130x130_sq_1374539106863-bcb-logobcbrgb600x600

The Bob Charest Band

Westbrook , ME
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Westbrook, ME US 04092 (map)

PHONE

207-797-3848

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Experts at reading your crowd and ready to rock the party, The Bob Charest Band features three lead singers with outstanding vocal power. A diverse and extensive songlist allows us to... Read more
Experts at reading your crowd and ready to rock the party, The Bob Charest Band features three lead singers with outstanding vocal power. A diverse and extensive songlist allows us to choose the right tune at the right time, assuring that all musical tastes are acknowledged.

The personal connection with our clients is reflected in the unique success of every celebration. Dynamic and versatile, the Bob Charest Band brings the right blend of sophistication and fun to your reception or party - We’re the soundtrack to your perfect event!

info@bobcharestmusic.com

207-797-3848 Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1377627067358-andree-kehn-photo
130x130_sq_1377627069416-emily-delamater-photo
130x130_sq_1377627072242-nadra-edgerley-photo

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Country, Motown, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Black suits, black shirts, and an accent tie for the men. For the women, dresses appropriate to the occasion.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, video and audio samples are available on our website. 
 http://www.bobcharestmusic.com/videos.html for video.
 http://www.bobcharestmusic.com/soundclips.html for audio.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
We always include an arrangement of the couple’s first dance, at no additional charge. 
 When we are able to learn other songs, we’re happy to do so, for an additional fee.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Our road crew usually sets up in about two hours, but we like to arrive at the event site as early as the venue allows (typically, 10-11AM) in order to be completely set up with soft music playing through our sound system well before any guests arrive for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception.
How much space do you usually require?
Ideally, 24’ across by 12' deep, but 20' across by 10' deep also works.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Our BCB logo is on the drum head. Further signage is sometimes used at festivals and other public events.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Our own stage lighting is always included in the cost of the band.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We’re happy to emcee events, if desired. Talking between songs is kept to a minimum, as we segue from one tune to the next to capitalize on the crowd's energy and keep things rolling!
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
We communicate with our clients long before their wedding day (and get together over refreshments at our home whenever possible), encouraging them to share as much about their tastes and preferences as is needed for them to feel comfortable with our understanding of their unique vision for the party. As part of that process, we get a good feel for what that party might be like. 
 
 During an event, we choose songs on the spot, which allows us to acknowledge everyone’s musical tastes and respond to the crowd’s energy. Also, our band members are friendly, accessible, and interactive. All these elements allow us to consistently achieve a “unified dance response,” which is (basically) everyone having a blast together on the dance floor! 
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We take two-to-three minimal breaks, appropriate to the timeline, during the course of four contiguous hours. We don’t require that meals be provided to the members, but always appreciate it when they are.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes we do. We choose music that fits the mood of the party at that point.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
During the course of fifteen years, this has never been a problem, but we have collegial relationships with many musicians, if needed.
What is your overtime rate?
For performances of over four contiguous hours, we offer rates on extra time. If the client wishes us to play longer, our rate is $750 per half-hour, if unplanned.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Pricing is consistent and based on length of performance time and distance from the Greater Portland Maine area.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
$1,000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
In the years that I’ve been a wedding coordinator I’ve seen a number of bands and although there are a number of good ones I haven’t heard one who is as good as The Bob Charest Band. Their range of members and age range of members allows them to play pretty much any type of music and to play all of it spot on. Just for our wedding alone they jumped from Nora Jones’ Love Me Tender for our first dance to rapping Jay-z’s Empire State of Mind (which people are still talking about) to our epic encore of F.U.N’s We Are Young.

Beyond their compete mastery of musical covers Cindy and Bob have to be the nicest people to work with. From my experience as a coordinator, they don’t get in diva mode like a lot of bands do, which makes them a favorite at any venue they play at. Additionally, from a bride’s standpoint they are the most kind and easy to work with vendors ever! You can trust that if you tell them what you want they will deliver above and beyond, which is exactly what every bride deserves.

The Bob Charest Band is my number one recommendation both professionally and personally.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely LOVED working (I shouldn't even call it work, the experience) with BCB. The Bob Charest Band made our wedding day even more wonderful and we are so thankful to them for the experience! They read us so well and played music our guests extremely enjoyed! Our guests were dancing before the party even started and danced the whole time which was exactly what we wanted! I would HIGHLY recommend the Bob Charest Band!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band ROCKED our wedding!! We had the time of our lives and the BCB was a huge part of that! Our guests had a blast and are still talking about how much fun they had and how amazing the band was. We danced the night away! There were times we thought the dance floor was going to cave in! Bob and Cindy are so kind and want to make sure you have the wedding of your dreams. They like getting to know you so they can help create a perfect day/evening tailored to your personalities and interests. They learned a special song for us and even let my brother play the drums for a song as well! They truly are a wonderful band and we are so thankful they were able to play at our wedding! They're the BEST!
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1335364059042-p1060755
Jessica
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band was an absolute hit at our wedding. We read the reviews of everyone saying that their guests had told them that the BCB was the BEST wedding band they have ever had and took them with a grain of salt. NO SALT NEEDED - the band was PHENOMENAL and have EVERYONE, kids, adults, peers a like on their feet ALL night. You will NOT regret chosing BCB.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band can do it all. Whatever it is you are searching for music-wise, they can do it... and they do it really well!! To start, Bob and Cindy are the friendliest people you could meet and they are professionals through and through. The band can pull off any kind of music for the night or mix it up. They can read your guests and figure out what works when. They are phenomenal. We had so many people ask where we found them... what a gem! Go with the BCB and you will be thrilled!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynsey
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Finding the right band was near if not at the top of our list of priorities when shopping for wedding vendors. To us, a wedding band can make or break a reception. Based on their fabulous reputation, we really wanted to work with the Bob Charest Band and were THRILLED when they were available for our big day! Working with the Bob Charest Band was like working with family. From our first meeting with Bob and Cindy at their home over dinner and drinks to the last song they played on our wedding night (and beyond), we were at ease and have loved every minute of our time spent with them. The reviews below mine do not lie... our guests were on their feet the whole night dancing and commenting about how fun, talented, and perfect this band is! They did such an amazing job playing both the music that we requested as well as just playing to the crowd. They were extremely responsive and available for questions by both email and cell phone and they are just so experienced and flexible that we didn't have to worry about any logistics with them. They knew all the right questions to ask us to figure out exactly how to tailor to our event. I'm so glad we put our trust in Bob, Cindy, and the rest of the band. They were a big part of making our event such a success! If they are available- book them NOW! You won't regret it!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band brought down the house at our wedding! We first met Bob and Cindy last year to go over our thoughts for wedding music. Not only did we go over music, but we had so many nice conversations and they really took the time to know us and understand exactly what we were looking for with a wedding band. The decision to use the Bob Charest band couldn't be better. They learned our first dance song which came out fantastic, and also added in other songs that I love throughout the night. The wedding guests did not leave the dance floor and so many commented to us after the wedding on how great and fun the band was. We highly recommend the Bob Charest band if you want a memorable band for your wedding. We couldn't be happier with the memories we have thanks to the Bob Charest band.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely adored working with the Bob Charest Band. I worked mostly with Bob's wife Cindy and she was always there for me! We discussed the exact songs I wanted played at the wedding and what I did not want played and they stuck to my wishes. Everything came out great and the guests were in awe of the professionalism and skill level of the band. They also had no problem with letting my brother and father (both musicians) sit in which was a lot of fun and showed how accommodating they are. They will literally do whatever you desire without question and if you are unsure about anything they have great advice. They are also a lot of fun and the dance floor was full the entire night, no exaggeration!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception was the best party my husband and I have ever, or will ever have, been to, thanks to The Bob Charest Band.

If you are having any doubts about hiring a band for your wedding, I will admit that I had them as well - and I promise you that the Bob Charest Band will dispel all of them. Hiring them will be the best decision you make in your wedding vendor choices. I even hesitate to call Bob & Cindy "vendors" because although they meet and excel the professional requirements of the job, I considered them as more then vendors providing a service, they were an integral and personal component to our wedding day. They made made looking forward to the big day fun and exciting.

But most importantly, they made our wedding reception the memorable celebration it was. Consistent response across all 200 of our guests, from 2 weeks to 92 years old was that "THE BAND WAS AMAZING." We are still raving about it - and will be for years to come.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a band for your wedding, I highly recommend The Bob Charest Band! They play everything from classic rock to current top 40 hits and they were responsible for making our reception truly memorable and an amazing time. Everyone from our youngest cousins to the senior citizens in attendance could not rant and rave enough about how amazing the band sounded and how talented they were at pumping up the crowd. Additionally, Bob and Cindy Charest are just about the nicest vendors you will ever have the pleasure of working with. We had a consulting session at their home and this added a personal touch to the service. I highly recommend Bob Charest Band for your wedding or any other function if you want a high quality, professional, and super fun band.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracee
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with the Bob Charest Band. Cindy and Bob were so accomodating and made the whole planning experience enjoyable. They worked with us to figure out the best location to play for our reception. They did not dissappoint with their singing and dancing either. We have received so many compliments on our choice of band from both young and old. The Bob Charest Band is defintely the way to go!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rmosier
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I honestly don't even know where to begin in describing just how FABULOUS the Bob Charest Band is. In starting our wedding planning, we prioritized that we wanted a rockin' party... and a rockin' party is what we got! Immediately from the beginning, Bob and Cindy were nothing short of AMAZING to work with. From changing our wedding date, to working out a time to meet and discuss details, they were extremely accomodating. Their responses to both phonecalls and e-mails were immediate and prompt, which made the planning process so easy and stress free! They welcomed my husband and I into their home and prepared a tasty spread of hors'devours as we chatted about every musical aspect of our wedding, from the ceremony and cocktail hour, to the dinner and reception... simply put- they are just WONDERFUL! We consider them part of our family now :)
Prior to booking our wedding with the Bob Charest Band, numerous clients, family members and friends recommended them, and soley based on those recommendations, we booked with them. Not only could our guests not stop raving about them, several of them even offered the band more money to play for an extra hour! When people ask us what the best part of our wedding was, we insist it was THE BAND. My most memorable moment of our day was standing at the entrance to the reception, holding the hand of my husband, while the band introduced us while playing "Swing, swing, swing." For that very first moment it was real, and words can't even describe how AMAZING they sounded. Three weeks later, we are already scheming where we can see The Bob Charest Band play again- and recommending them to everyone we come across!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band was the highlight of our wedding. All of our guests were up and dancing for the entire reception (after dinner of course). Bob and Cindy, the husband and wife who started the band, are truly unique. We spent an afternoon at their house discussing our music likes and dislikes, the order of events, and our first dance. They learned a U2 song just for us for our first dance, and it was just as good as the original! This band has amazing flexibility with two great lead singers - one guy and one girl. They can do new pop really well and switch to Sinatra without missing a beat. They really know how to play just the right song at the right time so that people are sitting and chatting during dinner service and up and dancing when it's time to get down! This will be the best money you spend on your wedding - and well worth it!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chrimacu
Wedding:
11/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Having the Bob Charest Band really made our wedding reception a blast. We got so many comments from guests on how great the band was, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Bob & Cindy made us feel like family through the whole process, having us over for a couple of consultations, introducing us to the band at one of their home rehearsals, learning our first song (it just so happened to be the same first song they danced to, but the band had never done it before!), and even speaking on the phone with my goddaughter, who lives out of state, to coordinate her singing a song with them at the reception. We would hire them again in a second!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmonty
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
They were amazing! So friendly, so talented, so fun, and so energetic. Our reception absolutely rocked because of them. Our vision was that we wanted people dancing all night- and that's exactly what happened!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
10/21/2006
5.0/5.0
We loved this band! Even our music friends from Oberlin raved about their performace. Talk about value - you get a 9-piece, talented, energetic band for a very reasonable rate! They also learned a new piece for me by Natalie Merchant, so I could sing to the groom. The Charests are run, wonderful people and I hope I get to see (or hire!) them again soon!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
3/24/2007
4.6/5.0
Bob & his band were absolutely amazing. They truly brought our venue to life. They played the songs we requested and even learned our favorite song so we could dance to it. Bob was organized and very interested in knowing exactly what we wanted so he could provide that for us. Bob & his band were most definitely the talk of the party - we have given his name to so many of our family and friends - everyone wants to know how we found such a great band!
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Westbrook, ME 04092 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Bob Charest Band
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1374539106863-bcb-logobcbrgb600x600