130x130_sq_1386266726394-rsblog2

The Bolger Center

Potomac , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

9600 Newbridge Drive
Potomac, MD US 20854 (map)

PHONE

301-983-7765

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

From joyous celebrations to fairytale weddings, the Bolger Center is the perfect host for your special day. Located just minutes from Washington D.C. and Bethesda, in the heart of... Read more
From joyous celebrations to fairytale weddings, the Bolger Center is the perfect host for your special day. Located just minutes from Washington D.C. and Bethesda, in the heart of Potomac, we provide an excellent venue for your event!

Choose from our distinguished Stained Glass Hall, dating back to 1957, which was once the original chapel, lined with beautiful stained glass windows and an elegant arched ceiling or our newly renovated Benjamin Franklin Hall. Our unique ballrooms, set on 83-acres of lawns and gardens, offer a breathtaking backdrop for indoor and outdoor weddings, receptions and special events.

In addition to offering the perfect location for your wedding, we are also a hotel, offering a variety of overnight accommodations perfect for catering to all of your needs for out of town guests.

At the Bolger Center, our experienced team of professionals will guide you every step of the way and ensure that your occasion is everything you have wished for and more.
Outdoor/Indoor Ceremony Location Outdoor/Indoor Hors d'oeuvres Reception Location Meal Selection (Buffet & Plated Menu Options Available) House Linen, House China and House Glassware Full-Service Catering Menu Creation Customized Overnight Guest Room Rates Complimentary Suite for Bride & Groom Dance Floor Complimentary Cake Cutting & Service Vendor Referrals and Coordination
For additional information, check out our website at bolgercenter.com or call our catering department at 301-983-7765! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1386266013147-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386266029921-leylajamare03
130x130_sq_1354734871199-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding18
130x130_sq_1386265358107-0614hmkfa671
130x130_sq_1386265299412-0680hmkfa678
130x130_sq_1386265263640-0635hmkfa671
130x130_sq_1386265267387-0414hmkfa651
130x130_sq_1386265271364-0214hmkfa633
130x130_sq_1386265303344-0640hmkfa672
130x130_sq_1386265295345-0736hmkfa684
130x130_sq_1386265282339-1198hmimg033
130x130_sq_1386265286326-1112hmkfa729
130x130_sq_1386265290390-0779hmimg029
130x130_sq_1386265278407-1168hmkfa736
130x130_sq_1386265275022-0785hmkfa691
130x130_sq_1384547811201-jamareleyla15
130x130_sq_1384548539562-jamareleyla03
130x130_sq_1386266040954-leylajamare01
130x130_sq_1386266038024-leylajamare01
130x130_sq_1386266035540-leylajamare02
130x130_sq_1386266032904-leylajamare03
130x130_sq_1386266009355-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386266004805-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386266023407-leylajamare03
130x130_sq_1386266026559-leylajamare03
130x130_sq_1386266015964-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386266019160-leylajamare03
130x130_sq_1386265997470-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386265993433-leylajamare05
130x130_sq_1386266001084-leylajamare04
130x130_sq_1386265990869-leylajamare07
130x130_sq_1386265985202-leylajamare08
130x130_sq_1386265988253-leylajamare07
130x130_sq_1386266613191-rsblog29
130x130_sq_1386266617978-rsblog28
130x130_sq_1386266622573-rsblog28
130x130_sq_1354734873387-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding01
130x130_sq_1354734872371-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding17
130x130_sq_1354734870091-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding19
130x130_sq_1354734867910-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding26
130x130_sq_1347653509740-moody271
130x130_sq_1352903908582-fall
130x130_sq_1352903911456-fall2011.2
130x130_sq_1352903929022-pergolafall1
130x130_sq_1352903927593-outdoorceremony2
130x130_sq_1347653496456-moody231
130x130_sq_1347653498868-moody238
130x130_sq_1347653502001-moody247
130x130_sq_1347653504664-moody256
130x130_sq_1347653493644-moody203
130x130_sq_1347653507113-moody263
130x130_sq_1352903947198-yue.greg7
130x130_sq_1352903945094-yue.greg4
130x130_sq_1347653768231-weddingpergola
130x130_sq_1299771524178-chairs
130x130_sq_1299771526646-funnybrideandgroom
130x130_sq_1299771523068-bridegroomchairs
130x130_sq_1299771530100-jewishweddingoutside
130x130_sq_1299771530975-mahowaldbridesback
130x130_sq_1299771531521-mahowaldweddingpickup
130x130_sq_1299771532412-party
130x130_sq_1299771539943-weddingphoto1
130x130_sq_1299771541396-bridalparty
130x130_sq_1299771548943-bride
130x130_sq_1299771519209-bolgercenterwedding23
130x130_sq_1299771518225-bolgercenterwedding20
130x130_sq_1299771521209-bolgercenterwedding6
130x130_sq_1299771543459-groomsmen
130x130_sq_1299771522084-bridalparty
130x130_sq_1299771533443-sghgreenuplights
130x130_sq_1299771552350-wedding14l
130x130_sq_1299771551506-wedding13l
130x130_sq_1299771529459-indianwedding
130x130_sq_1299771517568-annieswedding
130x130_sq_1299771534787-sgh
130x130_sq_1347654071725-ous11211
130x130_sq_1299771536131-sghbanquet
130x130_sq_1299771525646-deluxe
130x130_sq_1354734869173-cherylanddrewbolgercenterwedding22
130x130_sq_1299771544600-bfhcateringdinner
130x130_sq_1299771546256-bfhindianwedding
130x130_sq_1299771547475-bfhwedding
130x130_sq_1299771549881-pnishamohitsangeet0391

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1980
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
450
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
431
Number of suites
31
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
6000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is transportation included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
This was a wonderful venue! I love the campus style -- with the hotel right next door to the reception hall -- made it very easy for the guests to enjoy themselves (and not have to worry about finding transportation to their hotel).

