130x130_sq_1313770798480-margatefireworks

The Margate on Winnipesaukee

Laconia , NH
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

76 Lake St.
Laconia, NH US 03246 (map)

PHONE

603-524-5210

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Margate Resort on Winnipesaukee has been providing happy couples with the weddings of their dreams for over 50 years. As a family owned resort, we pay attention to every last detail... Read more
The Margate Resort on Winnipesaukee has been providing happy couples with the weddings of their dreams for over 50 years. As a family owned resort, we pay attention to every last detail helping to create the perfect wedding. From food selection and seating arrangements to recommending professional vendors, we take the guesswork out of planning your special day.



What we do well:


At The Margate Resort, we feel that our ability to show all of our prices upfront for our couples is a positive attribute.

Our couples have their own personal coordinator from the initial meeting through the wedding day. We feel this eliminates any third party confusions.


What separates us from other venues:

We have over 400 feet of beautiful beach to be the back drop for your special day.

We have both indoor and outdoor locations for your reception

We do not have any food and beverage minimums

Our prices are guaranteed from initial deposit through the wedding day.


What we feel are our strong features:

We only hold one wedding ceremony at a time.

We have been family owned since 1952.

We have beautifully landscaped grounds right on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1313771544699-margatefireworks
130x130_sq_1294680761062-dsc0033
130x130_sq_1294680864499-insidetented
130x130_sq_1338589071544-lsp1
130x130_sq_1338589074361-lsp2
130x130_sq_1338589076506-lsp3
130x130_sq_1339557963978-0073
130x130_sq_1339557940935-0069
130x130_sq_1339557864205-0076
130x130_sq_1339557882325-0034
130x130_sq_1339557912864-0068
130x130_sq_1339558066500-dsc9770
130x130_sq_1339558074176-0504
130x130_sq_1339558088876-docks
130x130_sq_1339558091496-dsc12312
130x130_sq_1339558094183-dsc1349
130x130_sq_1339558096979-dsc828612
130x130_sq_1339558099506-dsc9697
130x130_sq_1339557697211-lvdn
130x130_sq_1339557699094-lvkn
130x130_sq_1339557695771-iddn
130x130_sq_1339557694594-coffee320
130x130_sq_1339558298352-entrancesign2
130x130_sq_1339558294742-lakebuilding
130x130_sq_1339558297457-aerial594x512
130x130_sq_1339558245193-pool2
130x130_sq_1339558256894-gazebo
130x130_sq_1339558259871-health
130x130_sq_1339558249042-beach
130x130_sq_1339558177148-0715092022a
130x130_sq_1339558183164-aarontarafergusonaweb
130x130_sq_1339558250960-business
130x130_sq_1339558254153-coffee
130x130_sq_1339558292434-kayak2
130x130_sq_1307475620344-beachcolor
130x130_sq_1307475624266-beach
130x130_sq_1307475626438-beachcloseup
130x130_sq_1307475627954-ceremony
130x130_sq_1307475630032-dock2
130x130_sq_1307475631969-dock
130x130_sq_1307475634313-group
130x130_sq_1307475635782-sunset
130x130_sq_1307475638141-weddingparty
130x130_sq_1307476231141-depalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.102
130x130_sq_1307476233548-depalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1020
130x130_sq_1307476235438-depalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1024
130x130_sq_1307476238626-depalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1036
130x130_sq_1307476242219-depalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1037
130x130_sq_1307476244126-thumbsdepalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1017
130x130_sq_1307476245423-thumbsdepalohutchinsweddingbymatash7.17.1018

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1952
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
10
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
141
Number of suites
10
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirstan
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married at the Margate on Oct 12, 2013. I don’t know anyone that can say their wedding was perfect – because something inevitably goes awry. But I can. Our wedding weekend was perfect -- it was everything we wanted and more. This was due in large part to our wedding planner Nicole. We would heartily recommend Nicole and the Margate to anyone who asks. Nicole is exceptional at her job and it was a true pleasure to work with her. She went above and beyond the call of duty at every turn.

In addition, my husband and I could not have been more pleased with how well our guests were taken care of by the entire Margate staff – we heard nothing but raves from everyone in attendance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
If you choose The Margate for your wedding, and you have Laurie Grubbs as a coordinator, sit back, relax, and don't worry about a thing. She was absolutely amazing!! From minor details to the big day, she was there to answer any and all questions I had. They have the best caterer for function dinners as well. The food for my wedding was out of this world.
Everything was spectacular. Highly recommend The Margate for you future wedding!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
I had an absolute amazing and beautiful wedding ceremony in the Lakeside Pavilion at the Margate Resort! My reception was held in the Grand Ballroom which worked well for the number of guests we were expecting and the big dance floor we wanted! Working with my wedding coordinator Laurie Grubbs made the whole wedding planning process less stressful and complete! Laurie always answered all of my e-mails and messages quickly and promptly with detailed information to put my mind at ease. Laurie was always willing to go above and beyond to help me with my wedding and all of the extras that I wanted to include for the ceremony and reception. I was honestly amazed and tearful when I was walking into my ceremony and the reception how Laurie and my mother were able to bring my wedding dreams to light without any of my help in the decorating. The Margate was an easy decision for me because I was able to have my "beach" themed wedding, ceremony and reception all in one location, and the assistance of an amazing wedding coordinator! I would highly recommend the Margate for future weddings!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
The Margate was amazing! The venue speaks for itself when you see it. The lake is beautiful and the pavillion where the ceremony takes place is just perfect. I chose to have a tented reception on the lawn and I feel its the only way to do your wedding on the lake! The Margate offers many extras for after your reception or even the night before. We chose to have karaoke in the lounge the night before the wedding and a pool party after the reception. We also chose to have fireworks towards the end of our reception. I have seen many many fireworks displays in my lifetime but this one tops them all! We were nervous as to what we would get for the money but it was well worth it! I worked with Nicole and Aimee and they were both great. I sent many emails over my planning process and both were very responsive. I had some ideas that they had never done before but worked with my vision to help make my day a success. Nicole was there for my family and I all day during the wedding. She was everywhere! In terms of the hotel rooms they tend to vary in size depending on which building you choose and what bed option you choose. You are barely in your room but I would suggest viewing a few rooms before making your selections.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorri
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were looking for a "destination" wedding without the travel involved! We stumbled upon The Margate and we knew this is exactly what we wanted! A casual, but still elegant venue to host our flip flop wedding! We got married right on the beach! Had our reception in the tent that sits directly on the water! Ended our wedding with a fireworks display and had an after party bon fire with pizza right on the beach! Our wedding coordinator Laurie was SUPERB! Start to finish she followed through, was most helpful and professional! An absolute gem! But don't want to leave out Aimee Jones who may be the Sales Manager but nothing salesy about her! She provided all the info we needed and helped see our wedding through! In addition, the food was provided by Curt's Caterers and was so yumm! Our guests were happy it was a buffet and that they could go up for seconds! But what stands out above all was the outstanding efforts by the staff in response to a very unexpected MONSOON that took us all by surprise! The staff ran around DRENCHED mind you securing the tent and keeping all calm! A MAGNIFICENT JOB, to all at The Margate! Our guests of about 135 from 13 being the youngest to nearly 84 years old said it was THE BEST wedding they had ever been to! Best compliment ever! My husband and I and our family n friends can't wait to return to celebrate our 1 year anniversary! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The Margate was the best wedding venue for our laid back lake wedding. The staff is incredible. Laurie is amazing and every detail was perfect. All our guests comment on what a beautiful wedding we had the pictures are awesome!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I recently had our wedding reception at The Margate Resort. We had close to 200 guests which fit comfortably into their huge ballroom. (we would have also loved try their outdoor pavillion, but were too stubborn about keeping our date in March).

While I considered myself to be a fairly low-key bride, I had many unusual requests which the Margate staff was quick to accomodate. I was always allowed access to the facility so long as another event was not in progress.

Another awesome feature that the Margate offers is an after hours pool party (private for your guests and no additional charge), with bar service and the opportunity to bring in your own late night snacks. We had approx. 60 guests in the pool/hot tub area until 1am.

Overall, the food was great, the service was excellent, the venue was affordable, and the whole night was amazing. Many of our guests have said..."Best Party Ever" which only makes us happier that we chose the Margate for our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have been more delighted with our experience holding our wedding at The Margate. From start to finish, the staff did an amazing job ensuring that our day was special, unique, and exactly what we wanted. We held our rehearsal dinner in Blackstone's restaurant and reception in a tent on the West lawn with a beautiful sunset over the lake. Curt's Caterers, arranged through the Margate, did the food, and everything was delicious. We recommend this location highly and without reservation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystle
Wedding:
7/6/2012
5.0/5.0
The Margate was wonderful venue for my wedding. They were very accommodating and I did not hear a single bad thing about any of the staff. Lisa, Laurie, and another girl (I wish I could remember her name, but she was from Romania) were fantastic to work with. From the view to the food to the staff and everything between, The Margate was amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kphelps12
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
The renovated reception area is incredible. It made for a stunning ceremony and the grounds provided great picture opportunities. Lisa, the coordinator is easy to work with and very responsive to emails. They let myself and a few family members decorate the Mariah room early Friday afternoon so we could have everything already set up for a relaxing wedding morning.

We did hit a major snafu during the reception. It was incredibly hot and the air conditioner was broken. The Mariah room was about 90 degrees at the start of my reception. Many of my guests left and spent time outside because of the heat. Lisa and Laurie found fans for us to use and eventually the air conditioner did get fixed. However, the situation was still unacceptable, so we were provided open bar on the house for the evening.

I would highly recommend the Margate for weddings, as the ceremony area and grounds are absolutely beautiful - and the after hours pool party kicks ass!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
I currently live in KY. I was able to plan my wedding 1000 miles away with Laura Grubbs and Lisa Pettengill over the phone and through e-mail. Laura and Lisa were great to work with and made my wedding day simply perfect for us and our guests. The Margate is absolutely beautiful and I'm so happy I had my wedding there! We didn't run into any problems and the staff members were excellent.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.8/5.0
My wedding planner and coordinators Laurie and Nicoleta were AMAZING! They were so on top of things and had answers to all of my annoying questions, I felt as though I had nothing to worry about! The Lakeside Pavilion where our ceremony took place was perfect and serene. Our reception-which took place in the Mariah Room- went off without a hitch. The Mariah room has floor to ceiling windows, a fireplace and a built in marble bar, it's a beautiful spot to have all your family and friends. My guest room was on the lake and was a convenient walk to the tiki bar, which some of our guests visited after the reception during our lakeside bonfire. It really was the perfect day and very reasonable pricing for the location. I highly recommend the Margate for any special event, fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.8/5.0
I had an AMAZING wedding at the Margate Resort. It was the perfect setting for a lakeside wedding. The coordinator Lisa was a big help through all the planning and the day of the wedding she certainly made sure everything ran smoothly. I never felt stressed! Even when it rained during what was supposed to be our bon fire, they opened up the indoor bar for our 100+ guests that had come from out of state. It was a gorgeous setting, and all the guests haven't stopped raving about how beautiful everything was! I highly recommend the Margate!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.8/5.0
I never had to worry about a thing! They made the day go smoothly and my guests were even telling me how great The Margate and Curts catering people were! I've been told it was the best wedding any have been to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.7/5.0
Excellent wedding coordinator - Lisa. Can't say enough great things about her. Prompt, organized, knowledgeable, easy-going, and works very hard for you. Also has a great support staff that are willing to help you with whatever you need.

Food (buffet) was great (Apple/Herb stuffed chicken and BBQ steak tips). Some guests even went up for seconds and commented on how great it was. The cost for food and beverage was also pretty reasonable, considering the prime lake-on location.

Reception service was also great - only complaint is that we had wine for the tables that was inconsistently replenished. Some tables had plenty, others did not get enough. Make sure that guests know to ask when they need/want more wine or it may not come.

Overall resort is pretty awesome. TONS of activities/amenities for couples or families: awesome beach bar on the water, kayaking, lake swimming & indoor pool, lounge chairs by the little strip of beach with excellent access to the water, and a solid continental breakfast included in your stay. Only complaint about the place is that the guest rooms were very expensive and their interiors were not as nice as the cost would have suggested. What you are really paying for is the entire resort itself.

Overall, would definitely recommend the Margate to any bride & groom wanting a great party on the water with a gorgeous view.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcapp
Wedding:
7/29/2011
4.7/5.0
My husband and I just got married at the Margate in July 2011, we loved it. We really wanted the "beach" type wedding and both LOVE lake Winnipesaukee so decided this was the place for us! Little did we know our worst fear was going to happen ... RAIN!! But even with the rain, having our vows done outside in the drizzle/mist and our tented reception on the West lawn in the down pours, it was fabulous! Everyone who went just loved everything about it :) I could nit pick about a few little details, but over all everything from the rehearsal dinner the night before to the end of the wedding was wonderful :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.6/5.0
It has been almost two months since our amazing wedding at the Margate and we still can't think about it without beaming about our experience. We had the pleasure of having an outdoor ceremony and both the ceremony tent and reception tent were extraordinary! I will admit that there was a lot of anxiety after the summer we had as to how hot or rainy August 17th could be for our wedding weekend but everything was glorious, including the weather. We can not thank Laurie Grubbs and her staff enough for paying attention to every detail and helping us to create our vision of a "romantic, elegant, rustic, wedding!" We worked collaboratively to make this a wedding weekend celebration for all of our guest as most would be staying at the Margate for the weekend. Laurie was with us every step of the way!!! You know you make a great team when as the bride your wedding Consultant and her staff are crying along with you as you walk to your grand entrance into the ceremony. Our guest are already asking us to plan some type of a reunion for next year they enjoyed their experience so much....
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
The Margate wedding staff was great! They handled everything in a professional manner that put me at ease. The rooms for guests are a bit expensive but everything related to the ceremony and reception were a great deal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg8
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
The Margate was a very nice place to have my wedding ceremony and reception. It is a quaint small hotel that is nestled onto it's own beach of the Pagus Bay lake Winnipasaukee. I loved the fact that the hotel was so flexible to allow all of my guests to stay at the normal room rates, they did not hike up prices or require a minimum stay for the prime foliage weekend I had my wedding during. The planners are helpful and nice, they allow you to choose every aspect of your wedding yourself without having to adhere to some prearranged vendors or package. They did a really nice job at executing the entire wedding, and exceeded my expectations of the flow and appearence of my events. They were very accomodating to my needs as well as the needs of my guests! No regrets if I got married again I would definatly still have it at the Margate! Some words of advice, because the Margate allows you to pick and choose the different aspects of your wedding the Bride & Groom must themselves be very organized and communicate your desires to hotel Sales staff (planners). I highly reccomend this place for a bride looking for the perfect Autum wedding (foliage is near peak 1st weekend in October) (peak 2nd weekend in October).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
The Margate's Pavilion tent was the ideal location for my ceremony and reception. It was right on the water, reasonably priced the wedding coordinator Laurie was very helpful. She really came alive on my wedding day, making sure everyone and everything was where it needed to be. What a relief to a bride who makes a spreadsheet for everything! The staff was kind enough to bring in a couple of space heaters as the weather turned a bit cold, which made the guests very happy and us all very cozy! Curt's Caterers was also a pleasure to work with - in particular, the cake they made for us with very little direction was stunning! Thank you to all for making this event so special for us!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
3/22/2014
4.2/5.0
The Margate was the perfect location for our special day! We loved the convince of having the rehearsal dinner, ceremony reception, hotels, and after party all in one location for us and our guests. The Mariah room is breathtaking with e sunset views of the lake!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.1/5.0
Our wedding day was an absolute dream come true. We did a church wedding following by a lakeside tented reception for 200 people at the Margate Resort. During the planning process I was living in southern Texas and due to the professional staff everything was planned with ease and perfection. The tent was set up so beautifully and the view was breathtaking! We did the fireworks and the bonfire towards the end of the evening and both were way more impressive than anything we had expected! Words just can't describe. I also must add that we found our DJ from the Margate's preferred vendor list and we could not have been happier with him. The Margate definitely has good taste when it comes to the vendors they like to work with.

That being said, there is a big reason why I am only giving a 4 out of 5 for my review. I am extremely disappointed that the Margate will only work with Curt's Catering when it comes to catering. During my initial menu selection the staff at Curt's seemed very put off by my questions and requests for sampling. At one meeting I had asked to try a couple different appetizers before making my final decision and when we arrived they only laid out 3 of the 6 apps I wanted to try, the others were apps we weren't even considering. During each interaction with Curt's the staff seemed bothered by us and made us feel completely unwelcome. Putting all that aside I was confident they would meet out needs for the wedding and when it came to their service I was sadly wrong. The cocktail hour and apps went well and everything was delicious. Once all my quests were seated it took FOREVER for them to be served their meals. At one point I was seeing servers (who in my opinion were not professionally dressed) exiting the catering tent carrying only 1 or 2 plates at a time. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!! Tables were served 1 or 2 plates and then had to wait 5-10 more minutes for the rest of the table to be served so they could all eat. NOT OK!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
The property is water-front which was amazing for pictures. The hotel definitely needs some updating but is still a nice place to hold a wedding. We were very pleased by the staff being so helpful. Overall, it was a great experience.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.1/5.0
Our son recently got married at the Margate. The grounds and location are fantastic! The pavilion tent for the ceremony was perfect, as was the reception tent. The ceremony and reception were held outside for about 200 people. Many of the guests stayed at the Margate. Our wedding coordinator Caroline did a great job the day before and day of the wedding. Unfortunately, I felt she was overworked and did not have enough assistance on the day of the wedding. When you see her running around setting up tables, running back and forth from the room where we stored place cards, pictures, and other wedding items, you know something is wrong. She should have a team of staff members helping her with the set up. The servers and Caroline were awesome during the reception. Suzanne, one of the servers, was also mopping up the dance floor because of the rain. She was great as well. We used Curt’s Catering and they were fantastic, everyone raved about the food. The location is absolutely fabulous!!
Now the negative… MANAGEMENT!!! Or lack of Management – we were there for 4 days and never once did management meet with us to address our concerns or introduce themselves and ask us how things were going. We requested a satellite bar for beer and wine when we booked 10 months earlier. We found out the Monday before the wedding they wouldn’t do it unless we had 300 people. They assured us that 3 bartenders would be plenty – unfortunately only 2 bartenders were on that day. The line for drinks was embarrassing. Some of our guests waited 20-30 mins. That’s exactly what I didn’t want to happen. We voiced our complaints the day after the wedding and not once did management reach out to us to explain or apologize. Another issue we had … we blocked rooms nine months before the wedding and the ceremony was to start at 3:30 but check-in wasn’t until 4. Does that make sense? Some guests were made to pay an “extra fee” to be able to check in early so they could get ready in time
Services Used: , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/23/2012
2.9/5.0
The Margate is a beautiful place to get married, the view is gorgeous and the atmosphere is just what we wanted for our wedding. We did the after hour pool party and that was a blast as well.

As far as the wedding coordinators, they have little to no personality and weren't much help. I had guests commenting that they were actually rude to them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
76 Lake St., Laconia, NH 03246 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Margate on Winnipesaukee
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1313770798480-margatefireworks