130x130_sq_1393276787778-heysteckportraits7520cop

The Cheney Place

Grand Rapids , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1600 Monroe Ave NE
Grand Rapids, MI US 49505 (map)

PHONE

616-304-6261

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your wedding is Your Day! Family and friends join together to celebrate the two of you. Let us help you make it memorable. Come to the Cheney Place for your wedding reception.
A... Read more
Your wedding is Your Day! Family and friends join together to celebrate the two of you. Let us help you make it memorable. Come to the Cheney Place for your wedding reception.
A Design of Your Own
The Cheney Place environment offers you the opportunity to design your wedding reception exactly the way you want it. Open spaces and wood-beamed ceilings, are counterbalanced by the warmth of old floors and brick walls. Whatever you have in mind-from satin-covered chairs around silk covered tables to checkered table-cloths and picnic benches, and everything in between-The Cheney Place can make it happen.
Planning Made Easier
To make your planning easier, we will introduce you to a variety of service providers. Or you are welcome to use those you know and would like to work with. Either way, at The Cheney Place our objective is simple-to make your wedding reception a unique and lasting experience. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1393276266729-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393276269279-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393273388566-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393273376378-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393273382504-9.22.1
130x130_sq_1393273317346-stoffer-detail-sho
130x130_sq_1393276272285-details-00
130x130_sq_1393273379489-details-06
130x130_sq_1393273384983-details-01
130x130_sq_1393273391973-details-02
130x130_sq_1393273397991-details-10
130x130_sq_1393273395309-heystekreception-3020cop
130x130_sq_1393273211235-decoration
130x130_sq_1393275952766-stoffer-logo-ma
130x130_sq_1393272833001-industrial-patio-lights-at-tc
130x130_sq_1393272731866-img599
130x130_sq_1393272907975-10.26.12-entranc
130x130_sq_1393272964280-details-09
130x130_sq_1393272704415-caged-light
130x130_sq_1393272874408-stoffer-ba
130x130_sq_1393272795766-stoffer-bar-men
130x130_sq_1393272828363-lounge-furnitur
130x130_sq_1393272840925-stoffer-lounge-are
130x130_sq_1393272830359-outside-window-shot-of-tc
130x130_sq_1393272825886-outside-evening-shot-of-tc
130x130_sq_1393275946871-heystekreception-14220cop
130x130_sq_1393276471008-heysteckportraits7520cop
130x130_sq_1393275948685-heysteckportraits28420cop
130x130_sq_1393277093756-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393268466755-435a698
130x130_sq_1393268512411-435a701
130x130_sq_1393268683908-435a708
130x130_sq_1393268724600-435a700
130x130_sq_1393268772416-435a713
130x130_sq_1393268819974-435a715
130x130_sq_1393268962626-435a709
130x130_sq_1393269007319-435a713
130x130_sq_1393269052095-435a710
130x130_sq_1393269149463-435a708
130x130_sq_1393275116045-stoffer-coupl
130x130_sq_1393275208886-stoffer-piano
130x130_sq_1393275042299-stoffer-receptio
130x130_sq_1393275178581-stoffer-guest-tabl
130x130_sq_1393276473947-heysteckdetails6520cop
130x130_sq_1393276468596-heystekreception-5320cop
130x130_sq_1393275070452-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393275283972-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393275281577-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393276476273-travis--jessi-the-cheney-place-grand-rapids-weddin
130x130_sq_1393275110366-reception-14
130x130_sq_1393275143242-details-06
130x130_sq_1393275146651-details-12
130x130_sq_1393275072882-9.22.12-guest-tabl
130x130_sq_1393275236519-9.22.12-head-tabl
130x130_sq_1393275253584-img602
130x130_sq_1393275155114-img600
130x130_sq_1393275082040-img602

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1916
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Farm / Barn, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Modern, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
450
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2600
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
We choose The Cheney Place for many reasons: it's unique, factory meets modern look, convenient location, free parking, being able to choose whatever vendors we wanted, and having flexibility to make our reception really tailored to us.
It was great to work with their staff, everyone was very helpful and understanding, giving ideas and suggestions as needed. We had some hick-ups at the beginning, since they are still a newer venue and working out there pricing and policies. Once we talked with the owner about our concerns things went smoothly.
ADVICE: Read contracts carefully and watch for vendors trying to make changes after the fact!
The space itself is amazing and we had so many complements on it. The old factory windows let in gorgeous sunset lighting adding to the event atmosphere. They've done a great job mixing in new, modern design elements in with the old charms of the original factory building. The space is huge and flexible, so you can arrange tables and seating as needed to maximize the space and help control the follow of guests/event.
I would recommend The Cheney Place to couples looking for something unique and modern. It can be dressed up or dressed down to fit your style.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendra
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
The Cheney Place is an amazing spot to host any event! The space has a great balance of rustic and modern elements which makes it very unique and full of character! The staff (specifically Audrey) is great to work with as she consistently put my detail-oriented brain at ease. She responded quickly and had the place set up exactly how I imagined it (actually, better!). Once we arrived there for our reception, we knew immediately that they had everything under control and we didn't have to worry about a thing. We are SO happy we went with TCP for our reception and would recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
4/12/2014
4.7/5.0
I knew I wanted a rustic feel for my wedding reception and The Cheney Place provided just that. We chose to pay a little more for the all-inclusive package which meant that they did all of the setup and take down for the reception. Definitely worth it. It is a beautiful space and the reception turned out better than I could have imagined. Audrey was very quick to resond to any questions I had and was easy to work with. Due to weather, we weren't able to take any pictures outside on the day of the wedding so we did pictures on the second floor of The Cheney Place and they turned out wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
The Cheney Place is an amazing place to host your wedding reception. The staff is so accommodating and was always easy to communicate with and answering my questions. The space is an old warehouse so it has a very rustic feel to it where you are able to customize it the way you want it--you pick all of your own vendors. We had a winter wedding where we had a shuttle service and we were able to decorate the venue the day before. Everyone complimented on the warm feel of The Cheney Place. I couldn't be happier to have had my wedding reception there. Thanks again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Audrey and Aleece were the easiest to work with. They went out of their way to accommodate us the whole weekend. The venue is beautiful and has so much character. My guests continue to talk about the atmosphere and how neat the building was from our wedding night. I have no complaints and would highly recommend using them :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
The Cheney Place is an amazing place to host your wedding. Aleece is fantastic and is always on top of answering my questions. The space is to die for and you can really customize it to whatever your needs are. I couldn't have asked for a better venue for my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Absolutely wonderful place. They truly take care of you and have everything available for the perfect wedding reception. Couldn't have been happier with the venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kaitlyn
Wedding:
7/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a fantastic experience at this venue. I loved the old warehouse feel and the building has so much character. I was blown away with the transformation for the reception. It was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Cheney Place responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Kaitlyn! We so enjoyed getting to help you and your family celebrate your special day! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We used The Cheney place for our wedding reception and had a very positive experience. The staff was accommodating to our needs and very helpful in the weeks leading up to the wedding. The venue allowed us to bring in our decorations and also has décor that they offer to their brides for use at their event. The staff worked with our vendors and took away our stress the day of our wedding. It was a lovely space to use for our reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I booked the Cheney Place after seeing pictures online! I wasn't living in town yet, but after seeing pictures and [making] my husband go look at it for me-I booked it! they worked really well with me, were the right price at the time, and were still making updates! By the time my wedding rolled around it was everything that I had wanted, and the "look" of this venue was simple but has enough of its own character that I didn't have to do too much to make it look exactly how i wanted-which is what i needed in a venue! Over-all I would totally recommend this venue to anyone whole loves this look!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Cheney Place responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your positive review! :) It's our goal to make your reception everything you hoped it would be, and we're so happy you enjoyed your day!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
My husband and I absolutely loved having our reception at The Cheney Place!!! It is such a cool building, and all of our guests loved it. The owners of the venue are incredible people and is a large part of what made our experience so wonderful. They were very easy to work with, extremely accommodating, and very reliable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanne
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Lynn, Victor, and Aleece Hansen are fabulous! The Cheney Place was the perfect venue for us to host our daughter's wedding reception! We found them just as their venue opened and we were able to book it...I think that will be more difficult in the future because this venue is AMAZING!!! From the lighting to the bride and grooms elevator entrance, everything was perfect!!! Thank you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1600 Monroe Ave NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49505 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Cheney Place
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo