130x130_sq_1390363393801-first-lady-suffo

The First Lady of Suffolk, A Victorian Mansion

Suffolk , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

447 West Washington Street
Suffolk, VA US 23434 (map)

PHONE

757-478-3420

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

You can have the FairyTale Wedding of your Dreams!

Imagine... the music begins...it's the moment you've waited for...your Groom waits at the alter... imagine the look in His... Read more
You can have the FairyTale Wedding of your Dreams!

Imagine... the music begins...it's the moment you've waited for...your Groom waits at the alter... imagine the look in His eyes as you glide down the turned, Victorian Staircase to begin your journed down the aisle to Him.
FairyTale Weddings come true at The First Lady, Virginia's most Intimate & Romantic Wedding Chapel and Reception Hall.

Surround yourself with the Luxury of Old World Elegance on the most Important Day of your Lives.

The First Lady... For those not content with the ordinary. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1390362230068-first-lady-suffol
130x130_sq_1390362481671-fl-lady-ballroo
130x130_sq_1390362244836-fl
130x130_sq_1390362271563-fl-staircas
130x130_sq_1390362477335-first-danc
130x130_sq_1390362249372-fl
130x130_sq_1390362247371-fl
130x130_sq_1390362226932-evening-phot
130x130_sq_1390362242361-fl
130x130_sq_1390362239862-fl
130x130_sq_1278384360640-dscn0980
130x130_sq_1390362224360-crystal-chandelie
130x130_sq_1390362234170-firstlady
130x130_sq_1390362251725-fl1
130x130_sq_1390362255044-fl-corne
130x130_sq_1390362260951-fl-fireplac
130x130_sq_1390362266507-fl-lobb
130x130_sq_1390362275498-fl-windo
130x130_sq_1390362280352-foye

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1907
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
185
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3990
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Curt & Kathy
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
From the 1st time that my husband and I walked into the First Lady, we knew this is where we wanted to get married. The pictures on the website did this place no justice! Jen & Mickey made our experience so easy and stress free from the beginning to end. They are great to work with and they make sure that your day turns out PERFECT! The staff was great too. They were very attentive to everyone's needs. We couldn't ask for things to have gone any easier. Thanks again for making our special day one that we will NEVER forget!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
12/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with The First Lady from their website. When I came in to see the place with my future husband we were both in awe with how nice and genuine Jen and Mickey were and booked that day. Jen was always there for me with my TONS of questions. She helped save me money with my other vendors as well. The day of my wedding was magical. The decorations were amazing and all of my guest commented on how beautiful it was and were taking pictures while they waited. Jen and Mickey helped keep the reception on track and made sure everything ran smoothly. When I had an issue with my DJ Jen stepped in and took care of it. Love them both for making our day so magical and stress free. Oh did I mention Jen can sing, and sings very well <3
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. From start to finish you feel like family. Jen and Mickey are so nice and they suggested great vendors for my wedding! The venue is gorgeous and hardly needs any decoration. Words can't describe just how great this place is, you would really need to go see for yourself. I know every time I went out to talk to the venue, I was amazed by it. The food was great! Service was terrific! We couldn't have asked for a better night!!!!! and the price is hard to beat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jatanna
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
If your are looking for a One Stop Shop, than The First Lady of Suffolk is the place to plan ur event.. The place screams ELEGANCE. If you want to feel like a Ball Room Princess, you will have that feeling in this beatifully well put together Victorian Mansion. You don't have to worry about set up or clean up. they handle it all for you so that you can be worry free.
I love the place, and the people were Awesome to work with!!!!:)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Dress & Attire, , Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue, Unique Services
130x130_sq_1386108036712-avata
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful building and the new ball room is stunning. My wedding was picture perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
If I had it to do all over again I would pick The First Lady over and over! From the first time I walked in I fell in love with the venue and the owners. Jenn and Mickey were the best! They work so hard all week long and yet always had a smile on their faces for me. They make you feel like you are the only Bride on their minds even though they do events almost every day. My wedding was more beautiful than I ever could have imagined! The staff is incredibly flexible making sure that you get what you want on your special day. They even threw in some personal touches that warmed my heart so much! Go check this venue out in person because the pictures on the website can not compare to seeing it first hand. I will forever remember my wedding day, but I will also forever remember the staff at The First Lady. They were a huge part of making our day memorable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cherea
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The First Lady was the perfect venue for my wedding and reception. Jen & Mickey are both great people and are there to help in any way they can. The venue is beautiful and everyone enjoyed the food.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherri
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the honor of celebrating my ceremony and reception at The First Lady. The site is GORGEOUS, the pictures on the website do not do it justice.

Jen and Mickey who own the venue are gems to work with and make sure everything is perfect and will accommodate and work with the bride and groom to make your day wonderful. We had over 120 people at the venue and it was plenty of space. We also used their catering and everyone raved over how delicious the food was. The best part, although they have set menu's to choose from they will work with you to build your own.

The First Lady is the perfect 1 stop shop as they covered our venue, catering, tables, chairs, linens, and had a bridal suite upstairs that allowed us to get ready there.

We did not have a wedding coordinator or planner and in all honesty did not need one. I recommend The First Lady if you are looking for a classic place that is a jaw dropper. The entire home is already decorated vintage and antique meaning the less decor you need! Some table centerpieces and viola, you are covered.

A true hidden gem.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AMY
Wedding:
3/6/2011
5.0/5.0
The whole staff at The First Lady made this a wonderful experience from our first meeting with Jen to the end of the Wedding evening!
They catered the event and the food is fantastic!
We would highly recommend anyone looking for a unique venue to go take a look at this place and meet the people who work with you to create memories!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
The First Lady was the perfect choice for my wedding. Jen and her family are amazing and do their best to make sure everything is perfect.

For the price you pay, it is a steal. Jen acts as an unofficial wedding planner, and makes sure everything gets taken care of. They also do in-house rentals for tablecloths, chair covers, even centerpieces. In fact, I brought in my own flowers and she created all my centerpieces for me. This was all for a very low price that you wouldn't be able to find anywhere else (every other venue will charge you at least 100% more). They also set up everything for you and take everything down.

Also, the in-house catering was great, and the staff working at my wedding was completely professional. For a very small fee you can also get a bartender, all you have to do is provide the alcohol, mixers, and one-time ABC license. This makes for an extremely cheap open bar. The bartender was hilarious and kept my party entertained.

You can't get anything like this for anywhere close to this price, or maybe even double the price.. it is a new venue and is quickly growing in popularity (for good reason). If you want a reasonably priced venue that will take care of everything for you, this is it.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
11/29/2013
4.9/5.0
I could not have imagined my wedding anywhere else. The scenery of the Grand Ballroom was extravagant. The staff was very friendly and on the ball. Jen and Mickey are awesome! The food was amazing. Normally I go to weddings and the chicken is dry or over cooked due to them making such bulk of food, but this food was perfect. I have no complaints here what so ever. I hate a seated meal and I had around 140 guests and they fit just fine. After eating we did have to get rid of tables to open up a dance floor but it was a smooth transition. Overall I had a great experience. Very highly recommended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1325993937240-triumphparty
Blair
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.9/5.0
I could not have asked for a better experience than what I got from the First Lady. The owners, Jen and Mickey are beyond amazing. The venue is stunning~the pictures on their website do not do it justice. They provide almost everything and there is almost nothing to worry about on the day of. The value is amazing, the place is all day rental so you dont have to worry about rushing to get it all down in 10 minutes. If I could do it all over again, I would still pick the first lady.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
2/18/2012
4.8/5.0
Jennifer and Mickey are a pleasure to work with, and their input and insight are a blessing when planning hits a wall. The facility itself is versatile, in that you can hold both your ceremony and reception here, if desired, and that the bar and guest tables can be moved to the wide porches, should weather and your set-up deem it possible. THe options and possibilities are endless when it comes to making your vision a reality. Being able to have the building all day helps with 'getting ready', and allowed us to have a hand in set-up of centerpieces and cakes, since these aspects were more DIY for us. The staff was very receptive to any requests, and made my groom and I feel much more at ease during our grand entrance and dinner hour.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CNL1986
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.8/5.0
I had my wedding at the First Lady of Suffolk. The building is completely beautiful inside and out. I mainly delt with Jen through out my planning my wedding, she was AWESOME! She was always there to help me figure out placement of things and how everything was going to work. She made sure everything was just perfect for my special day!!!!!
Services Used: Unique Services

MAP

 
447 West Washington Street, Suffolk, VA 23434 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The First Lady of Suffolk, A Victorian Mansion
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1390363393801-first-lady-suffo