130x130 sq 1481233198 4cd359dae1476e33 starlene headshot1revised

The DC Marriage Knot - Officiants to All (MD, DC, NoVA)

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, DC US (map)

PHONE

202-253-3629

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Looking for a same day marriage, signature service, DC wedding chapel elopement, customized ceremony, or a DC marriage license by proxy? If so, call us. We even offer professional... Read more
Looking for a same day marriage, signature service, DC wedding chapel elopement, customized ceremony, or a DC marriage license by proxy? If so, call us. We even offer professional photography sessions to our eloping couples. Check out www.starlenemoonphotography.com.

The DC Marriage Knot has the most respected and well trained wedding officiants in the area. We have been creating customized ceremonies since 2004. And we serve all couples equally.

If you want someone that resonates with your style and on your side, call us today. We don't drop the ball after your ceremony is over. We are seminary trained, experience ministers, who do more than weddings, and we take our responsibilities seriously.

We offer a variety of ways to create a customized ceremony that is special and meaningful to you. Our reviews speak volumes of our lead minister, Reverend Starlene Joyner Burns and her approach to serving you.

Couples say wonderful things about her. “Perfect,” “you did an awesome job” are words she often hears immediately following many ceremonies she officiates.

We love what we do, and that love is reflected in many ways.

So call today and book your meeting now. Meanwhile continue reading Rev. Burns reviews and learn more about her.

Meeting Day Discussion (not all packages)

Your love story, Venue, Ceremony Types, Workbook Options, Rituals, Children & Pets, Vows, Processional, Attire, Aisle runner, Planner, Name Changing, Marriage License, and other ceremony logistics

Ways to Meet

There are three ways our meeting can take place:

1. In person (Meeting location in Bowie, Maryland); 2. Skype (confirmation needed); 3. Phone (call initiated by the couple)

Meet our lead minister

I am Rev. Starlene Joyner Burns, a nondenominational minister, meditation instructor, artist, photographer, and dedicated servant of Divine Love.

My passion for marriage has placed me on the frontlines of the marriage equality movement in Maryland. And I enjoy working with all couples in creating a ceremony that best reflects their love.

If you’re ready to meet, call me today!

Until then, congratulations on making the most important decision of your life. I know you’re excited, and I’m excited for you.

And I’m looking forward to being your perfect wedding officiant. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1426364375198 alix and dan2
130x130 sq 1398059398568 website 30
130x130 sq 1398059401293 website 308
130x130 sq 1398059387239 website 305 1
130x130 sq 1398059379714 website 1 3
130x130 sq 1398059384951 website 305 1
130x130 sq 1398058945823 website 305
130x130 sq 1398058929905 website 1 2
130x130 sq 1398058901798 website
130x130 sq 1398059403554 website 360
130x130 sq 1426364351181 2014 09 270001
130x130 sq 1398059393843 website 305 1
130x130 sq 1398058915184 website 1 1
130x130 sq 1398059389328 website 305 1
130x130 sq 1398059396068 website 307
130x130 sq 1426364370226 59958758907217443848083157392n
130x130 sq 1398058927671 website 1 2
130x130 sq 1398059382327 website 3
130x130 sq 1398058917801 website 1 1
130x130 sq 1398058938272 website 3

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Ceremony Rehearsal, Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Anglican, Baptist, Buddhist, Earth-Based, Episcopalian, Evangelical, Islam, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Mormon, No Denomination, Orthodox Christian, Pagan, Presbyterian, Quaker, Unitarian
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
Less than 30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
DC, MD, NY, VA

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
tia
Wedding:
8/5/2016
5.0/5.0
I am so glad we decided to go with Rev. Burns for our ceremony (8/5/16). We contacted Rev. Burns and explained that we would like to move forward with her based on telephone conversations and great reviews. Rev. Burns sent us a useful questionnaire inquiring about our love story, individual preferences, and specific wedding details. Starlene provided a helpful link to her website, which answered many of our questions. It also set the expectations for the days leading up to and wedding day.

Let’s fast forward to wedding day on 8/5/16. My bride was getting dressed in the bridal suite when I entered the venue. Rev. Burns greeted me with a warm welcome and hug. This set the tone for the evening. I explained that I had no idea what to do and how everything should go due to my nervousness. She kindly told me step-by- step what should take place and reassured me that everything would be fine. Although Rev. Burns had emailed a copy of the ceremony draft- that draft did NO JUSTICE to how she spoke to our AND our guest’s hearts. Not just the words, but also the tone(s) she used. She spoke with so much passion. Our ceremony was truly amazing and we cannot thank Rev. Burns enough. Our guests are still saying how wonderful Rev. Burns was and they want her at their wedding. Starlene held the key to make our fairytale a reality. If you are looking for a compassionate,
I am so glad we decided to go with Rev. Burns for our ceremony (8/5/16). We contacted Rev. Burns and explained that we Read more...
I am so glad we decided to go with Rev. Burns for our ceremony (8/5/16). We contacted Rev. Burns and explained that we would like to move forward with her based on telephone conversations and great reviews. Rev. Burns sent us a useful questionnaire inquiring about our love story, individual preferences, and specific wedding details. Starlene provided a helpful link to her website, which answered many of our questions. It also set the expectations for the days leading up to and wedding day.

Let’s fast forward to wedding day on 8/5/16. My bride was getting dressed in the bridal suite when I entered the venue. Rev. Burns greeted me with a warm welcome and hug. This set the tone for the evening. I explained that I had no idea what to do and how everything should go due to my nervousness. She kindly told me step-by- step what should take place and reassured me that everything would be fine. Although Rev. Burns had emailed a copy of the ceremony draft- that draft did NO JUSTICE to how she spoke to our AND our guest’s hearts. Not just the words, but also the tone(s) she used. She spoke with so much passion. Our ceremony was truly amazing and we cannot thank Rev. Burns enough. Our guests are still saying how wonderful Rev. Burns was and they want her at their wedding. Starlene held the key to make our fairytale a reality. If you are looking for a compassionate, Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Kenneth
Wedding:
7/23/2016
5.0/5.0
She is phenomenal she will make you feel so comfortable before during and after!!! She is such an amazing woman and we couldn't have picked a better officiant!
She is phenomenal she will make you feel so comfortable before during and after!!! She is such an amazing woman and we Read more...
She is phenomenal she will make you feel so comfortable before during and after!!! She is such an amazing woman and we couldn't have picked a better officiant! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Roselliny
Wedding:
6/11/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Burns was an absolute joy to have as our wedding officiant! She was kind, friendly, and flexible throughout our planning process and wedding. All our meetings were great; she is so personable and really tries to get to know the two of you as a couple. She guided us through our ceremony script and custom tailored it to what made us comfortable. She was also easy to reach, whether it was by phone, email, or Skype, and went with the flow on our wedding day. She is an amazing speaker and I couldn't have asked for a better ceremony! Simply by talking to her in one conversation you would know that she is highly experienced and completely professional -- I would highly recommend her to all brides and grooms.
Rev. Burns was an absolute joy to have as our wedding officiant! She was kind, friendly, and flexible throughout our Read more...
Rev. Burns was an absolute joy to have as our wedding officiant! She was kind, friendly, and flexible throughout our planning process and wedding. All our meetings were great; she is so personable and really tries to get to know the two of you as a couple. She guided us through our ceremony script and custom tailored it to what made us comfortable. She was also easy to reach, whether it was by phone, email, or Skype, and went with the flow on our wedding day. She is an amazing speaker and I couldn't have asked for a better ceremony! Simply by talking to her in one conversation you would know that she is highly experienced and completely professional -- I would highly recommend her to all brides and grooms. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Katie
Wedding:
5/21/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev. Burns was amazing. She took the time to get to know my husband and I, and I feel like she really nailed it with the ceremony. It fit perfectly with what we were looking for, and she definitely went above and beyond. We felt so comfortable working with us, and was very patient with us through the entire planning process. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Rev. Burns was amazing. She took the time to get to know my husband and I, and I feel like she really nailed it with the Read more...
Rev. Burns was amazing. She took the time to get to know my husband and I, and I feel like she really nailed it with the ceremony. It fit perfectly with what we were looking for, and she definitely went above and beyond. We felt so comfortable working with us, and was very patient with us through the entire planning process. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with Rev. Burns. Not only did she respond to our email immediately but she was able to meet with us the same day. When my husband and I met her, we knew we were going to have a great experience. She was very warm and personable and we could tell that she was going to capture 'us' during our ceremony. She was very accommodating to our needs and gave wonderful advice for our ceremony. With our wedding being a few weeks away, we were on a tight schedule and Rev. Burns was efficient and timely. She lit up our ceremony and all of our guests commented on how great she was. If you want an unforgettable experience you should definitely have Rev. Burns as your officiant!
We had a wonderful experience with Rev. Burns. Not only did she respond to our email immediately but she was able to meet Read more...
We had a wonderful experience with Rev. Burns. Not only did she respond to our email immediately but she was able to meet with us the same day. When my husband and I met her, we knew we were going to have a great experience. She was very warm and personable and we could tell that she was going to capture 'us' during our ceremony. She was very accommodating to our needs and gave wonderful advice for our ceremony. With our wedding being a few weeks away, we were on a tight schedule and Rev. Burns was efficient and timely. She lit up our ceremony and all of our guests commented on how great she was. If you want an unforgettable experience you should definitely have Rev. Burns as your officiant! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Diamon
Wedding:
4/9/2016
5.0/5.0
Rev Barnes most definitely showed us all the love in the world. Not only did she make us feel like valued customers but she made us feel like family as well. I felt as if she took us under her wing of marital expertise, taught that every wedding has a special meaning and not every wedding is meant to be the same. We had a lot of fun during our Skype counseling sessions and were very honored that she was willing to travel for our big day. Anybody in need of an officiant for they special day REV BARNES is most definitely the person to call.
Rev Barnes most definitely showed us all the love in the world. Not only did she make us feel like valued customers but Read more...
Rev Barnes most definitely showed us all the love in the world. Not only did she make us feel like valued customers but she made us feel like family as well. I felt as if she took us under her wing of marital expertise, taught that every wedding has a special meaning and not every wedding is meant to be the same. We had a lot of fun during our Skype counseling sessions and were very honored that she was willing to travel for our big day. Anybody in need of an officiant for they special day REV BARNES is most definitely the person to call. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rev. Burns is a wonderful officiant! She is very detailed and flexible. She is also very pleasant to work with. We told her the type of ceremony we were looking to have and she definitely catered to our needs. We had quite the snafu on our wedding day and Rev. Burns' creativity saved the day. We had a beautiful and memorable ceremony thanks to Rev. Burns. I highly recommend Rev. Burns for your officiating needs! ~S&A - March 2016
Rev. Burns is a wonderful officiant! She is very detailed and flexible. She is also very pleasant to work with. We told Read more...
Rev. Burns is a wonderful officiant! She is very detailed and flexible. She is also very pleasant to work with. We told her the type of ceremony we were looking to have and she definitely catered to our needs. We had quite the snafu on our wedding day and Rev. Burns' creativity saved the day. We had a beautiful and memorable ceremony thanks to Rev. Burns. I highly recommend Rev. Burns for your officiating needs! ~S&A - March 2016 Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
R
Wedding:
1/8/2016
5.0/5.0
My now-husband and I are glad that we decided to go with Rev. Burns. She was prompt in her responses to our questions. She also made us feel comfortable before, during, and after our intimate ceremony. Thank you so much! -Johnny and Roderick
My now-husband and I are glad that we decided to go with Rev. Burns. She was prompt in her responses to our questions. She Read more...
My now-husband and I are glad that we decided to go with Rev. Burns. She was prompt in her responses to our questions. She also made us feel comfortable before, during, and after our intimate ceremony. Thank you so much! -Johnny and Roderick Read less
Services Used: Officiant, Photography, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
John
Wedding:
9/12/2015
5.0/5.0
Reverend Burns' thoughtfulness and caring made our special day one that we will always remember.
Reverend Burns' thoughtfulness and caring made our special day one that we will always remember.
Reverend Burns' thoughtfulness and caring made our special day one that we will always remember. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
The DC Marriage Knot - Officiants to All (MD, DC, NoVA) responded with the following comments:

Thanks for this nice review. I enjoyed spending time with you and your friends.
Default vendor profile pic
Lynette
Wedding:
2/7/2015
5.0/5.0
Rev. Burns helped to make our special day so much more beautiful by celebrating the spiritual aspect of our love. The words she spoke during the ceremony were well thought out, considerate of our religious affiliations and sensitive to those of our all our guests. We really appreciate her responsiveness and professionalism as well.
Rev. Burns helped to make our special day so much more beautiful by celebrating the spiritual aspect of our love. The Read more...
Rev. Burns helped to make our special day so much more beautiful by celebrating the spiritual aspect of our love. The words she spoke during the ceremony were well thought out, considerate of our religious affiliations and sensitive to those of our all our guests. We really appreciate her responsiveness and professionalism as well. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Washington, DC See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The DC Marriage Knot - Officiants to All (MD, DC, NoVA)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1481233198 4cd359dae1476e33 starlene headshot1revised