130x130 sq 1403719328208 col3 weddings

Darlington House

La Jolla , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7441 Olivetas Ave.
La Jolla, CA 92037 US (map)

PHONE

858-454-7625

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Once the seasonal home of Mrs. Sybil Darlington, Darlington House still echoes a lifestyle of gracious living, elegant dinner parties and delightful musical concerts. Darlington House is... Read more
Once the seasonal home of Mrs. Sybil Darlington, Darlington House still echoes a lifestyle of gracious living, elegant dinner parties and delightful musical concerts. Darlington House is available every day, including weekends. It awaits you and your personal celebration or special occasion. Whether you are planning a small gathering or a large gala, Darlington House offers an unforgettable venue for your special day Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1403637562303 col3 weddings
130x130 sq 1403637636586 slideshow 3
130x130 sq 1403637544055 col3 caterers
130x130 sq 1403637604444 slideshow 1
130x130 sq 1403637647525 slideshow 4
130x130 sq 1416937333408 heidi o photo0015christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937297002 heidi o photo0001christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937303011 heidi o photo0002christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937309042 heidi o photo0005christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937315463 heidi o photo0006christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937321736 heidi o photo0009christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937326148 heidi o photo0010christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937329751 heidi o photo0012christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937337546 heidi o photo0016christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937343494 heidi o photo0018christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937347213 heidi o photo0022christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937351789 heidi o photo0027christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937357633 heidi o photo0028christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937467955 heidi o photo0033christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937473530 heidi o photo0035christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937477648 heidi o photo0036christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937483514 heidi o photo0038christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937490150 heidi o photo0039christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937494424 heidi o photo0043christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937499105 heidi o photo0044christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937503387 heidi o photo0045christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937507208 heidi o photo0047christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937510541 heidi o photo0048christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937515076 heidi o photo0050christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937518872 heidi o photo0052christineryan
130x130 sq 1416937983141 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0029
130x130 sq 1416937904824 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0002
130x130 sq 1416937919843 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0007
130x130 sq 1416937935744 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0010
130x130 sq 1416937952571 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0016
130x130 sq 1416937968201 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0018
130x130 sq 1416937997246 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0030
130x130 sq 1416938011773 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0035
130x130 sq 1416938026993 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0038
130x130 sq 1416938043639 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0041
130x130 sq 1416938061171 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0042
130x130 sq 1416938075661 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0046
130x130 sq 1416938090439 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0050
130x130 sq 1416938107015 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0052
130x130 sq 1416938126775 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0054
130x130 sq 1416938144255 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0058
130x130 sq 1416938160425 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0062
130x130 sq 1416938177627 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0063
130x130 sq 1416938197427 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0065
130x130 sq 1416938218332 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0067
130x130 sq 1416938236011 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0076
130x130 sq 1416938253034 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0087
130x130 sq 1416938271110 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0089
130x130 sq 1416938288536 darlingtonhouse darlingtonhouse 0090
130x130 sq 1416940483078 003katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940477752 001katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940480523 002katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940485813 004katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940488500 005katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940491288 006katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940493115 008katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940496731 009katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940499649 010katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940502303 011katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940504272 014katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940506128 015katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940507753 016katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940509647 017katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940511984 019katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940515617 021katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940518775 028katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940521980 029katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940524526 032katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940526818 038katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940529273 043katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940531021 045katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940533342 046katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940535942 048katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940538231 049katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940540356 053katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940543652 054katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940546520 055katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940549310 067katiedavid
130x130 sq 1416940551470 077katiedavid

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
1
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
10
Describe your venue:
Historic, Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Coastal, Vintage, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
What event services do you offer?
Bridal Suite
What transportation and access is available?
Wheelchair Access

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
1
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Private Room
What kind of menus do you offer for rehearsal dinners?
Private Events
What transportation and access is available?
Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
3.9/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1406775377057 wedding day   ash 2
Ashlea
Wedding:
6/16/2014
4.9/5.0
Where do I even start with this breathtaking venue?! I knew the moment I stepped onto the premises that this would be the “the one.” My husband (then-fiancé) and I wanted a location where we could house the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in one place while still having an intimate feel. The Darlington House, being a historic estate, did just that and more as it exuded warmth and charm along the way.

There are several rules along with the booking of the house, which a few brides may not be down with, but I ran into absolutely no problems. There is a noise ordinance, since everything is held outdoors, but my DJ (DJ Phreek Music and Lighting) did an amazing job at keeping within the limits and still pumping the dance floor up. There are also some limitations on the caterers and the time the wedding must end, but I found the venue’s list of caterers to be extensive and fantastic and the 10pm end time was perfect for my guests!

There really is no way to capture the true essence of The Darlington House just by looking at pictures, so I recommend you go for a site visit or if you can’t, try to take a look at any cinematic films from a wedding held at the space. The pictures from ANY wedding at this venue are gorgeous but in person you can hear the birds chirping, feel the slight ocean breeze, smell the bounty of flowers and feel the tinge of magic from the grounds of the estate.

I absolutely loved The Darlington House (if you can’t already tell) and I received many compliments from guests who said they felt as if they were in a movie during the whole wedding! If you are looking for an intimate, non-cookie cutter space that is oozing with character, this is most certainly the venue for you – I couldn’t have imagined my wedding anywhere else!
Where do I even start with this breathtaking venue?! I knew the moment I stepped onto the premises that this would be the Read more...
Where do I even start with this breathtaking venue?! I knew the moment I stepped onto the premises that this would be the “the one.” My husband (then-fiancé) and I wanted a location where we could house the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in one place while still having an intimate feel. The Darlington House, being a historic estate, did just that and more as it exuded warmth and charm along the way.

There are several rules along with the booking of the house, which a few brides may not be down with, but I ran into absolutely no problems. There is a noise ordinance, since everything is held outdoors, but my DJ (DJ Phreek Music and Lighting) did an amazing job at keeping within the limits and still pumping the dance floor up. There are also some limitations on the caterers and the time the wedding must end, but I found the venue’s list of caterers to be extensive and fantastic and the 10pm end time was perfect for my guests!

There really is no way to capture the true essence of The Darlington House just by looking at pictures, so I recommend you go for a site visit or if you can’t, try to take a look at any cinematic films from a wedding held at the space. The pictures from ANY wedding at this venue are gorgeous but in person you can hear the birds chirping, feel the slight ocean breeze, smell the bounty of flowers and feel the tinge of magic from the grounds of the estate.

I absolutely loved The Darlington House (if you can’t already tell) and I received many compliments from guests who said they felt as if they were in a movie during the whole wedding! If you are looking for an intimate, non-cookie cutter space that is oozing with character, this is most certainly the venue for you – I couldn’t have imagined my wedding anywhere else! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/28/2016
4.8/5.0
My fiance & I will be getting married at the Darlington come May 2016. So far, they have been super helpful and easy to work with! It's absolutely BEAUTIFUL and affordable. The only (tiny) con is that you have to choose a caterer from their preferred list. However, it's pretty extensive (~20 vendors listed), so you should be able to find someone you like! We're going through the list now, and we've already found a few that we like and fit within our budget.
My fiance & I will be getting married at the Darlington come May 2016. So far, they have been super helpful and easy to Read more...
My fiance & I will be getting married at the Darlington come May 2016. So far, they have been super helpful and easy to work with! It's absolutely BEAUTIFUL and affordable. The only (tiny) con is that you have to choose a caterer from their preferred list. However, it's pretty extensive (~20 vendors listed), so you should be able to find someone you like! We're going through the list now, and we've already found a few that we like and fit within our budget. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Darlington House responded with the following comments:

Hi Kimberly,
We are so happy you chose Darlington House for your special day! We have our list of Required Caterers to help ensure your big day runs smoothly. Our caterers are carefully selected and trusted and we know they will do a wonderful job for you wedding! Good luck on your planning and please let us know if you have any questions!

Sincerely,
Your Darlington House Team
130x130 sq 1264189541676 z271
Ruthie
Wedding:
10/24/2009
4.8/5.0
The Darlington House is such a beautiful spot and was the perfect place for our wedding. It has a beautiful garden and numerous patio areas that held all of our guests comfortably. People continued to rave and rave about how gorgeous the space was. All the people that we encountered at the Darlington House were all very sweet and happy to have us there.
The Darlington House is such a beautiful spot and was the perfect place for our wedding. It has a beautiful garden and Read more...
The Darlington House is such a beautiful spot and was the perfect place for our wedding. It has a beautiful garden and numerous patio areas that held all of our guests comfortably. People continued to rave and rave about how gorgeous the space was. All the people that we encountered at the Darlington House were all very sweet and happy to have us there. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Gina
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.8/5.0
The Darlington House was great to work with. A very beautiful venue, with nice staff and grounds. Their price was very reasonable compared to other sites. They provided a volunteer staff to watch over the gift table, they had volunteers to give tours of the house to our guests, and Emilie did a great job in making sure everything went well. I highly recommend this private venue.
The Darlington House was great to work with. A very beautiful venue, with nice staff and grounds. Their price was very Read more...
The Darlington House was great to work with. A very beautiful venue, with nice staff and grounds. Their price was very reasonable compared to other sites. They provided a volunteer staff to watch over the gift table, they had volunteers to give tours of the house to our guests, and Emilie did a great job in making sure everything went well. I highly recommend this private venue. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
jmc204
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.8/5.0
We loved the Darlington House. They were so accomodating and the venue looked perfect. The gardens are gorgeous.
We loved the Darlington House. They were so accomodating and the venue looked perfect. The gardens are gorgeous.
We loved the Darlington House. They were so accomodating and the venue looked perfect. The gardens are gorgeous. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
We had our ceremony at a church, but had our reception at the Darlington House.
This was the perfect venue for us as it is charming, beautiful, unique, and personalized to what you want -- this is not a cookie cutter banquet hall or hotel -- yuck!

The grounds are absolutely breathtaking. You have use of the entire property so it almost feels like a personal mansion (think Father of the Bride glamorous backyard affair). It was exquisite and the guests (many from the east coast) LOVED it and could not stop complimenting the grounds. Some people said they felt they had been transported to Europe!

All of the staff were courteous and helpful throughout the entire planning process. I had no issues with any of the personnel and they let us tour the grounds multiple times when I was in town with different vendors; they were always very accomodating. (I was planning from the east coast).

I must go through the potential downsides for future brides... I don't know how the value compares to other places, as you do have to hire a caterer off a list and bring in ALL rentals including tables, chairs, linens, etc. so the price can add up pretty quickly. There are also noise constraints which we were concerned about, but did not impact us because our crowd definitely partied all night and danced the night away, creating the party atmosphere we were worried we wouldn't get at this venue, even if it wasn't PULSATING LOUD music (in fact, the other guests who wanted to chat actually liked that it was not a nightclub-like decibal of sound). We also had an after party at a local brewery which kept the party going since you do need to be out of there by 10pm (highly recommend an after party and providing transportation).

It sounds like I am focusing on the negatives, but in truth, it was the best day of our lives and everything about this venue was gorgeous and made for amazing memories (and photos!). I wish I could throw a party here every weekend!!!
We had our ceremony at a church, but had our reception at the Darlington House.
This was the perfect venue for us as Read more...
We had our ceremony at a church, but had our reception at the Darlington House.
This was the perfect venue for us as it is charming, beautiful, unique, and personalized to what you want -- this is not a cookie cutter banquet hall or hotel -- yuck!

The grounds are absolutely breathtaking. You have use of the entire property so it almost feels like a personal mansion (think Father of the Bride glamorous backyard affair). It was exquisite and the guests (many from the east coast) LOVED it and could not stop complimenting the grounds. Some people said they felt they had been transported to Europe!

All of the staff were courteous and helpful throughout the entire planning process. I had no issues with any of the personnel and they let us tour the grounds multiple times when I was in town with different vendors; they were always very accomodating. (I was planning from the east coast).

