130x130_sq_1385080743383-ballroom

The Grand Long Beach

Long Beach , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4101 East Willow Street
Long Beach, CA US 90815 (map)

PHONE

562-426-0555

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Eat. Drink and Be Married.

Nothing beats the excitement surrounding love, a new engagement and planning a wedding, whether it is yours or a friend or family member!!! Love is... Read more
Eat. Drink and Be Married.

Nothing beats the excitement surrounding love, a new engagement and planning a wedding, whether it is yours or a friend or family member!!! Love is contagious. It brings butterflies and gives hope to better things to come in the future… and who can forget most importantly the fun party that will be talked about for ages.

At The Grand Long Beach, we are skilled in helping you plan such a memorable day. Our team of event professionals will help walk you through every detail from food, drinks, dancing and the latest in décor. We prides ourselves in knowing what it takes to pull together a wedding that says WOW!

The Venue is “Full-Service” and is conveniently located between Los Angeles and Orange County. We have 7 unique events spaces both indoor and outdoor. We can accommodate up to 600 guests and provide Private Bridal suites. Recently we remodeled our beautiful Palm Terrace that was featured on WE Tv’s My Fair Wedding. This space can be used as a Ceremony or Outdoor Reception area.

Check our more at www.TheGrandLB.com and schedule a private tour... Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1336412619064-29934428612802139765228460931488285611512661959244135n
130x130_sq_1336412623734-30212828482177486161028460931488285611451531943315771n
130x130_sq_1331250653505-img7262
130x130_sq_1331250674061-monarchnew
130x130_sq_1336412613723-29523340893366911708628460931488285615140001365268604n
130x130_sq_1331249092871-img9617
130x130_sq_1336412635299-3857404089337224504142846093148828561514001762909696n
130x130_sq_1331249446279-img9661
130x130_sq_1331249567148-img9663
130x130_sq_1331250233398-grandcatalina2
130x130_sq_1331250316012-grandcatalina4
130x130_sq_1331250373835-grandcatalina
130x130_sq_1336412607098-346894038789296225602846093148828561503481657263734n
130x130_sq_1336412616578-29701028552880145757428460931488285611481221096811473n
130x130_sq_1336412621477-30194428552459145799528460931488285611480441473937206n
130x130_sq_1336412626262-3069342855249847912892846093148828561148067592779510n
130x130_sq_1336412632278-318450285524651457989284609314882856114804772998482n
130x130_sq_1331248560227-dscn0054
130x130_sq_1336412638457-4011003564086177029252846093148828561371936222935833n
130x130_sq_1336412642152-42783140893375911707728460931488285615140021443503015n
130x130_sq_1336412644737-57834140893244578387528460931488285615139941461211608n
130x130_sq_1336412805461-29523340893366911708628460931488285615140001365268604n
130x130_sq_1336412808112-318450285524651457989284609314882856114804772998482n
130x130_sq_1336412810927-3857404089337224504142846093148828561514001762909696n
130x130_sq_1336412813778-42783140893375911707728460931488285615140021443503015n
130x130_sq_1336412851103-4011003564086177029252846093148828561371936222935833n
130x130_sq_1336412848362-29934428612802139765228460931488285611512661959244135n
130x130_sq_1336412879869-29701028552880145757428460931488285611481221096811473n
130x130_sq_1336412910398-346894038789296225602846093148828561503481657263734n
130x130_sq_1336412937427-57834140893244578387528460931488285615139941461211608n
130x130_sq_1336413247510-choura47120012
130x130_sq_1336413281757-choura47120014

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Bg3
Stacey
Wedding:
4/18/2014
5.0/5.0
The Grand was simply A M A Z I N G!!! Ann was so wonderful to work with! She responded right away everytime I needed to contact her! I was a very indecisive bride and she was understanding and helpful the whole step of the way. She was the greatest!
Everyone at the grand was so wonderful the day of the wedding!
The food was really good! Even better than the day we did the food tasting.
All of the waiters were so kind. Thank you so much for making our day an amazing one'
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terence
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Anne Williamson and Devin Wright were contacts persons for our wedding.

Both ladies were responsive, professional and understanding of our needs as we had only 10 days to plan our wedding & reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding 1 month ago and we were so happy with the decision we made.
They have 5 options to choose from all of them are very nice.All the staff is very friendly and polite.
the prices are very reasonable and the food was great, the parking is free , the bathrooms are clean and they have a free suite for the bride.
Our cordinator was Ann she is very friendly and super cool to get along with, she was very helpful for any questions we had she was always there to answer.
ask for her! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adriana
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about the grand! We had our wedding here in August and everything was flawless for our special day! We worked with the coordinator Ann and she was amazing! She was always available for questions, checked in with me often and was even able to deal with my phone calls and emails during the high anxiety planning moments. The grand was very flexible and accommodating to any of our needs. The venue is perfect because it's a one stop shop and everything is in one place! The food was delicious! We received so many compliments from our guests about the food. I would recommend the venue to any couple looking!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Loved how everything was set up, excellent service I didn't have to worry about anything
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We did the Friday wedding package and it was a great deal! The venue was beautiful and we were delighted with how everything turned out. Ann was our event coordinator and really took great care of us. We did a lot of little upgrades which made everything that much nicer. The Chivari chairs are a must in my opinion and the open bar really brings the party together. We used the Garden Room and had a full bar available to our guests that was great in photos as well. Absolutely worth the money we spent. We had an amazing time and so did our guests. We did the ceremony on the outside terrace. The sun was just going down as the ceremony began and for the first 10 minutes the sun was in the boys eyes, but as soon as it set the rest of the way it was really beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311918066449-dsc00648
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The food is amazing. My wedding was 2 weeks ago and I have family still telling me how good the food was. They are very generous with their alcohol in the mixed drinks. I honestly coiuld not say anything bad about this place. Viviana was my sales person and she is a sweetheart.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
This place is beautiful. The food was incredible. Alex was our coordinator and she was more than helpful. They really take care of their clients.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1290469031221-us
Aileen
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Had our wedding ceremony in the Palm Terrace and our reception in the garden room. Received many positive compliments on the location, hors d'oeuvres and dinner. Alex Weiss was our coordinator and she was a pleasure to work with. She was very helpful with all my questions and always responded in a timely manner. The staff was very professional from the servers to the bartenders.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Djsaenz
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
If we could do it all over again we would definitely do it at The Grand. Everything was perfect from the rep who helped us (Viviana), to the food, decor, and service. They are the absolute best at what they do. We are want to have our 10th Anniversary there as well! Thanks for everything The Grand!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christopher
Wedding:
6/24/2006
5.0/5.0
Soomin is great
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but positive things to say about the Grand. Viviana, our sales person, was so helpful and responsive to all of my requests, I must have emailed her dozens of times with questions and she responded quickly every time. They were professionals in every aspect. Our reception room was set up complete with table linens by 9:30am for a 6pm start time. So i was able to do last minute set up there myself and not be stressed for time. Also, I received many compliments on how good the food was - we served chicken with melted goat cheese. It was delicious. I would highly recommend the Grand to anyone for ceremonies and receptions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debrandy
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
the grand was very helpful in helping me plan my wedding. the staff was wonderful! they were polite and very helpful and treated my guests and my husband and i with the utmost respect. I had a wonderful time on my wedding day. i loved it especially because we did everything at one venue, including ceremony. good times!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debvel
Wedding:
10/4/2009
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding and reception at The Grand. All of the details were taken care of to our satisfaction. We had no worries on the day of the event. We had a wonderful wait staff and contact person. All of our vendors were pleased. All of the planning--from the booking of the room, to the tasting, to the menu selection--were all very straightforward and easy. They were even able to accommodate our small (75) number of guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jvdb
Wedding:
10/10/2008
5.0/5.0
The Grand was a delight to work with. They are VERY attentive, will help you set up your menu. The tasting was amazing, and so was the final result at the wedding! They will also let you switch out some things on your menu if you get a package which was very nice. Their servers were friendly and made sure to check with guests often even though it was a buffet. Don't hesitate to use them, they do a wonderful job.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1208373782106-cblog-202mod
plaidtink
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
From start to finish, this venue was nothing short of exceptional. The site inside and out are beautiful. The food is amazing and a fantastic value for the price. They included all the linens, chairs, cake, and much more in their reasonable package pricing. The staff is fantastic too! I recommend this venue to everyone having a wedding in Southern California!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bottolino
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
I'm am so happy I chose The Grand for my wedding reception. They staff was so very helpful, the coordinator whop worked wit me (Jodi) was awesome and they just helped my whole day go by without a single problem. all of my guests loved the food, the facility was absolutley beautiful. it was the reception of my dreams. i highly recommend The Grand for the bride/groom that's look for a high quality one stop shop for their wedding reception. having it here alleviated so much stress.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adriana
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
The Grand made our 'wedding dreams' come true!!! EVERYBODY was blown away with the Grand Ballroom and the service. Lisa McIntyre is phenomenal!!! She was always available to answer our questions and made the wedding planning so easy!!! I would, and do, recommend The Grand to any couple that wants the best value for their money and a wedding that will have people talking for months....ours did!!! =)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
The Grand Long Beach responded with the following comments:

Yes, Lisa is Great. She is now overseeing some of our Operations as well, so believe me, our venue is growing, updating it's Operations department to make it even better, and we definitely keep receiving great reviews! Thank you!
Bg2
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I worked with Viviana at the Grand for our wedding event. I can't tell you how wonderful our experience with her was. She always emailed or called us back the same day, and if she was busy, she would let us know so that we weren't waiting and waiting for her.

Everyone said how good the food was. We chose the salmon and prime rib for our guests and everyone said how tasty the salmon was, and how tender the meat was. The appetizers were also a huge hit with the salmon and cracker bar. The waitstaff was polite and made sure we were okay. All our vendors had a very easy time with the Grand. The Grand provides a cake when you book with them, and we chose Torrance Bakery, which was also a pleasant experience and had the best cake.

I would highly recommend this venue for your special event. They really do take care of you, and Viviana is the sweetest person to work with there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Peekbear
Wedding:
3/1/2008
4.9/5.0
My husband and I decided to get married at the last minute. We were going to go to the court and get married and my mom and sister in law said NO WAY! So we has a month to put together a ceremony that was going to accomodate 65 guests. The Grand was AMAZING!!!! The staff was so helpful and we got the mexican buffett and the food was sooo good!! I can't tell you how many compliments we got on our wedding. Lots of parking.... You can't beat their prices either :-)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mxdcut1e
Wedding:
5/20/2011
4.9/5.0
Viviana was a great event coordinator and ensured we had an amazing event!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mayrag220
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.9/5.0
My rep was Alexandra Weiss she was very professional and very nice. My day of coordinator was Beto and he was amazing! The Master Chef kept coming in and checking in on us. The waiters were very attentive and noticed that my husband and I had been running around and brought us appetizers to our table! They were so sweet.

We had been to the tasting and loved the food but we didn't realize the portions would be so generous! We received so many compliments on the food. So many of our guests said how great the food was and they were actually full, and that usually does not happen at weddings. =)

There was one minor problem, they gave us Fruit Punch instead of Pink Lemonade but if that was the worst of my worries, I was ok with that.

I would recommend them in a heart beat.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1225741787397-dscf0011
Ytrice
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.8/5.0
I’d recommend the use of this very accommodating venue to any bride to be! The venue staff, food and location were ideal! I'm still receiving compliments on how great the food tasted the location, the wait staff and the room. Thanks for making my day special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mealoa
Wedding:
7/19/2008
4.8/5.0
Although, The Grand was not a choice we made (it is the only caterer you can have at the EBM Japanese Garden), it is the best choice in the Long Beach area. The food is so amazing, we talked them into letting us come to two tastings (I so needed one for the wedding and one for the rehearsal dinner ;). Becky was so accommodating and we got everything we wanted.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Priscilla
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.7/5.0
Very, very pleased with this reception venue. Very professional, the site it beautiful and was a perfect fit for what we were looking for. Also very accommodating to last minute changes.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
isha
Wedding:
4/29/2012
4.5/5.0
The grand has the best food i have ever tasted for a wedding. The grand was a great place to have my wedding. Alex weiss was my coordinator and she was great. My only complaints are that initially i was not told that the 5 hour reception time included my ceremony time which i was not happy about. The owner Mr. Ryan choura met with me and fixed the issue and now they have it stated in their brochure. Alex is good with responding to your emails and having you come in to talk if you have questions. The only have two food tastings a year so you will have to plan for that or pay for your own personal tasting. They dont give you alot of set up time before your event because someone could be using it before you do. Wedding rehearsals are complimentary which i was never told until one week before my wedding and i had to rehearse in another room....not too happy about that. They set up your room on your wedding day and the banquet captain...i cant remember his name.....he was so nice and professional!!! The salmon was moist from start to finish,the chicken marsala was great,strawberry lemonade was perfect,chocolate fountain was great,and we even got a few things free just for booking our wedding. Their prices for sunday wedding was the best in the whole county!!! Our package included EVErything for a great flat rate without service charge and tax......food,cake,champagne,apple cider,table,linens,microphone etc. I absolutely love this venue and will be back to celebrate our 5 or 10 year anniversary in the same monarch ballroom!! Overall this place is great but needs to get a little better with stating everything at the initial consultation.....like the little details for ceremony and rehearsal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice & John
Wedding:
3/12/2011
4.4/5.0
We recently got married at The Grand in March, and we were content with the results. My bestfriend and I had been looking everywhere for a venue that was beautiful but affordable at the same time. Upon some web research, we found that The Grand was having a promotion for 20% off. We fell in love with the Monarch room because we could meet the room minimum (150) and it was more private compared to the other rooms offered. Of course, it was booked for all the dates we wanted…but we were taken to the Grand Ballroom where they had beautiful swag hanging from the ceiling and gave a very open feel. We presented the promo we found online and raised concern about meeting the room minimum (220). Our consultant at the time was very accommodating and tried to work with our budget, since we had budgeted for a smaller guest list. She put our day and room on hold, and if offered another promo if we booked within a week (free appetizers). We put down a deposit and booked our special day! Once we booked the venue, we felt huge relief! Everything was starting to come together.

We did run into a bump in the road when we tried to reach our contact a few months later. I did not receive any response… two emails later and a week later…still no response. At this point, I was a little stressed out and called the front office, in which they informed me that our consultant was no longer with the company. I was disappointed that my emails were not being responded to and that nobody had notified us of who the new contact would be. I was quickly transferred to Viviana. She was really a doll and was responsive through the rest of the process. After we resolved the consultant issue, everything else was smooth sailing. We had our tasting, and chose the Salmon & Chicken Marsala as our entrée options.

Other than the normal items on the worry list, we were really hoping for some great food and appetizers. The Grand has about 2 tastings a year in which both prospective and currently booked clients are able to see one of the rooms dressed up and have a tasting of their menu. For appetizer, we really enjoyed the NY Strip Steak on a baguette, Ahi Tuna on cucumber slice and cheese tray. At the tasting we had options of prime rib, shrimp, salmon and chicken. We particularly enjoyed the salmon, which we chose for one of our dinner options. Our 2nd split menu was the chicken. The shrimp was nice, but we felt it was more of a side dish and it may get cold by the time it was served.

Results: We received a lot of compliments on the venue and the food. We really could not have found a better place for both the quality of food, beauty of venue and the price that it offered. It was convenient having both the ceremony & reception at the same location because guests did not have to drive around looking for the reception venue, and parking was plentiful even with another wedding going on.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.4/5.0
I had my wedding here 6/18/11. The venue was beautiful and for a banquet hall catering for 160 people, the food was better than one could expect. It was actually pretty good!
Our even manager, Alex was awesome, she helped move everything along and the whole planning process was smooth and really non eventful (which is a good thing).
The only mistake was that on the day of the wedding, they got my tablecloth color wrong. We had 45 minutes before the guests started arrving and when we found out that they messed up the color, they fixed it in less than 15 minutes for all 17 tables! So yeah they got it wrong, but they were able to correct it almost immediately which was great.
As for service, the ONLY complaint our guests had was that when they served the wedding cake, they cleared the tables before some of our guests were even able to have some cake! But if thats the worst complaint i have to mention they hey... that tells me the wedding was great!
Great value for the venue and great venue - they bundle everything up for you so nicely it really does take the stress out of wedding planning. I will definitley use them again if I ever have another large party to throw.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Brianne
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.2/5.0
I'm really glad that we chose The Grand as our wedding venue. Although I was disappointed that our salesperson would not be present on the day of my event, the staff and banquet manager bent over backwards to help us out. They provided extra details to my friends while they were setting up and were well organized and on the ball.

1) Food - The food was great, especially considering the price. Everyone loved the buffet and raved about it afterwards. I didn't get a chance to have any of our spread during cocktail hour but it seemed to be well presented and no one complained.

Our only complaint was the cake service. They refused to cut our top tier (perhaps a language barrier issue) despite my repeated request because it was a different flavor and we wanted to share it. Also, many people didn't get any cake because it wasn't left at their seats while they were dancing and no one could find it later. I have no idea where the extra cake ended up since so little of it was eaten by guests.

2) Bar - We were in the Garden Room and had the ceremony on the Palm Terrace so my guests walked past the bar on the way to the ceremony. It was great that our bartenders (who were wonderful) were already set up before the ceremony so everyone could get a drink on the way in. It actually made it a little tough to corral the guests out to the patio for the ceremony, but everyone seemed to appreciate having the cocktail tables and bar set-up so they could mingle before the wedding.

3) Ambiance - I love the decor of the venue and the unique set-up of the Garden Room. It's cozier, but not too small, and it didn't feel like your standard wedding banquet hall. The lighting is perfect without extraneous spots or up-lights.

4) Set-up - It's unfortunate that there was another wedding immediately before mine, but I guess that's what happens in June. We had limited time to set-up so I didn't get to participate at all. If you want the room to yourself all day, I recommend getting married in a less popular month.

5) Overall - Everyone loved the venue. I'm glad they have plenty of parking right next door. They are conveniently located near a Marriott Residence Inn so we had our hotel block there. You could hardly tell that there were two other weddings at the same time, except for the dance music that started blaring during my ceremony. Make sure they shut all the doors before getting married on the Palm Terrace.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michelle
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.2/5.0
The venue was perfect and my sisters wedding turned out beautiful. The wait staff were very nice and accomodating to our needs. Even our bartenders were wonderful. The set up for the ceremony was perfect and the reception set up was more than I expected.

Our consultant Natalia was very helpful in the beginning of the process but as things had to change due to some personal matters, she became a liitle harsh with us. I feel that as our consultant it would of been nice to see her on the day of our event and to ask us how things were going.

I would recommend this venue for weddings, or any big event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.1/5.0
Loved my evening at the Grand! We felt like VIP's all night, and we're still getting raves about our food! What a night!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristinalan2
Wedding:
9/28/2007
4.0/5.0
The room we used was so beautiful and flexible due to the all wood floor. The linens were very nice. The food was excellent and worth the month. They worked with us and our budget. I would recommend this location to anyone who wants to have their ceremony and reception in one location. The location is easily accessible from the freeway.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
contrarymary
Wedding:
10/17/2009
3.9/5.0
We had our wedding in October 09 in the Garden room and we had Natalia as our coordinator. We booked our event in March. I made a lot of changes during our wedding planning and didn't know that we were locked in to a much higher rate. No one ever tells you this during your wedding planning. I would suggest not to over estimate how many guests you will have and choose the cheapest menu plan possible (this is a suggestion for whichever caterer or reception you get). You never know what will happen down the road. You can always upgrade, but never downgrade at venues.
I had wanted to downgrade my bar tab, and they couldn't accomodate that. I also wanted signature drinks, and they couldn't accomodate that unless i upgraded to the platinum buffet. I had thought I would have at least 100 adults and 20 children, so I guessed at 100 people. We only ended up with 80 adults and 20 kids, so I still ended up paying for 100 adults.
For the most part, they were able to accomodate my many requests. Natalia was quick with responses via email, she was very professional. The presentation of the buffet was nice, the setup of the tables was nice, everyone loved our bar area, it was so art deco-ish. The food seemed good to me, the buffet was plentiful along with our chocolate fountain. But a few of our guests did say that the food wasn't great but to each his own I guess. The patio area was great! We had our photobooth out there and a few cocktail tables for our smokers.
We had our wedding on a hot Saturday night and the whole venue was PACKED. Every single reception room in the place had a party and people were kind of crashing all the different parties (I didn't mind too much, my guests were doing it too) so be prepared if you pick a Saturday night or a busy Summer or Fall night.
It was a fun reception venue for the actual day. Got a lot of compliments from guests.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharyl
Wedding:
8/11/2007
3.9/5.0
The place books up quickly but guest service representatives are helpful and accomodating. We were able to customize our menu according to our needs as well as the price per person. Waiting staff are corteous and friendly.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
The Grand Long Beach responded with the following comments:

That's our signature, we're proud to be family run, to be flexible, friendly, and always willing to "work with you!" to make YOU happy...Thanks for the great reviews!
Bg8
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
Yummy food! A little pricy, but they did a wonderful job.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
3/26/2010
3.5/5.0
Natalia was great but no longer works at this venue. The rest of the staff I encountered was average. My recommendation is this, if you want an affordable event, book a Friday night special with this venue (one of the best deals in town) but carefully scrutinize the contract at every revision, and make sure your gifts aren't left unattended.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1318823572882-mikeandme
christym
Wedding:
7/31/2010
2.2/5.0
My husband and i were having our reception here for our wedding.
In the beginning we chose them because they were right down the street from our wedding location, about a mile down the road. We liked the room and the price was within our budget. Parking was easy in the garage and the room was nice.

Cons: If you book an event with them that is in the evening, there could possibly be an event BEFORE yours, which means your vendors will not be able to set up there and no one will be allowed in until a certain time.

We were told the earliest our event could start was 6pm when our ceremony ended at 3pm. This was their exact words "Sorry, ALL of our events begin at six or later-The only way to begin earlier is if you buy out the morning which is $3800."

We were trying to follow a sensible budget here and that was a lot to ask for the morning time which we weren't going to even use!!!

We had an issue as we had been communicating with one of the reps there and she just did not communicate to us certain important issues, for example we wanted to do the food tasting and had scheduled our flight and everything for it ( we live in Bay Area) and it changed, and no one bothered to notify us! We actually called THEM, and then found out.

In the contract it did not state to rent the draping to decorate the room included tax/tip, only that it was a flat rate. No one told us this, so when we asked we were told that's just "how it was". Luckily the manager Lisa stepped in and talked to us about it and why those fee's were charged.

Cons:
We had to do the tasting for the food selection and meet with our rep and they wanted two different meetings for that, when they knew we were located 6 hours away and couldn't make our way down there that easy
We were told they could not help us with any of our set up, luckily my florist was more easy going and sweet about that and helped out. Also my groomsmen right before the wedding had to go over there to set up the favors because the grand would not do that. I thought that was not very accommodating.
We did end up going to the tasting, and vegetables were WAY over cooked. I wasn't impressed with the food as much, the chocolate fondue fountain was great though.
We weren't told who our "captain" was and didn't have a phone number for them until a day prior to the actual wedding date. That was stressful because there was no one to talk to in case something were to change!!
They charge a corking fee if you bring your own, we were only bringing one bottle so the fee was waived.

After having many issues with them, I felt as if they were trying to be more accommodating but before that I felt they were just trying to charge us and make money. And there were many misunderstandings about things making it difficult for us to work with them.

Pros: General manager was accommodating if there was an issue brought to their attention.
They were willing to set up a private tasting for us even though it wouldn't include all the dishes at the real tasting, but this was only because no one told us the date and time had changed.
They were good mostly about emailing us back when we had questions, but somehow it seemed like we always had to ask the question rather than them telling us. They wouldn't go out of their way to tell us otherwise.
I asked about using the bridal private suite for bustling and they said that was okay.
They had promotions such as for booking early they gave us some h'orderves no charge.
They paid for the most expensive h'orderves so we only had to pay for the lesser amount.
Our video camera was left and luckily someone put it in a room with our name on it and the janitor helped us get it, which was great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renesita2009
Wedding:
9/5/2009
0.5/5.0
I was helped by Natalia and I was planning on getting married in August with this venue. I gave my deposit of 2000 dollars and had asked for the largest room because at the time I was planning on having 250 guests. Since the economy started to effect us financially I asked Natalia if we could use one of the smaller rooms instead since we were financially not able to accommodate 250 people. We wanted to reduce it by 200. She told me there was nothing she could do because I had signed a contract and they could not change it. I told her that I still wanted my wedding there I just could not afford to have as many guests. She told me the only thing I could do was give another deposit for another room if I wanted to do it there. I lost my 2000 dollars and will never do business there again. Although it actually worked out for the best I had my wedding at the Skylinks where I didn't have to share the venue with anyone else. Also at the Skylinks they have a beautiful waterfall and wonderful landscape I was able to take wonderful pictures there for my wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Grand Long Beach responded with the following comments:

Dear "Renesita2009" as I mentioned on your "guestbook" I'm sorry things turned out this way for your event. I was just following the rules of our location: Deposits are non-refundable, and non-transferable. I wish that with these economic times we could be more gentile about these situations, but it's just an established Term & Condition (signed by ALL CLIENTS at the time of booking) and we can't budge, I'm sorry about that. I wish we could have found a way to still host your event, but again, I was following the guidelines of the location. I'm still glad you were able to celebrate this most important occasion and that Skylinks took good care of you.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.2/5.0
Daughter's Reception - Initially signed up with Alex Weiss who was awesome. However, she left shortly after we signed up, and it was all downhill after that. After the first week of trying to make contact with someone, I told my daughter she should probably move the Reception because the service we received now demonstrates the type of service we will receive later. However, the representative assigned assured us things would get better. Must I say, there were poor responsiveness up to a month before the reception, it took at least three attempts to get some type of response. Then, ONE WEEK before the reception, I did not receive a response from the coordinator until after making several calls and leaving numerous voicemails until TWO DAYS before, wherein she was requesting full payment, and I was still waiting on answers to questions. On day of reception, servers did not smile. They were very DRY. There were a number of missing items requested by my daughter that were not there (strawberry lemonade, mojitos, coffee, tea). The coordinator promised to be onsite (up to and including day before the reception) and did not show up nor was there a backup, so with missing items was told by head server "not in contract." When contacted coordinator, she said, "oh they must have had an old contract." As mother-of-bride, while walking around greeting guests, servers served salad, and when I asked for a salad, it was like they scraped the bottom of the bowl or gave me someone's leftovers. Then for the toast, I asked for champagne, it took about five minutes before the server returned, the glass was the size of a child's toy champagne glass, and it was less than 1/2 full. The room was setup correctly and the food was excellent. However, I should have followed my first mind and selected another venue. Even though I tried to stay on top of things, because it was on the day that the Grand did not follow through on - which was unfortunately, too late to mend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
4101 East Willow Street, Long Beach, CA 90815 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Grand Long Beach
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo