130x130_sq_1342212945348-exteriorbuildingshot001

The Citizen Hotel

Sacramento , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

926 J Street
Sacramento, CA US 95814 (map)

PHONE

916-492-4430

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Citizen Hotel ushers in a new era of luxury in downtown Sacramento. Nowhere else in the city will you find anything like the Metropolitan Terrace with classic sophistication, a... Read more
The Citizen Hotel ushers in a new era of luxury in downtown Sacramento. Nowhere else in the city will you find anything like the Metropolitan Terrace with classic sophistication, a breathtaking 7th floor view of the city, locally and seasonally inspired cuisine and black tie service. For your wedding, nothing but the best will do.

The Citizen Hotel offers 20th century grace redefined by 21st century urban luxury. The ambiance is modern and intelligent – a celebration of wit, culture and tradition. Our guests’ experience is always unique, definitely one of a kind and most certainly, unforgettable. The Citizen’s commitment to unsurpassed quality and service promises that your visit will forge its place in your own history. Read less
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tawna
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
I feel like I was a pretty needy bride :) And without Michelle's help at The Citizen Hotel, there is no way I could have planned our beautiful wedding in 3 months. Everything was perfect. The food was amazing, the rooms were clean, the venue area was beautiful and the staff was more than helpful. I can't say enough good things about this venue/hotel. We could not have chosen a better venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can’t say enough amazing things about this venue. It is beautiful and the staff is very courteous and go above and beyond to make sure you have the best day possible. My guest loved the accommodations as well as the ability to go right from their room to all of the wedding activities. The food was fabulous and the guests are still raving about it and loved the high quality service they received. They staff at the citizen went above and beyond to give us a dream day even helping us organize a post weeding brunch for 50 the week before the wedding. We had a beautiful day and couldn’t have asked for more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marie
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful location. Amazing staff. I knew I wanted my wedding here before I was even engaged. The view from the 7th floor Terrace is beautiful and we loved the decor of the hotel. We stayed in the penthouse suite and the governor's suite and loved both rooms. Both rooms had balconies overlooking Sacramento. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I mainly worked with 3 ladies and they were all wonderful. They made everything so easy and were always quick to respond to my emails (all of the millions of emails I sent them). Everything turned out exactly how we imagined it. I wouldn't have changed a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
Steph
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with our choice of ceremony venue.  The Citizen is a lovely hotel that provided us with some grorgeous views of Sacramento. Everyone at The Citizen Hotel went above and beyond for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jessjames
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved the Citizen Hotel from the moment we toured this venue. The hotel is stunning and so unique. All the staff was so helpful. I just loved the reception space. We couldn't of picked a better venue to have our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KFields
Wedding:
4/6/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough good things about our recent wedding at the Citizen. Michelle and Harmony were extremely attentive from the first time we contacted the venue and through to our wedding day. Michelle, in particular, made our day perfect through her incredible attention to detail. There was not a single mistake made, which is no small task when we had so many requests and last minute changes. She also conducted our rehearsal, which took so much weight off my shoulders the day before when I was about to crack! The serving staff also went above and beyond to make sure we got to enjoy dinner and they even left champagne and left overs in our room for us to enjoy after the wedding was over.

As for the venue itself, it really speaks for itself. The tented 7th floor terrace with a view of the capitol is exquisite to the point that minimal decorations are necessary. The food is local and sustainable and tasted every bit as good as during our tasting at the Grange. The food at the cocktail hour got especially rave reviews. The hotel put guests with children on the same floor as the terrace, so some families put their kids to bed and then were able to return to the reception to dance! The bell staff was also extremely helpful over and over with all of our stuff and multiple cars going in and out of valet. I can go on and on, but definitely do yourself a favor and book your wedding at the Citizen and you won't be sorry!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
knschroeder
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
This is a gorgeous hotel! We had our wedding here in November of 2011 and would not have changed a thing about the hotel. We had our ceremony in the Historic Ballroom on the first floor, then guests moved up to Scandals on the second floor for the cocktail hour and then the reception was on the seventh floor terrace with a view of the whole city! We also stayed in the Governor's Suite the night of our wedding which allowed us to have access to the balcony for pictures on wedding day. Absolutely ideal venue for a classic and romantic wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nicole
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Selecting The Citizen Hotel for our wedding venue was a decision we will never ever regret. The staff went above and beyond to make our day special, the Metropolitan Terrace was the perfect set up for our ceremony and reception, the prices for our hotel guests were extremely reasonable, and overall, they just really made our day everything and more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucky
Wedding:
7/29/2011
5.0/5.0
This review is specifically for Melissa. We began the process with Harmony and were quite frustrated. She did not respond quickly to emails and forgot details that we had stressed were key for us. When we were notified that Melissa would be taking over, we were quite worried, thinking, "This is what you hear about online. Someone new taking over your wedding halfway through." It was such a blessing though! Melissa replied quickly, solved problems, and assisted us better than we could have wished for. She is so sweet and knowledgeable. Ask for her only!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanoa
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Amazing! Old Hollywood Glamour right in Downtown Sacramento! The cocktail reception in Scandal was a real treat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.9/5.0
My husband first found The Citizen Hotel for our first anniversary after we started dating. After he proposed, we knew we wanted to have our wedding there. We had to book it over a year in advance because we wanted the last Saturday in April, but it was definitely worth the wait. Lisa, the in-house wedding concierge, was fantastic to work with. The food was absolutely spectacular, and it was served family-style instead of buffet, so none of our guests had to wait and watch while other guests got their food. The only downside was that we had to end the reception at 11pm, even though we would have loved to keep the party going.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/19/2013
4.9/5.0
Very thorough and made my day incredible. Willing to meet my needs and assist in whatever way was needed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marsha
Wedding:
12/6/2013
4.8/5.0
I love Sabrina Watts who originally booked my wedding. She is in charge of catering and is the most amazing person the citizen could ever ask for in an employee. Lisa Hibdon was my wedding planner and was sweet and efficient.
The citizen is amazing for weddings! They have it down to a science! Only draw back is the added service fees and the break down of the BEO's are difficult to understand at times. But the food is amazing and the hotel staff are wonderful!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.8/5.0
The second we walked into the check-in of The Citizen, we knew it would be our wedding venue. We absolutely loved the view, the decor, the staff, the ease of booking, the open communication, the assigned planner....EVERYTHING. The day went off without a single flaw (or if there were flaws we never knew!) and every single one of our guests commented on how perfect the hotel was. From the booking, to the tasting session, to spending my bachelorette night there, to the actual weekend event, everything was absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
geminix03
Wedding:
3/31/2012
4.8/5.0
This review is for the wedding/catering management and the hotel as a wedding venue itself. Initially, it was difficult to get a hold of someone to set up tours and discuss booking, but I believe this was because the staff was in flux at the time. Once Sabrina began handling our event, it was smooth sailing. Sabrina was very patient while my fiance and I went over the contract with a fine-toothed comb. She was able to address all of our concerns, answered all of our questions, and was very accommodating. When we booked the venue, we knew we had chosen the right place.

Our day of coordinator was Michelle who was top-notch. I first met her at our menu tasting; she's charming, kind, and knowledgeable. I felt I could ask her the smallest/stupidest questions. I did most of the planning long-distance so prompt e-mails were important to me. Michelle and I were able to communicate most things through e-mail, and she did a great job making sure I didn't forget anything. On the day of the wedding, I honestly did not worry about a thing. I had such a wonderful time and it's because Michelle took care of everything. She helped make it an event to remember.

My guests were impressed with the decor at the Citizen - I had many compliments on how beautiful and elegant the setting was. The terrace, along with the Capitol Building in the background, is breathtaking. I heard many people say that the food was fantastic, and one person said it was the best wedding food he's ever had.

The guests also loved how each room is unique. The Reservations Manager, Megan, was also very easy to work with and allowed me to change many things, even at the last minute. We were in the Governor's Suite for the wedding, and the room is, of course, fabulous.

My only critiques would be that there is no free wi-fi, but you can sign up for the Joy of Life Club and get free wi-fi that way. Parking can also be a concern, especially if you are part of the wedding party and need to go to and fro. But we all managed. Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our wedding and feel the Citizen Hotel did a fantastic job. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmotia
Wedding:
7/2/2011
4.8/5.0
We had the perfect wedding at The Citizen! I really would not have changed anything. Their on-staff wedding coordinator was wonderful, and tons of help leading up to the day. The venue is so beautiful you barley need any decoration, and it was very convenient for all our out of town guest.

Most of our vendors had all worked at the Citizen before and knew what was going on, this meant a lot less stress for me!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.7/5.0
My husband and I are so happy that we decided to host our wedding at The Citizen Hotel. We had a beautiful ceremony and reception in the Metropolitan Terrace, and a great cocktail hour in the Ballroom. We were so very impressed with the helpfulness with our event coordinator (we worked with Michelle, but mostly Lisa) - every question we had was immediately answered, and Lisa was so thorough and genuinely cared about our happiness. We absolutely loved working with Lisa throughout the whole process! We booked a block of rooms at the hotel, and everything was handled quite smoothly and efficiently, which was a great help to us. The Citizen made us feel welcomed and special each time we met or called in the planning process, and we were confident in their staff. We were also treated so well during our tastings and enjoyed meeting with the banquet chef; however, the quality of the food on our wedding day was slightly less delicious than we had originally tasted. The food was still very good don't get us wrong, but the quality of the food we had at the original tasting was much higher than at the reception (perhaps the difference in cooking for 4 vs cooking for 175?).
Overall, we couldn't have imagined a more prefect venue for our wedding - we cherish the memories we made there, and appreciate all the hard work of the Citizen staff!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.3/5.0
My contact was extremely helpful and kind as was the event staff the evening of my wedding. Up until the wedding communication was a little tough to make happen but ultimately everything went without a hitch. I would recommend a separate day-of coordinator to work in coordination with the planner the venue provides. I took time to make sure all of my questions were answered (which sometimes involved multiple e-mails and phone calls) but if you do not have the time to do this I would suggest a wedding planner.
A GORGEOUS venue, seriously, could not be prettier. The food was delicious and we kept hearing great feedback from all of our guests.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1319989899742-232323232fp5399nu325234667wsnrcg36756796432nu0mrj
Lesley
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.2/5.0
Perfect venue for a gorgeous wedding and reception all under one roof. We wed and had the ceremony under the 7th floor Terrace. Spectacular views of the Capitol and amazing food.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
8/28/2010
4.2/5.0
We had an amazing wedding weekend at the Citizen Hotel. With both the ceremony and reception at the hotel it was perfect not only because it's beautiful but almost 75% of our guest were from out of town, so having everything in one building was ideal. We did do cocktails at Scandal which was a little tight for 130 people but everyone looked to be having a good time.

The staff at the Citizen were great. Harmony (the coordinator) is wonderful and handles the whole day for you. All I did was provide my seating chart (I used the Martha Stewart seating chart tool), names of the vendors that would be making deliveries and all the little extras in a box and Harmony executed it flawlessly. The group that handles the room block were wonderful in updating me as to who booked and who from my guest list booked but may not have booked under our room block so I had an accurate total for our hotel welcome gift bags.

The surrounding area is a little dodgy on the weekends so I highly recommend providing your guests and map and suggestions of places to go in midtown.

I highly recommend the Governors suite for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready (I had 5 bridesmaids and there was plenty of room for 2 makeup artists and 3 hair stylists). The balcony is ideal for pictures and relaxing before the ceremony.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bb3
WHILL
Wedding:
11/13/2010
2.1/5.0
How sad were are to be giving this bad review... although our wedding was gorgeous and the most amazing day of our lives, the lack of attentiveness by Citizen event staff and the mistakes in our menu are too much of a disappointment. It is a shame because the actual hotel staff and the venue are AMAZING! My only recommendation to other couples is that if you choose the Citizen, which you should because the venue is amazing... make sure you have you own wedding planner to make your event happen, because the Citizen event staff are not very helpful at all! We recommend Lora Ward with A Day to Remember!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hellohello
Wedding:
3/12/2011
1.4/5.0
From the beginning we fell in love with this beautiful venue, they have a gorgeous tented terrace. We picked the Citizen Hotel for two main reasons - first because we loved the look of the terrace and then also it was convenient for our out of town guests (most of our guests were coming from outside of Sacramento).
However, I am sad to say that if we could do it all over again, knowing what I know now, I would not pick the Citizen Hotel again. The staff in the events department is OBVIOUSLY understaffed. Even with a wedding planner, it was difficult to communicate with the staff there. I had to send multiple emails and leave multiple phone calls in order to get any response. Although the day in itself was beautiful and the venue is beautiful, it is not worth it because of all the stress. The original wedding coordinator for the Citizen went on maternity leave and although we were in the middle of exchanging emails regarding the menu, no one informed me. The only reason I found out was because I called and expressed concern that I hadn't received a response in almost 2 weeks. And then just casually they said oh you didn't know? This is just one of many examples of how they are lacking in communication.
I had problems not only with the events department, but also with the hotel staff as well. I paid an arm and a leg for the Governor's suite and there was trash in the trash cans, the light fixture was broken, the sink was clogged. They caused so much stress with the welcomes bags, handed them to the wrong people. And even when guests called down to say they got the wrong bag, they never attempted to correct the situation, I had to go in and figure it all out.
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and never once received a congratulations from the hotel. Not even a little note on our pillow to say congratulations. We got a bottle of champagne from the hotel we went to for our honeymoon. Kind of disappointing when we spent thousands of dollars there to have our wedding.
At the end of the day, we had a beautiful wedding but the Citizen Hotel will never get my recommendation because of their lack in communication and professionalism.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
926 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Citizen Hotel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo