130x130_sq_1284245912107-parandianolchowski242

The Engineers Club

Baltimore , MD

LOCATION

11 W. Mt. Vernon Place
Baltimore, MD US 21201 (map)

PHONE

410-539-6914

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Engineers Club at the Garrett -Jacobs Mansion is a beautiful home located in the historic neighborhood of Mt. Vernon. A combination of Elegant Entertaining Rooms, a Warm and... Read more
The Engineers Club at the Garrett -Jacobs Mansion is a beautiful home located in the historic neighborhood of Mt. Vernon. A combination of Elegant Entertaining Rooms, a Warm and Attentive Staff, and Gourmet Dining. Everything you need to create a one of a kind Wedding that will be not only memorable...it will be unforgettable. Get in toucvh with us at asha@esb.org. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1286674675911-112
130x130_sq_1286674695333-217
130x130_sq_1286674717130-228
130x130_sq_1286674733630-245
130x130_sq_1286674754630-259
130x130_sq_1286674831911-265
130x130_sq_1286674866302-274
130x130_sq_1286674890239-284
130x130_sq_1286675641271-509
130x130_sq_1286675665849-450
130x130_sq_1286675690599-320
130x130_sq_1286675717755-330
130x130_sq_1286675739833-388
130x130_sq_1286675759849-memories
130x130_sq_1286675815380-ballroombyjackson
130x130_sq_1286675851974-ballroomwhitecovers
130x130_sq_1286675876224-ballroomredroses
130x130_sq_1286675944114-ballroomflowers
130x130_sq_1286676002427-0948
130x130_sq_1286676034021-0494
130x130_sq_1286676055552-0601
130x130_sq_1286676073911-0706
130x130_sq_1286676102255-1105
130x130_sq_1286676134442-0133
130x130_sq_1286676163521-0209

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1850
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Glamorous, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
120
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding here, what I can I say, the venue is so attractive & ornate, that we did not have to spend too much on flowers & decorations. We had the cocktail hour in the drawing room, dinner in ballroom, and dancing under the stars in the atrium so you didn’t have to worry about weather, but it was still like you were in a European courtyard! The whole mansion is extremely spacious, you do not have to worry like many other mansions about guests being in different rooms & not being able to see or hear what is going on. Everyone can fit into each room utilized! Also, there is an upstairs and downstairs that we had access to the whole day!!!! From 8am to 9pm when we left!. The upstairs bridal party suite was just renovated and all the girls could dress & relax in the morning. It was very spacious, with mirrors & the lighting was great for getting ready. Downstairs was where the groom's party could hang out with a bar & a pool table. We did not have to worry about another wedding & we had personalized service all day. The people there are extremely helpful & available. Asha was our coordinator and I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone. There were so many little personal details that she incorporated and allowed for us, which at other venues are an additional cost for everything little thing! They also had so many items, such as bird cage for holding cards, vases, mirror centerpieces, etc. we could borrow to keep down wedding costs. The Club is definitely worth the price for such tailored, detailed service for your special day. For example, I wanted an old bay aioli with our crabcakes, & horseradish to be served with the NY strips, & it was not a problem at all. This leads me to the food. The quality & selection of the food is excellent. We actually utilized the club membership for the year before we were married & attend many events such as crab feasts & Sunday brunches. I miss the food and events so much! I would highly recommend this venue to everyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at the club this weekend and it exceeded expectations. We threw a big holiday party that we happened to get married at and Asha and all the staff were amazing! The club is gorgeous with character you won't find anywhere else and then there was the food which was great! We did cocktail style reception, the food was constantly replenished and great value for the price (people are still talking about the crab dip days later). All came together for a night that just blew us away and we likely to join the club itself.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved this venue. We had the dinner in the atrium, it was like we were outside in a European courtyard, without the heat (an August wedding). The reception was in the ballroom, very spacious. The ceremony was in the front room, which has a large window that brought a lot of light into the room. There are several other rooms on the first floor that we used, one for the dessert bufffet and candy bar, another for the bridal party to relax after the ceremony, before the party. Also, there is an upstairs and downstairs that we had access. The upstairs was where the bridal party could dress and relax. It was very spacious, with mirrors and the lighting was great for getting ready. Also, a separate room for food setup. Downstairs was where the groom's party could hang out. There was a bar and a pool table. We had the entire place for the whole day for an evening wedding. We did not have to worry about another party. The venue is so attractive, that we did not have to spend too much on flowers and decorations. The people there are very helpful and available. I would highly recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1337807972319-dsc04004
Jessica
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Let me just take a moment to express how AMAZING Asha is. This woman is nothing less than Superwoman. Asha was responsive, amicable, & willing to do whatever it took to make me happy. I trusted her completely with all tasks related to the wedding. If you have Asha, there is no need to even think about having a wedding planner! She did it all. She is nothing short of amazing to work with.
Her staff and that venue run events like CLOCKWORK. Asha was amenable to bartering the price if we were flexible on payment. I always felt welcome at the venue, and I would often stop by to get ideas and see layouts.
On the Engineer's club: What an amazing venue. It is a bit pricey. Realize that you will be paying for a membership fee just for the priviledge of being ABLE to access the grounds for a wedding. This fee is approx 3k, and that is what I paid, though I have heard other brides bartered that price down a bit. Then you have to have a minimum of 120 guests (approx) for sat. & plates will run you between $120-150 pp. It does sound like a lot. But hereare other things you are getting wrapped up in that price:
- tables/chairs/linens
- No need to decorate because this place is BEAUTIFUL and full of history. If you have never seen it, google it right now!
Since they do so many weddings, they had an OVERSTOCK of wedding related items. I didnt need centerpieces bc they have an entire ROOM dedicated to glass flower vases/jars/candelabras/baskets/ etc. They have silk flowers. They have excess candles. Cake stand/cutters.... you get the point. Just ask and if they have it, you are welcome to use it.
Everyone could not stop complimenting me on the location and how delicious the food was or how friendly and fun the staff was (my dad grabbed one of the lady servers and started dancing with her in the middle of the night to which she happily obliged!).
Thank you Engineer's club for an unforgettable wedding. Thank you Asha for being my rock star during this process!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Edward
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
As soon as Ed and I got engaged we had appointments with many different reception sites all over Baltimore City. The first place Ed and I visited we thought we were sold. Ed and I had other appointments scheduled for that night. We did not want to be rude so we decided to still go ahead and meet with the other reception sites. Boy am I glad we did!! Our second appointment was at the Engineers Club. As soon as Ed and I walked into the Club we grabbed hands and looked at each other, we knew this is was it!

When entering the Engineers Club you can not help but notice its incredible architecture! We met with Asha and she took us through the entire club. There are four rooms in the Club; one more beautiful than the next. You get to figure out how you want to use all of the rooms because if you book there you have the venue to yourself for the whole day!

Asha was very easy to work with. She helped us figure out the best way to set up the club for our special day/night. Ed and I were looking for more of a cocktail style reception and some other venues said that they did not know how to make that happen. Asha gave us about 5 different options on how this could be achieved right on the spot.

I had previously read some reviews about the food. I tried to go into our tasting without any expectations because I did not want to be disappointed. My highest expectation was blown! The food was GREAT! The crab cakes are some of the best crab cakes I have EVER had!

The venue looked INCREDIBLE! The staff was so helpful and friendly!

I am getting compliments from everyone that was there! If I had to do it again I would do the exact same thing!

I 100% would recommend the Engineer's Club for your venue! You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect. We received so many compliments on the gorgeous venue and excellent food. The staff was fun to work with and always very accommodating. On any one day, your wedding is the only one at the venue, and there is a lot of personal attention to all details.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
As I rest up from my daughters wedding on October 27th, I wanted to take a moment to tell you how wonderful Asha was to work with. I produce commercials for a living and am so familiar with endless details and how some people are naturally equipped for those tasks and others just are not. Asha is quite a find and a wonderful asset to the Engineers Club.

When we were shopping for venues, and there are many great ones in Baltimore,we came upon the Engineers Club. The bride felt instantly attached to it and while I thought the physical building was lovely, it was Asha who turned my head. From the first instant I met her, she was warm, welcoming and so professional. Dealing with Brides, and Mothers of the Bride is no small task as emotions can run very high, but not once did Asha show anything but calm and a willingness to make the day as special as we had hoped. She made us feel that we were the most important thing to her and helped me with finding vendors who were the perfect match for what we wanted.

A wedding is a huge investment and while the Bride and Groom had the day of their dreams, I also, with Asha's help had the day I dreamt of.

Thanks to all of the staff for their hard work. The Chef helped my husband finish the wedding cake. We were down to the wire on that, as the decorations he had ordered did not arrive on schedule and there was a last minute run to get more icing. Good wedding stories for the future! But, your staff who does dozens and dozens of weddings acted as this was their one and only and with the Chef's help, my husband got into his tux in time.

Best wishes to you and your entire staff. If anyone ever wants a recommendation, just send them my way.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding experience at the Engineers Club was absolutely delightful. Krystal and the staff took care of us from start to finish and helped to put on a most classy affair. During the preparation phase, Krystal went out of her way to help keep things within our budget and advise on each and every detail. On the day of the event, Gayle was there at our beck and call to help make the day special and assist with everything. Krystal went beyond the call of duty to help decorate and add little touches to bring everything together. I never had to worry about anything on the day of the wedding - it all went so smoothly. The food was excellent. The venue is a spectacular place to have a wedding. It couldn't be more beautiful. Our guests were blown away. In summary, it was a magical evening - the photos resemble a scene out of the Great Gatsby.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mariel
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
I loved the Engineer's Club! It was beautiful, and really set the tone for an elegant wedding. We had lots of space to get ready and we loved that the whole space was ours for the whole day. It's a beautiful venue and they make it really easy to get things done. I loved the food there also. It was delicious, and they let us add some foods that weren't regularly offered on the menu.

Also, I loved working with Krystal. She was our contact person and she eased my nerves and made me feel confident about my decisions and how the day was going to go. They do this a lot so they know what they are talking about, and at the same time they gave me personal attention so I didn't feel that I was one of many.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1325622551060-jcnme
Jessica
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Engineer's Club are all extremely friendly and helpful. My guests were in awe from the beauty the club offered as well. Plus the food was delicious and a big hit with everyone. I would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have found a better place to get married. I searched for 6 months for the perfect place. The second that we walked into The Engineers Club, the search was OVER! I cannot say enough good things about Asha. Asha was the point person for my wedding. She understood exactly what I wanted from the second I walked in the door. She made sure that my wedding was a dream come true. Asha truly made every idea or thought I had become a reality. The staff at EGC are phenomenal. They could not have been any nicer or more helpful. For example: They made me a plate, told me that I needed to eat, when I didn't eat they packed us food to take to the hotel. When I was finally willing to take my veil off, they put it somewhere safe and packed it for me to pick up in the morning. They danced with my wedding guests (of course, they asked me if it was ok first) the wedding guests LOVED it! They were so much fun. It truly felt that they were part of the party and not people being paid to be there. I cannot say enough positive things about EGC. My wedding could not have been any more perfect thanks to Asha and her crew.

If you are looking for a more traditional route, Asha will be very willing to work with you. I wanted a causal approach. Asha will take the things you want and create something even better than you imagined!

My wedding guests are still talking about how amazing the staff was/is and how delicious the food was! You will not find a better place to get married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Best wedding venue in Baltimore. The food, staff and everything in between was top notch. Asha is an amazing wedding/party coordinator and I couldn't have done it without her. I highly recommend this location and staff to anyone who is looking to have a beautiful wedding where memories will be made and pictures will be fantastic.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AYC
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
This place is amazing! Not only is the service impeccable (I worked with Asha) but the venue is classic and timeless for a historic mansion within the Baltimore City area. Leading up to the day I worked with Asha who made everything as easy as possible from table seating, food, even allowing us to bring in our own sushi chef to celebrate our asian culture for the cocktail hour! They just recently redid the ballroom. I recommend dining under the skylight and dancing in the ballroom because of the acoustics.

Everyone also raved about the food (we did a buffet) but it was still piping hot and the drinks were strong :)

Either way, I wholly recommend this venue for anyone searching for something unique in Baltimore.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot be happier that I had my wedding at this perfect venue (3/31/12). The setting is gorgeous (beautiful wood staircase to take pictures, stunning indoor courtyard, ballroom) and the venue is located near a pretty park and monument - perfect for both indoor and outdoor pictures. The food is amazing, and the staff will work with you before the wedding to give you exactly what you want. We heard so many compliments about the food after the wedding! We LOVED the staff - so friendly, accommodating, easy to work with. Our on-site coordinator was Asha, and she was amazing. Organized, attentive to every detail - I don't know how she does it, but she is incredible at her job! Would recommend this venue and Asha to anyone without reservations - it was perfect!!!!!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
12/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Krystal at the Engineers Club made our wedding the most perfect day of our lives. Any issues that came up she immediately handled with professionalism and class.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CAS
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Our daughter's wedding was held at this venue last week and we could not be more thrilled. The TWO!! wedding coordinators-Asha & Crystal- absolutely devote themselves to making each event perfect. From your first visit they are responsive to every request. They take charge of your favors, bathroom supplies & even gowns the day before the wedding. We spent the day of the event there with women upstairs doing hair & make-up, etc. & men downstairs playing pool. Bottles of champagne, soda & water abound. A catered lunch can be arranged. All of the employees from servers to cleaning crew are so proud of the mansion & happily talk to wedding guests about its history. The food is fabulous-definitely not "hotel chicken". And the place is so beautiful you save money on decorating and flowers. 10.0/5.0 stars is my rating.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Proud Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
The Engineers club provided a wonderful venue for our daughter's wedding. We were very impressed with the beauty of the mansion! The food met our highest expectations. The service that Krystal Atkinson the representative gave us was with the utmost professionalism. She was always there when we needed her for whatever reason. She was efficient, knowledgeable and courteous. Our event was a day to remember. We would recommend the Engineers club to anyone looking for a wedding venue.
Paula M Gentile , The Mother of the Bride
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bianca
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
absolutely wonderful every step of the way!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amberm1
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I am so thrilled that I found the Engineer's Club... searched high and low for a reception location and nothing compared to it! Not only is it incredibly beautiful, the people there were so great to work with, and it is pretty reasonably priced! Food was also delicious! Krystal was amazing to work with- she's such an easy going and fun person, she definitely knows what she is doing and is very detail oriented. She completely put my mind at ease with everything. Other pluses include that it is right next to a great hotel, the sights in Baltimore (great for out of town guests!), and the Mount Vernon square has beautiful scenery for photographs. I heard from so many people that our wedding was the most beautiful and fun wedding they have ever been to. The only regret I have about my wedding is that it is over!!! Loved the Engineer's Club and would recommend it to anyone searching for a venue in the area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mahjesstica
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
It has taken me some time to compose this review because, quite honestly, there are not even good/kind/thankful words to use when I talk about the Engineer's Club. Choosing this venue was literally the best decision we made when planning our wedding...not only was the location beautiful (2 months later and our guests are STILL commenting on how incredible the place is) but the staff went above and beyond to accommodate any need we had during the entire 12-month planning process. I don't exaggerate when I say that working with the staff of the Engineer's Club was the easiest and most fun vendor experience I had during my wedding.

Krystal, our coordinator, knows her stuff front to back -- no crisis is to big, no detail too small for her -- she is born to do this stuff and it shows. Her guidance and help and her constant willingness to work with us made our planning process as easy as could be. On the day of our wedding, she was everywhere, making sure things were set up to my request and to her exacting standards; she spent the night making sure my groom and I and our guests had everything we needed. We couldn't have done it without her. And the rest of the staff at the Club was phenomenal...every single one of them made it a personal goal to ensure we and our guests had the time of our lives. They brought us extra food without being asked, made sure we had a drink or cool towels when we got overheated from dancing, made sure everything -- from dinner to toasts to the cutting of the cake -- went smoothly and on schedule. They even danced with our guests and joined the party!

Truly, the food was delicious, the presentation and location impeccable, and the service top notch; we were so very lucky to find this place. I realize it sounds like I'm blowing my positive comments completely out of proportion to the service that was provided, but I promise you -- my review is a shadow of how good the Engineer's Club really is. If you're considering getting married in Baltimore, do yourself a favor and book this venue today. You will be so grateful that you did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Choosing the Engineers Club for our wedding was the best decision we made! It's worth every penny!! We had both our ceremony and reception there for about 130 guests. Everything was beautiful and effortless. Krystal Atkinson, our venue coordinator, was like our fairy godmother.

We were looking for a unique venue (not your typical hotel ballroom), something that could accommodate our numbers without being cramped or crowded, and a location near hotels. Those were our priorities during our venue search. The Engineers Club exceeded our expectations!

Their in-house catering is amazing and our food received rave reviews. The waitstaff became part of the family and took care of us. Unlike other venues, they only host ONE wedding per day, so you have the entire venue to yourself from AM to PM. The photos on their website do not do this place justice. It is gorgeous in person and in our wedding photos.

They are on the pricey end, as far as venues in the area go. But I assure you that is it worth going a tad over your budget for this place! This is one case where you get what you pay for and I cannot say anything bad about the Engineers Club.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jubie230
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
The Engineer's Club was such a magnificent venue for our wedding, All our guests are still raving of how incredible the decor was, how much they enjoyed the food choices, and how much they loved the staf being so interactive and attentive. Crystal was simply wonderful in helping us plan our special day. She was prompt to respond and very accommodating to how we wanted the day to turn out. We iterviewed MANY places and this was by far the best value for everything we recieved!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Engineer's Club 3 weeks ago and we truly feel we could not have picked a better spot in the Baltimore area. The club is magical. Nevermind the unbelievable decor and cozy atmosphere, the venue is so unique in how it is setup. Each room has its own beauty and character which makes it such a special place (great for photos too).

The entire staff is amazing. Specifically though, working with Asha was a breath of fresh air. Her expertise and ability to understand my vision was proven when I walked into the club on the night of the reception and saw it become a reality. She listened to what we wanted and executed everything to almost perfection. She was hands off during the planning but was there to answer any and all questions, put me at ease and was a pleasure to speak with throughout the process. She is a veteran in her field. My guests raved about the food, accomodating staff and beauty of the venue. We are so happy we had our reception here and would highly recommend this venue to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow, what an extraordinary venue! And Asha was an exceptional event planner! It was an exciting and wonderful experience to have my daughter's wedding at this beautiful setting, guided by such a superb coordinator.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
3/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I do not think that there are enough words to describe how happy I was with the Engineer's club. They were flexible and creative and made me feel so relaxed leading up to the wedding. Krystal and Asha were a delight to work with as was all of the staff.

So many of my guests have remarked on how beautiful and unique the wedding venue was - if you are looking for a memorable location that provides an unforgettable setting, the Engineer's Club is right for you.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
drsooze
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
From an e-mail I sent to the executive director of the Engineers Club:
My daughter got married at The Engineers Club two nights ago, on November 13th. I feel compelled to write to you, to let you know what a pleasure it was to work with Asha Hislop. From the moment we met her when we were exploring our venue options, to the night of the wedding, Asha was instrumental in the success of the entire process. Asha was there, by e-mail and phone, every step of the way, patiently answering questions and offering advice and suggestions. Her knowledge and experience touched every aspect of our event, and we were all the better for it.
I cannot thank her enough. You are very fortunate to have someone like Asha on your staff.
Gratefully and sincerely,
Dr. Susan Albert (mother of the bride)
To this website, let me add that the mansion is a gorgeous venue. We had 140 guests, and we used all the rooms for different parts of our wedding. If you want a very special place, take the time to look at this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TracyPenrose
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
I dont even know where to begin when talking about the Engineers Club. Everything from the food to the linens to the beautiful courtyard was PERFECT. Krystal and her staff did an unbelievable job catering to our every request especially when it came to the food. The food was delicious and as long as you pay for it they are willing to be flexible with food options. We added things like ahi tuna ect and our guest loved it. Krystal made sure the Ballroom and Courtyard ect looked flawless and I really cant thank her enough for helping plan the most beautiful and perfect day of our lives. The venue itself is gorgeous but the staff made the day unforgetable. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone that has the funds available to do so ! It is GREAT ! And the courtyard setting with all the candles truly makes a fairtale setting !!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SalsaSparkly
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
It looks amazing! they are able to change things around so quickly you wont even notice! the speed at which they took the chairs from the ceremony and was able to replace them in the dineing area was amazingly quick. I dont think that anyone even noticed! They are able to help lots with lots of things. I had my own room to get dressed in while my husband had his own seperate room. the staircase is beautiful. Its just amazing and historic and a beautiful place for a ceremony and reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We had worked with Asha for the last year, planning our reception (we did not do our ceremony here). She was wonderful to work with, very responsive, very helpful. She answered a ton of my questions on almost a weekly basis (at some points in planning). The consummate professional, she answered all of my emails and every question. I really feel like they go above and beyond there. It's not cheap, but well worth the expense. So many possible points of stress were not even a consideration for us, as everything was taken care of. Asha coordinated everything and made sure things ran smoothly behind the scenes. Linens,chairs and decor (not flowers) were taken care of. The club is a gorgeous, classy, mansion to begin with. They made it even more special with lights and candles in the atrium. We got tons of compliments on how elegant this venue was. We used the drawing room and library for the cocktail hour and then transitioned people to the ballroom for dinner through the marble staircase area. I didn't have the appetite to eat (though the food there is wonderful!). I was too tired and distracted to be able to eat a lot, so they kept our food warm in the back and wrapped it for us to take when we went home, which came in handy at 3am back in our room. We had family members who have eaten in very nice places all over the world, tell us that this was one of the best meals they had had during their visit to the states. We also had a few very tired babies, who were able to use the downstairs rooms to sleep in. My stepson got to play some pool downstairs as well. I had major bustle issues throughout the evening and they were extremely responsive. Asha (8 months pregnant!) was on the floor pinning my dress with the help of someone else from the wait staff. They knew what they were doing and totally took control of the situation. This was also the only venue where we were able to stay until 2am. We had a sparkler sendoff, which of course, Asha was already prepared for, and knew what to do. They were also very flexible with the numbers and worked with us in terms of last minute changes. From start to finish, everything was first class. In this case, you really do get what you pay for! I could not recommend the club highly enough.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Everything was absolutely perfect. Asha was our main point of contact for getting things set up for the wedding. She was very helpful, and the wedding turned out better than I could have imagined.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend having your wedding at the Engineers Club! It was beautiful and Asha and the staff were extremely helpful. It turned out better than I could have expected!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AShley
Wedding:
6/30/2007
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Engineers Club could not have been better! They were professional and fun, and made sure things ran like clockwork. Everyone was so impressed with the venue and the food! The meal was excellent!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
1/13/2007
5.0/5.0
A stunning, professional venue that provided us with our dream wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Krystal and her staff went beyond all expectations. She willingly accommodated a small group of seniors who needed special care. Everyone in attendance commented on how attentive and pleasant the staff was. The Engineer's Club is not just a beautiful venue, but the people attend to every detail and enable everyone to have a wonderful experience.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
So happy we chose the Engineers Club for our wedding. Not only was the venue beautiful, but the staff was amazing and helped to pull everything together behind the scenes. The food was delicious and I loved that our wedding party had a private attendant taking care of just them the whole night! If you have your wedding there, you also have the venue for the entire day which I loved rather than having both an afternoon and evening wedding. There is also an amazing bridal suite for you to get ready in the entire day before!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Private User
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.8/5.0
We originally planned to use the Engineers Club for our reception dinner. However, after making changes to our guest list, the Engineers Club would have been too big of a venue. We decided to use the Engineers Club for our Rehearsal dinner instead.

The location itself is beautiful. There are several rich, ornate rooms, a wonderful atrium with great natural light, and ample spaces for the bridal party to get ready (if needed).

We worked with Krystal, the event manager, who was very helpful. She was able to work with us to adjust our plans, and made a few suggestions to help us keep the budget and style we were looking for. Before we made our change in plans, we actually went through a full tasting, which was nice. Overall the food was good, but not great. When we arrived for our dinner, it didn’t appear everything was quite set up (bartender not present, gifts not set on the table). However, things were quickly put into place and the night was able to start. Be aware that membership in the club is required in order to use the venue, which requires an extra fee.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Expensive, but worth it! I got SO many compliments on my wedding reception: the space, set up, and FOOD were all applauded by the guests. I chose the crabcakes, filet, and chicken Chesapeake for my menu and everyone loved it! The club also offers a buffet option, which I wouldn't suggest. I went to another wedding at the club a few weeks before mine: they ran out of food so I had to wait... And fettuccine Alfredo was on the menu. Not worth the $.... Even if you are saving a few bucks!!! (although when I asked for more food - not seconds, but my first plate - the servers were happy to get me something. It's just annoying to have to wait fr your food after standing in line. Go with the seated dinner option!!!!)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
obieals
Wedding:
5/29/2010
4.8/5.0
The Engineer's Club was an awesome place to have a wedding; we loved everything about it. Over the course of planning, we worked on and off with both Asha and Krystal and both were very responsive, kind, and down-to-earth. They know the ins and outs of wedding planning and knew to ask about numerous issues that we hadn't even thought of. Compared to other places in the area, we were impressed that a) they have in-house catering so food isn't being transported there, not to mention you don't have to pay for table/chair/linen rental b) you have the place for the entire day, they don't double book, so you can get ready there, take pictures, etc. and c) there is so much space and many different rooms to use and play with for cocktail hour, dinner, dancing, etc. Everyone was really very kind and flexible and we had a total blast the night of our wedding, we got lots and lots of compliments, not only on the food but also on the quality of the service. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
B'MoreBride15
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.7/5.0
The Engineer's Club is a beautiful place to have a wedding. The mansion is gorgeous, with each room unique and elegant. I didn't want the stress of an outdoor wedding, and this was a great place, because the glass ceiling courtyard gives plenty of natural light to bring the outdoors in, and if it is nice out, then you can step outside to Mount Vernon Square for pictures (which we did, and they are some of the best photos from the day!). Krystal was wonderful to work with, and they were so flexible and met all of our requests. All our guests raved about the food too! I couldn't have picked a more stunning, memorable place to host my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lz
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.7/5.0
The venue itself and staff were great. Everyone was easy to work with and very accomodating. The food was excellent and everyone commented on what a great venue it was.
They recommend valet service, which is expensive but there are a few parking lots in the neighborhood. A word of caution is remember that you are still in downtown baltimore, one of the bridesmaids had money stolen out of her purse in the upstairs room where we had gotten ready.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
10/31/2013
4.6/5.0
I couldn't have asked for a better ceremony and reception site. All the staff were personable and helpful. The only hangup I had was with the number of guests I actually had- only half of those I invited- and the club could only refund a certain amount of the catering. I paid for an extra 10-20 plates and I thought it would have been nice to get offered the leftover food wrapped up to take home to family versus simply paying for the invisible guests that didn't eat. If I had to do it all over again and remembered to ask however I'm sure the club would have done it for me. The food was spectacular, the staff were responsive, and I had extra help preparing the flowers the day before from the coordinator who was meant to be off that day. Definitely an extra effort from the staff's part
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
This location is beautiful. The website does not do it any justice, you need to see it in person. It's gorgeous as it is, and even more so when it's all set up for a wedding.

The staff is lovely. Asha was on top of everything from the beginning to the end of planning. The service staff the day of the wedding was beyond gracious. Numerous guests mentioned how nice, helpful and accommodating they were.

The food is top restaurant quality as it is the same as they serve their members.

Overall, it was a wonderful day and a wonderful experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Loved this place!!! Food was fantastic as was the wait staff. Will work with you to make your day perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better event planner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanne
Wedding:
4/25/2009
4.6/5.0
Wow. The Engineer's Club is a top notch venue! Scott and I worked with Asha Hislop for our event, and we had both our ceremony and reception at the venue. From the very beginning, Asha was helpful and accomodating. We were able to set up our day basically any way we wanted, and Asha was so great at putting our ideas into action. The mansion is stunning alone, but the fact that the staff are so friendly and helpful is a definite plus. We had use of the entire first floor for the event, as well as use of the downstairs billiard room and upstairs bridal suite. The catering is done on-site, and is absolutely outstanding! We had trouble choosing at the tasting, since everything we tried was so good. And it was just as good, if not better, on the day of the wedding! Everyone commented on how wonderful the food was, and how helpful and kind the staff were! Asha and her team went over and above to make sure our day ran smoothly, and to make sure we and our guests had everything we needed.

Asha took care of all the little details on the day of the wedding, like arranging the cake placement, flowers, candles, ceremony set-up, guest book and place card tables, etc., so that Scott and I didn't worry about a thing. She already had a cake stand, cake-cutting knives, a bird cage for the envelopes.... which definitely helped us with not having to buy those last minute things. We wound up having less people at the wedding than we expected, so Asha helped us set-up a Sunday brunch at the Club for close friends and family. The brunch food and service was amazing as well! Overall, we can't recommend this venue and their staff enough. Although the venue is not inexpensive compared to some of the other sites we visited, the service that you get for the money is exceptional!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
haskardd
Wedding:
2/7/2009
4.6/5.0
The Engineer's Club cost some up front money to book the location but it is well worth what you get in return. We had the entire mansion for the whole day to take pictures before hand. They also do not "kick you out" after your 5 hour reception. Our wedding was scheduled to end at 10:30pm and didn't end until 12:30pm. The service is exceptional and the food is some of the best you can get catered. I got comments on the venue from almost every guest. My photographer even thanked me for having her do our wedding and allowing her to photograph in such an amazing space. They don't allow you to bring in your own caterer but the catering at the location is awesome. I have had crab cakes at many Maryland weddings and these were lump crab meat with little filler. If you are not looking for a typical hotel wedding this is the place to have it.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1323644606013-brettron3
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
We absolutely loved the feel of this beautiful, vintage-inspired "mansion" in downtown Baltimore. The beauty of the Engineers Club is that it needs little to no decoration because it is art in and of itself. Being on Mt. Vernon square only adds to the view outside, and most of our guests stayed at the Peabody Hotel, which is literally 20 yards away. Since I grew up in Baltimore, some of our guests had been to the EC before, but many had not. The "lobby" alone will make you stop and stare with the beautiful carved wood, winding staircase, and marble floor. We got married in the atrium, which is such a gorgeous space because it feels like you are outside but it's a covered roof, so there is no threat with bad weather. We then had our cocktail hour in the library and drawing room, dinner in the ballroom (which turned out beautifully with using long tables since it is a rectangular room), and dancing back in the atrium. I love the open flow of every room and it was easy for some guests to sit back and watch but still feel part of the wedding.

The staff was wonderful throughout the night, especially Gail, who took such good care of us. We worked with Asha in the planning and though she was at times hard to get in touch with and to nail down the details, but she was always friendly and willing to help. I was glad I had my own planner to help us with all of the details.

The food was phenomenal, which was so important to us. Their crabcakes are some of the best in Baltimore, and that's a pretty big thing to say as a Baltimore girl. Everyone who had the tenderloin said it was done perfectly, and that's not an easy feat either for over 100 guests. Rave reviews on the bacon wrapped scallops and quiches, which were actually mini pizzas. We were highly impressed with the food!

If you like the old world, vintage feel we definitely recommend this venue! We loved it!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/6/2010
4.4/5.0
There are a couple of flaws with the Engineer's Club, but the bottom line is, the place is so beautiful it almost doesn't matter. A lot of people commented on the venue and how gorgeous it was. It is also nice if you have several different groups of people, because your high school friends (for example) can go wander out to the foyer and hang out while your dad's work partners can go over to the bar area and people can get away from the music if they want to. I felt like the place was all mine and it had such a personal feeling- so unlike a big hotel or something. The staff at the club worked with me to create a look I liked, and they also allowed us to bargain down the price per head, which you should absolutely do! We also used them for a brunch the next day which was really great. I definitely recommend the Engineer's Club to people who want a beautiful wedding that feels personal. You just have to make sure to stay on top of what you want b/c the coordinator we worked with seemed to get distracted and would forget the changes we'd made- there were a few mistakes with food and seating on the day of the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Engineers Club and had a wonderful experience from start to finish! We worked with Asha and she made sure that all of our questions were answered. The Engineers Club has a wonderful staff who was attentive to us throughout the evening - they made sure everything went smoothly. The food was great. The atmosphere was amazing. If we did our wedding all over again, we would do it there again!

My only complaint was that with 190 guests, I think we could have used 1 or 2 more bartenders (they had 4), and more waiters passing horderves.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
The Engineers Club is the perfect venue if you're looking for a romantic, elegant setting for your wedding. We held both our ceremony and reception here and loved it. The ballroom provided a beautiful space for a ceremony (and dancing later in the evening) and the atrium was perfect for dinner that felt like the outdoors (without having to worry about the weather!).

I worked with Asha to create the menu, arrange the decor and organize vendors. I was a bit leery about her responsiveness at times but when it came to the day of my wedding, she was amazing. She was basically my wedding coordinator (without having to pay for one!) and made sure everything ran smoothly. She dealt with the vendors' and guests' questions so I didn't have to.

The Engineers Club is a bit pricey but if you're looking for a unique and elegant setting for your wedding and have the money to spend, I would definitely recommend it! And the space photographs beautifully!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.5/5.0
Hands down, the worst customer service I have EVER experienced in 30+ years. If I could give 0 stars I would. Our first meeting with Krystal was a sign of things to come. She was late, reeked of smoke, and was busy texting another client during the first 10 minutes of our meeting. She then disappeared for 20 minutes leaving my family and me to sit and wait having ignored our request for information to read during her absence. After twenty minutes and asking two staff members to locate her, Krystal returned. Needless to say, it was a bad first impression.

Meeting #2 - Krystal told my fiance and me to arrive at 5pm on a Monday. My fiance took unpaid leave from work in DC to make the trip only to find out the club was closed on Monday evenings.

The drama continues...

Meeting #3 - We had given our budget to Krystal who seemed to ignore our request to work outside of the box to try and stay within our means. Krystal's idea of 'out of the box' was telling us to move our wedding from a Saturday evening to Sunday afternoon since the club could "easily book a party for over $20k on a Saturday". In fact, she emphasized, they would likely be turning people away as our weekend was a popular one. Not what you want to hear as a bride to be.

The last straw - After Krystal made the comment that the Executive Director of the club would have to be contacted to make a decision about our event and how he was likely sitting by his pool and sipping a cocktail so it might take some time to hear back, we were done with the Engineers Club. Not professional. We then reached out to the Executive Director to see if we could salvage our impression of the club. His response to our experience and growing concern was to generously offer to NOT increase the quote we had been given by 10% - a price adjustment scheduled for the following spring.

Not exactly the generosity we were hoping for. Save yourself a migraine and go elsewhere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

Get Married on Friday or Sunday and Save!!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
We are offering discount off of our Wedding Packages for any Friday or Sunday Evening Reception!!
Deal #WWc97c205d6b8a1927
220x220_1284245912107-parandianolchowski242

MAP

 
11 W. Mt. Vernon Place, Baltimore, MD 21201 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Engineers Club
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1284245912107-parandianolchowski242