130x130_sq_1335379603985-bennettcurtishouse

The Bennett-Curtis House

Grant Park , IL

LOCATION

302 West Taylor Street
Grant Park, IL US 60940 (map)

PHONE

815-465-2288

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Bennett-Curtis House is perfect for you glorious wedding day. The breathtaking gardens and sweeping lawns that surround you enhance the feeling of being carried away in time to a... Read more
The Bennett-Curtis House is perfect for you glorious wedding day. The breathtaking gardens and sweeping lawns that surround you enhance the feeling of being carried away in time to a place where only enchantment and romance exist. Your wedding day is as wonderful as you have always hoped for because you have found the perfect location - The Bennett-Curtis House.

Bulit in 1900 the Bennett-Curtis House is an 18 room , historical mansion that specializes in creating the ideal setting for a beautiful wedding. This wonderful manor is impeccably decorated and features crown moldings, oak trim, inlay wood floors, elegant cloth covered walls, velvet drapries stained glass and more. The Bennett-Curtis House provides a unique and elegant setting for your ceremony and reception. Look beyond the traditional ceremony locations and celebrate your wedding day in beauty and old-world splendor at The Bennett-Curtis House. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1295381678588-bch004
130x130_sq_1206055742875-pict0006
130x130_sq_1206053627609-bch06'005
130x130_sq_1206053848953-bcoutandhw009
130x130_sq_1206054003515-catering06'010
130x130_sq_1206054352343-bcoutandhw017
130x130_sq_1206054933750-humanesoc.-soxgame-watercom.050
130x130_sq_1206055142062-bch005
130x130_sq_1206055261468-bch016
130x130_sq_1206055422484-emmamorgan...homecoming06'040
130x130_sq_1206055604796-bch022
130x130_sq_1206056001671-wine003
130x130_sq_1295381810541-1000861
130x130_sq_1367948149361-img1681
130x130_sq_1367947737066-img1683
130x130_sq_1367947587337-img1689
130x130_sq_1367948021378-img1691
130x130_sq_1367947890583-img1695

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1900
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
275
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
20
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Bennett Curtis House is excellent for your catering needs!! They were right on time, handled the crowd with tact and professionalism. The food was absolutely wonderful and for the money you cannot beat it!! Anything we wanted or needed they accomodated us. If I am planning another event like this I will definitely call them again. They are just absolutely GREAT!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen & Bruce
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Bennett-Curtis Catering for our 35th Wedding Anniversary Party which was held at the B. Harley Bradley House in Kankakee. Because Scott and his crew had catered many previous events there, they knew all about the strict rules of a Frank Lloyd Wright house, and knew just how to set-up the rooms for good traffic flow, etc. The staff was extremely professional and helpful, and the food was excellent. They couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. We would highly recommend!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dino
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Scott from the Bennett Curtis House was easy. He help us out with anything that he could. The place was beautiful and everyone complimented us on the venue. He accommodated our last minute changes in plans better than we could have asked. We held the Ceremony and the reception there and they really did a great job. The food was great and the grounds made for some really spectacular photos. I would recommend this place to anyone no matter how fancy or informal you want you event to be.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenni
Wedding:
7/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We decided to get married and planned our wedding with the help of my mom, sister-in-law, my mother-in-law, my friend Emily and Scott from the Bennett Curtis House in less than 3 WEEKS!! They grilled the food there so it was all fresh. He brought me my flowers so I didn't have to run to florist. He also had my boys fitted and brought and took back their tuxes for me!! There was not one thing that I wanted done for the wedding that they couldn't do. They made planning this day such a less stressful situation than it could be!!! Thanks so much Scott to you and your family.....
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
N. S.
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend the Bennett Curtis House to have your wedding. They are great to work with and truly care about what the bride and groom want. I had a lot of guests come up and say it was the most beautiful wedding they've been to, the outdoor ceremony is breathtaking, especially at night with all the outdoor lights. They are great at helping you plan your wedding. They take a lot of stress off the bride. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rick
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
What a wonderful place to have a wedding. Great place, turn of the century mansion. Helpful staff, great food and a beautiful place to have a wedding. With 3 choices of outdoors plus indoors in desired, they bring bride and groom together with wedding professionals to make your day enjoyable, worry-free, and easy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanne
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We held our wedding reception at Bennett-Curtis House and could not have been more pleased with their service throughout the entire process from planning to execution. I must first say that we have attended weddings there in the past and always admired the beautiful setting but we were unsure whether we could hold our reception there as my husband has Celiac Disease and he must eat 100% gluten free. The owner went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. He recreated several dishes on the menu, which we were dying to try, in order to make them gluten free and delicious. Such care went into every detail to make our reception exactly what we dreamed of. We even hired them to come to our "post-party" celebration about 15 miles from the venue - they catered and served an amazing mashed potato bar that was exactly what we needed after a long night of celebrating. We had, as most couples do, several scheduling glitches the day of the wedding. BCH was extremely flexible and allowed us to start setting up early, serve dinner a bit late, and so on. The staff at BCH are friendly, attentive, and professional. To sum up the experience, I would say: Gluten Free Heaven! Accommodating beyond belief! Stunning and unique location with fantastic staff and ownership!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SB
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
We had an outdoor wedding and reception, it was amazing. We often look back and try to think of one thing that wasn't absolutely perfect and to be honest we can't. We had a beautiful sunny day, the decor of the house was gorgeous, the food was amazing and you could definetly tell this wasn't their first wedding. I highly recommend the Bennett Curtis House in Grant Park, IL.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
It was wonderful service! Everyone complimented on the food and the service. All our guest were very satisfied with the Bennet Curtis House. Thanks so much for making Our special day so great!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
N
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding. Scott and Kerry at the Bennett Curtis House are exceptional at what they do. They work with the couple to be married and are very courteous and professional. They help work around your budget and your wants and needs. They help you find all of the vendors, and if you take a package through them, the photographer, cake designer, florist, carriage ride, catering, and reception and ceremony site are all accompanied into the package and you don't have to worry about contacting/finding those vendors. The total price for our wedding is very reasonable considering the exceptional service we received. The pictures of the outdoor wedding are gorgeous and I couldn't be more pleased. I would recommend having your wedding and reception at the Bennett Curtis House to everyone.
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Photography, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emma Holt
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Wonderful! Beautiful! Outstanding! I had planned to hold the reception at our home since my sister wanted a garden reception and our backyard would have been lovely in May,but as the number of guests increased I had to make a quick change of plans. I checked numerous locations and chose the Bennett-Curtis House because Scott was very accomadating and the Garden location they could provide was perfect especially since there was a great location for the band,and dancing as well. The staff was professional and could not have been nicer. Everyone had a lovely time and didn't want the evening to end. It was aperfect spot for a garden reception and I would recommend it without reservation for a wedding or other special event. Margie Milone ( sister of the bride)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1209860047753-dsc02595
Angie
Wedding:
4/25/2008
5.0/5.0
I would do it ALL OVER AGAIN there. They were the best from beginning to end!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Catering, Invitations, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Manhattan Mandie
Wedding:
7/14/2001
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here almost 9 years ago and my guests are still talking about what a gorgeous wedding it was! We were married outside on the bridge in the garden in the middle of July and it was the most perfect wedding! I highly recommend it to everyone. The cost is soooo reasonable for what you are getting!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.9/5.0
My daughter had her wedding at Bennett Curtis and she couldn't have picked a more lovlier place to get married. She lives out of state but got married back home so it was up to Mom to do a lot of running around! Going to Bennett Curtis made things so easy. Right from the beginning they were easy to work with, very responsive, very easy going. The venue is beautiful. Our guests commented on the lovely decor. The food was fantastic - from the appetizers, the main meal (we had food stations), and the chocolate fountain was a HUGE hit! The bride and groom wanted everything outside and it got quite chilly. Scott had heaters to put up under the tent and it made for a very enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend Bennett Curtis. If you don't have time to run around for a cake, tuxes, DJ, photographer - no worries they take care of that for you. You just make the phone calls. It was wonderful. A great place for a wedding!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri
Wedding:
8/12/2011
4.8/5.0
I would highly recommend The Bennett-Curtis House to anyone who wants a 'Wedding to Remember.' The staff was amazing and helpful. The grounds were colorful with all the different flowers blooming. The cost was perfect and the food was AMAZING!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Loren
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.8/5.0
I would recommend the Bennett-Curtis House to anyone. Planning the day was made extremely easy by the staff. They are very accommodating and kind. We had the wedding day of our dreams at a cost we could feel good about. Not to mention how beautiful the place is. Absolutely stunning!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eva
Wedding:
11/30/2013
4.5/5.0
Beautiful place for a wedding reception, excellent value. The house just needs some improvement for better lights for evening photography.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
8/3/2013
3.9/5.0
The only real complaint that I have is that I had a difficult time getting in touch with my point of contact. I did all of my setup over the phone, and so I ended up talking to a different person each time I needed to discuss the wedding. They did however accommodate my needs for no alcohol in the cooking.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mcbeck
Wedding:
6/12/2010
0.3/5.0
DO NOT HAVE YOUR WEDDING HERE!!!!!!! I had my wedding here and it was a huge disappointment. The original plan was to have the wedding and ceremony outside which but due to the weather that changed. On Friday night at the rehearsal I decided to have at least the dinner part of the reception inside as it was so hot and humid ( and they were calling for storms). The day of the wedding we got to Bennett-Curtis and proceded to get ready, in that time there was a severe thunderstorm warning issued and the storm was headed directly for us. I told Kerry that at that point I just wanted to do everything inside ( as it would just be easier for the dj, guests and myself) her response was "well let's just wait until the last minute, the storm might miss us". At this point the storm was in the next town over and it was definetly going to hit us! Well we did end up having the ceremony inside. We lost power in the middle of the Ceremony ( which I realize isn't their fault but still annoying!). After the ceremony we went outside ( under tent) to take pictures, while out there I saw Kerry attempt to carry my 3 tier beautiful wedding cake inside by herself. Well of course that was not a good idea at all since she ended up dropping it ( one of my guests actually grabbed the top tier before it hit the ground) they were able to save it enough that we were able to still do the cake cutting. But the back side of the cake was ruined! They never addressed this with us at all, didn't even apoligize!! The night only gets worse as it goes on, they forgot to put out our toasting glasses ( we ended up doing out toasts with water glasses). None of our guests even knew we were doing the cake cutting and they weren't able to hear any of the toasts because the PA system didn't work at all and no one was told that any of these thing were going on! The food wasn't very good at all, at the least it wasn't consistent ( some was cold, some was dry, some undercooked and some overcooked). Needless to say this was not the wedding I had always wanted, but it wasn't even what I had paid for!! I sent the owners an email after the wedding and the response I got was in the form an email stating that he would talk with the staff about it and get back in touch with me. Then I got a letter/package in the mail stating that everything I had complained about wasn't thier fault that in some way or another. They also sent me an thing to send my wedding dress away to get cleaned and preserved. But after my experince with them why in the world would I trust them or anyone they would recommend with my dress!!! Oh I forgot to add how rude they were too, they even told one of my guest ( who was in a wheel chair) that she was taking up too much room at the table and that she needed to move over because they had to fit 10 people at the table ( never mind that we had plenty of foom for people at other tables and that it wasn't an issue at all for my guest to sit where she was at all). Like I said in the begining of this reveiw do not have your wedding here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Bennett-Curtis House responded with the following comments:

Here is the letter that I sent to Jason & Becky…

Dear Becky & Jason,
I am sorry you were so disappointed; I realize when the weather turned as it did it changed the plans to the B-Plans. To address your concerns about the D.J.; he was set-up for the ceremony with our system because his speakers did not reach to the front. I had asked the D.J. to use both microphones for announcements because his would not reach the front. He did & I am not sure why the videographer missed the speeches, he was in the room for the cake cutting and the speeches followed directly. Prior to announcements each room was told that cake cutting would follow and then prayer & toast. Your cake was outside because on Friday when you moved dinner inside we discussed the cake cutting, toasts, & prayer being done outside prior to moving in for dinner because of the D.J.’s system being better than ours inside, plus all people would be right there able to see. I know you were outside taking pictures and saw the anniversary cake slip when I was moving it, I went inside, put it back together and re-frosted it, I’m sorry I didn’t tell you because I knew you already knew. I had talked to you at 3:00pm when you arrived about the cameras, I noticed they had no flash and would not work inside, we were going to only use them outside & everything was in, They would have been wasted inside. Food; I was at every table at least 2 times And most reordered food & no one told me it was cold or dry. I don’t know who asked your videographer to move or leave a room, it was not anyone that worked here. We only asked people to leave the main dining area 15 minutes prior to ceremony so we could set-up for the ceremony. Again please accept my apology and the wedding gown cleaning and preservation kit to have your gown cleaned and preserved.
Sincerely,
Kerry Zizic

I also wanted to add that NO guest was involved in the cake incident! The cake was not affected just the frosting needed a touch up. Also the ONLY thing said to the guest in the wheel chair is that they may want to sit by the wall because they felt uncomfortable feeling like they were in the way of everyone else, which of course they were not.
Please feel free to ask any questions at your consultaion if you have any comments or concerns.... Thanks

DEALS

FREE Chocolate Fountain
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $595 Value
Free Chocolate Fountain with NEW reception booking- on premise or off premise catered event! Call for more details (815) 465-2288. Must present coupon, not valid with any other offer.

Available to the first 100 couples
Deal #WW77ed8f587abe5936
220x220_1367954086397-6005131015254154756563560881221n

MAP

 
302 West Taylor Street, Grant Park, IL 60940 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Bennett-Curtis House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1335379603985-bennettcurtishouse