130x130_sq_1254939883601-ballroom076

The Grand Colonial

Hampton , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

86 State Route 173 West
Hampton, NJ US 08827 (map)

PHONE

908-735-7889

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are proud to introduce our Grand Ballroom! Accommodating up to 300 guests along with a dance floor and offers a view of the facilities beautifully landscaped grounds. Bathed in tones... Read more
We are proud to introduce our Grand Ballroom! Accommodating up to 300 guests along with a dance floor and offers a view of the facilities beautifully landscaped grounds. Bathed in tones of burnished gold, it reflects modern style with old world charm. Abundant photographic opportunities present themselves throughout the property, while a culinary masterpiece awaits inside. Experienced personal service and hospitality will lend individual attention to your event, making it truly special. The Ballroom accommodates all events from Weddings & Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, to Corporate Gatherings & Holiday Dinner Parties offering fantastic packages for any occasion. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1255632748426-dsc05226
130x130_sq_1255637974989-prefunctionroomedited
130x130_sq_1255630770098-dsc04817
130x130_sq_1254944753554-ballroom012
130x130_sq_1255638971801-proof0104
130x130_sq_1254956740788-ladasweddingpictures035
130x130_sq_1254948793913-ballroom107
130x130_sq_1255637801442-proof0020
130x130_sq_1255638587176-proof0080
130x130_sq_1255638357270-proof0050
130x130_sq_1254947258773-ballroom066
130x130_sq_1254947227773-ballroom072
130x130_sq_1255632515926-dsc05163
130x130_sq_1254949310257-ballroom116
130x130_sq_1254951003960-ballroom137
130x130_sq_1255633385629-jenandrew050
130x130_sq_1254947423898-ballroom076
130x130_sq_1254951958757-ballroom171
130x130_sq_1254952710741-ballroom195
130x130_sq_1255633159739-img0411
130x130_sq_1254954774648-ballroom248
130x130_sq_1254957292163-ladasweddingpictures043
130x130_sq_1255629987708-ballroom043
130x130_sq_1255630003379-ballroom037
130x130_sq_1255630238395-ballroom071
130x130_sq_1254947839523-ballroom086
130x130_sq_1255630470192-ballroom084
130x130_sq_1255630643208-cpost320
130x130_sq_1255630674692-dsc04816
130x130_sq_1255630799739-dsc04834
130x130_sq_1255630892864-dsc04865
130x130_sq_1255630920864-dsc04875
130x130_sq_1255631025301-dsc04878
130x130_sq_1255631196051-dsc04898
130x130_sq_1255631320864-dsc04925
130x130_sq_1255631382192-dsc04932
130x130_sq_1255631451926-dsc04950
130x130_sq_1255631568895-dsc04962
130x130_sq_1255631624036-dsc04971
130x130_sq_1255631701692-dsc04983
130x130_sq_1255631820817-dsc05006
130x130_sq_1255631870583-dsc05022
130x130_sq_1255631978504-dsc05038
130x130_sq_1255632387458-dsc05055
130x130_sq_1255632562083-dsc05172
130x130_sq_1255632656223-dsc05198
130x130_sq_1255632668473-dsc05204edited
130x130_sq_1255632774036-dsc05216
130x130_sq_1255632821239-feb23024
130x130_sq_1255633152067-gcmdgphoto013
130x130_sq_1255633391145-joebarb010
130x130_sq_1255633397598-mainpic
130x130_sq_1255633700614-march08photo015
130x130_sq_1255633968661-march08photo056
130x130_sq_1255634026801-march08photo025
130x130_sq_1255634225926-march08photo070
130x130_sq_1255634371958-march08photo137
130x130_sq_1255634503317-march08photo154
130x130_sq_1255634709864-march08photo166
130x130_sq_1255634805583-march08photo184
130x130_sq_1255635040614-march08photo203
130x130_sq_1255635304973-march08photo243
130x130_sq_1255635647504-march08photo303
130x130_sq_1255636443989-march08photo397
130x130_sq_1255636684583-march08photo424
130x130_sq_1255636783864-march08photo425
130x130_sq_1255637014692-march08photo430
130x130_sq_1255637487879-photosforwebsitefrombill001
130x130_sq_1255637491911-photosforwebsitefrombill004
130x130_sq_1255637499848-photosforwebsitefrombill008
130x130_sq_1255637513036-photosforwebsitefrombill013
130x130_sq_1255637543395-photosfrombill010
130x130_sq_1255637581536-photosfrombill039
130x130_sq_1255637704520-photosfrombill053
130x130_sq_1255638027614-proof0037
130x130_sq_1255638148442-proof0046
130x130_sq_1255638168426-proof0048
130x130_sq_1255638252895-proof0051
130x130_sq_1255638462379-proof0077
130x130_sq_1255638574661-proof0079
130x130_sq_1255638764129-proof0083
130x130_sq_1256700848845-5823560

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1685
When was your venue last renovated?
2009
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Rustic
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
120
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding reception at the Grand Colonial, and it was the wedding of my dreams! It was absolutely perfect! Dan, the General Manager, was there for me all throughout the planning process to help, answer any and all questions, and special requests. He always made himself available and was so easy to work with. Everything ran smoothly throughout the night, and was seamless. The venue was gorgeous and the food was amazing! There were many guests that came up to me saying how wonderful my wedding was. I highly recommend the Grand Colonial to everyone. I can’t thank Dan and his staff enough for making my wedding the best day of my life!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
We had our reception at the Grand Colonial on May 31, 2014. The entire day was absolutely spectacular. During the planning process Dan was spectacular. Every special request we made Dan made it happen and he never made us feel like we were causing him any problems. We always felt that our wedding was special and unique and not a part of a "wedding factory". On the day of the wedding everything was seamless. The food was spectacular (we kept hearing this from our guests), the ballroom was gorgeous, and Dan made sure the entire night went smoothly. We even received several compliments from our guests on how flexible and accommodating Dan and the servers were. We can not thank Dan and the staff at the Grand Colonial enough for making our wedding so spectacular!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous... What more can we say? Our children's wedding this past weekend was an absolute joy....and the gorgeous Grand Colonial setting, staff and fantastic food were a big part of the reason. Their GM, Dan, is an absolute pro and a pleasure to work with. No detail was too small or a bother for him and his team. He has literally seen and done it all, and it was a huge relief to know that he had everything under control. The picturesque outdoor setting, beautiful patio and elegant interior provided the perfect backdrop for our affair. All of the activities flowed smoothly, we were pampered at every turn...and we just can't stop talking about how great the food was, how perfectly they created the cake our kids wanted, and how much we enjoyed it all. Cannot recommend this venue more highly...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at this Beautiful Venue. We were all a bit stressed when the search began because of a not so pleasant experience planning my other daughter's Wedding. Ten minutes after meeting Dan the General Manager we felt we were in the "Right Place"!! He was a man of his word. The planning process was informative and fun. No is not in their vocabulary. The grounds were beautiful even after such a harsh winter. The food and service were delicious and impeccable. I could go on and. If you are looking for a true value, flexibility, wonderful food and service call the Grand Colonial. You won't be disappointed!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christopher
Wedding:
5/16/2014
3.8/5.0
The food was outstanding. However wasn't as impressed with the management as much as they were with themselves.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
We can never fully convey how absolutely amazing Dan and his team were to work with. From our first meeting (very early on a Sunday morning which Dan made as an accommodation) with Dan we were sold on him and on the Grand Colonial. The venue is beautiful and exactly what we were looking for but Dan just exceeded our expectations and ultimately made our venue choice a no-brainer. He was the absolute best person to go through this process with. He treated us like family and made every single step a breeze. Our wedding went off without a hitch and our guests cannot stop talking about how amazing the staff, food, room and drinks were. When planning your wedding it's so important to work with people you trust and who are going to make your day special and Dan and his team fit the bill completely.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
11/30/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I had our wedding a month ago at the Grand Colonial. After researching and contacting many venues, I found that the Grand Colonial was not only beautiful and elegant, but it was also the best value! They offer many different packages, all of which included a long list of amenities and food options! Dan, the manager, was great and was always willing to work with me when I had a question or request. Many people commented on the food at our wedding and how beautiful the holiday decorations were. The staff was wonderful and attentive. Debbie was the attendant for the head table and made sure that my husband and I were well taken care of throughout the evening. She was very personable and extremely friendly. We are very satisfied with our decision of choosing the Grand Colonial and would recommend it to anyone planning a wedding. In fact, one of my bridesmaids is getting married in July and she booked her wedding at the Grand Colonial! You will not find a better value!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1356661800528-ml21
Lauren
Wedding:
11/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Dan at The Grand Colonial was amazing!! From the moment my Fiance and I contacted The Grand Colonial, we were amazed by the service we were provided. Dan allowed us to make numerous changes to the menu as well as advised us on every thing from an officiant to the schedule for the day. Dan was always willing to answer our emails no matter how many he received from us!

5 days before our wedding, we had to make the difficult decision to postpone the wedding due to a severe family emergency. During this very difficult time, Dan was always willing to help us and advise us. We had no idea how to reschedule everything as well as how to let everyone know. Dan met with us as often as we needed in order to make sure we would have our special day.

Once we were able to reschedule, 6 weeks later, Dan made sure that our special day would be fantastic. All day I had a bridal attendant that made sure my dress was perfect and that I had everything I needed all day long. Dan made sure our wedding day was something that we would never forget. We are forever in debt to Dan and for all that he did for us. Not only was he the representative from the Grand Colonial, but he also became a great friend. I highly recommend The Grand Colonial to anyone that is looking for a beautiful and perfect wedding ceremony and reception.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My daughter had her wedding service and reception at the Grand Colonial in Hampton NJ. The venue was beautiful. The wedding garden was beautifully decorated with plantings an hanging flowers. The grounds were immaculate an the reception hall was fresh, clean, and above all, very elegant and inviting. The venue took care of many little things without extra charge. The wait staff and servers were very responsive to our guests. A server was specifically assigned to the bride and attended to her every need. The Grand Colonial is a great place to have a wedding and first and foremost it is a top notch restaurant. We and all our guests were wowed by the quality of the food. The service was paced well. Dan from the Grand Colonial with very flexible with us and worked very professionally with our wedding planner and us. We had special dietary needs for the wedding cake and he made sure his chef could do what we needed. The food was 5 stars. The bridal room was beautiful. I would very much recommend the Grand Colonial for a wedding or any special event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Where can you go and have the General Manager book your event, supervise your event and even perform your Wedding Ceremony? The answer the Grand Colonial. Dan Weiss was just phenomenal as was Chef Christine. They never said no. The Food & Service were five stars. A wonderful value. Dan's performing of our ceremony brought my mother to tears. Thanks Dan, Chef Christine and the entire Grand Colonial Staff for making my Dreams come true.
Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my reception at the Grand Colonial 2 weeks ago and was THRILLED with the way everything turned out! The wedding was everything my husband and I hoped that it would be. The staff at the G.C. was great with us bringing our stuff to the venue and setting everything up so that it looked amazing. Dan the manager was absolutely wonderful to work with. I had no worries knowing that he was there. Our guests had a wonderful time and continued to comment on how beautiful the venue was. The other great rave we received was the amazing food!!! I am so happy that we were able to eat at cocktail hour and dinner, it was delicious. The cake made by Chef Christine was everything we had hoped for as well.

Our wedding was wonderful and I recommend the Grand Colonial to everyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathleen
Wedding:
10/13/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding was amazing! The bridal assistance was so helpful, and everyone was very kind. Dan is a great manager...the only issue we had was music volume but it was not the venue's fault...great place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My son and daughter-in-law got married at the Grand Colonial at the end of September. The outdoor setting for the ceremony is beautiful and lent itself perfectly to having her father walk her "down the aisle." The weather couldn't have cooperated any better. The cocktail hour was held both inside the "foyer" (a beautiful room outside the main ballroom) as well as on the outdoor terrace. The hors d'oevres were spectacular.

The reception went off without a hitch. The staff is attentive and professional. Dan, the General Manager, was there every step of the way and was a pleasure to work with. And the food is terrific.

My husband and I have been holding our company holiday parties at The Grand Colonial for the past four years, so we were confident that our son's wedding would be just perfect. The ballroom and "foyer" are so elegant. From the appearance of the venue, you would expect the price to be on the high side, but in fact this was so reasonably priced. They even make the wedding cake themselves, and it was beautiful!

I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand Colonial to anyone who was planning a wedding.
In fact, it would definitely be at the top of my list when it comes time to plan our daughter's wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1365277153450-img0442
Jessica
Wedding:
9/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything was beautiful and the food was excellent. You can't beat the value you get with the grand colonial. The outdoor ceremony space is stunning. Their packages include Sooo much food, and it's great food too. The bridal attendant was fantastic, she was so helpful and kept everything running smoothly. Dan, the event coordinator is very professional and helpful. He was very responsive to all my emails.
I had a last minute request to have my grandmother's dinner be served early in the evening because she needed to leave early. Dan took care of it and I didn't have to worry about a thing.
I would definitely say that you get more than what you pay for at the grand colonial. We searched all over NJ to find a venue that we could afford for our size party and no one could even come close to offering what the grand colonial does. Any venue with similar pricing offered 1/3 of the food we had at the cocktail hour and couldn't compete with the ambiance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
From the moment that we met with the maître'D, Dan, saw the beautiful ballroom, the outside gazebo and gorgeous landscaping, my now husband and I knew that we had to be married at the Grand Colonial.
We absolutely adore Dan!! He is a very professional, funny, caring and sweet man. He truly cares about all of the couples that he works with. He listened to our ideas and captured every detail that we wanted for our special day. Dan is the best of the best! He welcomed our ideas, gave suggestions and referred fabulous vendors. He always responded to our emails quickly and professionally; even after our wedding.
The Grand Colonial offers a wide variety of fresh and delicious food. No guest will leave the wedding hungry! My guests are still raving about the food and the ambiance of our wedding.
Our pictures were done all done on the grounds and are absolutely breathtaking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at the Grand Colonial on September 14, 2013. The moment I walked into the ballroom, I knew we had to be married here. The spacious room and the gorgeous chandeliers add to a very intimate feel. Other venues for giving me trouble about booking a wedding on a Saturday night for 80 guests. But not the Grand Colonial. They welcomed us and made the wedding of our dreams come true!

I worked closely with Dan who made sure every detail was perfect! He took care of everything and referred me to wonderful vendors. Dan has the ability to make every couple his number one priority and provide outstanding service. He was there for us every step of the way. He is by far the best in the business.

We are still receiving feedback from our guests who are still raving about the food! Especially the cocktail hour which provides so many wonderful delicious options. The portions served for the sitdown meal are amazing. Trust me when I say no guest will leave hungry! Our cake was absolutely beautiful! All I had to do was provide a picture of the cake I liked and Chef Christine made it come to life.

The Grand Colonial is a beautiful, professional and reliable venue. The staff, especially Dan, help make the planning process much easier and enjoyable. I will certainly be referring friends to the Grand Colonial for their weddings (especially so I can go back for the food!).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danielle
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
All I can say is WOW! Matt and I had the most amazing experience with the grand colonial. From start to finish, the gm dan weiss, was so helpful and answered ant questions or concerns we had. Our wedding was perfect! The room looked gorgeous and the staff was so attentive to us and our guests. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for making our wedding unforgettable.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kat
Wedding:
9/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Grand Colonial on Friday, September 6th 2013 and my husband and I would like to thank Dan and the rest of the staff for such an incredible wedding. When we were looking for a venue, we had physically visited 10 different venues in search for an intimate space with a bit of character. Once we went to the Grand Colonial and had dinner at the restaurant, we were sold -- everything we ordered was delicious!

The quality of service at the Grand Colonial is just as amazing as the food. Dan took care of us throughout the whole process and guaranteed that our day was a wonderful and memorable experience. He made sure that everything (from the cake to the placement of all the decorations that I had brought) was according to our plans. You always hear stories from friends about things that go wrong the day of the wedding, but Dan and his staff had it all covered so we didn’t have to worry about a thing. As soon as we stepped out of the limo, we were greeted by our bridal attendant and she took care of us the entire night. We couldn’t join the cocktail hour since we were taking photos, but trays of food were set aside for us in the bridal suite to ensure that we were well fed before our entrance.

We couldn’t have asked for a better wedding. Our guests were raving about it even before it ended! The food was phenomenal and all the staff we encountered was friendly and attentive. The Grand Colonial truly went above and beyond our expectations. We can’t thank Dan and his staff enough. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Grand Colonial for any type of event. Whether it be for a wedding, bridal shower, or just a nice dinner -- the Grand Colonial is a wonderful establishment.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephen and Shubh
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We have just gotten back from our honeymoon and it is important for us to thank you for such an amazing wedding you organized for us at the Grand Colonial. Everyone had such a great time and the food and venue deserve much of the credit, not to mention the impeccable organization and service offered by you and your staff. with about 185 guests, there was plenty of room for everyone but at the same time it seemed intimate, which was important to us.

With the questionable weather, we were afraid of how it might turn out having to move the ceremony indoors, but you and your staff made it seamless and the indoor Hindu ceremony was beautiful. There is just not enough good things to say... You were even able to accommodate seating changes that needed to be made in a way that went unnoticed and every detail we went over was done above and beyond our expectations. We thought having two cocktail hours as well as a buffet and table service to accommodate the Indian guests as well as the American ones would be difficult, but you and your staff made it seem like it was just business as usual, in other words, exceptional. The guests raved about both types of food, and the staff treated everyone in a 5-star manner.

Bravo on your management, bravo to your staff. The value offered at the Grand Colonial is simply unmatched by anything I have seen and experienced. My wife felt like a princess and I don't think a smile left my face the entire evening. Please let me know if there is anywhere in particular you would like a testimonial written. We can not wait to come back for dinner and thank you and everyone else in person.

Thank you again for giving us and our families a memory that will be cherished for a lifetime.


Warm Regards,

Stephen and Shubh DeRosa
Married on 8/31/13
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a wedding venue, the Grand Colonial is the place. My husband and I got married in August and could not have been happier. We had a large wedding (185 guests) and the GC handled that many guests extremely well. The grounds were beautiful and we were able to take some amazing pictures on the lawn and at the gazebo.

The cocktail hour was amazing. The amount of food provided was incredible and to this day we are still getting compliments about how delicious it was and about how no one has been to a wedding cocktail hour with so much food. The GC has a great indoor space for the cocktail hour, and it is connected to a beautiful outdoor patio where guests could also go. We got married on a sunny August day, so utilizing both the indoor and outdoor areas was so nice for our guests.

The reception hall was beautiful, and Dan took care of getting us the uplighting for the room. The food at the reception was incredible and the portions our guests received were huge! The wait staff was on top of their game all night and were very attentive to our guests. Unlike some weddings where there is line at the bar, the GC had two open bars and waiters taking drink orders. Guests did not have to miss any of the action to get another drink. Additionally, The GC provides the cake (delicious by the way) and it looked exactly like the picture we sent to Dan.

Dan is a great General Manager and made us feel comfortable with choosing with the GC. The service and professionalism is unmatched. Dan worked out all of the details with us and he was very quick to respond to our emails. The food tasting session was a great experience and we witnessed first hand that night just how detail oriented and dedicated Dan and his staff are. Dan and his staff know what guests want and expect and they left every guest blown away with the beautiful spaces, the amazing food, and great service. Many guests told us it was the best wedding they have ever been to! We highly recommend the GC
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie-Lynn
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
When my husband & I started looking for a venue in the Lehigh Valley that could accommodate our 290 guest list, we found that there wasn’t much out there for us in the area. Then we got a recommendation to look just a little further down the road at the Grand Colonial in Clinton, NJ. The drive was very easy & only 35 minutes from our front door. The moment we pulled up we were IN LOVE! The entire venue had an ELEGANT & truly ONE OF A KIND feel. Dan Weiss their GM instantly made us feel like we were the “one & only” couple & sat with us for 2 hours. He was friendly, extremely attentive, and told us that whatever we wanted we could have & he meant it. We left the GC that day knowing that this was the place. When we came back with my dad & mom(an incredibly tough critic/private chef) they felt the same way! We booked our wedding that night. Something that impressed us the most was what we were able to provide our guests for a fair and reasonable price. We were shocked at the volume of food (it just kept coming),top shelf alcohol/signature drinks and desserts that were provided. Leading up to our wedding we ate at The Farmhouse Restaurant many times. We kept going back because the food was that delicious. Once again, Dan was there every time checking in with us on how our wedding was progressing & if there was anything he could do to help us with the planning process! On the big day, I arrived at GC to find that Dan and his amazing employees had set up a beautiful, fairytale for us. Even setting up a plan B inside just in case there was bad weather during our ceremony. It turned out to be the perfect day, perfect weather and we wouldn’t change a thing if we could! It's been 4 months since our special day and our family & friends are still raving about the whole event! We can’t thank Dan, Christine, and their team of professionals enough, for making our day what it was. We will continue to frequent the GC for many holidays & family events!
Jamie and Sam Carrodo
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding at the Grand Colonial was a great decision. It was the PERFECT venue for us. The staff was professional, flexible and so easy to work with. Dan and his team helped create a beautiful wedding day for us. We would definitely recommend the Grand Colonial for a wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alina
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Our daughter, Kristina and our son-in-law, Harry were married this past July at the Grand Colonial. The experience was beyond our expectations. Dan, the general manager led us through the entire process and worked diligently to make the day special for our daughter. He customized the wedding and reception to meet our budget and our daughters wants and needs.
The wedding day was a very warm, Dan made sure the guests were as comfortable as possible, keeping them indoors until just before the outdoor ceremony was to begin. The timing was flawless.
The cocktail hour and reception ran smoothly. As the brides mom I looked around the first 15 minutes or so thinking I would need to make sure that guests were being accommodated but after a brief time I realized that we were dealing with true professionals. The service and food were excellent.
Guests raved about the reception, saying that if they had an affair they would not hesitate to have it at the Grand Colonial. Whenever we meet someone who were guests at the wedding they compliment the wonderful food and service. Regardless of what type of celebration, I believe that Dan will help you make it special, catering to your needs and visions. It is my pleasure to recommend the the Grand Colonial without reservation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
My husband and I were married on July 13th 2013. We had our reception and ceremony at the Grand Colonial. The staff and service was simply outstanding! The food was equally outstanding! We have heard nothing but great responses from our guests, as well. Dan, the manager, made our experience at the Grand Colonial something to remember! He was outstanding in managing the staff and granting us all of our expectations. I was thrilled and we left happy. There was even a glitch with our DJ and Dan was there to fix that as well. Five stars from us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We booked our wedding reception at the Grand Colonial shortly after we got engaged back in 2011, and nearly 2 years later our wedding was everything we dreamt it would be and more! This venue is beautiful, both inside and out. There's also a great bar setup, where there are windows that open into the ballroom once the reception starts. Helps keep people in the ballroom, not out at the bar!

Dan was fantastic to work with throughout the entire planning process and customized everything to meet our needs. He was always quick to respond to our emails and phone calls and accommodated our schedule for meeting in person when we could be in town. We had a nice complimentary food tasting, and Dan was willing to modify things on our menu and also throw in some extras for us at no additional cost. They also make the cake there at the Grand Colonial, totally customizable. I actually hand-drew a picture of what I wanted our cake to look like, and it came out looking exactly as I had hoped! I do wish we would have gotten the chance to do a cake tasting, but it didn't really matter in the end because our cake tasted DELICIOUS (both flavors that we picked)!

On our wedding day, Dan worked very hard to make sure everything went smoothly. We had quite a few decor things that needed to be set up before the reception. I didn't have a Wedding planner, but Dan and his team took care of everything! I also had a bridal attendant assigned to me for the evening, who kept me hydrated and fed. All of our guests raved about the food - cocktail hour, dinner, and dessert!

I could go on and on about how amazing the Grand Colonial was... Superior service at a great, affordable price! My husband and I are already planning to go back to the Farmhouse restaurant for an anniversary dinner next year. Thanks for everything, Dan!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial met and exceeded all of my expectations on my wedding day. Dan was EXTREMELY helpful and attentive. He did everything I could have hoped for and more to make my wedding perfect. It was reasonably priced and elegant and accommodating everything else that you want in a wedding venue. The food was outstanding! i have never heard so many compliments and chatter round a cocktail hour or wedding reception about how good the food is. i still have people telling me how much they enjoyed their food. many will go back just to eat at the restaurant based on their experience at my wedding. if i had to do it all over again, The Grand Colonial would definitely still be my venue!!!! I can't say enough about how great their service and my experience was. Wedding planning is supposed to be a pain, right? well, i never experienced that. it was a total pleasure!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ken
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
2012 EMMY AWARDS RED CARPET. Yes, that’s right. “Uncle Dan” Weiss(Manager/owner), actually got us the 2012 Emmy Awards red carpet(the night before our wedding) which all of our guests walked on in order to enter the venue(our guests loved taking pictures on it). This is just an example of how the Grand Colonial will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. The venue was beautiful and the service was great. The food was the best part. We wanted some non-traditional food such as Ox Tail and Roasted Pig. It was an absolute hit among our guests. Chef Christine’s ox-tail was the best I’ve had and I could not stop getting compliments about it to this day. All the food is made from scratch. They even made us a Tres Leches wedding cake which was outstanding. “Uncle Dan” took care of us and was very accommodating about EVERYTHING. We had unexpected guests show up(never received their rsvp though they said they sent it) and Dan added chairs even even though I told him about 5 minutes before we entered the main ball room. We were so happy with how we were treated that we even decided to have our rehearsal dinner here. Do yourself a favor and at least visit this place and meet “Uncle Dan”, you will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was held at the Grand Colonial in Hampton NJ on 6/1/13. This venue is so beautiful and so well run that the whole evening went very smoothly. Dan, the general manager oversees everything and together with his amazing waitstaff, provide impeccable service to all guests. We were so pleased and impressed, can't say enough good things. The outdoor gazebo for the ceremony is just lovely and the inside ballroom is gorgeous...tables are beautifully set and cocktail hour food and dinner are amazing. So many of our guests have said that this is easily the best wedding they've ever been to; now that's saying something! Thank you to Dan and his entire staff including Irene and Ron, for an amazing day to remember! From the Barile and Gleason families.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
We held our Friday, May 24th wedding at The Grand Colonial in Hampton, NJ. From the moment we entered the facility in July 2012 and began planning we were impressed with the beauty and character of the space and the professionalism of the staff. Dan Weiss the General Manager and direct contact through the entire process made us feel we were his #1 priority. We are very busy people and needed to work with a wedding venue that would meet our needs. Our experience was more than we could have anticipated and every detail exceeded our expectations. The charm and beauty allowed for amazing indoor and outdoor photographs. The original Farmhouse has beautiful stonework and gardens and is a restaurant during the week, which you experience for yourself. There is also a one room schoolhouse on the property which was a great backdrop for pictures.

Our guests could not believe the quality, delicious tasting and unbelievable amount of food at the cocktail hour and throughout the dinner courses. Chef Christie was willing to incorporate many different types of food into our choices (Dozens of Passed hourderves of our choice, Sushi Bar, Indian, Thai, Italian, Raw Bar, and Mediterranean Bar ect.) and it really paid off. In addition, we provided her with a picture of a cake we liked and she made the exact replica of the cake, a true work of art!

We were able to customize our bar choices to include specific Beer and Wine choices in addition to their TOP SHELF selection which is standard with the package. Please note...No additional costs for the bar. If you are reading this, please take the time to contact The Grand Colonial and experience their options, you will not be disappointed. As the Bride and the Groom we had the most wonderful experience on our wedding day that we will never forget!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Just absolutely AMAZING we looked no where else once we found Dan at the Grand Colonial he followed through with every promise and exceeded our expectations. I wanted a fairytale wedding and this was just it! Everything I imagined and more. The staff was friendly, professional, attentive and top notch! They made me feel like a princess - if you want the very best for your wedding you can't go wrong with Dan and his staff. Thank you to all for making my dreams come true, it was a time i will never ever forget! Looking forward to coming back for our one year anniversary too :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bonnie
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial was an exceptional place to have my wedding reception. The service, food, and beautiful setting created the most perfect Wedding day. My guests have not stopped talking about the unbelievable service and delicious food. Top Notch!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
The First thing I'd like to say is how much I TRULY recommend the GRAND COLONIAL for any event!!! I am proud to say that I got Married there recently, and I strongly would tell anyone to check this Venue Out. Dan Weiss, not only treated us great, he made absolutely sure that everything was Perfect for our most special day. He, along with the amazing staff, treated our Guests/Family with so much respect and made everyone feel welcome and comfortable. So many of my Friends and Family have said what a wonderful time they had. The Beautiful Bridal Suite, The Food, The Organization, The Gorgeous surroundings, The Professional way everything was handled...is something Myself and my Husband will never forget...Dan Weiss and the Grand Colonial made our Vision of what we wanted on our Wedding Day come TRUE and we Thank them for it...and any of you will feel the EXACT same way when you go there. It was my absolute pleasure to write this Review!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
4/28/2013
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial lives up to its name! My daughter had a GRAND wedding reception, Thanks to Dan Weiss and his fabulous staff!! Dan is no longer just the GM of the Colonial but part of our family! From our very first meeting, to our post wedding dinner (on the house) we have been treated like royalty. The cocktail hour by far exceeded our expectations, the hors d'oeuvre were DELIOUS and what a great variety, some in which we did not request but by the kind generosity of, Dan, he included. Tell me where that happens anywhere! So gracious! Thank you Dan! The main courses were also outstanding! Our guests raved over the whole experience . I highly recommend The Grand Colonial to anyone who has an affair that they want to remember! Thank you Dan from us all, for giving Melissa and Steve the wedding of their dreams! We'll be back as you already know!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Dan Weiss far exceeded our expectations on our Wedding Day. From Day One he was there every step of the way actually running our Wedding the day of. No passing off here! Chef Christine's Cuisine was fabulous only outdone by the Wedding Cake she made;no detail missed. The Service was wonderful and Knowledgeable;what a combination in this day and age.
If you are looking for Fabulous Food and Service, Value and Quality call Dan. You won't be sorry!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Planning your wedding and finding the "perfect" venue for your special day is one of the hardest and biggest decisions for your wedding day. My husband and I researched venues from PA to NY and NJ, after weeding through all the other places that either were like wedding factories or very rude staff, or even nasty food, we finally found the right place for us and whoever picks The Grand Colonial for their venue will be blown away as well! We still have guests talking about our wedding. We couldn't have asked for a nicer, accommodating, detailed person like Dan to plan our wedding. He just truly made the experience from the tasting to the day of the big event a big success! Not to mention it was 4 days after hurricane Sandy! He put us at ease and everything, just everything was absolutely beautiful.

The food was top notch which you will not get at most of the other wedding venues, nor the wine/ drinks as well. Chef Christine created a beautiful cake based on the pictures we sent her and even an awesome Grooms cake I surprised my husband with.

My husband and I were very picky throughout this process of deciding on which venue and we are 110% satisfied with our decision. We live about an hour from the venue and it was soooo worth it! Because remember when deciding on your wedding venue location you will have guests traveling no matter what, it's conveniently located off I-78 and close to PA, NJ, and NY. Superb service, food, staff, etc at a great cost. You can not get this experience for the same cost anywhere in these 3 states through our research. Thank you again to Dan for making our wedding day magical as you promised.

P.s. We love the venue so much that we have made it one of our new places to eat at on special occasions.

With all our love and blessings,

Jessica & Kerri
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ann Marie
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding couldn't have been more perfect. She had a certain vision in mind planning this reception for two years and her dreams came true thanks to the staff at the Grand Colonial. I am still getting emails and phone calls from our guests about the excellent food and service that evening. As a two-time MOB I would, without a doubt, recommend The Grand Colonial for any event. An added note for all you future brides....the bridal suite was just as beautiful as the ballroom with your very own bridal attendant.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brittany
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about the Grand Colonial and their staff. Dan the banquet manager is INCREDIBLE!! He took care of absolutely everything and his professionalism is unmatched. My husband and I live in Florida so we had to do a lot of planning over the phone, and set specific dates when we were in town to plan our wedding and Dan made sure we got to see, view, taste and experience everything.
The food was unbelievable all my guests were blown away. We chose the cocktail style reception and our guests could not believe we had mussels, sushi, crab cakes, beef, chicken... there were several guests that said they camped out at certain stations because they couldnt get enough. My guests could not believe at the end of the night, the wedding cake, the dessert trays at every table and the 5-tiered chocolate fountain!
The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous, the cocktail area is so beautiful people thought it was our reception itself! Several guests have called us to tell us this is the best service they have ever received! My guests didn't even leave their seats to go to the bar, the servers knew what every guest was drinking and made sure their glasses were always full.
As for the Bride, you will be in awe. From the minute I got out of the limo I had an attendant with me at all times, she offered to carry my train around and fluff it out for pictures, she was with my bridesmaids in the bridal suite pinning up my bustle and constantly made sure I had everything I needed. She was so attentive and caring it was truly an amazing day.
My husband and I cannot thank Dan and his staff enough. The venue, the food, the service is all outstanding and far surpassed any expectations we had. I could not recommend the Grand Colonial more highly, I assure you if you book with Grand Colonial you will be writing a similar review!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful. Service and food was amazing. We have received so many comments about how great the grand colonial was in all aspects!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carissa
Wedding:
9/28/2012
4.3/5.0
My wedding was planed within 4 months from start to finish and The Grand Colonial couldn't of done a better job. Communication and response to e-mails wasn't he best in the early stages, but really rose to the occasion the week of. The staff really went out of there way to make it everything they could. I plan on visiting again just for dinner. I would suggest the venue over and over. They were very accommodating with everything.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I just got married here on September 15th and I cannot say enough positive things about the Grand Colonial and its staff! The food is AMAZING (we booked a year in advance and ate there many times for dinner and other events before ours) and was one of the main reasons we picked the GC- The chef Christine is just wonderful!. The grounds were beautiful- we could get married right on site, and then turn around and be right at the cocktail hour (they even extended the outside patio which was perfect for our large party and beautiful weather). Dan, the GM, was so easy to work with and helped us achieve EVERYTHING we wanted (tweaking the menu, table arrangements, etc.). The day of I had an assistant, Debbie, who kept me (the overwhelmed bride) on track, where I needed to be as well as did whatever I needed of her (rearranging some flowers, keeping track of some cards) and of course- kept my glass full. Every single staff member went above and beyond and made my wedding day SMOOTH and PERFECT (smiling welcoming servers and bartenders too!). I would strongly recommend the grand colonial to anyone- and then ask to be invited! Now I just need an excuse to keep going back!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot thank Dan and his staff enough for a wonderful reception. All of our guests kept commenting on how fantastic the food was and how gorgeous the place looked. We had big dreams and you and your team pulled everything off with perfection. We had the best night of our lives. Thank you, thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David & Sharon
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Our daughter's wedding was a month ago and we have received nothing but high praises from our guests ever since. Dan Weiss, the general manager, guided us throughout the entire planning process, from contract signing, up to and including the entire wedding day. He is hands-on, extremely accommodating and does not disappoint. He is a wealth of knowledge on planning and has a reputable contact list from outside providers of specialty items, if needed. From Dan's supportive assistant, to his fabulous chef and professional service staff, there is nothing we would have wanted done differently. The presentation of food was impressive, the quality was excellent and the quantity in abundance. This is not a wedding production mill, they do one wedding on a scheduled date and focus only on you. As an added bonus, the nicely landscaped grounds, including a gazebo and fountain, provided a beautiful backdrop for photos. If you are considering The Grand Colonial for your wedding or any event, we encourage you to dine in their restaurant any Tuesday through Friday and make your own assessment of their quality of food and service. We dined there before our daughter's wedding was even booked and will continue to do so in the years to come.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
What an unbelievable job done by Dan and everyone at the Grand Colonial. My wedding will be the most memorable day of my life thanks to them (and all of my other vendors who were fantastic)! Dan made sure that everything I asked for, every vision that I had came to life even better than I imagined it. My parents received numerous thank you cards and phone calls from guests, saying it was one of the best weddings they had ever been to. I credit that to the incredible food (I can't emphasize enough how good the food was), impeccable service, and attention to detail. In addition to all of the guests feeling satisfied, there was a bridal attendant who helped bustle my dress in the event of a bustle emergency and got me food during the cocktail hour (which is the only way I would have eaten due to the amount of people that would stop me to talk). The servers also made sure my husband got the passed appetizers he was looking for. I hope one of my friends gets married there too so I can enjoy all the delicious food and the great party atmosphere at the Grand Colonial all over again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dplp2012
Wedding:
7/27/2012
4.9/5.0
Dan and the team at the Grand Colonial were impressive from our first meeting. This venue truly is a gem in Hunterdon County and we know that our choice to have our reception here MADE our day perfect. It was obvious to us that Dan wanted to make our experience everything we wanted it to be and catered every detail of our day to us (this included special diet & beverage requests, and last minute detail changes). After our tasting, we knew we had hit maximum value for our dollar. Our guests have not been able to stop raving about the food and service and we know that all 146 guests were impressed with the Grand Colonial. Dan is trustworthy, helpful, knowledgable and made the planning process as stress-free as it could be. Each interaction with him was calm, no pressure to "up" our choices, conform to whatever was "easiest" for him or do something that truly wasn't important to us. Coordination with vendors was effortless with Dan at the helm. It should also be noted that Christine, the head chef, is AMAZING. Our cake was EXACTLY what we wanted it to be and Christine specialized our dessert & main course choices to reflect our heritage, even looking up new recipes to make for that evening. Also, the Grand Colonial only has one ballroom so only one event can happen at a time. This was very important to us, after seeing the "wedding factory" model. We never felt lost in the shuffle or felt like our reception was overlooked for another. This also came in handy during the day for setup of the reception; we could arrive when we needed and we weren't kicked out because another wedding had to set up. You can not go wrong with Christine and Dan at the Grand Colonial! Thank you to them for a memorable and perfect reception!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial is absolutely the best place in Hunterdon County to have a wedding reception or any other occassion. For our daugther's wedding Dan Weiss (GM) was a pleasure to work with in making the arrangements, customizing the menu(s) and coordinating the entire event from day one. Dan and the entire staff were professional and attentive the entire night. The food was excellent for the cocktail hour and dinner and the setting was elegant to say the least. You also need to check their preferred vendor list, you won't be disappointed. Dan has also been working diligently to maintain/upgrade the appearance of the ballroom and outside areas which we were able to enjoy at the reception, especially the patio. Debbie (bridal attendant) and Irene (Father-of-the-Bride table) were very attentive and ensured we were well taken care of the entire night. We are still getting comments from friends and family on how great the Grand Colonial is for a wedding reception. Bottom-line, you won't be disappointed in having your event at the Grand Colonial.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, DJ, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joann
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Dan made our reception planning stress free, and then the reception was beyond our wildest expectations. The variety and quality of the food was fantastic. We continually get compliments (still) from our friends about how fabulous the food was. The perfect thing was that there was something for everyone: vegans, gluten-free, fish lovers, meat lovers, pasta lovers. And it was all delicious. We took Dan's suggestion for a florist (Greens and Beans), and they did an amazing job as well using high vases with flowers and hanging pearls. There were many special touches that added a lot and were provided without our request such as flowers on the cocktail tables and lovely menus at each place for dining.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding was on May 26, 2012 and I could not have asked for a better reception. Dan the event manager was wonderful, he captured my vision for the day better then i could have imgined. The staff was so attentive to me and my husband and all of our guests. I loved the fact that the grand colonial staff worked so well with my DJ and photographer ensuring eveything was seamless. The food was to die for. So many of my guests came up to me that day and told me that was the best wedding food ever!!! The grounds are amazing and my pictures turned out wonderful. Cant say enough good things!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsey
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
We had such a wonderful experience with the Grand Colonial. Everything was perfect for our special day. The ballroom looked absolutely beautiful, our guests raved about the food, and Dan made planning and coordinating worry free.
We love the Grand Colonial so much, my baby shower was held there the following year.
I highly recommend this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1324922678281-2997621015090271328522116869780522021437871905091356n
A&P
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial was FANTASTIC. Dan Weiss, GM, made my wedding perfect. Everything was absolutely right on. The food was fantastic, the service was impeccable and the atmosphere was incredible! This venue was the nicest and most affordable one I have ever been to. Everyone commented that my wedding was the best they had EVER been to!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Craig S
Wedding:
3/4/2012
5.0/5.0
With the help of Dan Weiss and his staff, our daughters wedding was an extraordinary affair. Hannah and Will were married indoors because it was early Marcch. The room was so professionally done that we were overwhelmed by it's beauty. The appetizers and main course were impeccable, everyone really enjoyed the food! If you are looking for an awesome place to have a wedding, search no further, give Dan Weiss a call.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1295816438269-orangerosegreenhydrangea1
Alicia
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow where do I begin....I happened to get married during that freak October snow storm...go figure... but everyone at the Grand Colonial conducted business as usual in a great way, we had been getting trouble from other vendors but not these guys. But in the beginning, I just like that last two reviewers had been shuffled around with wedding coordinators yet in the end Dan was truly the best and anything we asked for he gave. I could see how when people speak with him he could come off rude but its actually as my husband explains "knowing" the trade. As we brides fiddle over all the details and stress over the unknowns when you speak with Dan he has an "I got it, don't worry" attitude which really helped this type A bride. I dropped off four storage bins of decorations not including our photo booth and favors which was another several boxes and it was all placed exactly where I wanted it. They answered all calls within 24 hours and emails within a few. Seriously everything I asked he did and with a "no problem" answer. The food was seriously OUT OF THIS WORLD. I was at four weddings this past summer and in two but this food was the best out of all of them and probably more... and that's not because its was my wedding.. good food is just good food. I was able to get a signature drink which they made to perfection and everyone loved. The apps were also seriously seriously amazing the potato pancakes were to die for as well as pasta dishes and the list goes on and on. The cake was equally amazing it was chocolate ganache with fresh raspberries!! Also, they aren't picky like same places about the designs allowing you to choose more then a standard, plain cake. I choose a detailed one from an internet picture and it was executed perfectly. The entrees were all great I was able to sample at our tasting which was the stuffed pork, cod filet with shrimp, and steak. They do offer three here which when we researched not all venues do as well as not needing the numbers before hand and guests order on the night of which I just loved. We got rave reviews after and while on our honeymoon for both the food and the beautiful place. Also, we had a right hand lady, Debbie, during the evening who came out to the party bus and helped me off of it (not even my new husband did that, lol) but she was great she calmed me with a drink after our hectic ride and not only followed me but my father who was stressing about the weather. I cant thank this place enough what they did on the day of. Oh and they do have back-up generators!!! For those brides who have never thought of this I say do because if it wasn't for those I don't know what would of happened (and as a side note our photographer did inform us that another venue his colleague was working had none that same night...could you imagine that on your wedding day?) All in all I say visit, try and see for your self but this place is absolutely worth it!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janet
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
First, I would like to say I am so sorry this has taken so long for me to get around to writing you. I just wanted to say how special you made our wedding day on 9/24/11. I know there is nothing I can say that would express how we felt and also how all our guests felt on our special day. We had nothing but compliments from our guests about the overall décor, food and location of the Grand Colonial. We couldn’t say enough about the food and the cocktail hour. Our dinners were hot and not one dinner had to be returned to the kitchen because they were all perfect. The hors d'oeuvres were over the top as well as the after dinner strawberries and cannolis which you added as a surprise to us. We couldn’t say anything more about the cake other than it was everything we thought it would be. We came several times to meet with you and went over our menu with Christine. We even talked and were over to see you the day before the wedding with my Mother so she could take her time and see everything that was going to take place on our day. Even today, 2 months later people are still talking about our wedding. Many of our guests have told us that it was the nicest wedding they had ever been invited to. No words can tell you how thankful we are to you and your staff for making the most important day in our lives so special and a day to remember.
Janet & Dan
January 6, 2012
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
samantha
Wedding:
6/4/2011
3.8/5.0
We started planning our wedding approx 1.5 years prior to our wedding date. We had spencer as our coordinator from the start. We never came across any issues with him- He was always polite, and was always prompt in returning phone calls and emails. Then, one month prior to our wedding, we had a difficulty getting in touch with him- We then were told by a receptionist that Spencer no longer worked at the Grand Colonial, and that we would now have Dan, his mananger, As our Coordinator. We were a bit surprised that no one had contacted us prior to Spencer leaving to warn us, and to let us know that someone else would be assisting us through our process. It took a few phone calls before actually reaching Dan. My parents were extremely nervous about the change, and they went to the Grand Colonial to meet with him- He assured them he was in the business a very long time and that there would be no issues.
Two nights before the wedding, we had our rehearsal at the grand colonial- Everything went well- Food was absolutely delicious! We were finally looking forward to our wedding day! The morning of the wedding I called Dan to go over a last few minute details ( I didn’t have a chance to talk to him at the rehearsal, and I had never actually talked to him about any plans)- He seemed rushed, and very RUDE on the phone. I thought it was because he was in the middle of setting everything up and was just busy. I brushed it off. When we finally arrived at the wedding hall- My mom noticed that all the table numbers were wrong- They did the room backwards and actually had my bridal party sitting at the farthest possible table from us. Problem Fixed, we got over it. Dan had introduced me to my assistant ( I forgot her name) and was explained that she would be glued to mine and my husband’s side the WHOLE night. Prior to the ceremony beginning, she asked my husband and I what we both wanted to drink- We told her what we would be drinking for the night. Well… I never saw her again until after cocktail hour- Not once during that hour did she every come near my husband nor myself to ask if we needed a drink,food,anything etc. We were very shocked. We then only saw her about 2-3 times the rest of the night… I barely had a drink in my hand the whole night. She did a terrible job of tending to our table. Dan also NEVER came up to us or my parents (who paid) the whole night. At one point my husband tracked him down to get us both a drink.
When it came time to the Cake tasting- as soon as I took a bite, I realized that it was the wrong flavor.
Prior to the wedding, we specifically requested 2 types of beer … Surprise… They didn’t have either one there.
It was also brought to our attn the next day that he was rude to my mom, and someone else heard him talking down to the staff.
All in All, the Grand Colonial is a BEAUTIFUL place- The reception hall is great, the ceremony site was beautiful, and the Food was awesome ( we did get a lot of great reviews). We had the opportunity to take some of the most beautiful pictures on the property - It is just unfortunate that the coordinator is not friendly, nor attentive. Someone in that position should be extremely pro active, which he was not.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmberLLewis
Wedding:
5/28/2011
1.6/5.0
The Grand Colonial hosted our wedding for 200+ in May 2011. The setting was lovely, clean and efficient. The food was fantastic. However, we were very disappointed in the management.

During the ten-months that we planned our wedding three different people filled the all-important wedding coordinator position - Spencer, Taryn and Dan (the manager). Each time there was a changeover, we were not informed until after numerous phone calls and e-mails went unanswered. In fact, we made more than one trip from our house (an hour away) to the Grand Colonial just to locate a person - any person - who could answer our questions and tell us who was in charge.

Trying to order linens was frustrated by the lack of communications. We finally used an outside company (Elegance Remembered - they were great). Spencer encouraged us to meet with the linen company at the Grand Colonial to view the tablecloths in the ballroom. However, once there, Spencer was rude and difficult when we asked if he could set out a round table, turn on the lights in the room and bring us a plate or two to help complete the picture.

A few weeks later, we learned that Spencer was fired and that all of the notes on our arrangements were misplaced. Tayrn met with us and we repeated all of our previous information about the time the wedding was to start, the number of tables, etc. However, after she failed to respond to follow up phone calls and e-mails we learned that the manager, Dan, had taken over as wedding coordinator.

Before the wedding, we received apologies and reassurance from Dan that everything was under control. Dan was accommodating to our lighting person and the florist, but the service provided by the Grand Colonial itself was a little chaotic and unorganized. The room looked beautiful, but the air conditioning wasn't working properly and our cake (which was delicious) began to melt. Also on the cake - the venue forgot to refrigerate the piece they saved us, which meant we never had more than our initial bite in front of the photographer.

Given all of the previous positive reviews, I hope that they sort out their staffing issues and that their future service lives up to the beauty and reputation of the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ekl
Wedding:
10/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I didn't intend to give 5 stars across the board, it makes me look biased but this place deserved it. The staff is excellent, the food is great, working with Spencer, the Director of Catering, could not be easier.

This place is a no brainer. You can call, give a head count and basically be done but if you want to really specialize, they go above and beyond to accommodate.

I threw a shower for approximately 50 women there. Several, not one, but several, people said it was the best shower they ever attended. Their afternoon tea is nothing short of a steal.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our reception at The Grand Colonial the first weekend in October, and I can not say enough about how great everything was---it was absolutely perfect! I'm a detailed person, and Marybeth didn't miss a thing! The food was amazing, everyone is still raving about how wonderful and how much of it there was! We got so many compliments on all the dinner selections, especially the tuna and the filet mignon, and cocktail hour overflowed with more choices that one could ever imagine.
I would recommend The Grand Colonial to every bride- if you don't want the same old banquet food, you have to have a tasting here, you will be impressed! The service is just as great- if you want someone who responds to every email, and will make your day perfect, give Marybeth a call! We couldn't be happier that we did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Marybeth made sure everything was great at our reception. The food was really good & the bar tenders (especially the woman) were a lot of fun. Marybeth helped us decide how to set everything up & it all came out perfectly, even though my husband & I were running so far behind schedule. Many of our guests told us how much they liked the food, the cake & the venue. It was really great to have the ballroom, the cocktail hour room with the bar & the outside patio for the smokers. No one had to hang out in the parking lot if they didn't want to dance. Plenty of room for all different types of guests & the kids had plenty of room to run around.

Chef Christine was able to make a larger replica of our cake from St. Lucia (where the ceremony took place) & it was beautiful. Marybeth took care of coordinating with the DJ & so we were able to actually enjoy our reception. =) Our reception was perfect & exactly the way we wanted it to be. We'd have it at the Grand Colonial again in a heartbeat. Thanks Marybeth!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sr821
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.8/5.0
The venue is beautiful and the food is excellent. Spencer is fantastic to work with! I highly recommend
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jody
Wedding:
4/23/2010
4.8/5.0
The Grand Colonial was beautiful but the food was AMAZING.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jagglesnaggle
Wedding:
12/31/2009
5.0/5.0
This place was simply perfect for our intimate wedding. Spencer and his crew really did it right!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
10/9/2009
5.0/5.0
We had the most excellent wedding and the time of our lives at the Grand Colonial! As soon as we walked into the ballroom we absolutely knew that we had to have our wedding there. The place is gorgeous and all the other venue sites we looked at did not compare. The entire wedding was perfect from start to finish. The service was first class and the staff was super friendly and accommodating. Ray, our Madre D� was awesome and we really enjoyed working with him over the past year. Our guests were surprised by the Grand Colonial�s impressive service. Every time we walked away our napkins were folded and our glasses were filled up, I never once had to go to the bar. The food was delicious and enjoyed by everyone. We loved the food especially the Ch�teaubriand, make sure you have that dinner for your guests, it's A+. All other weddings I have attended the food has been okay and I have never had a hot meal at a wedding. Our plates came out hot, the presentation was pretty and the food was served in a timely fashion. All of our guests had a fabulous time and we have received tons of positive feedback. People can�t stop taking about our wedding and they are saying it was the BEST wedding they have ever been to! I will defiantly recommend brides and grooms to have their wedding at the Grand Colonial. I intend to have another event there in the future. We are so happy and blessed to have had such a wonderful wedding at the Grand Colonial. Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sicilia
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
It has been a little over a month since our wedding and we are still getting rave reviews from our guests, especially about the food! The Salmon was a hit with us at the tasting and even better the day of. We added the chocolate fondue and that was a HUGE hit with the guests, they could not believe the variety of things they had to dip into the chocolate. We also added a late night package which allowed our guests to enjoy themselves for another 2 hours after the reception in the hip Ice Bar area and Perryville Room.

It did rain the morning of our wedding and I feared I was not going to be able to have the outdoor ceremony I had been dreaming about for over a year. The staff at the Grand Colonial wanted that to happen for me and held out as late as they could (despite the fact that I was told a 12pm rain call would be made when I booked the place � which shows how flexible and easy they are to work with) to make it happen, it did, and it was beautiful.

The staff at the Grand Colonial (Ray, Jason, Yvonne, Danny, etc) really made me feel like a Princess. I was attended to (by Yvonne) from the very first minute I arrived to get ready. I would suggest adding the lunch if you are getting ready there, it was delicious. I literally did not hear the words �No� or �We can�t� the day of, or days leading up to the big day. I was gently reminded to relax, enjoy myself, and even re-apply my lipstick!

We chose the Grand Colonial because of the style of the place. It really is done beautifully in warm earth tones; the ceilings are not the ugly drop ceilings you typically see in reception halls. You have to see it in person to appreciate it; the pictures do not do it justice. The outdoor ceremony area is magical and not for a second during the ceremony did we hear any traffic noises from 78. Plus, there is a sound system outside with microphone. The Bridal Suite was large enough for several of us to have hair and make-up done and get dressed before the ceremony. We even took some pictures in there. There are less expensive places to have your wedding in New Jersey, but you do get what you pay for. I read some reviews about things being stolen out of the bridal suites in other reception halls and I have to say that was not a concern of ours at all. There were several purses, electronics and cash in the room all day, and it was all there at the end of the night.

Remember, you can have the perfect dress, flowers, and music, but if the food, ambiance, and service is lacking, that is what your guests will remember! It is your big day and you only get one shot to do it right. Booking the Grand Colonial for our ceremony, reception, and after party was definitely the right thing for us. We look forward to celebrating many special occasions at the Grand Colonial in the future. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary and enjoy a delicious dinner, not many banquet halls in NJ afford the opportunity to do that since they are not also full service restaurants.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
bride09
Wedding:
10/2/2009
4.4/5.0
When we first looked at this venue we thought we couldn't afford it, but they worked with us to get the price down. We had a Friday wedding and adjusted our menu to get the price within our budget.

Food and service was great. Ray was very helpful and the staff took care of us all night. My wine glass was never empty.

We received a lot of positive feedback from our friends and family about the Grand Colonial. They all said the place was beautiful and the food was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial is a beautiful place for a wedding and we loved having ours there. The food was amazing and the chef was more the happy to help me with my dietary needs (gluten-free). All of our guests loved the atmosphere and the surroundings of the Grand Colonial.

The main issue that i had was that the person in change of my wedding was changed 3 times and the last time was 2 weeks before the wedding. i know that this was not done on purpose but it was very upsetting to me to have worked with someone for months on what you were expecting to have and then have to explain everything over again to someone else 2 weeks before it needs to get done. I�m the end everything worked out and we had a wonderful time!

I would recommend the Grand Colonial to anyone looking for a beautiful night in a beautiful place!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
c
Wedding:
9/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Ray and the staff at Grand Colonial did a wonderful job and made us all (bride, groom, bridal party AND guests) feel very special. We didn't have to worry about a thing. The setting is beautiful, the food was amazing and they were even able to help me with the planning by recommending a wedding officiant and florist who were also perfect for us. I would definately highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rprodigy17
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
I would recommend the Grand Colonial to ANY couples looking for a wedding venue, or any group looking to schedule a dinner or party. The entire staff was extremely professional and constantly asking if they could do anything else for me as a bride. The food was EXCEPTIONAL, in fact, people still talk about the food at the wedding a month later. We had a Sunday wedding which reduced the cost per person, but trust me, every penny is worth it! You will NOT regret booking your wedding here!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlb09
Wedding:
9/4/2009
4.3/5.0
If your getting married the grand colonial is the perfect place for you. All of my family and friends raved about how beautiful it was inside and out. The food was phenomenal. Service was great! Chef Christine Ayer's is amazing! I have two complaints about the grand colonial. One, the night of my rehearsal my banquet coordinator was mia and two he constantly reminded me and my family that his tip was not included in the final amount and that his tip was due to him the night of the wedding and to be in cash. It was getting to be the end of the reception and he had asked my father how everything was and where his tip was. If his tip wasn't included then what the hell is the " 20% service fee and gratuity" in the contract for?! I found that to be very distasteful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
timandlaura
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial provided a picturesque venue for our wedding reception. They were both flexible and highly professional throughout the entire planning process. The general manager was quick to respond to our calls and e-mails. Two months after the wedding, our guests are still talking about the quality of the food and service. Our favorite wedding photos were taken on the Grand Colonial grounds. We highly recommend the Grand Colonial.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
susan&kerry
Wedding:
8/7/2009
4.8/5.0
The Grand Colonial is beautiful!!!! It was just what we were looking for (after we saw many, many sites). The staff was great with handling the pre-wedding planning and our rehearsal practice. We were able to have our ceremony outside. Cocktail hour was inside/outside which we and our guests loved! The food was delicious and there was a lot!!!! We loved our cake, it came out just like the photo we showed them. My bridal attendant was amazing! She was always around to get me anything I needed and help however she could. We too, as some other reviews mentioned, had an issue at the end of the night when the banquet coordinator had a problem with the amount we were tipping him. We gave him more than they originally suggested and even gave an additional tip to bartender and bridal attendant.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
7/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Everyone did an outstanding job and we have recommended the Grand Colonial to our friends and family for upcoming events. An excellent time was had by all! We can't thank you enough for helping to make our day very special. Please share our gratitude with the entire staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amherst08
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
I would recommend the Grand Colonial to anyone. Our guests loved the venue and complimented us on the quality of the food and drinks and the outrageous service. Finding a reception venue was the most difficult part of our wedding until we found the Grand Colonial and worked with Dan to make the wedding of our dreams come true.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tjjsmith
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Everyone at the Grand Colonial was very accommodating. The day was perfect and the food was exceptional. I plan to return to the Grand Colonial for other kinds of occasions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Burch
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
The Grand Colonial did an outstanding job with our wedding reception! Every last detail was taken care of. They far exceeded our expectations. It was the perfect day! Food was outstanding, great drink, service amazing! Nothing but 5 stars from us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christina
Wedding:
8/9/2008
2.4/5.0
Ok, the place was absolutely beautiful and brand new! I got a good deal because I booked it when the sheetrock was only being installed! I loved the actual venue and the food was excellent. It was the service I received from my waitress turned wedding coordinator who was 22 years old and didn't know what she was doing. I believe she is no longer there, but just make sure you don't deal with Jayne. I felt like I knew more about what was going on then she did! Everything turned out beautifully. 1 bad thing, the guy that was the go to guy that night tried to get more money out of us at the end of the reception because some of my guests showed up early and started drinking! Sorry buddy, you should have told them the bar doesn't open until the party started, that's your fault. You just have to know what you are getting for you money and stick to it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
86 State Route 173 West, Hampton, NJ 08827 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Grand Colonial
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo