130x130_sq_1245101862354-largelogo

The Gardens at Great Oaks

Roswell , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

786 Mimosa Blvd
Roswell, GA US 30075 (map)

PHONE

770-693-6010

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Gardens At Great Oaks was a romantic wedding gift from the renowned Reverend Pratt to his bride on the occasion of their marriage in 1842. A lovely and secluded estate with a canopy... Read more
The Gardens At Great Oaks was a romantic wedding gift from the renowned Reverend Pratt to his bride on the occasion of their marriage in 1842. A lovely and secluded estate with a canopy of century old trees and magnificent and breathtaking gardens becomes the perfect backdrop for every wedding. Complete with wild flowers, primroses, blue bells, array of roses, gardenias, and hydrangeas flooding your senses of sight and smell. Fountains, artistically designed lighting and gazebo all to create an elegant …lush….romantic setting. The Gardens At Great Oaks is a premiere venue where dreams become treasured memories and the bride should have the wedding of her dreams. During the reception, we would be delighted to give your guests a tour of Great Oaks, and even Reverend Pratt can assist in the tours. Our preferred caterers will serve the beverages of your choice and our special beverage consultant will tell you just how much alcohol to purchase, combining the elegance of our premier property with the economics of todays savvy bride.
The grounds are private, peaceful and beautiful throughout the year. Although this is one of the most exceptional sites in historic Roswell for a wedding celebration, The Gardens At Great Oaks is also an excellent choice for social and corporate special events.

Memorable wedding moments are made in The Gardens at Great Oaks...... Wedding video....Click here
http://www.historicgreatoaks.com/wedding-video Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1389997500359-dsc0156
130x130_sq_1245098775807-tentwithlightsintheevening
130x130_sq_1245097937666-img4332
130x130_sq_1245099108401-4484000r010219
130x130_sq_1245102877276-bridalsuite
130x130_sq_1245100786510-holidayandmiscellaneous2008009
130x130_sq_1245099243072-dsc0331
130x130_sq_1389980088414-00179ajf
130x130_sq_1389997503183-for-web-
130x130_sq_1389980092884-00183ajf
130x130_sq_1389980603936-tabl
130x130_sq_1389997497019-ajax
130x130_sq_1389997512137-img175
130x130_sq_1389997545077-rb054-
130x130_sq_1389997553869-setu
130x130_sq_1389978118972-10
130x130_sq_1389978129466-12
130x130_sq_1389978142394-12
130x130_sq_1389978169621-15
130x130_sq_1389991157655-14
130x130_sq_1389991169428-14
130x130_sq_1389991181394-96
130x130_sq_1389991194561-96
130x130_sq_1389991208921-96
130x130_sq_1389991223828-96
130x130_sq_1389991236191-97
130x130_sq_1389991248605-97
130x130_sq_1389978179240-97
130x130_sq_1389991263341-99
130x130_sq_1389991276848-99
130x130_sq_1389991291374-100
130x130_sq_1389978673910-
130x130_sq_1389978483425-
130x130_sq_1389992258124-10
130x130_sq_1389992282711-11
130x130_sq_1389978517758-14
130x130_sq_1389992309073-14
130x130_sq_1389992337720-89
130x130_sq_1389992366615-89
130x130_sq_1389978840870-00402ajbwf
130x130_sq_1389978833748-00205ajf
130x130_sq_1389978837357-00262ajf
130x130_sq_1389978844589-00609ajf
130x130_sq_1389978848254-00637ajf
130x130_sq_1389978852156-01166ajf
130x130_sq_1389978899077-
130x130_sq_1389994583269-
130x130_sq_1389978905576-jdg-
130x130_sq_1389978912306-jdg-
130x130_sq_1389978918529-jdg-
130x130_sq_1389994590476-jdg-
130x130_sq_1389978924949-jdg-1
130x130_sq_1389994657190-jdg-10
130x130_sq_1389978933152-jdg-1
130x130_sq_1389994659143-jdg-1
130x130_sq_1389979577348-mjwedding50
130x130_sq_1389992921768-mjwedding49
130x130_sq_1389992841387-mjwedding12
130x130_sq_1389992855360-mjwedding15
130x130_sq_1389979271020-mjwedding16
130x130_sq_1389992868930-mjwedding21
130x130_sq_1389979498683-mjwedding61
130x130_sq_1389979288138-mjwedding26
130x130_sq_1389979528507-mjwedding64
130x130_sq_1389979550112-mjwedding08
130x130_sq_1389979748968-80
130x130_sq_1389993464989-80
130x130_sq_1389979807783-amandaglen23
130x130_sq_1389993469544-80
130x130_sq_1389979767550-81
130x130_sq_1389979778476-81
130x130_sq_1389993473839-82
130x130_sq_1389993478902-83

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1842
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
350
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of suites
1
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2700
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
50
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mangal
Wedding:
6/15/2014
5.0/5.0
The manager Joi Klan was very helpful. Her insistence on detail made it a very well organized and delightful event. The vendors Joi recommended were top quality and the ambiance of the gardens added to the success of the event. We were quite happy with the total package.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Korleigh
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't be happier with my wedding day at The Garden at Great Oaks! The day was amazing from beginning to end! I must thank Joi, who was a huge help in planning from beginning to end. She always made sure everything was the way I wanted it, and it was! The house, grounds, canopy, and gardens were a stunning backdrop in my photos. My wedding was the perfect day, at the most perfect place, and I couldn't have asked for more!
Thank you, Joi, for helping my wedding dreams come true!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Review for The Gardens at Great Oaks

Brides, look no further for your PERFECT Wedding venue at the Gardens at Great Oaks in Roswell, GA! My husband and I celebrated our wedding April 5, 2014 at the Gardens and our guests are still raving that it was the BEST Wedding they had ever attended!

