130x130_sq_1404759643448-09must-be-credited-to--leah-haydock-photograph

The Essex Room

Essex , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

125 Main Street, Post Office Box 349
Essex, MA US 01929 (map)

PHONE

978-768-7335

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Essex Room has been hosting memorable events on the North Shore for over 40 years

Features quintessential coastal New England location and ambiance, with exquisite views... Read more
The Essex Room has been hosting memorable events on the North Shore for over 40 years

Features quintessential coastal New England location and ambiance, with exquisite views every season of the year, The Essex Room is the ideal venue for weddings, functions, and more.

The Essex Room hosts only one event at a time, so we’re able to provide unparalleled attention to detail and impeccable service.

We have multiple packages available for ease of planning, and we offer custom exquisite menus with numerous course options. Our Steamship Lounge is reminiscent of the early days of travel and exploration.

If you’re considering The Essex Room for your wedding, we provide a personal event coordinator and a “mother of the bride” the day of the wedding. We also have a luxurious Bridal Suite, expansive grounds for outdoor cocktails, and a beautiful seasonal garden, the perfect backdrop for wedding photos.

The Essex Room can seat 250 comfortably and boasts a large dance floor. We are family owned and operated, and there’s always plenty of free parking.

Essex is conveniently located 30 minutes north of Boston. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1380124934103-al--ariel-kissing
130x130_sq_1380124935863-al--ariel-on-the-roof
130x130_sq_1380124963261-img0387
130x130_sq_1380124979003-img0388
130x130_sq_1380124997035-img0389
130x130_sq_1380934317761-2013-10-04t20-48-050
130x130_sq_1380934342345-2013-10-04t20-48-052
130x130_sq_1380934401341-2013-10-04t20-48-053
130x130_sq_1380934458064-2013-10-04t20-48-054
130x130_sq_1380935245774-2013-10-04t21-06-200
130x130_sq_1380935275253-2013-10-04t21-06-201
130x130_sq_1382641221133-sfp2563
130x130_sq_1375216710401-0422
130x130_sq_1291400058305-gardenceremony101010
130x130_sq_1291400029102-kbp3220
130x130_sq_1291400049602-bushd480
130x130_sq_1291399466555-roomset
130x130_sq_1291401844305-weddingpic
130x130_sq_1291399464321-outsideceremonysetup
130x130_sq_1375214141809-2013-07-23t17-44-042
130x130_sq_1375214156100-2013-07-23t17-44-044
130x130_sq_1375214231655-0731
130x130_sq_1375214439251-2013-05-18t23-46-451
130x130_sq_1375214284483-2013-07-23t17-46-045
130x130_sq_1375214296725-2013-07-23t17-46-043---copy
130x130_sq_1375214395531-2013-07-23t17-46-048
130x130_sq_1375214408368-2013-07-23t17-44-041
130x130_sq_1382712315738-sfp2563---copy
130x130_sq_1382712353665-sfp2689---copy
130x130_sq_1382712405937-sfp2719---copy
130x130_sq_1382712452890-sfp2721
130x130_sq_1382712515337-sfp2731---copy
130x130_sq_1382712592390-sfp2793---copy
130x130_sq_1382712639969-sfp2875---copy
130x130_sq_1382712698287-sfp2928---copy
130x130_sq_1382712755853-sfp2985---copy
130x130_sq_1382712838047-sfp3035
130x130_sq_1382712888824-sfp3037
130x130_sq_1382712929057-sfp3055
130x130_sq_1382712970962-sfp3057
130x130_sq_1382713018768-sfp3059
130x130_sq_1400786752971-09must-be-credited-to--leah-haydock-photograph
130x130_sq_1404764504180-1-1
130x130_sq_1404764513945-1-2
130x130_sq_1404765224018-1-5
130x130_sq_1404765240449-1
130x130_sq_1404765251627-1-4
130x130_sq_1404765270312-1-3
130x130_sq_1375214772862-0738---copy
130x130_sq_1318004730515-03mustbecreditedtoleahhaydockphotography
130x130_sq_1375214890566-0470
130x130_sq_1318004965015-04mustbecreditedtoleahhaydockphotography
130x130_sq_1375214728287-img0127
130x130_sq_1375214848423-2013-07-23t17-44-045
130x130_sq_1375214942839-2013-07-23t17-46-0410
130x130_sq_1318004525718-02mustbecreditedtoleahhaydockphotography
130x130_sq_1375214957197-2013-07-23t17-46-049
130x130_sq_1360617229312-img3235
130x130_sq_1360615225301-purdy0045
130x130_sq_1360615319205-purdy0101
130x130_sq_1360615428515-purdy0125
130x130_sq_1360615470304-purdy0256
130x130_sq_1360617299120-img3330
130x130_sq_1360617437851-img3470
130x130_sq_1360617473883-img3712
130x130_sq_1360617605886-img3900
130x130_sq_1360617848061-img3908
130x130_sq_1360617886413-img3909
130x130_sq_1360617924081-img3912
130x130_sq_1360615365936-purdy0111
130x130_sq_1360617961350-img3924
130x130_sq_1360617995389-img3994
130x130_sq_1360615273369-purdy0099
130x130_sq_1360618063333-img4018
130x130_sq_1373470184409-coble-i
130x130_sq_1373470203831-coble-ii
130x130_sq_1373470230798-coble-iii
130x130_sq_1373470246159-coble-iv
130x130_sq_1373470261640-coble-v
130x130_sq_1373470278441-coble-vi
130x130_sq_1373470294537-coble-vii
130x130_sq_1373470312456-coble-viii
130x130_sq_1373470329667-fleming-ii
130x130_sq_1373470565775-lauren-and-scott-1
130x130_sq_1373470583102-lauren-and-scott-2
130x130_sq_1373470637198-lauren-and-scott-3
130x130_sq_1373470651701-lauren-and-scott-4
130x130_sq_1373470663539-lauren-and-scott-5
130x130_sq_1373470683309-lauren-and-scott-6
130x130_sq_1382323134746-2546162953853913145441710321n-1

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1972
When was your venue last renovated?
2011
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Coastal, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
70
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Noelle
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
The Essex Room staff did a great job at making sure our wedding went off without a hitch. They were all very responsive, helpful and professional throughout our entire time working with them. There was always someone right there during the day/night keeping us informed about what event was next (cake cutting, bouquet toss etc.), how much time we had for certain things and making sure we had sufficient time to eat! The food was delicious as always. I would recommend The Essex Room to anyone looking for a wedding venue. It truly is the perfect combination of casual and elegant and the staff was very well versed in what their roles were.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had an amazing wedding at the Essex Room this year! The service we received from start to finish was exemplary, and I would not hesitate to recommend them to friends, family, perfect strangers, etc. Faye, Donna, and Norm were a dream team; they covered every detail of our wedding planning process, and the day of, with incredible ease. They were personable, friendly, funny, and genuinely cared about us. They helped us stay within our budget, and were never pushy about any details of the wedding. The venue itself is gorgeous in the spring. We loved that the room overlooked the marsh and river, and loved the little details inside the room too. The service on the day of the wedding was fantastic. Our guests loved the food and drinks: lemonade and cookies before the ceremony, AWESOME appetizers during cocktail hour, delicious entrees, and really amazing desserts from Topsfield Bakeshop. We could not have asked for a better experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I don't know where to begin on praising the amazing job that Faye, and the Essex Room did for our wedding. From our first sit down meeting, until the day of the wedding, everyone was so helpful and accommodating with all questions and requests that we had. A month after the wedding, we were still receiving compliments on how amazing the food was. We were very lucky that weather cooperated and was able to have our ceremony on the front lawn, and was able to get some great pictures with the landscape around the hall. The room was very spacious, and well decorated. I am glad that we added the extra bartender to have both bars open so our guests did have to walk all around to get a beverage. We are so happy that we went with The Essex Room to host our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
What an awesome place! I grew up in the Gloucester/Essex area, and i've always wanted to get married in The Essex Room! Well, on January 24th 2014, that dream came true! They were so very helpful with everything that a girl doesnt think about when she has that "dream" of her magical day. This was my first wedding, so I had NO CLUE what to do, when to do certain things, timelines, etc. The coordinators, Faye and Maureen, were very quick and effiecient to help me and answer any questions I had promptly. On top of the rock star coordinators, and the unbelievable staff, the place was beautful. Everything I had asked for got done and with such attention to detail. There are not enough awesome things to say about the Essex Room at Woodmans! If you are considering, just go for it! You will certainly not regret it!
oh yes...almost left out how delicious the food was! The chef really knows what hes doing! And there were so many options :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had our wedding here and we could not have been any happier from day one.The minute we walked through the door we knew that this was where we wanted our wedding to be - everyone here is great, they are all friendly and professional. Faye and the whole Event Planning team was wonderful, they took all my phone calls and e-mails without any hicups, they answered all of my questions accurately and in timely fashion. The day really was a dream, the room looked beautful, and everything was flawless. The food was exceptional, still getting rave reviews about how delicious it was. We added "Dave the Expresso Guy" to our package and we were very happy with that choice, such a great add on. We really are very satisified with how our day turned out, Thank you to everyone at the Essex Room for such a wonderful job and the perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katrina
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had our wedding reception at The Essex Room and have nothing but great things to say! Throughout the whole process Faye, Maureen, and others at The Essex Room made the process go smoothly. On our wedding day we worked closely with Faye and Norman. They made sure that we were fed, had some drinks, and got all of our photos done in a timely manner. The food was delicious, and the size of the venue was great for our large wedding. Everyone had an absolute blast, and all of our photos outside came out spectacular. Would definitely recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
From the second we walked into The Essex Room and met Faye, we knew this was the perfect venue for our wedding. She made us feel so at ease, tending to every detail and asking questions that we never would have thought of. The huge dance floor was one of the many things that we first fell in love with, knowing that we would have a huge dancing crowd, and we were right, we danced the entire night! We knew from the start that we didn’t want a sit down dinner, and several places we looked could not accommodate our 200 guests with a station menu, but it was no problem for The Essex Room. The food stations were decorated beautifully, and every bit of food was beyond our wildest dream, from the presentation to the portion size and finally the taste, it was just perfect. They were very flexible with our on-site ceremony, and had a ‘bad weather’ plan in place, just in case, but the day of our wedding was the most beautiful, sunny, warm fall day, so thankfully, the alternate plan was not necessary. We were a bit hesitant about having our ceremony on the front lawn, being so close to Woodman’s parking lot, but I must say, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised at how private and secluded we felt during our wedding. It’s been almost 2 months since our wedding, and we’re still getting calls from guests saying what a wonderful time they had. We couldn’t have had a more perfect wedding, many thanks to the entire staff and especially Faye at The Essex Room!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ariel
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We cannot thank Faye, Norman & the rest of the team enough for making our wedding the absolute BEST day we have ever had!! Everything was perfect from ceremony to reception & the entire staff made sure that nothing was overlooked & everyone was having a great time. The grounds were immaculate for our outdoor ceremony & all of the pictures came out beautiful. We even got to climb onto the roof for an unforgettable photo session! We also rented The Lobster Trap for the after party which was a great way to keep the fun going without having to travel. Our guests are still raving about how wonderful it was - and we couldn't agree more! We highly recommend this venue for your wedding!

The Kipp's
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
After emailing a ton of vendors in the North Shore area and not getting any warm and fuzzy feelings - I was officially stuck. Until I was talking to a coworker who had been to a wedding at The Essex Room. I emailed them and was responded to by Faye, almost immediately. I don't think I can do justice by trying to explain how fabulous Faye was. She was there for every crazy concern that I had. She has a great personality and luckily a good sense of humor! Every email was answered promptly and politely. Faye was completely flexible with meeting with us- at night!

Faye was amazing- did I say that yet? She made the entire planning process so easy. She helped me with all of my decisions, making suggestions along the way. She was incredibly organized, and made us feel like we were the only wedding she had!

We opted not to have our ceremony at The Essex Room. We had our heart set on another location. I almost reconsidered, as having everything in one location is easier, but I couldn't get over the fact that the ceremony section wasn't completely fenced in and you could see the parking lot of Woodman's through the open sections. However, our pictures at the marsh and in that ceremony section (at night) were some of the best we have, absolutely gorgeous! If you can get over the fact that you can see the parking lot the day of, I am sure you will not see it in pictures.

I definitely recommend The Essex Room. The room was gorgeous and their attention to detail, helpfulness, atmosphere, and friendliness, made our reception amazing. I have been hearing nothing but good things from my guests. Nothing went wrong, they catered to every guests needs, and helped us throughout the entire night.

I am extremely happy with the way everything turned out and I could not thank Faye (and Norman!) enough.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had beautiful wedding and reception at the Essex Room! We had a wonderful experience working with Faye, Maureen and all the Essex Room staff. We highly recommend checking out Woodmans and the Essex Room for weddings!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Starting with the actual site visit in the fall, Faye made us feel like your your number one clients. We were the only ones there for the appointment, and you didn't make us feel rushed or unwelcome. You took the time to answer all of our questions, give us a thorough tour, and provided us with lots of refreshments and goodies to take home. It was like trying on my wedding gown - this place was the one! From that day forward, we felt like part of the Woodman's family. There was not a call left unreturned, nor an email left unanswered. I felt like I could reach out at any time, and I was immediately acknowledged and responded to. The expertise and experience that you and your staff have is top notch, and I was at ease throughout the entire planning process, but the Essex Room made it simple and stress free. You always listened to all of our ideas, made suggestions when necessary, and helped us to come up with a setup and menu that was going to really impress all of our guests!

The menu tasting was also amazing! Even though I had basically already selected my options, I was so honored to be invited and included.

As for the rehearsal, I must have changed my mind about the time over and over, and you remained patient and flexible, per usual. It was really efficient, and we felt like we knew exactly what we were going to be doing the next day.

Then of course, on my wedding day - I am speechless!!! You ladies were everywhere and nowhere (meaning, never in the way or intrusive). I did not want for anything! Our families, along with us, were fed and watered and taken care of during prep, pictures, etc., and during the reception, Scott & I didn't even have time to open our mouths to ask for a thing! We were so pampered and catered to and taken care of. Everyone had a blast!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1186898616438-sylvieandmiriam
Miriam
Wedding:
8/24/2008
5.0/5.0
We loved the Essex Room from the moment we arrived for our first visit and we were not disappointed after that! Faye, the manager there, is amazing to work with, she is super responsive, went out of her way to help us out with many issues, and was just generally great. The atmosphere is very relaxed and we loved having our ceremony next to the beautiful marsh. They are very reasonably priced, and allowed us to bring in an outside caterer which was an absolute must for us. One thing to note is that you have to buy alcohol through them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a outside wedding and I couldn't ask for a better place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The Essex Room at Woodman's of Essex was by far a dream come true for us! My husband and I (I love saying that!) could not have dreamed of a more perfect day for our wedding, and thanks to the Essex Room, that is what we got! A perfect day. THe ceremony was held outside, decided the morning of with the rise of the sun after rainy weather the day before. We had rehearsed indoors, so I was nervous about the change, but the staff at the Essex Room made the transition seamlessly and the ceremony went off without a stitch!! THe cocktail hour was sensational, the appetizers phenominal. THe vegetable crudite table, beautifully displayed amongst wheat grass, had a great selection of vegetables, and all the guests were wowed by the display!

THe receptions was incredible. All of the food was great - we had stuffed haddock and filet mignon. We each got one, so we could share, and it was awesome! The first course was an asparagus dish with egg and cheese - delicious!

Our hostess, as bride and groom we got our own, was fantastic and was there to help keep us on time and help us with anything we needed. The entire day worked so smoothly, we were completely able to just relax and have a great time. By the time the last dance came around, I don't think I stressed about a single thing.

THe little things really made the day special. Those details, like a "signature drink" at the bar and sweet and special candy bar for the favors, personalized our wedding and showed just how much thought the staff put into our event, and how well they listened when asking us questions about what we wanted and what we "saw" on our day.

Every staff member, from the kitchen to the bar to the hostesses, was friendly and welcoming - more than willing to help with anything that was needed. Everyone seemed to work really well together, and they were all happy, accomidating, and really nice.

From start to finish, I can honestly say I couldn't have asked for a better venue to hold my wedding.

THanks to THe Essex Room - for making our day the best we could have hoped for!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
"I absolutely loved my venue! I had my wedding at the Essex Room on 10/10/10.The Wedding coordinator Faye is great & I can not say enough good things about her. She helped me out so much through out my planning & was more than accomidating. My wedding day went so smoothly. I couldnt have asked for a better day. The venue is gorgeous I had my ceremony outside. There prices are very resonable, the food is great all in all its a great place to have a wedding. I would highly recomend The Essex Room :) "
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
StoryBride
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I had my reception here, and let me tell you, this place was AWESOME! Faye, the wedding coordinator, was SO helpful and so detail oriented and professional. Every step of the way was smooth, even last minute decisions. They provided so much value and so much wonderful food! I know chicken is cursed but once I tasted it I knew I had to have it on my menu! I have been with my other friends in planning their weddings and they had such struggles with their venues. When I chose this place I had a lot of knowledge from previous friends at other places, so I know this place was awesome. People still talk about my wedding and how great my reception was and it was 6 months ago! You cannot go wrong here. Their food is great, their staff is fantastic and the location is gorgeous! I also had my pictures done outside in the garden and in front of the marsh on the property and they came out GREAT! I only had one problem and that was my mirror part of my centerpieces were placed upside down on the tables. And all I can say is, if thats my only 'complaint' of my whole reception, than I feel pretty confident in saying this place rocks!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely not one complaint! Its newly renovated and beautiful inside. Everyone was super helpful especially Faye Broderick. She is amazing. I could literally call her to vent and she would just listen. The food was amazing, the decorations, the seating the lighting, it all was perfect!! My ceremony was supposed to be outside but it rained so I was a little worried when they had to move it inside but they blew me away again! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
winter bride
Wedding:
1/15/2011
4.9/5.0
Woodman's was the perfect place for our reception! They helped us piece together our ideal menu and our guests really enjoyed the beautiful space! The staff was professional and friendly, everything was taken care of before we even thought to worry about it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I had my wedding here and everyone said it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Everyone raved about the food saying it was the best wedding food they ever had. We has chicken and beef and the chicken was nice and moist (not dry) and the beef was cooked perfectly! Would and am recommending them for anything and everything and will probably use again in the future if I have to hold a big event!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
The Essex Room responded with the following comments:

We here at The Essex Room want to thank you for your kind words and endorsement. We all take pride all in knowing we helped in making you day extra special!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phil
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.6/5.0
We had a great experience having our wedding at the Essex Room! Most important to us, was their ability to be flexible and relaxed about letting us have the party the way we wanted it. The location is spectacular, but non-pretentious. Guests had a great time staying in the B&B's nearby. Good value when compared to other venues.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.6/5.0
We absolutely loved how our wedding turned out! All of our guests had a blast, and many of them say it's the best wedding they have ever attended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
I absolutely loved the Essex Room! They were so professional, organized, and made everything so easy! The staff is top-notch and having my wedding there was one of the best decisions I made! The food was delicious and the value/service was second to none!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
125 Main Street, Post Office Box 349, Essex, MA 01929 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Essex Room
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo