130x130_sq_1378380693934-frontofhouse2

The Garrett-Bullock House

Columbus , GA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1402 2nd Avenue
Columbus, GA US 31901 (map)

PHONE

706-536-4054

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Garrett-Bullock House, a picturesque 1880’s Victorian mansion on the National Register of Historic Places, offers an elegant Old South setting with indoor and outdoor event... Read more
The Garrett-Bullock House, a picturesque 1880’s Victorian mansion on the National Register of Historic Places, offers an elegant Old South setting with indoor and outdoor event spaces.

We combine history, an atmosphere of charm & grace and gourmet cuisine to form an unforgettable venue for your wedding ceremony, reception, rehearsal dinner or bridal shower.

Beautiful gardens and understated sophistication define this oasis in the heart of Uptown Columbus. Plan your wedding the easy way with our value-packed, all-inclusive designer wedding packages for 25 to 300 guests. Event consultation and site visits by appointment. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1227238092280-cogar6
130x130_sq_1227238135265-gbackgrounds_109(medium)
130x130_sq_1363185431851-landing
130x130_sq_1363185442340-tent
130x130_sq_1363185463362-img7021bwinverse
130x130_sq_1363185517627-weddingparty
130x130_sq_1363185802982-waiting
130x130_sq_1363185520029-ceremonysite2
130x130_sq_1363185521599-departure5
130x130_sq_1363185523592-frontofhouse2
130x130_sq_1363185525416-tentandhouse
130x130_sq_1363185571395-ceremony2
130x130_sq_1363185594414-196653121804043844775923n
130x130_sq_1363185605243-19665312180629384217516n
130x130_sq_1363185668506-img2400
130x130_sq_1363185695784-tricia
130x130_sq_1363185717952-312web
130x130_sq_1363185760830-284238339476700911080537n
130x130_sq_1363185792141-baywindow
130x130_sq_1363185837971-corner

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1881
When was your venue last renovated?
2008
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
City, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3000
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Latisha
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I hosted my babies shower at The Garrett-Bullock House. Lynda, Tricia & MJ were phenomonal in meeting all my needs and being such awesome planners. Everything that I had asked for was there, the decor, hospitaltiy and professioalism that was given to us was top of the line! I will definitely
reccommend the Garrett-Bullock House for anyone that is looking for a great venue with awesome service to host an event.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
The Garrett-Bullock House responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Latisha to allow us to be host for your wonderful baby shower! We were so pleased your guests had such a good time and wanted to know so much about the house's history! Come back anytime!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Would recommend this venue to everyone. Beautiful place and Lynda, the wedding planner/ coordinator was wonderful!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Garrett-Bullock House responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much Deborah for your review! The wedding was absolutely beautiful and we were so pleased to be apart of it!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
I LOVED having my wedding at The Garrett-Bullock House! It was the perfect balance of affordability and service. The price is not the cheapest in town, but it is pretty low, and you aren't just paying for the venue. When you pay for the venue, you also get tables, chairs, and linens, which can be pretty expensive if you have to rent them separately. You are also getting a full-service wedding planner with an awesome staff, which is something I didn't think I needed until I actually got into the planning process. It would have been so stressful without the PROS at the Garrett-Bullock House taking care of everything. They guide you through the process of finding vendors, but they are also pretty flexible about letting you find your own people if you prefer. They set up and tear down EVERYTHING to your exact specifications, even if they're a little weird :-) I hardly had to do any work on my wedding day, which was amazing! For a very reasonable price, I was able to relax and have a good time with my new husband, which is really priceless. I see that someone else got less than great service, but I just want to say that wasn't my experience at all. Maybe things didn't quite go perfectly for her wedding because Lynda wasn't there to orchestrate it all, but Lynda and MJ were there making everything go smoothly at my wedding and their whole staff was attentive and polite to me and my guests. I never thought I would be able to afford to have such a nice, professionally planned wedding, but The Garrett-Bullock House made it happen!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
The Garrett-Bullock House responded with the following comments:

Alison & Sean -- your wedding was amazing! Not only from the choices and design for the day but also in the people you surrounded yourselves with to be apart of it! It felt like having family all around us and we were so touched to play host to such a beautiful event!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.8/5.0
We loved every minute of our wedding at the Garrett Bullock House! The grounds are quiet and beautiful and the house is gorgeous inside and out. They paid attention to every detail and all of the staff were friendly, kind, and attentive. The food was excellent and we were very happy with the preferred vendors they suggested (florist, cake and DJ). Compared to similar wedding venues in the area, the Garrett Bullock House has a lot to offer for the money. Just having Lynda (the coordinator) helping with everything was a major benefit! She was great about answering questions and putting us at ease all through the planning process and the event itself. It was a perfect day and a beautiful, southern place to host my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
The Garret-Bullock house was not my first choice for the venue of my small wedding but due to other difficulties I had with another venue we chose this venue. It was slightly more expensive but was worth the price. I don't live in Columbus and Lynda was great with responding to emails and really putting my vision into place. Planning was made a lot easier since they took care of the catering and food and all of those things. I wrote one check and everything was taken care of. The venue on the day of was set up to my description and the food was really tasty. However Lynda was not there on my wedding day, which I thought was weird, and the staff was very unpleasant. I didn't make this a big deal on my actual day because I was busy enjoying myself but I had a few guest tell other guest and myself that the staff was rude. I noticed this as well and just ignored it and just started getting my sister to coordinate different things that I wanted to do. I was pretty laid back about this but I know other brides or guest may not put up with rude service. That would probably be my only complaint, but its a pretty big one. I also tried to talk to Lynda about it but she never got back with me. I wasn't looking for compensation or anything because like I said they did everything as I wanted, they were just very rude.

You get what you pay for and it is beautiful inside and out - just wish the staff had been friendlier.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Audra
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
When I dreamed about my wedding day, I always pictured beauty, elegance and, dare I say, romance. The Garrett-Bullock House made every single one of those hopes and dreams come true. I have had many people tell me that I was one of the calmest, most relaxed brides they had ever seen. My answer to all of them was that I knew everything was in the hands and under the control of people who knew exactly what they were doing! All of those same people have told me how beautiful everything was, and I told them I couldn't take most of the credit. While I gave examples of flowers that I liked, picked out a cake and some other things, the preferred vendors at Garrett-Bullock House took my vision and ran with it to create my dream wedding and reception. I always felt like our wedding was sincerely important and not just another “cookie cuter” event. Their creativity, attention to detail and hard work amazed me at every turn. Their unique ideas added things to the day I would have never thought of and will always appreciate and remember. They helped create the most special day in our lives and will never be forgotten!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasmine
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I got married this June and LOVED everything about my wedding! Staff was amazing and tended to all my guests needs. Food was SO GOOD!! The wedding planner was beyond amazing at helping me with everything and anything I needed and she made sure everything was going great! I didnt have to worry about a thing. I cant wait to see my pictures because I know they will be beautiful! I would recommend the Garrett-Bullock House to ANYONE!! PERFECT! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosario
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
SIMPLY AMAZING I've reviewed the GBH in Google as well and will do my best to say something different here while highlighting the type of experience I had.
I went in with enough time so I was able to lock down the exact date I wanted. The staff worked with my vision from the get go guiding me through the pros and cons of each of my ideas and decisions. I loved their consultative and light-hearted style. The most important thing is that it was obvious they KNOW WEDDINGS! so I had no trouble trusting them to help me have the most beautiful day of my life (before my children's births). My day was absolutely perfect and hassle free. Not to mention that everybody LOVED our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
1/10/2009
5.0/5.0
We held our rehearsal dinner at the Garrett-Bullock House. It is a beautiful facility, and I enjoyed learning about the history of the home. It really set the stage for our wedding weekend. The staff took care of all the details the evening of, including picking up our food from the caterer. I thought the venue was also really reasonably priced.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
12/20/2008
5.0/5.0
When I was planning my wedding it needed to be done very quickly and with flexibility. I was marry a soldier and in between training and reporting to his next station, we were getting married. I needed help fitting this into such a small window, without compromising what I wanted. I found this and so much more with MJ and Linda at the Garrett-Bullock house. They calmed my fears, took on the stressful stuff that comes with every wedding, and absolutely made my dream wedding come true. It was a night I will never forget, and I know I would not have been able to have it without them. The venue is stunning, the staff and vendors they work with are professional and courteous, and everything went off without a hitch. I would chose them again today, and I am so thankful to now call them friends.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1402 2nd Avenue, Columbus, GA 31901 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Garrett-Bullock House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1378380693934-frontofhouse2