Nophoto-130

Talon Winery

Lexington , KY

LOCATION

7086 Tates Creek Road
Lexington, KY US 40515 (map)

PHONE

859-273-6185

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

2.0
out of 5.0
1.9/5.0
2.0/5.0
1.9/5.0
2.2/5.0
2.3/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.8/5.0
When planning my wedding we were on a budget anticipating 300 guest so we chose a Sunday wedding. First Sunday in Nov... Half price!!! At $1800 plus a cleaning fee of $350 I expected a lot better. The barn is gorgeous the vines were still pretty but the day of my wedding my parents had to sweep and mop the floors before we could set anything up. I was furious but no one was available.... Answering machine said to call mon-fri 8am-5pm. I rented a space on Sunday I expected service on Sunday!!! At no point did more then 1 staff person show up that morning to help clean. Then that afternoon when service staff I hired independently showed up to finish beverage and be avalible to bus tables after dinner Talon staff sent them home said that they were not needed. Talon had 2 people who sat at a bar and handed out bottles beer. There staff DIDNOT service my guest tables they did not help clean they just sat in the corner. So at the end of my wedding my parents again had to wash dishes because Talon sent my hired staff away. I will never recommend this venue to any bride. I had a beutiful wedding and fabulous pictures but at the cost of my closest friends and family cleaning all day and again all night. Take your money somewhere els you will at least be able to enjoy your family's company on the greatest celebration of your life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I was married at Talon Winery at their Shelbyville location on Sept 7th. I just want to Thank them for all they have done in helping me prepare, working with me, as well as my friend who owns All About You Celebrations, in working out the details, to make my Wedding a Beautiful one.
Special Thanks to Miranda, who is their event planner, the staff who worked late that night, Lisa Raymond, who Talon Winery had brought in that same night to entertain their guests, and who worked with us, on my special day.
Talon Winery is a beautiful little nook located in Shelbyville Ky that many still do not know about, I am glad I had found this gem, and am planning on going back for a girl's night out, and to thank them in person.
if your looking for a place to just relax on the porch, or meet with friends, or hold an event, I highly recommend Talon Winery.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1352664618152-fbavatar2765072
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.2/5.0
Beautiful location - the atmosphere was perfect! Note that this is all you are paying for; the service is bad, the minimal amount of tables they do have are broken (which you have to setup) and we had to completely alter our menu to make it work with the warming kitchen that is smaller than the janitors closet. The location made for great pictures, but the overall experience was not great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
Everything was beautiful. The barn was perfect for our wedding. We enjoyed inside and out. The staff was responsive and worked well with our ploanner. Perfect day!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donnie
Wedding:
6/23/2012
3.6/5.0
Let me start by saying that Talon Winery is gorgeous. It has perfect scenery for an outdoor wedding. It is convenient in the fact that you can have a ceremony at a gazebo and a reception in a large venue (barn). Even the inside of the barn is very nice and can be decorated to any style / taste. The down sides are that it is very pricey. The staff is also very vague leading up to the event. The largest complaint was that it was a warm June day and the HVAC inside the large barn could not keep the place cool enough. Therefore, most people were uncomfortable. The other drawback is that they require you to clean up the property and be evacuated before midnight. What wedding party wants that responsibilty? As pricey as the rental is, this should be a service that should be included (in my opinion).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
unhappy bride
Wedding:
9/10/2011
0.1/5.0
Talon Winery is absolutely beautiful but turned what was suppose to be a perfect day into a nightmare. Like the other brides have stated he misguidance of their "wedding planner" is a total nightmare. I was promised a list of services in which they did not provide. I was told she would be there to help me and "know more about my day and the planning than even me by the time my wedding came". This was completely untrue and she was hard to reach after the first payment had been made. I found I was told anything to make me happy and make the sell. The owner I have unfortunately learned is not much more accomodating either. When I called to voice my complaints she told me I was a liar and deceitful. I will never be visiting there again.

Some of the major events: I requested a private small ceremony and found out they had scheduled a quarterly wine pick up the day of my wedding. They had invited "more guests than I wanted to know" and there was planned to be live music DURING MY WEDDING!! The picture of my husband seeing me the first time was completely ruined by strangers standing in the picture and gawking at me. The dressing room I was told I could have all day, was later told to me that I was only suppose to be there for 3 hours. The picnic tables I was told I could use and decorate, had strangers sitting at them when I arrived to decorate. People I did not know were everywhere for my "private, small" ceremony!! I purchased the required wine and placed it on hold to only later be called and asked to confirm my order because they had no idea what I had paid for. The list continues...

I can not recommend this venue to anyone!!! Completely dissatisfied and unhappy. Don't let your day and precious moments be ruined by strangers and a winery that cannot accommodate to brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
silkmanc
Wedding:
8/1/2010
1.1/5.0
I agree with the other comments posted. This was my dream venue in terms of aesthetics, unfortunately it meant sacrificing my friends and family's time in decorating and tearing down the site. There is not much service provided, and no wedding coordinator. Also the events person was very unorganized missing appointments, and not remembering when/if I was coming, and losing many details that we had discussed previously.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Tina
Wedding:
5/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Staff is now much more knowledgeable and organized. Great venue will renew my vows there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
tina
Wedding:
4/20/2010
1.0/5.0
I contacted this place to set up an appointment to see the venue. I called over and over and no one would return my call. I finally reached the coordinator and she said that her calendar was at work and that she was at home and she would call me back after she checked my requested wedding date. That was over a year ago and I still have not heard back from them. We had our wedding at Castle Hill Winery. They call or email you right back and answered all of our questions immediately. They were very easy to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1265838650907-aapmandyonhorse
Mandy
Wedding:
12/12/2009
0.4/5.0
It is a shame that this beautiful vineyard and wineary is run by such poorly unprofessional people. Basically they want $5,000.00 for just an old tobacco barn with one bathroom for you and your guest, a small warming kitchen that no catering service could work out of, and you have to rent tables and chair which they don't even have enough of. So if you want to get married on the property you would have to provide seating for you guest for the ceremony. Also there is hardly a parking lot and is all gravel and you have to not have any music by eleven and be off the property by midnight. Also they will charge you for set up for the previous day even though it is outside and if you rent a tent they are able to use it for wine tastings if they like. Then on top of that you have to pay additional fee of $200 to use the bridal suite which is in the wine tasting building and not very private. ....I also found out that several wedding planners charge and extra fee to even deal with the people at Talon....THESE PEOPLE MUST BE JOKING...so I didn't have my wedding or reception here and no one else should either until it is taken over by new management
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Riggs
Wedding:
7/5/2008
0.6/5.0
I had both my ceremony and my reception at Talon Winery in July 2008. My ceremony was held outside the Barrel Barn, and the reception was inside the barn. I also booked the bridal suite in the old farmhouse. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, and the barn is perfect for a beautiful reception!!

However, the service at Talon Winery, particularly by their "event coordinator" is TERRIBLE. There aren't words to describe the frustration I felt for months leading up to, and even after, my wedding. As soon as we paid the down payment, the service began to plummet downhill. The coordinator was impossible for me to get ahold of - she would only call my husband back, never me! Whenever we were there talking to her, it was like I didn't even exist, she would never speak to me even if I was the one that asked a question (which I asked most of the questions). The only way I could get her to call me back was if I needed information about making a payment, then she was very quick to call me. As soon as we made the final payment, she wouldn't return ANY calls to me. We couldn't get any information out of her about the facilities, how weddings before ours were held, even simple things like how many chairs fit around the tables (since they kept them locked up and we could just find out ourselves). It caused me so much stress the day before because we had guessed wrong at the amount of tables we would need, and needed to find several more add'l tablesettings. I can't even begin to list all of the frustrations that Talon Winery and their "event coordiator" caused me.

Additionally, the "bridal suite" that is in the farmhouse is completely open to the public, as we had several people who walked in on us trying to get ready while they were touring the farmhouse. The bathroom was broken upstairs, so we had to walk downstairs in the middle of the tasting room to use the restroom. There was absolutely no privacy with this bridal suite, and I wish I would have just rented somewhere else, because this was no where near worth the price I paid. They have now doubled their pricing since I rented from them, so I would not recommend Talon to ANYONE!! It is such a shame, because the grounds and facilities are absolutely beautiful, and are perfect for an outdoor wedding!!!!!! I would check places like Jean Farris (Lexington, KY), Equus Run (Midway, KY), or Chrisman Mills Winery (Nicholasville, KY). There are others, I just can't remember their names, but I would DEFINITELY check around before signing with Talon.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/22/2007
0.9/5.0
Talon Winery is a beautiful location. The vineyards are exceptional in late summer, early fall. You have your choice of two different locations for your reception and up to four locations for the ceremony. The location is great but the service is terrible. I booked my venue in March. I was promised a room to dress in and the ability to use "whatever" I would like for my entrance. Two days before the wedding I was double checking and found out that they had double booked the dressing room; I was the last to book so I lost the room. They placed my wedding party in their office and provided one tiny mirror for 5+ ladies to dress for a wedding. Becareful with negotiations within your contract- you will probably work with several different people and each will tell you something different from the other. They seem to be very greedy with their location and will book as many weddings possible on any given day. They do not care about you as a bride/groom, their main focus is the money they are making from your event. They truly made my wedding unforgettable- I will never forget the terrible service we recieved from them. I would never recommend this location to anyone for their wedding- it is a shame that such a beautiful location for a wedding is ruined by awful staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
7086 Tates Creek Road, Lexington, KY 40515 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Talon Winery
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo