130x130 sq 1475247221 a7aedd0bf47ff412 cotton 4
(9)

The Little Chapel in the Woods

Denton , TX

LOCATION

1600 Bell Avenue
Denton, TX 76204 US (map)

PHONE

940-898-3516

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

THE SCENE:

As you walk into the Little Chapel in-the-Woods you are entering into a tradition. Located on the edge of Texas Women’s University, the chapel is a secluded... Read more
THE SCENE:

As you walk into the Little Chapel in-the-Woods you are entering into a tradition. Located on the edge of Texas Women’s University, the chapel is a secluded sanctuary (open to all beliefs), that has held weddings since September 1939, a few months before its dedication by Eleanor Roosevelt. The natural beauty that surrounds the Little Chapel is harmonized by the beautiful interior stain glass windows. The Little Chapel in-the-Woods’ rich symbolism carefully portrays “Woman Ministering to Human Needs” on saw-pierced riveted brass lighting, woodwork executed in beech, & hand carving woodwork on the pews.

The Chapel, 90 feet long by 24 feet wide, was designed by architect O’Niel Ford. It was build as a project of the National Youth Administration during the Depression, and dedicated by former First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. History surrounds the Little Chapel in-the-Woods, just like every item in the chapel is stamped with an artistic touch from young women artists. As the sunlight shines through the stained glass windows a romantic blue hue is reflected on the stone walls. While the exterior is surrounded by beautiful green landscapes.

DESIGN:

Under the supervisions of Dorothy A. LaSelle, TWU students competed in designing ornamentation for ceiling beams, exterior cornices, the vestibule floor Texas stone, and wall patterns. Other undergraduate’s students participated in designing and carving woodwork for the lectern, pulpit and pews ends, and designing the metal trim of the Chapel door. Graduate students supervised the design and execution of the stained glass window, metal candlesticks and a cross for the altar.

STANDOUT VENUE FEATURES:

Constructed in 1938 and dedicated by Eleanor Roosevelt on November 1, 1939, the Little Chapel has been named one of Texas’ most outstanding architectural achievements. The historic "TWU Wedding Book" (originally called the "TWU Bride's Book") lists many of the weddings that were held in the Chapel over the years. The chapel seats a total of 110 people, including 15 seats in the balcony. The chapel may be used for traditional weddings, non denominational services, and recitals.

EXTRA PERKS:

Tea light candles along the edges, lighted candelabras, unity candle stands, pew clips, piano, organ, and sound system.
*Wedding packages include ceremony and reception rental, tables & linens, catering, champagne flutes, Chapel ornament, and wedding cake. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1426013455588 littlechapel
130x130 sq 1475248562832 cotton 4
130x130 sq 1450104010606 us exchanging rings
130x130 sq 1475248601461 the ceremony paige and evan wedding little chapel
130x130 sq 1450103960749 rachel.mark 95
130x130 sq 1450103923906 cotton 512
130x130 sq 1475248686955 paige and evan lauren apel photo 581
130x130 sq 1426013489107 neelybrassart1
130x130 sq 1426013371484 little chapel snow
130x130 sq 1475248656076 divethwed0571 1608620195 o
130x130 sq 1426013358309 hibbard
130x130 sq 1475248665891 paige and evan lauren apel photo 172
130x130 sq 1426013470060 meredithwedding88
130x130 sq 1426013138229 farrar6
130x130 sq 1426013123100 farrar5
130x130 sq 1475249397471 reception at hubbard hall
130x130 sq 1475249484928 cakes
130x130 sq 1475249035026 banquet reception
130x130 sq 1475249068556 br
130x130 sq 1475249634610 reception at hubbard hall 2
130x130 sq 1475249042526 banquet room   projector and up lighting
130x130 sq 1475249113255 southwest ballroom 2
130x130 sq 1475249128838 southwest ballroom
130x130 sq 1475249076608 brdrinks
130x130 sq 1475249672527 cavalier and king reception   cheese and crackers
130x130 sq 1475249060266 banquet
130x130 sq 1475249095727 p1952207696 6
130x130 sq 1475249106131 smalltwu 2 hh rotunda
130x130 sq 1475249167112 wed1863
130x130 sq 1475249139375 wed1338
130x130 sq 1475249422713 wed2234
130x130 sq 1475249035576 2016 01 23 17.02.12 1
130x130 sq 1475249404699 small flutes
130x130 sq 1475249682452 cavalier and king reception   jazz band
130x130 sq 1475249700418 cavalier and king reception   cake from candy have
130x130 sq 1475249745964 2016 01 23 17.02.12
130x130 sq 1475249742779 2016 01 23 17.01.56
130x130 sq 1475249770293 2016 01 23 17.02.12
130x130 sq 1475249789147 2016 01 23 17.03.02
130x130 sq 1475249809162 2016 01 23 17.03.14
130x130 sq 1475249828395 2016 01 23 17.03.14
130x130 sq 1475249854743 p1060590
130x130 sq 1475249851244 p1060588
130x130 sq 1475249868306 p1952207696 6
130x130 sq 1475250023846 greenhouse1
130x130 sq 1475250024134 greenhouse
130x130 sq 1475250029166 greenhouse3
130x130 sq 1475250037609 paige and evan lauren apel photo 172
130x130 sq 1475250056522 twu 9 gardens
130x130 sq 1475247287972 img20160501124220
130x130 sq 1475247274214 img20160501124249
130x130 sq 1475247324746 scan0004

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
1
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
7
Describe your venue:
Ballroom, Banquet Hall, Historic
Describe the style of your venue
Rustic, Vintage, Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
110
What event services do you offer?
Bridal Suite, Cake, Catering / Bar, Clean Up, Event Rentals, Liability Insurance, Lighting / Sound, Set Up
What catering services do you offer?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s)
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What event items are available?
Aisle Markers, Altar/Arches, Audio Equipment, Centerpieces, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Lighting, Photobooth, Tables
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I just had my ceremony at the chapel. I did not use Hubbard Hall for my reception. The entire process was made so easy. I called Kirstie several times while I was planning my wedding and she always had good advice and got back to me promptly. For my rehearsal and ceremony, Allie was great. She was the calm in the storm and tried to keep me from getting too nervous. A lot of my guests were from out of state and they could not stop talking about how beautiful and intimate the chapel was, and my photos turned out wonderful. I can't say enough wonderful things about The Little Chapel in the Woods.
I just had my ceremony at the chapel. I did not use Hubbard Hall for my reception. The entire process was made so easy. I Read more...
I just had my ceremony at the chapel. I did not use Hubbard Hall for my reception. The entire process was made so easy. I called Kirstie several times while I was planning my wedding and she always had good advice and got back to me promptly. For my rehearsal and ceremony, Allie was great. She was the calm in the storm and tried to keep me from getting too nervous. A lot of my guests were from out of state and they could not stop talking about how beautiful and intimate the chapel was, and my photos turned out wonderful. I can't say enough wonderful things about The Little Chapel in the Woods. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We got married here on 6/14/14 & it was perfect! We had so many compliments from our guests. It went exactly as I planned. And, the reception in Hubbard Hall was awesome as well. That lil chapel will always hold a special place in our hearts & we can't wait to go back on our anniversary.
We got married here on 6/14/14 & it was perfect! We had so many compliments from our guests. It went exactly as I planned. Read more...
We got married here on 6/14/14 & it was perfect! We had so many compliments from our guests. It went exactly as I planned. And, the reception in Hubbard Hall was awesome as well. That lil chapel will always hold a special place in our hearts & we can't wait to go back on our anniversary. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
KelseyJasonWedding
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
The chapel at TWU is beautiful and we had a perfect ceremony there! The attendant Leslie was awesome and kept everything organized and worry-free. We had a 4-6 time slot with a 5:00 wedding and there was plenty of time for everything. The bride's and groom's rooms were adequately sized but not spacious. We didn't feel cramped but we only had 3 bridesmaids and 3 groomsmen.

Since it was July 3, 2011, the lighting was sufficient and beautiful indoors and out and the AC inside was perfect even though it was 100+ outside. It is a bit of a walk (maybe equivalent to about 1 & 1/2 blocks) if you have to park behind the greenhouse, so elderly guests etc should be dropped off at the chapel. There are some spaces in front of the chapel - someone maybe could stake those out for any wedding VIPs?

We had the reception in the Banquet Room at Hubbard hall - gorgeous and perfect! We had about 85 guests. It's a bit of a walk there too but it is a straight shot down a nice wide sidewalk directly out from the chapel. Elderly guests would need to be driven around from the chapel. We only had one 85 year-old that needed shuttling.

Catering through TWU's Aramark was very good and reasonably priced. No mix-ups or errors. Candy Haven cakes were fantastic too!

Overall, really really happy we had the wedding there and everyone had a blast.
The chapel at TWU is beautiful and we had a perfect ceremony there! The attendant Leslie was awesome and kept everything Read more...
The chapel at TWU is beautiful and we had a perfect ceremony there! The attendant Leslie was awesome and kept everything organized and worry-free. We had a 4-6 time slot with a 5:00 wedding and there was plenty of time for everything. The bride's and groom's rooms were adequately sized but not spacious. We didn't feel cramped but we only had 3 bridesmaids and 3 groomsmen.

Since it was July 3, 2011, the lighting was sufficient and beautiful indoors and out and the AC inside was perfect even though it was 100+ outside. It is a bit of a walk (maybe equivalent to about 1 & 1/2 blocks) if you have to park behind the greenhouse, so elderly guests etc should be dropped off at the chapel. There are some spaces in front of the chapel - someone maybe could stake those out for any wedding VIPs?

We had the reception in the Banquet Room at Hubbard hall - gorgeous and perfect! We had about 85 guests. It's a bit of a walk there too but it is a straight shot down a nice wide sidewalk directly out from the chapel. Elderly guests would need to be driven around from the chapel. We only had one 85 year-old that needed shuttling.

Catering through TWU's Aramark was very good and reasonably priced. No mix-ups or errors. Candy Haven cakes were fantastic too!

Overall, really really happy we had the wedding there and everyone had a blast. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Stacie
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Even though mine and my husband's families are chaotic and unorganized, and our wedding started 20 minutes late (EEK!), Anne was calm, cool and collected and kept her happy face on. The entire ceremony was only 20 minutes long, so we were out of there just before our scheduled time was up. I disagree about booking two time slots. We had a 3-5 slot and a 4'o'clock wedding, and all was fine, even with the delay. Since it's a small venue, having fewer people means less in-and-out time. We had about 75 people there and it felt just right, full but not cramped.

We loved the location, the setting, and the European style. You can have them put out about 75-100 votive candles on the window sills for an extra charge (like .50 each), and it adds a lot of ambience. I would recommend having a daytime/afternoon wedding here, because with the interior lights on and no daylight coming in through the stained glass, you lose a lot of the beauty. The gardens just outside are a gorgeous spot for pictures - feel free to message me if you want a sample! - and the "getting ready" rooms were just fine for my five attendants, although we did makeup and hair at our reception site (Denton Woman's Club.)

My only complaint would be that the close parking is really limited. Since it was a lovely day (November 27th), no one mind walking the campus, but if the weather hadn't cooperated, my relatives would all have hated me. :)

I highly recommend this location! It's romantic, elegant, but not stuffy or too traditional, and the price is amazing!
Even though mine and my husband's families are chaotic and unorganized, and our wedding started 20 minutes late (EEK!), Read more...
Even though mine and my husband's families are chaotic and unorganized, and our wedding started 20 minutes late (EEK!), Anne was calm, cool and collected and kept her happy face on. The entire ceremony was only 20 minutes long, so we were out of there just before our scheduled time was up. I disagree about booking two time slots. We had a 3-5 slot and a 4'o'clock wedding, and all was fine, even with the delay. Since it's a small venue, having fewer people means less in-and-out time. We had about 75 people there and it felt just right, full but not cramped.

We loved the location, the setting, and the European style. You can have them put out about 75-100 votive candles on the window sills for an extra charge (like .50 each), and it adds a lot of ambience. I would recommend having a daytime/afternoon wedding here, because with the interior lights on and no daylight coming in through the stained glass, you lose a lot of the beauty. The gardens just outside are a gorgeous spot for pictures - feel free to message me if you want a sample! - and the "getting ready" rooms were just fine for my five attendants, although we did makeup and hair at our reception site (Denton Woman's Club.)

My only complaint would be that the close parking is really limited. Since it was a lovely day (November 27th), no one mind walking the campus, but if the weather hadn't cooperated, my relatives would all have hated me. :)

I highly recommend this location! It's romantic, elegant, but not stuffy or too traditional, and the price is amazing! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
LKK
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
My ceremony at The Little Chapel was BEAUTIFUL and could not have been easier to plan. Deborah made booking and planning a breeze and their event coordinator Ann is a saint. She made sure everything ran smoothly and I didnt have to worry about anything. The chapel is also very affordable. Everything was absolutely perfect, I would have paid double what they charged for such awesome service and for such a beautiful setting!

I booked a 3:00-5:00 timeslot and held my ceremony at 4:00. That worked perfectly. We had a few people show up a few minutes late because they had to park so far away. So you might plan to actually start your ceremony about 5-10 minutes past what you are actuallly telling your guests is the ceremony time in your invitation.

It can be dark inside the chapel even in daylight, so be sure to get a good photographer. I used Lucky Pro Photography and they are AMAZING! I HIIIIIIIGHLY reccomend them! They are so easy to work with and by far the best prices of any photographer in the DFW area.

Overall, couldnt have been a better experience at the Little Chapel. So stop reading this boring review and book your wedding there!!!
My ceremony at The Little Chapel was BEAUTIFUL and could not have been easier to plan. Deborah made booking and planning a Read more...
My ceremony at The Little Chapel was BEAUTIFUL and could not have been easier to plan. Deborah made booking and planning a breeze and their event coordinator Ann is a saint. She made sure everything ran smoothly and I didnt have to worry about anything. The chapel is also very affordable. Everything was absolutely perfect, I would have paid double what they charged for such awesome service and for such a beautiful setting!

I booked a 3:00-5:00 timeslot and held my ceremony at 4:00. That worked perfectly. We had a few people show up a few minutes late because they had to park so far away. So you might plan to actually start your ceremony about 5-10 minutes past what you are actuallly telling your guests is the ceremony time in your invitation.

It can be dark inside the chapel even in daylight, so be sure to get a good photographer. I used Lucky Pro Photography and they are AMAZING! I HIIIIIIIGHLY reccomend them! They are so easy to work with and by far the best prices of any photographer in the DFW area.

Overall, couldnt have been a better experience at the Little Chapel. So stop reading this boring review and book your wedding there!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.9/5.0
Deborah Gillespie was beyond wonderful to work with. Every step of planning she was there with helpful suggestions for decorating, and catering help. I decided to use their "Sapphire Package" which consisted of the chapel, the banquet room, appetizers, and cake. I felt like it was a very good price for the value. My guests keep talking about how lovely the chapel was, and how yummy the cake and food was. My guests particularly enjoyed the chocolate fountain!

At my ceremony, my flower vendor didn't send the correct amount of boutonnières, so my Man of Honor was without a boutonnière. Leslie, our chapel assistant/ wedding coordinator (that the Chapel provided) whipped up a custom boutonnière for him and it looked fabulous! Leslie was just wonderful to work with. She was fun, calm, proactive, and just a blessing on my wedding day.

