130x130 sq 1371603173585 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb

The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797

Gettysburg , PA

LOCATION

One Lincoln Square
Gettysburg, PA 17325 US (map)

PHONE

717-337-2000

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Located in the heart of downtown, the Gettysburg Hotel is the preferred destination venue to make your once in a lifetime event truly perfect. The Grand Ballroom, originally built in... Read more
Located in the heart of downtown, the Gettysburg Hotel is the preferred destination venue to make your once in a lifetime event truly perfect. The Grand Ballroom, originally built in 1814 as the Gettysburg National Bank, features a 28’ hand painted ceiling inlaid with gold, period chandeliers, large windows with sweeping velvet evergreen draperies and a Grecian border. The original bank vault is still in use as both a place to store your wedding gifts and an ideal and unique photo backdrop.



Impeccable Service and Attention to Detail

Your guests will feel our hospitality during yourreception as they arrive in our Atrium for cocktails and our Chef’s unique culinary creations. The spacious and light Atrium allows your family and friends to socialize freely, while being attended to by our professional staff. Every detail of your reception will be carefully executed to ensure that each guest feels like royalty.



Designer Appointed Accommodations

Since 1797, guests have enjoyed the warmth and gracious individual award winning service we consistently provide. Our 119-room hotel has expanded over the last several years and has been remodeled from top to bottom to bring you a new look and feel. Guests will experience a historic visit while enjoying all of the amenities of the modern age. Our bridal suites we redesigned with your wedding night in mind, featuring a king sized bed, romantic crackling fireplace and Jacuzzi for two. Your wedding will be remembered forever if you allow us to make our history…your destination.
For more information or to schedule visit, call Megan Wherley, Catering & Events Manager, at (717)338-5408 or email her at mwherley@hotelgettysburg.com Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1371603294798 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb
130x130 sq 1425583347811 8
130x130 sq 1371603672369 gettysburghotelentryrug 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603689929 gettysburghotellobbycounterwall 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603697151 waterfordgettysburghotellobby2 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603656846 gettysburghotelcollegeroom 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603567362 waterfordgettysburghotelbar 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603590467 waterfordgettysburghotelrestaurant 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603575690 waterfordgettysburghoteldiningroom 3mb
130x130 sq 1392999511534 191
130x130 sq 1425583574610 atrium buffet 2
130x130 sq 1371603583344 waterfordgettysburghotelfood 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603664881 gettysburghotelatriumclose 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603474023 gettysburghotelballroomstandard 3mb
130x130 sq 1392999693061 201
130x130 sq 1425583616841 rsztrainplatform ceremony2
130x130 sq 1371603493689 gettysburghotelflowers 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603481775 gettysburghotelballroomwedding 3mb
130x130 sq 1392999536186 191
130x130 sq 1425583598259 rszcandybuffet
130x130 sq 1392999728748 202
130x130 sq 1362694480988 gburghot7120081b
130x130 sq 1231259632765 redickvault
130x130 sq 1425583465247 1734
130x130 sq 1362694881549 034
130x130 sq 1393000034620 micjas0824
130x130 sq 1371603514235 gettysburghotelvault 3mb
130x130 sq 1425583619591 rsztrainplatform2
130x130 sq 1393000002976 jenrob093
130x130 sq 1371603504357 gettysburghotelvaultdining 3mb
130x130 sq 1392999795973 212
130x130 sq 1392999628978 194
130x130 sq 1392999938644 image
130x130 sq 1425583493655 1937
130x130 sq 1393000055721 micjas0894
130x130 sq 1362694860540 dscf0113
130x130 sq 1392999984604 jenrob074
130x130 sq 1392999943629 imag
130x130 sq 1425583545581 2126 2
130x130 sq 1362694798764 dsc00244
130x130 sq 1362694475159 gburghot7120011b
130x130 sq 1393000045249 micjas0868
130x130 sq 1425583352813 10
130x130 sq 1425583613708 rsztrainplatform ceremony1
130x130 sq 1425583517716 2116
130x130 sq 1371603367730 gettysburghotelfireplacewindow 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603361022 gettysburghotelbathtub 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603374898 gettysburghotelguestcornerview 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603382667 gettysburghotelguestroomkinglaptop 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603390382 gettysburghotelguestskylight 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603396627 gettysburghoteljacuzibath 3mb
130x130 sq 1371603404267 gettysburghoteltwoqueens 3mb
130x130 sq 1425583406081 1162
130x130 sq 1392999941110 image
130x130 sq 1392999504888 160
130x130 sq 1425583609548 rszmajesticmarquee
130x130 sq 1392999570461 192
130x130 sq 1392999609116 192
130x130 sq 1392999840537 214
130x130 sq 1392999969056 jenrob0465
130x130 sq 1392999910891 dsc0019
130x130 sq 1392999936272 image
130x130 sq 1393000011725 jenrob121
130x130 sq 1425583367893 1015rs2
130x130 sq 1425583431861 1696
130x130 sq 1425583605053 rszfirstdanceballroom2

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
5
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Describe your venue:
Historic, Hotel, Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Catering / Bar, Event Planning
What catering services do you offer?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Stations, Tastings
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Limited Bar, Open Bar, Premium Liquor
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
10
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Local
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Limited Bar, Open Bar, Premium Liquor
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Vegan, Vegetarian
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Private Room
What kind of menus do you offer for rehearsal dinners?
Custom, Private Events, Reh. Dinner Specific

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Ellen
Wedding:
7/22/2016
5.0/5.0
Our experience with The Gettysburg Hotel was so positive! I have been bursting with joy at how well our daughter’s wedding plans and wedding day went. And most importantly, our daughter told us her wedding was “exactly” what she and her new husband wanted it to be.

Starting with Megan Wherley and later with April Rose (the event coordinators at the Hotel), we had only positive interactions from start to finish. Both of these girls were incredibly personable and professional. We loved them.

On that same note, we have to compliment all the staff at the Hotel. Our daughter and I cannot stop talking about how delightful everyone was. The lobby desk personnel were amazing as were the servers and bartender at the reception. All treated us like special, honored guests and were as friendly with us as if we were family. Our photographer literally took over the Lobby and the staff and guests joined in the fun by watching, smiling, and laughing. Not a single person displayed annoyance or impatience with us. They joined in the fun! We were/are so gratified.

It was important to us to have a nice, sit down meal. We were not disappointed. Most of the guests chose the filet mignon. OMG, you know the comment, “You could cut it with a butter knife” , well we could!


Also, The Gettysburg Hotel and the town itself was the perfect location/venue for this event. There are statues, diners with historic character, The Majestic Theater, the train station and much more within walking distance. We are so anxious to see the professional photographer's photos documenting the event. The photos we took are gorgeous.

We want others to know that The Gettysburg Hotel staff exceeded our expectations in every way.
Our experience with The Gettysburg Hotel was so positive! I have been bursting with joy at how well our daughter’s wedding Read more...
Our experience with The Gettysburg Hotel was so positive! I have been bursting with joy at how well our daughter’s wedding plans and wedding day went. And most importantly, our daughter told us her wedding was “exactly” what she and her new husband wanted it to be.

Starting with Megan Wherley and later with April Rose (the event coordinators at the Hotel), we had only positive interactions from start to finish. Both of these girls were incredibly personable and professional. We loved them.

On that same note, we have to compliment all the staff at the Hotel. Our daughter and I cannot stop talking about how delightful everyone was. The lobby desk personnel were amazing as were the servers and bartender at the reception. All treated us like special, honored guests and were as friendly with us as if we were family. Our photographer literally took over the Lobby and the staff and guests joined in the fun by watching, smiling, and laughing. Not a single person displayed annoyance or impatience with us. They joined in the fun! We were/are so gratified.

It was important to us to have a nice, sit down meal. We were not disappointed. Most of the guests chose the filet mignon. OMG, you know the comment, “You could cut it with a butter knife” , well we could!


Also, The Gettysburg Hotel and the town itself was the perfect location/venue for this event. There are statues, diners with historic character, The Majestic Theater, the train station and much more within walking distance. We are so anxious to see the professional photographer's photos documenting the event. The photos we took are gorgeous.

We want others to know that The Gettysburg Hotel staff exceeded our expectations in every way. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
Alix
Wedding:
7/9/2016
5.0/5.0
An amazing place full of wonderful people made our day unforgettable! Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Gettysburg Hotel for their kindness and professionalism on our wedding day. We selected the hotel because of Megan Wherley and the way she presented not only the venue, but also herself. She was so professional, took her time with us, answered every question with poise and grace and even went so far as to give us a discount on our dinner for the evening (we were also celebrating our dating anniversary that same night) AND made sure to stop by our table and give me my first wedding magazine! We were sold! Every step on our planning journey was easier because of Megan and April. We had such an amazing experience and the attention to detail was unbelievable. We could not have asked for a better venue and team of people to work with. AND the food was to die for! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
An amazing place full of wonderful people made our day unforgettable! Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Gettysburg Read more...
An amazing place full of wonderful people made our day unforgettable! Thank you to the wonderful staff at the Gettysburg Hotel for their kindness and professionalism on our wedding day. We selected the hotel because of Megan Wherley and the way she presented not only the venue, but also herself. She was so professional, took her time with us, answered every question with poise and grace and even went so far as to give us a discount on our dinner for the evening (we were also celebrating our dating anniversary that same night) AND made sure to stop by our table and give me my first wedding magazine! We were sold! Every step on our planning journey was easier because of Megan and April. We had such an amazing experience and the attention to detail was unbelievable. We could not have asked for a better venue and team of people to work with. AND the food was to die for! Thank you, thank you, thank you! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Megan is beyond helpful. She quickly responds and cares about every detail. The food was amazing and they made sure a family member with severe allergies could eat everything. We were so happy.
Megan is beyond helpful. She quickly responds and cares about every detail. The food was amazing and they made sure a Read more...
Megan is beyond helpful. She quickly responds and cares about every detail. The food was amazing and they made sure a family member with severe allergies could eat everything. We were so happy. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
1/2/2016
5.0/5.0
The Gettysburg Hotel provided the perfect location for our ceremony and wedding. It's historic charm and friendly staff were so great to work with. I met Megan prior to booking the hotel and was so impressed with how responsive and caring she was about our wedding. She was interested in the details and made me feel so comfortable that everything would be just the way I envisioned. She was flexible and easy to work with. The wedding day ran so smoothly from ceremony to cocktail hour to reception I couldn't be more happy. The whole staff was so friendly and accommodating to all my wedding guests. I got so many compliments from my family and friends with how much fun and great the wedding was!
The Gettysburg Hotel provided the perfect location for our ceremony and wedding. It's historic charm and friendly staff Read more...
The Gettysburg Hotel provided the perfect location for our ceremony and wedding. It's historic charm and friendly staff were so great to work with. I met Megan prior to booking the hotel and was so impressed with how responsive and caring she was about our wedding. She was interested in the details and made me feel so comfortable that everything would be just the way I envisioned. She was flexible and easy to work with. The wedding day ran so smoothly from ceremony to cocktail hour to reception I couldn't be more happy. The whole staff was so friendly and accommodating to all my wedding guests. I got so many compliments from my family and friends with how much fun and great the wedding was! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
12/4/2015
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about the Gettysburg Hotel. The guestrooms and the ballroom is beautiful and there are a variety of packages designed to fit every budget and style (and they work with you to customize the package if needed) but what really sold this place to my family and I was Megan and the rest of the staff. They are beyond fabulous. Megan is organized, friendly, creative and prompt; every detail was handled with careful precision and professionalism. I never had to worry about things falling between the cracks or things falling apart a the last minute. She also recommended wonderful vendors (each of whom I also adore). I could fully enjoy the night, mingle with guests and take everything in without worrying about a single detail... a nice reprieve for any bride! They say that something wrong happens at every wedding BUT that was not the case at my wedding/rehearsal dinner... it went off without a hitch thanks to Megan and the team at Gettysburg. I got a lot of compliments about the venue, the food, the service and the overall elegance of everything. Karen Rodkey (contracted to the hotel for the wedding cake) was wonderful as well. The cake was equally beautiful and delicious. This is the perfect environment for any event and it was literally a dream come true in every way.
I cannot say enough positive things about the Gettysburg Hotel. The guestrooms and the ballroom is beautiful and there are Read more...
I cannot say enough positive things about the Gettysburg Hotel. The guestrooms and the ballroom is beautiful and there are a variety of packages designed to fit every budget and style (and they work with you to customize the package if needed) but what really sold this place to my family and I was Megan and the rest of the staff. They are beyond fabulous. Megan is organized, friendly, creative and prompt; every detail was handled with careful precision and professionalism. I never had to worry about things falling between the cracks or things falling apart a the last minute. She also recommended wonderful vendors (each of whom I also adore). I could fully enjoy the night, mingle with guests and take everything in without worrying about a single detail... a nice reprieve for any bride! They say that something wrong happens at every wedding BUT that was not the case at my wedding/rehearsal dinner... it went off without a hitch thanks to Megan and the team at Gettysburg. I got a lot of compliments about the venue, the food, the service and the overall elegance of everything. Karen Rodkey (contracted to the hotel for the wedding cake) was wonderful as well. The cake was equally beautiful and delicious. This is the perfect environment for any event and it was literally a dream come true in every way. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Taryn
Wedding:
11/27/2015
5.0/5.0
Everything about The Gettysburg Hotel was wonderful! It was very convenient having the hotel rooms available for guests to book. Everyone was pleased with their rooms. The group tasting was fabulous. It Not only allowed for tasting of food selections, but it also allowed you to mingle with vendors. Megan was fabulous! She was willing to help with anything and everything, and she always responded promptly to questions and emails. The entire reception was very easy to plan. Megan was flexible and allowed us to tweak and do things to our liking/personalities. Everything ran smoothly and on schedule. The wait staff was very professional and attentive to all guests. I would not have changed anything about our wedding reception, and we would love to do it all over again!
Everything about The Gettysburg Hotel was wonderful! It was very convenient having the hotel rooms available for guests to Read more...
Everything about The Gettysburg Hotel was wonderful! It was very convenient having the hotel rooms available for guests to book. Everyone was pleased with their rooms. The group tasting was fabulous. It Not only allowed for tasting of food selections, but it also allowed you to mingle with vendors. Megan was fabulous! She was willing to help with anything and everything, and she always responded promptly to questions and emails. The entire reception was very easy to plan. Megan was flexible and allowed us to tweak and do things to our liking/personalities. Everything ran smoothly and on schedule. The wait staff was very professional and attentive to all guests. I would not have changed anything about our wedding reception, and we would love to do it all over again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Justine
Wedding:
11/7/2015
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to have our wedding at the Gettysburg Hotel! From planning to execution, everything was such a dream, their staff was wonderful and Megan was a dream! We couldn't ask for a better group to help us with our big day! We would recommend this venue to anyone searching in the Gettysburg area.

The food options available to us were great, we had both the wedding reception and the rehearsal dinner there, very tasty! We loved planning every detail with Megan, she took all of our ideas and made them a reality. The day before the wedding, we brought all of our decor items to the hotel and Megan and her team used them all to make a beautiful scene in the ballroom. We provided some direction and she was able to execute using our ideas and improving upon them.

Hotel rooms for guests and family were great, they appreciated having them so close to the reception space. Gettysburg is such a fun town to host a large event like a wedding, our guests loved exploring the town during their stay and in between the church ceremony and the reception.
We cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to have our wedding at the Gettysburg Hotel! From planning to execution, Read more...
We cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to have our wedding at the Gettysburg Hotel! From planning to execution, everything was such a dream, their staff was wonderful and Megan was a dream! We couldn't ask for a better group to help us with our big day! We would recommend this venue to anyone searching in the Gettysburg area.

The food options available to us were great, we had both the wedding reception and the rehearsal dinner there, very tasty! We loved planning every detail with Megan, she took all of our ideas and made them a reality. The day before the wedding, we brought all of our decor items to the hotel and Megan and her team used them all to make a beautiful scene in the ballroom. We provided some direction and she was able to execute using our ideas and improving upon them.

Hotel rooms for guests and family were great, they appreciated having them so close to the reception space. Gettysburg is such a fun town to host a large event like a wedding, our guests loved exploring the town during their stay and in between the church ceremony and the reception. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The venue is absolutely beautiful! The staff was always there when we needed them and they always went above and beyond! Will definitely be recommending this hotel!
The venue is absolutely beautiful! The staff was always there when we needed them and they always went above and beyond! Read more...
The venue is absolutely beautiful! The staff was always there when we needed them and they always went above and beyond! Will definitely be recommending this hotel! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rivals any venue that a major metropolitan area can offer. Excellent value. The food was prepared perfectly and was served warm which is quite an accomplishment as many times at a large event with many guests the food may look wonderful when it is served but it is lukewarm to cold. Professional staff that were helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, flexible, accommodating, and courteous. Lovely décor throughout the hotel which is also extremely clean. If I had more children, I would strongly encourage them to use this venue for a wedding reception. If I am in a position in the future to host another large crowd, I would definitely use The Gettysburg Hotel. Loved this experience which I was secretly dreading.
Rivals any venue that a major metropolitan area can offer. Excellent value. The food was prepared perfectly and was served Read more...
Rivals any venue that a major metropolitan area can offer. Excellent value. The food was prepared perfectly and was served warm which is quite an accomplishment as many times at a large event with many guests the food may look wonderful when it is served but it is lukewarm to cold. Professional staff that were helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, flexible, accommodating, and courteous. Lovely décor throughout the hotel which is also extremely clean. If I had more children, I would strongly encourage them to use this venue for a wedding reception. If I am in a position in the future to host another large crowd, I would definitely use The Gettysburg Hotel. Loved this experience which I was secretly dreading. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Ellen
Wedding:
9/26/2015
5.0/5.0
Our guests STILL cannot stop raving about how gorgeous our venue was! They loved the food, the atmosphere, and the comfort of spending the night right upstairs. We would get married here again in a heartbeat!
Our guests STILL cannot stop raving about how gorgeous our venue was! They loved the food, the atmosphere, and the comfort Read more...
Our guests STILL cannot stop raving about how gorgeous our venue was! They loved the food, the atmosphere, and the comfort of spending the night right upstairs. We would get married here again in a heartbeat! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

DEALS

Winter 2017 Special!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $1,000 Value
Contract and consume your wedding between January 1st,2017-March 31st, 2017 and receive the following: -Complimentary Ballroom Rental -Complimentary Gold Chiavari Charis

Offer Expires: 03/31/2017
Deal #WW742bed1fec36c1de
220x220 1371603173585 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb
Short Term Weddings
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $325 Value
Book and hold your wedding within a 3 month period and receive 25% off room rental and complimentary chocolate covered strawberries. Promotion must be mentioned prior to signing the contract and is valid only on new bookings.
Deal #WW2a1f39e7a8e04a88
220x220 1371603173585 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb
A Romantic Escape
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Delight in a romantic getaway just for two. Relax with luxurious accommodations featuring a fireplace and jacuzzi bath. Upon your arrival a chilled bottle of champagne and a dozen fresh roses will be delivered to your room. Enjoy a romantic dinner for two in Centuries on the Square as well as a savory breakfast buffet prior to your departure the next morning. Package prices starting at $295.00 per couple. Prices vary based on room type selected and the time of year. Many other packages available as well, visit www.gettysburghotel.com for more information
Deal #WWff59703a45006f4f
220x220 1371603173585 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb

MAP

 
One Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Gettysburg Hotel, Est. 1797
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1371603173585 gettysburghotelexteriorstreetcrop 3mb