Nophoto-130
(9)

The Mill on the River

South Windsor , CT

LOCATION

South Windsor, CT US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.9
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
3.9/5.0
Sort by
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.8/5.0
We had a fantastic time at the Mill on the River for our wedding. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was very nice. My guests had a wonderful and they absolutely loved their meals!

There were just a couple things that I wasn't too thrilled about- for example our reception was supposed to go until 9:30pm but they were telling my DJ that everyone had to be out by 9:00pm. My mother spoke to them during the reception, though, and they changed the time immediately without giving us a hard time. Another thing that I wasn't too thrilled about with was that we only had three children at the wedding and they had wanted items off the "adult" menu and they wouldn't lower the price of the meal. We figured we would be able to since the children wouldn't be drinking from the open bar- but they would not budge on that. They also didn't give the correct meals to our photographers which I wasn't too happy about since we had to pay for each of their meals.

They were however extremely helpful in making sure that the reception area was decorated the way I wanted and they did a great job with that. They also made two special meals for two of my guests that are allergic to garlic and they both thought the meals were fantastic and very flavorful.

Amanda helped me through the process of the wedding and was very kind. It was a beautiful day! =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
YMK77
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a beautiful ceremony and a gorgeous reception. We used the River room and it was absolutely stunning. All our guest loved the intimate setting and the view of the mill. The food was amazing, particularly the Butternut squash soup and the filet mignon! Laura was our event coordinator, she worked with us on every detail, took the time to explain things, and make sure we were happy. We will be celebrating our anniversaries here for many years to come!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292481787104-armyball
Sabrina
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.0/5.0
I'm glad we chose TMOTR for our venue. You really can't beat the value... for their prices (which are comprable to others in the area) you get far more- the wedding cake is included, an open bar is included, and if you have your reception there, they'll waive the ceremony fee so you pretty much get the gazebo rental free. My only complaint is the hidden fees. When we first talked to them, we asked all the right questions- but they tiptoed around answers. For example, it wasnt until 3 months before the wedding that we found out we had to pay $4 per chair we wanted set up outside the gazebo. Obviously we couldn't have people stand. Even still, the wedding went very smoothly. The food was amazing. The river room is beautiful, and overall the staff were all very nice and acccomodating. I'd recommend this place for smaller weddings. However, there's no way you can comfortably fit the numbers they say they accomodate. We had 60 guests... which was perfect for the downstairs room... however I cannot imagine reaching the 80 person capacity down there. It'd be SO cramped.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.5/5.0
The Mill on the River was the only reception place we looked at and immediately booked them for our wedding. The value was fantastic. We did the Deluxe Buffet and the food was delicious. The cocktail hour was amazing. The buffet had a lot of choices and there was so much food. I received great reviews on the whole venue. The open bar was stocked with great alcohol.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cja972
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Mill on the River was absolutely wonderful! Let me give bulleted accolades:

1) They broke with their stated minimum guest numbers and allowed us to book a small, sunset ceremony on a Friday evening for about 35 guests, but always returned our calls promptly and never made us feel like they were doing us a favor. They don't do traditional 'tastings'...but instead they gave us a 75$ gift card to use in order to sample some app's and entree's, which was great.

2) We were in the smaller "River Room" (downstairs)...it was beautiful!!! The staff laid our our favors and table centerpieces very nicely, there were candles...everything was spot on!!!!

3) They were extremely nice and easy to work with. When we messed up one of my friend's meal choices, I was able to correct it by phone. A few fish entree's came out late, but that was because we had made additional, undetected mistakes in our seating charts, which MOTR staff corrected as fast as they could. The banquet manager came down and personally checked on us and apologized for the delays...which were our own fault anyways. The bartender was awesome, and came out from the bar to hand-deliver me a glass of straight whisky...my fav. drink. He was very personable and kept the atmosphere light with some really funny wedding jokes. The buffet captain was on top of everything. Helped us keep our flowers fresh by putting them in a refrigerator, was very flexible with the timing of meals and the ceremony, inasmuch as we were trying to get as close to sunset as possible for the actual ceremony.

4) The quality of the food cannot be overstated. The antipasto platters and cheese/cracker assortments were stunningly presented and absolutely delicious. The hot, butler passed hors d'ouveres were delicious, and brought out constantly up until we recessed for our ceremony. The appetizer course was a stuffed ravioli...delicous....the entree's were delicious, beef cooked perfectly, fish was very good (i tried my wife's...and i am usually not a fish lover).

5) The value was amazing. I can't believe what they asked for per head...with all this and open bar.

I highly reccomend this venue. I can't say enough good things about them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karenbee17
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.2/5.0
I was a bit apprehensive, since I had read some negative reviews about Mill on the River, but I can happily report that everything was fantastic! Laura was very helpful, the food was fantastic, everything went without a hitch! Everyone raved about the food, it was really top-notch. The Bartender (forgot his name) was great- very outgoing and nice. All the wait staff were great. We really we treated like royalty and everything was wonderful!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1215127038436-billandjamie
Jamie
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.1/5.0
We were extremely happy with Mill on the River, not only the ceremony and reception venues but also the food and service. The atmosphere was perfect and the onsite consultants were helpful in taking care of the details of the day. The food was great and we could not have been happier with our decision.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
7/26/2008
4.2/5.0
The food was absolutely delicious, our guests raved about the quality of the appetizers and the meal! Our only complaints were the lack of enough air conditioning (we were sweating) and the amount of space (they CANNOT fit 150 people comfortably).
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/21/2007
0.3/5.0
My wedding was a nightmare. We had older family members coming (wheelchairs, canes and walkers) so having a bathroom upstairs in the room that we were holding the reception was great!! I was told that the bathroom was not working, 1 month before my wedding, I said that was more then enough time to have it fixed. Then I was told, well its not broken, we are just using it for storage, but I was told that it would be cleaned out for the night of my wedding... IT WASNT!!!
The reception manager asked my husband and I how things were, right when we got our food. I said its pretty hot in here... ( it was 80 in september) I asked her to put the A/C on, and she said no, go outside and get some air.
As a favor to our guests we had a candy bar table set up. In addition, we made chocolate covered pretzel rods, I had previous permission to do all of this. Well they refused to put the pretzels out, cause they were home made food, and all of the glass bowls, vases and such that we bought for that night especially.... were broken by the staff when they were putting things away that night... they were throwing them into my plastic rubbermaid bins... i saw them. NO respect from this venue.
I wanted here comes the bride music played when i was walking down the aisle, but was told no, because there was dinner guest sitting outside and that would be wrong for them to have to "deal with", so i walked down with no music, but during the cocktail hour, it was ok to have music.
i would never ever recommend this venue. I should have known better to book this place when we had a gift card for there, and it was expired by 6 months and they wouldnt let us use it for dinner, when we told them that we were checking it out as a place to have our wedding. they got over $7,000 from us but wouldnt let us use a $50 gift card that expired only 6 months previously.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Mill on the River
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220