130x130_sq_1340134436949-heart

The Heart of St. Charles Ballrooms

Saint Charles , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1410 S. Fifth Street
Saint Charles, MO US 63301 (map)

PHONE

636-947-8270

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Heart of St. Charles has been a St. Louis Favorite for over 20 years. We have 4 beautiful ballrooms, all unique in their own way. We have great packages with great prices. Come see... Read more
The Heart of St. Charles has been a St. Louis Favorite for over 20 years. We have 4 beautiful ballrooms, all unique in their own way. We have great packages with great prices. Come see why so many brides choose The Heart of St. Charles Ballrooms!

The view is like no other reception venue in St. Louis. Our beautifully remodeled ballrooms will simply take your breath away. Our new ceremony room allows you to have everything in one beautiful location. Call us today - www.hscballrooms.com or 636-947-8270. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1340402237673-sheri702016
130x130_sq_1340402321616-granddeeppurple
130x130_sq_1340402410254-appetizers087
130x130_sq_1340402452752-stcharlespicture
130x130_sq_1340402503439-0618023
130x130_sq_1340402659711-stcharles0501300x225
130x130_sq_1340402792185-desserts5

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1950
When was your venue last renovated?
2012
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Eclectic, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
500
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
00
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
32
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
From our wedding coordinator, to room setup, to the food, the evening went off with a hitch thanks to HSC Ballrooms. I could not have imagined a better place to have my reception. The food was excellent and the cake was absolutely stunning! I chose the Great Room because of the unique chandeliers that hung from the ceiling, as well as twinkle lights that gave a wonderful ambiance throughout the night. The staff was wonderful in making sure all guests were taken care of, bride and groom included. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a great place to have a reception, as well as using their bakery which did a wonderful job on our unique and delicious cake.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Wonderful experience! Everyone was extremely helpful and professional. They took care of everything, it was wonderful! All I had to do was show up and enjoy the evening. After months of stressful planning they made sure everything went off without a hitch. We had the overlook room, and it was absolutely gorgeous with a great balcony to step out on for fresh air after all of the dancing. It was a perfect evening, I'm so grateful for all of their help.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie Leigh
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience and were treated so wonderfully. I highly recommend the Heart of St. Charles.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We held our daughters wedding reception there October 26, 2013. We had the Great room downstairs. Not only was it GORGEOUS at night, but the food and cake were delicious. We had so many compliments on both. We did not have a wedding planner and everything went so smooth, it allowed us to all enjoy the evening and have a great time making lasting memories for our daughter and her husband.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashlee
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I did not have to worry about a thing. The event planner made sure everything went smooth. They even carried our plates to our table for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My Daughter's wedding was 4/13/13. We had the ceremony and the reception at the Heart of St. Charles. They were a pleasure to work with. Everything was handled in a professional manor. The food was wonderful and the room looked fantastic. I didn't have to worry about anything. I highly recommend them for a reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1356121739146-1
Hanah
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding was December 15 and it could not have been more perfect. Everyone who works at The Heart of St Charles is so nice and professional. They told me that I could drop off all of my centerpieces and everything that we were using to decorate the room which saved me a hell of a stressful morning! The food was so delicious, espcially the roast beef. The only thing that I didn't like was the mixed drinks don't really have a lot of alcohol in them. Other than that though, I have no complaints and I would definitely recommend them to anyone that is looking for a reception venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mfilippirobb
Wedding:
6/15/2002
5.0/5.0
Wonderful and stress free experience with this vendor. We felt as though we could safely place the details of our big day in their hands without any fear
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kogden1
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
The Heart of St. Charles delivered a flawless and very smooth reception. We brought in the majority of our decorations a couple days before the wedding and they had everything set up perfectly, according to what we wanted. They were very professional and listened to our requests. On the night of the reception, one of the managers made sure that my husband and I knew exactly what was coming next and she made sure we had a worry-free night. We had the deluxe buffet and it was set up beautifully. The food was delicious and our guests loved the open bar option! We were so happy with our night, everything was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was great, and exactly what we wanted. It was pretty and tasty.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
They were more than accommodating. Great food :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
oct 1 motherofbride
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Tawny and her staff were wonderful. They worked so well with us even with the many questions I had prior to the reception. The staff during the reception were also great-making sure our every need was taken care of from beginning to end. Food was good-plenty of it. Bartender was great. Couldn't ask for a better night. Thanks so much!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
The Heart of St. Charles delivered a perfect and dream reception for my daughter. With her Rustic idea's we brought in a majority of our decorations the day before . Sheri & Tawny new what my daughter wanted and when we walked in the room after her wedding the room was already set and perfect to what my daughter wanted. They took the stress and worry out of our hands. We got so many compliments on how it was decorated and loved her theme. The food was great & got a lot of compliments on the food. We had a sit down dinner and full open bar! My daughter & her husband were so happy with everything and the night was perfect!!! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda & Tommie
Wedding:
4/4/2014
4.8/5.0
The venue was beautiful and the assigned hostess and staff for the evening were just great! I didn't have to worry about anything but enjoying the time with my new husband. The food was very tasty and my guests kept telling that evening and days afterward how good it was. My cake was beautiful and tasty as well. If there's one negative thing to say, it would be the night before it rained and the room that I had reserved had a ceiling leak requiring them to move some of the tables.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
washingtons619
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.7/5.0
The staff here was great, and more importantly the venue itself (looks, convenience and location) was amazing. Some of the office staff (one female in particular) can be a little on the rough side at times, as she upset my wife a bit with her attitude about things, but 95% of them are fantastic, outgoing and nice. The servers, bartenders as well as actual event manager were great the night of!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mfranke
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.6/5.0
My only issue was that the party planner at the reception would not give up the microphone to my bridesmaids and best man for their toasts; she was more into giving some random introduction for people she didn't know. Other than that, they were very accomodating with the decorations I wanted on the tables, food selection was good (and the food was great) and they were very professional. They do not take credit cards...beware of that.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.5/5.0
It was the best I could not hav picked a better venue
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BridgetJoy
Wedding:
7/29/2006
4.4/5.0
The only part that I did not like is that they did not make it clear that you could not pay with a credit card.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1351188561105-mewbouquet
ashlyn
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.3/5.0
We had our reception in the "Overlook" room (giant round windows) in October. We contracted for the Classic buffet, open bar, etc. The entire planning process was painless with Heart of St. Charles. They are extremely flexible with how you want the room set up. We brought our stuff in just a few days before and provided some explanation and the room was set up wonderfully. We just came in the Friday before to add some finishing touches. This was a real time saver. All of our guests complimented how nice the room looked.

The food tasted great (it was a little cold) and there was NEVER a long line at the bar. The buffet attendants were attentive. Cake was served quickly and nicely.

Karen (our room host) was FANTASTIC. She introduced herself to all the guests and made sure they knew they could come to her with questions.

The bathroom was clean. No issues there.

My one complaint is that the dance floor temperature was steamy compared with the chilled main dining area...not sure how to improve that though.

Overall, our guests had a great time and I would recommend this location as a great value!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happynstlouis
Wedding:
6/25/2010
4.3/5.0
Heart of St Charles was nice. The carpet needs updating. The venue could use a few comtemporary make overs to bring the setting a little more up to date. I opted for my wedding and dinner to be all in one place. Looking at the pictures the carpet is just does not suit the setting. The staff is great. Very responsive to my needs. The hostess the night of the event was pleasant and on point. The food was okay. I am not sure who they use but it was not totally up to my expectation. The presentatin of the food was good but taste was not the best. Overall great service just needs a little makeover to the venue.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TeagansMom
Wedding:
7/29/2006
4.1/5.0
They did a great job with everything. I did not like that they did not make it obvious anywhere that they would only take a money order for payment- This caused a huge issue since huge storms went through a week before my wedding and knocked out power everywhere.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Tawny and Karen were very helpful and helped me have a beautiful wedding reception within my small budget. They went out of their way to provide a special package to fit what I wanted with what I could afford. Everything came together perfectly. My one complaint was that in the meetings up to the date their demeanor can seem fairly gruff and tough. But I would definitely recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
4/5/2014
4.0/5.0
I was pleased with the outcome of the reception. The food was good for a buffet style. We were allowed to go in early and set up the cupcakes we had bought and everything was set ready to go. Had a little trouble between the wedding planner and the DJ before the reception started but everything was worked out between the two of them and the reception went smoothly. The wedding planner was very receptive to make sure we had drinks and asked every so often if there was anything she could do for us.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
5/25/2014
3.7/5.0
The Heart of St. Charles staff allowed me to bring in my centerpiece material and they set it up for me. Some of the centerpieces were done incorrectly, but they still looked great, and the room was beautiful with their draped lights and up-lighting along the walls. The Grand Ballroom is gorgeous with one wall of windows only overlooking the Ameristar Casino, it's a nice view. The food is delicious! However, I had them bake our cupcakes, and they were nothing special. I would recommend bringing in dessert from an outside vendor. The Heart of St. Charles is affordable and the prices include the 4-hour open bar, you can pay for extra party time as the night goes on if you and your guests don't want the party to end. I would definitely recommend this location to other brides and grooms.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
1/31/2004
3.0/5.0
We chose this venue because my husband was familiar with it and liked their food. They also were willing to work with our budget and had the date open. We originally booked a large room with a look out but were moved to the lower level without being asked if it would be okay and were not compensated.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/22/2012
2.9/5.0
This place is full of hidden charges that they don't reveal until after the contract is signed. They charge for outside vendors for anything that they provide. For example, their cake is terrible and if you bring in a cake there is a hefty charge. They charge for water, dishes, cutting the cake, opening a champagne bottle, and a lot of other trivial tasks. The place is gorgeous for an event. And the staff on the day of the event was great but some of the people in the office have real attitude problems and once they have your money they don't cater to the customer at all. So if you can get past all of that then the place is not bad for the price and easily accessible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cpht2rph
Wedding:
4/5/2008
2.3/5.0
The Catering was awesome, but I wasn't too thrilled with the ballroom. When you're planning the wedding, don't call to ask questions... they can be very rude.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.2/5.0
If you have a vision, and no budget- this place is great. The views are wonderful and the food was great, not to mention the location is perfect for after the reception.
My bummers : The staff lacks ability to truly communicate its policies and I found myself very frustrated and freaked out when it was far from needed. Maybe it was me not communicating well .. Either way, prepare yourself for "no's" with no suggestions for a compromise.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/11/2013
0.8/5.0
This venue was not willing to work with us at all to have our ceremony and reception in one location. Signing the contract, we were told we could change our wedding time later if we wanted, but once we requested to change we were told we couldn’t. We was told we could choose between our reception starting at 5, 6, or 7, but then we were told that we couldn’t have been told that. They wanted me to pay an extra $500 to have my ceremony start at 5 and the reception start at 6 in my same room; yet I couldn’t pay an extra $1000 to have my ceremony in a separate room and move the reception up to 5. With their alternative my guest would have had a 2 hour wait between the ceremony and reception. I was told my guest could go sight see. UNACCEPTABLE! I didn’t want my ceremony and reception in the same room because I didn’t want tables and chairs to have to be moved while my guest was in attendance. I also refuse to have my guest sit around for 2 hours. We had to pay $25 for the food tasting, and then I was told that only the groom and I could come for the food tasting, and that my parents couldn’t come. At the tasting there was a group of four adults there together, as well as another couple with their two children. I’m not sure why I was told my parents couldn’t come. This venue had absolutely no flexibility. When I expressed my dissatisfaction and that I wanted to cancel their response was simply sorry for your cancelation, we have thousands of great receptions at our location we will take you off our books right away. They were very impersonal, unconcerned with my issues, and just plain cold. I canceled and lost my deposit but it was worth my piece of mind to work with someone more concerned and interested in making my day special. It’s a really nice venue but the people running it aren’t very nice or accommodating.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
5/2/2009
0.0/5.0
I had the absolute worst experience with these people. No one really acted like they really cared that this was one of the biggest days of my life or that we were giving them thousands of dollars. From the very beginning it was a disaster from the unanswered emails for days on end or just bland in general. When they would eventually email back I would have to write back asking another question because it was so generic plus we find out the day that we paid our final payment that we didn't have to buy TONS of stuff we could of used theirs but no one told us. No professionalism at all! The day that I set up the room for the wedding there was food on the floor, dirty linens and the list goes on and on but when we told the person in charge she blew us off because when my friends came in the next morning nothing had been done. There was supposed to be a day-of wedding coordinator she was a complete joke. She snapped on several of my guests and didn't do a damn thing all night and I still don't know what her roll was besides to piss off people. The view is gorgeous but totally not worth the hassle leading up to your special day. I HIGHLY discourage anyone from booking this place and I have heard the same horror stories from SEVERAL different people that had weddings there in the past.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1410 S. Fifth Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Heart of St. Charles Ballrooms
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1340134436949-heart