130x130 sq 1358351164013 themixxpiclogo1copy
(3)

the Mixx

South Lake Tahoe , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Sacramento, SF, Napa, Monterey, Fresno, Reno, and beyond
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 US (map)

PHONE

925-997-2214

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

"Safe Play Tour" -
We're currently raising money to purchase some children's playground equipment to provide a safer place for kids to play in specific Nor Cal neighborhoods.... Read more
"Safe Play Tour" -
We're currently raising money to purchase some children's playground equipment to provide a safer place for kids to play in specific Nor Cal neighborhoods. Please check out safeplaytour for more information.

Thanks for considering us to be part of your event.

The Mixx has been serving Northern California and beyond for over 8 years.
We specialize in weddings, corp events, conventions and private parties.

We understand the importance of our role in your event and we offer years of experience and insights, should you request it. We can help with pre-planning, event flow and time-lines, vendor/venue recommendations from our past experiences, logistical answers with simple solutions to our part of complicated problems.

We deliver a high energy Live show that specializes in providing the best in Latin, Motown, Rock, Country, Jazz, R&B and Top 40 favorites for your party or reception.

We play a WIDE Variety of FUN Hits from the 1940's through the hottest hits of todays music designed to entertain all of your guest whether they're young or old, grandparents to the younger crowd. We can tailor our show to fit your guest-list and dancing styles. We make sure that everyone has fun !

We book an average of 30 weddings per year and 25 corp events & private parties - year after year.

Our Jazz ensemble will play smokin Jazz for the cocktail hour and then provide soothing dinner music over the PA. We can handle emcee services for the reception or announcements for your meeting. We will start and stop as needed to accommodate your timeline.

We play LIVE music.
We don't use prerecorded tracks, sequences or computers. (Most Bands Do)
We have some of the finest msuicians and performers in the country and we're proud to show you their talent. We deliver a full sound due to some great equipment that we've invested in along with our new stage lighting.

We understand that controlling the cost is very important and we will do all that we can to ensure that your event is the best that it can possibly be, regardless of your budget.

We offer ceremony music which includes most classical standards, exoctic selections and contemporary ballads. (small extra fee) Instrumentation can include keyboards, nylon guitar, flemenco guitar, flute, ukulele.

If needed, we have a secondary, small PA that can be used for your ceremony or alternate site for toasts and announcements. (small extra fee)

We also offer a small battery powered PA should you need light music where no power exist. (small extra fee)

We do go to remote areas. Many bands won't.
If you choose a remote location please indicate this in your bid request.

On Site Visit - to prepare for your event, Danny J will make an on-site visit prior to the event.

We'll make sure that all of your guest have fun.
I personally guarantee your satisfaction !
Danny J

A review from a recent wedding in San Jose Stated:
Planning a wedding involves a whirlwind of details. Quality entertainment is one of the most important aspects. The MIXX surpassed all our expectations, and then some. With so much to do before the big day, working with Danny J on everything from the contract, details of the song list, the first dance, all the way to helping us connect a PA to a grand piano for the wedding ceremony, proved to be a breeze. He was highly attentive with great communication, all before the wedding even started! Danny even scouted the venue a week before to make sure he had everything we needed to be successful. On the day of, the band was there to set-up on-time (2 hours before the scheduled start-time) and brought high-end and professional equipment—a testament to their professionalism.
A great example of how awesome the MIXX proved to be came in the form of a special request: I wanted to surprise my wife with a live performance on my acoustic guitar, and Danny did everything in his power to make me feel comfortable as well as play back-up on his ukulele (percussion was also provided by one of his bandmates on a very unique instrument). We had a quick sound check/rehearsal while they were setting-up, and his encouragement gave me the confidence to get up and perform before our first dance. He even set-up a mic for my guitar as well as myself, and a chair for the bride, while I serenaded her. I am eternally grateful (and thankful) for the experience and definitely a moment my wife will remember forever.
In regards to the music and band, their ability to play a variety of songs proved to be a hit to the various age groups in the crowd. Motown, Latin, R&B, and Pop tunes kept the dance floor grooving,with high energy to keep everyone moving. The lead singers were AWESOME, providing a great mix of male and female vocals which resonated the space as the band played flawlessly behind them. The MIXX even provided an MC for the reception, and gave us the option to play the ceremony and cocktail hour if we didn't already have somebody. Basically, they were there for whatever we needed, and did their best to accommodate our needs.
All we can say is tremendous customer service, professionalism and a great sound. In addition, their pricing proved to be super-competitive and the best entertainment for your money. Compared to the other bands that we were scouting, the MIXX was the BEST choice we could have ever made and are completely satisfied to have had them as our wedding band. Five stars. 5-24-12 - Christina & Sean - Sainte Claire Hotel, San Jose, Ca

Here's a recent review from the California Pipe Trades Council stated:
We've hired the Mixx three times over the past several years to perform at our California State Pipe Trades convention. We have a Saturday night party for 300 that requires a truly rockin' band to satisfy this dancing group. Not only do they seriously rock -- keeping everyone on the dance floor -- but their singers have excellent stage presence and are highly entertaining. We keep inviting the Mixx back because they do not disappoint.
5-23-12, Kitt – California State Pipe Trades Council, Sacramento

A recent review from the Junior League of Sacramento - Family Fun Fest stated:
"The Mixx recently played at a Family Fun Fest which was a large community fundraiser at Fairytale Town - for the Junior League of Sacramento. Not only were Mother Goose and Old Mother Hubbard tapping their toes - but toddlers, grandparents and everyone in between danced the night away to the up beat music of The Mixx. Their repertoire was extensive and The Mixx kept the party atmosphere going all night long!! They are an extremely talented group of musicians, very professional, flexible and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend them for any type of event." 5/17/12 Mary C - Family Fun Fest - Junior League Sacramento, Ca

A recent review from the Hillel House for Education stated:
The Grand Opening of the new Hillel House at UC Davis was 15 years in the making and the MIXX set a happy, welcoming tone. Everyone was greeted with great music from the 60's to the present and walked into our new building with a song in their hearts. This band is fabulous to work with and even creatied a sound track for a special program. They are professional, polite and generous with their talents. I highly recommend them. They are terrific! 5/8/12, Anne-Hillel House for Education, UC Davis, Ca

A recent review from Stanford Youth Solutions based in Sacramento stated:
The MIXX brought their wonderful talents to our annual event, Vintage 2012. From cocktail hour on, It was fantastic. They are delightful to work with but their music is wonderful and the range of sounds that they can accommodate was perfect for us. Jazz and light tunes for the early evening and hot live band sound for the after party! Great playlist, sound and a super fun group. Danny also donated 2 gift baskets to our auction! A band with a BIG heart! THANKS to the team for their wonderful addition to our event. We'll see you next year!!
Kären-Stanford Youth Solutions, 5/3/2012 - Sacramento, Ca

A recent review from a corporate client based in the South Bay stated:
I just wanted to send you a quick note to thank "The Mixx" for playing at our Corporate Holiday Party. Our Executive Staff and employees were impressed by the band and you'll definitely be our first to call for future holiday galas ! We were especially pleased you were able to deliver music across all genres, both new and old, given our diverse group of employees. Thanks for having such a flexible attitude with regards to agenda changes and interacting so well with our employees during the raffles and announcements. I've personally referred you to several friends for future holiday events and wouldn't hesitate to hire you again. Again, Please give my regards to the band. We had a great evening!
Lisa L.- Spirent 1/23/2012 - Palo Alto, Ca

A recent review from a corporate client based in San Jose stated:
The Mixx are very professional, quick to respond to your emails & phone calls. They made it really easy and comfortable for me while planning. I made last minute request for certain music for our Holiday Theme Party "Night at the Oscar" and they made it happened! They were on time and made the set- up nice and smooth. During cocktail hours and dinner, they played soft music that was sweet to your ears. Every single one of the band members were pleasant and had very welcoming attitude which makes it a plus for us. They did exactly what we asked for and even gone beyond. I highly recommend them. They are awesome! -MizuhoOSI- Richelle 12/19/11 Fremont, CA

A recent review from a wedding in Sacramento stated:
The Mixx performed MC duties, ceremony music, cocktail hour music, and reception music at our wedding for nearly 7 hours and did a really incredible job. Everyone had a wonderful time and we have heard from many guests that it was the best reception they have ever attended. The music selection and the variety of styles, as well as their great talent, make them perfect for any reception. We are hoping to hire them again for events in the future.
-Derek S, 10/15/2011, Wedding Reception, Sacramento, CA

A recent review of wedding on Treasure Island stated:
The Mixx was very professional during the event pre-planning, smooth communication, great to work with on site and played very well. They are a great band and we would hire them again.
Alexis & Fiona, 10/7/11 - the Winery - Treasure Island, San Francisco

A recent review for a corp event in Napa stated:
We hired The Mixx for our Wine Club events in June and Oct. of this year. Our members were extremely happy with the music which makes our events even more special. Our attendance doubled for the Oct. event as our members were extremely happy that they were returning. I also wanted to mention, Danny J makes it very easy to work with the band and the event agenda.
Becky, 10/22/11 - Sterling Vineyards - Calistoga, Ca

A recent review from a Vineyard Events Wedding stated:
"My only complaint might be that the evening ended too soon! No fault of "the Mixx" surely, we could have easily kept the party rollin' for several more hours since the crowd loved the band so much! Their energy was electric, vocals were flawless and the atmosphere they created was unstoppable. From the very beginning, Danny was easy to work with, prompt in his response to all inquiries and fun too. He even went out of his way to double check the venue without my even knowing it. He was asked to do some things that were a little out of the ordinary and didn't even bat a lash before agreeing to make it happen. I have already referred a few people to the Mixx and will continue to do so. I would be delighted to work with Danny and his crew anytime."
Amanda, August 2011 - Vineyard Events, Sonoma County, Ca Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1321203527469 singer2
130x130 sq 1321203543896 dscf0143
130x130 sq 1321203576328 dsc0138dny
130x130 sq 1321203602895 dscn1753dny
130x130 sq 1321203631848 dscn1748dny
130x130 sq 1321203658993 dscn1719
130x130 sq 1321203737367 dscn1518
130x130 sq 1321203766258 dscn1564
130x130 sq 1321203805570 wedding21
130x130 sq 1321203841606 dscn1552
130x130 sq 1321203886254 sax1
130x130 sq 1321203921603 bride1
130x130 sq 1321203948045 groom
130x130 sq 1321203975595 blake3
130x130 sq 1321204022364 dscn1560

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
How many musicians are in your band(s)?
7+
What genres of music does (do) your band(s) play?
Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Funk, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B/Soul, Reggae, Rock
What music services do you provide?
Liability Insurance

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1334510347165 2069872115066588752361000004770940048024742714611n
Michelle and Devon
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
By far, the best band to choose for your reception! This is one band that will have your guests talking for weeks after your event. They are so magnetic they will have all your guests on the dance floor. They even learned our song so Danny could sing it for our first dance. They are just simply amazing!
By far, the best band to choose for your reception! This is one band that will have your guests talking for weeks after Read more...
By far, the best band to choose for your reception! This is one band that will have your guests talking for weeks after your event. They are so magnetic they will have all your guests on the dance floor. They even learned our song so Danny could sing it for our first dance. They are just simply amazing! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Kayla
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
All I can say is WOW. The MIXX band is outstanding from start to finish.

Danny J is extremely responsive to all e-mails, questions & concerns in a very timely fashion. Something all Bride's can appreciate! He even made a visit out to my venue before we were under contract to be sure the venue would be suitable for everything I had desired the band to do! That was totally not necessary but truly appreciated..and mostly a true testament to how Danny J takes care of his customers. He even made a little goody bag for my husband and I to have back at the hotel room since he knew we wouldn't eat much at the reception.

On top of that, the musical capabilities of the band is AMAZING. Not only did they truly get the party started and literally got everyone out on the dance floor but, they also are SO talented. The wide array of instruments & vocals within the band is just awesome and their songs are flawless. They sang Journey as the first song for the evening and my husband (who is musically inclined & plays guitar) thought it was the original Journey band being played from an iPod...yes, they are THAT GOOD! They also showed just how diverse their talents are throughout the evening; one band member playing simple guitar to open the ceremony, jazz music at cocktail hour, & numerous sets for over 2 hours to keep the party alive during the reception. Just outstanding!

I would recommend the MIXX over & over again.

Thank you so much to the MIXX for contributing to our wedding day & making it truly a memorable time for everyone there!!!! We appreciate you all so much & hope to work with you again in the future!
All I can say is WOW. The MIXX band is outstanding from start to finish.

Danny J is extremely responsive to all Read more...
All I can say is WOW. The MIXX band is outstanding from start to finish.

Danny J is extremely responsive to all e-mails, questions & concerns in a very timely fashion. Something all Bride's can appreciate! He even made a visit out to my venue before we were under contract to be sure the venue would be suitable for everything I had desired the band to do! That was totally not necessary but truly appreciated..and mostly a true testament to how Danny J takes care of his customers. He even made a little goody bag for my husband and I to have back at the hotel room since he knew we wouldn't eat much at the reception.

On top of that, the musical capabilities of the band is AMAZING. Not only did they truly get the party started and literally got everyone out on the dance floor but, they also are SO talented. The wide array of instruments & vocals within the band is just awesome and their songs are flawless. They sang Journey as the first song for the evening and my husband (who is musically inclined & plays guitar) thought it was the original Journey band being played from an iPod...yes, they are THAT GOOD! They also showed just how diverse their talents are throughout the evening; one band member playing simple guitar to open the ceremony, jazz music at cocktail hour, & numerous sets for over 2 hours to keep the party alive during the reception. Just outstanding!

I would recommend the MIXX over & over again.

Thank you so much to the MIXX for contributing to our wedding day & making it truly a memorable time for everyone there!!!! We appreciate you all so much & hope to work with you again in the future! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Liane
Wedding:
7/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Hands-down, The Mixx is one of the best bands in the region! Their exceptional musical talent, their professionalism, and their ability to get a crowd up and dancing, are some of the reasons, we continue to hire and recommend The Mixx to all our clients looking for a quality band for their special corporate event or wedding.

We look forward to many future events working with Danny and The Mixx, as they make all our special events fabulous!
Hands-down, The Mixx is one of the best bands in the region! Their exceptional musical talent, their professionalism, and Read more...
Hands-down, The Mixx is one of the best bands in the region! Their exceptional musical talent, their professionalism, and their ability to get a crowd up and dancing, are some of the reasons, we continue to hire and recommend The Mixx to all our clients looking for a quality band for their special corporate event or wedding.

We look forward to many future events working with Danny and The Mixx, as they make all our special events fabulous! Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Sacramento, SF, Napa, Monterey, Fresno, Reno, and beyond, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for the Mixx
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1358351164013 themixxpiclogo1copy