Nophoto-130
(8)

The DonVicente Inn

Tampa , FL

LOCATION

Tampa, FL US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alcat615
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
The Don Vicente was not only the guest hotel for the wedding, but also the site of the ceremony venue. Three months after my friends and family have returned from our wedding and please are still talking about our wedding camp ground. People quickly fell in love with the Don Vicente and said it felt like a second home. We jokingly referred to the Don Vicente as a large camp ground for our guests. Everyone felt so at home, that a few people even walked around daily for breakfasts without shoes!

Although its hard to initially picture the lobby as a ceremony site, its the perfect site for anyone in search of a vintage wedding venue. The gold staircase, the beautiful chairs, the dainty lighting. I can't explain how beautiful it all comes together.

On the wedding day, the groom and I both had staff stop in to check to see if we need anything. They were so accomodating! After the wedding the front desk ordered us pizzas, told ghost stories, and gave us exactly what we needed. Some of my favorite memories from out wedding weekend are sitting in the lobby in the early hours of the morning, chatting with friends. :)

Everyone loved the hotel so much our friends want to take a trip back for an anniversary trip in a few years.

I would say they only draw back with this venue is the small size, makes it difficult to figure out the exact number that they can accomodate. Overall, i can't imagine the wedding happening anywhere else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1316444875430-frenchbulldogburntorange6
michelle
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
NOT ONE COMPLAINT !!!

Try to satisfly 100 people...well, this place did.
BEST FOOD EVER.
The chef Trish is 5 star all the way
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FL78
Wedding:
3/7/2009
3.7/5.0
The Don Vicente is a beautiful venue and their food was fantastic. Overall, it was the perfect venue for our wedding. The staff was very friendly, but there were some issues along the way that caused a few headaches now and then. I think there were a couple times where they should have taken an extra step when it came to the quality of service. Overall, I would recommend.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
galgammer
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
What a beautiful hidden treasure in Tampa. Such a beatiful and NON typical place for a reception. We took advantage of the piano and atmosphere. We had our reception at 7:00 so we brought a lot of candles. We wanted to be DIFFERENT and did a wine tasting instead.

For our dinner, Tessa was so great and worked with us on a TAPAS plated dinner because we wanted to be NON TYPICAL. We had started with an Italian Caprese salad (soft milk mozarella, basil leave over a thin sliced tomato with olive oil and garlic). For our dinner a Lobster Bisque sipper in a shot glass started the evening...people were VERY IMPRESSED with that!! That bisque was the best I've had in town other tan BELLA's. For our main course, the beautiful plated meal had a prawn wrapped in a martini glass on our plate, a huge scallop with spinach/cheese, chicken empanda's, beef wellington. It was something you'd see on IRON CHEF or at EMERILS...the plate was simply beautiful. We used the upstairs and it was simply beautiful all decorated and candle-lit. The food was absolutely deliscious and because of the variety and taste of the items we selected...everyone was EXTREMELY IMPRESSED AND HAPPY!

It was really hard to estimate how much wine people would drink or how much people would drink. We over bought 2 gallons of Sangria....we didn't have a drinking crowd so I doubt they drank anything near that. We had to pre-buy the wine and I'm sure we bought too much. We couldn't take the left overs back with us unfortunately due to the liquor laws.

Overall we had a great experience and would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
halfdragon
Wedding:
6/28/2008
4.2/5.0
We looked all over Tampa to find a reception site with 'character', and were delighted with the DV. We had looked at UT, and while the main UT ballroom is beautiful, it was way too big for us. We had a sit down dinner at the DV for 75 and managed to get everyone seated in the center room, which left the bar area for dancing. Our grand entrance was down the main staircase.
The food was amazing, we had a steak and chicken duet, and the hubby said the steak was almost as good as Ruth's Chris, which is the highest steak-praise he can give. The lobster bisque was one of our three appetizers and the taste and presentation were good.
The decor for the evening looked great, we put candles around all of the railings, and the old building is so great at night. The outside of it doesn't do the inside justice. We did rent colored linens and bows for the chairs as they provide only white. We had a wedding planner that took care of everything so I can't comment on how easy the DV was to work with directly.
We rented all of the rooms in the hotel for that evening, and I did think their prices were high for what we spent that evening. Ybor hotel rooms in general seem to be pricey but we didn't get any room discount for our guests for booking the whole hotel, other then the bridal suite for free. Several guests chose to stay downtown where it was cheaper. Parking is also an issue in Ybor, we included a map to the parking garage in the invite but a valet parking option would have been nice, expecially for the older guests.
I did take one star off the review for professionalism. While the waitstaff and Tessa were good, during the wedding we asked to have our two meals taking to our room (as we weren't able to eat more then a few bites during the reception with everything going on) and it was not done. They also threw out our remaining wedding cake. As we had three tiers with three flavors, I hope the rest of it was good as we only got to try the piece we cut together for the cake cutting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
asunniegurl
Wedding:
4/5/2008
3.7/5.0
Beautiful hotel. Very unique. The event staff is hard to work with and are not very accommodating. I would recommend being aggressive and standing firm if doing business with is establishment. Hire an event planner to do your dirty work!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BarrBride
Wedding:
7/28/2007
4.1/5.0
Beautiful location. Excellent food. Tessa was fabulous. The only downside is it's a little tight with 100 guests in there...but I would get married there all over again without hesitation...to the same guy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
4/14/2007
5.0/5.0
I actually did something completely different at the DV. I had already booked my reception at the Cuban Club across the street, so used the DV as my ceremony venue. We absolutely LOVED it. I had my ceremony set up in the dining room, with about 180 chivari chairs (I had to rent some b/c they didn't have enough for my guests). I walked discreetly down the staircase, out the main door and in the side door to be walked down the aisle. I was very happy that, although the DV had never done this type of ceremony before, they allowed my vision to come to fruition.

I truly believe the DV is the most beautiful, unique venue I could have found. It was more than I could have expected!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The DonVicente Inn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo