130x130_sq_1317314866292-abc

The Castle at Maryvale

Lutherville , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

11300 Falls Road
Lutherville, MD US 21093 (map)

PHONE

410-308-8515

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Castle at Maryvale is a truly unique and unrivaled setting for your next event. Maryvale Castle's impressive exterior is a mere hint of the grandeur that lies within.This stunning... Read more
The Castle at Maryvale is a truly unique and unrivaled setting for your next event. Maryvale Castle's impressive exterior is a mere hint of the grandeur that lies within.This stunning gem, set amid 100 wooded acres, offers an idyllic backdrop for every special occasion. From fulfilling every girl's fantasy of the perfect storybook wedding to impressing the most discriminating clients, nothing rivals Maryvale for romance, elegance and charm.

For more information or to schedule a visit:

410-308-8515 | The Castle at Maryvale Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1916
When was your venue last renovated?
2006
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3500
Catering
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
3.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I could not have dreamed of a better location to have our wedding. Words cannot express how beautiful this venue is - so breath taking and unique. Our guests will not stop raving about how goregous it was. In my opinion, you cannot choose a better place! Perfect in every way.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding at the Castle at Maryvale in June. The castle provided a gorgeous setting for our special day. One nice thing about the castle is that you don't really have to decorate if you don't want to or can't afford it because it already has so much character and beauty on its own. The staff was great and we got so many compliments from our guests on how unique and beautiful the castle was. I highly recommend the Castle at Maryvale to any bride looking for a stunning venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1276119794299-newimage
Ana
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
The castle was a dream come true
All our guests said it made our day seem like a fairy tale
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
donna
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Maryvale Castle -- The Perfect Wedding/Reception Venue
Everything about our wedding reception at Maryvale Castle was absolutely perfect. The staff, especially Maria, was attentive, accommodating, and professional. The venue was storybook -- from the exceptional architecture, authentic furnishings, and striking stained and beveled glass windows and doors, to the manicured lawns and lush flowering trees and plantings. The preferred vendors were intimately familiar with the venue and equally flawless: Signature Catering (Kelly), Lasting Impressions DJ & Limousines (Kim & Ron), Rettberg Photography (Mary Ellen), Petal Pusher Florist (Debbie), and SugarBakers Cakes. Our guests raved enthusiastically during and after the event. Thank you Maryvale and Maria for making our special day unforgettable! I hope others get to enjoy a day as beautiful as ours at "The Castle".
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jj2009
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
I received so many compliments on the beauty of the castle. From the get-go, dealing with Maria and Trish was easy and enjoyable. They responded quickly to every one of my requests and were friendly and courteous throughout the process. Allison, who was on staff the night of our wedding, told the kids the lore of the castle - what great entertainment! We had a wonderful time and our guests were enchanted by the magic of the castle! I would highly recommend Maryvale.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SILVIA
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
The castle was part of a beautiful fairytale. Family and friends are still commenting on its beauty. Maria was a pleasure to work with, always very responsive and flexible. I would definitely recommend Maryvale.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
If you are looking for a unique, elegant and beautiful venue Maryvale is the place. We had our wedding here recently and it was amazing. Many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The only drawback is the size of the venue. It can only accomodate 80 or so inside for dinner...and you will have to factor in the extra cost of flaps and heaters to accomodate folks outside. They also only allow 2 caterers on site...but Linwoods is amazing esp Sherri. And Maria at Maryvale was wonderful to work with. Between those two powerhouse women I did not need a wedding coordinator. If you are thinking about booking Maryvale I recommend you do it...you will not be dissaponted.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SherryJanssen
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.8/5.0
Maryvale was a breathtaking venue. They were professional and responsive, however, due to the venue being a private school during the day, there were certain limitations and restrictions that were a challenge to work around.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
This venue is absolutely stunning! Maria was a pleasure to work with. There are a few constraining rules, but it is understandable given the history and age of the location. The "home" atmosphere made our wedding seem even more personal and intimate. I can't wait to come back in 10 years to celebrate there again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1342201348977-befunkycrossprocess1
Meg
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.6/5.0
The Castle at Maryvale is a picturesque location that is perfect for the fairytale wedding. Maria is amazing and full of great ideas to really make the most of the space. My guests were so impressed with the venue that we are still getting compliments. We fell in love with the space the moment we laid eyes on it, so happy we became husband and wife there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1291096281769-headshot
Amanda
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.6/5.0
The Castle at Maryvale was a beautiful location for our spring wedding. It is a lovely, historical location for the perfect romantic wedding. I myself had no problems with Maria as other reviewers have mentioned. She was always very courteous and helpful when we spoke. We used Linwoods as our caterer, and Sherri was fabulous with answering questions that may have had. She knows what can and cannot be done at the castle. I was very understanding of the limits and restrictions that were in place at the castle. When choosing most any historical venue for a wedding there are going to be restrictions. The only thing I wish had been different was when we were there on Saturday for our rehearsal, the lawn in back was severely over-do to be cut. Being that we were married on a Sunday, holiday wkd, it was not going to be done before the wedding. The rope lighting under the awning also needs to be replaced as there are several sections that are out. A main section right over the center of the terrace where the ceremony took place was the most obvious. And because there was a little wind the day of the wedding, the section of the awning that would have covered the lights had flipped over, exposing the sections where the lights were out. It just wasn't attractive in our photos. All the exposed rope lighting had to be Photoshopped out. And these 2 things are minor issues in the end. We would not have changed our venue for anything. Our guests could not say enough about our "Fairytale Castle Wedding." So, thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teaira
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.6/5.0
I could not have asked for a more beautiful setting for our wedding day. Maria was awesome to work with, and attending their open house helped me secure mast of my vendors I needed. It is on the pricey side and there are restrictions on what you can and cannot do because it is a historic place, but I would pick no where else!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1272511460075-img2638
Lorna
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.6/5.0
I fell in love with the Castle at Maryvale as soon as I saw it and we had a fantastic Wedding experience there. Unfortunatly, the Castle only allowed 3 caterers at the time and the one we chose, Mt. Vernon went bankrupt with our $5,000 deposit. The team at Maryvale were extremely attentive and worked with us to save the situation. We ended up with Linwoods and it was perfect. The Castle is beautiful and a wonderful venue. The rules are a little inflexible but I completely understand why they exist (no red wine which can stain the ornate rug) etc. but it is a historic mansion and Religous school so it is understandable. If you are interested in a unique venue this is perfect. We had a phenomenal wedding and enjoyed every minute there. It is a little pricey but again you are paying for a wonderful experience. One downside, they could use more restrooms for the guests. Otherwise, you should def. check it out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
I did not want the traditional ballroom for my wedding so when I found the castle I knew it was perfect. You have to like vintage and historical things to like this venue. The only bad thing about the castle is that they do have some rules that you can not change. Such has speakers are not allowed to be outside. However, if you get a good DJ they can work around this. Also, none of the furniture can be removed from the room that it is in. So again you have to like historical things because they are staying there if you like it or not. However, you get the whole castle for your reception which is always a plus!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1296583414097-img0380
Lizzy
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.4/5.0
I loved the Castle! It was a wonderful venue, my guests had a wonderful time and Maria was so helpful. The pictures were beautiful! The only reason I didn't give it a full 5/5 was the catering situation. You only have two options, one is outrageously priced, the other is more reasonable but the service was not excellent. We went with the less expensive option, the food was okay, but the service was not what we expected. We were unhappy with the caterer, and felt there should have been other options for catering. But the castle itself was wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ljspychalski
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.4/5.0
Perfect place for a fairytale princess wedding! The only castle in Maryland. The staff at Maryvale were very attentive and professional. We were able to take advantage of a special "open house" rate which saved us a considerable amount of money. We were married in June and the grounds were simply gorgeous. The venue is so gorgeous that you don't need much for flowers and decorations. It was perfect! Plus, we are both Catholic and were able to get married in the Catholic chapel. We had 136 guests. It was a little warm and humid, the air conditioner wasn't doing the trick in the Great Hall. We were a little warm. We went to one place...and booked it the next day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
3/11/2005
4.3/5.0
I would highly recommend using this vendor. They did everything they could to help make my wedding perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.1/5.0
Maryvale is pretty strict when it comes to their rules, however, you can't beat the location, the atmosphere that the castle provides and the wow factor. We are soo happy we had our wedding here and already have a lot of beautiful pictures and memories to share with friends and family.

There are restrictions on sound outside and you are limited to 2 caterers (at this point in time, they may add more). They are also very strict on your timeline. If you go over the end time by even 15 minutes, you'll get charged. We were also told at the beginning that we wouldn't know when our rehearsal would be until 2 months before the wedding date and that it might not be the Friday before our wedding (pending school activities), which kind of worried us, but we talked to our caterer (Linwoods) and they assured us that doing the rehearsal the night before has never been a problem, and it turned out just fine.

There's a bridal suite and a groom's room (which we found to be rare), that were so helpful for getting ready and great for pictures. The castle layout is wonderful because it allows your guests to roam around and explore so they don't feel trapped in one room, sitting in their chair all night. And, hey, it's awesome to say you got married in a castle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg20
Barb
Wedding:
4/16/2005
4.1/5.0
This was the ultimate place to have my daughters fairy tale wedding. The Castle is beautiful, romantic and so unique very little additional decorations were necessary. I've read many complaints about Maria, but I don't have a one. She was helpful, responsive and very pleasant to work with. She is simply doing her job upholding the rules. Though some might feel they are restrictive, the beauty of the venue far outweighs any restrictions. We thought having only two caterers to choose from would be a problem. It turned out to be a blessing. Linwoods is THE best! If you’re looking for a distinctive place to hold your wedding/reception this is it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.0/5.0
I had a Fall wedding in October at the Castle at Maryvale. I am so in love with this place. It was like a fairytale wedding. Our reception was outside on a perfect fall day. My guests were blown away by it being a castle and how gorgeous it is both inside and outside. There are some strange rules regarding things you can't do, but you can work around them. It is a stunning venue and I sad that I dont have a reason to visit it anymore.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
9/23/2007
4.0/5.0
The castle is a beautiful venue. It was perfect for our event and anyone who is looking for something a little out of the ordinary would do well to consider it. It was a little bit pricey and only allows 2 caterers to provide food and drink, which limits your bartering on price with the caterers. But Maria was very friendly and helpful, and we got nothing but positive feedback from our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/15/2007
3.9/5.0
Beautiful Venue! Had a small problem trying to book the Rehearsal, they wanted us to have it on Thursday for a Saturday wedding when everyone (including my groom and I) were from out of town. They ended up moving things around and letting us do it on Friday. The only complaint I really have is that they only have a choice of 2 caterers, which can be nice because they knew the venue so well, but we were not a fan of the food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monique
Wedding:
6/18/2011
3.8/5.0
We found the venue online and new it was just for us. We were more than pleased with the location, though the event specialist Maria was a little overbearing. We had hired our own wedding coordinator and she refused to give up control. Overall, we loved this place would recommend it to anyone looking for that "fairy tale" wedding location.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ponygirl30
Wedding:
10/2/2011
3.6/5.0
Maryvale Castle is a wonderful venue for a reception. It's romantic and a great backdrop for photos. We had a great time as well as our guests. Maria quickly said the band we chose would simply not work because they were too large. They did work and everyone working that night said they were the best band they've heard there. When I met with my florist there Maria would not stop talking about what her family did when her son or daughter got married there. She followed us the entire time making it difficult to work with my florist. I wish Maryvale had someone that was more supportive to the actual bride getting married there. I've heard this same thing about her from several people.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/23/2008
3.4/5.0
We originally chose Maryvale because we wanted an outside reception but we didn't want a tent & the covered terrace area was exactly what we were looking for. It was a bit on the pricey side but we liked that the site fees were given to Maryvale Preparatory School. Maria was very helpful answering our many questions throughout the planning process & the grounds & castle made for some amazing wedding photos. We didn't like the fact that they would only allow us to choose between three caterers because the two caterers that were in our price range didn't have very good food. Our biggest disappointment was that we had arranged for the main entrance gate to be opened as it would provide our guests with a scenic drive directly to the round about in front of the castle (instead of the less than attractive school entrance), we had even printed the appropriate directions in our ceremony program. We don't know where the disconnect was but the gate was not opened & in turn guests had to find their own way to the other entrance. I would definitely recommend this as a reception venue but I would ensure that all your plans are well communicated to both the Maryvale & catering coordinators, although they should be communicating it didn't appear that they were.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AprilCherryBlossomWed
Wedding:
4/4/2009
3.2/5.0
The Castle is a beautiful venue! However, keep in mind that Maryvale is limited on how flexible they can be because it is part of the school. They were not very flexible on the timing of a rehearsal or the placement of furniture, or the use of the awnings outside. However, what made our wedding amazing was the fact that we worked with Mt. Vernon Caterers (one of their exclusive caterers) and they new all of the rules and how to make our event the best it could be in spite of the Maryvale property restrictions. Book the castle for your wedding and reception and work with Mt. Vernon Caterers--they will make your wedding awesome!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey929
Wedding:
10/9/2010
2.9/5.0
The Castle at Maryvale is a beautiful location & I knew as soon as I saw it that that was where we were getting married! The views are incredible & the castle itself is stunning. I couldn't imagine getting married anywhere else. We did find Maria to be very helpful at the beginning but we found that quality to decline after we signed the contract & gave our deposit. The rules are strict but completely warranted. We just felt that Maria wasn't honest with us from the beginning about these so we were surprised by them. Just be sure ask lots of questions & take notes of the answers so you have them to reference. None the less, the castle provided a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony & reception. It really felt like a royal wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
9/25/2008
1.8/5.0
The Castle was absolutely beautiful and the wedding turned out great, BUT...Maria was not very friendly and came in during my rehersal to hurry everyone out, because she scheduled us for a 20 minute rehersal and had another right behind us. She even waited outside the bathroom to make sure that one of my bridesmaids didn't take too long. For the price, you would think they would be a little more accomodating.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicco
Wedding:
6/7/2008
1.8/5.0
The Castle at Maryvale was a beautiful site to have our wedding. However, we probably would not have chosen them if we knew how rude their staff was going to be - especially the event coordinator. In addition, there was a wedding prior to my wedding on June 7th and the staff did not clean the bathrooms between weddings. I had both the ceremony and reception at the Castle at Maryvale and felt really rushed - they have experience with weddings and should have suggested starting my ceremony at 5 or 5:30 PM opposed to 6 PM. Their guidance to us was really poor, but the beauty of the venue made up for some of these issues. I would definitely shop around before choosing them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
10/15/2007
1.6/5.0
Its a beautiful venue for a wedding, but they could case less about working with the couple.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
11300 Falls Road, Lutherville, MD 21093 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Castle at Maryvale
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo