130x130_sq_1348092500739-deco

The Deco Catering

Minneapolis , MN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2010 East Hennepin Avenue , Building#7
Minneapolis, MN US 55413 (map)

PHONE

612-623-4477

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Weddings
Deco Catering handles all aspects of wedding food service from tables and linens to dishes and silverware. We give an artistic flair, captivating style and attention to... Read more
Weddings
Deco Catering handles all aspects of wedding food service from tables and linens to dishes and silverware. We give an artistic flair, captivating style and attention to detail that makes every wedding a special day your guests will fondly remember.

About The Deco Catering
The Deco Catering is a leading Minnesota caterer. Soile Anderson is the founder and owner of Deco Catering who has a long history (over 28 years and over 10,000 events) of catering fabulous special occasions, weddings and corporate events featuring delicious food. Soile specializes in offering only the highest quality food and service at a fair price. We deliver authentic European catering rich with flavor, unique artistic flair and design.

Soile Anderson and The Deco Catering have been featured in Martha Stewart Living and many other magazines as well as TV shows including the Food Network. Some of our clients include a former President, his holiness the Dalai Lama and the King and Queen of Norway.

Over 80% of our business comes from repeat customers and referrals from those customers. Happy clients bring more happy clients and we are very proud to say some of our clients have used us annually for over 25 years. We operate with passion and purpose to ensure that your special occasion, wedding or corporate event is the source of delightful memories and unquestionable value.

We are a smaller catering company and only select one or two (depending on size and complexity) catering events per day. Unlike larger catering companies that cater multiple events at the same time. This allows us to give and focus on your event 100%.

We customized each event to your specifications and requirements and we guarantee a unique menu. Deco Catering is well known for outstanding food and service. Our international chefs bring their own flair and creativity to every event.

We are very proud also to have a kosher food license and we catered many kosher events throughout the entire metro area.

We would welcome the opportunity to work with you in planning your next event whether it's an event for 1500 guests or a smaller gathering for 30 guests.

Visit our Photo Gallery and read thru our Customer Comments and learn how Deco can make your next event a culinary experience to savor forever. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1361976265642-bachimg8963
130x130_sq_1346360821670-deco1
130x130_sq_1361976359354-shrimpicesculpture025
130x130_sq_1361976355550-greatsalads023
130x130_sq_1346360829008-deco14
130x130_sq_1346360829457-deco15
130x130_sq_1346360827223-deco10
130x130_sq_1346360826039-deco9
130x130_sq_1346360827709-deco11
130x130_sq_1346360822157-deco2
130x130_sq_1346360822551-deco3
130x130_sq_1346360823091-deco4
130x130_sq_1346360823585-deco5
130x130_sq_1346360824263-deco6
130x130_sq_1361976333954-dessert017
130x130_sq_1346360825044-deco7
130x130_sq_1346360825494-deco8
130x130_sq_1346360828164-deco12
130x130_sq_1346360828555-deco13
130x130_sq_1346360830043-deco16
130x130_sq_1346360830826-deco17
130x130_sq_1361307857829-16a0160
130x130_sq_1361307866288-18a0158
130x130_sq_1361307870190-23a0153
130x130_sq_1361307950854-chocofountain
130x130_sq_1361308010914-berries
130x130_sq_1361308029402-brie
130x130_sq_1361308049129-butterflypastries
130x130_sq_1361308067805-cakecloseup
130x130_sq_1361308087634-desserts
130x130_sq_1361308106380-eggs
130x130_sq_1361308182099-fruit
130x130_sq_1361308220792-roastedveggies
130x130_sq_1361308239112-tarts1
130x130_sq_1361308257749-veggietorte2
130x130_sq_1361308278018-watermelon
130x130_sq_1361976292676-deconewpictures016
130x130_sq_1361976346231-dinner021

INFO FOR CATERING

Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
The Deco catering was amazing to work with. Heikki and Soile were both wonderful and very open to our ideas for our wedding menu. We did butler passed appetizers during cocktail hour and a served plated dinner. The food turned out great, our guests are still raving about it. Overall, they were easy to communicate with, responsive to our requests and provided great service the day of. I would highly recommend working with them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Sensational food; many of our guests said this was the best wedding food they had ever had. Every plate was gorgeous! A rep from the venue worked with the catering staff to create beautiful tables using my random stuff. Excellent food service. Team leader was easy to find and work with. It was important to have an excellent vegetarian option for our guests, but we preferred the vegan option and selected it. Solle suggested that we put a different cake on each table. Our guests loved this opportunity to socialize with neighboring tables to find a favorite. And Deco's cakes were phenomenal.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Fiman
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
The Deco Catering served our wedding at the James J. Hill Library recently. I orginally had my heart set on a much more expensive, less responsive catering company that was over our budget and the event coordinator at JJH Library recommended Deco and said she chose them for her own daughter's wedding. We were so happy we did. They were very friendly, professional, and easy to work with from start to finish. They didnt pressure us to add more to our menu and were very flexible with our guests that had dietary restrictions. I also appreciated that they didnt charge for minor changes/ add ons like some caterers do. Our guests raved about the food and we were told many times that it was the best wedding food they've ever had. I enjoy cooking, shopping at the farmers markets, and eating local seasonal cuisine so I appreciated that they suggested food that was in season and used very fresh vegetables for the sides and high quality ingredients. Their salads were very large, seasonal, and served before guests sat down, which everyone also appreciated due to the 7:30 dinner time. Thank you for all of your help!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We used Deco as our caterer for our wedding on August 8th, 2013. They were amazing. The food (and I am a picky wedding eater) tasted the same way as it did on our tasting visit. Our guest kept talking about the size of fish they received and others commented on how good the tenderloin was and vegetarian option. I had the tenderloin and it was so good. My husband ordered the salmon and his was delicious as well.

THE BEST PART: They were priced sooo well especially since we had a larger wedding (198). I would STRONGLY recommend them. Heikki and Soile were beyond wonderful and friendly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janelle
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We used the famous Helsinki Berry Cake for our wedding and it was a huge hit! Best wedding cake ever! They provided us a small 2 tiered display cake to cut for pictures and then we used their sheet cake version to be served for everyone else. People loved it! It was also significantly cheaper than any other wedding cake I found and tasted so much better!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Deco was AMAZING. They were one of the most reasonably priced caterers that we saw, and their food is spectacular. I received RAVE reviews on their food from my guests. They were extremely flexible with me and helped me select a menu that was not only outstanding, but wouldnt break the bank. They also allowed us to have THREE types of cake, for no additional charge! and their cost per person on the cake was one of the lowest we saw, even though the cake was delicious. I cant say enough about how wonderful they were. They only tiny thing that didnt exceed my expectations was one of their servers was rude to my mom's friend. However, I told Deco about it and they took my report very seriously. I would use them again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
We received Rave reviews and very Positive feedback from our Friends and Family at our Daughters, October 27, 2012 Wedding and Reception.

We look forward to having DECO Catering a part of our next Event!

The BEST Food, Presentation and Quality!!
We LOVE DECO!!

David and Shannon LeVesseur
Prior Lake, MN

The LeVesseur~Parker Wedding
10/27/2012
Minnesota
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We met with three different vendors that were on the vendor list for Semple Mansion and Deco was our favorite for a lot of reasons:

1. They have worked at Semple in the past and know the layout, the kitchen / workspace, and the staff at Semple which made it easy to have them provide the catering.

2. The quality of the food and portion sizes are great! All of our guests told us how great the food was! We went with a beef, chicken, vegetarian, and child meal choice for our guests. The chicken was perfectly cooked and the beef was tender. The sides (potatoes, asparagus, roasted carrots, wild rice and more) were all perfectly matched and tasted great!

3. Deco allowed us to pick several different items and options for our tasting including appetizers and then even had us stop by their local bakery to try out cake and cookie options. The food was all high quality and their recommendations for pairing sides with our main dish to match our theme and time of year were spot on!

4. We didn't go with them for the cake (although I sure it would have been great) but their staff was very helpful in setting up the cakes we had delivered from Cafe Latte.

5. Easy set up and take down. When we showed up in the afternoon, the tables were set and everything was ready and by the time our happy hour ended, the dining area had the salads on the tables with rolls and dressing and water glasses for all our guests to simply show up, sit down and start enjoying their meal! I don't recall anybody needing to ask for more water and the staff was attentive to removing empty plates without getting in the way.

6. Appetizers! We went with salmon, bruschetta, and spanakopita finger foods which were delicious!

The team at Deco did a great job and we would recommend them to anybody looking for great food for their wedding or other events!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1301930856568-img0273
Mark & Andrea
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved everything about working with Deco from start to finish. I had always wanted a buffet but my husband is from Chicago and was used to only plated dinners. After our tasting with Soile and seeing how beautiful her displays were, he changed his mind! They clearly care so much about their work. I have worked in the event industry so I tend to be "over communicative" and Heikki was always so responsive (even on Sundays!) and patient with me.

Everything went off without a hitch the day of; there was so much food and the cupcakes and small cake Soile had decorated for our cutting were SO beautiful. The Chicagoans were raving! The servers on duty were also very nice which deserves mentioning. Soile was even there and congratulated us but it was so quick everything was such a blur to me at that point - thank you Deco!

Also, their prices are incredibly reasonable in comparison to others. Our final bill was way less than what we budgeted - can't complain about that!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudine
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
The Deco Catering Team from the first visit to the final wedding event, was awesome! The food was not only elegantly displayed, it was out of this world delicious! The guests at our daughter's wedding raved and continue to compliment days later. Thank you to Deco for attention to details, courteous service, and simply divine food!
Services Used: Catering
Bg19
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I used Deco Catering to cater my wedding reception. They did a passed appetizer service and appetizer buffet. They were FABULOUS to work with, offered wonderful suggestions, created a beautiful dislay and were a great value. My guests were genuinely impressed - I'm still getting compliments on the food three weeks later!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The food was wonderful, every single guest commented on how good the food was, and that they would use them for their wedding. They were very easy and flexible to work with, very professional. Would highly recommend Deco Catering.
Services Used: Catering
B4
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
The best wedding food ever! Guests from my wedding are still calling and raving about the food asking if we can get the recipes so they can re-create the food at home. Soile and Hekke are amazing and they produce the most amazing food. They were so flexible and accommodating and only do one wedding a weekend. We knew the utmost care was going to be taken at our wedding. After meeting with a few caterers we were not happy. They would give us large flip books and we couldn't try any of their food until we were set on a menu. My husband and I only had 1 request for our wedding and it was that we wanted the food to be amazing so you can see how were were not impressed. We thought we would give it one more try and we met with Deco. We were blown away. At our first meeting we got a full tasting of the most delicious food. We got to work with the team to create and tailor our perfect menu and even family recipes were encouraged. Deco was amazing and their prices were very competitive. If you haven't checked them out you need to do so.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our guests raved about the food at our wedding. We were really happy with the service, responsiveness, and quality of everything served. Deco was easy to work with and went out of their way to make sure everything not only tasted great, but also looked great.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Soile, Heikki, and their entire staff were wonderful from our very first meeting. We were blown away at the level of service provided. Customer service is HUGE for us, and Deco didn't miss a beat. We still get compliments from our family and friends about how good our food was. I will continue to recommend Deco to anyone I know planning a wedding.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1310960949168-boat1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
AMAZING! Everyone was raving about the food all night and the next week after the wedding.

They are great to work with. What they deliver is worth far more than what I paid for. They are a great caterer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy82
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Deco Catering catered our recent wedding. The food was absolutely fabulous! People could not stop talking about the amazing food and beautiful display. Usually, wedding food is pretty boring. This is not the case with Deco. They serve lots of really good food and set up the table in a really show stopping way- fruit, flowers, candles! Wow! Best of all, their prices are incredibly reasonable. Thank you, Deco!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellie
Wedding:
3/1/2014
4.9/5.0
Deco did a great job dealing with many special meal requests for our guests. They were willing to do whatever we wanted, but also gave suggestions. For example, our venue did not have a kitchen and they told us what wouldn't work without a kitchen. I appreciated them saying that versus giving my guests gross food. People commented on how great the food was. I'm not sure how they executed without a kitchen, but it was great. Also, we had a few extra people show up who had RSVP'd no and Deco quickly adjusted when we needed to move people. Would definitely recommend as the food actually tastes good and that never happens at a wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bs17205
Wedding:
1/6/2012
4.1/5.0
I wanted to give them an 5/5 but their communication was a bit lacking. We were expecting to get some contact with them a few weeks before the wedding, but my mom had to seemingly pull teeth to get them to respond to her about a week before the wedding to finalize everything. I don’t know if that was because they had a lot of holiday events or what, but it was kind of a bummer. They did throw in a lot of freebies though, so that was nice. The food was fantastic and I was SO happy with all of it. I heard a lot of great compliments from guests too, so that was awesome. Overall I am really happy with the food we got!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.8/5.0
First I will say that the food from The Deco is amazing, tasty and beautiful. They are an absolutely excellent value for what you get. We had their chicken marsala and beef tenderloin for our guests and heard rave reviews about dinner and appetizers.

We did have a few issues while working with them, though, that you should be aware of going into it. At our first tasting, we were not served the meals I had requested. At that tasting we were told we could come back for a second tasting to decide on appetizers (and try the meal we were supposed to have at the first). When I followed up regarding the second tasting a few months later, I was told that they don't usually do those, and was made to feel guilty about my request.

Getting closer to the event, things went smoothly. I sent a spreadsheet with the number of each meal required a few days before my numbers were due. I found out after my wedding that while they were supposed to bring 4 vegetarian plates they only brought 2. That means that two of my guests were served only potatoes and carrots. I understand mistakes happen, but there was no attempt to problem solve and offer them another option. When I addressed this with the company, I was told it was my fault, which I cleared up by resending them the spreadsheet they'd received before the event. After a back and forth, they did waive the final $100 that I owed them. Ultimately, they did the right thing.

So, to recap, the food and value is absolutely amazing. You may just need to be extra organized and follow up frequently.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.0/5.0
My parents had Deco's cupcakes at a friend's wedding last year and loved them, so we selected them to provide cupcakes for our wedding. We went in for a tasting, chose three flavors, and I confirmed the flavors twice before the wedding. Two out of the three cupcakes that Deco delivered were the wrong flavors and were unfilled when we had ordered filled. After the wedding, when we contacted them to complain they refused to refund any money, stating that they had already spent the money on taxes, ingredients, and staff wages. Instead they offered to provide dinner, but as most of my family is from out of town this was not a realistic option, nor was it comparable in value to the cost of the incorrect order. While we don't expect a full refund, we had hoped that a partial refund would be possible considering the relatively high cost of the cupcakes.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
2010 East Hennepin Avenue , Building#7, Minneapolis, MN 55413 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Deco Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo