You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1421204797184 183shock

The Highland Gardener

Tallahassee , FL

LOCATION

563 McDonnell Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32310 US (map)

PHONE

850-445-7013

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Highland Gardener epitomizes organic floral design and specializes in niche and boutique weddings, events, and corporate/commercial accounts. Our work focuses on progressive trends... Read more
The Highland Gardener epitomizes organic floral design and specializes in niche and boutique weddings, events, and corporate/commercial accounts. Our work focuses on progressive trends without forgetting to give a nod to tradition.

Originally from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Catherine Shock has been designing since she was fifteen years old alongside her mother Faye Mueller. While working at her mother's studio, Flowers by Faye, Catherine assisted with the design and serviced of up to 80 weddings per year. She also arranged bids and designs for accounts such as Harley Davidson, Miller Brewing Company, The Doubletree Hotel by Hilton, and The Lowlands Group.

Catherine attended Florida State University and received a Bachelor's degree in Economics, with a minor in Business. After graduation, she moved to Chicago and pursued her initial aspirations of a career in finance. When her passion ensued, Catherine made a full commitment to follow her craving for design. She headed back to Milwaukee to attend Waukesha County Technical College. With a Floral Design Certificate in hand, Catherine took her new knowledge and applied it to a position in the floral department of a family owned, high-end grocer as well as a boutique botanical design studio.

A few years later Catherine was ready to branch out on her own. She allowed her creative ambitions to take the reins and launched her own floral design business in Milwaukee. Catherine has since worked for a high-end floral design studio in St. Petersburg, Florida and continues to grow her business, specializing in weddings, events, and corporate accounts.

Thirteen years after graduating from FSU, Catherine reunited with her college sweetheart. This brought her back to the state capital where she became the sole floral designer at Tallahassee Nurseries. There, she was able to share her love of great floral aesthetics with the local community through design classes and seminars on floral composition.

Her portfolio in Tallahassee includes the Northwood Centre, Florida State University, Lapham Patterson House, Hotel Duval, Four Points by Sheraton Hotel, and a prestigious law firm. During the holidays, Catherine also executes elaborate interior and exterior Christmas designs. Her wedding work ranges from intimate and boutique to large-scale and extravagant; not only in the Tallahassee area but also Thomasville, Georgia and Destin, Florida.

The Highland Gardener pays homage to Catherine's mother Faye, who was born in Scotland. Natural heritage is a legacy of fauna and flora, geology, landscape, and other natural resources. This combination of her Scottish roots and the old country's terrain is the inspiration for Catherine's design, style, and focus. Read less
Flowers

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1421127379887 danielle and ryan 39
130x130 sq 1389380074336 photo
130x130 sq 1421206612832 mayorfontenotwoodlandfieldsphotographyamagar110
130x130 sq 1421208760293 199thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208119705 056thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208659756 190thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208862839 204thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208254542 081thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421206631148 mayorfontenotwoodlandfieldsphotographyamagar120
130x130 sq 1421127142307 ceremony 40
130x130 sq 1421127930479 bridal party 22
130x130 sq 1421205455746 wedding71
130x130 sq 1421202748557 gaykyleneryanstudios004ryanbday
130x130 sq 1421204419691 183shock
130x130 sq 1421127264584 ceremony 41
130x130 sq 1421127836460 bridal party 11
130x130 sq 1421128020835 ceremony 4
130x130 sq 1421128142572 reception 62
130x130 sq 1421202669133 gaykyleneryanstudios016ryanbday
130x130 sq 1421202837468 gaykyleneryanstudios015ryanbday
130x130 sq 1421202946397 gaykyleneryanstudios002ryanbday
130x130 sq 1421203020836 gaykyleneryanstudios003ryanbday
130x130 sq 1421127007514 wedding82
130x130 sq 1421204622573 400shock
130x130 sq 1421205355999 preparations 59
130x130 sq 1421205597281 photos september 080
130x130 sq 1421208442509 095thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421206648067 mayorfontenotwoodlandfieldsphotographyamagar430
130x130 sq 1421206664278 mayorfontenotwoodlandfieldsphotographyamagar471
130x130 sq 1421208014342 006thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208349819 087thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208544447 159thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421208952728 227thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421209035873 230thgstyled
130x130 sq 1421209115029 233thgstyled
130x130 sq 1340207195282 hgbridalshowdsc0002
130x130 sq 1344029814536 picture016
130x130 sq 1340211321544 hgbridalshowdsc0029
130x130 sq 1340208554518 hgbridalshowdsc0010
130x130 sq 1340208691639 hgbridalshowdsc0011
130x130 sq 1340209660952 hgbridalshowdsc0018
130x130 sq 1340209366314 hgbridalshowdsc0015
130x130 sq 1421204987068 dsc0109
130x130 sq 1421205056550 dsc0063

INFO FOR FLOWERS

How would you describe the style of your floral designs?
Classic, Country, Eclectic, Glamorous, Modern, Nautical, Preppy, Romantic, Rustic, Tropical, Vintage
Which of the following services do you provide?
Clean Up, Consultations, Delivery, Event Design, Floral Preservation, Samples, Set Up, Venue Visit
What types of arrangements do you provide?
Aisle Decor, Altar Decor, Bouquets, Boutonnieres, Chuppah Decor, Corsages, Flower Petals, Non-Floral, Single Flowers, Table Arrangements

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
3/25/2017
5.0/5.0
Catherine was amazing to work with and made my vision come to life better than I could've imagined. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Highland Gardner.
Catherine was amazing to work with and made my vision come to life better than I could've imagined. I cannot say enough Read more...
Catherine was amazing to work with and made my vision come to life better than I could've imagined. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Highland Gardner. Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Zoey
Wedding:
1/15/2017
5.0/5.0
Stop looking for other florists RIGHT NOW. Catherine will make your vision come to life! Admittedly, I was not the pickiest bride, but I can be hard to please sometimes! I told Catherine what I wanted for my wedding and what I had envisioned and she honestly made it better than anything I could have imagined. From my bouquet to the reception room, everything was absolute perfection. Catherine will work with you one-on-one through the entire process and is there the day-of from pinning boutonnières on the guys to setting up the ceremony and taking decorations down to use again for the reception space (nothing is wasted!!). Honestly it was the most beautifully set up space I have ever seen (and I'm not just saying that because it was my wedding!). Seriously, book Catherine! She will go the extra mile to make your wedding STUNNING.
Stop looking for other florists RIGHT NOW. Catherine will make your vision come to life! Admittedly, I was not the Read more...
Stop looking for other florists RIGHT NOW. Catherine will make your vision come to life! Admittedly, I was not the pickiest bride, but I can be hard to please sometimes! I told Catherine what I wanted for my wedding and what I had envisioned and she honestly made it better than anything I could have imagined. From my bouquet to the reception room, everything was absolute perfection. Catherine will work with you one-on-one through the entire process and is there the day-of from pinning boutonnières on the guys to setting up the ceremony and taking decorations down to use again for the reception space (nothing is wasted!!). Honestly it was the most beautifully set up space I have ever seen (and I'm not just saying that because it was my wedding!). Seriously, book Catherine! She will go the extra mile to make your wedding STUNNING. Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Amelia
Wedding:
12/2/2016
5.0/5.0
Catherine and team made our wedding an absolutely dream! I absolutely LOVED everything about the floral designs, everything was perfect! I was a long distance bride so I did most of my planning remotely. Catherine was so flexible and understanding, which took a lot of the stress and pressure out of planning. The day of the wedding, I got to sit back and relax because I 100% entrusted Catherine to work her creative magic. She turned our ceremony and reception into a winter themed evergreen dream. And it truly was! I cannot thank her enough for making our day so special!
Catherine and team made our wedding an absolutely dream! I absolutely LOVED everything about the floral designs, Read more...
Catherine and team made our wedding an absolutely dream! I absolutely LOVED everything about the floral designs, everything was perfect! I was a long distance bride so I did most of my planning remotely. Catherine was so flexible and understanding, which took a lot of the stress and pressure out of planning. The day of the wedding, I got to sit back and relax because I 100% entrusted Catherine to work her creative magic. She turned our ceremony and reception into a winter themed evergreen dream. And it truly was! I cannot thank her enough for making our day so special! Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Giselle
Wedding:
10/15/2016
5.0/5.0
Anthony and I had the pleasure to work with The Highland Gardener for our wedding on October 15, 2016 at Golden Eagle Country Club. When we were first starting the process, we had no idea what we were doing in regards to our flower arrangements... all we had were ideas and some pictures. I did not know the first thing about flower arrangements, and as recent FSU graduates, we did not have the largest budget. Catherine worked with us (over the phone and via email because we no longer live in Tallahassee) until we figured out exactly what we wanted to do. She was always easy to reach and was very thorough, to make sure I got exactly what I envisioned. We were not too picky as far as the type of flowers, so I just sent Catherine some pictures, a color palette, and gave her the freedom to create the arrangements as she saw fit. As the day got closer, she reached out again, and we reviewed everything to make sure that everything was covered. On our big day, I did not see the set-up process, but the results were absolutely stunning. Everything turned out soooo much better than what we envisioned! Working with Catherine was such a delight. She has the amazing talent of floral designs and she definitely went above and beyond our expectations... I would recommend her to anyone who is seeking floral expertise.

Thank you so much for everything Catherine!

Giselle & Anthony
Anthony and I had the pleasure to work with The Highland Gardener for our wedding on October 15, 2016 at Golden Eagle Read more...
Anthony and I had the pleasure to work with The Highland Gardener for our wedding on October 15, 2016 at Golden Eagle Country Club. When we were first starting the process, we had no idea what we were doing in regards to our flower arrangements... all we had were ideas and some pictures. I did not know the first thing about flower arrangements, and as recent FSU graduates, we did not have the largest budget. Catherine worked with us (over the phone and via email because we no longer live in Tallahassee) until we figured out exactly what we wanted to do. She was always easy to reach and was very thorough, to make sure I got exactly what I envisioned. We were not too picky as far as the type of flowers, so I just sent Catherine some pictures, a color palette, and gave her the freedom to create the arrangements as she saw fit. As the day got closer, she reached out again, and we reviewed everything to make sure that everything was covered. On our big day, I did not see the set-up process, but the results were absolutely stunning. Everything turned out soooo much better than what we envisioned! Working with Catherine was such a delight. She has the amazing talent of floral designs and she definitely went above and beyond our expectations... I would recommend her to anyone who is seeking floral expertise.

Thank you so much for everything Catherine!

Giselle & Anthony Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
3/5/2016
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Catherine! Beyond her obvious talent that will blow you away on your wedding day, she is an incredible person, woman, mother, and business owner. She walked me through the entire process helping me feel comfortable with our choices. She was always prompt to reply via email or by phone to answer ALL of my questions. She took our vision and ran with it- and I honestly did not think floral designs could be THAT beautiful! She styled our entire wedding & reception flawlessly. On our big day, she found me while I was getting ready just to let me know all the flowers were in place. And she even pinned flowers in my hair before our ceremony started! Catherine is the most genuine, wonderful person, and I highly recommend her to everyone!
I cannot say enough great things about Catherine! Beyond her obvious talent that will blow you away on your wedding day, Read more...
I cannot say enough great things about Catherine! Beyond her obvious talent that will blow you away on your wedding day, she is an incredible person, woman, mother, and business owner. She walked me through the entire process helping me feel comfortable with our choices. She was always prompt to reply via email or by phone to answer ALL of my questions. She took our vision and ran with it- and I honestly did not think floral designs could be THAT beautiful! She styled our entire wedding & reception flawlessly. On our big day, she found me while I was getting ready just to let me know all the flowers were in place. And she even pinned flowers in my hair before our ceremony started! Catherine is the most genuine, wonderful person, and I highly recommend her to everyone! Read less
Services Used: Flowers
130x130 sq 1441937106 e8616aebe401a82c jilian nathan engaged engagement 0120
Jillian
Wedding:
3/5/2016
5.0/5.0
Working with The Highland Gardener was such a pleasant experience. The professional and personal touches made by The Highland Gardener & team made my wedding even more beautiful than I expected. I cannot thank Catherine and her assistant Kaitlin enough for all their heart and hard work in making my wedding so beautiful. Catherine is blessed with the amazing gift of floral design and any bride inquiring would be forever touched by her work.

Thank you so much Catherine!
Grace,
Jillian & Nate
Working with The Highland Gardener was such a pleasant experience. The professional and personal touches made by The Read more...
Working with The Highland Gardener was such a pleasant experience. The professional and personal touches made by The Highland Gardener & team made my wedding even more beautiful than I expected. I cannot thank Catherine and her assistant Kaitlin enough for all their heart and hard work in making my wedding so beautiful. Catherine is blessed with the amazing gift of floral design and any bride inquiring would be forever touched by her work.

Thank you so much Catherine!
Grace,
Jillian & Nate Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Catherine, owner of the Highland Gardener, was absolutely fantastic to work with for my daughter's wedding. She came highly recommended from a high school classmate and I would definitely refer her to the next bride. After only a couple of meetings, she was able to present us with a storyboard display of suggested flowers ideas for the wedding. She took into account our budget, colors, venue, styles, wedding dress. guest size, likes and dislikes. She was very flexible with requests and was always prompt in communicating with us over the six month engagement as needed. From her suggested flower photos, we trusted her intuition of our needs. Catherine devotes the entire weekend to only one bride. The bridal bouquet, bridesmaids flowers, guest tables and artificial wreath requested for a tree in front of the ceremony all turned out prettier than she promised. I trusted her to do her magic of floral talents for the wedding and was not disappointed.
Catherine, owner of the Highland Gardener, was absolutely fantastic to work with for my daughter's wedding. She came Read more...
Catherine, owner of the Highland Gardener, was absolutely fantastic to work with for my daughter's wedding. She came highly recommended from a high school classmate and I would definitely refer her to the next bride. After only a couple of meetings, she was able to present us with a storyboard display of suggested flowers ideas for the wedding. She took into account our budget, colors, venue, styles, wedding dress. guest size, likes and dislikes. She was very flexible with requests and was always prompt in communicating with us over the six month engagement as needed. From her suggested flower photos, we trusted her intuition of our needs. Catherine devotes the entire weekend to only one bride. The bridal bouquet, bridesmaids flowers, guest tables and artificial wreath requested for a tree in front of the ceremony all turned out prettier than she promised. I trusted her to do her magic of floral talents for the wedding and was not disappointed. Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Kala Kelly
Wedding:
9/19/2015
5.0/5.0
Catherine is wonderful. We met twice at a coffee shop to go over what I liked and that was all it took for her to grasp my wedding style. She really helped me figure out what I wanted and gave some great recommendations of flowers I had never considered. I loved her personalized vision boards she sent and appreciated her depth of knowledge of flowers. Her work is modern and fresh with a nod to classic tastes.

On the day of my wedding, Catherine was a star. She helped decorate little things here and there and really picked up the slack in places I had forgot about decorating (I did not have a wedding planner, only a "day of" planner, so decorations were a point of stress for me). Simply put, she made things pretty. I actually didn't realize how much extra effort she had put in until I saw my wedding photos a month later. Like I said, she's a star.

On a personal level, Catherine is a joy to be around. She is kind, professional, and smart. Tallahassee is lucky to have her :)
Catherine is wonderful. We met twice at a coffee shop to go over what I liked and that was all it took for her to grasp my Read more...
Catherine is wonderful. We met twice at a coffee shop to go over what I liked and that was all it took for her to grasp my wedding style. She really helped me figure out what I wanted and gave some great recommendations of flowers I had never considered. I loved her personalized vision boards she sent and appreciated her depth of knowledge of flowers. Her work is modern and fresh with a nod to classic tastes.

On the day of my wedding, Catherine was a star. She helped decorate little things here and there and really picked up the slack in places I had forgot about decorating (I did not have a wedding planner, only a "day of" planner, so decorations were a point of stress for me). Simply put, she made things pretty. I actually didn't realize how much extra effort she had put in until I saw my wedding photos a month later. Like I said, she's a star.

On a personal level, Catherine is a joy to be around. She is kind, professional, and smart. Tallahassee is lucky to have her :) Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/2/2015
5.0/5.0
Catherine Shock was wonderful to work with. I actually happened to use her services as I got a gift certificate at a bridal show here in Tallahassee. I have no knowledge of flowers and had some ideas going on my pinterest board to help me figure it out. She, with permission, looked at what I had previously pinned and made a beautiful bouquet based off those images. She had a lovely mix of flowers i never thought to pick out, and she even called to confirm that I was ok with mixing up flowers. Not only was she a pleasure to work with and very sweet, but she worked well within my budget and personally delivered the flowers to us. We picked the same venue she had for her wedding the year before, and her family was doing a beach weekend so she waived delivery for us. She was fantastic all around and would definitely recommend her to others.
Catherine Shock was wonderful to work with. I actually happened to use her services as I got a gift certificate at a Read more...
Catherine Shock was wonderful to work with. I actually happened to use her services as I got a gift certificate at a bridal show here in Tallahassee. I have no knowledge of flowers and had some ideas going on my pinterest board to help me figure it out. She, with permission, looked at what I had previously pinned and made a beautiful bouquet based off those images. She had a lovely mix of flowers i never thought to pick out, and she even called to confirm that I was ok with mixing up flowers. Not only was she a pleasure to work with and very sweet, but she worked well within my budget and personally delivered the flowers to us. We picked the same venue she had for her wedding the year before, and her family was doing a beach weekend so she waived delivery for us. She was fantastic all around and would definitely recommend her to others. Read less
Services Used: Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Jenna
Wedding:
3/28/2015
5.0/5.0
Of all the vendors I worked with for my wedding, The Highland Gardener was hands down the best one. Owner Catherine Shock, along with her staff, provided expert-level service from our very first meeting up until the day of the event. The Highland Gardner listens to what you VALUE, and then makes your dreams a reality. I believe flowers set the tone for an event, and in my case, the guests are STILL talking about how beautiful they were. I would absolutely recommend The Highland Gardener to any bride.
Of all the vendors I worked with for my wedding, The Highland Gardener was hands down the best one. Owner Catherine Shock, Read more...
Of all the vendors I worked with for my wedding, The Highland Gardener was hands down the best one. Owner Catherine Shock, along with her staff, provided expert-level service from our very first meeting up until the day of the event. The Highland Gardner listens to what you VALUE, and then makes your dreams a reality. I believe flowers set the tone for an event, and in my case, the guests are STILL talking about how beautiful they were. I would absolutely recommend The Highland Gardener to any bride. Read less
Services Used: Flowers

DEALS

Free Toss Bouquet
Get Deal
Promo Code: Free Toss Bouquet   $45 Value
Free toss bouquet with wedding flowers totaling $500 or more.

Available to the first 25 couples
Deal #WWc56bf705cd871211
220x220 1340988691422 600x6001340208302271hgbridalshowdsc0008

MAP

 
563 McDonnell Dr, Tallahassee, FL 32310 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Highland Gardener
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1421204797184 183shock