130x130_sq_1320414597400-04973795

The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck

Rhinebeck , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

41 Pitcher Rd
Rhinebeck, NY US 12572 (map)

PHONE

845-876-3974

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Lisa and The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck have the unique ability to connect and interpret her Brides' vision and the ability to focus on what is important to the Bride in order to make Her... Read more
Lisa and The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck have the unique ability to connect and interpret her Brides' vision and the ability to focus on what is important to the Bride in order to make Her Wedding Day the most Beautiful Memorable Day. The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck offers a pleasurable and Professional experience. For More information, please call 845-876-3974 Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1320766102560-jilliancp
130x130_sq_1320766125757-jilliancp1
130x130_sq_1320766147160-jilliancp2
130x130_sq_1320766167362-jilliancp3
130x130_sq_1366918161992-greenhouse1
130x130_sq_1366918164835-greenhouse2
130x130_sq_1366918167183-greenhouse3
130x130_sq_1366918174599-greenhouse4
130x130_sq_1366918181278-greenhouse5
130x130_sq_1366918182484-greenhouse6
130x130_sq_1366918184497-greenhouse7
130x130_sq_1366918186603-greenhouse8
130x130_sq_1366918188341-greenhouse9
130x130_sq_1366918189875-greenhouse10
130x130_sq_1366918191792-greenhouse11

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I came to Lisa with a few pictures of what I was looking for, some wine bottle vases that I had made and told her we were having the reception at the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome. She was very creative and understanding! She came up with a centerpiece display and even made one to show me some options before I purchased anything or signed a contract. She was a great help and took a lot of stress off of me as the wedding got closer! She delivered my flowers and the bridesmaids flowers to the church and then set up all of the centerpieces at the Aerodrome before anyone got there. She met with me a few times before the wedding just to confirm everything and to get the rest of the vases and map roses that I had made.
She was very affordable and so great to work with!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rschw12012
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
There were 56 guests at our celebration and each and every one said "who did the flowers", "the arrangements are the most beautiful I've ever seen", and the most common refrain - "um, you're not planning on taking ALL of those home with you, are you?

If you are planniing an event, Lisa of The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck is the person to see. She listens to your preferences and then interprets them in the most magnificent way. She is a pleasure to work with and has an amazibng sense of beauty and style. We can't thank her enough for making our celebration such a beautiful one.

Rai and Bonnie
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcy
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Craig Hepler at The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck!! He was an amazing and essential part of our wedding planning process, guiding us through each step of the way. He asked us a lot of questions about our likes, dislikes, vision, family and overall wedding goals. He made lots of fantastic suggestions and was very open to our feedback.

From our very first meeting, we knew we were in good hands with Craig as he helped us select the perfect flowers, the best arrangements and he thought of all the little details we never would have considered. He called when he said he would call. He emailed when he said he would email. He was available whenever we needed him. He opened early to meet our schedule. He met with our caterer and went to the reception site in advance, multiple times, without us even asking (what did we know?). He also helped us with style-related questions that we just didn't know much about: what color linens? where do guests put gift cards? what kind of set-up should we have for place cards? what arrangements should we have around our cake? He even told us how to solve wedding-related problems that had nothing to do with flowers... he was such an amazing resource and had such great attention to detail.

And... that's only half of the story. The rest of the story was the unbelievable FLOWERS. As we requested, Craig delivered the bouquets and boutonnieres to the church. They were GORGEOUS! Each bouquet was in its own vase, keeping it fresh while awaiting our arrival. Beside each vase were paper towels to dry the bottom of each bouquet. Who thinks of that level of detail?! Amazing. The bouquets and boutonnieres were exactly what we discussed but so much more than we imagined. Beautiful. Creative. Unique. Every guest commented. I felt like a princess carrying my beautiful bouquet down the aisle.

And then we arrived at our ceremony location. We walked through the doors and were completely wowed by the beauty of the arrangements. You couldn't miss these beautiful flowers!! Everywhere!! Everything was arranged just as we discussed it and, again, it was way beyond our expectations. On each table the centerpiece truly was a CENTERPIECE. We elected to have small, intimate, rectangular tables of six so we didn't want flowers to impede conversation nor did we want them overpowering the tables... Craig knew just what to offer: low, rectangular 'envelope' vases with a unique arrangement on either side of the vase and a floating candle in the center. Again, exactly what we asked for but way beyond what we imagined in terms of beauty and creativity. Our guests could not stop gushing about the flowers and people were falling all over themselves to take home these flowers at the end of our reception.

Overall, our experience with Craig was incredible. We would recommend him and his work to any bride and groom who want beyond-all-expectations flowers and top-notch service.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DCS92411
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Craig Helper, floral designer at The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck, is THE BEST in the area. I recently got married in September, and Craig was able to assist me in all of my floral planning. From start to finish, the level of professionalism, attention, cooperation, and communication was impeccable.

The quality of service exceeded my expectations. Anytime I had a question or concern, Craig was there to help. He offered USEFUL and helpful advice! He was able to take my vision and enhance it a hundred fold. The flowers were extremely high quality and the designs were unique. To put it simply, his work is art.

The level of professionalism was also very satisfying. Again, Craig was always available to speak with if I ever had any questions. He was able to coordinate with my wedding planner regarding details. Craig was extremely timely in planning and executing all designs and preparations.

The value of the service and the product went beyond anything I could have hoped for. Our wedding was filled with lush orchids and other high end flowers. All of the flowers looked like they were hand picked that morning. All arrangements and bouquets were absolutely stunning. At the end of the reception, I had people fighting over who would take a center piece home! Everyone wanted a piece of Craig's floral artwork to take home!

I cannot express how grateful and appreciative I am of The Greenhouse of Rhinebeck and Craig's work. The designs of the flowers MADE my wedding day perfect. If you are seeking a floral designer--do not look elsewhere. This florist is the place to use and the quality of design cannot be beat.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
After looking at this site, I feel I must respond the unfortunate review that was written above. While I feel terrible that the bride had such a difficult experience with Lisa, my experience was the complete opposite. Not only does Lisa have excellent taste but she was also a true professional and a lovely person!

Lisa was recommended to me by a local venue that had used her for several weddings and events. I live in the city and was only up in the Rhinecliff area for the weekend to make some arrangements for the wedding, so my husband and I just stopped by her barn. While I didn’t have my wedding there, the space is beautiful. It is filled with most elegant details including exposed wood and a delightful chandelier. Luckily, Lisa has some time to talk us through the process and we shared some ideas. I knew right away that she was creative, thoughtful, fun and most of all a great listener.

I don’t know a whole lot about flowers, but I had an idea of what I like. She immediately latched on and suggested all the perfect compliments to my ideas. Even her vases and candle holders were perfectly in line with my thoughts. While I didn't have a ton of money to spend on the vases, she rented some of her most expensive pieces to us for the wedding.

After our first meeting we had a number of phone calls and visits with her. All were excellent as she continued to refine all the small details. I often felt badly popping in with a new item that I wanted to add to the arrangement or a new idea, but she was wonderful and just got more excited by each new idea. As the day approached my husband and I were laboring over the final details of the seating arrangement. When we mentioned what we were trying to create, she showed us a stunning seating table that she had created for another couple and offered to give it to us as a gift. Needless to say I was so touched.

Unfortunately for me, the weekend of my wedding was the same weekend as Hurricane Irene. Considering the circumstances both my husband and I were fairly stressed that our vendors would have some difficulty fulfilling their contacts. While one of my vendors was eager to leave early and escape the rain, Lisa stayed until every last detail was perfectly placed. She transformed the space and my only wish was that there were more pictures that could do her beautiful work justice.

All in all Lisa an excellent florist. She is strategic yet creative, intellectual yet witty, instantly reactive but always proactive, and beloved by both myself and my husband. But, perhaps most importantly, Lisa is accountable and results oriented and well respected by everyone she interacts with. She would be a great resource for any bride- I can't say enough great things about Lisa.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Izzybell
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We checked out a few different florist until we happened upon the Craig Helper, floral designer, at The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck. It turned out the floral shop wasn't open that day, but Craig was there. He sat us down and we let him know of our plans and discussed the type of floral arrangements we wanted. Craig went into the other room and came out with a beautiful floral arrangement based on what we told him. It was perfect. We ended up signing a contract that day. Craig was so very helpful. We even asked him what color to use for the table cloths and went with the color he recommended. The day of our wedding, which was the day of hurricane Irene, our arrangements were delivered on time and they were even more beautiful than we expected. We highly recommend Craig Helper at The Greenhouse in Rhinebeck. I forgot to add that we told him the price range we wanted to spend and he stayed well within our budget. We couldn't have had a better experience- it was perfect.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
C&S
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Lisa and Dan were such a blessing to us. Such warm, professional, classy and charismatic people. Lisa went above and beyond to make our wedding beautiful.
She truly loves what she does, and it shows through her enthusiasm and eagerness to please the bride...lucky me :)
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JillianKedzie
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Words can not express what a pleasure it was to work with Lisa at The Greenhouse!! She is sweet, creative, fun, personable, and understands you’re budget needs. Her ideas are fantastic and she is always willing to go above and beyond to accommodate your vision. I was a bride who had a pretty good idea of what I wanted, but if you are unsure, let her guide you. She has incredible style and a great eye for detail. Lisa can make your floral dreams a reality! I can not say enough about her creative genius and what a pleasure it was to work with her. She was my favorite vendor by far!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend the Greenhouse at Rhinebeck. Craig really took the time with us to understand our vision and theme for our wedding day. He was patient, flexible and extremely organized. We put all of our trust in Craig and he did not let us down. He is not only a professional but a true artist and perfectionist. When I think back on our wedding day I mostly remember how beautiful our arrangements were and how it helped to set the tone for our wedding day. If you are looking for a florist to help create your vision Craig is your man.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
My flowers and the entire process was beyond my expectations. Craig went absolutely out of his way to help me create the vision I had for my wedding. The flowers were vibrant, beautiful, full of health and prepared with the utmost respect and care.

I highly recommend using these guys!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Lisa went way out of her way to not only create an astounding presentation of flowers and decor but she literally transformed an otherwise bleck room into a beautiful, classy space. Best part: I almost had no hand in it. As a busy bride, I had bigger things to worry about. I communicated my general desires and she just led the way. I literally didn't think about the flowers or decor after our first meeting because I didn't have to. I trusted her to "get" me and our vibe and she did. Then, she astounded us by super-serving us way beyond our expectations. My husband's mom, who paid for the flowers, was so proud. It was actually the number one complement... people couldn't stop talking about the flowers. We had several unusual spaces and she creatively tied them all together which... let me tell you... was a tough challenge. Plus, our budget was small and Lisa made it look like we spent a ton. Really. My relatives really thought we had spent four or five times more than we actually spent. They fought over who would take them home! We couldn't have been more fortunate to find her. I can't recommend her and her staff enough. I wish I was getting married again!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mn0511
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Craig Hepler was amazing as was The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck. Everything went as planned and the flowers looked amazing. I would recommend them and use them again if need be.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
8/31/2013
4.8/5.0
I hosted a Rehearsal Dinner for 30 people at The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck, and it was wonderful. Lisa is creative and flexible, understands what you will like, and is very accommodating of special requests. I wish I could attach a picture of the table "fully loaded" for the guests.....many of them were just blown away by how nice it looked, and that was a joint effort by Lisa, me, Lola's Cafe and Catering, and First Impressions Event Planners of the Hudson Valley. The table concept and "dress" were mine, and the flowers were all Lisa, including some last-minute innovations which in my opinion pretty much doubled the visual impact of the whole thing. I was and am SO HAPPY with the way that table turned out.
Being able to have cocktails upstairs while waiting for everyone to arrive from the rehearsal, together with a place to show the wedding video, made everything flow smoothly. The lighting is lovely and warm, as is the gorgeous wood panelling....this was a wonderful place for our very special occasion.
It is true that sometimes Lisa does not return phone calls as quickly as one might hope, but nothing fell through the cracks.....no injury, no foul, sez I!
The fees for both the venue and the flowers were reasonable, which was important!
In short, I recommend The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck most heartily!
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sara
Wedding:
9/24/2011
1.2/5.0
Everyone has their strengths and weaknesses. Because of this, I try to give people the benefit of the doubt. So, when I had some initial uneasy feelings about hiring Lisa R, owner and head florist of The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck, to be our florist and secured the greenhouse barn for our venue, I gave her the benefit of the doubt. This was a huge mistake.

First I will acknowledge Lisa’s strengths. Lisa is amazingly creative at arranging flowers. She has a well-developed eye for aesthetics as evidenced by the incredibly beautiful renovated barn on the property, which was our wedding venue. There is no questioning her talent; her work is absolutely stunning.

My objective is to focus on facts here.

Responsiveness: Lisa is unpredictable. According to my records, she only did what she said she would do twice. To her credit, she did meet me at the linen showroom to discuss colors. However, my hope is that the following example will provide insight into how horrible my experience was in working with her. It was the WEEK of our wedding (to happen at The Greenhouse). I had been asking Lisa for the past 3 WEEKS to email me a final total for the flowers. I emailed her, I called her cell phone (and spoke directly to her and she reported she would send it at once!), I left messages at the shop. No response from her. I was left to resort to behaviors I’m not proud of. I left a VM message for her on her cell phone stating that I will be calling her every hour until I heard from her (remember, it was the WEEK of our wedding). It took 3 hours to hear from her.

Professionalism: I received the final total the day I called every hour. The total was $1000 MORE than previously discussed. As a result of this increase, I wanted to make changes. Lisa called my home that night at 10pm ranting and raving that we could not make any changes. My now husband took the call, I was 2 rooms away and could hear her screaming. She was irrational and threatened to CANCEL our wedding that was only 3 DAYS away! I was really confused as this felt like it came out of the blue. Furthermore, during that call she demanded that we pay her in CASH the very next day for the flowers and the final venue payment (even though I was asking for this total for 3 WEEKS, and we sent a check earlier in the week for the barn). Out of fear that she would cancel the wedding, we complied with her request and as a result, paid $1000 MORE for our flowers. It was not practical for either of us to leave our jobs the next day and drop of the cash. Lisa, EXTREMELY irritated, provided us with a UPS account to overnight a check. We did this. It turns out however, that he USP account was cancelled; as a result, she stuck us with the bill.

The centerpiece example. I LOVED my original centerpieces. I approved to have a smaller centerpiece that the trial one in order to reduce cost (this decision was made prior to the final price list). The day before the wedding, I viewed the final pieces. They nearly completely different! Lisa reported that they were the same. They were not. She stated she took a picture of the original (I STRONGLY DOUBT THIS). I did not ask to see the picture for fear that she would become irrational and cancel our wedding. To her credit, she took the UNREQUESTED yellow roses out of the arrangement as per my friend’s request on my behalf.

Our caterer further validated her lack of professionalism when they reported she did not show up when she said she would for their walk through. They fortunately let themselves into the building. They also reported that it was very difficult to have her return their calls.

The rental company also reported that she refused to allow them to drop off equipment when they “needed to” (this is according to them) she allowed this to occur only the DAY before our wedding.

Value: I did not “shop around” therefore, I’m not sure I can speak to this. My husband feels that given the quality of flowers, the value feels “about right”. I feel I can not accurately report on this because of my experience with Lisa’s level of responsiveness, and professionalism.

Flexibility: Lisa was flexible with her creativity.

For future brides: The venue is beautiful. No doubt about it. I will however, only accommodate 80 people. Lisa told us that it would hold 100. This is not true. We had 85 and it was VERY tight. It was worth dealing with her level of professionalism and responsiveness for the venue. I would however, STRONGLY ENCOURAGE selecting another florist.

For me, as a bride, it was important that I could trust people. I needed to work with vendors who did what they said they would do. Lisa did not do this.
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
41 Pitcher Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Greenhouse at Rhinebeck
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo