130x130_sq_1277465451500-pic6

The Grateful Head

Northport , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Northport, NY US 11768 (map)

PHONE

631-988-2633

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Lauren and Shab are licensed beauty professionals who each have over 10 years in the hair and makeup industry.

Their experience is a culmination of creative and fabulous... Read more
Lauren and Shab are licensed beauty professionals who each have over 10 years in the hair and makeup industry.

Their experience is a culmination of creative and fabulous careers spent working in New York-area salons, as well as training with international designers to hone their cutting-edge design concepts and techniques.

The sole focus of their wedding hair and makeup business is on making the experience of your wedding day a seamless, fun and memorable one.

The Grateful Head is available year round. Lauren and Shab can accommodate wedding parties at the salon on the North Shore of Long Island, or they can travel to you.

Lauren and Shab are flexible, accommodating, and an exquisite pair of beauty professionals. Call soon to schedule your bridal trial or consultation. And remember, even though your wedding lasts one day, it's the pictures that will last forever... The Grateful Head will have you looking your best for both!

Lauren78@mac.com


http://www.myweddinghairandmakeup.com/ Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1277465483828-pic5
130x130_sq_1277465501078-pic7
130x130_sq_1296845188139-img0222
130x130_sq_1296845198124-img0531
130x130_sq_1296845177671-img0182
130x130_sq_1295891539264-img2957
130x130_sq_1295891533154-img2954
130x130_sq_1295891523435-img2383
130x130_sq_1295891529513-img3034
130x130_sq_1295891550795-img0012
130x130_sq_1295891559764-img0008
130x130_sq_1295891566718-img2239
130x130_sq_1295891568358-img3143
130x130_sq_1295891703691-img2623
130x130_sq_1295891575859-img2734
130x130_sq_1295891585046-img2471
130x130_sq_1295891591547-img2470
130x130_sq_1295891600812-img2648
130x130_sq_1295891695190-img2647
130x130_sq_1295891689878-img2609
130x130_sq_1295891700409-img2520

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Facial, Gym, Hair, Makeup, Manicure / Pedicure, Massage, Spa
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes
Do you charge for trials?
Yes. about $75 hair $75 makeup
Do you specialize in textured hair?
Yes
Do you provide any specialty services? (airbrushing, hair extensions, etc.)
I work with a stylist that customizes hair extensions and pieces to the hairstyle headshape and exact color matching
Do you travel to the client on the day of the event? If yes, is there a fee?
We travel anywhere needed! depending on how far and how early we start most of the time there is no travel fee
How many customers can you serve at one time if the bride were to book her entire bridal party? Are there discounts for doing so?
I have a team. So depending on the amount we can have another styist there to get everyone ready in half the time.
How far in advance should clients book your services?
ASAP! especially if the wedding is in high season or on a holiday weekend
What is your cancellation policy?
60 days before

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/7/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved Lauren and can't thank her enough for doing everyone's hair so amazing!! The day of my wedding was a monsoon and everyones hair held up perfectly. Lauren traveled to the hotel to do 5 people's hair which made the morning easier and laid back for everyone in the wedding. A billion thanks to you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
My mom and I have been having our hair Japanese straightened for the past 7-8 years, so naturally I would want to wear it curly the day of my wedding. I had no hair stylist in mind when I found Lauren through Wedding Wire, I just fell in love with the pictures that were posted and saw she had great reviews. After working with her, I can honestly tell you, the reviews are well deserved! I went into my trial not expecting to like it. I've had my hair done many times and have always asked why did I bother. I explained to Lauren how I wanted big, loose curls. Having worked with straightened hair before, she started making tight curls and said "trust me!" My anxiety kept me from looking, however 20 min later after all the curls had fallen, I can't think of any other word to describe how it looked, but...perfect!!! She knew exactly what she was doing and it was EXACTLY what I wanted!!! From trial to wedding day, Lauren answered every question I emailed or called her about immediately. She came to the bridal suite early (perk!) and did an amazing job making me, my mom and bridesmaids look perfect! I highly recommend Lauren! It's easy to see she loves what she does, was professional and a pleasure to work with!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kdfagan21
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Lauren (hair), Erica (hair) and Alia (makeup) were amazing! I had a huge bridal party (11 bridesmaids, mom and me!) and everyone looked beautiful after a crazy jam packed morning.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I was such a pain in the ass to Lauren and she didn't care. I couldn't decide between up or down so she tried them all. Finally I decided up because my hair would annoy me. I didn't want it severe or all piled up on my head. She came up with a low bun of sorts. It was beautiful most importantly I was married during a north eastern and my hair stayed exactly how she left it until I took the pins out about 14 hours later . No one can do color like her either!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Lauren was AMAZING!!!! She was extremely easy to get in touch with and discuss different options for my hair. She made getting ready before the wedding easy and stress free. She truly works wonders!! My hair lasted the entire night (at a windy location). I would recommend her to anyone that will listen to me! :) thanks so much!!!!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ita92001
Wedding:
6/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Lauren did an excellent job with my hair for my wedding. My hair is very curly and it came out amazing. I would highly recommend her.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christennicole
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with the services provided by The Grateful Head. Lauren and Shab are professional, creative, and extremely talented. The two make an excellent pair, one complimenting the other both in personality and in style. They not only made my bridal party and I look amazing, but they also added a fun energy to the day that made for a relaxed environment. Leading up to the wedding they were easy to get in touch with and very accommodating. They both listened to my vision while offering suggestions to improve on my ideas. Lauren and Shab took care of a bridal party of 5, plus my mom and me. Everyone really looked gorgeous, my mom had never had an updo before (ever) and her hair looked awesome. She couldn't have been happier. The girls were taken care of in a very timely matter without losing any attention to detail. I referred my cousin to The Grateful Head for her wedding 4 months later and she had the same excellent experience. She, her brided maids and her mom truly looked gorgeous. I don't know what else a bride could ask for; a pair of talented/thoughtful individuals available to take calls, answer questions and provide a fun and calming feel on your wedding day while producing high quality work.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Lauren and Erica were absolutely amazing. My hair is usually difficult to work with yet you would never know it with the magic they worked. They were so friendly and made the morning of my wedding amazing and stress free! If I could give them 10 stars I would!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Romo24
Wedding:
11/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Lauren and Shab are AMAZING!!!!! They made my day completly stress free. It was such a pleasure to work with them. My bridal party and family were all taken care of. They were even able to do hair and make up for extra people that were at the house with us. We were all so happy with the results. My hair didnt fall and make up stayed all night long(9hours!)!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
The Grateful Head was fantastic for my wedding. They were extremely accomodating - they came right to my house so we didnt have to go to a salon and they came at the time that I asked. They made everyone in the wedding party feel comfortable and did everyones hair exactly as asked and if the person wanted anything different, they were more than happy to do it. It was a pleasure having them do my wedding party and I would recommend them to anyone! If you want to be satisfied with your hair, feel relaxed before the wedding, and have faith that you will come out looking beautiful and how you have always wished, go with The Grateful Head! I could be more satisfied!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Reese
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Lauren and her team made the whole experience of getting beautified on my wedding day a memorable one. Relaxed yet in control, she was able to commandeer my wedding party of eight, plus myself, in the most efficient manner (which is no easy feat if you know my MIL)!! The hair, the makeup... we all came out looking goregous -- the Grateful Head comes with the highest recommendation from me!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nybrideindc
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
I love, love, love Lauren and Shab. My trials were great and I knew right away I had to book them. My bridesmaids and I had a great time getting ready with them and I felt absolutely gorgeous the day of my wedding. Their prices were fair and their services were stellar. I'd recommend them beyond a shadow of a doubt.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RUBY
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
The service was perfect!
Lauren came to me at the beach house.
She did a phenomenal job with my hair.
She was pleasant to work with.
My make up was flawless.
The pictures don't lie!

PLUS, the hair and makeup was AFFORDABLE!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pfried66
Wedding:
9/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Lauren is the real thing! I am the luckiest to have had her do my hair on my wedding day. A joy to know. Sensitive and funny. And so talented to boot! I still get compliments (three years later)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Egangi
Wedding:
8/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Lauren was wonderful to work with; she not only provided professional service and beautiful work, she helped to keep me calm on my wedding day and that in itself is priceless. I recommend that any bride or anyone who wants to look beautiful work with Lauren for their event.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzybear
Wedding:
6/19/2004
5.0/5.0
The Grateful Head is a wonderful vendor! Lauren is very professional and accommodatting! Since using Lauren's services for my own wedding in 2004, I have referred The Grateful Head to my aunts and cousins for three weddings, a prom and Lauren will be doing our hair for my brother's wedding next month! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
reena
Wedding:
9/25/2011
4.9/5.0
Lauren is the best she is amazing! I highly recommend her! My hair lasted all day and night in extreme heat. Thanks lauren!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jck
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.9/5.0
I got married on June 11th and I was more than happy with the results. Lauren did a low side ponytail in curls and I got so many compliments on it. It held up throughout the day even in the humidity. She contributed to an amazing day. Thank you Lauren!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.8/5.0
Lauren & Shab did an amazing job on my and my bridesmaids' hair & makeup. They listen to what you want, will give input/opinion as to styles etc., and they do amazing work. They are absolutely flexible and will perfectly advise you as to what is needed to accomodate your wedding day schedule - they came to my home at 4am! We loved them so much that they'll be traveling 2 hours to make it to my MOH's wedding to do all of our hair & makeup again!! Would absolutely recommend them!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AmeliaDM
Wedding:
8/12/2011
4.7/5.0
Lauren and Shab were fantastic to work with! Everyone's hair and make up was perfect. I called about 20 different vendors and could not find anyone that offered a better price. They don't charge more for the Bride which is huge (most place charge $200 more for the bride) and charged less for my Grandma since she had such short hair. They were really fun to hang out with while we got ready as well. They are both very busy so if you don't get an email back from them right away, know that they will respond to you. These ladies are in high demand! I would highly recommend them and couldn't be happier with how everyone's hair and make up came out. Thank you again Lauren and Shab for making us all look so beautiful on my big day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FutureMrsILT
Wedding:
4/17/2011
4.6/5.0
They worked with me to make my hair and makeup EXACTLY what I wanted and they came to me!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
myjunewed
Wedding:
6/13/2010
4.4/5.0
Lauren was amazing on my special day! She did a fabulous job on my hair, my moms and some other friends and family and I just loved it! She is also very nice and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend her as a stylist for your special day.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
danielle
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.2/5.0
Used Lauren for my hair and Shab for my make-up. They are lovely, gifted ladies who are very professional and a pleasure to work with. They did a great job and I was very pleased on my wedding day
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
Northport, NY 11768 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Grateful Head
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1277465451500-pic6