While the estate is timelessly beautiful, elegant and classic while offering the perfect indoor and outdoor setting for your wedding and reception, Joi Klan, the Garden’s Estate Manager, is truly the heart of the Gardens and simply extraordinary! From the moment my husband and I toured the grounds and heard all of Joi’s amazing ideas to make our wedding vision become a reality, we knew we had to have our wedding at the Great Oaks! Joi’s extensive world-wide experience with catering and wedding planning along with her ability to understand and execute all the details we wanted to incorporate allowed us to relax and truly enjoy our big day without worrying about anything! Everything was absolutely stunning and went according to plan. As a mature bride and groom with definite ideas, we want to compliment and thank Joi for a phenomenal job and for her ability to coordinate all the many vendors to flawlessly execute our event! All her ideas were wonderful and she far exceeded all of our expectations for the Perfect Wedding! Brides – planning a wedding on your own is stressful but with Joi in charge you can relax and let her handle all the details and be assured of having the BEST day of your life!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helen
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
The Gardens at Great Oaks is a beautiful venue. We had a winter/Christmas wedding there for our daughter. Joi Klan was outstanding, her recommendations were spot on. Everything she recommended was required, tent sides, heaters and the layout of the tables. We worked with Joi and Pat on the planning. They compliment one another very well, what an outstanding team. I would recommend this venue for your child's wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
connie
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
My Daughter 's wedding was a lovely event in a beautiful setting. The guests have raved about the evening. The Estate and Ajax hall were a perfect place for such a memorable wedding.
It was a pleasure to have worked with Joi. She was very professional and knowledgeable. She made outstanding recommendations and I was very pleased with all the vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyndsay
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My name is Lyndsay and my wedding was held at the Gardens on 10-18-2013!! It was beyond perfect! The manager Joi was amazing.... My wedding coordinator Lisa Robinson was absolutely flawless!! Together they were the DREAM TEAM!!!! My wedding was the best day of my life !!! The grounds were perfection... The tent... The hall... Everything was gorgeous !!!! I have nothing bad to say at all! I did nothing that day but get pampered in the bridal suite ... At one point during the night I was following Lisa into the hall.... And I lifted a chair to fit through a tight spot.... And she looked at me and told me it was my night... That I'm not allowed to lift an other finger !! And they were serious !!!! Joi and Lisa were a dream!!! I honestly woulda paid double if I knew how flawless it was going to be before !!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were fortunate enough to have both our ceremony and reception at The Gardens of Great Oaks on 10/11/2013. When we were deciding on a wedding venue and came to take a tour of the Gardens, he told me to cancel all of our remaining appointments because we were not going to find a more stunning venue that allowed us to bring in our own alcohol. That alone saved us literally thousands of dollars! But it was the team of Joi and Pat that undoubtedly made this the perfect venue for us. Joi, the Estate Manager, treated me as if I was the only bride she would be working with for the next 14 months! She always made me feel special and valued, for which I can never truly thank her enough. Joi fiercely protects both her couples and the estate so that nothing comes between a bride and her most special day. Thank you for giving us the beautiful wedding of our dreams!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely Perfect! We had desired to have an elegant yet casual wedding; The Gardens at Great Oaks and specifically Joi worked with us to make this event exactly what we had desired. It isn't always easy when pressed to work within a specific budget, but Joi rolled up her sleeves and totally made it happen! We, along with our guests at the service and ceremony, continue to rave about how perfect everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
9/6/2013
5.0/5.0
The Garden At Greats Oaks is such a beautiful place to get married. The 3.5 acre of grounds are so well kept and the mansion has such great history. The estate transforms you into a princess the day of your wedding and all you can do is smile and laugh, because all eyes are on you. I recommend this venue for its beauty in nature. They go out of the way to make things happen for you and accommodate you in such a way you feel like a princess!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Our first family wedding was just held at the beautiful Gardens at Great Oaks in Roswell. My daughter and I both fell in love with the gardens at our first meeting with manager Joi Klan and wedding planner Pat Gardello ten months prior to the wedding. This dynamic duo has all the tools, wisdom and knowledge to help create, plan and execute a perfectly wonderful wedding. The music to my ears was when Joi assured my daughter that she would have a fantastic time, and then turned to me and promised that I would also!

We used Talk of the Town Catering after visiting an open tasting, and Angela Blackman was spot on in helping us choose a delicious menu with selections for every person's taste, and was a delight to work with.

Joi and Pat worked very hard to ensure the excellence of the wedding day, and I appreciate the care they take to preserve this beautiful gem in Historic Roswell. My only fear was that our great celebration would be all over far too soon, and sadly I was right - I was not ready to leave the fun!

Many thanks, Joi and Pat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danie
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding and reception here and everything was PERFECT. Everything you could want for a classic, elegant Southern wedding is at the Gardens. Joi is FANTASTIC and we got along from day 1. Having her help me navigate vendors, music choices and more made all the difference in making the day memorable and magical. I highly recommend the Gardens because everyone there is professional and really wants to make it all about you. It is so beautiful and all my guests couldn't stop talking about the tours of the historical home and how the setting was like a fairy tale. Thank you Joi for making it happen!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at Great Oaks a few weeks ago. The top 5 things (in my opinion) about having your wedding at great oaks are: 1) you have a beautiful setting/background for your event and pictures 2) you have the whole day to yourself 3) you have choices in your vendors (at various price points) 4) you can provide your own alcohol and 5) you have Joi as a resource, who has your best interests at heart and does not want you to go broke!

I just got the pictures back and they are better than I could have ever expected!! The gardens, the trees and the estate were the perfect background!

Before the wedding, Joi was an amazing help to me. She recommended great vendors, and suggested some ways to cut costs to make my dream event more affordable. She is your biggest advocate, too. If there is ever an issue with a vendor, she steps in and makes sure everything is made right.

I had my ceremony at Perimeter Church and reception at Great Oaks, but I wanted all of my pictures at Great Oaks before the ceremony. Joi was so accommodating and gave us so much time before the ceremony for pictures! She only does one wedding per day, so you are not rushed in and out the door. I looked at other places, and none of them were as flexible!

At Joi's suggestion, we hired an awesome day-of wedding coordinator. I really don't know how we would have pulled off all of the details without her help! I highly recommend a wedding at Great Oaks!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue was wonderful!!!! The night before the wedding a storm/small tornado came through Roswell. My husband and I went by after the rehearsal dinner and there trees down, debris was everywhere, the tent was sagging, and no electricity. We contacted our wedding coordinator Pat Gardella and she got in touch with the owners. They had people out there working through the night and all the next day and had the place looking marvelous. Joi Klan the CEC at the venue got there at 7:00 am and was working as well. Joi knows how to put you in contact with the best people to work with and made our daughter's wedding day be beyond our expectatations!!! I have gotten calls all weekend about how wonderful and beautiful our daughter's wedding was and how much they enjoyed attending. I used every vendor that Joi and Pat recommended and we overwhelmingly pleased with Talk of the Town Catering and Eric Anthony our DJ !!! Anyone planning a wedding or event cannot go wrong using The Garden's at Great Oaks as a venue along with Joi Klan, Pat Gardella as your coordinators!!! It was a wonderful experience and we grew fond of these two ladies!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
6/2/2013
5.0/5.0
The staff and especially Joi Klan went over and above for our event! We had weather issues and Joi, and her staff, kept the flow of our evening going!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding day at Great Oaks was absolutely perfect, we could not be any happier. We got married in late May so the gardens were all blooming, everything was beautiful! Joi, the estate manager, was there every step of the way. She cares so much about the estate as well as her brides. I would highly recommend The Gardens to anyone who wants a beautiful outdoor wedding run by the best in the business. We are so so thrilled that we chose Great Oaks for our special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marian
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
This was a beautiful venue for an outdoor wedding. The gardens were immaculate and the civil war home that our guests could tour was a big hit.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
This venue was the first and only one my fiancé and I saw before deciding it was where we would say "I do"...and it was definitely the perfect choice! The estate director, Joi Klan, made us feel so special and took care of us every step of the way throughout the planning process. She gave excellent recommendations of photographers, caterers, florists, bakeries, etc., and we ended up using one of her recommendations for everything. Once the wedding day finally arrived, it was absolutely unforgettable. The Gardens looked immaculate and Joi was unbelievable. She caters to the bride unlike anyone else...the entire day and night! I felt so incredible taken care of, and if anything didn't go according to plan, I had no idea that was the case. We received so many compliments about the venue throughout the evening and have ever since, and it's been 2 months! Joi is truly one of kind, just like the Gardens at Great Oaks! I would HIGHLY recommend this venue to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike and Deborah
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter and her fiancé put this venue at the top of their list and thankfully, it was available. They knew exactly what they wanted - an outdoor wedding in a garden and, the fact that it was at an historical site made it all the more perfect! Our meeting with the estate manager, Joi Klan was all we needed to help make the decision - she had the same vision as our daughter which was a story book wedding and, The Gardens at Great Oaks definitely fit the bill! Joi was a true joy to work with (no pun intended:) During the year of planning and, leading up to the wedding, she met with us many times, promptly answered our calls and emails and, offered invaluable ideas and suggestions. She knows her business like no one else and we knew everything would be done right. The day of the wedding, she was 'the one' to take care of our daughter (and myself! - MOB) She made sure everything was perfect and helped to create the most memorable time of our lives. The Pratt house and the gardens made the most amazing place and backdrop for pictures. Their attention to detail and their desire to please was beyond anything we could've imaged. Thanks to Joi and The Gardens at Great Oaks, we were able to give our daughter the wedding she always dreamed of. And, will definitely use them again for future events.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We had the great pleasure of having my daughters Wedding at the Gardens at Great Oaks in Historic Roswell last weekend. Despite the early rain everything cleared up beautifully and made it possible to have the outdoor wedding of her dreams. Without Joi Kahn , the Gardens Estate Manager and Pat Gardella our coordinator this all would have not been possible.
People will always tell you your wedding was nice, or good and sometimes great and they may not always mean it but everyone that attended said it was absolutely the BEST wedding they had ever been to , EVER!!, You do not always hear that from someone.
I am a perfectionist and control freak so the idea of turning all the details over to Joi Kahn and Pat Gardella had me a little scared because I always think I can do things better. I was so wrong !! I have to say they exceeded my expetations and did a much better job than I could have ever done!! Joi saw my daughters vision of what she wanted right away and made sure there were no detail missed in the process. Joi Kahn is one of the most warm caring people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. Aside from all that she really knows her stuff. Every suggestion she made was spot on and perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeffrey
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Jane and I had a perfectly wonderful experience with Joi Klan and the staff at the Great Oaks. It was just a perfect evening and experience. Joi and her team managed all the small details for us and made the day for us and for our guests a very memorable experience. All of our guests talked about how elegant the evening, ceremony and reception turned out to be. We could not have been more pleased with our experience. Joi even came in on her time off to accommodate us.

We appreciated the professionalism and expereince that the Great Oaks brought to the occasion. Being a "vintage" couple (50+ and not the first time around the block) gave us a slightly different perspective on the occasion. Joi worked closely with us to accommodate our requests. So that on the day of the event everything went exactly as planned. Joi made the night even more special when she help shuffle everyone out the door so that Jane and I could have 40 minutes to spin around the dance floor and enjoy the moment. It was the perfect capstone to the evening. I don't thin we could have asked for more. Plus the cost for the facility I found to be a genuine value.

We would highly recommend Joi and her team and the Gardens at Great Oaks.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carol
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi, Kevin and I can't quit talking about how much we appreciate all that you did to make our wedding at The Gardens at Great Oaks a dream one for us. From the moment we met you and toured The Gardens at Great Oaks and Ajax Hall, we knew that this historic site had to be the venue for our wedding. Through all stages of planning, we felt your special interest and experienced your attention to detail. The vendors that you recommended were excellent, and you offered us valuable suggestions. No potential problem seemed to be an imposition to you. When the weather turned cooler and windier on our wedding day, you arranged for heaters to be brought in so that we could still have our outdoor ceremony in front of The Wishing Well. You were on site to greet the wedding party with a surprise of delicious gourmet food and remained to the very end of the evening insuring that all ran smoothly in a timely manner. Our guests enjoyed our wedding at the Gardens so much that they did not want the party to end! Thank you, Joi, I cannot imagine a better venue for a garden wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
On November 10, 2012 my son was married at this venue and I can only describe it as Magical. With over 35 years in a Customer Service capacity, I tend to always look for that one negative item that could have been done differently or better. I can honestly say with this experience we did not have any. We were blessed with fantastic weather and the size of our group made this the perfect location. My experience with events like this is that the group tends to form 2 separate parties, migrating toward the familiar family and friends who know each other. This was one perfect party where everyone was together. The staff was amazing! Joi, the estate manager, is professional, incredibly knowledgeable, supportive and believe me she doesn't miss a trick. We love you Joi! The party coordinator, caterer, photographer and DJ all worked perfectly together making this one time event a memory that I am confident family and friends will talk about for a long time!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The Gardens at Great Oaks is an absolutely beautiful wedding venue due to its historical setting and serene gardens. The estate manager Joi, who can at first seem to be very strict about what is done on the property, is actually one of the kindest and attentive vendors we worked with throughout the entire wedding planning process. She made sure all the other vendors did what they were supposed to do at the time they were scheduled to do it; Joi was on top of everything and made sure our event was the most memorable, fun, and flawless wedding we could have imagined. From the moment we had our first meeting to our send off at the end of the wedding Joi made sure we were taken care of and able to enjoy the small things as well as the big moments. Everyone had such a fantastic time and is still talking about how great our wedding was. We would recommend this venue to anyone seeking an intimate garden wedding in the historic Roswell area. Thanks for everything Joi!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi and the Gardens at Great Oaks went above and beyond to make our day special! Leading up to the event Joi was accessible, informative, and an advocate for us. She helped us with negotiations with our other vendors. Moreover, there will always be cake (Yum).

Our caterer dropped the ball in the worst way (Not enough food, rude, inexperienced service, not enough plates, etc.), and Joi jumped in to both chastise the caterer and make sure our guests were happy. She ended up going into the kitchen and cooking to make sure the food was edible and that our guests would be fed in a timely manner.

Overall the venue was beautiful, well maintained, and well lit for all those special photos. The staff went above and beyond and truly made the day special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rose `
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment we viewed The Gardens at Great Oaks last August 2011, until the last moment of clearing the venue after the wedding, Joi was incredible and our wedding day was flawless and perfect in every way. We could not have wished for a more perfect day for the wedding. Over the past year Joi has been there to help our daughter in many ways far beyond what we would have expected and helped in so many ways to make this wedding wonderful. She seemed to anticipate and know what we needed even before we did and was there to provide advise, suggestions, and support in so many things, from wrinkled wedding gown, hungry mother of the bride, to making sure that all vendors and support people were doing what they needed to do before and during the wedding. The Gardens at Great Oaks was such a beautiful, peaceful setting for our wedding and was exactly what we were looking for and Joi is one of the most delightful special people that we have ever met and did so much to make this unique and special for our families. We will cherish this day forever and are so grateful for our "Perfect Wedding"!!! Rose (Mother of the Bride)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My son got married in the garden at this venue and had the reception after. Everything was perfect. Joi runs this facility and was wonderful. She made sure everything the bride and groom needed was done. Every detail was professionally taken care of. We had a wonderful party and would recommend this venue to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
al
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi Klan provided us with the most remarkable memories. She was a true professional. She took care of everything at the venue. Working together with the wedding coordinator they handled everthing to perfection. The gardens at great oaks is the most beautiful venue my guest have ever seen. It looked like a million dollar wedding. Strongly recommend this venue for a priceless moment.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Flavor Band (continue review) Joi and the staff at The Garden of Great Oats are very professional and great to work with. She is an amazing individual and will do her absolutely best to make sour you have the most memorably wedding ever. I recommend to any bride or groom looking for a beautiful fabulous venue, with incredible and reliable service. Look no further Joi and the staff at Great Oats will make it happened for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
You get more than a beautiful venue here (and it is beautiful). You get Joi! Attention to detail and professionalism and organizational help etc etc. Many personal touches before, during and after. Liked having flexibility with vendors. Gave my daughter her dream wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathy
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
I am the owner operater of Flavor band, I have had the pleasure to work with Joi . My experience is she provide plenty of food & drink for the band. She is easy to work with and very professional in her dealing with her clients. I read a negetive review which does not reflect Joi personality at all. I would recommend this venue to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Victor
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi Klan was fantastic. She gave a list of vendors that we knew we could trust. She was involved and made it a point to make us feel like our wedding reception was the most important event the Gardens had ever hosted. If we had issues with vendors we could call her and she would have it settled immediately. I would consider Joi to be a friend for life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carolynA
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I am a wedding and event coordinator that services the Atlanta area. I have worked several events at the Gardens at Great Oaks and have several more scheduled in the upcoming year.

Joi, the event manager is fantastic, attentive, and extremely dedicated to her job. Her first priority is the happiness of the bride, groom, and wedding party. I have seen her continuously go out of her way to provide a little bit "extra" for each couple I have worked with. At one of our events not only did the ceremony get rained on, but we had to call an ambulance twice throughout the night for guest emergencies. While many other vendors would have cracked under this type of environment Joi worked together with my team to make the night smooth and memorable for all involved.

I would highly recommend this venue for any couple that wants a beautiful garden wedding run by a professional and experienced staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I am an independent, freelance wedding photographer in Atlanta that shoots roughly 70-80 weddings per year. I spend time at a LOT of different venues all around the Metro area. I can honestly say that very few venue operators are as caring and emotionally invested in making a Bride & Groom's wedding day special as Joi Klan is at the Gardens at Great Oaks. When Joi takes a client on at Great Oaks she is concerned with making the day perfect. She brings with her decades of experience in event planning, fine cuisine, and dealing with people in the wedding industry. I've photographed many, many weddings at the Gardens at Great Oaks and in doing so I have witnessed many of the varying challenges that are faced at most weddings and more so I have witnessed many tender, awe-inspiring moments that are only dreamed about and then remembered for a lifetime. All of these moments are created under the wonderful tutelage of Joi and her staff. Oftentimes I will watch her after the ceremony and after she gotten the reception off to a great start and she will stand back (thinking no one notices) with this "mission accomplished" face and you can just tell by the look on her face that she is beaming with satisfaction that all has gone well. That, to me, is someone that truly cares. The Gardens at Great Oaks is a magnificent venue with amazing photo opportunities for weddings but it also has an amazing spirit to it because of the team that works there. Every single person cares about making the day a success and this team is led by Joi. It's an adventure for sure, all weddings are, and I couldn't be prouder to be part of the team of approved vendors at Great Oaks. When a bride & groom choose this venue they are more than just "renting venue space" they are becoming part of the family.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1331174224642-dscn0363
Sarah
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi and Kimberly over at the Gardens were AMAZING to work with! Because the venue is very historic, there are a few restrictions on what can be done, but Joi and Kimberly gave us all the information we needed to work around these. The Gardens are so naturally beautifull and serene and the lit Well makes an awesome outdoor ceremony space.

We definitely saved a lot of money by being able to bring in our own alcohol, and the ability to use the air-conditioned Ajax Hall, the huge tent, and the Garden space allowed us to fit a lot of guests comfortably! The vendors the Gardens work with and recommend are very professional and we were thrilled with their work.

Joi and Kimberly were especially wonderful at treating us like Royalty on the big day. I never considered myself a "bridezilla," but there were definitely a few things I REALLY wanted and Joi & Kimberly came through in the clutch with EVERYTHING! Overall we had such a great wedding/reception at the Gardens and guests are still talking about how beautiful the venue was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
As a Certified Wedding Planner that works at venues all around Atlanta, I want to call out and Thank Joi and Kimberly at the Garden at Great Oaks.
Working with Joi has been both an honor and a great deal of fun. Her knowledge of every detail, presentation, protection of the Gardens and her sense of humor are very appreciated. With Joi and Kimberly by my side for this wedding, we teamed up to show a great time to the family, guests, bride and groom. There were a great many smiles as guests said "goodbye and goodnight" to the happy couple.
Joi "kudos" to an excellant, talented, and caring Estate Manager. Your care of every bride, groom, family member and vendor goes beyond someone who just does their job. You are the Best!
Pat Gardella, Patricia Elizabeth, Certified Wedding Planner.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was May 27th. Joi was willing to expand the time of the reception with no cost due to the time we took with photographs and trying to get "everything" in. Both Joi and Kimberly were very helpful with trying to arrange a surprise picture slide show for the bride. When there were technical difficulties, they made time for us the day before the wedding when they all ready had a wedding being held that evening and preparations were going on for that event. We were all excited that my daughter's dogs were permitted to be in the wedding and Joi even went out of her way to cook beef for the goldens! The staff and facility are 1st rate and I will always be grateful for making my daughter's wedding day so memorable. There are so many family dynamics with 2nd or more marriages with parents at so many events, but for us, and I am sure everyone, all was handled professionally. Delightful experience all around!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cailin
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was held at The Gardens on May 25, 2012. The venue is very beautiful and provided everything we were looking for. There is a lovely hall with double french doors opening to a large flagstone patio with a canopy covering it. There is a bridal suite in the "manor house". We did make use of the bridal suite, but everything else took place outside and in the hall.There are several areas that could be used as a ceremony site, my daughter chose to be married in front of the wishing well. When we first spoke to Joi, the venue manager, she told us she would need to approve all vendors and that the bridesmaids would not be allowed in the bridal suite. I was also very concerned about getting the tent draped and Joi seemed a little resistant to that, this made us a little nervous and we began to think we might have a problem getting everything just the way we wanted it. That turned out to be a false fear though. I have to say that as time went on, Joi was more and more accommodating. She was nothing but helpful during the week of the wedding. She knew when to be there for us and when to stand back. On the actual wedding day she was really a dream to work with and we appreciated all the little extra touches, providing snacks and drinks in the bridal suite, even bringing my daughter cool cloths to combat the heat while she was changing gowns. Joi's assistant Kimberly was also unobtrusive but always on hand if we needed help. We hired very good vendors and we tried very hard to be respectful of the historic property. As with many other historic sites, there are no candles allowed and they do try to limit the number of people going through the house, neither of these rules were a problem for us and we saw the need for them. After all is said and done, we would choose this venue again and again. And I should mention that the venue rental fee is more than reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy Mother of Bride
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
As mother of bride, her father and I found this a wonderful place to have an event. The wedding and reception ran smoothly, John and I sat back and enjoyed the whole evening as it unfolded. If there were any issues we certainly did not know about them. Joi and her assistant were awesome.....Pat Gardella (Patriciaelizabethbridal@gmail.com ) , the wedding planner was a must have for any wedding. She kept the party going on schedule.....there was never a dull moment...and cudos to the dj ( Fonix Entertainment) for providing great music. Jerry Dilts & Associates food was awesome...... and no I am not getting a kickback for this review!!!!! We are waiting on photos from wedding, but Laura Rowe Photography has posted first photo on her web page and it is gorgeous! I am sure the rest will be fabulous.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We recently held our wedding reception at The Gardens at Great Oaks, and it could not have been a more perfect venue. Great Oaks is so elegant and has so much historic charm. We fell in love with it the first time we came to see it. The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. The overall venue is just enchanting, especially in the evening with all of the lights on. My husband and I are so excited to see all of the pictures we took inside Great Oaks and all over the grounds.

We were able to fit all of our guests (about 112) comfortably within Ajax Hall and under the canopy. We decided to have our buffet in Ajax Hall with the wedding cake in the center under the gorgeous chandelier. We rented a dance floor and positioned it under the canopy with the band. We decided to have two bars so that guests would not have to wait in long lines. It was nice that Great Oaks allowed us to bring in our own alcohol. Also, during the cocktail hour we offered our guests the option of taking tours of Great Oaks, which was very unique.

Joi Klan is the estate manager at Great Oaks and was absolutely fantastic to work with. She is unbelievably knowledgeable and had so many wonderful recommendations for vendors. Working with her made the process of wedding planning so much easier. She really knows her business and it shows. She also sincerely cared about making our wedding day special and went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of.

We are thrilled with our our reception at Great Oaks and are so grateful to Joi for all of her help. I would highly recommend Great Oaks to any bride looking for a fabulous wedding ceremony/reception venue in Roswell.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi reaeaeaeaeally knows how to run the show at The Gardens. She took care of us from start to finish. We had no idea how to even begin planning a wedding, but she guided us every step of the way. She recommended great vendors and made sure we were taken care of by all of them. I guarantee that if she felt we were being taken advantage of, she would not have hesitated to pick up a phone and contact a vendor directly. Expect her to be a little feisty, but realize that it's necessary in order to get the job done and make your day run perfectly. She knew our budget and did everything in her power to help us stick to it. We know that perfection is really difficult to achieve and, honestly nothing could have ruined our special day, but we can't think of anything that would have made our day better. The day was beautiful, the gardens have so many little beautiful details that allow you to spend less on decorations, many features that other venues charge extra for are all included, Joi surprised us with many additional touches that really added to our ambiance on the day of and the day just ran so smoothly. We love The Gardens, Joi and the rest of the staff. They really took care of us and perfection was achieved!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keith
Wedding:
4/13/2012
5.0/5.0
From starting the planning phase and all the way through the end of the wedding day, we could not have been in better hands! Joi and her assistants are "top notch" with every detail.
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ct lanza
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Joi and her staff were incredibly helpful to our daughter and the wedding party. Joi made sure things happens on schedule and even went beyond her responsibilities (teaching my daughters Dad to dance for the father/daughter dance)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Father-of-the-Bride
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
There is a saying “If a thing sounds too good to be true, it usually is.”

Whoever made that up had not gone through planning and celebrating a wedding at The Gardens of Great Oaks in Roswell.

The first meeting with Joi, the manager, gave us some idea of the daunting road that lay ahead of us, the myriad details that had to be addressed, the contingencies that had to be thought out. Yet, from that time, through the months until the Big Day, her advice based on her years of experience guided us unerringly. For everything we needed, she had a plan for how each could be achieved. The vendors she recommended had had previous experience with The Gardens, had worked with Joi, and could tell us exactly what was needed.

Without exception everyone who attended the wedding raved about it, and the great success was due to the professionalism with which Joi had planned with us and rehearsed. Even when the outlook for the weather looked dire, she reassured us with several possible scenarios which would have dealt with the crisis, and when the day turned out to be clear, the outdoor ceremony went without a hitch thanks to the meticulous rehearsal which she had taken us through on the previous evening. From the moment the first of the bridal party arrived on the scene until the last guest left, Joi was everywhere making sure even the slightest detail had not been overlooked.

The venue is beautiful. The facilities are magnificent. Being able to provide our own beverages was a huge money-saver. The wedding turned into the best “day that will not be forgotten” that any of us could have wished for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
The first time we toured the Gardens at Great Oaks, we were extremely impressed with the beauty of the estate --it was filled with seasonal plants and provided us the option of having part of our reception inside and part outside. (The owner is a master gardener.) We also liked the history of the house and liked being able to provide an opportunity for our guests to tour the home while they waited for the wedding party to arrive. From our first visit to the Gardens, Joi was a wealth of knowledge. Her suggestions for vendors (especially the band) could not have been more perfect and made our job easier. My husband still raves about her sweet tea.

On the day of the wedding, Joi went above and beyond the call of duty and made sure that our wedding reception was one that we would remember and be proud of for a long time. Our guests still remark about the beauty of the venue and the professionalism of the staff. We highly recommend the Gardens at Great Oaks and Joi to anyone looking for a wedding venue in the North Atlanta area!

An added plus for us was being able to provide our own alcohol-- a savings to us indeed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
After our daughter's wedding, the comments from our guests told the story. "It was the best wedding I have ever been too" :" We had such a great time" : "We had so much fun". The Garden at Great Oaks is an amazing venue with the capacity to captivate any participant with it's grace and charm. But, what made this such a grand event was the professionalism and desire of Joi and her staff to make this day the finest day in every bride's life. Her attention to detail, her experience in guiding us through the planning process, and flawless execution made this an extraordinary day in our lives. We could not have asked for anything better.The day was amazingly stress free. It was flawless.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ayeh
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
I SO enjoyed Joi and Marco.. planning an event to go off as beautifully as ours did took a lot of time, practice and just plain know how. She and the Gardens made me a gorgeous bride and a wedding that EVERYONE loved. She has been in the biz and knows all the vendors and can pull out all the stops... Joi, thank you for ALL you did .. your love was evident and my wedding was just as I wanted.. I again LOVE the venue but Joi made it all happen.. Thank you Joi and I hope that we can remain in touch.. Will definatley refer you to all I know for weddings and events.. Thank you again for being a part of my special day.. I know that I could not have done it without you. You really impressed my friends and family. Thank you again WE LOVE YOU
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
The venue was absolutely beautiful for the wedding reception. Kudos to Joi and her staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
As the saying goes "love is in the details" and that is what I loved about the Estate Manager, Joi and her assistant, Marco. They are very knowledgable about their profession, the estate / grounds and their vendors. Their care of the Bride was exceptional. I highly recommend The Gardens At Great Oaks venue and services.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beneserve@aol.com
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
When we were looking at facilities for our daughters wedding ceremony and reception our goals were to make it "Very Special Day" for not only our daughter but family and friends. A seconday goal was to keep to our tight budget in these difficult economic times. Without a doubt the staff at The Gardens at Great Oaks met those goals down to the vey last detail. We strongly recomend this facility and the staff to meet your goals to a perfect wedding for your family and friends.

The Samuels Family
Services Used: Band, Catering, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Joi and Marco (and our caterer, Jerry Dilts) did an outstanding job at our daughter's wedding. After months of careful planning, some things had to go to "Plan B" at the last minute due to very inclement weather and they (Joi, Marco and Kenna) did not miss a beat. No one was the wiser and the reception was beautiful.
The venue is outstanding and Joi is truly committed to making certain that your event is exactly what you want. Her expertise is invaluable and she goes above and beyond expectation to create a truly beautiful and memorable experience.
I would highly recommend The Gardens at Great Oaks to my friends. That's the highest compliment I can pay.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mother of the Bride
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter and her new husband were just married at The Gardens at Great Oaks June 11, 2011. I can not praise Joi and Marco highly enough! The value of Joi's wisdom in making memories for a lifetime should not be under estimated. Her experience and attention to details were invaluable to us. When making decisions about the most important pieces of the wedding and reception, our experiences with the people we love were always in the forefront. The grounds are beautiful and inviting. The spacious grounds and beautiful gardens offer many different areas for gathering and enjoying each other's company. Our ceremony was held in front of the shade garden, with ample space for our 200 guests in an amphitheatre-type arrangement. The yard was a wonderful place for the children to "play" during the reception. There is a formal vegetable garden as lovely as any flower garden I have seen. The well is one of my favorite places-reminding me of my grandparents' homes. The gazebo offers an intimate space for quiet conversation. Our daughter's wedding was a celebration of new love, family and friends in a setting that wrapped its arms around us, embracing us as we embraced one another. I can't think of a better place to have spent such a special day. Joi and Marco attended to our every need and made sure that our experience at Great Oaks was exceptional. They were at our beck and call. They made sure that we had everything that we needed. They helped to create and maintain a calm presence. I was free of worry. My daughter had a wonderful time. All of our guests raved about the ceremony and the reception. Thank you, Joi and Marco for a wonderful day! Also, a big thank you to Jim for maintaining such a beautiful home and gardens for us to enjoy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
415 S Doolin Drive
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Almost flawless! Very courteous, accommodating, and professional. Thoughtful and sincere. Valuable advices and excellent services. Our guests enjoyed and praised the venue and the surrounding environment. Everything went very smooth. We have already recommended a couple of our friends to use this venue for their daughters' weddings. My teenager sons like it too. They may use it for their future weddings.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
This is a beautiful location for a wedding and reception. The staff had great recommendations for a band and the additional special touches needed for a truly memorable reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alana
Wedding:
6/15/2012
4.9/5.0
As a photographer for ABJ Photography, based out of Roswell, GA I had the pleasure of working with Joi and her team at The Gardens at Great Oaks. This is a beautiful venue with great history and lovely indoor and outdoor spaces. Our bride and groom were given the best care by Joi and Kimberly.

Joi and her team are a very professional staff, and they expect nothing less of vendors they work with. If you select this venue for your wedding you will receive top-notch service!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcy
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
My daughters wedding day was wonderful because of the staff at the Great Oaks. Joy and Marco were very accommodating. Once we arrived we were well taken care of - never having to lift a finger - all was taken care of, even to the extent of bringing me more comfortable shoes to wear after the formal ceremony was completed. All of our possessions were loaded into our cars so we were ready to go. I highly recommend this venue and their staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MCJDUnger
Wedding:
9/1/2009
4.9/5.0
We had originally read the reviews for the Gardens at Great Oaks and crossed it off our list. We had time between another venue in the area and decided to look into this place on a whim. From the second we walked to the door we were treated like old friends and brought in without a reservation to view and experience the venue. Joi the new wedding planner for the estate took the time to walk us around the house and talk with us about our personal wants and needs for our wedding. This was impart from the venue itself, she took personal time to explore our needs not even caring if we chose this location.

After viewing the location and discussing our wedding with Joi, we were invited to meet their preferred vendors. These vendors turned out to be the best in the trade working for the love of creating the best memories for the customer not themselves. They work on any budget set to create exactly the dream wedding every bride desires.


We highly recommend this location and vendors as the best in Atlanta. After experiencing multiple other vendors this one surely tops the list because you will create your own personalized wedding with out the cookie cutter, nickle and dime you attitude.

We hold Joi in extremely high respects for the care and attention she has shown us high respect for all the time we have worked with her. Thank you Joi!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.8/5.0
If you are looking for a wedding venue in the Atlanta area that will provide you with the most beautiful, unique setting-- look no further than the Gardens at Great Oaks. From the moment I stepped foot on the estate I knew that I wanted to have my wedding there. The Gardens has everything I wanted in a venue, gorgeous grounds, an intimate setting and a quintessential "Southern feel." To top it all off you can bring you own alcohol!! Another thing that sets the Gardens apart from other venues in the area is the guided tour of the (insanely beautiful) home. Our guests loved having a tour of the home and learning its history.

We owe a huge debt of thanks to the estate manager, Joi Klan, as well as our wedding planner, Pat Gardella. Joi really knows her business. Her number one priority is to make sure the bride and groom have a wonderful wedding. She is extremely protective of her brides and goes to bat for them at every turn. I can't say enough that Joi knows her business-- trust her and you will undoubtedly have a SUPER wedding!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
6/15/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding at The Gardens on 6/15/13 and our guests have raved about what an amazing time they had. Joi was okay to work with, although she could be a little pushy at times. If you do not have a strong backbone you might have a problem dealing with her. However, a tornado went through Roswell two days before our wedding and yet it looked like nothing had happened by the time our wedding came around. The grounds are so beautiful and the quality of service was exquisite. I would not have picked a different place to hold my special day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.8/5.0
I recently had a wedding at the Gardens at Great Oaks. The venue is gorgeous! The estate manager has done hundreds of weddings and has so many tips and recommendations for planning your wedding. I had many people at the wedding tell me how much they loved my venue. I would definitely recommend the Gardens at Great Oaks!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
La Von
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.8/5.0
The charm and elegance of the Gardens at Great Oaks is unmatched. It was the perfect location for my bride and groom. In order to preserve the pristine historic beauty of the estate, they are a bit strict with their rules. However, the estate manager Joi, is top notch when it comes to customer service and hospitality. She went above and beyond to insure the families were completely taken care of and everything ran smoothly. The natural chaos behind the scenes was well organized and the family gave rave reviews. Joi, we couldn't have done it with out you! Thank you for your guidance and support.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynn
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.8/5.0
I had my daughters wedding at Garden at Great Oaks in September. It was the perfect day and a major reason was the venue. Mu daughter wanted a Tuscan, mediterranean feel to her reception and the Gardens at Great Oak was perfect. Cocktail hour was in the gardens, dinner was under the tent, and dancing and dessert was in Ajax Hall. The flow from each part of the evening made for a relaxed and sophisticated feel. Many people told us they felt like they were in Tuscany or Napa valley. The estate is so large we were even able to put up a movie theater to keep the children entertained and it didn't interfere with the reception at all. The house is a wonderful back drop for group pictures.
The estate is beautifully maintained. The reason I gave only a 4 for flexibility is there are rules that are meant to keep the estate pristine. I wanted to put some stakes into the ground and I couldn't but it is a very small price to pay for keeping the place so beautiful. The manager-Joi- seems to have two passions in life. The first is keeping the Gardens beautiful and protected and the second is helping brides have their perfect day. She is very knowledgeable and has many ideas and is not shy about sharing them. If like us, you already know what you want then she helps with your vision. But mainly she is there on the day of the event working to make sure all the vendors we used did what we wanted. She got along and worked together with our wedding coordinator. We did use 3 of the estate's preferred vendors: Talk of the Town Catering (fantastic), J's Beverage Depot (Gabe was great), and It's My Party Rentals (Tony really knows what you need). Joi was equally professional with the other vendors we had chosen.
This is a beautiful venue for a wedding and since it one where you can bring all your own vendors, you can really bring your vision of your wedding to life. I give it my highest recommendation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
My fiancé and I looked for a long time to find the perfect venue and finally found The Gardens. The pictures do not do this place any justice. The grounds are gorgeous and very we'll taken care of. We used the venue for the ceremony and reception and it was perfect. The location for the ceremony was so quiet and intimate and Ajax Hall was big enough for our guests but the outside tent made it so people could step outside and it still look nice. At first I had reservations about Joi but I always knew she had my best interests in mind.The venue has a lot of different rules so always ask before assuming. She does suggest that you get a day of coordinator, do it, it will save you a lot of stress.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Venue is absolutely beautiful. Love how they have select vendors you have to choose from considering how hard it is to pick vendors, this makes it easier. Great people to work with and vet accommodating! The gardens themselves are beautiful and the property is well maintained.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.6/5.0
The Gardens are truly lovely and Ajax Hall offers a comfortable indoor space which includes a fireplace. The semi permanent canopy is a festive space. Joi, the estate manager, is particular and it shows in the details at Great Oaks; so if you plan on using The Gardens at Great Oaks as your venue know that there are high standards there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg17
Carlita
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.6/5.0
Excellent place...People is totally focus on being helpful and let you enjoy the wedding day...I should do it again! Lovely :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
This is a beautiful location for a wedding in spring, summer or fall. The grounds are beautiful, natural and well-kept. The facilities are first rate for the bride and groom to prepare for the ceremony, for the ceremony itself and for the reception. There are many attractive settings for photographs. The staff is exceedingly professional led by Joi Klan who has impeccable credentials and requires only the highest level of service from the staff. Joi attends to every anticipated need.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phil
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.5/5.0
A great venue with helpful staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christopher-sofie
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.5/5.0
The previous ratings were indeed warranted, BUT NO LONGER! The entire staff has been replaced with very capable and competent people during our planning process. My wife and I started off with the original lady? I think her name was Nancy? I?m not sure because she is no longer involved. Enter Joi; an experienced chef and events planner of over 20 years. The difference in our planning experience was night and day. She treated us like her own children because she cared so much about our happiness on this once in a lifetime event. She brought with her a fantastic French chef that she knows for the dinner so you don?t need an outside caterer, but you can still use one if you prefer.
Joi has a lot of experience with events, especially weddings. She helped us create an entire timeline, provide vendor recommendations, and coordinate personally with every vendor involved in the process. If you have your wedding here, you do not need a ?wedding planner? because Joi can help you with anything you need. It?s like having a packaged deal.
The day of our wedding, with the exception of the rain, was perfect. Joi was constantly preparing since the Thursday before so that everything would be ready for Saturday and it was. All of the preparation we did with her paid off as everything went together just right. We had a nice bridal suite to prepare for the reception upon arrival from the church and she had the caterer set some food aside for us so we could eat before the reception because the bride and groom don?t really have time to eat when entertaining all the guests. The flow from the time our guests got there until the time they left was extremely smooth. Joi was on top of every detail from start to finish. The guests raved about the beauty of the hall, and especially about the drinks. Joi made a cocktail for us that we picked out and the guests didn?t drink much else. Joi had to make 4 batches of the cocktail. The historic house and garden behind it made for a very nice setting. Everyone had a great time even though it was pouring down rain outside. I highly recommend anyone to meet with Joi and view the property to get an idea for how nice of a setting it would be for a reception. Joi, Thank you for making our wedding unforgettable!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.4/5.0
The Gardens at Great Oaks was an incredible venue for our outdoor wedding. It is naturally beautiful, laid back and inviting. We had an outdoor ceremony followed by a reception in Ajax Hall and under the permanent tent. It was perfect - exactly what we wanted. The venue is a great value and Joi was wonderful to work with. She is an experienced veteran who can provide guidance and recommendations throughout the wedding planning process.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Richelle
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.3/5.0
The grounds are absolute perfection. So many wonderful picturesque areas and more beauty than your heart can enjoy at once. Ultra fine furnishings and plenty of space to take gorgeous photos. This venue is a stickler for perfection. Your wedding will be fabulous and flawless if you book here. Joi will make certain that all details are refined and that everyone has a great experience. What this place lacks in flexibility it more than makes up for it in the fact that the Joi, the Estate Manager will bend over backwards to provide top notch quality and great memories. You won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TT
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.3/5.0
My son and daughter (Jeremy and Amanda) had their ceremony and reception on May 14, 2011 at the Gardens. As the father of the groom I was impressed with the facility, staff and flexibility offered. I would highly recommend the facilities to any family looking for great memories.

TT
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Katti
Wedding:
5/22/2010
3.9/5.0
The Gardens at Great Oaks is an absolutely beautiful venue! <3 After I saw the beautiful garden grounds, tasted the tomatoes from the vegetable/herb garden growing on the side of this historic house and spoke with Joi, I knew this venue was where I wanted my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Gardens at Great Oaks responded with the following comments:

As mentioned by the reviewer, The Gardens at Great Oaks is a beautiful property that is meticulously maintained and a gorgeous venue. It’s important to note that catering services and additional rentals are outside the scope of the facility agreement and are negotiated contracts between our guests and their selected vendors.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.1/5.0
There were a couple of services (specific day-of planner Pat Gardella and dance floor with It's My Party Rentals) that the estate decided to make mandatory after we booked the venue which cost us an additional $850 and were both not worth the $. In the grand scheme of things, the day was great and these items seem small, but the thing that bothered us the most was that for a majority of our experience with The Gardens, WE WERE CONSTANTLY WORKING TO PLEASE THE ESTATE RATHER THAN THE ESTATE WORKING TO PLEASE ITS CUSTOMERS. That was the biggest flaw. I would recommend this venue to someone because it is gorgeous and the day turned out wonderfully (thanks to Joi's efforts on our special day) but I would say that after our experience I would recommend that any bride and their family enter this with EYES WIDE OPEN. And get EVERYTHING in writing no matter how genuine and kind you think someone is being. Oh and before we left the wedding we were asked to put all 5's on our review...here's to honesty!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly9414
Wedding:
9/29/2007
2.8/5.0
Great Oaks is a beautiful place to have your wedding. The home, ballroom, and gardens are outstanding and well maintained. However, the service is far from outstanding. Many of my phone calls and emails were not answered by the staff at Great Oaks. I was not given a final table chart for the reception until about 2 weeks before the wedding, causing me to rush to find a vendor for linens. Additionally, our wedding coordinator was not responsive during the ceremony and reception. In fact, instead of tending to my husband and I immediately following our wedding, she spent her time showing another couple the home and grounds during our reception. I'm sure that the service would have been better if I had purchased one of Great Oaks' pricy alcoholic beverage packages.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
butterfly150
Wedding:
5/9/2009
2.0/5.0
The Gardens at Great Oaks is beautiful. Once the check was written response time was very slow. Many phone calls and e-mails went unanswered. When we wanted to stop by and take a few photos outside, we called and confirmed that no event was scheduled during that time. Although initially told by Nancy that we could, she later called back to say the owner said no. We held only the wedding at the site, not the reception. If you are looking for a beautiful location, this is it. If you are looking for customer service, responsiveness and flexibility, this is not the place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
7/21/2012
1.0/5.0
We had our wedding here on July 21, 2012 and I must say the estate manager Joi was extremely rude to our guests, made my wife's mother cry and spilled wine on her and did not even apologize to her. We paid $150.00 for our guests to tour the house and they did not even show tours. We called the owner of the estate Linda Lively to address our concerns about Joi and she acted like she did not care either. If you are looking to have a wedding here you need to find a different venue unless you want to have your family and friends yelled at and treated poorly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Gardens at Great Oaks responded with the following comments:

We certainly do care about providing an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. A safe and positive experience for our brides and their families and friends is our primary concern. Public safety ordinances and common sense dictate that alcohol consumption for our guests be regulated. We also clearly delineate our property as a no smoking facility. Smoking is only permitted in defined areas. Our published and highly visible policies as well as enforcement of public ordinances will rarely offend our guests; they appreciate our concern for their safety and well being. However, there will be the occasional guest who will not believe that the safety policies apply to them and will consider any advice to the contrary as “rude”- regardless of the method of delivery. We engage professional security officers during our events to assist our vendors and our brides in maintaining a safe and secure environment. Our tour guide is an experienced professional who enchants most of our guests with informative tours conducted during specified times, much to the delight of our guests. Our caterers, wedding coordinators and security officers are all seasoned professionals who are well versed in Southern hospitality and safety protocols. Our team of professionals deliver consistent, exceptional and positive experiences and service week after week with gratitude, joy, and positive feedback from nearly all of our clientele. It’s unfortunate for a bride and groom when a few guests mar their occasion. Direct observations from our vendors and hours of post- event conversation refute the veracity of this disingenuous author’s dubious comments. Interestingly, a “thank you” gift was presented to our Estate Manager followed by a telephone message indicating: “We had our wedding this past Saturday and were very happy”.
Wwnetwork-128
katie
Wedding:
7/12/2011
1.0/5.0
I am laughing at the reviews before mine. I 100% think The Garden is posting reviews about themselves. I had an awful experience with them. Joi is a nightmare. She changes her mind every 5 minutes. First, she wasnt going to allow anyone in the main house except for me, then she was going to make my fiance get dressed for the wedding in a bathroom instead of the main house. It wasnt until my parents sat her down that she changed her mind on both things. She also lied about the relationships she has with vendors. She would tell me how much they would be and when I would speak with them the price would be double and the venfor wouldnt know anything about the "special price" Joi gave me. She made me cry when she found out I was taking "first look" photos before the weddding and told me I would regret seeing my fiance before the wedding for the rest of my life. OH YA, she also went into detail about her butt lift to my fiance and even had the nerve to pull her shirt tight around her butt and show him "how great her new butt looks". Don't get trapped here like I did. RUN!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TiffanyC
Wedding:
7/18/2009
0.6/5.0
Quality of service was poor due to professionalism (inappropriate attire by host at event), untimely response to emails and phone calls. This venue although beautiful for a ceremony and reception is run by highly unorganized and unprofessional staff which caused great fustration. Should have listened to other reviews as they were accurate. Rehearsal was a disaster and embarrassing to family to be so disorganized by someone whom claims to an experienced professional. Coordinator organized a meeting for vendors and bride and groom onsite and failed to show with no notice nor apology. Again disrespectful as we had left work early to travel to site. Untimely response to number of tables, seating, timeline, availability of property. 30 day walk thru completed week before the wedding. Expensive bar service purchased with included gratuity and service fees. Coordinator insisted tip jars would not be present however two tip jars were present the entire night even though gratuity and service fees were paid. Bar service in contract states 1 bartender for every 75 guests we were charged for 2 bartenders for 75 guests. Venue boasts tours of beautiful historic home (which it is) however several guest ignored and sent away. Out of town photographer arrived on site two months prior to view venue and was disrespected by Coordinator leaving myself again highly embarrassed infront of vendors. Deposit was not returned as stated in the contract (2 weeks after event) until we called and questioned if it had been mailed (1 month later).
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at this site and it was beautiful. However, due to the poor service I highly recommend an alternative venue. The saving grace was our caterer (Fabulous Creations) whom helped pull EVERYTHING together.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
5/26/2013
0.0/5.0
My daughter Ariel and her husband David were married at the Gardens at Great Oaks on May 26. While the venue was gorgeous and the wedding beautiful, the behavior of the estate manager, Joi Klan, was totally unacceptable and at times threatened to destroy our happy occasion. In the interest of space, I'll condense what I wrote to the owners:

She was rude to the bride, my wife and the maid of honor, hijacked the photography and insulted the photographer, ordered two friends to walk down the aisle when they weren't supposed to (in the place of my parents who couldn't come because my father was ill) and nearly set off World War III in my family, pushed guests around and in the end, threw out the remaining food and wedding cake so the bride and groom never had a piece. And that's not half of it. Her behavior in so many ways was unforgivable. My advice: Stay away! Stay away!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
786 Mimosa Blvd, Roswell, GA 30075 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Gardens at Great Oaks
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1245101862354-largelogo