130x130_sq_1335283767703-window

The Elm Street Center

Greensboro , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

203 S. Elm Street
Greensboro, NC US 27401 (map)

PHONE

336-230-1588

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Elm Street Center, located in the heart of historic Downtown Greensboro, is home to the Empire and Regency Ballrooms. Painstakingly renovated; the Empire Style décor of both... Read more
The Elm Street Center, located in the heart of historic Downtown Greensboro, is home to the Empire and Regency Ballrooms. Painstakingly renovated; the Empire Style décor of both ballrooms offer a timeless backdrop for your special day. Since opening in 2002, The Elm Street Center ballrooms have been unsurpassed in downtown Greensboro as the premiere venue for weddings and other special events for guests numbering 100 to 1000. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1305730621576-esc1
130x130_sq_1305730648186-emp4
130x130_sq_1335283881644-02mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283888266-04mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283891001-04regencyroomgreensboroweddingphotography
130x130_sq_1335283894317-10mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283896972-11mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283899732-13mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283903447-15mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283906175-16mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283908914-17mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283911583-18mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283913549-21mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283915729-23mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283917675-24mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283920968-27mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283924133-37mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283927974-49mccardellphotographyempireroom
130x130_sq_1335283930549-38210722910702416271395120318323626741478151963n
130x130_sq_1335283933563-3821232291194204726139512031832362773844598699n
130x130_sq_1335283936113-39202222912013249041395120318323627771567535625n
130x130_sq_1335283937999-3931882291258806341139512031832362824356532338n
130x130_sq_1335283946757-03regencyroommccardellphotography
130x130_sq_1335284034736-04mccardellphotographyregencyroom
130x130_sq_1335284043056-04regencyroommccardellphotography
130x130_sq_1335284046176-05regencyroommccardellphotography
130x130_sq_1335284050007-08regencyroommccardellphotography
130x130_sq_1335284054427-09regencyroommccardellphotography
130x130_sq_1335284169976-18mccardellphotographyregencyroom

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Absolutely gorgeous venue!!! I had a tough time deciding between the two ballrooms. Bill and his staff are excellent. No matter what the issue Bill will find a resolution. I was allowed to come in early and set up my reception, and Bill was there to help. I could not have found a more beautiful downtown venue.
Absolutely gorgeous venue!!! I had a tough time deciding between the two ballrooms. Bill and his staff are excellent. No Read more...
Absolutely gorgeous venue!!! I had a tough time deciding between the two ballrooms. Bill and his staff are excellent. No matter what the issue Bill will find a resolution. I was allowed to come in early and set up my reception, and Bill was there to help. I could not have found a more beautiful downtown venue. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1375374248315-profile-cover
Latoya
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
The venue and the staff were excellent. Bill and his staff did a great job making my day perfect. The venue is beautiful, and the downtown atmosphere was awesome.
The venue and the staff were excellent. Bill and his staff did a great job making my day perfect. The venue is beautiful, Read more...
The venue and the staff were excellent. Bill and his staff did a great job making my day perfect. The venue is beautiful, and the downtown atmosphere was awesome. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1374695472693-elephants-part2
Garry
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.9/5.0
We decided to have our Oct. 5, 2013 wedding ceremony and reception at the Elm street center. The venue is beautiful and also located in downtown Greensboro. The General Manager Bill Falcon was wonderful, he worked with us from beginning to end; he was also very helpful the day of the event with coordination. All and all beautiful location and wonderful people
We decided to have our Oct. 5, 2013 wedding ceremony and reception at the Elm street center. The venue is beautiful and Read more...
We decided to have our Oct. 5, 2013 wedding ceremony and reception at the Elm street center. The venue is beautiful and also located in downtown Greensboro. The General Manager Bill Falcon was wonderful, he worked with us from beginning to end; he was also very helpful the day of the event with coordination. All and all beautiful location and wonderful people Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany Crews
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.8/5.0
The Elm Street Center is the perfect place to have a wedding. The staff are experienced and knowledgeable, and the venue is to die for! We had both our wedding ceremony and reception in The Empire Room and it went without a hitch. Bill Falcon made sure that everything happened on time and he did it with a big smile on his face. We couldn't have been happier with our venue.
The Elm Street Center is the perfect place to have a wedding. The staff are experienced and knowledgeable, and the venue Read more...
The Elm Street Center is the perfect place to have a wedding. The staff are experienced and knowledgeable, and the venue is to die for! We had both our wedding ceremony and reception in The Empire Room and it went without a hitch. Bill Falcon made sure that everything happened on time and he did it with a big smile on his face. We couldn't have been happier with our venue. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg1
Ashleigh
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The Elm Street Center was the perfect place for our reception. During our reception search we looked at a lot of different places but when I walked into the Regency Room and down the staircase I knew I'd find "the place". The staff was great to work with and let us visit the space a couple of times before our wedding day to go over logistics with our wedding planner as well as let us rehearse our wedding dance with our wedding planner. The space was absolutely beautiful and well-maintained and a perfect location in the middle of downtown Greensboro.
The Elm Street Center was the perfect place for our reception. During our reception search we looked at a lot of different Read more...
The Elm Street Center was the perfect place for our reception. During our reception search we looked at a lot of different places but when I walked into the Regency Room and down the staircase I knew I'd find "the place". The staff was great to work with and let us visit the space a couple of times before our wedding day to go over logistics with our wedding planner as well as let us rehearse our wedding dance with our wedding planner. The space was absolutely beautiful and well-maintained and a perfect location in the middle of downtown Greensboro. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ldurr2
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.3/5.0
We held our wedding reception at the Empire Room and truly enjoyed the venue, as well as the staff.

Bill, the general manager, was incredibly helpful through the entire process, speaking with us at length via phone and email and helping us in person several times as we prepared for the big day. On the weekend of our wedding, he truly shined in his ability to meet our needs, facilitate all vendors, and make last-minute changes to make our night truly beautiful and memorable! Simply put, Bill is amazing!

The venue is grand and utterly gorgeous, and it can meet many needs in terms of reception size. With just a few small extra decorations (which can add up quickly!), we presented an elegant and breathtaking evening to all our guests.

Our only qualms with using the Empire Room were a) that it was a bit expensive and b) that there was some rigidity for food and alcohol. To the first point, the expenses did include setup, teardown, security, parking, and all the staff for our event. Plus, we were able to set up the venue well in advance and consult with Bill as much as we needed.

On the second point, in using the Empire Room, clients must agree to use their caterer and their provisions for all alcohol. The caterer, Painted Plate, is absolutely wonderful and delicious. Reasonably priced, as well. We mention this, though, because we'd originally wanted to explore other food options for our wedding and were unable to do so. Similarly for alcohol, the selections are somewhat limited and fairly expensive for their "go to" supply. We spent a lot more on alcohol than we anticipated. Bill was still helpful in meeting our needs and did offer the option to have beers outside of their selections; the only catch was that we were required to pay for them upfront and take them home afterward. Not an ideal if you're paying premium prices for them!

All in all, however, we would reiterate the exceptional quality of service, responsiveness, beauty of venue, professionalism and flexibility of staff as definite reasons to consider the Elm Street Center/Empire Room as your wedding venue of choice. We are so grateful for our amazing weekend there!
We held our wedding reception at the Empire Room and truly enjoyed the venue, as well as the staff.

Bill, the Read more...
We held our wedding reception at the Empire Room and truly enjoyed the venue, as well as the staff.

Bill, the general manager, was incredibly helpful through the entire process, speaking with us at length via phone and email and helping us in person several times as we prepared for the big day. On the weekend of our wedding, he truly shined in his ability to meet our needs, facilitate all vendors, and make last-minute changes to make our night truly beautiful and memorable! Simply put, Bill is amazing!

The venue is grand and utterly gorgeous, and it can meet many needs in terms of reception size. With just a few small extra decorations (which can add up quickly!), we presented an elegant and breathtaking evening to all our guests.

Our only qualms with using the Empire Room were a) that it was a bit expensive and b) that there was some rigidity for food and alcohol. To the first point, the expenses did include setup, teardown, security, parking, and all the staff for our event. Plus, we were able to set up the venue well in advance and consult with Bill as much as we needed.

On the second point, in using the Empire Room, clients must agree to use their caterer and their provisions for all alcohol. The caterer, Painted Plate, is absolutely wonderful and delicious. Reasonably priced, as well. We mention this, though, because we'd originally wanted to explore other food options for our wedding and were unable to do so. Similarly for alcohol, the selections are somewhat limited and fairly expensive for their "go to" supply. We spent a lot more on alcohol than we anticipated. Bill was still helpful in meeting our needs and did offer the option to have beers outside of their selections; the only catch was that we were required to pay for them upfront and take them home afterward. Not an ideal if you're paying premium prices for them!

All in all, however, we would reiterate the exceptional quality of service, responsiveness, beauty of venue, professionalism and flexibility of staff as definite reasons to consider the Elm Street Center/Empire Room as your wedding venue of choice. We are so grateful for our amazing weekend there! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/30/2012
2.8/5.0
This vendor started out PERFECT. I loved my venue. It was the most gorgeous place I had ever been. The general manager was always responding to my emails promptly, he let me come in whenever I wanted to, and he was just a great guy. I booked it the August before my wedding, so all throughout the winter, I was able to get in touch with no problem. Once wedding season hit, it turned into a mess but I understood the manager was too busy to talk and I wasn't his only bride. Then I had trouble trying to get my final balance because no one would answer the phone. The day of my wedding rehearsal, the AC broke at the Elm street center. They assured me it would be fixed for my wedding- without a doubt. I'm not quite sure what all went wrong from there, but I understand that they did the best to fix the AC, yet it did not work. I lost more money that day than ever. After my mom hassled them long enough- they repaid us for the cost of the room rental, which at first was good enough. The promised to pay us back for the cake, which MELTED- but we still have not heard back about it. The general manager (who was supposed to be my coordinator) completely disappeared on my wedding day leaving me without answers to tell my guests about the heat. 3/4 of my guests were elderly and left because of the heat, causing my $18 a plate food to be wasted. No one wanted to eat because it was so hot. My centerpieces had $100 worth of Hershey Kisses that melted. My wedding cake melted and we had to cut the cake right after the first dance because it almost fell over. My wedding day was an epic fail because the heat ruined everything and drove my guests away. I'm left with over 50 favors because people left before I got the chance to give them out. The service was great from the staff until they were under pressure. Then the manager hid in his office in order to not deal with us. I will never reccommend anyone there. I'm still waiting for a check on the cake by the way, Bill!
This vendor started out PERFECT. I loved my venue. It was the most gorgeous place I had ever been. The general manager was Read more...
This vendor started out PERFECT. I loved my venue. It was the most gorgeous place I had ever been. The general manager was always responding to my emails promptly, he let me come in whenever I wanted to, and he was just a great guy. I booked it the August before my wedding, so all throughout the winter, I was able to get in touch with no problem. Once wedding season hit, it turned into a mess but I understood the manager was too busy to talk and I wasn't his only bride. Then I had trouble trying to get my final balance because no one would answer the phone. The day of my wedding rehearsal, the AC broke at the Elm street center. They assured me it would be fixed for my wedding- without a doubt. I'm not quite sure what all went wrong from there, but I understand that they did the best to fix the AC, yet it did not work. I lost more money that day than ever. After my mom hassled them long enough- they repaid us for the cost of the room rental, which at first was good enough. The promised to pay us back for the cake, which MELTED- but we still have not heard back about it. The general manager (who was supposed to be my coordinator) completely disappeared on my wedding day leaving me without answers to tell my guests about the heat. 3/4 of my guests were elderly and left because of the heat, causing my $18 a plate food to be wasted. No one wanted to eat because it was so hot. My centerpieces had $100 worth of Hershey Kisses that melted. My wedding cake melted and we had to cut the cake right after the first dance because it almost fell over. My wedding day was an epic fail because the heat ruined everything and drove my guests away. I'm left with over 50 favors because people left before I got the chance to give them out. The service was great from the staff until they were under pressure. Then the manager hid in his office in order to not deal with us. I will never reccommend anyone there. I'm still waiting for a check on the cake by the way, Bill! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Elm Street Center responded with the following comments:

Fortunately I am rarely required to write responses to reviews like this. As one of the Triad’s premiere venues, we pride ourselves on our support and customer service; we excel in spoiling our brides with attention and service.

We know this was a difficult situation and we truly exhausted every avenue at our disposal, and beyond, to prevent the outcome you experienced. Because of the gravity of the situation we were facing, I chose to remain for the entire event, making sure that you, your groom and guests were well taken of. This action, allowed my General Manager, Bill, to focus his attention and energy on the problem, working side by side with the team experts who were diligently installing a portable, building sized, air conditioner. Sadly, our efforts were in vain as we ran into road block after road block to have the unit up and running by the time your reception began.

Once it was determined that the most probable outcome would be a reception with no air conditioning, Bill and myself had several conversations with your Groom and your father. We assured them both, no matter what happened, we would “make things right” and we did; a full refund from the Elm Street Center and the addition of an open bar at no cost to you, just to name a few.

After reading this review, my team and I are saddened that we did not fully make amends for the situation. Although there is no way to “do over” your special day, given your post on our Facebook page “It was hot but had a great time” and the satisfaction of a full refund that day, we thought we had an agreeable resolution. Again, on behalf of my team and myself I extend our deepest apologies for spoiling what should have been a perfect day, that was not our goal.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions as my follow up has been unwelcome.

Sincerely,
Brad B. Semon
Managing Partner
The Empire Room
Bg5
Leslie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.8/5.0
The Empire Room at The Elm Street Center was TO DIE FOR. Our wedding was very elegant and classic. The chandeliers, rotundas, terraces, 30 foot ceilings, and most importantly...the venue manager BILL FALCOLN made our event breathtakingly beautiful. I would recommend this place to ANYONE. If you use Empire Room, then you will have to use Painted Plate as your caterer, but you can bring in your own cake vendor. But Painted Plate is phenomenal so don't worry AT ALL. Bill Falcoln and our venue were two of our favorite things...and we am so glad we had the opportunity to work with them! - The Thomases
The Empire Room at The Elm Street Center was TO DIE FOR. Our wedding was very elegant and classic. The chandeliers, Read more...
The Empire Room at The Elm Street Center was TO DIE FOR. Our wedding was very elegant and classic. The chandeliers, rotundas, terraces, 30 foot ceilings, and most importantly...the venue manager BILL FALCOLN made our event breathtakingly beautiful. I would recommend this place to ANYONE. If you use Empire Room, then you will have to use Painted Plate as your caterer, but you can bring in your own cake vendor. But Painted Plate is phenomenal so don't worry AT ALL. Bill Falcoln and our venue were two of our favorite things...and we am so glad we had the opportunity to work with them! - The Thomases Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CBShields
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
The Elm Street Center was PERFECT! The staff was absolutely wonderful and professional. They were so easy to work with and provided the utmost quality of service. I would recommend this venue to any bride or anyone planning an event. Our reception was everything I dreamed of and The Elm Street Center helped make our special day perfect!
The Elm Street Center was PERFECT! The staff was absolutely wonderful and professional. They were so easy to work with and Read more...
The Elm Street Center was PERFECT! The staff was absolutely wonderful and professional. They were so easy to work with and provided the utmost quality of service. I would recommend this venue to any bride or anyone planning an event. Our reception was everything I dreamed of and The Elm Street Center helped make our special day perfect! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved the empire room it was a beautiful setting for my reception! The staff there will do anything you want and are very quick about responding to mine and my families emails! They did everything they could to make my day a success and even assisted with putting my centerpieces, frames and anything else I needed on the tables or in the room! Would suggest them to any of my bride friends!
I loved the empire room it was a beautiful setting for my reception! The staff there will do anything you want and are Read more...
I loved the empire room it was a beautiful setting for my reception! The staff there will do anything you want and are very quick about responding to mine and my families emails! They did everything they could to make my day a success and even assisted with putting my centerpieces, frames and anything else I needed on the tables or in the room! Would suggest them to any of my bride friends! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved working with this staff! They were excellent. Allison was always able to help me or find the help I was seeking. The room was spectacular. I didn't have to worry about a thing! Everything was set up beautifully and on time.
I loved working with this staff! They were excellent. Allison was always able to help me or find the help I was seeking. Read more...
I loved working with this staff! They were excellent. Allison was always able to help me or find the help I was seeking. The room was spectacular. I didn't have to worry about a thing! Everything was set up beautifully and on time. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
misty
Wedding:
5/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Great Location at a great price! Catherine was great to work with and all was wonderful! I used this location for reception only as I felt it was not appropriate for the wedding ceremony but perfect for the reception.
Great Location at a great price! Catherine was great to work with and all was wonderful! I used this location for Read more...
Great Location at a great price! Catherine was great to work with and all was wonderful! I used this location for reception only as I felt it was not appropriate for the wedding ceremony but perfect for the reception. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
203 S. Elm Street, Greensboro, NC 27401 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Elm Street Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1335283767703-window