedding:
10/28/2011
4.8/5.0
The cake was beautiful and was exactly what I had described. We had three different flavors and all tasted great. We had so many compliments on it. It took a little while for them to initially get back to me but other than that they were wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Sweets to you by ginger was included in the package from our caterers but we were not disappointed. The cake was georgous and tasted even better. Ginger worked with us so we could get the cake that we wanted without paying an arm and a leg. The best part is that we received a coupon for a cake on our 1 year anniversary that way we didnt have to save the top layer.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake from Sweets to you was perfect! We were able to do 4 different flavors and the whole cake was gone by the end of the night. We cant wait to use Ginger for other events! Thanks Ginger.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rstudd
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
The people at "Sweets to you...By Ginger, Inc" know how to bake some awesome cakes! At our wedding, everyone kept going on about how much they loved the cakes! Meeting with Ginger was a pleasure too in planning out our cake, she is so friendly and happy to help you! The day of the wedding our cake came out perfectly and it was so beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
claudia
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Undoubtedly the best wedding cake I have ever had. This was echoed by ALL of the guests. There was very little cake left. The staff was great to work with. They acommodated us with every request. I would recommend this to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara & Vernon
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely loved our wedding cake. Our guests did as well. I have been using Sweets to You for YEARS and have always been more than satisfied!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1315088041505-10649bw
Megan
Wedding:
6/15/2011
4.9/5.0
the cake was contracted through my catering/venue & i couldn't have expected better. they really listened to what I wanted & made it unique. I even made my own cake toppers and they were able to incorporate them into the cake design perfectly.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y40/wicked_faery18/Our%20Wedding%20June%2015%202011/Professional%20Photos/1_0559.jpg
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.6/5.0
We decided on Sweets to you by Ginger because they were connected to our vendor through a package deal and I couldn't be happier with the service we received. Although it did take a couple phone calls to be able to make an appointment (it was during a busy season for them), when we had our meeting, they treated us great. We were able to sample about 10 different types of cake with different types of frosting. Looked through many books of ideas and she helped us choose a design since my fiance and I can be a bit indecisive! The cake was delicious and I can't wait to see the fianl product on our bug day in september.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.5/5.0
Ginger met with us to go over the specifications for our cake and was extremely helpful and thorough. Leading up to the wedding, however, I had 3 different workers call me to discuss the specifications of our cake. Each worker told me something different and many things weren't correct. Finally, I went in with a printed out picture and bullet points with exactly what I wanted on my cake. When the cake arrived, it was purple instead of the pink/magenta it was meant to be. Since I am not an overly picky person, I was okay with this- although it was NOT what we had discussed. The guests RAVED about the cake and it was the most delicious wedding cake I have ever tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1274114920399-img1015
Deidre
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Ginger was very helpful and knowledgeable about cakes. She made suggestions based on her experience. We were able to design our cake the way we wanted and Ginger guided us along the way. The guest really loved the design of our cake. I recommend Sweets to you by Ginger, I had a wonderful experience!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jlynn
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Every year on my birthday my coworkers order a Strawberry short cake for me from Ginger which never has a crumb left in the box. You can imagine my excitement when the caterer advised she is who was included in our package.

We had a specific vision for our cake - simple elegance w/ a touch of architecture, to which surpassed our expectations when seen it at the reception. We had a 5 tiered cake that was smooth iced with whipped icing, which can tend to look really lumpy... but not Ginger's cakes! Several guests thought the cake was styrofoam or fake and could hardly belive it was real, until after the first bite.

Overall this is an excellent company to work with for your wedding cake, as well as a baker you can provide continued business to. I plan to visit Ginger SEVERAL times a year :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
glamarous
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Sweets To You by Ginger did an awesome job with our Wedding Cake. We had three different flavors and everyone kept telling us how good it was. She even included to-go bags for us so people could take home the leftovers. I would recommend her to everyone. THANK YOU!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.9/5.0
We had a pleasant experience working with this bakery. We met with the bakery, had a tasting and they helped us design our cake. Must of our guests were familiar with this bakery and enjoyed the cake at our wedding. We can't wait to eat cake for our anniversary and liked that they gave us the option to freeze our original cake or come in close to our anniversary to get a new cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
2/20/2011
5.0/5.0
The “dessert table” at our wedding was the most perfect 3 tiered cake, with each tier being a different flavor. We met with Ginger for our tasting and reviewed different ideas for how the cake would ultimately look and the flavors. Of course my future husband and I had different ideas and she helped us meet in the middle. My husband and I shared all three flavors at the reception because it was that good.
Thank you Ginger!
Teresa and Dave Snook Married 2/20/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TraceT
Wedding:
10/16/2010
1.6/5.0
Sweets to You did my wedding cake a year ago, and although the cake came out nice, their service (mainly the owner) was very poor. She was rude and basically told me that I wouldn't be able to afford the cake that I had in mind for my wedding. Worst of all, she was extremely rude to my mother and spoke to her like she was a child. Also, I just had a replica of the top of our cake done for our 1 year anniversary (you get a choice of keeping the top of your cake or getting a cert. to get a replica). The only thing that was the same as my original was the color of ribbon...other than that it doesn't look a thing like my wedding cake. I usually don't complain about places but each time I've dealt with them, they were either rude or it didn't come out right. I definitely wouldn't recommend Sweets to You.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MattandKim
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.7/5.0
Sweets to You by Ginger was fabulous. They did my sister's wedding cake, and it was an easy decision to have them provide our cake. We met with Ginger and inhaled all of the samples - they were all delicious. Ginger was extremely patient and helpful when it came to doing the actual design of the cake. They were flexible with flavors - we had different flavors on each layer. They were also extremely creative with the surprise groom's cake. I gave a brief description and a few photos, and they were able to nail it! They also provided a few small pastries for our dessert room. They must have been good - there were none left when I went to go try one! They're an extremely busy business, so it's no always easy to get an appointment, but once we got in, they were great to work with. My wedding cake was gorgeous.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jnwooters
Wedding:
9/12/2010
0.0/5.0
This bakery is included in my reception package, however we are paying for a ckae from a different baker, because the owner was so rude to us at the cake tasting. She was not willing to listen to anything we were trying to get to. It was a very take it or leave it attitude and she even said we have 26 partners that we do cakes for on a regular basis and if you don't like what we have here, go somewhere else. That was before we even had the opportunity to taste what they had to offer! I have never been treated so poorly in any experience in my life, and I'm in customer service.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shireen Daneshgar
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
ginger was soo fabulous and the cake was sooo delicious! Everyone loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dee
Wedding:
7/18/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding was wonderfull thanks to the staff and the owner Ginger whom I have been buying cakes from over 21 years now not once have I had cake that was not worthy of serving EVER! I have 3 children and all of their birth day cakes have come from her bakery
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1237246446112-danjessica2006
Jessica
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was included as part of our package with our ballroom. We were told we could choose from 2 different bakers for our cake and we went with Sweets 2 You. From the time we walked in the door we were made to feel welcome. Our cake was so delicious and turned out to be exactly what we wanted. When I went for the tasting I just bought a few pictures and from there they sketched exactly what I wanted and that is exactly how the cake turned out. We even got a coupon to use on our first anniversary to get a cake...rather than freezing the top layer for a year. Everyone was very friendly in the store. And besides their cakes, their other baked goods were just as good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
My wedding was two weeks ago and Sweets to You by Ginger did my wedding cake. Towards the end of my wedding planning I had no time or energy to design a cake so I gave them a picture of my dress and 1 or 2 guidelines and told them surprise me with the design. It was beautiful and tasted awesome. My grandparents' wedding anniversary was the same week as our wedding and they made a mini anniversary cake for them for a very low price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1276649477796-ah8h7951
Michelle
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Ginger is an amazing person, and her cakes are even better (no offense Ginger, but the cake is unbeatable).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg1
shony24
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.6/5.0
Our wedding cake was AMAZING! From the tasting with Ginger we knew she was the one. She asked us lots of questions, gave us our space to experience her cakes and suggested some wonderful ideas for a tropical flavored wedding cake to go with our theme. The freshness of the flavor and the design was exactly as we hoped for. Her shop may not be the fanciest out there but what she lacks in glitz and glamor she makes up for in personal attention and quality. For me those were no brainer choices! She's a great pick!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sally
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Oh my, I have purchased so many cakes for all occasions from Sweets to You but my son's wedding cake was fabulous. Ginger knew that the bride was gluten free and would not be having the cake but that her theme was polka dots and red roses. The groom loves Ginger's yellow cake with the lemon filling. The cake was so fabulous, white with white polka dots and real red roses tubed and placed between each layer so that just the heads showed between each layer all the way around. Wonderful, I can't wait till the pictures come in. We did not have one slice left and the bride and groom were thrilled. Ginger and her staff are great and spend the time with you making you feel like you are the only people in need of a cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christie
Wedding:
11/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We could choose from so many different types of cakes and fillings that we had a really hard time deciding.We ended up picking two different kinds.Our wedding cakes were beautiful and tasted amazing!They did a great job!Thank you very much.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1252453834240-dscn2817
kebuzzi
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was amazing. It was so delicious, when we did the cake cutting I cut an extra piece and took it back to the table with me!! I sent over a picture of how I wanted the cake to look and they replicated it to perfection. I could not have asked for anything better. SO impressed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DeeDee
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.5/5.0
The cake tasted great and looked beautiful too!! Loved it!! Thanks
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
4/11/2009
4.9/5.0
The only small issue that we had with this company was that we went to a floral decoration for the top of the cake rather than a traditional cake topper. The floral decoration was not as big and bold as we had discussed. Other than that the cake was beautiful and delicious. We cannot wait to eat our top layer for our 1st anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
11/22/2008
4.6/5.0
soem people said the cake was dry and other people raved about how good it was. i only ate what we fed each other so i am basing this off guest comments
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liviakaos
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.8/5.0
Sweets to You is the bakery that our reception site works with. My husband and I both are not big cake people but we LOVE Sweets to You. It's the best cake I've ever had. Our cake was a part of our reception package, the only thing we needed to pay for were the chocolate autumn leaves. Our cake was so beautiful and they've been nothing but professional. The wedding cake consultant is real nice and very patient. We even had a cake tasting that we were able to take home to try. We also used Sweets to You for our Engagement Party. We received so many compliments and one of our guests liked the cake so much that she got her daughter's bridal shower cake from there.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
whanny5
Wedding:
9/7/2008
4.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Irene
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.0/5.0
It's hard to reach them by phone. But the cake tasted very good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1201198907111-02-10-07_1910
Melissa
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.4/5.0
Our wedding cake was ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! Everything turned out exactly as we wanted (colors, design, etc). We were able to buy our caketopper (we used real dark pink roses) from them instead of having to go to a florist. The cake itself tasted good (not exactly amazing, but it was good). The cake was delivered on time and was exactly what we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1207584853200-img_0295
Aliya
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
They have the best cake. I order from them on every occassion. My wedding cake was beautiful and delicious. Everyone enjoyed it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1221051181353-c&e
EPY
Wedding:
6/14/2008
3.7/5.0
Great little cake shop. The Cakes are moist and delicious. We've used them many times and are always suprised by how good they are. The wedding cake was almost perfect. They understood my request the only issue is that the color match was off but it worked out fine. People really liked it. we didn't have a single leftover piece of cake. I'm not sure if we didn't order enough or if everyone liked it so much some had seconds but i would put money on the later.
Highly Reccomended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
The cake was the best wedding cake we (or any of our guests) have ever had!! We will order all cakes for our special occasions from Sweets to You by Ginger!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1206810117065-carmen&dallas
Carmen819
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Because I have been getting cakes from this bakery for years, I knew that my wedding cake would be awesome. My cake was more beautiful that I pictured. I gave them a picture of a cake that I saw in a bridal magazine and my cake looked better than the picture. It tasted just as good as it looked, I now have people that are will to travel and purchase from them because the cake was so good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dyan
Wedding:
2/23/2008
3.9/5.0
Cake tasted wonderful, and came out exactly like I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.7/5.0
Our cake was so pretty and exactly what we ordered. We had our choice of flavors and then some!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jami
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
I was thrilled with the way my cake turned out. Having not eaten a slice, I cannot comment on the taste, however I know that Ginger's cakes are phenomenal! I have them a photo of what I visioned for the cake and they created!

Outstanding!

Jami Jones (White)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

thank you for your kind words.
Susan with sweets to you
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
Cake was exactly as we ordered it. Tasted great, delivered on time. Very pleased!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/19/2007
5.0/5.0
The cake was absolutely beautiful and oh so delicious!
The full consultation was very helpful. We were given a great variety of samples to take home and taste.
We were able to incorporate OUR ideas..we got exactly what we wanted! The cake arrived on time and was truly a hit.
If you want a great cake...for any occassion...call Ginger!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc responded with the following comments:

thank you for yor very kind words.
Susan with sweets to you
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lerbicella
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.0/5.0
Our cake was gorgeous! It was included as part of our wedding package, so I can't attest to the pricing or anything like that, but we had a 4 layer cake with 3 different flavors. I'm telling you, I don't even like cake, and this cake was amazing. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TMC06
Wedding:
4/29/2006
5.0/5.0
My family uses this bakery for all our sweets needs, so it was only natural that we would choose them for our wedding cake. They have so many options to choose from with cake flavors, fillings, and icings. We knew ahead of time what we wanted as far as cake and filling flavors, but they still gave us a box of samples to test out before making the final decision. Their strawberries & cream is simply fantastic! They have decoration options too, including our choice of fresh flowers to match the wedding party. The best part is, you get the option of whether to have the top tier boxed for your anniversary or (our choice) a voucher for a free cake on your anniversary. And if you lose the voucher it's ok because they have you in the system. All in all, I would recommend them 100000%!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
olamac
Wedding:
12/10/2005
3.9/5.0
Our cake was all right.. I wasn't incredibly impressed with the taste of their wedding cakes. We had previously used them for normal cakes (birthday parties, etc.) and they were tasty, but the wedding cake just didn't hit the spot. The presentation was beautiful and our cake was lovely, but it just didn't have the same quality of TASTE as their other cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimrob
Wedding:
6/10/2005
5.0/5.0
My fiance(now husband) and I loved Sweets. They were very helpful with the suggestions and selection. We loved the fact that they had fresh fruit in their cakes. The only suggestion that I would make or change is that you make sure they send someone that knows how to set the cake up.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
I was so pleased! During our tasting, we actually sat down with Ginger who is so caring and so professional. We have been going to her since I was a kid, so having her do our wedding cake was very special. We had somewhat of a special order and she did it no problem. They get super busy during the spring/early summer ...so get your tasting/order in as soon as possible!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and fresh, along with tasting delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our cake not only looked amazing but tasted amazing too!!! They managed to give me my dream cake based off a few pictures and thoughts!! I couldnt be happier with the way it turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and was absolutely delicious!! I can't wait to cash in my gift certificate for my one year anniversary cake! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.3/5.0
Sweets to You was the vendor provided by my venue, but if I had had my choice, I likely would not have gone with them. The woman that I met with seemed resistant to my design preferences, and I had to insist on what I wanted firmly before she stopped trying to change my mind. (And for the record, what I was insisting on was simplicity, so it wasn't a matter of her saying something couldn't be done.) Most of their display cakes looked dirty and outdated, and I was left alone in the room for close to 30 minutes.

The more troubling part of my interactions with them was that after the long absence, the woman I was dealing with returned and made some racist remarks as well as a gendered, offensive insult in regards to one of the customers she had been dealing with. Certainly everyone has frustrating days, especially those who deal with the general public and occasionally have difficult, rude customers, but regardless, the representative from Sweets to You who I dealt with was highly unprofessional in my opinion.

All of that said - the cake design itself came out fairly close to how I had requested and envisioned it, and was quite tasty. Not the best wedding cake I'd ever tasted (that metal goes to a friend's wedding where she got her cake from Sugar Bakers - I still have dreams about THAT cake), but certainly above average and nothing to complain about.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our cake was delicious and the design was just what we asked for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.8/5.0
The cake was delicious. It looked beautiful. I was not a huge fan of their customer service. I went in for my cake tasting and they scolded me for saying tasting and not "interview". That's a little psycho to me. But the cake was fabulous. There was none left at the end of the night!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.9/5.0
Sweets to You were terribly rude. I went in for my appointment to which I had to drive an hour and they informed me that the person I was supposed to meet with was sick. I told her I had to meet specifically with her (when I made the appt) because I was doing something unique with my cakes. So they talked to her on the phone but I wasn't able to... instead they replaced her with someone who spoke broken English. Needless to say, not much got accomplished. I do know though that for a 6 inch cake that could feed maybe 6 people (though they say it was 8-10) it would cost over $30... that's without any decoration or special additions. They were ridiculous. Poor service all around.
I gave my phone number for her to call me. I was told I would get a call within 2 days. Yeah, that never happened. Awful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
Our wedding cake was breathtaking! They made it exactly how I requested and they use fresh floral displays on their cakes. All of the guests enjoyed the cake! I love looking back and seeing the cake cutting in photos. Also they give you a small "cake topper" cake for free on your first anniversary so you do not have to freeze any of the one you are trying to serve your guests.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
The only reason they're not getting a 5/5 is beacuse I did have a little trouble understanding her over the phone. She has a bit of an accent, which is fine, but she talks so fast and I felt like she was always in a rush. However, when my original baker closed its doors at the last minute Ginger was able to re-create exactly what I wanted. I was worried that she didn't totally understand what I was saying over the phone, but when I saw the cake... it was perfect. And it tasted delicious!!! Guests raved about it. Looking forward to eating the rest on our 1 year anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Sweets to You by Ginger was great. We were able to sit down and try all the selections for that day and choose from a huge variety of cakes that suited our liking. The cake was beautiful and so good. We also loved that they have a doggie bakery there since we have 2 dogs that are the center of our world.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough good things about Sweets to You by Ginger! The cake was absolutely PERFECT and looked exactly like we had envisioned it. Not only was it beautiful, but it tasted amazing as well. I wish I could post a picture along with this review to show how great our cake was. Sweets to You is also incredibly friendly and easy to work with. I have already reccommended them to others. Thanks for your amazing work Ginger!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Excellent service. Ginger is so sweet and fun to work with. Our cake at our wedding was classy and delicious. We just celebrated our 1 year anniversary and are ordering the "top layer" of our cake so we can enjoy a fresh piece of cake together. The best part is if you book with Sweets to You, Ginger gives you a gift card to purchase the top layer of your cake- free of charge!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
j.keller
Wedding:
8/5/2000
5.0/5.0
Ginger made my wedding cake for me back in 2000. It was part of a wedding package with the facility where I had my reception. I did not like ANY of the cakes they had in their photo album, so the owner told me I could go and talk to Sweets to You and perhaps they could make a better cake---for an additional fee, of course! Well I walked in for a meeting with Ginger with about 10 pictures of cakes better suited to my style, and the bakers were already working on a wedding cake almost identical to what I wanted. I literally screamed that is my cake!!! Ginger herself took the time to sit down with me and plan the cake until I was happy. People STILL, after almost 9 years, tell me that our wedding cake was the best tasting wedding cake that they have EVER had. And if she did charge us extra, it was a small fee AND it was worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
913 brandywine blvd, Wilmington, DE 19809 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Sweets to You...By Ginger, Inc
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1200088288220-s2ylogo