If you are looking for a venue that is cosy, gorgeous, and affordable I highly suggest the little chapel. If the beauty of the chapel doesn't sway you, Deborah and Leslie and all the other ladies working at the Little Chapel should! Truly a wonderful day for me, and I hope for you too!
Deborah Gillespie was beyond wonderful to work with. Every step of planning she was there with helpful suggestions for Read more...
Deborah Gillespie was beyond wonderful to work with. Every step of planning she was there with helpful suggestions for decorating, and catering help. I decided to use their "Sapphire Package" which consisted of the chapel, the banquet room, appetizers, and cake. I felt like it was a very good price for the value. My guests keep talking about how lovely the chapel was, and how yummy the cake and food was. My guests particularly enjoyed the chocolate fountain!

At my ceremony, my flower vendor didn't send the correct amount of boutonnières, so my Man of Honor was without a boutonnière. Leslie, our chapel assistant/ wedding coordinator (that the Chapel provided) whipped up a custom boutonnière for him and it looked fabulous! Leslie was just wonderful to work with. She was fun, calm, proactive, and just a blessing on my wedding day.

If you are looking for a venue that is cosy, gorgeous, and affordable I highly suggest the little chapel. If the beauty of the chapel doesn't sway you, Deborah and Leslie and all the other ladies working at the Little Chapel should! Truly a wonderful day for me, and I hope for you too! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Favors & Gifts, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
CDERich
Wedding:
3/10/2012
4.6/5.0
Beautiful venue that is perfect if you're looking for a picturesque wedding indoors. It is a little pricey but has a very classic look. They are very strict on time so make sure that you stay within your two hours.
Beautiful venue that is perfect if you're looking for a picturesque wedding indoors. It is a little pricey but has a very Read more...
Beautiful venue that is perfect if you're looking for a picturesque wedding indoors. It is a little pricey but has a very classic look. They are very strict on time so make sure that you stay within your two hours. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Emilee
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.6/5.0
Our ceremony went so well and I loved the ladies that we worked with (Deborah and Anyah). The staff were very professional, responsive, and EXTREMELY helpful. My only "issue" is that they pretty well force you to book two time slots with them if you don't want to feel rushed. However, the chapel is so beautiful by itself that you save a ton by not having to decorate. Everyone was great and very helpful and the site is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who either a) is having a smaller wedding, or b) has the budget to book two time slots.
Our ceremony went so well and I loved the ladies that we worked with (Deborah and Anyah). The staff were very Read more...
Our ceremony went so well and I loved the ladies that we worked with (Deborah and Anyah). The staff were very professional, responsive, and EXTREMELY helpful. My only "issue" is that they pretty well force you to book two time slots with them if you don't want to feel rushed. However, the chapel is so beautiful by itself that you save a ton by not having to decorate. Everyone was great and very helpful and the site is absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who either a) is having a smaller wedding, or b) has the budget to book two time slots. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Matt and Jamie
Wedding:
6/21/2014
2.2/5.0
Beautiful chapel and reception hall !! The food at the reception was amazing!
But don't expect any help from the staff. They are beyond unorganized!
Beautiful chapel and reception hall !! The food at the reception was amazing!
But don't expect any help from the Read more...
Beautiful chapel and reception hall !! The food at the reception was amazing!
But don't expect any help from the staff. They are beyond unorganized! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
The Little Chapel in the Woods responded with the following comments:

We have streamlined our process since 2014 in order to help our brides make their day as seamless as possible.

DEALS

Open House
Get Deal
Promo Code: Wedding Wire   $750 Value
Attend our Open House on December 3rd 2016 from 11:00am - 1:00pm and you will receive a 10% discount for your Little Chapel Rental!

Offer Expires: 12/03/2016
Deal #WW330c295d19d9b6a4
220x220 1479485217382 1479485205766 divethwed0571 1608620195 o
Last Call: Book a Reception at Hubbard Hall
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $1,350 Value
Hubbard Hall will under renovation starting September 1st, 2017. All TWU Alumni & Military Members will receive a 10% discount of their deposit.

Offer Expires: 08/31/2017
Deal #WW87bc1b947de16daa
220x220 1475251090128 smalltwu 2 hh rotunda

MAP

 
1600 Bell Avenue, Denton, TX 76204 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Little Chapel in the Woods
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1475247221 a7aedd0bf47ff412 cotton 4