I must go through the potential downsides for future brides... I don't know how the value compares to other places, as you do have to hire a caterer off a list and bring in ALL rentals including tables, chairs, linens, etc. so the price can add up pretty quickly. There are also noise constraints which we were concerned about, but did not impact us because our crowd definitely partied all night and danced the night away, creating the party atmosphere we were worried we wouldn't get at this venue, even if it wasn't PULSATING LOUD music (in fact, the other guests who wanted to chat actually liked that it was not a nightclub-like decibal of sound). We also had an after party at a local brewery which kept the party going since you do need to be out of there by 10pm (highly recommend an after party and providing transportation).

It sounds like I am focusing on the negatives, but in truth, it was the best day of our lives and everything about this venue was gorgeous and made for amazing memories (and photos!). I wish I could throw a party here every weekend!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The Darlington House is a beautiful place for a wedding (or any event). Rain interrupted our big day but they worked with me to change plans and make more use of the house than we were originally planning. Absolutely love the grounds...only downside is music/food/drinks stopping at 9 and rushing to get everything and everyone out of the house at 9:30.
The Darlington House is a beautiful place for a wedding (or any event). Rain interrupted our big day but they worked with Read more...
The Darlington House is a beautiful place for a wedding (or any event). Rain interrupted our big day but they worked with me to change plans and make more use of the house than we were originally planning. Absolutely love the grounds...only downside is music/food/drinks stopping at 9 and rushing to get everything and everyone out of the house at 9:30. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Curtis
Wedding:
10/27/2013
4.6/5.0
Darlington House did a great Job felicitating the my wedding. There were beautiful gardens and great pictures taken at every turn. Great venue!
Darlington House did a great Job felicitating the my wedding. There were beautiful gardens and great pictures taken at Read more...
Darlington House did a great Job felicitating the my wedding. There were beautiful gardens and great pictures taken at every turn. Great venue! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Brent
Wedding:
8/2/2013
4.6/5.0
This place was perfect for my wife and me. Outdoors, sort of vintage/rustic. The staff was crazy helpful and nice. It was amazing.
This place was perfect for my wife and me. Outdoors, sort of vintage/rustic. The staff was crazy helpful and nice. It was Read more...
This place was perfect for my wife and me. Outdoors, sort of vintage/rustic. The staff was crazy helpful and nice. It was amazing. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I fell in love with the Darlington House immediately. I knew we had to get married at such a beautiful venue. The look of the property and house went perfect with the style of the wedding we were planning. We had 115 guests and it worked perfectly!
In reading some reviews leading up to the event I was just a tad nervous about the volunteer workers that would be at the event to "watch over" the house. I completely understand that the Darlington House would have to have such a person making sure there weren't kids sliding down the banisters or spilled red wine in the house...but in previous reviews I read that some volunteers were a little rude to guests. Well, I can say that they were nothing short of perfectly pleasant! She helped guests find the restrooms and even gave a little history to those who asked.
Furthermore, Maria was on site the whole event and she was wonderful! She took care of anything behind the scenes and was very friendly.
I fell in love with the Darlington House immediately. I knew we had to get married at such a beautiful venue. The look of Read more...
I fell in love with the Darlington House immediately. I knew we had to get married at such a beautiful venue. The look of the property and house went perfect with the style of the wedding we were planning. We had 115 guests and it worked perfectly!
In reading some reviews leading up to the event I was just a tad nervous about the volunteer workers that would be at the event to "watch over" the house. I completely understand that the Darlington House would have to have such a person making sure there weren't kids sliding down the banisters or spilled red wine in the house...but in previous reviews I read that some volunteers were a little rude to guests. Well, I can say that they were nothing short of perfectly pleasant! She helped guests find the restrooms and even gave a little history to those who asked.
Furthermore, Maria was on site the whole event and she was wonderful! She took care of anything behind the scenes and was very friendly. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
7441 Olivetas Ave., La Jolla, CA 92037 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Darlington House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1403719328208 col3 weddings