130x130 sq 1329501380163 thelocalfront

The Local Restaurant and Catering

Charlottesville , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

824 Hinton Avenue
Charlottesville, VA 22902 US (map)

PHONE

434-984-9749

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Local’s Genesis: The Local was started in March 2008 to provide a venue to showcase the abundant supply of small farmers, artisan cheese makers, breweries, distilleries and award... Read more
The Local’s Genesis: The Local was started in March 2008 to provide a venue to showcase the abundant supply of small farmers, artisan cheese makers, breweries, distilleries and award winning vineyards located in Charlottesville and the surrounding area. We are truly blessed to have such a wide variety of agriculture readily accessible and a local population so willing to support the local food movement. In addition, we strive to support local craftsman, and much of what you see in the restaurant is fabricated locally.

History of the Building: The building was built circa 1912, and was originally a shoe repair shop with a small apartment upstairs for the proprietor. It served the new Belmont development which was subdivided in 1890 from a large farm to pay off debts incurred by the deceased owner Robert Slaughter. The farm house manager’s house sits directly across from the back deck and is the white brick house. Over the years the building has served many businesses ranging from a church, general store, furniture store, motorcycle shop, pool hall and finally a photography studio. The upstairs has always served as an apartment until it was renovated for the restaurant. If you look at the floor carefully you can still see the lines where walls once divided the room into a bedroom, living room, and kitchen.

On Site Events: The Local has approximately two thousand square feet of dining space upstairs and can comfortably serve sixty inside for seated dinners and up to one hundred and sixty utilizing the outdoor space. There are three beautiful spaces that are perfect for rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, business dinners, and holiday parties. We have a sensational menu full of locally grown and cultivated products that would be perfect for your next event! There is no event too big or too small, as we have catered events ranging from 10 people to 300 people.

Off Site Catering: Our catering offers full-service event planning, in which our planners will work with you to make your vision become a reality. We cater events of all sizes and locations. Matthew Hart, our executive chef, is happy to custom design a menu that is suitable for any budget. Our dedication to customer service will make your experience one of a kind. Not only can we cater your next event, our event coordinators can also help you with Day of Wedding Planning Services, as well as Venue and Vendor recommendations!

Chef’s Note: Thank you for considering The Local for your event. The way we approach food here at The Local involves working with many seasonal ingredients and small local farmers. Because of this, some of the local items are not available at all times. We are very flexible in creating custom menu options and within the desired budget of your event. We are here to make the vision of your event become a reality. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1329856093617 thelocalfront
130x130 sq 1329855123115 mg1958
130x130 sq 1329855213228 mg1967
130x130 sq 1329855055379 mg1935
130x130 sq 1329855305211 mg2000
130x130 sq 1329855550797 mg2098
130x130 sq 1329855644537 mg2105
130x130 sq 1435095813729 lew1143 xl
130x130 sq 1329856075115 matthewatcastlehill
130x130 sq 1435094944567 aaron watson barn wedding venues2
130x130 sq 1329855660989 healey1castlehillentrance
130x130 sq 1329856037639 amandasticklerwedding11
130x130 sq 1329856040635 amandasticklerwedding12
130x130 sq 1329856030253 img0648
130x130 sq 1329856035192 amandasticklerwedding10
130x130 sq 1329855664407 healey2chairs
130x130 sq 1404226271612 2
130x130 sq 1435095378083 aaron watson photography 326
130x130 sq 1404226324337 aaron watson photography 464 2
130x130 sq 1435094980205 aaron watson photography 186
130x130 sq 1329855666853 healey3christinbeautiful
130x130 sq 1435095088662 aaron watson photography 021
130x130 sq 1435095022420 aaron watson photography 346
130x130 sq 1435095226259 aaron watson photography 141
130x130 sq 1435095435323 aaron watson photography 332
130x130 sq 1435095303938 aaron watson photography 275
130x130 sq 1435095536078 aaron watson photography 377
130x130 sq 1329855670547 healey4roomsetup
130x130 sq 1435095777875 lew0027 x2
130x130 sq 1329855673719 healey5dancing
130x130 sq 1329855699947 img03551
130x130 sq 1329855725113 img0365
130x130 sq 1329855788278 img0369
130x130 sq 1329855831639 img0636
130x130 sq 1329855868564 img0637
130x130 sq 1329855898514 img0640
130x130 sq 1329855933681 img0641
130x130 sq 1329855970771 img0643
130x130 sq 1329856005697 img0644
130x130 sq 1329856043397 amandasticklerwedding9
130x130 sq 1329856047391 amandastricklerwedding1
130x130 sq 1329856052097 amandastricklerwedding2
130x130 sq 1329856056344 amandastricklerwedding3
130x130 sq 1329856059853 amandastricklerwedding4
130x130 sq 1435095172661 aaron watson photography 041
130x130 sq 1329856062618 amandastricklerwedding5
130x130 sq 1329856065517 amandastricklerwedding6
130x130 sq 1329856068372 amandastricklerwedding7
130x130 sq 1329856071994 amandastricklerwedding8
130x130 sq 1329856078877 wine
130x130 sq 1329856081068 tabledisplaycatering2
130x130 sq 1329856083603 tabledisplaycatering3
130x130 sq 1329856086460 tabledisplaycatering
130x130 sq 1329856089646 tabledisplayheader
130x130 sq 1329856097217 thelocalwithsnow2
130x130 sq 1435095616301 aaron watson photography 382
130x130 sq 1435095680820 aaron watson photography 387
130x130 sq 1435095752443 aaron watson photography 482
130x130 sq 1435095785252 lew0064 x2
130x130 sq 1435095792727 lew0071 x2
130x130 sq 1435095800670 lew0078 x2
130x130 sq 1435095808040 lew0109 x2

INFO FOR CATERING

What event services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake Cutting, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American, Asian, Cajun, French, Indian, Italian, Latin American, Local, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Southwestern
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Outside Alcohol OK, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kate
Wedding:
9/3/2016
5.0/5.0
The food and service by the Local were above and beyond!! Their staff went out of their way to seek us out and ensure that we got to try all of the passed appetizers which were delicious! They were incredibly professional and managed to keep the desserts safe from our mischievous dog before the guests could try them. We highly recommend them!!
The food and service by the Local were above and beyond!! Their staff went out of their way to seek us out and ensure that Read more...
The food and service by the Local were above and beyond!! Their staff went out of their way to seek us out and ensure that we got to try all of the passed appetizers which were delicious! They were incredibly professional and managed to keep the desserts safe from our mischievous dog before the guests could try them. We highly recommend them!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Alicia
Wedding:
9/3/2016
5.0/5.0
The Local catered our rehearsal dinner as well as our wedding. Rehearsal dinner was wonderful! We loved being able to offer various choices of entrees and appetizers to our guests, and staff was very attentive to our every need. I especially loved the dessert brownie ice cream sundae bar they were able to set up. The wedding dinner was also good, everything came out quickly, was hott, and had plenty of flavor. Highly recommend them!
The Local catered our rehearsal dinner as well as our wedding. Rehearsal dinner was wonderful! We loved being able to Read more...
The Local catered our rehearsal dinner as well as our wedding. Rehearsal dinner was wonderful! We loved being able to offer various choices of entrees and appetizers to our guests, and staff was very attentive to our every need. I especially loved the dessert brownie ice cream sundae bar they were able to set up. The wedding dinner was also good, everything came out quickly, was hott, and had plenty of flavor. Highly recommend them! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
Marybeth
Wedding:
5/15/2016
5.0/5.0
The Local did a fabulous job catering our daughter’s May 2016 wedding. Courtney Hildebrand’s expertise was incredibly valuable. She also provided a sense of calm during such an overwhelming time of preparation and angst. Regarding the food quality, we were told by many guests how delicious everything was from the appetizers to the buffet dinner. We highly recommend The Local and their outstanding staff.
The Local did a fabulous job catering our daughter’s May 2016 wedding. Courtney Hildebrand’s expertise was incredibly Read more...
The Local did a fabulous job catering our daughter’s May 2016 wedding. Courtney Hildebrand’s expertise was incredibly valuable. She also provided a sense of calm during such an overwhelming time of preparation and angst. Regarding the food quality, we were told by many guests how delicious everything was from the appetizers to the buffet dinner. We highly recommend The Local and their outstanding staff. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/7/2016
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about The Local and working with them for our spring wedding at Grace Estate Winery in May. The food was incredible, so delicious, and worthy of numerous comments from our guests throughout the evening – but the best part about choosing The Local (in my opinion) is their event coordinators & staff. The Local has a team of extremely talented people that care about their clients and making your big day absolutely perfect. Helen & Justice (our event coordinators) went above and beyond to make sure the planning process was smooth and painless and that our wedding reception went off without a hitch.

When I started searching for caterers in Charlottesville, I felt a little overwhelmed by all of the choices and then a little frustrated by all of the ones that took soo long to respond to my inquiry. Finally, I found The Local and received a very prompt response from Helen – It was clear she had taken the time to read my inquiry and was already sending me ideas that fit my wants, needs, and budget. I was sold on The Local immediately and it was the best decision!

The Local has a great selection of choices when it comes to food and if they don’t serve something you have in mind, they’re very willing to try new things! I don’t think they had ever served a mashed potato bar before but Helen made it happen (it was the bomb!). The tasting is a great opportunity to try their food, get a sense for their cooking style & quality, and leave for home feeling fat and happy!

Helen & Justice were so hands on, patient, responsive, and just a fun people to work with. I was so nervous at first about planning the catering for our wedding but they made me feel calm & confident throughout the whole process. They were always available for a phone call or open to meeting in Charlottesville – like for the tasting and even a walk through at the venue days before the wedding.

Final words – You will not regret choosing The Local!
I cannot say enough good things about The Local and working with them for our spring wedding at Grace Estate Winery in Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about The Local and working with them for our spring wedding at Grace Estate Winery in May. The food was incredible, so delicious, and worthy of numerous comments from our guests throughout the evening – but the best part about choosing The Local (in my opinion) is their event coordinators & staff. The Local has a team of extremely talented people that care about their clients and making your big day absolutely perfect. Helen & Justice (our event coordinators) went above and beyond to make sure the planning process was smooth and painless and that our wedding reception went off without a hitch.

When I started searching for caterers in Charlottesville, I felt a little overwhelmed by all of the choices and then a little frustrated by all of the ones that took soo long to respond to my inquiry. Finally, I found The Local and received a very prompt response from Helen – It was clear she had taken the time to read my inquiry and was already sending me ideas that fit my wants, needs, and budget. I was sold on The Local immediately and it was the best decision!

The Local has a great selection of choices when it comes to food and if they don’t serve something you have in mind, they’re very willing to try new things! I don’t think they had ever served a mashed potato bar before but Helen made it happen (it was the bomb!). The tasting is a great opportunity to try their food, get a sense for their cooking style & quality, and leave for home feeling fat and happy!

Helen & Justice were so hands on, patient, responsive, and just a fun people to work with. I was so nervous at first about planning the catering for our wedding but they made me feel calm & confident throughout the whole process. They were always available for a phone call or open to meeting in Charlottesville – like for the tasting and even a walk through at the venue days before the wedding.

Final words – You will not regret choosing The Local! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Desirae
Wedding:
4/16/2016
5.0/5.0
We used the Local for our rehearsal dinner at the Old Metropolitan Hall and for our wedding at Castle Hill Cider in April, 2016. We were so happy with the Local, starting from the beginning stages of communication and food tastings, to the full execution of both events. Courtney and Helen and the rest of the Local crew are rock stars and made the whole planning process and wedding weekend a total breeze. The food was delicious and doesn't even compare to the other caterers we tried. If you want good food at a reasonable price and with the best staff around I would highly recommend using the Local!! They were great!
We used the Local for our rehearsal dinner at the Old Metropolitan Hall and for our wedding at Castle Hill Cider in April, Read more...
We used the Local for our rehearsal dinner at the Old Metropolitan Hall and for our wedding at Castle Hill Cider in April, 2016. We were so happy with the Local, starting from the beginning stages of communication and food tastings, to the full execution of both events. Courtney and Helen and the rest of the Local crew are rock stars and made the whole planning process and wedding weekend a total breeze. The food was delicious and doesn't even compare to the other caterers we tried. If you want good food at a reasonable price and with the best staff around I would highly recommend using the Local!! They were great! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Charlotte
Wedding:
1/16/2016
5.0/5.0
I can not say thank you enough to The Local and their staff/event coordinator for making our wedding so special! Our whole experience has been amazing!
I can not say thank you enough to The Local and their staff/event coordinator for making our wedding so special! Our whole Read more...
I can not say thank you enough to The Local and their staff/event coordinator for making our wedding so special! Our whole experience has been amazing! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for an EXCELLENT catering company, you have found your match! We used The Local for our recent wedding and LOVED THEM! Our initial contact with the company, and specifically, Helen, was all via email. Helen was EXTREMELY professional and timely with all of her responses. After multiple emails back and forth, we set up a date to meet The Local and try the food... we were blown away. The food was AMAZING. We left with full bellies and smiles on our faces!

The email correspondence continued throughout the planning process- sometimes multiple emails a day. Helen was always patient and polite. Also, Helen is very familiar with the area's venues- so for us, she was able to offer suggestions and reference pictures to help us make decisions about room set up, decorations, etc.

On the day of the wedding, The Local arrived on time and set everything up beautifully! The wedding party all had to be at the venue early for pictures and such- so we had The Local cater lunch for us there. The lunch was over the top!!! Wraps, veggie tray, humus and pita chips.... for $12 a person, you can't beat that!! It was delicious and just what we needed while we were getting ready.

During the ceremony, Helen paid attention to us- brought us food (she knew we weren't going to make it through the buffet!) and even made us a 'to go box' at the end of the night. The rest of the staff was super courteous throughout the night.

And the food.... WOW. Many of our guests made a point to tell us how wonderful the food was- really, people were blown away! I HIGHLY recommend this company- we will certainly use them again for future catered events!!!!
If you are looking for an EXCELLENT catering company, you have found your match! We used The Local for our recent wedding Read more...
If you are looking for an EXCELLENT catering company, you have found your match! We used The Local for our recent wedding and LOVED THEM! Our initial contact with the company, and specifically, Helen, was all via email. Helen was EXTREMELY professional and timely with all of her responses. After multiple emails back and forth, we set up a date to meet The Local and try the food... we were blown away. The food was AMAZING. We left with full bellies and smiles on our faces!

The email correspondence continued throughout the planning process- sometimes multiple emails a day. Helen was always patient and polite. Also, Helen is very familiar with the area's venues- so for us, she was able to offer suggestions and reference pictures to help us make decisions about room set up, decorations, etc.

On the day of the wedding, The Local arrived on time and set everything up beautifully! The wedding party all had to be at the venue early for pictures and such- so we had The Local cater lunch for us there. The lunch was over the top!!! Wraps, veggie tray, humus and pita chips.... for $12 a person, you can't beat that!! It was delicious and just what we needed while we were getting ready.

During the ceremony, Helen paid attention to us- brought us food (she knew we weren't going to make it through the buffet!) and even made us a 'to go box' at the end of the night. The rest of the staff was super courteous throughout the night.

And the food.... WOW. Many of our guests made a point to tell us how wonderful the food was- really, people were blown away! I HIGHLY recommend this company- we will certainly use them again for future catered events!!!! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Claire
Wedding:
10/18/2015
5.0/5.0
We used The Local to cater our wedding at Castle Hill. They did an absolutely wonderful job! The food was delicious and we haven't stopped hearing about it from our guests, the majority saying that it was the best food they have had at a wedding!

They provided a fabulous service and I have to mention Courtney in particular who took care of our wedding. She was absolutely amazing and really went above and beyond through the whole process. The service was really so much more than we thought would be provided by a caterer, from recommending other vendors (which we also used) to suggesting methods which would cut costs in certain areas. Myself and my husband are not from the local area and nothing was too much trouble to accommodate us throughout. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to source a caterer for their event. Look no further, this is the place to go!
We used The Local to cater our wedding at Castle Hill. They did an absolutely wonderful job! The food was delicious and we Read more...
We used The Local to cater our wedding at Castle Hill. They did an absolutely wonderful job! The food was delicious and we haven't stopped hearing about it from our guests, the majority saying that it was the best food they have had at a wedding!

They provided a fabulous service and I have to mention Courtney in particular who took care of our wedding. She was absolutely amazing and really went above and beyond through the whole process. The service was really so much more than we thought would be provided by a caterer, from recommending other vendors (which we also used) to suggesting methods which would cut costs in certain areas. Myself and my husband are not from the local area and nothing was too much trouble to accommodate us throughout. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to source a caterer for their event. Look no further, this is the place to go! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
10/11/2015
5.0/5.0
The Local catered our October wedding and made sure that the entire event went according to plan. Prior to the day Courtney was amazing at helping us not only plan our meals but get set up with other necessary vendors. She made so many great recommendations it made the entire planning process easy. On the day of Helen was at our venue making sure the ceremony and reception spaces were set up correctly and checking all of the last minute details. It was such a relief having her there to help. I recommend them to anyone looking for an excellent wedding caterer!
The Local catered our October wedding and made sure that the entire event went according to plan. Prior to the day Read more...
The Local catered our October wedding and made sure that the entire event went according to plan. Prior to the day Courtney was amazing at helping us not only plan our meals but get set up with other necessary vendors. She made so many great recommendations it made the entire planning process easy. On the day of Helen was at our venue making sure the ceremony and reception spaces were set up correctly and checking all of the last minute details. It was such a relief having her there to help. I recommend them to anyone looking for an excellent wedding caterer! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/19/2015
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more happy with The Local! They catered our wedding and Helen was our day of coordinator. We went with a BBQ theme for dinner and it was absolutely delicious. We had guests telling us all night how good the food was. All of their staff was very helpful and flexible throughout the whole planning process and Helen was a dream to work with! She truly went so far above and beyond to make sure our wedding day was smooth, stress-free, and exactly what we envisioned! We would definitely recommend the Local and Helen in a heartbeat for weddings or other catered events.
We could not have been more happy with The Local! They catered our wedding and Helen was our day of coordinator. We went Read more...
We could not have been more happy with The Local! They catered our wedding and Helen was our day of coordinator. We went with a BBQ theme for dinner and it was absolutely delicious. We had guests telling us all night how good the food was. All of their staff was very helpful and flexible throughout the whole planning process and Helen was a dream to work with! She truly went so far above and beyond to make sure our wedding day was smooth, stress-free, and exactly what we envisioned! We would definitely recommend the Local and Helen in a heartbeat for weddings or other catered events. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning

MAP

 
824 Hinton Avenue, Charlottesville, VA 22902 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Local Restaurant and Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1329501380163 thelocalfront