130x130_sq_1280283963194-12

the floral studio

Brooklandville , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

PO BOX 299
BROOKLANDVILLE, MD US 21022 (map)

PHONE

410-321-0606

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are unique florist serving Baltimore, Washington and Philadelphia brides as well as destination weddings world-wide. The Floral Studio creates custom wedding florals with an eye to... Read more
We are unique florist serving Baltimore, Washington and Philadelphia brides as well as destination weddings world-wide. The Floral Studio creates custom wedding florals with an eye to unique design, a beautiful palette, and each bride's personal aesthetic. While our retail location is open 10:00-5:00 Monday - Saturday, we are always available by appointment and it is best to make an appointment for all bridal consultations so that we may give you our full attention. Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1280282274597-dsc3413
130x130_sq_1280283413085-frisbiewedding6
130x130_sq_1280283419819-lc62
130x130_sq_1280283421538-lemuswedding11
130x130_sq_1280283417600-img34942
130x130_sq_1230662946796-bardstowntable
130x130_sq_1230662950687-cardsandvases024
130x130_sq_1230663378578-dsc_8444
130x130_sq_1280282552613-dsc3422
130x130_sq_1280283409616-sylviaswedding5
130x130_sq_1280283411022-img34943
130x130_sq_1280283440600-neidertwedding4
130x130_sq_1230663080125-john027
130x130_sq_1230663260234-sampleaugust002
130x130_sq_1230663428062-dsc_8472

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
For Charge
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
7/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I was referred to Shawn at The Floral Studio by a friend of mine whose wedding flowers were gorgeous. Of the three vendors we met with, only Shawn made an impact. Our consultation was over an hour and I felt like she really understood the overall look I wanted. I left her a lot of freedom in the specifics, but wasn't stressed about it because we had such a rich consultation. The flowers were beautiful on my wedding day. Very fresh and a beautiful color palate that matched what I was looking for. She emailed me the morning of saying she switched the boutinteere flower due to a color issue with the flower we had originally discussed. I was totally find with it and appreciated getting the heads up before hand. I would select Shawn again!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Our ceremony was at the Pier 5 Hotel, and our reception was in the National Aquarium’s Pier 4. Shawn came highly recommended by event staff at the Pier 5 Hotel. Her business is operated out of her home, and she was very warm in welcoming us inside to plan the floral arrangements. Her knowledge of both flowers and the circumstances that surround weddings are nothing short of extraordinary. Without hesitation, she was able to recommend flowers that not only matched the style of our wedding but also our budget. When issues with the availability of specific flowers arose, she was immediately able to recommend an alternative approach that was every bit as beautiful as originally designed. Deliveries were made to both venues, on time, and well organized. Arrangements were as creative as they were gorgeous. Great florist!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/11/2014
4.8/5.0
The flowers for my wedding were absolutely beautiful - I used bright pink and orange colors. I had bouquets, wrist corsages, boutonnieres, and flowers for the church. My bouquet was wrapped in pretty satin ribbon, and the wrist corsages came with very delicate pearl bracelets. I gave Shawn pictures of what I wanted and the final flowers were very close matches. We planned the flowers in just one in-person meeting and we had a phone call to confirm details, which I appreciated since I was planning a wedding on a shorter time frame. I also liked that the bouquets were delivered in vases. I would definitely recommend The Floral Studio.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Shawn and her team did my personals recently for my wedding. They did a great job and delivered exactly what was promised
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Shawn was excellent. I had so many complements on the floral décor Shawn and her team did for my wedding. I had a prolonged wedding planning process since my military better half got deployed right before the original date, and everyone was so understanding and accepting about it. When it came time a year later to get into the swing of things again for the new date, everything progressed seamlessly, picking up where we left off. Other than the beautiful product, what also really impressed me was the Shawn personally got involved in a situation that really did not have anything to do with her aspect of the wedding, when there was an issue between my venue and another decorator. She was very honest and open with me about what was going on, and her opinions on the situation, which I was very appreciative of. In the end, everything turned out wonderfully, and if there is one aspect of the wedding that I could change, it would have been to have a larger flower budget.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We met with multiple florists before the wedding and after meeting with Shawn I knew we had to work with her. We simply told her the look we were going for and some specific flowers we wanted to include and she took it from there. She was able to show us some different options based on our color scheme and the season. I was really set on incorporating one specific flower and even though it was hard to get due to the season Shawn was not only able to secure some for the wedding, she also incorporated them beautifully. I love that I could be hands-off with Shawn. She does a really good job of listening to you and gauging your style and on the wedding day she definitely delivers. I received so many compliments on the flowers and my bouquet. The flowers really made my tables and Shawn and her team did a great job setting it all up. Shawn was very flexible; I e-mailed her as it got closer to the wedding because I wanted to add more flowers to the chapel and to the cake. I sent one e-mail and they looked perfect on the day of the wedding! All of the flowers looked fresh and fully bloomed; they were really beautiful. I highly recommend The Floral Studio to anyone looking for beautiful flowers for their wedding day!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.6/5.0
I met with Shawn early on in my wedding planning and was able to share my vision for all of the wedding florals with her. I ordered florals for the day before my wedding and put them in vases myself with bridesmaids. They were all so beautiful and Shawn captured my vision perfectly! I then had the bridal bouquets dropped off on the wedding day. While some of the flowers in my bouquet were bruised and not perfect when I received it, overall everything was beautiful and I loved the style. I really appreciated that Shawn really heard my vision and executed it perfectly in her floral decisions.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
It was wonderful to work with Shawn at the Floral Studio. When I first spoke to Shawn, I let her know that my friends offered to do my flowers for my wedding but had seen a wedding she had done with cherry blossoms and was curious to know if it was possible given my budget. Shawn very candid about where to cut costs which was such a relief considering so many other vendors I spoke with seemed to be marking up prices for weddings. She worked within my budget and she exceeded my expectations on our wedding day.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/12/2013
4.9/5.0
We used the Floral Studio for our recent wedding and the flowers were beautiful. I met with Shawn early in the process and she was really helpful in thinking through with me what would be best for our venue and what flowers went with the vision I had of how the reception would look. Everything was right on time the day of the wedding, and the flowers were beautiful. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blaire
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
The flowers for my wedding were absolutely gorgeous! I could not take my eyes off of them. Shawn really understood my vision and exceeded my expectations. Her creations really elevated the atmosphere at my wedding- magazine worthy. The chuppah was exactly how I had imagined, rustic elegance. I received so many compliments from my guests. Shawn and her staff were attentive, professional, and a pleasure to work with. Shawn also provided the flowers for my rehearsal dinner which we re-purposed for the cocktail hour. Her suggestions, recommendations, and experience helped me set my expectations and make decisions that yielded the intended results I dreamed about within my budget.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Shawn was wonderful to work with. With minimal direction, she managed to put together the perfect bouquets and centerpieces for my wedding. She seemed to really get what I wanted for both the ceremony and the reception even though I did not do a great job of describing what I wanted. I really enjoyed working with her and was absolutely thrilled with her final results.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmyersphoto
Wedding:
4/1/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a small wedding and didn't want to spend a lot of time meeting with vendors. I found samples of what I wanted online and was able to set up everything with Shawn at The Floral Studio over e-mail and one phone call. I specifically wanted succulents in my bouquet, the bout, and small potted ones for each place setting as the guest favors. I gave Shawn a general color scheme, but let her use her creativity and skills to pull it all together. Everything was delivered on-time and looked incredible. I couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Shawn at the Floral Studio provided us with the most breathtaking floral arrangements for our March 24,2012 wedding. When we met, I showed her my wedding colors and asked her to put together arrangements of spring colors. She understood my vision and helped bring it to life - and she truly made our cocktail hour and reception look elegant and beautiful. The Truffles staff at the Belvedere commented that they had never seen the 12th floor look as beautiful as it did - and our guests are still commenting on how lush and gorgeous the flowers were. I would book the Floral Studio as my florist again in a heartbeat! Shawn is so organized, easy to work with and flexible.
Here is a link to our photographers blog that has some great shots of the floral arrangements:
http://jennifermcmenamin.wordpress.com/2012/04/23/stephanie-matt-loyola-chapel-the-belvedere-baltimore-wedding-photography/
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindsayaferrara
Wedding:
1/28/2012
4.8/5.0
Working with Shawn at the Floral Studio was a pure joy. She was extremely professional and creative. I gave her very little guidance on flowers for my wedding and she created a beautiful vision on her own. The colors of the bridesmaid dresses and tablecloths were the only aspects I shared with Shawn and she took that knowledge and put together GORGEOUS bouquets and centerpieces with wonderful texture, color and depth. The Floral Studio is willing to work with your budget (within reason) and develops great work. Would highly recommend Shawn; she has a great eye. Thank you Floral Studio!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1283631690841-meandmicah
Davina
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
The Floral Studio was amazing! I had a very specific budget that we had to stick to. They were able to stick to that budget while still giving me the floral arrangements that I wanted!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ilissa
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We worked with Shawn for our October 29, 2011 wedding and were very pleased. She was very responsive during the planning process, really listening to exactly what we wanted, and our flowers ultimately exceeded all of our expectations in every way -- they were truly spectacular, and very unique. Shawn was also really able to stretch our budget, and was very flexible when unexpected circumstances arose and our plans changed somewhat. Overall, we could not have asked for a better florist. We would highly recommend The Floral Studio!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CARRIE
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Shawn and the team at the Floral Studio are amazing! Shawn really worked with me and my tiny budget to accommodate the flowers I wanted. You can tell how much love and passion goes into the Floral Studio's arrangements - everyone has commented on how beautiful my bouquet was. Honestly, I almost cried at how beautiful the flowers turned out.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.9/5.0
The Floral Studio was great to work with for our wedding. My colors were orange and purple and my theme was moroccan. Shawn worked with us on our centerpieces, bouquets, boutineers, and a large entrance piece for the front room of the Cloisters. All ofthe flowers were amazing! I wanted in-season flowers and since the one flower I picked did not comein looking so good, they substituted small roses which worked well too. They took the lanterns and candles we had and situated the flowers they provided for the centerpieces. Everything looked great!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jess
Wedding:
1/15/2011
4.7/5.0
Shawn is a pleasure and her work was absolutely breathtaking! While we had to increase our floral budget to work with her, I knew after our first meeting that she was the right florist for us, as she understood our vision immediately (which other local florists did not) and ran with it. Her talent and ability was well worth the extra cost. Shawn was so great and accommodating, as we made some additional requests the week of the wedding as well. As a whole, I would highly recommend working with Shawn and hope to do so again in the future.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
WOW. I can not say enough about how well the flowers turned out. I had a vague idea of what I wanted, and Shawn got it perfectly. Combining fall colors with bright green and purple into an exquisite display that popped throughout the day. The flowers held up well all night and even for a week at home! Really good at responding. We did have a lot of back and forth to make sure all the numbers were right which could be frustrating but just make sure you are very clear on what you want and in writing and it will all come together!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mikaela & Ben
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
stunningly beautiful flowers.
shawn was so easy and pleasant to work with.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angel22blonde
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I cant say enough about how wonderful Shawn and The Floral Studio is!! When I began the whole wedding planning process I had wanted to make our arrangements myself. We own a nursery and grow our own dahlias, which I wanted to use. I found the floral design class that Shawn teaches on a wedding blog and thought this would be a great opportunity to see if I could pull it off. The class was soooo much fun!! But by taking the class I realized that I would be crazy not to hire her ASAP. And I dont regret that decision for a second! I basically gave her an idea of what we were going for as far as color & texture and she totally got my vision!! My favorite was my bouquet, it couldnt be more perfect!!! Thanks again Shawn for being so amazing!!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1249263139778-jennieandscott
Jennie
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend the Floral Studio. Shawn was wonderful to work with - she was very responsive to our needs and promptly answered all of my questions in the months leading up to the wedding. She is very creative and came up with some great suggestions (I am not the most creative person so for me it was fantastic to have someone who could be relied on to give me different options to consider). The flowers at the wedding were beautiful.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ladybug
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.3/5.0
The bridal and bridesmaids' bouquets were gorgeous. I did not order flowers until the very last minute. Shawn did not make any negative comments and made sure we had everything we wanted. The only negative were single flowers we ordered for our mothers during the ceremony showed up too ragged to use.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I enjoyed so much working with Shawn at the floral studio. Flowers and the decor were key to our wedding. Having to turn my parents backyard into both a ceremony and reception site was no small task, and shawn created the most beautiful floral bouquets, displays, and centerpieces.
I never get tired looking at our wedding photos of the hydrangea and roses. Thanks Shawn for the beautiful memories!!!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1252927516877-weddingdayphoto
Laborday Bride 09
Wedding:
9/6/2009
4.8/5.0
Shawn and her staff were always responsive and respected my budget. I found them to be completely honest and my ceremony flowers were perfect. She was one of my vendors that I had complete confidence in and she didn't disapoint. She even was able to accommodate some last minute additions the week of our wedding.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phyllis
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Shawn was great about working with me to figure out exactly what I wanted. For my bouquet, I had general ideas about what I wanted (some combination of hydrangeas and eucalyptus, not round, not too simple, no roses), but couldn't find any photos. With her great sense of design, she convinced me that adding in dark calla lilies would be a good move and when I saw the "draft" bouquet a couple of weeks before the wedding, she was EXACTLY on the mark. It's too bad that we had to leave for the honeymoon because I would have loved to look at those flowers for a few more days! We also loved our ceremony pieces, which we had moved to the reception. If I'm honest with myself, what I wanted was something that you might see at a really cool boutique hotel in NYC or in a W, and I think Shawn's design met that mark. Fabulous.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KJR2009
Wedding:
6/12/2009
5.0/5.0
They did a fantastic job! I wanted something unique and artistic, I started second guessing myself but Shawn reassured me on more then once that everything will be beautiful and what I want. She was right!!! I was so happy with the results!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aphiqtgrl
Wedding:
5/24/2009
4.7/5.0
In the beginning stages of planning my wedding, I started with a fairly low budget for flowers. This florist was more than willing to do what they could with the budget that I gave them. I was able to save in other areas of the wedding, which allowed me to increase my budget for flowers. However, this floral team was innovative, and had creative ideas. The woman who owns the shop, Shaun, is absolutely a joy to work with and she will extend to you her professional knowledge but always ask your opinion and whether or not it is something you would like. The flowers I used in my ceremony (along with other accessories- candles, aisle runner, etc.) were simply gorgeous. The floral arrangements for my reception were stunning and my guests are still reeling over the beauty and elegance of the wedding.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1207866825175-dsc00163
fittoac
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
I really enjoyed working with The Floral Studio. They were really flexible and willing to accommodate our requests. Shawn listened to my ideas and worked hard to come up with a good interpretation of them. She was very responsive whenever I called or emailed. All of the flowers were delivered right on time and looked absolutely beautiful!
Services Used: Flowers
Bg20
Barb
Wedding:
4/16/2005
2.7/5.0
I chose The Floral Studio based on the great reviews and when I and my daughter met with Shawn I was happy we had chosen them. Shawn is very sweet and was willing to work within my budget. She was very flexible with our ideas as well as giving alternatives in order to save me money. Communication was great right up until a day before the wedding. Now the day of the wedding comes, and so do the disappointments. First, the girls bouquets were lovely, but much smaller than I had envisioned for what they cost. Next issue, my daughter was explicate in person and in writing as well as providing pictures as to what she wanted her bouquet to be. Specially, she wanted no light colors flowers. Well, Shawn made “a call” to add the same light colored flower as the grooms boutonnière into my daughters bouquet. When my daughter saw it – she wanted to remove them, but I wouldn’t let her for fear it would leave gaps in the otherwise very beautiful arrangement. Third, two arrangements that were to contain the same colores as the bridal bouquet were to be placed by the bride & groom. Well, they were not. And not only were they not placed in the right place they contained only green hydrangeas’ – another flower my daughter did not want in ANY of the arrangements. These two arrangements cost me over $250.00. When I asked Shawn about this, she said the heat had destroyed the flowers that were suppose to go into them and the only ones that would take the heat – and mind you it was HOT – almost 100 degrees – where the green hydrangeas. Ok, I can accept that – but give me a refund! She offered a credit in the store but you gotta understand we live over 90 miles away. When I asked if they were going to deliver to where I live I got no response. One last thing, I ended up needing one less centerpiece than I had ordered. Since she had already ordered the flowers we decided they could be used elsewhere. Once again – no extra flowers. When I asked about those - she said the heat had damaged so many that she had none left over. Ok... Oh well. I honestly don’t want to “dog” this florist or Shawn. But I feel I should have been compensated for the things that were not right. And I wasn’t and for that reason I could not refer this business to others.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
PO BOX 299, BROOKLANDVILLE, MD 21022 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for the floral studio
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1280283963194-12