130x130_sq_1361311668337-cliffhouse
(9)

Cliff House

San Francisco , CA

LOCATION

1090 Point Lobos Ave
San Francisco, CA US 94121 (map)

PHONE

415-666-4027

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

For nearly a century and a half, the Cliff House has been one of The City’s most familiar and beloved landmarks. Generations of San Franciscans have brought visiting friends and... Read more
For nearly a century and a half, the Cliff House has been one of The City’s most familiar and beloved landmarks. Generations of San Franciscans have brought visiting friends and relatives to this spot to show off the glorious westernmost part of the city. Drawn here by the spectacular ocean views and the waves crashing along the rocky shore, they often stopped in at the restaurant for a hot meal after a blustery walk on Ocean Beach, or to watch a particularly lovely sunset over a glass of wine.

What most people don’t realize is that the Cliff House has just begun its fourth incarnation. The plain first structure, built in 1863, was succeeded by an improbably large, turreted Victorian building perched wildly far out on the Point Lobos cliff. Though it survived the 1906 earthquake, the all-wood structure burned down the following year. (Luckily, almost no one was there because it was closed for renovations!) In 1909, a simple neoclassical cement version was constructed, but over the years that building was obscured by numerous renovations and accretions. Well, that Cliff House—which is the one most of us remember—has undergone a complete restoration, and it’s now more captivating than ever for a wedding or special event.

Click to see beautiful weddings celebrated at The Cliff House

The 1909 building at the core has been uncovered and restored, and the new Sutro Wing on the north side (named for the famous public bathhouse that flourished on this site in the early 1900s) has been designed as an upscale restaurant. This clever addition’s two-story windows frame the truly breathtaking views, while an opalescent floor-to-ceiling sea-glass mosaic reflects the shimmery light of the ocean and evokes the pearly inside of an abalone shell. An exhibition kitchen, which expands the open feeling, is visible from nearly everywhere in the room. Two large Italian ceramic panels, which depict ladies bathing and once hung in the Sutro Baths, have been restored and now grace the restaurant.

The completely separate Terrace Room in the 1909 section, however, is the place for weddings. All of the glories of a Pacific sunset to the west and misty Ocean Beach stretching southward can be viewed through floor-to-ceiling windows on two sides. If you hold your ceremony on the private Terrace, you’ll have the beach and the Pacific as your backdrop while you face Seal Rock. Afterwards, invite your guests inside the Terrace Room for cocktails followed by dinner and dancing. A palette of muted sand dune tones is carried through the chairs, carpet and window treatments; seven large framed mirrors run along the wall opposite the windows, brightening the room and reflecting the view. (Consider having your cake table in front of one of the mirrors.) There’s often an extended dusk here—the kind you get when you’re out at sea. With any luck, that lingering glow will illuminate the room all during your reception. An adjacent dedicated kitchen turns out updated classic cuisine for your private party, so there’s no conflict with restaurant dining.

Come rediscover this uniquely San Franciscan treasure. Its mesmerizing clifftop location and exceptional sea (and seal!) views make it well worth the trip. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1361311691010-cliffhouse
130x130_sq_1258586987160-cliffhouse1
130x130_sq_1258586987770-cliffhouse
130x130_sq_1258586992332-cliffhouse2
130x130_sq_1258586993754-cliffhouse3
130x130_sq_1258586998285-cliffhouse4
130x130_sq_1258587001754-cliffhouse5
130x130_sq_1258587004145-cliffhouse6

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception at Cliff House in March 2013. Masoud and Virginia did an amazing job throwing a fantastic party. Masoud was there the night of and personally made sure that each and everyone person there had a great time (without being intrusive, of course). They handled some special meal requests on the spot, had flawless staff, and facilitated a great party. We put about 95 people in the room for a plated dinner with a dance floor, which worked very well.

We didn't have our ceremony there, but the patio was open for guests to check out the ocean and seal rocks (they have spotlights on the water!)

The food was excellent, better than we expected for banquet food.

Masoud and Virginia also modified the bar service to have exactly what we wanted to serve.

A note - we had our DJ bring their own lighting and turned the room lights off. I would highly recommend this for dancing.
We had our wedding reception at Cliff House in March 2013. Masoud and Virginia did an amazing job throwing a fantastic Read more...
We had our wedding reception at Cliff House in March 2013. Masoud and Virginia did an amazing job throwing a fantastic party. Masoud was there the night of and personally made sure that each and everyone person there had a great time (without being intrusive, of course). They handled some special meal requests on the spot, had flawless staff, and facilitated a great party. We put about 95 people in the room for a plated dinner with a dance floor, which worked very well.

We didn't have our ceremony there, but the patio was open for guests to check out the ocean and seal rocks (they have spotlights on the water!)

The food was excellent, better than we expected for banquet food.

Masoud and Virginia also modified the bar service to have exactly what we wanted to serve.

A note - we had our DJ bring their own lighting and turned the room lights off. I would highly recommend this for dancing. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1330525503112-meearlpa
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
It is an incredible place to get married and I’m so happy we chose to have a ceremony there. They took care of everything and made me feel at ease to enjoy my day, which allowed the magic to happen. We are ocean people and it was an amazing place full of history to have a wedding on the ocean. If you want to get married on the ocean in SF this is the only place you need to think about.
It is an incredible place to get married and I’m so happy we chose to have a ceremony there. They took care of everything Read more...
It is an incredible place to get married and I’m so happy we chose to have a ceremony there. They took care of everything and made me feel at ease to enjoy my day, which allowed the magic to happen. We are ocean people and it was an amazing place full of history to have a wedding on the ocean. If you want to get married on the ocean in SF this is the only place you need to think about. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Juanita
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Virginia and Massoud made it possible to make our wedding dreams come true. We planned our wedding from Chicago but the Cliff House team made it as stress free as possible.
Virginia and Massoud made it possible to make our wedding dreams come true. We planned our wedding from Chicago but the Read more...
Virginia and Massoud made it possible to make our wedding dreams come true. We planned our wedding from Chicago but the Cliff House team made it as stress free as possible. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rpcnarvaja
Wedding:
4/30/2010
5.0/5.0
5 stars for Cliff House. I love Masoud and Virginia, my two favorite persons during my wedding planning stage. Very professional and very easy to talk to. Food was great. All my guests loved it. The view was magical especially the sunset. It was very windy outside though, so we admired the view from the inside. All in all we had a fabulous time!
5 stars for Cliff House. I love Masoud and Virginia, my two favorite persons during my wedding planning stage. Very Read more...
5 stars for Cliff House. I love Masoud and Virginia, my two favorite persons during my wedding planning stage. Very professional and very easy to talk to. Food was great. All my guests loved it. The view was magical especially the sunset. It was very windy outside though, so we admired the view from the inside. All in all we had a fabulous time! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg13
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Beautiful location. Classic San Francisco! They were flexible with our reservation, and the food was excellent!
Beautiful location. Classic San Francisco! They were flexible with our reservation, and the food was excellent!
Beautiful location. Classic San Francisco! They were flexible with our reservation, and the food was excellent! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
teresac
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
I just want to say our reception at the Cliff House was magical! Everything was wonderful from service, food, ambiance, sunset... can't ask for any more perfect day than August 8th! Masoud is the man! He took great care of us & executed everything flawlessly!!! All the guests had a great time & enjoyed the venue tremendously! Thanks for doing an outstanding job and making our wedding day special, beautiful, and unforgettable!!
I just want to say our reception at the Cliff House was magical! Everything was wonderful from service, food, ambiance, Read more...
I just want to say our reception at the Cliff House was magical! Everything was wonderful from service, food, ambiance, sunset... can't ask for any more perfect day than August 8th! Masoud is the man! He took great care of us & executed everything flawlessly!!! All the guests had a great time & enjoyed the venue tremendously! Thanks for doing an outstanding job and making our wedding day special, beautiful, and unforgettable!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessbo
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Absolutely unbelieveable!!! The Cliffhouse was the best place to start the rest of our lives together!! The staff treats you like Kings and Queens, the food is AMAZING! It was truly the perfect day! I recommend this place to anyone who loves great food and amazing view of the ocean!
Absolutely unbelieveable!!! The Cliffhouse was the best place to start the rest of our lives together!! The staff treats Read more...
Absolutely unbelieveable!!! The Cliffhouse was the best place to start the rest of our lives together!! The staff treats you like Kings and Queens, the food is AMAZING! It was truly the perfect day! I recommend this place to anyone who loves great food and amazing view of the ocean! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Although weather in San Fran is always a factor...if you are on ocean lover- the view from the balcony of the Cliffhouse is breath-taking!!! Even though we had a foggy cool day- the backround gave our ceremony a special touch! Our guests are sill talking about it's beauty.
Although weather in San Fran is always a factor...if you are on ocean lover- the view from the balcony of the Cliffhouse Read more...
Although weather in San Fran is always a factor...if you are on ocean lover- the view from the balcony of the Cliffhouse is breath-taking!!! Even though we had a foggy cool day- the backround gave our ceremony a special touch! Our guests are sill talking about it's beauty. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning

MAP

 
1090 Point Lobos Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Cliff House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1361311668337-cliffhouse