I worked with Debbie Halpin who was fantastic! The food was amazing and all the staff was a great help throughout the night! Would definitely recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved our wedding at The Bolger Center! It truly is a hidden gem in the DC area where venue pricing is crazy! We loved that there was no venue fee, just a food and beverage minimum. It was so convenient for our guests as well. We had our reception in the Stained Glass Hall. When I first saw the room fully decorated, I was in complete awe. It really was breathtaking! Our guests raved about the food, decor, and service. They also loved that we were able to have an afterparty at The Pony Express. Debbie Halpin and her team were great! They really customized our wedding and took care of all of our requests. The Bolger Center made my wedding dream come true!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kindra
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. They made sure our day was beautiful! The food was delicious and the staff is sooooooooooo wonderful and helpful. ..especially Annette and Jessica over in events!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarina
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I just had our wedding at the Bolger Center, which was a 3 day, multi-event Indian wedding. We utilized both buildings, for the Stained Glass Hall and the Franklin room for our reception, and our guests booked nearly 100 hotel rooms. We absolutely loved every minute of our wedding, and the Bolger Center exceeded my expectations in accomodating us. The grounds were beautiful, and truly, everything went very smoothly. We had made welcome bags for our guests, which they were able to hand out for us. They worked very well with all of our vendors. Lastly, after our reception, we partied late into the night at the Fireplace Lounge, without any problem! We used our own catered, but did use their Sunday brunch which was excellent. We loved this place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bolger Center is Potomac's best kept secret. The property grounds are beautiful and having the hotel and reception all in one complex was very convenient for all of our guests. The Stained Glass Hall is a truly unique setting and made for a very elegant atmosphere. The food was very well done and offered a breadth of variety to choose from. The event coordination staff was very easy to work with and responsive to our requests and questions, often providing multiple options to easily choose from. The day of staff was very professional as we'll and our event went off flawlessly despite I climate weather. I highly recommend The Bolger Center for any private event, whether it is a conference or personal event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aidana
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with Bolger Center as soon as I arrived. It was very beautiful and full of positive energy. I was working with Debbie Halpin and she was GREAT! She responded to all of my emails and answered all of my questions. Even though the wedding was only a month and a half away, she managed to help me and set everything up. The food was amazing, especially chicken and salmon with mashed potato. I had my ceremony outside and thank God the weather was just fine. I'd recommend to do the ceremony in front of the Stained Glass hall, since it was very hard walking on the grass in high heals during the photoshoot.
The price of the event itself was pretty reasonable, my husband and I went to a lot of different places and it was over 15,000 everywhere, and we couldn't afford something that expensive, whereas Bolger center had a minimum of 6,000 (since it was sunday. It's usually on fridays and sundays).
I was provided with two very cute rooms. One of them was on the day before the wedding and the other one on the wedding day itself.
They provided us with strawberries in chocolate and one bottle of champagne.

I loved my wedding and everything was PERFECT. Thanks to Bolger center, Debbie and everyone else who helped to make that day, the best day of my life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jonathan and Jennifer
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception in the Stained Glass Hall, and it turned out beautifully. From the beginning we worked with Debbie Halpin, who was always responsive with e-mails, and any of our questions. She also provided us with recommendations for other wedding venders, which was extremely helpful. Her knowledge and expertise gave us peace of mind throughout our planning process. Mauricio Martinez was our Banquet manager and did an amazing job setting up and running the event. The entire staff at Bolger was very attentive to our requests and ensured we had everything we needed. The rooms and reservation process was very convenient for our guests. We highly recommend Bolger for wedding reception services! They helped make our wedding day very special and memorable.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samiat
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Bolger center was a beautiful venue to have both the ceremony and the reception. The landscape alone will take your breath away. We had our wedding at the stain glass hall. The hall was ideal for less than 140 guests and its high ceiling really beautify the room. Annette was very professional and attentive. She response to all our questions promptly. She ensured that we received everything that we needed and/or wanted for the ceremony and the reception. The food was really good. It was very expensive but it was worth it. Our guests was very impressed. We recommend this venue to anyone looking for an all-in-one location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtney
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely everything we could have imagined and Debbie Halpin helped to make that possible.
When we went to go see the venue, as soon as the doors to the Stained Glass Hall opened, I could picture my parents walking me down the aisle to my groom. The ceremony took place in the Stained Glass Hall, our cocktail hour was right outside the Benjamin Franklin building and the reception took place inside their ballroom.
The grounds were absolutely breathtaking during the summer. Debbie worked her magic in order to make sure that we had everything we needed. If she wasn't available, or away from the office, when an email or call was place, she made sure that somebody followed up with us that same day. The month of our wedding, she checked in and let us know of all the upcoming deadlines and to see if we needed anything.
Wedding weekend came and Debbie was there through it all. She made sure that everyone, not just myself and the groom, were satisfied. Even if we weren't happy with something on the hotel side of things (b/c it is separate from the events staff), she was on it and made sure that we had a smile on our face.
Our wedding was 170 guest, majority of them were from out of town. Having the ceremony, reception and hotel all on one location was perfect. Since the Bolger Center isn't a typical hotel, we had the entire venue to ourselves the entire weekend. The grounds, rooms, and entire venue was always spotless and clean. Our guest were able to walk the grounds, get into DC quickly to sight see and come and go from all 3 of the area's airport without issues. People used the pool and I also used the gym.
Although the groom and I didn't eat lots of the food, all of our guest said their meals were delicious. There were a few hiccups during our original tasting but all of our worries were put to rest during our private food tasting. The chef made sure that all of our food looked and tasted wonderful.
I can't recommend this venue enough!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
The Bolger Center was a fantastic place for our wedding reception. Debbie Halpin was wonderful to work with and did a great job of coordinating all the logistics. Our tasting was fabulous – so many wonderful options! The location was perfect and easy to access. We loved the outdoor patio for the cocktail hour. The gardens and open areas were wonderful for pictures. Out-of-town guests loved the convenience of staying there, and the rooms were very nice and affordable. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
My reception was at the Stained Glass Hall. And the place was BEAUTIFUL. Great scenery, very pretty cocktail hour and a very beautiful reception hall. Everything was visually appealing. On top of that, the food was great and the service was awesome. The woman who really worked with me to help make my day wonderful was Debbie Halpin. She was so amazing in helping to get everything to come together! i just was overall very happy with the venue and feeling very lucky to have found out about this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victoria
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
I was the wedding coordinator for a ceremony and reception held in the Stained Glass Hall. The space is beautiful, the staff so helpful and since we had to have the room turned over, they had plenty of people helping with the turn over, went off without any issues. I worked with Debbie, Janet, Maurcio and Ahmed, along with many others from the Bolger, they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I'm looking forward to recommending the site to my future clients.
Perfect Detail Event Planning
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with the Bolger Center where I had my wedding. The staff was so wonderful and accommdating from the start of the planning process to the end. I got married in the Stained Glass Hall, and the room was gorgeous. The food was delicious and the wait staff was awesome on the wedding day both for the cocktail hour and for the reception. Thanks to the Bolger Center, I truly had my DREAM wedding!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fritz
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Usually the groom does not get involved; however, I was so pleased with our wedding! Everything was perfect thanks to Annette and her crew. We had a perfect wedding. At first I was a little anxious regarding the venue and food. But the way they treated us from the beginning to the end was absolutely wonderful. If you were to ask me would I recommend the Bolger Center to anyone else? My answer would be "hell yeah"

Thank you Bolger Center

From Fritz and Danita
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pat
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Debbie Halpin and her team were superb from our very first meeting and throughout the event. We have received so many comments from our guests and they are all the same - On a rating of 1 to 10, 10 being the best, you hit a 15!!!
We held the cocktail hour in the Osgood Dining room and it was great. The room was beautifully decorated and the food was incredible. The reception was held in the Stained Glass Hall which looked amazing and the food was also incredible.

Debbie's attention to detail made the difference for a truly memorable evening. We will never forget our special day which was made even more special by Debbie and her staff.

Thank you so much for everything!!!

Ginger and Pat
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our event manager for our daughter's wedding was Debbie Halpin. Debbie was wonderful to work with. She paid attention to all the details and gave us great ideas about how to do things. Everything she suggested worked out beautifully and some of her suggestions helped us to save money. Debbie's assistant, Jessica Schraibman, was very helpful, too. She handled questions that we had in a very timely, friendly manner. In addition, we found the wedding package was a great value. We had our ceremony in the Stained Glass Hall and our reception in the Franklin Building. Both venues were perfect! Many of our guests have commented that the wait servers were exceptionally accommodating and pleasant. Our maitre'd for the evening was Mauricio. He made a point of meeting us earlier in the day to go over details and throughout the evening he made sure everything ran like clockwork. The food at the reception was top notch...our guests are still talking about the delicious filet and sea bass. We found that both Debbie and Mauricio were highly professional and very friendly. Our brunch Sunday morning was held in the Osgood Building Dining Room. There were many different food choices and all the food was very fresh and delicious. Again, we found the price per head to be reasonable. It was an amazing weekend! The Bolger Center is gem!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had my son's rehearsal dinner and the cermony and reception at the Bolger Center this past weekend. Quite simply, we couldn't have dreamed of a better venue. From our first visit Debbie Halpin and the entire staff at the Bolger were kind, responsive and incredibly helpful. At first glance, it may seem a bit on the pricey side but the price is pretty much all inclusive. There were not a lot of extra charges. We had a large number of out of town guests for the weekend and the hotel and restaurants being right there made it very convenient for the travelers. The site is beautiful, the food was delicious but the staff of the Bolger was the icing on the cake! Everyone there went out of their way to help and were just so friendly it added to our enjoyment of the weekend. I would highly recommend the Bolger Center for any event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gail
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I am the Mother of the Groom and was so impressed with The Bolger Center that I want to express my gratitude and provide a reference. Ms. Debbie Halpin was our point of contact at The Bolger Center. Her expertise and that of the many other individuals we met with during the planning process, helped guide us through the numerous decisions needed to successfully plan a wedding for 150 people. The employees were professional, respectful and without hesitation worked to provide us with an experience that would bless us with beautiful memories. It was our confidence in The Bolger team that allowed us to enjoy spending time with our guests at the wedding. I have already referred someone to The Bolger Center and will happily continue to do so in the future. The grounds are as beautiful and as inviting as the employees.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Bolger Center is a fantastic venue. My wedding was planning in only a few weeks. I found the venue on theknot.com. I was offered a site visit quite quickly and meet Debbie Halpin--an event manager. She is simply wonderful!

She made the whole process of planning a wedding in a few weeks enjoyable and worthwhile. She replies to my many emails and questions in a quick manner. She allowed us to visit the site when we wanted.

Our ceremony was in the Stained Glass Hall. It was beautiful and lovely. Cocktail hour was outside near the reception hall. The reception in the Benjamin Franklin Hall was beautiful decorated and lite. They supplied the linen, glassware, tables, chairs.

Food was perfect. We choose the indian menu. Our guest spoke highly of the fish dish.

Our whole experience was wonderful and memorable.

Thanks to Debbie Halpin!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evan
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We were married at the Bolger Center in July and the experience was great all around. We worked with Debbie who was very responsive and accommodating. She helped us through the whole process and even worked with us when we wanted to get a food truck for our rehearsal dinner.

Initially we were turned off by what we thought was higher cost per person but when you factor in that everything is included ,and there are no room fees just catering minimums, the cost ended up being equal or less than every other place we looked. Our guest also really enjoyed staying at the Bolger Center, people kept commenting that having everyone there for the weekend was like we were at camp or college (although the accommodations were much nicer than both!). And many people took advantage of the shuttle to the Metro and went sight seeing.

The food they provided throughout was delicious and more than exceeded our expectations. The manager and head waitress on the day of the wedding were very nice and asked us throughout the night if we needed drinks or food. The Bridal Suite was very modern and had a huge balcony. They also surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries after the wedding.

We would highly recommend the Bolger Center to anyone who is getting married in the DC area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
There is no better place than having a wedding at the Bolger Conference Center. Convenient for DC, VA & MD residents. Plenty of parking. The wedding was held outside and the grounds were spectacular with blooming flowers, trees with mini-lights, exquisite ambiance and the staff could not be beat. The hors doeuvres were delicious as was the dinner. The reception at the Ben Franklin Bldg was spectacular. Debbie answered all our questions and kept things moving so there were no snags. This was called the "Wedding of the Century" by family and friends.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1262803373471-convar82
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Wow! I was completely surprised to see the negative comments on this site from Will. I have had nothing but great experiences at the Bolger Center. I see that there are two different reviews for that day with completely different outcomes. Christina's review is more of the type of service you can expect from working with Annette. It's too bad Will and his wife had such an awful experience on their wedding day. It appears that they were definitely working with someone else. I just had to comment because his experience was so far from the service I received. I have had three events here and Annette and her supporting staff were always patient and accommodating.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our experience with the Bolger Center was wonderful. Debbie Halpin made sure our wedding day and the all-important months of planning leading up to it were as memorable, beautiful, and stress-free as we hoped it would be. Food was delicious and the grounds are picturesque. Highly recommend calling her for a tour today!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1312985806665-dance
Alyson
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at the Bolger Center was amazing and exceeded my expectations. Annette helped with everything from booking the space, all the way down to the small details like setting up our candy buffet. :) She is the best!!! We had our ceremony on the lawn behind the Franklin Building, the cocktail hour in the Franklin Building's lobby, and the reception in Ben Franklin Hall. Unfortunately, it was thunderstorming the afternoon before our ceremony, but that didn't worry Annette. She got out her phone and pulled up the weather radar & told us we had a 30 minute window to get the ceremony in if we still wanted it outside. We managed to fit it in and it started pouring just as everyone made it inside. Cocktail hour was a little cramped in the Franklin Building's lobby (it was supposed to be outside, but due to the rain we moved it inside) but everyone told me that the appetizers were amazing. I was offered plenty of food during cocktail hour but just wasn't hungry enough to try anything. Now I wish I would have! The reception went off flawlessly. Everything was amazing! The ballroom looked perfect, the food was delicious (I did manage to eat dinner!) and the Bolger Center staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Our wedding ended at midnight and a big group made their way over to the Pony Express Bar & Grill for snacks & drinks. The staff there was very accommodating and didn't kick anyone out until almost 2:30! Finally, the rooms are a bit small, but if you go to the check in desk, they are able to show you the rooms before you book a room block. This is what we did, so we were able to let our guests know ahead of time that the rooms are a bit smaller than your average hotel. The honeymoon suite was incredible though!! I wish we would've had more time in there - it had a full living room area with a sectional, a balcony, a king bed with the most comfortable sheets, and a huge bathroom with an even bigger shower! With each room you book, you get 2 breakfasts. The breakfast is SO GOOD. Our families went each day and raved about it each time. I would highly recommend the Bolger Center to anyone looking for an all-in-one type of venue, with many different locations for your rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception, etc.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danny
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Annette and Stephanie were AMAZING to work with. I have already recommended the Bolger Center to several engaged couples and I will continue to do so. The new renovations are gorgeous, the rates are affordable compared to other venues, and the service is unbeatable. Thanks again for all of your help!

-Danny and Kerry
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
The staff and manager did and AWESOME and fantastice job, I highly recommend them to any bride and groom looking for quality services and a friendly staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
11/24/2007
5.0/5.0
Not many people know about this place but it was absolutely beautiful! There is also a hotel which makes it even greater! The food was absolutely amazing! (highly recommend the filet!)I can't think of one thing that went wrong. Diane was such a pleasure to work with, she was so helpful in decision making while keeping the price within our budget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
They did a wonderful job both for the reception and for the guests staying at the hotel. We did not do the ceremony here but for the reception the Bride had very explicit instructions on how she wanted the room laid out and how the tables should be set up. They followed her instructions perfectly. The food was excellent and the service very good. We did the cocktail hour outside in the courtyard of the Ben Franklin room and it could not have been more perfect. We only had one hiccup during the reception with the staff being slow to refill the dessert table. After the reception about 2/3 of the guests continued the party in the courtyard outside of the sports bar at the hotel. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was excellent again with the staff being very helpful. I would so this again for my second daughter -
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
I had my wedding reception at the Bolger Center July 5, 2014, and I am so glad I had it there. The ground are absolutely STUNNING and perfect for pictures, and no one had to drive after the reception. I wanted a country club feel with the convince of a hotel wedding, and the Bolger center had it all. it was perfect. Debbie, the event coordinator was amazing. I made a bunch of things for my wedding, like the table numbers, place cards, a Mr. and Mrs. for the back of the chairs, picture frame for the menus, and I had a precise way of how everything was set up. Debbie and her crew got EVERY detail perfect. Really, it was perfect. I am big into the little details and I was so happy and impressed with how they were able to do everything for me! Debbie was wonderful to work with. The only reason why I didn't give the Bolger center straight 5s was for two very minor things. The servers with the water and wine weren't frequent enough (this was a minor detail since we had an open bar) and we had a viennese table that didn't get refilled. The people that were last in line didn't get dessert because the dessert status wasn't being monitored closely enough. Other than those two things, it was perfect! Thank you Bolger center!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joseph
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.9/5.0
My daughter was married on June 22, 2013 at Holy Rosary Church in Washington, D.C. and the reception was held in Franklin Hall at the Bolger Center, it could not have gone better. Debbie Halpin made sure that every detail was covered and there were no mistakes. With a large number of out of town guests, the venue was perfect. They offered everything we could have wanted before, during and after the reception. This is going to be one of those weddings that will be talked about for a long time. The food was great, the entertainment was incredible (Adam Mason of Party Central), and everyone enjoyed the breakfast buffet the next morning. Thank you to the entire staff.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
11/17/2012
4.9/5.0
This place is a gem and I’m so glad I found it! My fiancé and I worked with Annette Fulmore to plan our wedding here. She was so, so helpful throughout the entire planning process and did such an excellent job to make our day so very special. We used the stained glass hall for our ceremony and the Ben Franklin Hall for the reception. I addition, we also had our rehearsal dinner in the Pony Express the night before the wedding. Everything was beautifully setup and the entire night went perfectly. Annette met with us several times and answered hundreds of emails and questions . She truly is a saint and is so great at what she does. The Bolger Center is a wonderful all in one place to hold an event. It has beautiful, well-maintained grounds, an on-site hotel and catering, free parking, and they provide tables, chairs, linens, and dishes all built into the price. There are no extra fees at all! Thank you Bolger Center staff and especially Annette for helping to make my dream wedding come true!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
7/3/2011
4.9/5.0
The Bolger Center was a lovely venue for our daughter's wedding. Debbie Halpin, the wedding coordinator at the Bolger Center, was personable and professional, offering her advice and experience to make the wedding a memorable event. The Bolger Center also has a hotel, which made it very convenient for our out-of-town guests. The grounds are gorgeous and the location (in the middle of Potomac, MD) was exceptional - close to DC but pastoral and picturesque. We highly recommend the Bolger Center and Ms. Halpin.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allen
Wedding:
9/1/2013
4.8/5.0
Debbie and the folks at the Bolger Center made our wedding weekend a breeze and helped us craft an amazing weekend for everyone. From helping us make logistical decisions early on, through the wonderful food tasting and day-of details, Debbie was great and very accommodating to all our requests and questions. She worked with our day-of coordinators to make sure everything was ready and organized and the day went off brilliantly without a hitch!

The catering was also delicious and the Ben Franklin room where we had our reception looked great all decked out, including uplighting provided by the Bolger Center. They also had built in projection screens that we used to show a dance montage during the reception.
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Debbie Halpin was fantastic! Very attentive and responsive. She answered all of my questions and even provided thought provoking question that I hadn't thought of. Everything was wonderful at my 04/27/13 ceremony, cocktail hour and reception and all my guest loved the facility. We received so many comments from our guests on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. My out-of-state guests arrived several days prior to the wedding and had ample time to explore the property - coffee on the veranda, drinks by the fireplace, breakfast buffets, dinner in the evening at Osgood's - they loved it. The Stained Glass Hall was a perfect location for our wedding. Even the cocktail hour looked amazing! Mauricio, the banquet manager was diligent and got all the preparation just right. The staff flipped the room from a ceremony to a reception in a remarkable amount of time. I was impressed. The extra conference room was also a great addition, so we could gather the wedding party and have some organizational space away from the guests. On the night of the wedding, our guests were thrilled at the opportunity to attend an 'after party' at the pony express and the outdoor patio.
The only 4.0 I gave was on flexibility and that is because we personally would have preferred a 5 pm ceremony instead of starting at 7 (meaning our guests ate dinner late), but in the end, they didn't seem to mind and it all worked out.
Thank you so much to the staff at the Bolger Center for all of your hard work and coordination. I will gladly recommend this facility to all my friends.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jack
Wedding:
4/13/2013
4.8/5.0
Everyone at our wedding was in love with the venue. The Bolger Center has lovely grounds that were appreciated during our wonderful Spring wedding. The staff was very helpful, food delicious, and everyone noted that this was the best wedding ever. A few notes, as our wedding was done during the early Spring, the AC had not yet been turned on for some of the campus, so prior to our wedding it was very hot. The staff quickly assembled to provide fans and open windows for guests. The reception hall had wonderful AC. We were lucky that temps cooled down and we had a perfect wedding day! We were greeted with beautiful chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in our room after our event. Wonderful venue and wonderful people!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
The Bolger Center served as a perfect venue for our wedding. We had our ceremony in the Stained Glass Hall and our reception in the Franklin Ballroom. We worked with Debbie Halpin as our point person at the venue and she was so thorough and really took care of us. During the wedding reception, Mauricio Martinez was the banquet manager and he did an amazing job. We didn't have to worry about anything during the ceremony or reception, everything was taken care of and was done exactly as planned. Thank you to the Bolger Center for helping to make our day perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megha
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.8/5.0
I got married at the Bolger Center on September 29th. Besides the fact that it's a beautiful place to get married at, the people there were amazing! Working with Debbie Halpin was a great experience. They were very accomodating and very helpful. Not everything went smoothly (obviously it's wedding - never would it all go smoothly) but I have not one complaint against the Bolger Center and their staff. Debbie was very helpful and even gave me cute ideas for my signature drinks! We got our bridal suite extended at the last minute, which meant a lot to me!! We stayed at the honeymoon suite, which was also very nice! I would recommend this place to anyone for any parties, especially weddings! The entire staff went above and beyond and accomodated our every need.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311985339582-dscn1292
Shaina
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.8/5.0
Debbie (who was ALWAYS responsive right away with phone and email) and the Bolger staff were amazing. We were a little worried because the price per plate was a touch on the pricier side, but we ended up getting our money worth - and after all, we knew this wasn't a time to skimp on our budget. Debbie helped us plan out every little detail (and helped us think of something things we didn't even realize), added extra touches for us, and the staff made everyone feel welcome and invited on the day of. No request was too big or too small, and they were ALWAYS accommodating. Again, it was so nice to know that the little bit of extra money spent was well worth it - especially because no one had to worry about anything on the day of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1278728096418-dsc01664
Christina
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding at the Bolger Center in the Ben Franklin Hall on October 22nd. Annette Fulmore was our event manager and she really helped to make everything absolutely perfect! I would highly recommend the Bolger Center and Annette for any wedding, large or small for many reasons:

1. Hotel on site--super convenient for all guests even those not out of town that don't want to travel home at the end of the reception. The rates were very reasonable. We also stayed there in the bridal suite which was very nice.

2. After party venue on site--we had ours at the Pony Express until 2 AM which was an awesome way to end the night for those that wanted to keep partying! We ordered late night snacks, played music and everything.

3. Food--We are still receiving complements on the passed hors d'oeuvres and the main course, everything was absolutely delicious. We are big foodies so this was a huge deciding factor. The Bolger Center worked with us to provide a small tasting before we booked the venue and they were very flexible with customizing our menu to serve exactly what we wanted.

4. Beautiful grounds- Just driving by you can take notice of the beauty of the entire facility, it looks even better in the fall with all the leaves changing colors and was a great spot for photography.

5. Great venue space- The Ben Franklin Hall was recently renovated and has a lot of flexibility in terms of decor and creativity. We were able to do so much with the space and still seat 210 people for dinner with a large dance floor and lots of room to move around.

6. Annette! It was fabulous working with her. She truly listened to our wants and needs and helped us to create the perfect venue to meet our every expectation.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
I could not have chosen a better location. Seriously. If you can grab this place, get on top of it before they realize what a gem they have and start raising the prices. For starters, the grounds are beautiful, and if you have a wedding of under 170 people you can easily fit into the Stained Glass Hall which is absolutely GORGEOUS.

For seconds, there is no room fee. There IS a minimum, which means that you have to have a certain amount of guests (the minimum depends on which room you use). But it's not a bad minimum at all, and the Bolger Center covers EVERYTHING. The tasting, the tables, the linens, the glassware, the silverware, the top shelf open bar, the cocktail hour, the reception, the salad & entree courses, your choice of gold or silver chargers under the plates (SO classy), set-up, clean-up, a bridal suite before the ceremony to change in and a fantastic honeymoon suite... and not only that, but it can (if you want) include the ceremony and the changeover of the room from ceremony to reception.

We jumped on that as soon as we realized that we paid the same price, whether we had the ceremony there or not. The Stained Glass Hall used to be a sanctuary so it's the perfect place for a ceremony, and it also is a GREAT reception room. Also, the food is fantatic. We got rave reviews from all of our friends and family afterwards about the food, the service, the drinks, etc. I worried about absolutely NOTHING on the day of (although, I do suggest hiring a day-of coordinator to help with this). A couple of times the staff checked with me to make sure I was having a good time, and I was having a BLAST.

During the planning process there were times when I wished they'd return my emails faster, but I know I was just being an impatient bride. They always answered my questions within a week, and by the time we were 3-4 months out they were answering them within 48 hours, and the closer we got to the day of the faster they answered any questions I had as my wedding became more a priority

Having everything in one place was such a blessing... we took photos immediately following the ceremony on gorgeous grounds. We had our own parking lot for our guests. A lot of people spent the night there so that they didn't have to drive home afterwards. But it didn't have the feel of a cheesy hotel, and it definitely didn't have the price of one!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Camille
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.8/5.0
Excellent venue! We had the ceremoy and reception here! The food was excellent!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
We had a wonderful beautiful June wedding at the Bolger Center. We worked with Debbie and she was always responsive--she even responded within an hour to our 2am emails! The only negative experience we encountered is the room reservation staff was not always helpful to our guests, a few guests wanted to have an early check-in and were told to call the day they wanted to check-in to find out whether they would be able to. Also, we had some complications setting up our room block. The rooms we thought we had on reserve were only a courtesy hold and not a complete hold. Luckily, we were able to work with the room block staff to try to rectify the situation, but it took a number of calls and emails to sort it out. Other than these small problems, we had a fabulous event, friends and family loved the venue and its affordability, and the food was great. I will say that it is rare to have such a large event and people rave about the food, but they did.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
The Bolger Center was the perfect place for our Nigerian American wedding! It had excellent food, it was a beautiful space, and we loved that we could stay over! Annette was awesome in responding to every e-mail and phone call and willing to work with us with our budget and theme. We spent a little bit more then we wanted, but we were pleased with the venue. Our cocktail hour was supposed to be outside in the beautiful garden, but it rained a little so it had to be moved inside. Also, we lost a few items during the reception. But we had so much fun! I would recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lynno11
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.5/5.0
My wedding at the Bolger Center turned out perfectly. Annette was great at helping us see the big picture and helped us put all the little pieces together. She is really great at knowing what can and cannot be done with the facility. We had our ceremony out on the front lawn, the cocktail hour on a back garden patio, and the reception indoors. They have so many different spaces! The food is unreal. We are still getting comments on it. As the day got closer, it became a bit difficult to get everything tied down, but Annette is not an event planner, just the sales rep. I would suggest a day of coordinator for this site. The rooms are a bit small, but people really just slept in them anyway. At the end of the day, we had an amazing event and I wouldn't change anything.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/13/2008
4.4/5.0
The setting for our ceremony was absolutely perfect and they did a wonderful job directing our guests. Everything was magnificent!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1325134760138-meandbunches
Andrea
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.3/5.0
My reception at the Bolger Center was wonderful. Debbie Halpin did a great job assisting me during my planning process and provided everything that we needed for the wedding day.

Unfortunately, the power was out at the Bolger Center (hotel portion) so my guests were inconvenienced. If this did not occur, everything would have been perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
reebs0
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.3/5.0
Let me start by saying the Bolger Center grounds are absolutely gorgeous! We took a lot of pictures outside, and the green spaces and landscaping were amazing backdrops. We had our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception all at the Bolger. Our guests are still talking about how good the food was at the reception. It was so nice having everything at one venue, it took a lot of stress out of the scheduling. The hotel rooms were nice, the suites definitely offer a nicer space than the "deluxe" rooms and are worth the extra couple of dollars. In the A, B, C buildings behind the registration desk, there are a couple of great suites that overlook the woods and have a large balcony -- we used a couple of these for our dressing rooms.

A couple negatives about the venue -- communication was not great. Sometimes it too almost a week to respond to emails. Also, the Bolger can source a cake for you as part of the wedding package. We weren't happy with the selections after two different tastings and ended up using Just Cakes in Bethesda (they were awesome). So the planning process itself wasn't great, but the physical venue and the food were AMAZING. As with the other reviewer, I had a day-of coordinator which really helped out a lot. The grounds are a bit spread out, so the coordinator was able to run around all morning and manage the deliveries and setup.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.2/5.0
First I have to say that we really loved the Bolger Center in Potomac MD. The grounds are beautiful in the summer and it is very convenient with hotel rooms, a great restaurant, a large ball room that will hold 300 people, and a second restaurant for breakfast. Our coordinator was Annette Fullmore and she was wonderful!! She was very professional and organized every step of the way. We really enjoyed working with Annette. I would definitely recommend her to anyone. The Bolger Center caters on-site and the food is awesome! We had our rehearsal dinner on site at the Pony Express and loved it! We rented out the place and had such a great time. A wonderful atmosphere:) The ceremony, cocktail hour and reception went really well and we couldn't have been happier.
Our only complaint was with our hotel rooms. We(the bride and groom) had many issues with our rooms during the weekend. My family also has many issues over the weekend. We were disappointed with this but The Bolger Center worked out most of the problems and we were satisfied with the results. If it weren't for the room issues this would have been the absolute perfect weekend. In the end we are very happy with the Bolger Center and hope they fix some of the booking issues in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ekene
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.2/5.0
The venue for the reception was wonderful. The reception hall suited my needs. I was also able to use lighting to enhance the decor, the lighting was provided by the Bolger center. The coordinator, Debbie Halpin was a God send. She was very attentive, flexible and available. Debbie is very professional and a sweet lady, I would recommend her to any bride, you're in good hands with her!
The only aspect of the hotel that caused a bit of frustration was the booking of the hotel rooms. I found out that all of my bridesmaids were placed in different buildings at the Bolger center which would be a nightmare come time for makeup. It took some time but eventually the hotel manager was called to rectify the situation, it all worked out in the end.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg13
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.2/5.0
Thank you for catering to our needs on our Big day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.1/5.0
The Bolger Center is a beautiful venue! We had both our ceremony and reception in the stained glass hall. Planning leading up to the wedding was a headache. We worked with Annette and she seemed to be out of the office frequently and unable to return our emails promptly. A week before the wedding, we still didn’t have any idea how things were going to operate and didn't have exact room numbers the day of the wedding for the bridal party/vendors. The groomsmen got kicked out of the room designated for the “Kid’s Room” before the ceremony because staff used it as a place to set up tables/chairs, so the guys had to squeeze in with the bridesmaids in the bridal room. It was also a headache after the wedding. I found a charge randomly on my credit card from the Bolger Center with no explanation until I inquired about it. They said it was a charge from the rehearsal dinner which had already been paid for.

However, the staff during the reception was wonderful. They were professional and made sure we were fed and comfortable. Food was brought out promptly and according to schedule. We had some vegan friends so the Bolger Center offered vegan options. When they brought out a salad that they could not eat, the servers/kitchen staff brought something that they could eat which was really nice of them. We did get a complimentary bridal suite & honeymoon suite to stay. As for budget, they were able to cater to our budget and are flexible with their menu options, which was a huge PLUS.

In conclusion, if you want a beautiful venue but a difficult process before and after the wedding, go for it. But be warned that you will need to be the one to take initiative to ask about your wedding plans, details, and check your credit card statements for extra charges that they may slip in there without your authorization. It’s unfortunate that these smaller things made our experience bittersweet. But definitely a beautiful venue and great place for pictures outside!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happy
Wedding:
6/5/2011
2.8/5.0
I was extremely disappointed with the Bolger Center. It is a beautiful setting and in the end, it was fine, but the service from the beginning was not acceptable. The first point person we were given would not return calls or emails, so we were given another contact who seemed competent until the day of the wedding, when she was nowhere to be found. She had told me that the Bolger staff would work hand in hand with my day-of-coordinator. This did not happen at all! in fact, they were nowhere to be seen. My husband had to run out to stop our guests from going into the reception hall after the ceremony because the Bolger staff was not outside to point them towards the cocktail area as they had said they would be. Our DJ found our special vegan cupcake near her table sitting next to the bread (instead of in the kitchen) and she unwrapped the bread because guests were about to come in. The Bolger Center didn't put out the candles that were listed in our agreement, did not turn out the lights for our video (which we paid a lot for them to play so we wouldn't have to stress about it), did not have prepared the two special meals we requested for guests with dietary restrictions, did not bring food we requested to my husband and me between the ceremony and the reception. . .the list goes on and on. Our day-of-coordinator said that if she hadn't gone into the kitchen to ask about the salad course, it would have been extremely late. I was truly shocked by the disorganization of the Bolger Center staff on our wedding day. It made me think that staff quit that day or something. When our day-of-coordinator called them to give a report the next day, our point person didn't even have the decency to follow-up with me directly to see how I thought they day went as my day-of didn't even see some of the things that went wrong. That's when I knew that they were embarrassed by their service. I would not recommend the Bolger Center unless you tell your day-of-coordinator every single thing that they say they are going to do for you (unfortunately, I didn't), because you can not count on them to follow through.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
9600 Newbridge Drive, Potomac, MD 20854 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Bolger Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1386266726394-rsblog2