130x130_sq_1366680219901-portfolio-33-of-109

The 1909

Topanga , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1909 N Topanga Blvd
Topanga, CA US 90290 (map)

PHONE

424-272-1909

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Tucked away into the romantic hills of Topanga Canyon, The 1909 is ideal for couples searching for a space unique to typical wedding venues. Settled below the rustic embrace of... Read more
Tucked away into the romantic hills of Topanga Canyon, The 1909 is ideal for couples searching for a space unique to typical wedding venues. Settled below the rustic embrace of California Oak trees, andccented by the gently flowing waters of Topanga Creek, it provides the perfect balance of tranquility, timelessness, and harmony. We at The 1909 understand the desire for that unforgettable evening, and strive to ensure it exceeds all expectations. Let the customary stress of nuptial gatherings melt away as you and your spouse enter into a lifelong bond of strength and love amidst an environment reflecting those same values. Feel free to peruse our pictures online, but to really experience all this lovely setting has to offer, we encourage you to contact us with an appointment. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1347065424416-oak26
130x130_sq_1369012736619-035-full
130x130_sq_1369012789765-037-full
130x130_sq_1369013972429-081-full
130x130_sq_1347065428380-oak27
130x130_sq_1346000468593-120424948a
130x130_sq_1346000516587-oak20
130x130_sq_1369012848010-038-full
130x130_sq_1369013413795-064-full
130x130_sq_1346547368134-deckxalidz
130x130_sq_1346547525555-120424952
130x130_sq_1369013636606-072-full
130x130_sq_1369013046858-047-full
130x130_sq_1369013358909-063-full
130x130_sq_1369013859188-076-full
130x130_sq_1347065297954-120424954
130x130_sq_1369013913086-080-full
130x130_sq_1347065279161-120424940a
130x130_sq_1347065331156-120424951
130x130_sq_1369013469408-068-full
130x130_sq_1369012896169-039-full
130x130_sq_1347066019920-oak24
130x130_sq_1347066023053-oak25
130x130_sq_1347066032223-topfloor1a
130x130_sq_1347066047386-oak16
130x130_sq_1347066049850-oak21
130x130_sq_1347066095558-oak06
130x130_sq_1347066130664-120424956
130x130_sq_1347066171232-shower2
130x130_sq_1347066175268-shower1
130x130_sq_1347066263963-oak01
130x130_sq_1347066265051-oak2
130x130_sq_1347067599530-concert1
130x130_sq_1347067619906-concert2
130x130_sq_1347067628534-0200339588
130x130_sq_1347067630080-1031241123
130x130_sq_1347067631328-1111061402
130x130_sq_1347067632541-1347030801
130x130_sq_1347067634782-1434035242
130x130_sq_1347067636088-7669677698
130x130_sq_1347067637567-9856508586
130x130_sq_1347067638898-img7319
130x130_sq_1347067640111-img7326
130x130_sq_1347067641609-img7332
130x130_sq_1369001766751-2mob7svwdmdx1yjn5ptmrfc6jshsfpfzvqxihefahwk
130x130_sq_1369001770264-2w9yu8pi-iljwziybv551htbyhbsniuxymztdd8gqt0
130x130_sq_1369001774021-2xbgv3tjub70wj3lvqxbvwcsusy6gelucmyclmims6i
130x130_sq_1369001777460-8w4sqxemulex0o7w07trxcdhqbtqujhzq7ymap128ng
130x130_sq_1369001780734-akzkvbu9fhgefdbgfmc7xa7dse6ihpzhsfmyvjxy4
130x130_sq_1369001784812-cwhmop8uij9xsmbwwh8eflhvy9b4jvrisgu8sxasdm
130x130_sq_1369001787904-dk9ihy4m0qfho0rw6df8jkuljczgpupy180dg3kutg
130x130_sq_1369001791181-dstrquw6ckc4hhdogjhhaiemgk4vxyrbft-xnnhsme
130x130_sq_1369001794955-g6k0b9yg75mxbckkwuprzorzzat4zxenpayid4ebwiq
130x130_sq_1369001798564-goefgfvzm5apb104cjaptulbbl5umllu37-yb7i5qq
130x130_sq_1369001802826-ifpid1xjmlnqgo2m10jd1ig7un95guusxvk1vqu7hk
130x130_sq_1369001805817-k4v5xwt6hd3woqwgiburuobskohoobmvgilvnuoai
130x130_sq_1369001809133-kpnr20qres4sxsjvvuor8my52l4vi14u8ghyev63phs
130x130_sq_1369001813257-l7r145lmtwcuklqqgxm9pdazg-tbtocmzfd2dy4czau
130x130_sq_1369001815562-qthspnln4rqjl5gmq5uxinihoep8r58gprzeeiwz0
130x130_sq_1369001818420-z30atza6mbjyixtnppurndg4r9rlphqhbi8bagzxjo
130x130_sq_1369003417316-portfolio-91-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003585507-portfolio-102-of-109
130x130_sq_1369002941169-portfolio-9-of-109
130x130_sq_1369002968699-portfolio-12-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003471595-portfolio-96-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003363675-portfolio-89-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003445156-portfolio-95-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003797106-portfolio-112-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003725641-portfolio-109-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003640803-portfolio-106-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003668722-portfolio-107-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003555230-portfolio-101-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003499443-portfolio-99-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003697166-portfolio-108-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003166014-portfolio-65-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003308413-portfolio-83-of-109
130x130_sq_1369002996208-portfolio-25-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003225053-portfolio-69-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003053731-portfolio-43-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003279280-portfolio-79-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003251535-portfolio-78-of-109
130x130_sq_1369003336581-portfolio-85-of-109
130x130_sq_1369012192591-img2885
130x130_sq_1369012187105-img2882
130x130_sq_1369012189722-img2884
130x130_sq_1369012195293-img2887

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2006
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
240
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2100
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow, what a beautiful place to have as the backdrop for your big day. I feel blessed to have experienced this property as the setting for our wedding this October. The ambience, energy and landscaping made this place a photogenic opportunity. The great care that Amir provided for me and my husband was personal and attentive. I highly recommend this venue as an intimate wedding choice that you can cherish in years to come. Thank you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1379968265050-avatar
Erika
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The 1909 is such a beautiful and unique place to have a wedding, the vibe is so warm and comfortable. We had the pleasure of working with William and he was so helpful and understanding to all of our requests. The venue offers so many possibility for a wedding, our wedding was absolutely amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sierra
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
A beautiful setting owned by amazing people. The 1909 was further than I wanted to be from home, but from the moment I walked on the property, I knew it was the spot I HAD to have for our wedding day.

The space is huge & a perfect combination of natural surroundings with modern amenities. The building is gorgeous, with Irish knot inlaid on the stone & wood, high ceilings, built in bar, clean luxurious bathrooms, and a kitchen with an enormous fridge! We used the building for pre-cermony cocktail hour and post food dance party. And yes, there is A/C.

The amphitheater allowed us to be married under an ancient oak tree without risking grandma falling in the dirt like some of the other rustic venues we looked at. The built in amphitheater also has the advantage of not renting or moving chairs. The view across the wooden deck is all trees and it made for amazing photographs with little effort needed on decoration. The setting was our decoration allowing for easy set up and break down.

Lastly, there is a huge grass area, larger than many parks! We had picnic blankets and tables and a bar and two grills and we still had an entire half of the grass dedicated to games! There is also a secret table nestled amongst the trees where the newly married couple can hide & eat! (Do it!)

Then there is the owner, Will. He is so genuine and kind hearted that i really think being a part of a wedding makes him happy. He is constantly upgrading the 1909. When we signed the contract there was no sound system, but by the time our wedding happened there was -not only in the building but also in the amphitheater and the grassy area! He responds quickly to inquiries and he is easy going while still being professional.

If you are a couple looking for a natural setting, but don't want to rent a dance floor AND are willing to give up high heels, this is the place for you. Trust me- you will hear "best wedding ever" multiple times throughout the night.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
What a serendipitous discovery! After searching the entirety of LA County (not an exaggeration - I was a type A bride with a vision and a background in event production) we were thrilled to find The 1909 for our wedding ceremony. It's the hidden gem of LA wedding venues. We wanted something that could serve as a gorgeous natural backdrop for a highly customizable event - understated elegance with modern convenience that was accessible and legitimately affordable. We found that and more in The 1909. We chose the amphitheater for our wedding ceremony, brought in minimal decor and let the natural beauty of the venue do the rest. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & well-maintained. The staff is professional, courteous & highly amenable to making it work for you. The amenities were luxurious. Though we only did our ceremony there, the indoor/outdoor venue has ample space, and diverse areas as well as a bar & a pro kitchen to do just about anything you'd need. High on this bride's list in addition to having its own distinct and lovely 'vibe' is the fact that since it's a new venue, it hasn't been done a million times & featured on every industry-related site out there. In fact, it's still pretty underground. Get in before it gets discovered by the masses. You won't be sorry.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding celebration was a BLAST! It was everything we hoped for from the huge ballroom with a live swing band, to the outdoor and intimate ceremony in the amphitheater, to the outdoor barbeque with evening mood lights, lawn games, and a Gatsby-ish picnic.

We worked primarily with Amir, who was insanely helpful and flexible with all our requests, but everyone we worked with associated with the venue was equally heplful and great to work with! I would suggest this to anyone and everyone. The process was easy, and the end result was as if it was out of a dream. 5 stars.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Louis
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were married at The 1909 on April 27, 2013. We can't say enough about this venue. Our friends and family all agreed that they were blown away by the sheer beauty and atmosphere. We started with our ceremony in the amphitheater, our dinner in the meadow and dancing upstairs. It worked perfectly as a roving party. The sunlight shined down, little seeds pods floated through the air and the environment was magical. William went above and beyond to help us coordinate our big day, giving referrals and answering questions, setting up lights and rigging an incredible sound system outdoors. The place is fantastic, the service is impeccable and it's the perfect location for an outdoor, country rustic dream wedding. We have absolutely no complaints. All we can say is Thank You 1909!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Hi our names are Vanessa, and Andre Brown, we recently had our wedding at The 1909 on March 30th 2013. One word that would describe this venue is AMAZING! Breaking down the five categories from quality to flexibility well go by each one. The "Quality of Service" that the 1909 provided was above average. Although the owner/s are not a wedding planner/coordinator they are there the day of to make sure that things are in order. From tables and chairs and even valet service nothing was missing. "Responsiveness"; The 1909 response to answering phones, and returning calls is great. Never had a communication problem, by phone or in person. The "Professionalism" is 100%. You will get your money worth from this place, from contracts to agreements of that day he will abide by them. The Value of the 1909 was priceless. The look on your families faces as they arrive will never be forgotten. Our ceremony was outside on the deck as our family sat on a small greek stadium. We also sat 120 people comfortably upstairs in the main room. The entire night was flawless, not a single problem occurred with this venue. The Flexibility of the 1909 was present. They are open to any suggestions you would have about your wedding.

We would recommend this venue to everyone. The 1909 has a lot of great places were you can take amazing pictures. At night the owners turn on the lights that are hidden in the shrubs and trees, christmas lights make the back a lot more intimate. The 1909 gave us a night we would never forget. You must see this place, and once you do, you will automatically see your wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
12/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The 1909 located in Topanga Canyon is absolutely stunning. Every inch of the place is gorgeous. We were married this past December and it was simply a dream. The guys over there were so flexible, helpful and kind to our wishes. I couldn't speak more highly of the place and there staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.8/5.0
I can't say enough good things about The 1909. We were EXTREMELY lucky to stumble upon this beautiful jewel in Topanga Canyon. The building is a gorgeous white two-story A-Frame that caught the attention of my architect husband and I as we were driving by. A tour of the property revealed an outdoor deck surrounded by simple, white amphitheater seating with a large tree soaring above it (nice for shade in the summer) and a meadow/lawn area with bistro lights strung above it. The entire area is sunk down off the road so it is completely hidden away. Our guests really enjoyed the lush surroundings and number of distinct areas to socialize. It was perfect for a variety of photos, too.

We visited a NUMBER of times, and each time the owner Amir was SO accommodating. He was a tremendous help the entire time.

Because they just started to take on weddings (the venue has been running as an event space for about 2 years now), some pragmatic issues were still in the works - the lights, sound system - even the contract was changing along-the-way. This made it a bit more work on our part, but hey, we didn't want a "wedding factory" type of venue, and Amir has SO much character, as did the venue, so it was DEFINITELY worth the extra work. Amir is there to service you and make sure you have a great time - he'll take care of you and he is extremely flexible!

As time goes on, I'm sure they will develop a system so that on day one you will have a very clear understanding of what they provide/what is included and what you need to supplement/bring yourselves.

My husband and I hope to use the 1909 again for another event in the future. It was so memorable. We would recommend the venue to only our closest friends (because it feels like a secret, and it would be great to keep it that way!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.6/5.0
The building is a beautiful place for a variety of events - from concerts, to weddings and special gatherings. We hope to be doing more live shows there in the future!
The management were very gracious, hospitable and did everything to not only make sure the event was a success, but that we were also comfortable. If you are planning an event, do yourself a favor and look at this beautiful facility. From its beautiful outdoor theater to its lovely deck overlooking the creek, it certainly has a dreamlike setting.

-Joe Tansin, former member of the group "Badfinger," along with my long time singer/songwriter partner Dean Ford from the group "The Marmalade."
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
1909 N Topanga Blvd, Topanga, CA 90290 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The 1909
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1366680219901-portfolio-33-of-109