Nophoto-130

The Flower Guys

Minneapolis , MN

LOCATION

Minneapolis, MN US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Flowers

REVIEWS

2.9
out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
2.9/5.0
2.2/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.1/5.0
Well, right away I was impressed with the Flower Guys based off their incredible prices, and the ability to have a walk-in consultation. However, after that 2 of my meetings that I showed up for, Lynn did not, so they were rescheduled. Then, the day of my wedding, apparently Lynn was out with a family emergency and nobody could decipher the chicken scratch notes-- so my flowers were completely wrong. I was supposed to have a red rose and calla lily bouquet, and my bridesmaids have white roses. Well, every bouquet was the same-- with white roses and red roses. The flower guys is a good place if you just want cheap flowers, but don't expect your things to be correct.

Luckily, I realize the flowers are the least important part of my wedding day or I would have been very displeased.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
6/7/2013
5.0/5.0
THe Flower Guys did a wonderful job on our daughters wedding flowers. Lynn gave our daughter the flowers she requested and more. Her theme was vintage and the roses peonys were absolutely beautiful. The corsages and bootineers were wonderful with succulents and mums. They delivered on time and were so easy to work with. I would higly recommend them and look forward to working with them again the future for our next wedding!!! Great Job Lynn and staff!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Bg1
Leticia
Wedding:
4/14/2013
5.0/5.0
loved this place my flowers were amazing.. don't let the location fool you the flowers guy do great work!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.8/5.0
DO NOT USE. Cheap prices are because they buy the garbage and junky old flowers that wholesalers try to get rid of. They buy what should be thrown away! Would not recommend. Would say any good reviews have been planted by someone on their staff. Friend of mine worked for them, and knows. they can't count, no business experience, can't match colors. The owner is a crook and shyster. Can't tell time, druggies, and lo lifes who can't get a job anywhere else. BEWARE
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1339907050760-dsc00194
Amanda
Wedding:
8/18/2012
2.5/5.0
The price was good! We paid $300 for all of our flowers and assembled them ourselves. We were under the impression we were getting purple and green roses. We ended up getting pink and yellow roses. She tried to tell us they were purple and green. All four of us that picked them up agreed they were pink and yellow. She did give us spray paint to spray the pink ones to look purple. That actually worked out well. Still a little stressful. Also, the place smells like smoke and is kind of ghetto. It's an old gas station. She also writes the order in a notebook and it's good I called to verify the flowers two weeks before because she had some of the wrong ones. Also she never gave us a demonstration on how to start putting the flowers together like she said she would. Actually another less experiences lady was there when we picked them up who didn't know how. Overall, not impressed but we also didn't pay $1000 for flowers.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bridesmom
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
The Flower Guys exceeded our expectations! A florest from Costco recommended The Flower Guys, but warned us that they are not your typical florest. Lynn was great to work with and gave us the most beautiful boquets at a very reasonable price! The wedding guests commented on how beautiful the flowers were and they were still perky the next week. My daughter found her dream boquet in a bridal magazine and it was duplicated perfectly for her special day. I had read some unflattering reviews, so was a bit leary, however they gave us beautiful flowers, and they arrived an hour before they needed to be there. What a great surprise. I highly recommend The Flower Guys and will certainly use them in the future!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
2/5/2011
2.2/5.0
I have waiting over two months to put up a review from our wedding in hopes that we would get the refund we were promised. We are still waiting for that......I gave up contacting Jose. Every time I called he was "sick", and when I would go to the store to pick up a refund check he just happened to be gone.

As far as flowers on our wedding day, they were beautiful. My bouquet was amazing, and our center pieces were one of a kind for sure. Many compliments on the flowers, and I loved them as well.
We also used the flower guys for our cake and ceiling drapery for our big day. I do not recommend this! They are great at flowers..... Our reception site saved the day by calling someone else in to do the ceiling drapery after a poor job was done by the flower guys. As far as our cakes....it was nothing we asked for. It ended up looking fine, but I asked for a tired wedding cake with orchids and received five small round separate cakes. He was also supposed to make a grooms cake.....we never saw that. Needless to say we are still waiting to get our money back for the ceiling drapery and grooms cake. I guess we're out of luck on that one.....

Overall, just have them do flowers. Be prepared for your file to be missing, and for them to show up late for delivery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kbosin
Wedding:
10/16/2010
0.8/5.0
The quick and easy version of my review is that if you are a laid-back person and have no ideas of your own on what you want for flowers, Jose will be sure that you have a TON of beautiful flowers at a great price. If you have even a few flower preferences or will get stressed out by a perennially-tardy florist on your special day, find a different florist.

The long story: We got married on Saturday, October 16th. After hearing good things by word-of-mouth, I was willing to overlook the negative reviews that I read online and the fact that he was an hour and a half late to our first meeting. I still had reservations, though, and because of that we got Jose to agree to terms that left 25% due when flowers were delivered to the sites. For $1000 he promised us 10 flower buckets hanging on the aisles, a decorated arch in the front of the church with an altar arrangement, 4 bridesmaid bouquets, a bridal bouquet, all of the corsages (wrist corsages for the moms, normal corsages for the grandmas) and boutonnieres, 3 arrangements for the reception site, a tossing bouquet and a kissing ball for the flower girl. I wanted bold fall colors, focusing on brown and rust-orange, and requested that the only white in my bouquet be the hypernicum berries he recommended. After 2 trial bridesmaid bouquets we were content, but looking at substituting half of the flowers in them for the ones that I wanted.

I felt good about the situation after being involved in conversations with him both that Friday night and Saturday morning about some small changes he was making. At 10am Saturday morning, 4 hours before everything was supposed to be set up, it sounded like everything was going great.

On top of being 2 hours late and supposedly getting lost 10 miles from the church, which threw off our time for pictures and created complete chaos, everything was wrong. I will say that the flowers were beautiful - plentiful and beautiful - but not what we had discussed and NOT what I wanted.

To start, there were only 2 flower buckets for the aisles instead of 10, and they were hideous (we took them down). There was no arch and no altar arrangement, but at least 6 giant arrangements set up at the front of the church. Unfortunately, instead of the eggplant purple calla lillies and rust gerber daisies in the arrangements, the flowers were lavendar and light orange. Thank God my bridesmaids wore brown so it didn't completely clash, but they were very, very wrong. The kissing ball that we were told would be made out of miniature roses was primarily a great big ball of ferns (by the way, I wanted as little greenery as possible) with some roses sticking out of it, and it was almost bigger than our flower girl. It certainly weighed more than she did. We had to scrap it and send her down the aisle with a couple of flowers picked out of it. There were no wrist corsages. The bridesmaid bouquets had none of my rust gerbers, but were full of bright, bright orange gerbers, which I had explicitly stated that I hated. Finally, my bridal bouquet was centered around white lillies. It looked lovely, but it was absolutely against everything we discussed.

If all of that wasn't bad enough, when we got to the reception there was no tossing bouquet. A friend used some of the silk flowers from the centerpieces we made ourselves and grabbed some out of one of the bridesmaid bouquets to make up a quick, last-minute bouquet to throw.

Finally, when my mom called him after the wedding to discuss the final payment and register her disgust, Jose started screaming at her about "people like you" and hung up on her, before she could even tell him everything that was wrong. I would still like to have a reasonable conversation with him about it, but I couldn't have been much more disappointed.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Penny
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with our flowers for our wedding. i had beautifully hand tied bouquet of roses for me and my bridesmaids that were perfect. and our centerpieces were pink lilies. i got so many comments on how beautiful they looked and had a great scent!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1242793985260-493i9800
Carrac
Wedding:
7/10/2009
3.2/5.0
The flower guys are great for getting bulk flowers for do-it-yourself bouquets, boutonnieres and the like. The are very reasonably priced, but things around there are a little chaotic. If you don't mind spur of the moment, disorganized, and sarcastic comments.. This is your place.
Services Used: Flowers
Bg11
April
Wedding:
6/20/2009
1.1/5.0
2 different people recommended The Flower Guys and said that all though they are not organized and rough on appearances, they do amazing work for a great price. I was really excited during both of the consultations that I had with Jose. The mach arrangements that he made were beautiful. When it came to the day of the wedding it all fell apart. They were supposed to drop off the flowers at 8am. I got a call saying that they would be there by noon instead. At 2pm they just showed up AFTER almost all of our pictures were taken. From here it only got worse. The flowers were not what we discussed. The colors were wrong. We got yellow rose petals for our tables when my colors were Wine red and black. We were supposed to get wine roses and got bright red. The greens were supposed to be painted black, not done. The ribbon was a disaster. The flowers were smaller than the mach arrangements that I was given. They didn't bring the ceremony flowers with them and had to go back to get them. As the guests were being seated they arrived and were putting on pew bows and arrangements. They were not apologetic and now I can not get them on the phone. All in all I was very disappointed with the service although the centerpieces were still nice; they were not what we paid for. Oh and I told him that I hated babies breath and it was on all of my pew bows and guys boutonnieres.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cassie
Wedding:
8/9/2008
2.9/5.0
When you first walk in it is super unorganized the place is a mess. they are super cheap and that's the great thing about it. they do great work. the only problem i have is that i wanted hot pink roses and mini calla's how easy are those very common. the day of the wedding my personal att. went to go get the flowers and bring them to the reception and when i took one look at the centerpiece flowers the roses were peach. PEACH! that's not what i wanted i wanted hot pink and white calla's. so i called them right away and Will got on the phone i explained i wasnt happy with them they were peach not pink and all the other bouquets were hot pink which i loved but why peach for the centerpieces that's not what i wanted he told me quote" i'm sorry you dont like them, we didnt make money off of you there is nothing i can do." i was very upset how rudely they treated me because they messed up and i wasnt happy about the centerpieces at all. and why on the brides wedding day would you ever say that. so overall i grade them
brides and bridesmaids flowers A
centerpieces F
all gentalmen flowers A
so overall grade C to D
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dandykins
Wedding:
5/31/2008
4.6/5.0
I admit, I started looking for flowers late. About two weeks before my wedding, I was calling a few local places based on on-site visits we had visited before. Working on a low budget, we wanted bulk stems that we could use for diy wedding flower decorations.

We chose Flower Guys after their quotes came in well below their competitors--in fact, for Gerbera daisies, they charged about 1/3 that of other businesses. You'll understand why if you go to visit them (they are on Stinson Boulevard in Northeast Minneapolis.) They operate out of a very small building and their overhead has to be quite low. I worked with John in ordering my flowers, about a week before we needed them; they were quite busy, but I just called a couple of times to be sure the order was being processed. I went in before my order came in to get some beat up gerbs to practice wiring, and co-owner Will, after hearing what I was looking for, not only didn't scorn my plans (as some flower shop staff have done) but actually showed me how to wire the flowers. What service!

I will say that when you get the order, be sure to count it. Our order was about 10 gerbs short, but the owners were very accommodating in finding more, in the colors I was looking for, and even threw in some extra flowers for the inconvenience. We ended up with WELL over the number of flowers we needed, including table centerpieces, bouquets, boutineers and corsages -- we had flowers for "fake bouquets" for the rehearsal, and even flowers for the gift-opening the day after!

All in all, Flower Guys are definitely not as polished as, say, Bachmanns, but you will get an EXCELLENT deal. Just know what you want. They are good folks and will try to make sure you get what you ordered. We got all of our flowers (admittedly, we went for less expensive flowers and had a single-bud table centerpiece for each table) for under $100, which is unheard of.

BTW, Flower Guys DOES do more formal wedding floral consulting, if you're looking for a more full-service operation. Consultations can start as early as 3 months before your wedding date. We just were operating on a small budget and wanted a more diy approach.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
5/30/2008
3.0/5.0
I used the Flower Guys because they did the flowers for my friends wedding a few months before my own and they turned out beautiful. Well, I didn't have the same experience. I got the wrong color bouqet!! I went with sunflowers for my bridal party. I was expecting yellow. I was given orange sunflowers for myself and my bridesmaids and orange sunflowers for the groomsmen boutenniers. If they were going to mess up on the colors- at least mess up the entire order and have the whole wedding party with the same color! Like they were supposed to be! Also, I didn't have the flowers in my hand until 30 before the ceremony- far too late to do anything about it. I would not recommend them.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
7/28/2007
1.9/5.0
I had an idea of what I wanted as far as my flowers went and we were also on a budget. I went to them with the knowlegde that are very cheap. When the flowers came on the wedding day, there were many mistakes. Our unity candle arrangement was nothing that we talked about...it was almost embarrasing. There were missing coursages and bouquets. My centerpieces on the tables, were nothing, again, what we'd talked about. The flowers weren't even in the right color. I did really like the bridesmaid bouquets, my bouquet and the bouts, but that was it.
Services Used: Flowers
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Flower Guys
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220