130x130_sq_1403022576003-gardenwedding.comww

The Conservatory - Historic District

Saint Charles , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1001 South Main St.
Saint Charles, MO US 63301 (map)

PHONE

636-947-0414

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Garden weddings anytime of the year! The Conservatory provides a charming glass gardenhouse and courtyards for weddings. Located in the quaint Historic District of St. Charles, MO. (St.... Read more
Garden weddings anytime of the year! The Conservatory provides a charming glass gardenhouse and courtyards for weddings. Located in the quaint Historic District of St. Charles, MO. (St. Louis metropolitan area). The Conservatory is heated and air-conditioned for garden weddings year ‘round. Since 1990. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1394661380938-stlouisweddingvenueconservatoryimg414
130x130_sq_1394661382419-stlouisweddingvenueconservatory-img341
130x130_sq_1364835607409-hr8g5735
130x130_sq_1387594339818-img807
130x130_sq_1364835603004-dscf0234
130x130_sq_1364835609425-img0072-1
130x130_sq_1364835600753-mg2329
130x130_sq_1364835611509-img1173
130x130_sq_1364835605160-dscf4801--c
130x130_sq_1364835614522-img5623
130x130_sq_1364835714620-mg6833
130x130_sq_1364835716162-img7517
130x130_sq_1364835718161-img9297
130x130_sq_1387594338331-hr8g576

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1820
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
100
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
600
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Holly and Gary were so helpful and very organized, and their attention to detail allowed my wedding to run smoothly despite potential problems.. The weather, the accident on the highway! But everything went great! The venue is gorgeous and they know exactly what was needed and it got done smoothly! Everyone was impressed by the beauty of the chapel, and pictures came out amazing. Thanks for making my dream wedding a reality!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Very beautiful and elegant. Very helpful in providing all of the coordination details.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
The Conservatory is a beautiful venue that will make your day special and the talk of your guests! Gary and Holly made my day perfect and kept everything on schedule. I could not be happier with my experience with them!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
10/11/2012
5.0/5.0
They really know their business, pleasant, organized, and graceious.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
7/15/2012
5.0/5.0
The Conservatory was beautiful ....I wouldn't change a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KrissyDixy
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I first saw a photo of the Conservatory online before I was even engaged. I checked it out with a friend and immediately knew it was where I wanted to get married. Once I was engaged, my husband agreed it would be the perfect place. It was beautiful the day of our wedding. The staff was incredibly helpful. No need to hire a day-of coordinator, because they take full responsibility in that role! We chose the full session and had plenty of time for our ceremony and photos afterwards. I keep recommending it to friends hoping someone else will get married there so I can attend as a guest.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1300056647359-vday
Carmen
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
The location was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The garden was a perfect and convenient place for pictures. The room is a bit small though, so only about 90 fit comfortably.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful venue and wonderfully helpful staff. They made sure everything ran very smooth. I definately recommend for an intimate wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The_Beagle_Mom
Wedding:
10/1/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved The Conservatory. Everything was already set up when we arrived. I didn't have to do anything except show up! It really freed up a lot of time so that I could really concentrate on making my reception perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/1/1984
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful time at my wedding. It was beautiful.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Bg11
Ashley
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
We loved this venue! Even though the owners do countless wedding every year, they treat you as though yours is the most imortant. Beautiful background, very charming. All of our guests loved our ceremony. If you can afford to spend more on the ceremony venue, it is worth it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catrina
Wedding:
2/10/2007
5.0/5.0
These guys are wonderful, and they know weddings. Not only that, but they are extremely nice. I had to change my wedding date and they were totally fine with it; I didn't lose my deposit or anything. It's a beautiful venue for smaller weddings, and our winter garden wedding was just as beautiful as any spring or summer affair. The Main Street St. Charles atmosphere is wonderful as well.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tadjen
Wedding:
3/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Everything was so amazing, we couldn't have asked for anything better!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marriedyesterday12321
Wedding:
9/11/2009
4.9/5.0
GREAT! I recommend it 100%! Utterly beautiful facilities for any wedding! I was amazed how beautiful it was!
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
linkey
Wedding:
7/4/2008
4.9/5.0
it was very cool place and everyone loved it. very beautiful and nice. its in st Charles and they decorated it as i was expected .everyone in our family was very happy cool refreshing place. you can even see the pictures on their website and then go and watch you will be stunned.i will highly recommend it
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fiza
Wedding:
5/16/2014
4.8/5.0
Gary and Holly were a delight to work with when we decided to choose The Conservatory for our intimate ceremony! They take amazing care of the property and green house and make sure your day is exactly how you want it to be. The green house is so beautiful that you don't need any extra add-ons as decorations, unless you absolutely want it. We didn't add anything else to ours and the pictures that our photographer caught were stunning!!! We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather as well! The day of, I had to worry about nothing - which is a lot coming from the bride! Gary and Holly took care of all the details - music, seating, figuring out who needed to be where and at what time... these are the services they provide. If you are looking for an intimate, simple, sweet ceremony setting look no further; the conservatory is the BEST!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tawanna
Wedding:
7/7/2007
3.2/5.0
The Conservatory is absolutely beautiful!! We loved the place. It only seats 100. The staff is very professional and nice. They are very particular about the upkeep and it shows in beauty! It is the most beautiful ceremony site we have ever seen and we were excited to have our wedding there. We booked it because we wanted a beautiful wedding. I personally feel their pricing was very astronomical for their offerings. It was such a small place and they do not have room for receptions. Their time slots were reasonable. The pricing is the only negative other than that, we would highly recommend this place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.8/5.0
Although the venue makes for nice photos, the price for the facility is very high for service provided. Wedding rehearsals can only be held on Wednesdays during certain hours which are not conducive to having all participants able to attend. Our rehearsal was at 1:00 pm the Wednesday prior to the Saturday wedding. All other bridal party members had a quick 10 minute walk through just before the ceremony. Although the bride is allowed into the tiny "Bride's Room" one hour prior to wedding, the venue is only open to other bridal party members and guests for a total two hour period. This is barely enough time to get dressed, take a few photos, get married, and get out.The staff was picking up the aisle runner as the bride was photographed signing the wedding license. Flowers, although very pricey, are not allowed to be taken after the wedding. Despite paying over $400 for a very limited number of bouquets, the flowers were rented rather than purchased and not able to be taken for use at the reception. The same bouquets are used for 2 weddings on Friday, 3 on Saturday, and 2 on Sunday, while charging each wedding party as though they had ordered fresh bouquets. The Conservatory also nickel and dime the party for anything needed for the ceremony (i.e., a small table was needed near the entrance. A white cloth was thrown over a little table and a $30 charge was added to the bill). The owner was quite cold and indifferent. Phone calls were rarely answered and most communication was done through email. Most questions were answered with a generic referral to their manual when a simple answer could have sufficed.

--Update--The rebuttal by the owner is inaccurate. The wedding party agreed to make a point of being polite the day of the ceremony to assure the event would go as smoothly as possible. The bride, groom, mother and father of the bride were all very disappointed in the venue and felt ill prepared by the instructions given for the service.
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue
The Conservatory - Historic District responded with the following comments:

The mother of the bride authored this review. This daughter’s wedding was beautiful and flawless. We received many compliments on The Conservatory and our efforts. The bride, the groom, the bride’s father and all at the ceremony (except the mother) were very complimentary, happy and warm. The mother’s point of contention was that she felt entitled to keep rented items. The contract, the website, our literature, all information provided is clear. The mother’s review comments are addressed below and we are happy to have an opportunity to explain the advantages of a Conservatory wedding.

Rentals:
Our ‘Ceremony Packages’ include a rich abundance of plants, flowers, fresh flower decorations candelabras, seating, music, etc. within an all-glass tropical garden setting; basic packages provide everything necessary. Additional ‘Embellishments’ are optionally available. The value of rentals far exceeds the rental fees offering a clear value advantage for Conservatory couples.

Pricing:
All fees and descriptions are clearly listed on the website and in our literature. There are no hidden fees and this daughter’s wedding included no fees that are not published and available in advance of signing a contract.

Access:
Every couple chooses the amount of access time for their ceremony (receptions are held elsewhere); we offer 1-Hour, 2-Hour and 3-Hour ceremony sessions; this daughter had access for 3 hours, no rush. Ample time is inserted between each wedding session to ensure the property is occupied by one wedding at a time.

Rehearsals:
Rehearsal hours are offered on Wednesdays at no charge during the hours of 11am thru 8pm. The afternoon hour this mother chose was her choice, evening hours were available.

Regarding the mother’s final comments that we were cold… not true. We made particular effort with this mother. We feel lucky to be doing what we do and enjoy our garden wedding business very much.

Please visit The Conservatory to see for yourself.

MAP

 
1001 South Main St., Saint Charles, MO 63301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Conservatory - Historic District
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1403022576003-gardenwedding.comww