130x130 sq 1375821830535 fondant wedding cake with monogram and white roses with gold and pink centers

The Happy Tart

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2307A Mount Vernon Avenue
Alexandria, VA 22301 US (map)

PHONE

571-244-3662

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

“When life gives you lemons, make lemon curd”, perhaps I misquoted a tad, however, that is the philosophy behind The Happy Tart. I discovered I was gluten intolerant while attending the... Read more
“When life gives you lemons, make lemon curd”, perhaps I misquoted a tad, however, that is the philosophy behind The Happy Tart. I discovered I was gluten intolerant while attending the Professional Pastry Arts program at L’Academie de Cuisine. Instead of dropping out I was determined to discover a way to make French Pastries and Cakes Gluten Free.

I spent a year researching and baking and tasting and researching again, to come up with gluten free French pastries and Cakes. My staff uses French baking techniques to make the best tasting and most beautiful pastries and cakes. We believe that every Bride and Groom should have a beautiful and delicious wedding cake on their wedding day. One that they and their guests can all enjoy. We meet with each couple at the bakery to design the cake of their dreams. Give us a call today at 571-244-3662 to set up a tasting appointment! Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1375820430589 fondant wedding cake with monogram and white roses with gold and pink centers
130x130 sq 1374606886968 fondant wedding cake with brocade lace and floating tiers
130x130 sq 1365609601651 buttercream wedding cake with frosted fall fruit
130x130 sq 1396797654173 2014011713381
130x130 sq 1404062240155 fondant sari cake
130x130 sq 1391456490700 wedding cake and macarons dessert tabl
130x130 sq 1375820900742 white chocolate curls and crystalized lilacs and violets wedding cake
130x130 sq 1391456099185 crimson holly wedding cak
130x130 sq 1391456249720 rectangular magnolia wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062316220 silver and blue art deco cake
130x130 sq 1424459730193 2014 08 23 14.14.18.1
130x130 sq 1404062142429 buttercream wedding cake with purple lace ribbon p
130x130 sq 1424459830552 2014 11 10 15.02.38.1
130x130 sq 1391456150936 gold scrollwork wedding cake with red rose
130x130 sq 1391456200261 ombre chevrons wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062283230 macaron wedding cake with modeling chocolate capit
130x130 sq 1404062197479 dessert table red white and blue wedding
130x130 sq 1365609632318 fondant wedding cake with black ribbon dots and monogram
130x130 sq 1384181811820 kendal wedding cak
130x130 sq 1384181840715 white fondant wedding cake with grey dots and pink
130x130 sq 1404062268224 gold painted buttercream wedding cake with net pip
130x130 sq 1384181674001 autumn flowers wedding cak
130x130 sq 1384183564389 buttercream wedding cake with crystalized rose
130x130 sq 1390842050910 forget me not wedding cak
130x130 sq 1391456063515 calla lilly wedding cak
130x130 sq 1396797823910 buttercream cake with scrollwork and deer toppe
130x130 sq 1404062208377 dragged buttercream cake with peach roses and forg
130x130 sq 1396797810900 blue spiral wedding cake with floating flower
130x130 sq 1404062252915 fondant wedding cake with sports logos chevrons an
130x130 sq 1390842061596 textured wave wedding cak
130x130 sq 1375822723814 green buttercream wedding cake
130x130 sq 1384181753357 buttercream wedding cake with purple modeling choc
130x130 sq 1396797793957 2013080817484
130x130 sq 1365110838501 cottage rose wedding cake
130x130 sq 1396797688785 2013110115090
130x130 sq 1404062298852 naked wedding cake with hydrangeas
130x130 sq 1404062097144 buttercream wedding cake with dots and white roses
130x130 sq 1404062159336 buttercream wedding cake with scrollwork and green
130x130 sq 1384183498812 lighthouse wedding cak
130x130 sq 1384183542647 sugar lighthous
130x130 sq 1391456181969 navy triple dot wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062180165 buttercream wedding cake with white ribbon dots an
130x130 sq 1396797762539 2013081013305
130x130 sq 1391456348688 stargazer lilly wedding cak
130x130 sq 1391456262768 red white and blue wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062170817 buttercream wedding cake with scrollwork and korea
130x130 sq 1365609608725 buttercream wedding cake with purple fondant band dots and gumpaste calla lillies
130x130 sq 1396797719275 2013102616080
130x130 sq 1404062108491 buttercream wedding cake with modeling chocolate r
130x130 sq 1365110881013 sugar gem wedding cake
130x130 sq 1365110892666 snowflake wedding cake
130x130 sq 1396797847607 white fondant wedding cake with royal blue gumpast
130x130 sq 1365110665273 william morris painted fondant wedding cake with peonies
130x130 sq 1365609616518 cupcake wedding cake with black bows
130x130 sq 1365110867292 swirl roses cupcake wedding cake 2
130x130 sq 1365609626218 cupcake wedding cake with swirls and blue green and white roses
130x130 sq 1384183455117 biker wedding cake
130x130 sq 1384183429896 biker wedding cak
130x130 sq 1391455953408 bird cage wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062329763 single tiered flamenco cake
130x130 sq 1374606871044 buttercream wedding cake with ivory peonies
130x130 sq 1374606877583 buttercream wedding cake with lego people
130x130 sq 1375820409645 flowers and lace fondant wedding cake
130x130 sq 1396797739827 2013101815304
130x130 sq 1375820373455 buttercream wedding cake with black scrollwork and gold flowers
130x130 sq 1365110831537 octagonal fondant wedding cake with cherry blossom branch
130x130 sq 1365110758188 rock climbing wedding cake side image
130x130 sq 1365110746371 rock climbing wedding cake
130x130 sq 1365110807739 rock climbing wedding cake front
130x130 sq 1365110685640 white fondant wedding cake with peonies and green pearls
130x130 sq 1365110694707 white fondant triple dot wedding cake with royal icing roses
130x130 sq 1365110733755 royal icing forest monogram
130x130 sq 1365110932841 chocolate wedding cake
130x130 sq 1396797836872 chinese wedding cak
130x130 sq 1404062224246 eagles grooms cake
130x130 sq 1404062339724 sports fan grooms cake 2
130x130 sq 1424459715018 2014 08 09 17.06.32.1
130x130 sq 1424459756512 2014 09 27 14.45.25
130x130 sq 1424459775692 2014 10 04 11.36.27
130x130 sq 1424459805166 2014 11 02 14.51.52
130x130 sq 1424459852939 20141025150335
130x130 sq 1424459883428 20150131162946
130x130 sq 1405277334141 2013 11 10 10.37.50
130x130 sq 1405277384164 2014 06 28 17.31.45
130x130 sq 1405277410642 2014 06 28 17.33.45
130x130 sq 1405277433953 2014 06 28 17.33.54
130x130 sq 1405277458585 2014 06 28 17.34.04
130x130 sq 1405277486644 2014 06 28 17.34.17
130x130 sq 1405277507008 2014 06 28 17.34.26
130x130 sq 1405277551406 2014 06 28 17.34.34
130x130 sq 1405277574211 2014 06 28 17.34.46
130x130 sq 1405277595769 2014 06 28 17.35.18
130x130 sq 1405277620330 2014 06 28 17.35.25
130x130 sq 1424460483966 2014 08 30 16.39.14

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Chris
Wedding:
4/25/2015
5.0/5.0
Happy Tart provided the dessert bar and wedding cake for my daughter's wedding. They arranged a tasting for us several months in advance of the wedding and worked with us to choose just the right assortment. They were very flexible and helped us find just the right choices and sizes. They were very open to customizing it for us. Happy Tart also gave us very accurate information on just how much to order with 3 different price points. We set up our own arrangement for the dessert bar and they provided us with photos to help us along.
The event was held 2 hours away and for a fee they transported it all and were reliable with the delivery.
No one could believe all the desserts were gluten free! and her count was right on with just a small amount left over.
I would highly recommend Happy Tart for anyone...gluten free or not. Selection, price and of course delicious goods are all available. Most of all they are so nice to deal with.
Happy Tart provided the dessert bar and wedding cake for my daughter's wedding. They arranged a tasting for us several Read more...
Happy Tart provided the dessert bar and wedding cake for my daughter's wedding. They arranged a tasting for us several months in advance of the wedding and worked with us to choose just the right assortment. They were very flexible and helped us find just the right choices and sizes. They were very open to customizing it for us. Happy Tart also gave us very accurate information on just how much to order with 3 different price points. We set up our own arrangement for the dessert bar and they provided us with photos to help us along.
The event was held 2 hours away and for a fee they transported it all and were reliable with the delivery.
No one could believe all the desserts were gluten free! and her count was right on with just a small amount left over.
I would highly recommend Happy Tart for anyone...gluten free or not. Selection, price and of course delicious goods are all available. Most of all they are so nice to deal with. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
JuanCarlos & Derek
Wedding:
11/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Happy Tart mad a cake that so far exceeded our dream cake, we were really just in awe. It was so much more beautiful than a cake we saw in a magazine online that we hoped to model our wedding cake on. On top of that, Happy Tart's cake was just delicious. Everyone at our wedding was talking about how good it was and how surprised they were that it was gluten free. We will always keep Happy Tart in mind when we celebrate life events and holidays. Emma was a pleasure to work with. She's a gem, and she runs an absolutely terrific business.
Happy Tart mad a cake that so far exceeded our dream cake, we were really just in awe. It was so much more beautiful than Read more...
Happy Tart mad a cake that so far exceeded our dream cake, we were really just in awe. It was so much more beautiful than a cake we saw in a magazine online that we hoped to model our wedding cake on. On top of that, Happy Tart's cake was just delicious. Everyone at our wedding was talking about how good it was and how surprised they were that it was gluten free. We will always keep Happy Tart in mind when we celebrate life events and holidays. Emma was a pleasure to work with. She's a gem, and she runs an absolutely terrific business. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Kristina
Wedding:
11/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake from the Happy Tart was just beautiful and so yummy! We had three layers in total, two layers of chocolate with raspberry jam and raspberry buttercream and one large layer of red velvet with cream cheese frosting. The design work on the cake was very intricate with peach sugar lace on the bottom of each tier, white on white scrollwork throughout, and gum paste peonies at the base of each tier. The final product was gorgeous and all of our guests complimented us on how good the cake was! The owner (Emma) was very easy to work with throughout the entire process and the cake was delivered to our venue in perfect condition! Also worth noting that our cake tasting at Happy Tart was awesome with six different cake combinations included. It was one of our very favorite parts of wedding planning! I highly recommend the Happy Tart for your wedding cake needs! As a celiac, they were a trusted vendor with a high quality product in both taste and appearance.
Our wedding cake from the Happy Tart was just beautiful and so yummy! We had three layers in total, two layers of Read more...
Our wedding cake from the Happy Tart was just beautiful and so yummy! We had three layers in total, two layers of chocolate with raspberry jam and raspberry buttercream and one large layer of red velvet with cream cheese frosting. The design work on the cake was very intricate with peach sugar lace on the bottom of each tier, white on white scrollwork throughout, and gum paste peonies at the base of each tier. The final product was gorgeous and all of our guests complimented us on how good the cake was! The owner (Emma) was very easy to work with throughout the entire process and the cake was delivered to our venue in perfect condition! Also worth noting that our cake tasting at Happy Tart was awesome with six different cake combinations included. It was one of our very favorite parts of wedding planning! I highly recommend the Happy Tart for your wedding cake needs! As a celiac, they were a trusted vendor with a high quality product in both taste and appearance. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Gayle
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and no one could believe it was a gluten free cake!!! The buttercream frosting was luscious. Emma was wonderful to work with! I highly recommend a The Happy Tart!
The cake was beautiful and no one could believe it was a gluten free cake!!! The buttercream frosting was luscious. Emma Read more...
The cake was beautiful and no one could believe it was a gluten free cake!!! The buttercream frosting was luscious. Emma was wonderful to work with! I highly recommend a The Happy Tart! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Susie q
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend The Happy Tart.

The owner designed a three-tier wedding cake for us with the following combinations: chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling, spiced cake with cream cheese filling, and chocolate cake with a chocolate buttercream filling. The whole cake was frosted in white buttercream with highlights of purple icing. They made a topper for us out of molded chocolate mixed in with honey.

The product was delicious (moist cake with tasty fillings that were rich, but not too sweet). Tastings were a cinch to schedule, and the owner made amendments to the contract quickly and painlessly (we changed our piping color).

The Happy Tart delivered for us. We were very happy we selected them and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.
I highly recommend The Happy Tart.

The owner designed a three-tier wedding cake for us with the following Read more...
I highly recommend The Happy Tart.

The owner designed a three-tier wedding cake for us with the following combinations: chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling, spiced cake with cream cheese filling, and chocolate cake with a chocolate buttercream filling. The whole cake was frosted in white buttercream with highlights of purple icing. They made a topper for us out of molded chocolate mixed in with honey.

The product was delicious (moist cake with tasty fillings that were rich, but not too sweet). Tastings were a cinch to schedule, and the owner made amendments to the contract quickly and painlessly (we changed our piping color).

The Happy Tart delivered for us. We were very happy we selected them and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Happy Tart exceeded our expectations for our wedding cake in both flavor and appearance. We worked directly with Emma, the owner, to select the size, shape, flavors, and decorations appropriate for our Aquarium wedding. We were able to email several photographs of different decorations that we wanted combined on our cake and received feedback on how the decorations would be achieved. Payment reminders were emailed to us well in advance with a secure link to make the payment online. Everything was affordable. They were extremely flexible, we were able to make changes to everything involving our cake order up until two weeks before our wedding. The owner personally delivered and set up our cake well in advance of our wedding. Our guest told us repeatedly how our wedding cake was more moist and flavorful than any other wedding cake they had in the past. No one could tell it was gluten free. The hardest thing we encountered was picking our flavors since we were given 6 phenomenal tasting slices of cake during our tasting. Can't wait to work with them for all our future life events.
The Happy Tart exceeded our expectations for our wedding cake in both flavor and appearance. We worked directly with Emma, Read more...
The Happy Tart exceeded our expectations for our wedding cake in both flavor and appearance. We worked directly with Emma, the owner, to select the size, shape, flavors, and decorations appropriate for our Aquarium wedding. We were able to email several photographs of different decorations that we wanted combined on our cake and received feedback on how the decorations would be achieved. Payment reminders were emailed to us well in advance with a secure link to make the payment online. Everything was affordable. They were extremely flexible, we were able to make changes to everything involving our cake order up until two weeks before our wedding. The owner personally delivered and set up our cake well in advance of our wedding. Our guest told us repeatedly how our wedding cake was more moist and flavorful than any other wedding cake they had in the past. No one could tell it was gluten free. The hardest thing we encountered was picking our flavors since we were given 6 phenomenal tasting slices of cake during our tasting. Can't wait to work with them for all our future life events. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
These folks when above and beyond to accommodate for some extreme circumstances for an event and were always calm, courteous, and available to meet our needs even with some emergencies arising on the customer's end. Thank you!
These folks when above and beyond to accommodate for some extreme circumstances for an event and were always calm, Read more...
These folks when above and beyond to accommodate for some extreme circumstances for an event and were always calm, courteous, and available to meet our needs even with some emergencies arising on the customer's end. Thank you! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Renee
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Amazing cake and decor! Would definitely recommend to someone who needs a wedding cake!
Amazing cake and decor! Would definitely recommend to someone who needs a wedding cake!
Amazing cake and decor! Would definitely recommend to someone who needs a wedding cake! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We purchased a 2 tier wedding cake from The Happy Tart. It was so beautiful! It was covered in ivory fondant and wrapped in white lace and a large bow on the side with white roses on the top. It was beautiful, I've never seen anything like it before! Emma and her staff were so helpful, they were able to deliver on Sunday (which I know some vendors will not deliver on Sunday) and she was able to answer my questions in a timely manner via e-mail. You would think that a gluten free cake would taste different but this cake you couldn't tell at all! My husband and myself do not have a gluten allergy but this store had awesome reviews we just had to check it out! I highly recommend this place to others not only for a wedding cake/ special occasion cake they also have other yummy treats too!
We purchased a 2 tier wedding cake from The Happy Tart. It was so beautiful! It was covered in ivory fondant and wrapped Read more...
We purchased a 2 tier wedding cake from The Happy Tart. It was so beautiful! It was covered in ivory fondant and wrapped in white lace and a large bow on the side with white roses on the top. It was beautiful, I've never seen anything like it before! Emma and her staff were so helpful, they were able to deliver on Sunday (which I know some vendors will not deliver on Sunday) and she was able to answer my questions in a timely manner via e-mail. You would think that a gluten free cake would taste different but this cake you couldn't tell at all! My husband and myself do not have a gluten allergy but this store had awesome reviews we just had to check it out! I highly recommend this place to others not only for a wedding cake/ special occasion cake they also have other yummy treats too! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Colleen
Wedding:
8/2/2014
5.0/5.0
We worked with the owner, Emma, to design the perfect cake to fit our needs. This bakery is awesome! The cake was delicious and we could hardly believe it was gluten free- tasty and moist! The price was reasonable and Emma was very flexible and accommodating-we came in to order a small, one tier cake just 2 weeks before our wedding but Happy Tart was very willing to fit us in. The cake turned out beautifully and delicious!
We worked with the owner, Emma, to design the perfect cake to fit our needs. This bakery is awesome! The cake was Read more...
We worked with the owner, Emma, to design the perfect cake to fit our needs. This bakery is awesome! The cake was delicious and we could hardly believe it was gluten free- tasty and moist! The price was reasonable and Emma was very flexible and accommodating-we came in to order a small, one tier cake just 2 weeks before our wedding but Happy Tart was very willing to fit us in. The cake turned out beautifully and delicious! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
2307A Mount Vernon Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Happy Tart
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1375821830535 fondant wedding cake with monogram and white roses with gold and pink centers