Nophoto-130

The Cake Stand

Mckinney , TX

LOCATION

McKinney, TX US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
3/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We already knew we were going to use the Cake Stand for our wedding cake because they have made birthday, graduation, and many other celebratory cakes for us in the past. All of the staff are friendly and so willing to work with very indecisive brides! Because Matthew doesn't like cake, they made him a cookie cake to match the wedding cake at a discounted price. That is just one of the many reasons why the Cake Stand easily deserves five stars!
**In a word: Delicious
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
1/26/2014
5.0/5.0
The Cake Stand made the most delicious cake for my daughter's wedding! It was super moist, decorated exactly the way my daughter wanted and they were so pleasant to work with. Guests are still raving about the cake and how wonderful it tasted! I've already recommended The Cake Stand to two of my friends who are planning weddings. It couldn't have been more perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eden
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the most delicious cake ever. We have gotten so many compliments on it already! We had both spice and lemon cake and can’t wait to get more! The cake was set up and looked beautiful when we got to the reception. My now husband and a few guests have severe nut allergies. I let the baker know, and the cake was nut free and did not affect the taste. The Cake Stand was very reasonably priced too. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of going to other cake tasting before going here… none measured up to the price or taste of the Cake Stand. Do yourself a favor, and at least go for the tasting- it will be time well spent.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1386367373487-photo-2-
a18yesdnil
Wedding:
11/16/2013
3.9/5.0
Delicious baker! Tammy was great for my consultation, and really focused on all the details. Our cake was spot on gorgeous and even better than when we had done our tastings. The shop itself was a little hard to keep in contact with-phones were not always answered, messages sometimes were mixed up or not received, and email does not seem to be the best form of contact for them, however the end result was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had such a delicious cake at our wedding thanks to The Cake Stand. We chose the amaretto flavor with buttercream and I would HIGHLY recommend it. The staff was a pleasure to work with and the cake design came out exactly like we requested.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
The Cake Stand did an outstanding job of giving us exactly the cake we wanted. It was beautiful as well as delicious. They helped us select the proper sized cake for our wedding and offered suggestions to make our idea come to life. There were plenty of options and flavors. They provided a cake tasting and even include a free fresh anniversary cake. They worked well with our vendor, The Bingham House, to coordinate the arrival of the cake. All at a very reasonable price. I wish there were a place here to post a picture. I would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1367349062352-img2561
Lori
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Tammy at The Cake Stand was fabulous! She was so easy to work with and the taste and quality of her cakes are excellent! We have had so many compliments on how pretty and absolutely delicious the cakes were. The grooms cake was chocolate with a raspberry bavarian filling with chocolate shavings piled on top. The brides cake was vanilla with english cream filling on the bottom layer, and chocolate with chocolate mousse for the top layer. Once our guests tried one piece many of them went back for more and to try the other flavors! You will not be disappointed with your wedding cake(s) should you choose The Cake Stand.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent cake. Moist and beautiful and yummy!!
Prices good especially for the DFW area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was wonderful and beautifully designed! During our cake sampling appointment, they closed the store, making us the center of their attention. They brought out pictures of several different cakes, and then ended up designing our own original cake. After tasting the different flavors, we ordered both our Bride's and Groom's Cake. On the day of, the cakes were delivered and set up in a timely manner, giving us one less thing to worry about.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/26/2012
4.5/5.0
Quality of the cake was amazing, they would have gotten a 5/5 but the customer service in the shop was a bit lacking in my opinion. Wedding cake tasting/ordering was exciting for me...she was less than enthusiastic. Guess when you make cake that great, you can let the level of service slack a bit. All in all, I recommend them. Absolutely.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1328975724857-imag1366
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
We got our Groom's Cake from The Cake Stand. We had a theme wedding, and so we wanted the cake to fit the theme. Our theme was Monty Python, so we had them design a cake that looked like the Holy Hand Grenade from MP and the Holy Grail. They did a FANTASTIC job, and considering our request, it really looked amazing. Almost too good to eat, but hey it was red velvet cake so who can resist that? And the cake itself was so good and moist! We had a lot left over, and it was still delicious and moist a week later!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I love The Cake Stand! They have done all my family cakes. We use them for Baby Showers, Bridal Showers and of course for my wedding! My wedding cake looked exactly like the picture I brought to them and I have never tasted a better cake in my life. We had a lot left over and I ate it 2 weeks later (as gross as that sounds but when you're on a diet for the previous 6 months you eat everything in sight) and it still tasted fresh and amazing! Love them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1315620169276-kevchels
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful & delicious & they even gave us a cake topper for our 1 year anniversary!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.6/5.0
Main complaint is that rarely does someone answer the phone. You usually have to leave a message and wait for a return call, but then sometimes they don't receive the message.
Delicious cake!
Flexible with us changing flavors at the last minute.
Competitive price with other wedding cake vendors in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessica
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.8/5.0
Cake turned out just as I imagined it, complete vision. The cake was great and delivered on time.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JLW
Wedding:
10/15/2010
4.4/5.0
The cakes were great and beautiful, as well. They were late to my wedding because someone didn't change the delivery time like I asked, but arrived just in time for the reception. They also didn't get the cake flavors right when I went in for a tasting. Other than that, if you want a delicious and gorgeous cake, go here - they will do what you ask and it's good value.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KynaKerby
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
The cakes were very pretty and taste wonderful cant go wrong here
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aatalcorn
Wedding:
8/6/2010
3.6/5.0
Our cakes tasted great and looked great. The only issue we had was that we had to rush to cut the cake at the reception due to the bride's cake leaning so much. We feared the cake wouldn't be standing much longer since it was leaning so much and rushed to cut it to prevent it from coming crashing down! It's fun to look at the pictures of what we call our "leaning tower of wedding cake"... just relieved it didn't come to a crash! The cake was delivered when the ceremony started to the venue and was only there maybe a maximum of two hours before we had to rush to cut it.
They also do not rent out cake stands, which we found out a few weeks before the wedding. Very few places in the DFW metroplex had cake stand rentals the size we needed and most would only rent them if you purchased the cake from them. So, if you are wanting a stand for your cake be prepared to buy one online. The cake tasted great and was decorated well though!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1263416569205-june2009174
Angelica
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The Cake Stand was wonderful to work with! They delivered our wedding cake on time and our cake was amazing, very fresh and yummy. Our left over cake was still good a week after our wedding, fresh and so good! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1253924697812-1001287
Kristin
Wedding:
6/12/2010
3.7/5.0
The Cake Stand provided a beautiful and great tasting cake for my wedding, but was not as professional as I had hoped. There was an issue with the time a stand rental was supposed to be returned and they called me on my honeymoon and left a message asking for a response. Of course this did not happen because I was out of the country and when I returned they were very hard to contact.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1245008810929-20080419sd087djs
evans900
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
This was the best cake ever! The created beautiful cakes for us (both a wedding cake and a groom's cake). We had a great cake tasting ahead of time to choose our flavors. The choices are so varied, which is nice. The cakes turned out beautiful. The wedding cake was white with black designs and the groom's cake was chocolate with a chocolate ganache spilling over the sides with chocolate curls on top. They were so delicious. We wanted more as soon as it was gone. As a huge bonus, they give you a free cake on your first anniversary so you don't have to save the cake top. I can't wait!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Parisa
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.8/5.0
The Cake Stand in McKinney was great. At first I was hesitant because the baker that our consultation/cake tasting was with was a bit abrupt and rude, but once she saw that we were serious and paid a deposit, things turned around. (not sure if this is because a lot of people come in for a "cake tasting" to eat free cake with the intention of not actually booking??) Anyways, they provided exactly the kind of cake we were looking for, and drew out a sketch of what our wedding cake would turn out like- which was flawlessly executed in the actual cake. In lieu of a groom's cake, we opted for oversized german chocolate cupcakes, which were phenomenal and cake out perfectly. On the day of the wedding, they delivered the cake and cupcakes over an hour late, but it turned out ok and we were extremely please with the end result :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie Holmes
Wedding:
5/9/2009
0.0/5.0
The cake stand definitely has a major lack of professionalism. My cakes were supposed to be delivered at my venue by 5:00 pm. Instead they came early before anyone was there, instead of waiting for further direction, they dropped the cakes off behind the bar and ran for it.
When I arrived there was no one to set up the cake, and my attendants had to set up the cakes on the table. My cakes looked beautiful, but during my 1st dance toppled over. They tasted good, but obviously the construction of a small 3 tier cake was not stable.
When I called that Monday to describe my wedding cake disaster, the owner was quick to give excuses and placed blame on anyone and everyone but herself. Let me list some of the reasons she gave: 1)Humidity(it was cold & breezy) 2)Movement, the cake had to have fallen because someone moved it(well yeah, shouldn't she have stayed to oversee that. 3) That it just doesn't happen to our cakes(earlier she told me about a similar situation that happened 3 years ago)
4)Someone knocked it over(no one was around it & the photographer & several guests noticed it leaning) 5)Also timing, it needed to be there 2 hours before your reception(our event started at 7pm, and they arrived before 5pm)
Do not trust them, or make sure you are firm with them that if they deliver your cake you had better be present, so you can oversee them. Otherwise they will blame you, the weather, the venue, or your guests.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
auburnaut
Wedding:
12/27/2008
5.0/5.0
This is a smalltown bakery with a wonderful sense of style and flair! I am so thrilled with our wedding cake and with the service that accompanied such a reasonable price. It was better than I had imagined and very pretty to look at!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1224628793159-silkytomcafemalaga
Silky
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
The cake stand was very accommodating in allowing us to co-create a wedding cake with a fountain on top. The cake was delicious and very reasonably priced.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
July Wedding
Wedding:
7/11/2008
3.7/5.0
The frosting was a little thin in places.

Overall the cake was wonderful and our guests like it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.3/5.0
Our bridal cake was exquisite! I brought in a picture of a cake I liked and they recreated it beautifully! It was exactly what we wanted and tasted AMAZING!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RANDI
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Our cake was not only beautiful but it was delicious! We went for a cake tasting and decided on the style and flavors of our cake and everything went seamless from there. Everyone who attended our reception commented on how good and pretty the cake was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karabelle
Wedding:
6/23/2007
3.4/5.0
My cakes were beautiful and tasted even better. I got a discount on the Groom's cake for ordering both from there.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Cake Stand
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo