130x130 sq 1230772245953 tonysoinb&w

THE DJ HAWAII Professional Entertainment Services Featuring... "Tony So"

Honolulu , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

State Wide Service
Honolulu, HI 96815 US (map)

PHONE

808-753-7233

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

If there's One DJ that you'll want at your Wedding Reception it has to be THE DJ Hawaii's "Tony So"... Well known for his ability to DJ and Emcee Weddings, "Tony So" has been highly... Read more
If there's One DJ that you'll want at your Wedding Reception it has to be THE DJ Hawaii's "Tony So"... Well known for his ability to DJ and Emcee Weddings, "Tony So" has been highly recommended by Top Wedding Professionals in Hawaii and the U.S. Mainland. Internationally know for his ability to unite different cultures to share the same dance floor and move to energy he produces from his ability to mix songs from the past to the present. He has the ability to mix all types of style of music and makes it very easy to please Brides and Grooms! Trust "Tony So" to make your Wedding Reception Simply THE BEST! Everything You Need for less Stress is "Tony So"... Experienced, Professional and Exciting for Every Wedding Reception. Learn more about THE DJ Hawaii featuring "Tony So"

Wedding DJ, Wedding Emcee, Wedding Entertainment Solutions... Book your Wedding Date Now! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1276198316648 502
130x130 sq 1276198224554 lkoo0001
130x130 sq 1276198270601 2101
130x130 sq 1276198366413 402
130x130 sq 1276198470507 301
130x130 sq 1276198125663 1koo1001
130x130 sq 1276368603346 photo
130x130 sq 1276368646658 photo1
130x130 sq 1281790254541 image

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Customer Service Oriented. I listen to my Bride and Groom and work with their taste and style of music and compliment it with my experience. If their selection of music is not getting the results they want on the dance floor it's my job to troubleshoot the party and fix it in the mix. My goal is to share the dance floor with everyone. Grandma, Grandpa, Mom, Dad, Aunty, Uncle, Family and Friends. It's a celebration and everyone should enjoy themselves.
What is your usual attire?
We dress for the occasion. I usually wear black pants (Never Jeans) and a nice button up dress shirt. Because Hawaii is a tropical Island over dressing or out dressing the Groom is not a wise thing. I learned from one guest mistake when he decided to out dress everyone and almost matched the grooms attire. Everyone was congratulating him. The staff at the Hotel, the vendors and some of the guest who really did not know the Groom. It was so funny. I dress well and fit the part.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Only if it's for a special performance and/or dance routine. If not I can buy the song and make sure it is the right version. If it's something that is playing on radio or was playing on radio, chances are I can get it or I have it already.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I have an assistant. I do have associates who DJ for my company, but are separate entity. I have high standards and expectations for DJ's I refer to represent Me if I am already booked and a client wants the consistent customer service and trust that I provide. I am here to help match the right DJ if I am not available for your event.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
I don't know about time. I think it's more about price? It all depends. That's something we have to talk about. I seek to understand first, then I share my opinion when I understand my client's needs and requirements. Communication will solve most issues and understanding my clients needs and reasons will give me a better perspective.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Yes. I think it's very important to build a rapport with my clients. This will give me a better understanding about their personality and mine of course. A Bride should know if she likes the DJ's personality and if she thinks she will be happy working with him or her.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Please inquire via email at tony@thedjhawaii.com or call (808)753-7233
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes. I work with professional grade equipment design to withstand a beating from hours and hours of fun and exciting energy built from every wedding I do.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
Our Lighting is to enhance the dance floor when we get the dancing started. We use the newest technology available which is LED Lighting. It adds a nice accent to the room without the flash into peoples eyes. The lighting is there for an ambient effect.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
I like to be on site at least two hours prior to the event starting. This gives everyone the peace of mind that I am setup early and ready to go anytime when called upon. I rather be stuck in a room ready, rather than in traffic on the H1 here in Hawaii. H1 is like leaving a baseball stadium after any ball game. You're crawling out the parking lot. I respect traffic and will not test it. Leaving Early to my events is part of my commitment for every client I work with.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
A Table and Power for my setup is really all I need. If the event is out doors we can plan on how we deal with plan B.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I emcee most of my events, because that is what I am well known for in Hawaii. I am not over the top but I deliver a smooth, non-intrusive show and program for guest to enjoy. I don't like to get in the way of the "Life of the Party" I encourage everyone to enjoy themselves and allow them to experience their fun with friends and family. Being in public and having fun with others in not always an easy task for some. But if I can encourage "just one person" to be themselves and don't worry about what people think about their dancing I feel I did more than make a person dance. I feel like I built their self esteem. Everyone deserves to be confident and it starts with inner self value. At your Wedding Celebration your guest should rediscover or discover why they should LOVE. When they see The Bride and Groom they should see the true meaning of LOVE. See it and Feel it with The DJ "Tony So"
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
Negotiable
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
I have an assistant to cover me if I have to step out for a moment. Music will be playing as required.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes. I have a protocol of DJ's that are ready to cover me if there is issues with my health or circumstances.
What is your overtime rate?
Negotiable
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Negotiable

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Tony is amazing! He dj'd and emcee'd the evening for us. He does a great job of gaging the guests vibe and plays music to really get and keep people on the dance floor. Highly recommend him.
Tony is amazing! He dj'd and emcee'd the evening for us. He does a great job of gaging the guests vibe and plays music to Read more...
Tony is amazing! He dj'd and emcee'd the evening for us. He does a great job of gaging the guests vibe and plays music to really get and keep people on the dance floor. Highly recommend him. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Miyabi
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
When I first met Tony, I asked for one thing - to have an epic dance party - and that's exactly what he gave us! His music selection during our reception was brilliant. He definitely acknowledged my music taste as well as made sure our guests was enjoying them too. At one point, all our guests were on the dance floor busting their moves! It was one of the best moments of the night all thanks to Tony and his team!

Besides his DJ skills, Tony is diligent and responsive, which was very helpful for us as we were planning a destination wedding (we're originally from Singapore). He was easy going and always helpful when we worked on the music choices and timeline. I'm so glad to have met Tony and he really made our wedding night special.
When I first met Tony, I asked for one thing - to have an epic dance party - and that's exactly what he gave us! His music Read more...
When I first met Tony, I asked for one thing - to have an epic dance party - and that's exactly what he gave us! His music selection during our reception was brilliant. He definitely acknowledged my music taste as well as made sure our guests was enjoying them too. At one point, all our guests were on the dance floor busting their moves! It was one of the best moments of the night all thanks to Tony and his team!

Besides his DJ skills, Tony is diligent and responsive, which was very helpful for us as we were planning a destination wedding (we're originally from Singapore). He was easy going and always helpful when we worked on the music choices and timeline. I'm so glad to have met Tony and he really made our wedding night special. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
richard
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Tony was the perfect choice for our wedding. We decided to do a destination wedding so we knew a lot of the planning was going to be via word of mouth and therefore needed vendors that were easy to work with and on top of their game. Every time I asked for a DJ referral Tony was always on the top of the list. Everyone said how easy he was to work with and how professional he was and boy he certainly delivered. I spoke to Tony one time to do a quick interview and immediately knew he was our guy. For the next 6 weeks or so leading up to the wedding we exchanged a few emails and got the basics out of the way. When we got to Hawaii a few days before the wedding we met in person and to be honest did all the planning in an hr or so. I'm ashamed to say I didn't really do the homework I needed to but it didn't matter because I trusted Tony would take charge and make sure my guests had a good time. We literally picked our first dance, mother son dance, and father daughter dance on the fly and each of his suggestions was perfect!!! And as for general music selections? I still to this day get complimented on his catalog of tunes that night and how he even got our most stubbornest of guests to boogie. I highly recommend anyone to use Tony and you will not be disappointed.
Tony was the perfect choice for our wedding. We decided to do a destination wedding so we knew a lot of the planning was Read more...
Tony was the perfect choice for our wedding. We decided to do a destination wedding so we knew a lot of the planning was going to be via word of mouth and therefore needed vendors that were easy to work with and on top of their game. Every time I asked for a DJ referral Tony was always on the top of the list. Everyone said how easy he was to work with and how professional he was and boy he certainly delivered. I spoke to Tony one time to do a quick interview and immediately knew he was our guy. For the next 6 weeks or so leading up to the wedding we exchanged a few emails and got the basics out of the way. When we got to Hawaii a few days before the wedding we met in person and to be honest did all the planning in an hr or so. I'm ashamed to say I didn't really do the homework I needed to but it didn't matter because I trusted Tony would take charge and make sure my guests had a good time. We literally picked our first dance, mother son dance, and father daughter dance on the fly and each of his suggestions was perfect!!! And as for general music selections? I still to this day get complimented on his catalog of tunes that night and how he even got our most stubbornest of guests to boogie. I highly recommend anyone to use Tony and you will not be disappointed. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
If we could give Tony more than 5 stars for professionalism we totally would! He is so on top of it and detailed in his work. This man truly takes pride in his work and does his job VERY well. His customer services is great and he is very attentive. I highly recommend him to all brides and grooms who are looking for a great DJ who knows what to play and when to play it. He reads the crowd and just seemed to know exactly what needed to be done to keep everybody on the dance floor. Thanks Tony! You made our day so fun!
Much Aloha, Nic & Vik
If we could give Tony more than 5 stars for professionalism we totally would! He is so on top of it and detailed in his Read more...
If we could give Tony more than 5 stars for professionalism we totally would! He is so on top of it and detailed in his work. This man truly takes pride in his work and does his job VERY well. His customer services is great and he is very attentive. I highly recommend him to all brides and grooms who are looking for a great DJ who knows what to play and when to play it. He reads the crowd and just seemed to know exactly what needed to be done to keep everybody on the dance floor. Thanks Tony! You made our day so fun!
Much Aloha, Nic & Vik Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
For our low budget wedding, our big splurge was definitely in hiring Tony So as our DJ and Emcee. Tony made our wedding stress-free, fun and memorable. If you are looking for a professional, funny and amazing DJ/ Emcee, Tony is your guy. When I first met Tony he told me that he had the ability to get people on the dance floor to dance. At first I was a little skeptical, because I’ve been to weddings, where people are often too shy to dance. SURPRISE! Our dance floor was packed! Even our grandparents were all dancing.
What I loved best about working with Tony was how quick he was to respond to every e-mail I sent. I always heard back from him promptly. On multiple occasions he actually initiated by checking-in to see if I needed any help or if I had any questions.
Tony met with my husband and I multiple times to iron out our timeline, and provided us with a lot of useful tips and questions that he recommended we ask our vendors ahead of time. At our last meeting he ran through the timeline and script with us again, which put me at ease. I felt like I didn’t have to worry about anything for my reception. He also provided us with excellent templates that helped to keep us organized throughout the planning process.
He also recommended us to some great vendors, like Photobox. We felt very taken care of from our first meeting to just gain information about his services all the way to the end of our reception.
Tony was on-time for our wedding, and did an amazing job uplighting our ballroom. The best part of the night was his music choice. I loved that his dinner music, matched our taste completely (Colbie Caillet, Jason Mraz, etc). From meeting us, he really got a great sense of what mood we wanted to set. He definitely isn’t one of those “showy” Emcees, that steals the show, but he kept our program moving perfectly. We didn’t have to worry about any inappropriate jokes/comments, or unplanned speeches. H
For our low budget wedding, our big splurge was definitely in hiring Tony So as our DJ and Emcee. Tony made our wedding Read more...
For our low budget wedding, our big splurge was definitely in hiring Tony So as our DJ and Emcee. Tony made our wedding stress-free, fun and memorable. If you are looking for a professional, funny and amazing DJ/ Emcee, Tony is your guy. When I first met Tony he told me that he had the ability to get people on the dance floor to dance. At first I was a little skeptical, because I’ve been to weddings, where people are often too shy to dance. SURPRISE! Our dance floor was packed! Even our grandparents were all dancing.
What I loved best about working with Tony was how quick he was to respond to every e-mail I sent. I always heard back from him promptly. On multiple occasions he actually initiated by checking-in to see if I needed any help or if I had any questions.
Tony met with my husband and I multiple times to iron out our timeline, and provided us with a lot of useful tips and questions that he recommended we ask our vendors ahead of time. At our last meeting he ran through the timeline and script with us again, which put me at ease. I felt like I didn’t have to worry about anything for my reception. He also provided us with excellent templates that helped to keep us organized throughout the planning process.
He also recommended us to some great vendors, like Photobox. We felt very taken care of from our first meeting to just gain information about his services all the way to the end of our reception.
Tony was on-time for our wedding, and did an amazing job uplighting our ballroom. The best part of the night was his music choice. I loved that his dinner music, matched our taste completely (Colbie Caillet, Jason Mraz, etc). From meeting us, he really got a great sense of what mood we wanted to set. He definitely isn’t one of those “showy” Emcees, that steals the show, but he kept our program moving perfectly. We didn’t have to worry about any inappropriate jokes/comments, or unplanned speeches. H Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Charlene
Wedding:
6/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We chose The DJ Hawaii for DJ and Emcee services after meeting with Tony. He was such a delight to work with!

We could not recommend him more highly. He was responsive and so helpful with every aspect of our wedding.

Tony performed the Emcee duties perfectly, he has such great attention to detail. In terms of his DJ services - we could not have asked for a better DJ. He had all the guests on their feet the entire night. My sister had requested a really new song - and even though he didn't actually have it - he somehow managed to find it and played it for us.

Tony made the reception fun and made sure that everything ran smoothly. He is a true professional and treats every bride and groom like you're part of his family. We're so greatful to have had Tony as part of our wedding day.
We chose The DJ Hawaii for DJ and Emcee services after meeting with Tony. He was such a delight to work with!

We Read more...
We chose The DJ Hawaii for DJ and Emcee services after meeting with Tony. He was such a delight to work with!

We could not recommend him more highly. He was responsive and so helpful with every aspect of our wedding.

Tony performed the Emcee duties perfectly, he has such great attention to detail. In terms of his DJ services - we could not have asked for a better DJ. He had all the guests on their feet the entire night. My sister had requested a really new song - and even though he didn't actually have it - he somehow managed to find it and played it for us.

Tony made the reception fun and made sure that everything ran smoothly. He is a true professional and treats every bride and groom like you're part of his family. We're so greatful to have had Tony as part of our wedding day. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jasmin
Wedding:
9/23/2012
5.0/5.0
The first time meeting Tony was a memory that implanted in my brain. He was warm and inviting. He was one of the vendors I was did finally looking forward to seeing at our wedding. He got the part started and did everything he was asked. He did not mess up once on any of our requested songs. We brought an Arabic band with us from Australia which he worked with amazingly and they spoke nothing but great words on how accomidatimg Tony was. He has a warm heart and we where blessed to have him DJ our wedding. Tony was prepared for everything! Book him NOW get in early or you will be sorry :) much love to tony! XxxxxX
The first time meeting Tony was a memory that implanted in my brain. He was warm and inviting. He was one of the vendors I Read more...
The first time meeting Tony was a memory that implanted in my brain. He was warm and inviting. He was one of the vendors I was did finally looking forward to seeing at our wedding. He got the part started and did everything he was asked. He did not mess up once on any of our requested songs. We brought an Arabic band with us from Australia which he worked with amazingly and they spoke nothing but great words on how accomidatimg Tony was. He has a warm heart and we where blessed to have him DJ our wedding. Tony was prepared for everything! Book him NOW get in early or you will be sorry :) much love to tony! XxxxxX Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
8/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Tony is amazing! I wish I could give him more stars since he totally made our wedding fabulous!!! My hotel events manager recommended Tony to us. He was a bit out of our budget since we did not plan to have a DJ but after contacting Tony he hooked us up with a great affordable rate within our budget! Not only is he extremely professional, genuine and amazing to work with but an overall GREAT GUY!!
This guy knows his music! He doesn't play the typical cheesy crap you hear at most weddings, but a great selection of the music we liked! He took the time to get to know our taste in music and also wanted to make sure he pronounce our names and bridal party names correctly. I've been to so many weddings where the DJ butchers the families' and bridal party's names so it was reassuring that he cared about this important detail.

He definitely got the crowd going and made our wedding one to remember! I would highly recommend Tony to all my friends and family. If you're considering a DJ for any event, go with TONY SO!!! He's AMAZING!!!
Tony is amazing! I wish I could give him more stars since he totally made our wedding fabulous!!! My hotel events manager Read more...
Tony is amazing! I wish I could give him more stars since he totally made our wedding fabulous!!! My hotel events manager recommended Tony to us. He was a bit out of our budget since we did not plan to have a DJ but after contacting Tony he hooked us up with a great affordable rate within our budget! Not only is he extremely professional, genuine and amazing to work with but an overall GREAT GUY!!
This guy knows his music! He doesn't play the typical cheesy crap you hear at most weddings, but a great selection of the music we liked! He took the time to get to know our taste in music and also wanted to make sure he pronounce our names and bridal party names correctly. I've been to so many weddings where the DJ butchers the families' and bridal party's names so it was reassuring that he cared about this important detail.

He definitely got the crowd going and made our wedding one to remember! I would highly recommend Tony to all my friends and family. If you're considering a DJ for any event, go with TONY SO!!! He's AMAZING!!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Tony was such a great person to work with. He listened to our needs and made suggestions/advice to make those ideas outstanding. He was very friendly, easy to talk to and very professional. Tony has a great ear for music and really listens to the lyrics and meaning of the song, which made our custom first dance song flow really well with our voice recordings. He knew how to fit music that fit the crowd. Overall, we love his work. A+
Tony was such a great person to work with. He listened to our needs and made suggestions/advice to make those ideas Read more...
Tony was such a great person to work with. He listened to our needs and made suggestions/advice to make those ideas outstanding. He was very friendly, easy to talk to and very professional. Tony has a great ear for music and really listens to the lyrics and meaning of the song, which made our custom first dance song flow really well with our voice recordings. He knew how to fit music that fit the crowd. Overall, we love his work. A+ Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Rose
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Tony So was the DJ & MC at our daughter's wedding a Loulu Palms. He was awesome. We were worried that nobody would dance cause at most local weddings-we don't dance, we just sit around and talk story. Usually you see most of the people dig-out after the reception program when the dancing begins BUT NOT THIS WEDDING!!!. Our dance floor was too small, he played great music that everybody from grandmas, uncles, aunties, to the young teens and 20's guest could boogie to - it was great to see everybody getting down-no shame-shake your bootie and having a great time. How he does it is a mystery considering how humble and unassuming his is. He is very professional and doesn't overpower the reception to make it all about him. He totally made it all about the bride and groom. He kept our program amazingly moving on time. He kept track of everything which was great cause at times I was too busy with other stuff. He made it such a great reception that when he handed my daughter and my new son-n-law the microphone to say their final "thank yous" we couldn't beleive it was already over. We all absolutely loved Tony So, he is totally "the man". Thank you sooo much Tony for making my daughter's reception awesome.
Tony So was the DJ & MC at our daughter's wedding a Loulu Palms. He was awesome. We were worried that nobody would dance Read more...
Tony So was the DJ & MC at our daughter's wedding a Loulu Palms. He was awesome. We were worried that nobody would dance cause at most local weddings-we don't dance, we just sit around and talk story. Usually you see most of the people dig-out after the reception program when the dancing begins BUT NOT THIS WEDDING!!!. Our dance floor was too small, he played great music that everybody from grandmas, uncles, aunties, to the young teens and 20's guest could boogie to - it was great to see everybody getting down-no shame-shake your bootie and having a great time. How he does it is a mystery considering how humble and unassuming his is. He is very professional and doesn't overpower the reception to make it all about him. He totally made it all about the bride and groom. He kept our program amazingly moving on time. He kept track of everything which was great cause at times I was too busy with other stuff. He made it such a great reception that when he handed my daughter and my new son-n-law the microphone to say their final "thank yous" we couldn't beleive it was already over. We all absolutely loved Tony So, he is totally "the man". Thank you sooo much Tony for making my daughter's reception awesome. Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
State Wide Service, Honolulu, HI 96815 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for THE DJ HAWAII Professional Entertainment Services Featuring... "Tony So"
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1230772245953 tonysoinb&w