130x130 sq 1374539106863 bcb logobcbrgb600x600

The Bob Charest Band

Westbrook , ME
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Westbrook, ME 04092 US (map)

PHONE

207-797-3848

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Experts at reading your crowd and ready to rock the party, The Bob Charest Band features three lead singers with outstanding vocal power. A diverse and extensive songlist allows us to... Read more
Experts at reading your crowd and ready to rock the party, The Bob Charest Band features three lead singers with outstanding vocal power. A diverse and extensive songlist allows us to choose the right tune at the right time, assuring that all musical tastes are acknowledged.

The personal connection with our clients is reflected in the unique success of every celebration. Dynamic and versatile, the Bob Charest Band brings the right blend of sophistication and fun to your reception or party - We’re the soundtrack to your perfect event!

info@bobcharestmusic.com

207-797-3848 Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1377627067358 andree kehn photo
130x130 sq 1377627069416 emily delamater photo
130x130 sq 1377627072242 nadra edgerley photo
130x130 sq 1416281479867 2014 guests partying 600x400

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Country, Motown, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Black suits, black shirts, and an accent tie for the men. For the women, dresses appropriate to the occasion.
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Yes, video and audio samples are available on our website. 
 http://www.bobcharestmusic.com/videos.html for video.
 http://www.bobcharestmusic.com/soundclips.html for audio.
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
We always include an arrangement of the couple’s first dance, at no additional charge. 
 When we are able to learn other songs, we’re happy to do so, for an additional fee.
How much time do you usually need for setup?
Our road crew usually sets up in about two hours, but we like to arrive at the event site as early as the venue allows (typically, 10-11AM) in order to be completely set up with soft music playing through our sound system well before any guests arrive for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception.
How much space do you usually require?
Ideally, 24’ across by 12' deep, but 20' across by 10' deep also works.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
Our BCB logo is on the drum head. Further signage is sometimes used at festivals and other public events.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Our own stage lighting is always included in the cost of the band.
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We’re happy to emcee events, if desired. Talking between songs is kept to a minimum, as we segue from one tune to the next to capitalize on the crowd's energy and keep things rolling!
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
We communicate with our clients long before their wedding day (and get together over refreshments at our home whenever possible), encouraging them to share as much about their tastes and preferences as is needed for them to feel comfortable with our understanding of their unique vision for the party. As part of that process, we get a good feel for what that party might be like. 
 
 During an event, we choose songs on the spot, which allows us to acknowledge everyone’s musical tastes and respond to the crowd’s energy. Also, our band members are friendly, accessible, and interactive. All these elements allow us to consistently achieve a “unified dance response,” which is (basically) everyone having a blast together on the dance floor! 
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We take two-to-three minimal breaks, appropriate to the timeline, during the course of four contiguous hours. We don’t require that meals be provided to the members, but always appreciate it when they are.
Do you play recorded music during your break?
Yes we do. We choose music that fits the mood of the party at that point.
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
During the course of fifteen years, this has never been a problem, but we have collegial relationships with many musicians, if needed.
What is your overtime rate?
For performances of over four contiguous hours, we offer rates on extra time. If the client wishes us to play longer, our rate is $750 per half-hour, if unplanned.
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Pricing is consistent and based on length of performance time and distance from the Greater Portland Maine area.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
$1,000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Leslie
Wedding:
10/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Wow, what can we say? The Bob Charest Band was so spectacular. They listened to all of our special requests, and helped ensure our special dances were flawless. They are so professional, fun, and really keep the guests dancing. We had a very musical group of guests at our wedding, and we are still getting nothing but fantastic comments about how great the band was. A definite must!
Wow, what can we say? The Bob Charest Band was so spectacular. They listened to all of our special requests, and helped Read more...
Wow, what can we say? The Bob Charest Band was so spectacular. They listened to all of our special requests, and helped ensure our special dances were flawless. They are so professional, fun, and really keep the guests dancing. We had a very musical group of guests at our wedding, and we are still getting nothing but fantastic comments about how great the band was. A definite must! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
kelly
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band is the way to go for your wedding band!! You will not be disappointed. They not only cover a huge range of music genres, but they were so amazing to work with from start to finish! They will learn a special song for you and they cover songs with such accuracy, its amazing! They also kept the dance floor full all night! I am so happy with my decision to book them. :-)
The Bob Charest Band is the way to go for your wedding band!! You will not be disappointed. They not only cover a huge Read more...
The Bob Charest Band is the way to go for your wedding band!! You will not be disappointed. They not only cover a huge range of music genres, but they were so amazing to work with from start to finish! They will learn a special song for you and they cover songs with such accuracy, its amazing! They also kept the dance floor full all night! I am so happy with my decision to book them. :-) Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
alex
Wedding:
7/11/2014
5.0/5.0
By far the best bang for your buck. Bob and Cindy are more then fantastic at making sure everything is perfect for your event. No detail escapes them! I wouldn't think about booking them again.
By far the best bang for your buck. Bob and Cindy are more then fantastic at making sure everything is perfect for your Read more...
By far the best bang for your buck. Bob and Cindy are more then fantastic at making sure everything is perfect for your event. No detail escapes them! I wouldn't think about booking them again. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
cheri
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
The BCB was absolutely hands down the best part of our July wedding! Not just the entertainment they put on the day of (which was fantastic), but working with Bob and Cindy the year+ leading up to it. They always responded immediately with any questions we had, and also gave us a lot of ideas for other vendors to use. Our wedding day ended up being exactly what we imaged and we couldn't have done it with out them! Months later, our guests still talk about the band. The whole team is so talented and we can't wait to see them at other future events! They are certainly people we will be friends with forever :) Every penny is definitely well worth it! Thank you so much for everything!!
The BCB was absolutely hands down the best part of our July wedding! Not just the entertainment they put on the day of Read more...
The BCB was absolutely hands down the best part of our July wedding! Not just the entertainment they put on the day of (which was fantastic), but working with Bob and Cindy the year+ leading up to it. They always responded immediately with any questions we had, and also gave us a lot of ideas for other vendors to use. Our wedding day ended up being exactly what we imaged and we couldn't have done it with out them! Months later, our guests still talk about the band. The whole team is so talented and we can't wait to see them at other future events! They are certainly people we will be friends with forever :) Every penny is definitely well worth it! Thank you so much for everything!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Carrie
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding would not have been the same without this incredible band! We knew even before we got engaged that the Bob Charest Band would be playing at our wedding. Our guests are STILL talking about how much fun they had dancing the night away, and we owe all of that to Bob and the gang.

Bob and Cindy are truly a pleasure to work with. They are passionate about what they do, and are so attentive and down to earth. All of the band members are friendly, full of personality, and make a great entertainment team!

We love the Bob Charest Band, they have become great friends and we would recommend them in a heartbeat! You are guaranteed talent, professionalism, and above all else, a group of extremely warm and welcoming people. Thank you again for everything!!

- Bill and Carrie Keaton
Our wedding would not have been the same without this incredible band! We knew even before we got engaged that the Bob Read more...
Our wedding would not have been the same without this incredible band! We knew even before we got engaged that the Bob Charest Band would be playing at our wedding. Our guests are STILL talking about how much fun they had dancing the night away, and we owe all of that to Bob and the gang.

Bob and Cindy are truly a pleasure to work with. They are passionate about what they do, and are so attentive and down to earth. All of the band members are friendly, full of personality, and make a great entertainment team!

We love the Bob Charest Band, they have become great friends and we would recommend them in a heartbeat! You are guaranteed talent, professionalism, and above all else, a group of extremely warm and welcoming people. Thank you again for everything!!

- Bill and Carrie Keaton Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
In the years that I’ve been a wedding coordinator I’ve seen a number of bands and although there are a number of good ones I haven’t heard one who is as good as The Bob Charest Band. Their range of members and age range of members allows them to play pretty much any type of music and to play all of it spot on. Just for our wedding alone they jumped from Nora Jones’ Love Me Tender for our first dance to rapping Jay-z’s Empire State of Mind (which people are still talking about) to our epic encore of F.U.N’s We Are Young.

Beyond their compete mastery of musical covers Cindy and Bob have to be the nicest people to work with. From my experience as a coordinator, they don’t get in diva mode like a lot of bands do, which makes them a favorite at any venue they play at. Additionally, from a bride’s standpoint they are the most kind and easy to work with vendors ever! You can trust that if you tell them what you want they will deliver above and beyond, which is exactly what every bride deserves.

The Bob Charest Band is my number one recommendation both professionally and personally.
In the years that I’ve been a wedding coordinator I’ve seen a number of bands and although there are a number of good ones Read more...
In the years that I’ve been a wedding coordinator I’ve seen a number of bands and although there are a number of good ones I haven’t heard one who is as good as The Bob Charest Band. Their range of members and age range of members allows them to play pretty much any type of music and to play all of it spot on. Just for our wedding alone they jumped from Nora Jones’ Love Me Tender for our first dance to rapping Jay-z’s Empire State of Mind (which people are still talking about) to our epic encore of F.U.N’s We Are Young.

Beyond their compete mastery of musical covers Cindy and Bob have to be the nicest people to work with. From my experience as a coordinator, they don’t get in diva mode like a lot of bands do, which makes them a favorite at any venue they play at. Additionally, from a bride’s standpoint they are the most kind and easy to work with vendors ever! You can trust that if you tell them what you want they will deliver above and beyond, which is exactly what every bride deserves.

The Bob Charest Band is my number one recommendation both professionally and personally. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely LOVED working (I shouldn't even call it work, the experience) with BCB. The Bob Charest Band made our wedding day even more wonderful and we are so thankful to them for the experience! They read us so well and played music our guests extremely enjoyed! Our guests were dancing before the party even started and danced the whole time which was exactly what we wanted! I would HIGHLY recommend the Bob Charest Band!
Absolutely LOVED working (I shouldn't even call it work, the experience) with BCB. The Bob Charest Band made our wedding Read more...
Absolutely LOVED working (I shouldn't even call it work, the experience) with BCB. The Bob Charest Band made our wedding day even more wonderful and we are so thankful to them for the experience! They read us so well and played music our guests extremely enjoyed! Our guests were dancing before the party even started and danced the whole time which was exactly what we wanted! I would HIGHLY recommend the Bob Charest Band! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Matt and Melissa
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe my feelings towards BCB - They are absolutely AMAZING! If you want to celebrate your wedding day with ALL of your guests shoulder on the dance floor having the time of their lives look no further. The energy they bring to the reception takes the party to another level all together. We are from Philadelphia, we had guests from Philly, NYC, Boston, DC & California at our wedding, and to this day (432 days later) they cannot stop RAVING about our band... & how our wedding was the MOST FUN wedding they've ever been to - which is seriously the best compliment a bride can receive after all of the blood, sweat and tears that goes into planning the wedding. :)

Since I was planning our wedding from a distance (without a wedding planner) I leaned on Bob and Cindy so much. We met with them once on a visit to Maine, and then had many hours of phone conversations (and tons of emails back and forth) to describe to them what we wanted out of our wedding day. They asked all of the right questions, and really made an effort to learn about us as a couple. Cindy could be an actual (and very successful) wedding planner- I am very, very particular about how I like things done in general, and I was a complete control freak when it came to planning my wedding. She talked me though so many decisions, and made amazing recommendations throughout the entire process. She helped me establish a great timeline and brought things to my attention that I would never have even though of (i.e. appropriate dance floor size, when to do toasts, cutting the cake, first dances, etc.) By the end of the planning process, I trusted her advice and suggestions over my venue coordinator and I'm so glad I did - her insight kept things moving and made the party that much better! Everyone in the band is TRULY TALENTED. I ask my husband (on a fairly regular basis) when we can have a big party so we can hire them again! WORTH EVERY PENNY.
Words cannot describe my feelings towards BCB - They are absolutely AMAZING! If you want to celebrate your wedding day Read more...
Words cannot describe my feelings towards BCB - They are absolutely AMAZING! If you want to celebrate your wedding day with ALL of your guests shoulder on the dance floor having the time of their lives look no further. The energy they bring to the reception takes the party to another level all together. We are from Philadelphia, we had guests from Philly, NYC, Boston, DC & California at our wedding, and to this day (432 days later) they cannot stop RAVING about our band... & how our wedding was the MOST FUN wedding they've ever been to - which is seriously the best compliment a bride can receive after all of the blood, sweat and tears that goes into planning the wedding. :)

Since I was planning our wedding from a distance (without a wedding planner) I leaned on Bob and Cindy so much. We met with them once on a visit to Maine, and then had many hours of phone conversations (and tons of emails back and forth) to describe to them what we wanted out of our wedding day. They asked all of the right questions, and really made an effort to learn about us as a couple. Cindy could be an actual (and very successful) wedding planner- I am very, very particular about how I like things done in general, and I was a complete control freak when it came to planning my wedding. She talked me though so many decisions, and made amazing recommendations throughout the entire process. She helped me establish a great timeline and brought things to my attention that I would never have even though of (i.e. appropriate dance floor size, when to do toasts, cutting the cake, first dances, etc.) By the end of the planning process, I trusted her advice and suggestions over my venue coordinator and I'm so glad I did - her insight kept things moving and made the party that much better! Everyone in the band is TRULY TALENTED. I ask my husband (on a fairly regular basis) when we can have a big party so we can hire them again! WORTH EVERY PENNY. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band ROCKED our wedding!! We had the time of our lives and the BCB was a huge part of that! Our guests had a blast and are still talking about how much fun they had and how amazing the band was. We danced the night away! There were times we thought the dance floor was going to cave in! Bob and Cindy are so kind and want to make sure you have the wedding of your dreams. They like getting to know you so they can help create a perfect day/evening tailored to your personalities and interests. They learned a special song for us and even let my brother play the drums for a song as well! They truly are a wonderful band and we are so thankful they were able to play at our wedding! They're the BEST!
The Bob Charest Band ROCKED our wedding!! We had the time of our lives and the BCB was a huge part of that! Our guests had Read more...
The Bob Charest Band ROCKED our wedding!! We had the time of our lives and the BCB was a huge part of that! Our guests had a blast and are still talking about how much fun they had and how amazing the band was. We danced the night away! There were times we thought the dance floor was going to cave in! Bob and Cindy are so kind and want to make sure you have the wedding of your dreams. They like getting to know you so they can help create a perfect day/evening tailored to your personalities and interests. They learned a special song for us and even let my brother play the drums for a song as well! They truly are a wonderful band and we are so thankful they were able to play at our wedding! They're the BEST! Read less
Services Used: Band
130x130 sq 1335364059042 p1060755
Jessica
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bob Charest Band was an absolute hit at our wedding. We read the reviews of everyone saying that their guests had told them that the BCB was the BEST wedding band they have ever had and took them with a grain of salt. NO SALT NEEDED - the band was PHENOMENAL and have EVERYONE, kids, adults, peers a like on their feet ALL night. You will NOT regret chosing BCB.
The Bob Charest Band was an absolute hit at our wedding. We read the reviews of everyone saying that their guests had told Read more...
The Bob Charest Band was an absolute hit at our wedding. We read the reviews of everyone saying that their guests had told them that the BCB was the BEST wedding band they have ever had and took them with a grain of salt. NO SALT NEEDED - the band was PHENOMENAL and have EVERYONE, kids, adults, peers a like on their feet ALL night. You will NOT regret chosing BCB. Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Westbrook, ME 04092 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Bob Charest Band
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1374539106863 bcb logobcbrgb600x600