130x130_sq_1375891299859-305976537417856310379886161291n

THE MAKEUP LOFT

Plymouth , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

320 S Main
Plymouth, MI US 48170 (map)

PHONE

734-922-5638

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

EMMY NOMINATED STUDIO & OWNER, Specializing in all levels of makeup artistry, The Makeup Loft in Plymouth is your premiere makeup studio for all occasions and events. From Bridal to... Read more
EMMY NOMINATED STUDIO & OWNER, Specializing in all levels of makeup artistry, The Makeup Loft in Plymouth is your premiere makeup studio for all occasions and events. From Bridal to Bachelorette, from Photo Shoots to Parties we cover all areas of Makeup! In addition to providing modern, top of the line makeup service, the Makeup Loft also offers hair styling, facials and waxing covering all spectrums of beautification. Here at the Makeup Loft, we believe makeup should be current, fresh and polished so to enhance your features and not drown them out. With this mission in mind, our objective is making every woman feel empowered by being an individual and not another carbon copy. Our team will strive to use your personal style and taste as the blueprint in building your perfect, signature look. We are The Makeup Loft and we Welcome you!! Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1375890814162-1738537418022977029497291486n
130x130_sq_1375890840235-1846537387656313399745532883n
130x130_sq_1375890854643-244355374179429770371935271095n
130x130_sq_1375890870986-150862537388166313348605516019n
130x130_sq_1375890886314-305976537417856310379886161291n
130x130_sq_1375890906618-4811395818376118270812109431804n
130x130_sq_1375890928492-562196537418242977007725630292n
130x130_sq_1375890946090-4838895847101815398241832819761n
130x130_sq_1375890967910-541080537387956313369275680197n
130x130_sq_1375890992169-52680653738679964681824405341n
130x130_sq_1375897716823-121497201302181112201363
130x130_sq_1334948750693-3979231015054321568362478468362386270411881674060n
130x130_sq_1334950518093-430687353474077059113344776174998495438834336n
130x130_sq_1334948635731-modelbookcover
130x130_sq_1334948729418-16322749987561362378468362358512472982893n
130x130_sq_1375897739307-121497201302181112345351
130x130_sq_1334948600692-5226113204869713467321546775279276788617631464321685n

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Body Art, Facial, Hair, Makeup, Spa
Do you offer trials and consultations?
Yes
Can you service a large group or bridal party?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
130x130_sq_1394496404236-1959387841805089182477270189562
KESWalle
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Wow I dont even have words to describe how beautiful you made me feel on my wedding day. I am a VERY picky person when it comes to my hair and makeup and the makeup loft surpassed all of my expectations, I knew they must be good from all of these reviews but I was still nervous. I have a large scar on my left cheek and I was extremely nervous because I did not have a trial and my scar is pretty deep and can be hard to cover - but oh my gosh they were amazing, you cant even see my scar in the photos. I cannot thank you enough for making me feel the most beautiful I have EVER felt and for doing such an amazing job on my bridesmaids hair + makeup! You were truly our glam squad!! - The Sobels
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Janelle and Rachel,

I can't tell you how much I love you two!! Not only did you make me feel beautiful for my wedding day, you've turned me into a regular customer. I have never felt so comfortable and confident while getting my hair and makeup done, and you lovely ladies helped to complete the day. Thank you so much for the part that you played and for teaching me about the benefits of eyelash extensions... I can't believe that I hadn't done it before!

I can't recommend you guys enough!
Stephanie K.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the most beautiful I have ever felt! I loved working with Janelle and Jamie. Jamie did an amazing job setting up my trial and our appointments. Janelle and Ashley came to the hotel we were getting ready at and they did an AMAZING job. All of my girls looked beautiful and I felt so amazing. I received so many compliments on how stunning I looked. The makeup last all night without evening needing to re-apply. The Makeup Loft was the right choice and I am so happy! Makeup Loft, thank you SO much for everything!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about the ladies at the Makeup Loft. I had 9 bridesmaids and they made all of us look great. All of us had hair and makeup the day of the wedding and they were so creative yet would take our suggestions as to how we wanted our makeup and hair. They really listened to us and made us feel so comfortable. Even our mothers had hair and makeup and liked how they looked. The makeup held all day and for a day in August, that says a lot. I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/19/2013
5.0/5.0
My makeup looked amazing even though it was the hottest day of 2013 (almost 100 degrees). I had an outdoor ceremony, about two hours of pictures were outside, and I danced until midnight and it still held up great. I got so many compliments on my makeup all evening too.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Courtney did an excellent job on my wedding day hair and makeup. She was so helpful when I decided to change my hair style on the day of the wedding. She was very focused on making sure I looked beautiful for my special day. I highly recommend The Makeup Loft. I especially loved the fact that they came right to our hotel so we could relax before the ceremony.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Dear Janelle Thomason and Makeup Loft Staff....I can't thank you enough for the beautiful job you did on me and the women in my wedding. I always knew that my daughters are beautiful....but you and your team brought out a natural beauty with their makeup. I would like to thank you for your kindness, your expertise and your professionalism, as well as, your attention to detail. You are the best around in my book! I am referring people to you very chance I get. Bless you all. ♥ The new Mrs. Laurie Cook.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Janelle is hands down THE best make up artist in Michigan. I had a bridesmaid who got married last year who wished she had booked them and a bridesmaid getting married in October who wished she booked with them as well! My other bridesmaid ALWAYS ends up taking off the make up she gets done when she's in weddings because she doesn't like it, and she loved the way she looked when Janelle did her make up. Very professional and quick, and versatile! She was able to do Caucasian, African American and Asian make up and enhanced us all! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and very reasonably priced, do not go anywhere else!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Janelle and her team are amazing! I used them for my wedding and they made everyone look like models! My Mom is very self conscious sometimes, and after Janelle got done with her makeup, I have never seen her look more confident or incredible in my life! Also, they are really efficient at what they do and we didn't need to spend hours sitting in a chair to look so beautiful. They are really friendly, professional and responsive and they even came to us for a very reasonable fee, which is definitely worth doing! Thanks again for making us look so incredible!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
The Makeup Loft did my and my bridesmaids makeup and hair for my wedding in January. They did a wonderful job. They made me look beautiful and I am still getting compliments on my makeup when people look at the pictures. I absolutely loved my hair, Rachel was able to achieve the look I wanted with minimal direction from me (hello, overwhelmed bride!). It also held very well through the winter wind. Thank you Makeup Loft!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
My hair and make up was flawless for my wedding! Not only did I love everything about it all of my bridesmaids and my mom and mother in law did as well. Its always hard to make sure that 8 different woman walk away happy with their hair and make it and The Makeup Loft did just that. They even were flexible enough to allow some of the bridesmaids who originally didnt sign up for make up to get it done. I am so happy I hired the Makeup Loft and would recommend them again and again!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chrissy
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Working with The Makeup Loft was really great. Jamie was quick with returning emails and phone calls and was always prepared with answers.

Rachel did my hair. I had 2 trials; the first didn't go so well. I chose to do it early and I wasn't sure what I wanted and the photos I brought weren't the best. When I didn't like how my hair turned out all the girls were great. I made a second appointment and Rachel took the time to do 2 different styles so we made sure I had the hair I wanted. Even though I was freaked out after the first trial Rachel made it right and I loved my hair the day of the wedding. She is really talented.

Janelle is truly gifted. I'm so impressed with her and I loved my makeup at the trial and the day of my wedding. I had so many compliments on how great my skin looked!

All these girls had a hand in helping me feel the best I could have ever imagined on the most important day of my life. I will forever recommend them and hopefully there will be an occasion where I can be a repeat customer.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1357526314395-prtrts47
Amber Z
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Janelle and her team are AMAZING!!! They arrived right on time, even though there was a shut down on the only highway to my venue, she still made it there a few minutes early. Her and the two girls doing our hair were so nice and friendly, we really enjoyed having them there. They made everyone feel very comfortable. Everyone looked SO beautiful. I was so happy with my hair and my makeup. My curls and my makeup lasted all night, even after the wedding. I noticed that the girls kept looking at themselves in the mirror, they just knew they looked beautiful and really made them feel great. We all received tons of compliments from everyone. Janelle and everyone at The Makeup Loft are true professionals.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Janelle and her team did an excellent job with onsite hair and makeup for my wedding. She's fun and easy to work with, and her facials are fabulous! If you are thinking of going with the Makeup Loft, book early as they fill up fast!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
The Makeup Loft was amazing!!! They truly wanted me to look my best on my big day! My makeup photographed beautifully! Thank you! Thank you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg15
Lauren
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Janelle and her team are amazing! I was thrilled with my hair and makeup - dramatic yet natural as well - not an easy combination to achieve! Her team was very professional and efficient. The quality and durability of her makeup is excellent as well. I had a Hindu ceremony, which involved putting a red-dye puttu on my forehead. However, I was able to remove this after the ceremony and my makeup remained intact. I would recommend the Makeup Loft to any bride without a doubt.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
My bridesmaids and I looked beautiful on my wedding day thanks to Head Makeup Artist Janelle T.! Her staff was wonderful in answering all of my pre-day qustions and worries and I even got to pay over the phone how convenient! I did a trail run quite a few months ahead and knew that she was my girl, she is so good at what she does, it's amazing. The day of the wedding she arrived right on time and got going on the girls and saved me for last so I would look the freshest. I have a few imperfections on my face and she covered them up so well that you would never know they were there andher line of makeup lasts well into the next day so you can go on your airplane ride and still look fabulous. My photos look beautiful now because I had a professional do my makeup for me on my big day! What a RELIEF! Thank you ladies at The Makeup Loft.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carissa
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Janelle and her staff are amazing. The Makeup Loft is not only beautiful, but clean as well. She is such a great makeup artist and truly loves what she does. I love what she does!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wasztylk
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
So amazing!!! Makeup and hair were flawless. The whole staff was on time and didn't stop until everyone was a 100% happy!!! Through out the night myself and bridesmaid got tons of compliments how stunning we looked!! highly recommend! Definitely worth the money!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erica_ab42
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I had the best experience with The Make Up Loft. All of my bridesmaids hair and make-up looked fabulous and lasted all day. They were on time and very professional. My sister liked them so much she ended up canceling the company she had previously hired for her wedding and decided to use the Make Up Loft because she was so impressed with their services. On your wedding day there are so many things you have to worry about but if you use the Make up Loft, Hair and Make up is one less thing on the list. I would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becki
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Thank you! The limo we used totally ruined our day and made us swelter in the heat but makeup stayed in tact and looked awesome! You guys rock..thank you so much :)
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JLV
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Janelle & her staff were wonderful at working with each of my girls to ensure that not only did we each feel beautiful, but comfortable the entire day. She helped to ensure that not only did I, the bride, get the look I was going for-for myself & my party as a whole, but also that each bridesmaid was able to assert her own individuality & style. Everyone looked beautiful the entire day! I am so thankful that they were able to be there for my special day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bethany
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend The Makeup Loft!! Janelle and her team did a fabulous job with both hair and makeup on me-the bride, the bridesmaids, and the mothers. I enjoyed having the team come to my venue because it set more of a relaxed tone and it was more intimate for the bridal party as opposed to being spread out at a salon. From the trial to the day of, the Makeup Loft provided friendly and prompt service. These ladies are truly talented and if I could do it all over again, they would still be my number one choice. Looking beautiful on my big day was very important to me and I could not have been happier with the results!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I had never had Professional Make up done before so i was very hesitant on getting it done professionally for my sister's wedding. I was beyond thrilled and very impressed. I felt flawless and very beautiful. The whole staff at the Make up Loft was a great help and I highly recommend them to anyone!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I love Janelle and her team! They are so nice and professinal! They made everything so easy (they came to us instead of us going to them). They are great and the price is great too!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
5/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Janelle at the makeup loft is amazing! The first time I saw her she did my makeup for my engagement pictures which was flawless! I was so sad to have to wash it off that night because it still looked awesome 12 hours later. After that I started to see Janelle monthly for facials leading up to my wedding. My skin drastically improved and I no longer feel like my face is in Jr High dealing with acne while the rest of me is in my 20s. I wish I could have had Janelle do my makeup for my wedding but since I was in Las Vegas that probably wouldn't have worked out so well. But I will continue to see Janelle for facials up until the day I get sent off with my husbands job in the Army.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa-Kay
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I could not have been more happy on my day with everything Janelle and her team did. Not only did I feel totally at ease with how I was going to look but I was stunned when I saw myself in the mirror. The attention to detail was amazing and how long my makeup lasted and looked was not something I thought makeup could even do. I look at my pictures from our wedding and I could cry from how beautiful all of us looked and how fun and easy the day went as far as beauty goes, thanks to the Makeup Loft. I would recommend them to anyone for anything without a second thought!!!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
1/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Quite possibly the best makeup artist in Michigan. For Janelle, there is a natural talent that shows through on her applications. Highly recommend her, she is amazing!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Bg6
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Katie Stam from The Makeup Loft did my hair and makeup for my wedding and she did a fabulous job! She also did my mom's hair and makeup which turned out great as well! Both makeup and hair held all day and night and I received many, many compliments on both! Katie is a sweetheart, knows her stuff, and she does an amazing job! She works fast and flawlessly. I've never felt so beautiful as on my wedding day and it was all thanks to Katie! I would highly recommend her!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ereno
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
FABULOUS!!! Your professionalism and quality of work was just outstanding. Can't give you a high enough rating. Thank you so much for making everyone look beautiful. Brought tears to my eyes
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Photography, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.8/5.0
The Make up loft did my hair and make up for our engagement photos as well as our wedding. Engagement photo experience was good, not great. I wanted something a little more natural. I had told them I wanted curl in my hair, but my hair tends to not hold curl. They told me the curls would hold and they didn't. I believe that to be my own fault though, I know my hair better than anyone. But my pictures did turn out great and even though my hair didn't hold the curl it had great body which worked out fine. My bridal trial was good too. I started to panic a little bit in the hair chair and I just couldn't figure out what the problem was. They suggested I take a break and work on make up and it was just what I needed. They were very accommodating. For my wedding day, I had three of their stylists come to my house. Best thing ever! They got all my girls done and fast. Without jeopardizing quality. The were great. My pictures again turned out flawless and I have never felt so beautiful in my life. The confidence booster you need when all eyes are on you!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
4/22/2012
4.8/5.0
Janelle, Rachel, and the rest of Janelle's team made my wedding day so much easier! They are professionals who were unfazed by the variety of types of faces and hair to work on. Janelle even averted a clothing crisis with one of my Bridesmaids and got her dress to zip up! I had originally been a bit concerned that the service was a little pricey, but found out that you get what you pay for in this case. It was well worth the money, we look great even in cellphone pictures...I can't wait for the professional pictures to arrive! Thank you Makeup Loft team for making this mature Bride look her best! I will see you for non wedding services soon!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TT
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.7/5.0
Love Janelle at the Makeup Loft! Janelle, is very personable, professional and will make you feel like your wedding is just as important to her as it was to you! My everyday work schedule can be a little hectic.. Janelle was very accommodating and flexible. Christina was wonderful, she kept me up on my appointments and gave wonderful suggestions, she’s very nice and always made me comfortable with what I wanted. I didn’t have a clear vision of direction I wanted with my makeup or hair so I met with Janelle and Jill several times for trial runs… Both Janelle and Jill were very patient & understanding.. They never made me feel like I was a bother nor did they ever give up until I was happy. As the wedding day approached Janelle, Jill and Janelle’s hair assistant gave myself and my girls the look I was looking for, everyone looked gorgeous!!! The thing I liked the most about Janelle was before my bridesmaids were out of her chair she made sure not only they liked the way they looked she checked with me that it was the look I wanted for my day. Janelle didn’t let her job end once my appointment was over, when I booked with Janelle I didn’t have all my vendors, she was amazing with referrals even though she wasn’t making any profit from them. Over the course of time, I trusted her opinion and suggestions. On top of referrals, Janelle checked in with me several times to make sure I wasn’t overwhelmed with any of my planning and constantly made sure I was ok with her work. If I had the chance to rewind time and pick again, I would hire The Makeup Loft again! Along with great service and very personable staff the Makeup Loft is affordable which is every brides hope. A lot of wedding vendors can be very expensive and treat you like you’re just another wedding… Not The Makeup Loft, I wouldn't hesitate to book again!!! Good luck & enjoy every moment because the day is over before you know it~
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.2/5.0
My bridesmaids and I were very happy with our hair and makeup team. They were on time and very professional and did a beautiful job. They were also very friendly and helped keep the atmosphere relaxed! They were also flexible when I scheduled my hair trial as I flew in from out of town that same morning and had a full day of planning and bachelorette events that afternoon - they opened their studio and hour early so I could make it to everything! I definitely recommend them.
Services Used: Beauty & Health
130x130_sq_1283655334380-dscn1784
Laurie
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.0/5.0
I love looking at the pictures of my bridesmaids!! When I reviewed my ideas with Janelle, I requested a 40's Hollywood/Pinup glamor and that's what I see! It was a dramatic look, but even my friend who hardly ever wears make-up felt natural and comfortable, not caked. And I felt so beautiful for the big day!
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
Jamie was not clear about explaining that booking a date over the phone with a credit card was possible. I asked for her to send a contract in the beginning of February and then I had to call her back 2 weeks later for the contract, because it was not sent. Today I had a relative drop the contract and check deposit off at the Makeup Loft. When she got there, they explained someone booked my wedding date in the beginning of the week. The only other accommodation was to arrive at 6 a.m. and finish at 8 a.m. What bride would want to wake up early on their wedding day & sit for 5 hours with their hair and makeup done, in the middle of the summer?!

When we explained we weren't happy, Jamie had an attitude that they receive many bookings for brides & this mix up was not significant enough to hurt the Makeup Loft $$$. I think it is great to run a successful business and receive many awards and that is one thing The Makeup Loft should be proud of. In the future though, this company should own up to their mistake instead of making excuses and covering it up with their ego..

My relative called the makeup loft to ask for the owner & Jamie acted like she couldn't hear her and had hung up on my relative. When my relative tried to call back a 2nd time to ask for the manager, they had turned on the answering machine. If you want to have a good experience, book the same day. Once again I would like to be clear on my thoughts and I understand the Makeup Loft had no obligation to keep my time & day. But Jamie needs to be more clear on these policies and have this written in the contract and email to potential customers
Services Used: Beauty & Health

MAP

 
320 S Main, Plymouth, MI 48170 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for THE MAKEUP LOFT
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1375891299859-305976537417856310379886161291n